Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Baile an tuaigh on April 02, 2008, 11:13:19 PM

Title: Belfast marathon
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 02, 2008, 11:13:19 PM
Was just wondering is anyone else on here going to or who has previously ran in the Belfast marathon, which is on this year on the 5th May. The reason I ask is that this is my first marathon and was wondering was there many hills or tricky parts in the course that could drain you. I am currently training of a rookie marathon scedule which was spread over 16 weeks. Preperations going ok. Had a major hick up when I lost 3 weeks due to a repetitive flu. At the moment I am up to mile 17 my time is 2 hours 28 minutes 36 secounds which I would imagine is average for someone of my experiance. Also I was going to wear an Antrim GAA vest is this advisable? :-\
Title: Re: Belfast marathon
Post by: Orior on April 03, 2008, 12:07:16 AM
There's no problem anymore with the GAA tops. I'll be there cheering you on up the Antrim Road. Your training plan seems fine. My only advice is dont get too carried away at the start.
Post by: aontroim abu on April 03, 2008, 10:12:32 AM
Baile can you PM me the training schedule, or a link to it?
Post by: Candyman on April 03, 2008, 10:27:22 AM
Ask TOP GUN who is a regular poster on here.... he's the marathon specialist!!!  :D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 03, 2008, 10:45:22 AM
Quote from: Orior on April 03, 2008, 12:07:16 AM
There's no problem anymore with the GAA tops. I'll be there cheering you on up the Antrim Road. Your training plan seems fine. My only advice is dont get too carried away at the start.

I live on the Antrim Rd as well, what part of it does the marathon pass?
Post by: supersarsfields on April 03, 2008, 11:08:51 AM
I thought I had heard that you shouldn't be trying to do the full distance in training as the adrenaline on the day pushes you that bit further and doing the full distance before that can damage your recovery time. I thought the longest you were meant to go for was around the 15 mile mark?
Post by: Rois on April 03, 2008, 11:28:28 AM
GDA, it comes down Salisbury Avenue and then along the Antrim Road till Whitewell Road direction.

Doing a leg of it I think.  Looks like the Antrim Road bit might be the flattest?
Post by: Minder on April 03, 2008, 11:33:41 AM
I have been asked to do a leg by my g/f's cousin as she is going to do a bit of volunteering in South America but i am working furiously at getting out of it.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2008, 11:37:05 AM
Rois if the route is the same as last year then the antrim road leg is 7+ miles. The antrim road part isn't too bad - you get a big descent on it which eases the pain. It's a long way especially for people who think legs are split evenly and only train up to about 5 miles!

In answer to the hill question the main hills from what I know would be in the second two legs(first half of second leg only really) - i.e. miles about 5 to 10.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 03, 2008, 11:38:10 AM
Cheers Rois.
How far is a leg?
Post by: Rois on April 03, 2008, 11:52:03 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 03, 2008, 11:37:05 AM
Rois if the route is the same as last year then the antrim road leg is 7+ miles. The antrim road part isn't too bad - you get a big descent on it which eases the pain. It's a long way especially for people who think legs are split evenly and only train up to about 5 miles!

In answer to the hill question the main hills from what I know would be in the second two legs(first half of second leg only really) - i.e. miles about 5 to 10.

Hmmm may rethink my choice then!!  Thanks Tommy.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 03, 2008, 11:53:07 AM
There are four changeover points.

They are located at:

* Bridge End
    * Hillview Road
    * Gideon's Green
    * Corporation Street.

The Team Relay event is split into five parts.

The following distances are approximate:

* six miles
    * 3.5 miles
    * 7.1 miles
    * 5.3 miles
    * 4.3 miles.
Post by: mannix on April 03, 2008, 02:46:27 PM
I am running the paris marathon on sunday, had the same problems you did with getting disrupted but ran 17 miles as the long run twice.Interesting to see how it goes, i will let you know and want you to do the same.
Cheers
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 03, 2008, 05:47:40 PM
Quote from: aontroim abu on April 03, 2008, 10:12:32 AM
Baile can you PM me the training schedule, or a link to it?

This is the training schedule I am currently working off. Are you planning to do a marathon soon? If I felt ok after the Belfast marathon I was going to enter the Notre Dame one which is one month later. It might be to much though so we will see how the Belfast one goes first.

16-Week Marathon Training Schedule Week Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun Total
1 3 Rest 4 3 Rest 5 Rest 15
2 3 Rest 4 3 Rest 6 Rest 16
3 3 Rest 4 3 Rest 7 Rest 17
4 3 Rest 5 3 Rest 8 Rest 19
5 3 Rest 5 3 Rest 10 Rest 21
6 4 Rest 5 4 Rest 11 Rest 24
7 4 Rest 6 4 Rest 12 Rest 26
8 4 Rest 6 4 Rest 14 Rest 28
9 4 Rest 7 4 Rest 16 Rest 31
10 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 16 Rest 34
11 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 17 Rest 35
12 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 18 Rest 36
13 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 20 Rest 38
14 5 Rest 8 5 Rest 9 Rest 27
15 3 Rest 5 3 Rest 8 Rest 19
16 3 Rest 3 Walk 2 Rest 26.2 Rest 34.2

Post by: stiffler on April 03, 2008, 06:03:14 PM
Done a leg in the marathon in 2005, hardest part was finding the next runner in my team at the changeover point!

its a good idea to plan where about at the changeover point your going to meet the next runner.
Post by: haranguerer on May 05, 2008, 07:29:37 PM
Let us know how it went - was at top of the first hill in ormeau park cheering you! Trying to rem if seen antrim vest.. Planning on doing dublin in november, i've exams at min (hence all the computer time!) which stopped me doing this 1. Think gonna have to do dublin - had job interview, told them enjoyed all sports, and planned to run marathon in near future. They showed great interest, and asked me which 1, had to say dublin. Got the job, so reckon stuck now. Tho spose could always say '...at my interview?? You didn't believe that, did you?!'  ;)
Post by: the green man on May 05, 2008, 09:57:52 PM
I did the fourth leg of it today. Christ that towpath along the lough is fair boring. Watched a bit along the Antrim Road aswell.
Post by: Orior on May 05, 2008, 11:35:40 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 05, 2008, 09:57:52 PM
I did the fourth leg of it today. Christ that towpath along the lough is fair boring. Watched a bit along the Antrim Road aswell.

Ahem, so did I, just down from the Lansdowne.
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2010, 08:30:34 PM
Anyone doing the Belfast Marathon on Monday?
Post by: imtommygunn on May 01, 2010, 08:35:58 PM
Have a few friends doing it but not doing it myself...

Pacers this year which should be interesting. They'll be carrying balloons round.

They also reckon the record will go this year.

An irish woman should win her race. Kenyan for the mens though...

Third leg the worst for anyone doing the relay - 7 mile! 2nd leg 3.5.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 01, 2010, 10:17:58 PM
Mrs BC and myself are doing it, should be interesting as I was never the best at doing laps.  Have a dodgy hamstring at the minute so will be taking it very handy.  Are you doing it Orior?
Post by: lurganblue on May 02, 2010, 09:21:23 AM
Doing about five mile in it. Looking forward to it. First time I've done anything like this. Maybe it'll put me in the mood for the full one next year?
Post by: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 09:54:17 AM
Thought about it. As close as it got.

Thinking of Lisburn 16th June.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on May 02, 2010, 11:06:19 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 09:54:17 AM

Is that when the sales start? :D
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2010, 11:11:21 AM

10k?
Post by: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 11:48:51 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2010, 11:11:21 AM

10k?

Tis. Did it last year in an abysmal 56 mins. Would be happy this year to do one sub-50 and then next year win the New York marathon, or come in the top 3.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 02, 2010, 12:03:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 11:48:51 AM

10k?

Tis. Did it last year in an abysmal 56 mins. Would be happy this year to do one sub-50 and then next year win the New York marathon, or come in the top 3.
I remember you giving off about your 10k pb on the running thread. No change?

Might be best to give yourself two years to win the NYC marathon. Top 10 will be more realistic for you.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 02, 2010, 12:35:20 PM
Laganside 10k in September is the best 10k around Belfast for a good time O'Neill. Lisburn a bit hilly though I plan to do it myself.

Lurgan blue there will be a good buzz so the full marathon may tempt you...

Last year they stopped runners to let traffic through - I wonder will the same shambles happen this year :-\
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 08:19:38 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 01, 2010, 10:17:58 PM
Mrs BC and myself are doing it, should be interesting as I was never the best at doing laps.  Have a dodgy hamstring at the minute so will be taking it very handy.  Are you doing it Orior?

No, but i'll be there are the start. Mrs Orior doing it. I reckon she will finish around 2pm on Tuesday.
Post by: Minder on May 02, 2010, 08:42:16 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2010, 08:19:38 PM

No, but i'll be there are the start. Mrs Orior doing it. I reckon she will finish around 2pm on Tuesday.

This Tuesday ?
Post by: Orior on May 02, 2010, 08:54:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 02, 2010, 08:42:16 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 02, 2010, 08:19:38 PM

Hopefully!

This Tuesday ?
Post by: LeoMc on May 03, 2010, 02:01:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 02, 2010, 11:48:51 AM

10k?

Considering that one myself though it is within 4 days of the Dromore 10K. Haven't done Lisburn before but I looking at the route is seems flatter than Dromore.
Post by: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 02:05:31 PM
It's a bit boring, long straight roads. Didn't think it was all that hilly. Serious amount of runners. The first half mile is nearly walking speed.
Post by: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 02:10:46 PM
Gran runs 27 consecutive marathons

A 63-year-old grandmother is set to enter the record books after completing an astonishing 27 marathons in as many days.

Rosie Swale Pope MBE started her epic journey on Easter Monday before finishing in her home town of Tenby in Wales.

She had originally intended to stop after her 26th run in Llanelli but as a way of thanking her legions of supporters she decided to put in a 'lap of honour' - or to put it another way, a 27th marathon.

"It was fantastic. I crossed the finish line in Tudor Square, in Tenby, and it was like a dream," said a jubilant Mrs Swale Pope.

She added: "I think the main thing is to show people that they should reach out to do what they want to do.

"Maybe you can't always get there but you should always reach out.

"Although I am actually 63 doing something like this makes me feel as though I am really 36."

Mrs Swale Pope's journey, which took in places such as Bristol, London, Tunbridge Wells and Bury St Edmonds, raised money that will be donated to the Ty Hafan children's hospice in Cardiff and Helen & Douglas House in Oxford.

Once her feat is officially confirmed, she will become the first woman to complete so many back-to-back marathons.
Post by: Overthebar! on May 03, 2010, 02:24:09 PM
did the first 6 mile leg after being out last night, it was not an enjoyable experience. road running is not for me.shins are burning
to be able to still run at 63 is some achievement!
Post by: haranguerer on May 03, 2010, 02:26:02 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 03, 2010, 02:05:31 PM
It's a bit boring, long straight roads. Didn't think it was all that hilly. Serious amount of runners. The first half mile is nearly walking speed.

56 min? The whole 10k was walking speed from the sound of it  :P  :D
Post by: Dubh driocht on May 03, 2010, 02:28:31 PM
Well done to the organisers- a much better show this year.
First, stopping the traffic- at last - makes life so much easier
Second- providing energy drinks ( powerade), vaseline and seemed like more water/toilet points
Third- more music- especially along Dargan road, where there are very few spectators
All this made the whole thing more enjoyable - Belfast shows it's best face once a year - pity the twelfth couldn't be like this !
Could still do with more clear mile markers but fair play to all the volunteers.Saw a lot of Tyrone shorts under pressure - they were struggling compared to the sleek Down ones
Post by: The Iceman on May 03, 2010, 05:00:42 PM
My mate just finished it  - 6 hrs give or take a few seconds. I said congratulations but did he walk it?
I have never ran one but doing the math his average speed was 4.3 mph.  The average young male walks at 3.8mph.

Is 6 hours a decent time or am I being a dung bag?
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 05:04:27 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 03, 2010, 05:00:42 PM
My mate just finished it  - 6 hrs give or take a few seconds. I said congratulations but did he walk it?
I have never ran one but doing the math his average speed was 4.3 mph.  The average young male walks at 3.8mph.

Hard to say really - If you or I tried to do it right now with no training - it'd be a 6 hour event.

If he was training, its not a good time at all. My half marathon time during training is between 1hr 52- 2 hr 08. Right now It'd take me at least 3 hours.
Post by: The Iceman on May 03, 2010, 05:14:22 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 05:04:27 PM

Hard to say really - If you or I tried to do it right now with no training - it'd be a 6 hour event.

If he was training, its not a good time at all. My half marathon time during training is between 1hr 52- 2 hr 08. Right now It'd take me at least 3 hours.

My thoughts exactly - this boy has been training a good bit of late.  Of course not a good thing to point out on his FB but I live and learn.
Post by: lurganblue on May 03, 2010, 06:20:21 PM
Did the 4th section today and must say I really enjoyed it despite doing no training for it. I would love to do the whole thing
Post by: The Iceman on May 03, 2010, 06:32:12 PM
4th leg is a nice run though very quiet compared to other ones 9apart from finish line).
Good work

Did the relay 4 times back in the day.  Always enjoyed it.
Think i'm still owed some sponsorship money too!!!
Post by: lurganblue on May 03, 2010, 06:45:06 PM
Yeah it was pretty flat but lacked crowd at times. Hard to see some people with red numbers on really starting to struggle at that stage. Did it in about 40 mins
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2010, 07:38:01 PM
Did the whole lot, took me around 5 hours, Mrs BC did it quicker.  I had a stalker, he knows who he is, popped up 4 times during the run.  Enjoyed it very much apart from 18-21 miles.  I didn't hit the wall, the wall beat me up for 3 1/2 miles.  Pure pain.  Leaving Belfast now shortly for the short trip to Cork.   Every single mile is beatinga pulse through my knees and ankles.  Well done to all who did it  ;D, shame on the people scoring cheap political plugs on the Falls >:(!
Post by: Minder on May 03, 2010, 07:42:06 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2010, 07:38:01 PM
Did the whole lot, took me around 5 hours, Mrs BC did it quicker.  I had a stalker, he knows who he is, popped up 4 times during the run.  Enjoyed it very much apart from 18-21 miles.  I didn't hit the wall, the wall beat me up for 3 1/2 miles.  Pure pain.  Leaving Belfast now shortly for the short trip to Cork.   Every single mile is beatinga pulse through my knees and ankles.  Well done to all who did it  ;D, shame on the people scoring cheap political plugs on the Falls >:(!

Saw something about them intending to do that the other day, the mind boggles.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on May 03, 2010, 07:49:18 PM
Ran a personal best yesterday in a south side of Chicago half marathon. 1 hour 39 minutes. Will do Belfast again next year if everything goes according to plan. Although its not the easiest of courses especially with all the relay teams.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 03, 2010, 08:02:28 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 05:04:27 PM

Define "no training"?
I'd say anyone without training wouldn't have a hope of finishing it, unless they camped over night.
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 08:41:55 PM
Umm If you were not training for a long distance run. I am working off the assumption for myself. I reckon I could push out 4-5 x 4 mile runs with a bit of walking/hobbling to make up the rest in around 6 hours. Maybe 7.

I just think 6 hours to complete after training is a bit much.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 03, 2010, 08:47:14 PM
You'd have to be fairly fit already if you could run 16-20 mile puck.  To me "no training" would be someone who's only exercise would be moving between the couch and the fridge.

I say fair fucks to anyone that finishes it at all.
Post by: Puckoon on May 03, 2010, 08:48:59 PM
Absolutely fair fucks to them. I was just responding out loud to icemans question.
Post by: Orior on May 03, 2010, 09:36:34 PM

Well done BC - I tried my best to disrupt you, but you battled on bravely for a face saving time of 5 hours 11 mins - half an hour quicker than Mrs Orior.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 03, 2010, 09:43:04 PM
Did the 1st leg in ~38 minutes. Tough enough.

Anyone see the state of Maria McCambridge at the end? Gees she was in a bad way.

Results are up on http://www.niathletics.org/filestore/default.asp?itemId=500 (http://www.niathletics.org/filestore/default.asp?itemId=500)

No-one does "no training" for a marathon. Anyone who says that is usually telling porkies...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 03, 2010, 10:08:52 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 03, 2010, 09:36:34 PM

Well done BC - I tried my best to disrupt you, but you battled on bravely for a face saving time of 5 hours 11 mins - half an hour quicker than Mrs Orior.

You're support all through was very welcome, if not a small bit freaky :P. How is Mrs Orior? Mrs BC is adamant that her time isn't right. She reckons she beat me by more!  It was mad as every few miles there were people shouting my name apart from you, I don't know who most of them were!
Post by: BenDover on May 04, 2010, 09:05:31 AM
shame on the people scoring cheap political plugs on the Falls >:(!

Passed these people myself and was thinking wtf are they doing safer of lining that stretch of road with 50 dummies  ;)
Post by: David McKeown on May 04, 2010, 10:36:35 AM
I did that leg myself although I was pants at it, I would like to say it was because of the lucozade I threw up about two miles in but more its because I am a fat lazy git.  Thats my first time on that leg and whilst the run itself is easy enough the lack of a crowd I found made it much harder to stay running.  I don't remember being as sore after a leg either but again thats my own lack of training.  Have to say though when I got to the water station at the start of the Dargan road I thought it was shambolic that they were out of both water and energy drinks and I wasnt overally late getting there
Post by: haranguerer on May 04, 2010, 11:16:31 AM
Quote from: BenDover on May 04, 2010, 09:05:31 AM

Passed these people myself and was thinking wtf are they doing safer of lining that stretch of road with 50 dummies  ;)

What were they at?
Post by: Orior on May 04, 2010, 11:20:19 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 04, 2010, 10:36:35 AM
I did that leg myself although I was pants at it, I would like to say it was because of the lucozade I threw up about two miles in but more its because I am a fat lazy git.  Thats my first time on that leg and whilst the run itself is easy enough the lack of a crowd I found made it much harder to stay running.  I don't remember being as sore after a leg either but again thats my own lack of training.  Have to say though when I got to the water station at the start of the Dargan road I thought it was shambolic that they were out of both water and energy drinks and I wasnt overally late getting there

You must have been finishing the same time as Mrs Orior. Shame on your team!
Post by: David McKeown on May 04, 2010, 12:19:33 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 04, 2010, 11:20:19 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 04, 2010, 10:36:35 AM

You must have been finishing the same time as Mrs Orior. Shame on your team!

Oh the team was fine (just over 4 hours) I was just shit
Post by: BenDover on May 04, 2010, 01:17:46 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 04, 2010, 11:16:31 AM

What were they at?

Lined the road holding placards with political statements on them
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 04, 2010, 01:21:17 PM
Quote from: BenDover on May 04, 2010, 01:17:46 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 04, 2010, 11:16:31 AM

What were they at?

Would have suited them better to clap their hands and cheer people on than what they were at.  Some places things like this are appropriate, this was not one of them.
Post by: Ulick on May 04, 2010, 01:24:17 PM
Quote from: BenDover on May 04, 2010, 01:17:46 PM

That's debatable. The protest was about conditions in Maghaberry jail. Legitimate form of protest IMO.

(http://sluggerotoole.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/prisonerswl.jpg)
Post by: ardal on May 04, 2010, 02:14:50 PM
Haven't read this full thread, but some pointers if not already covered:

If you're doing the full marathon, don't wear a football jersey, buy a decent running vest as the jersey will kill you (friction burns, sweat weight etc).

Stick some plasters on your nipples; even with the vest you can get friction burns on the nips, and feck is it painful.

Stick to your preset mile mark times even if this means letting people scoot past you at the start, you'll get them back later.

Goodluck tomorrow
Post by: The Iceman on May 04, 2010, 02:45:38 PM
I think you could walk the marathon and jog now and again and finish it in 6 hours without training.
If I was training and took it seriously I would want to finish the whole thing in less than 4 and a half hours.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 04, 2010, 04:32:12 PM
Quote from: ardal on May 04, 2010, 02:14:50 PM

Stick some plasters on your nipples; even with the vest you can get friction burns on the nips, and feck is it painful.

Too little too late :'(
Post by: lurganblue on May 04, 2010, 06:16:39 PM
The team finished in about 4.15. Happy with that as I thought it would have been quite a bit slower!

After talking to others I must have had the most boring leg by far!!!
Post by: ONeill on May 06, 2010, 09:32:52 AM
You can type in your surname or number and watch yerself on video reaching the finish line as well as photos.
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 06, 2010, 11:16:30 AM
A boy in work from Ladybrook ran the marathon as a pacer. He had a balloon tied to him that said 3 hours. If you stayed ahead of him, you were guaranteed to finish in under three hours. He does the same in other marathons. Except that sometimes he has to carry a sign saying 3 hours.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 13, 2010, 11:32:12 AM
A vote has been taken not to move the marathon to sunday...

100 quid plus sports gears for those pacers.
Post by: WeeDonns on May 13, 2010, 12:39:27 PM
QuoteA vote has been taken not to move the marathon to sunday...

So it would save a fortune of money, and would suit a hell of alot of people having the monday to recover, but they voted against it? I wonder why..... ::)
Post by: Orior on May 13, 2010, 01:13:02 PM
Lets be clear about this.

- It is run on a Bank Holiday.
- It starts at 9am.
- By 11am, the majority of the field are on the Antrim Road and heading down to the sea shore
- After that, its through the docks which are empty.

How can anyone complain that that spoils their day?
Post by: haranguerer on May 13, 2010, 01:14:27 PM
They should be forced to have it on a Sunday. Its on a sunday everywhere else. Its time they copped themselves on and moved into modern society. Its us as taxpayers who are paying out sums vastly above what is necessary due to their intransigence.
Post by: haranguerer on May 13, 2010, 01:18:37 PM
Orior - check the extra costs of having it on a bank hol, esp in reference to policing: thats the issue.
Post by: Rois on May 13, 2010, 01:40:00 PM
I have to admit - the only reason I want it on the Sunday is not because I am a participant, but I like to celebrate with those who have taken part and hate that I have to work the next day after mucho daytime drinks. 
Post by: lurganblue on May 18, 2010, 11:51:42 PM
I'm almost definately signing up to do the Dublin marathon this year. Did any of you guys use a training plan leading up to the big day? Any advice on a good week by week plan?