GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on March 28, 2008, 10:49:17 PM

Title: Hoganstand Message Board Changes
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2008, 10:49:17 PM
An updated version of the hoganstand.com message board will go live over the next couple of days with extra features for our users.

The new forum is registration based so you will have to login every time you want to post a message.

In order to register you simply have to choose a user name and password, and supply us with your email address. We will then send you a verification email from which you can activate your account.

In the new design you will be able to start up topics which other message board users can reply to, as well as the general thread which we currently have.

As before there will be separate forums for each county and now users will be able to create separate threads for football and hurling.
Title: Re: Hoganstand Message Board Changes
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 10:51:02 PM
What's this all about Ziggy  ?
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2008, 10:51:53 PM
Hoganstand.com is relaunching on Monday and redeveloping their messageboard. Looks like it is going to be based on this one....
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 10:53:30 PM
I hope we don't get any of their members !  :D
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2008, 10:54:01 PM
Might bring some order to proceedings.
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 10:54:59 PM
If that's possible ?
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2008, 11:02:24 PM
Is this the end of ballboy and his multiple identities? :D
Post by: The Claw on March 28, 2008, 11:04:54 PM
There will still be a lot of plebs on it.
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2008, 11:06:00 PM
Quote from: The Claw on March 28, 2008, 11:04:54 PM
There will still be a lot of plebs on it.

Bit like here then? ;)
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 11:09:09 PM
 ;D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2008, 11:11:44 PM
You get a better class of pleb here.
Post by: Puckoon on March 28, 2008, 11:12:24 PM
Full blown Plebians.
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 11:13:58 PM
Mr. Plebs !
Post by: ziggysego on March 28, 2008, 11:16:39 PM
(http://fc01.deviantart.com/fs13/f/2007/068/e/b/Pleb__s_new_ID_by_plebanshiren.png)
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 28, 2008, 11:21:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2008, 11:02:24 PM

..and Liam from Walkinstown.
Post by: jodyb on March 28, 2008, 11:26:02 PM
Yer all plebs... an any of ye who thinks differently has delusions of grandeur!! Even her majesty has to sqat over a hole to sh!te.........
Post by: Puckoon on March 28, 2008, 11:27:23 PM
f**k me hes been there a while that Liam from walkinstown
Post by: jodyb on March 28, 2008, 11:37:31 PM
Quote from: jodyb on March 28, 2008, 11:26:02 PM
Yer all plebs... an any of ye who thinks differently has delusions of grandeur!! Even her majesty has to sqat over a hole to sh!te.........
Apologies, Yer shuda read we're
Post by: orangeman on March 28, 2008, 11:40:40 PM
Post by: Louth Exile on March 28, 2008, 11:51:49 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 28, 2008, 11:21:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2008, 11:02:24 PM

..and Liam from Walkinstown.

The one I remember on the louth thread was the bucher byrne from rathoath, the only thing that I'd say that lad butchered was the english language.

I used to post on it regularly, under a different name, a couple of years ago before I stumbled across this board. I must register my old name for fear of someone else taking it!
Post by: carnaross on March 29, 2008, 10:07:56 AM
Maybe they'll be able to filter out all the students with nothing else to do but slag each other off. Oh and most of the Lancs lads winding each other up.
Post by: Zapatista on March 29, 2008, 10:56:16 AM

I'll have you know my grandeur is very real >:(
Post by: Louth Exile on March 29, 2008, 11:16:58 AM
I see it is off to a flyer with the following being the first thread, very informative and worth reading  :D

Sam 2008

28/03/2008 23:29:06
Legend92 Posts 2 

Donegal! 

29/03/2008 00:13:38
DonegalFan Posts 1 

I am with you Legend! :)

Donegal for Da Ulster & Sam 2008!!!

Up Donegal!!! 
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2008, 11:30:25 AM
Surely it will be just as bad as it will be the same posters,are the posts going straight on like the gaa board and then modified if need be? Surely a big problem on the hoganstand was whoever was vetting the posts was letting some rough stuff on the site
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 29, 2008, 11:54:32 AM
I registered last night but still havnt got my activation email. Glad its going to change though.
Post by: Square Ball on March 29, 2008, 11:58:33 AM
Registered and got an e-mail straight away, very basic, i posted a test but I cant see it
Post by: longball on March 29, 2008, 12:00:17 PM
After the recently Mod conspiracy on gaaboard will we have any defectors to the new hoganstand???
RIP Gaaboard???
Post by: Square Ball on March 29, 2008, 12:03:44 PM
Not on your Nelly longball, well not from me anyway

Post by: jodyb on March 29, 2008, 12:07:02 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on March 29, 2008, 10:56:16 AM

I'll have you know my grandeur is very real >:(
Apologies Zap. You are, of course, the one notable exception......
Post by: Zapatista on March 29, 2008, 12:08:08 PM
It is the ultimate gaa experience
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 01:43:37 PM
Some f**ker has registered with my name  >:(
Post by: Jinxy on March 29, 2008, 02:11:16 PM
All comments still have to be reviewed by a moderator before they go up. Don't know why they bothered to be honest. Complete waste of time.
Post by: Square Ball on March 29, 2008, 02:27:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 01:43:37 PM
Some f**ker has registered with my name  >:(

hunt him down Ziggy.

thought I better register in case mine was taken by that .com lot  :D
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2008, 02:28:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 29, 2008, 02:11:16 PM
All comments still have to be reviewed by a moderator before they go up. Don't know why they bothered to be honest. Complete waste of time.
Agreed,what is the point of changing it all if the posts are still moderated before they go up,it is over run by spastics
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 02:40:32 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 29, 2008, 02:27:58 PM
hunt him down Ziggy.

I've sent an email to hoganstand.com protesting. I fear someone is going to take my good name and act the bolloxs with it over there. I have requested that hoganstand.com transfer the name over to me.

Think they will.....?
Post by: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 02:48:43 PM
Fecker...

Post by: pintsofguinness on March 29, 2008, 03:18:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 29, 2008, 02:40:32 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 29, 2008, 02:27:58 PM
hunt him down Ziggy.

I've sent an email to hoganstand.com protesting. I fear someone is going to take my good name and act the bolloxs with it over there. I have requested that hoganstand.com transfer the name over to me.

Think they will.....?

Nope
Post by: Minder on March 29, 2008, 06:25:07 PM
I see Liamwalkinstown that was mentioned earlier is alive and well on Hoganstand,there is some very interesting threads on Hoganstand,such as the "Joe Canning" thread with the opening post from "football whiz". . . . "With Joe galway will be unstoppable this year"
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2008, 11:00:09 PM
A silk purse from a cow's ear cannot be made  ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 29, 2008, 11:20:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 29, 2008, 11:10:06 PM
Caithfidh tú mún a dhéanamh leis an bod atá agat.

Is fíor duitse, nach ea.
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2008, 12:30:02 PM
I tried to post about the fact that the comments are all still moderated which seems daft. Needless to say, Herr Moderator didn't see fit to put it up. The more things change, the more they stay the same.
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 12:31:49 PM
The hoganstand.com has responded to my email. Unfortunately they cannot transfer the name back to me. However they would be monitoring that username to see what content he posts and if it was just registered to be abusive under my name.
Post by: downredblack on March 31, 2008, 12:36:28 PM
I can get into the main message board but when I try to access the Down "have your say " page I am getting a website error warning . Anyone else getting this ?
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 12:43:56 PM
Everyone should be warned when entering Down ;)
Post by: The Claw on March 31, 2008, 04:32:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 31, 2008, 12:49:55 PM
Quote from: downredblack on March 31, 2008, 12:36:28 PM
I can get into the main message board but when I try to access the Down "have your say " page I am getting a website error warning . Anyone else getting this ?
Happens for Antrim too.
Don't click the 'have your say', click 'Message Board' on the top right hand side of the page.
One thing that is annoying me already about it is the size of the text, its feckin tiny!
Post by: tyroneboi on March 31, 2008, 04:42:00 PM
seen your modified name ziggy on the hoganstand there. It must be some joker of here that has stolen your original name.
Post by: orangeman on March 31, 2008, 04:43:33 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 31, 2008, 04:42:00 PM
seen your modified name ziggy on the hoganstand there. It must be some joker of here that has stolen your original name.

Sue him Ziggy !
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 05:12:08 PM
I have complaint to the hoganstand.com

They are just going to monitor his activities.
Post by: theskull1 on March 31, 2008, 05:24:29 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 31, 2008, 04:42:00 PM

Some tool used a modified version of mine to post a comment on the Antrim website. Would love to understand what his motives were, cause what he posted wasn't that contentious. That admin boy is hard to talk to  ::)
Post by: Maguire01 on March 31, 2008, 06:24:13 PM
It's pointless when posts still have to be approved (and yet they still process the crap!).  Posts are going to sit there all night and then the admin will approve a run of them in the morning and the thread will make as little sense as posts to the old Board with no order to replies.  It's also a horrible layout - the writing is far too small for a start.
I've registered, but i can't see myself using it any more than i did with the old Board.
Post by: Puckoon on March 31, 2008, 06:36:31 PM
Why when everyone gives out about the "hoganstand" posting on this board - is everyone heading back over there? It was, and will continue to be an amazingly badly moderated childrens playground. Has liam from walkinstown ever posted on this board?
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 07:46:46 PM
My only concern is Puckoon, is that someone is acting the eejit under my alias.
Post by: Jinxy on March 31, 2008, 07:51:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2008, 06:36:31 PM
Why when everyone gives out about the "hoganstand" posting on this board - is everyone heading back over there? It was, and will continue to be an amazingly badly moderated childrens playground. Has liam from walkinstown ever posted on this board?

Yeah, I think he's GNevin. ;)
Post by: stevecw on March 31, 2008, 08:07:39 PM
Same here, some idiot took the name ive been using there for ages. While i agree with what they are doing with the site, its annoying to have some fool come in and post crap under your name just cos he was at home on PC sat while i was at our minor hurling game! Ah well, just have to re-invent myself!
Post by: downredblack on April 01, 2008, 12:10:04 PM
Quote from: The Claw on March 31, 2008, 04:32:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 31, 2008, 12:49:55 PM
Quote from: downredblack on March 31, 2008, 12:36:28 PM
Happens for Antrim too.
Don't click the 'have your say', click 'Message Board' on the top right hand side of the page.One thing that is annoying me already about it is the size of the text, its feckin tiny!

Have her sussed now , thks Claw .
Post by: Gnevin on April 01, 2008, 12:12:42 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 31, 2008, 07:51:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 31, 2008, 06:36:31 PM

Yeah, I think he's GNevin. ;)
Would ya feck off. Walkinstown is a kip , ya can't beat the Nevin  ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on April 01, 2008, 12:18:49 PM
Just had a peek on the Monaghan message board and out of 7 topics, one is the site's admin introduction and 5 are spam about joining clubs in Galway, New York, London and Glasgow.  What's the point?
Post by: thejuice on April 07, 2008, 12:18:10 PM
Tried to register with Hoganstand but they never sent me an activation e-mail, anyone else get this problem?
Post by: donelli on April 07, 2008, 12:21:35 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 07, 2008, 12:18:10 PM
Tried to register with Hoganstand but they never sent me an activation e-mail, anyone else get this problem?

found the same problem.
asked for an activation email again. will see. no too bothered either way anyway since i found this website  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 10:57:55 PM
WTF is going on with Hoganstand now?

I popped over to post the Tyrone ACL Division 1 fixtures and got this message:

The forum is only open for posting between 8am and 10pm daily (Irish Time)
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 17, 2010, 11:04:12 PM
Is a directive to the children from the primary schools...
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 17, 2010, 11:06:24 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 10:57:55 PM
WTF is going on with Hoganstand now?

I popped over to post the Tyrone ACL Division 1 fixtures and got this message:

The forum is only open for posting between 8am and 10pm daily (Irish Time)

Its because every post is being vetted and possibly censored prior to being published. The mods must finish work at 10pm. I don't know if there is a mod from each county but I thought the cavan one was finished at 9-30pm. Frankly couldn;t care less anyway I'm done posting there and having my comments butchered by censors.
Post by: Jinxy on February 17, 2010, 11:13:08 PM
I've had the most harmless posts rejected by the moderator, and then you read some of the nonsense that gets through in one piece.
The mind boggles.
And the Jinxie that posts there is not me.  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 11:17:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 17, 2010, 11:13:08 PM
I've had the most harmless posts rejected by the moderator, and then you read some of the nonsense that gets through in one piece.
The mind boggles.

Tell me about it.

You may recall someone stole my name. So I registered with a similar name. Posted some stuff on it and got banned. Banned? For nothing! Can't fathom it. I mean, I sit on the fence. WTF!
Post by: stew on February 17, 2010, 11:27:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 11:17:07 PM
The mind boggles.

Tell me about it.

You may recall someone stole my name. So I registered with a similar name. Posted some stuff on it and got banned. Banned? For nothing! Can't fathom it. I mean, I sit on the fence. WTF!

Ziggy, ffs quit crying, I have contacted and asked the mod to delete my account, I got a response that it will be deleted by noon your time tomorrow, register you name and you will be back up an runnin. ::)
I only did it for the craic zig.
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 11:34:29 PM
Quote from: stew on February 17, 2010, 11:27:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 11:17:07 PM
The mind boggles.

Tell me about it.

Ziggy, ffs quit crying, I have contacted and asked the mod to delete my account, I got a response that it will be deleted by noon your time tomorrow, register you name and you will be back up an runnin. ::)
I only did it for the craic zig.

Na, the replacement for ziggysego got banned. Not the name you stole from me   :P
Post by: randomtask on February 17, 2010, 11:36:09 PM
what exactly does your name mean ziggy?
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 11:39:01 PM
Ziggy is the name of the computer from the 90s TV, Quantum Leap. Ziggy had a big ego.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on February 18, 2010, 09:40:41 AM
The new HS Opening Hours  ::)
At least it'll prevent the bar stool experts tanked up on a few bevvies racing home at 2 in the morning and spewing out their opinions online on a b*llsh*t story they heard in the pub that they are convinced is the truth and nothing but the truth.  The amount of purile trash that has been posted on that site is unreal - how a publication company could stand behind the stuff and how they haven't been taken to the cleaners is beyond me.
Post by: Jinxy on February 18, 2010, 10:08:39 AM
Ah but the drunk posts were the best.
Remember yer man from Wexford after Kilkenny won the hurling a couple of years ago?
Think his name was Jim. 
I was crying laughing reading it.  :D