Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: the Deel Rover on March 27, 2008, 11:24:26 AM

Title: the Apprentice
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 27, 2008, 11:24:26 AM
Just wondering did any of ye see the show last night, christ where did they get that lot out off is was like a fecking comedy.
Title: Re: the Apprentice
Post by: Drumanee 1 on March 27, 2008, 11:37:55 AM
did you see the cut of some of them? but that arrogant tool who scrapped through  annoys me just looking at him,my god whats the story with the hair
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 27, 2008, 12:00:46 PM
the wife is a huge fan of this, I watched the first 5 mins and cringed so much I had to get up and leave the room.
However I did get a full update of the theatrics and what happened later on, as she found it so funny she had to tell me. :o
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 27, 2008, 12:08:31 PM
thats exactly it lynchboy it was fecking comical i just had to watch it it was like carcrash tv
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 27, 2008, 12:25:17 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on March 27, 2008, 11:37:55 AM
did you see the cut of some of them? but that arrogant tool who scrapped through  annoys me just looking at him,my god whats the story with the hair

Feck my wife hated thon bollix.

I'd say a lot of it is edited too, to paint them in the worst light.
Post by: Uladh on March 27, 2008, 12:27:46 PM

Well there you go now. i didn't know that there were sensible people who watched that tripe, so every day's a school day
Post by: tyroneboi on March 27, 2008, 01:28:38 PM
I think The Apprentice is a great show and was a decent start to the series last night. The show with Adrian Chiles on BBC2 after it is excellent as well.
Post by: johnneycool on March 27, 2008, 02:18:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 27, 2008, 01:28:38 PM
I think The Apprentice is a great show and was a decent start to the series last night. The show with Adrian Chiles on BBC2 after it is excellent as well.

Take it for what it is, a bunch of jumped up wannabe's making fools of themselves for our entertainment and Alan Sugar cutting the piss out of them whilst massaging his ego at the same time. Light entertainment at its best. Adrain Chiles wit is lost on most of those self deluded fools but wit isn't taught in Kings College as far as I'm aware.

Thon lad that got the boot last night was just the sterotypical toff who for an 'outstanding' barrister had no balls on him (well not his own anyway) and couldn't articulate a decent defence of himself let alone anyone in court. I'd say he's fucked up any career as a barrister he might of had. If I needed a barrister I sure as f**k wouldn't be paying for that limp wristed bag of piss to represent me.

The asian Jimmy Carr lookalike will be some laugh with his huge vocabulary he just has to use at any given point in time. I'd say Sugar will enjoy pulling the piss out of him.

Reality TV in its best form IMO
Post by: Moose on March 27, 2008, 02:42:48 PM
Yeah it looks good so far, really packed it with toffs, thought the main leader should have gone last night, didn't organise the task properly at all. Hopefully they'll keep the "Jimmy Carr lookalike"(he's clearly wearing make up as well) in far a good while more. He came out with some cracking lines "one talks to both paupers and princes"
Post by: unforgiven on March 27, 2008, 03:51:36 PM
not much female totty unfortunately
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 27, 2008, 04:11:49 PM
Quote from: unforgiven on March 27, 2008, 03:51:36 PM

Yes very poor
Post by: Onion Bag on March 27, 2008, 04:45:06 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 27, 2008, 04:11:49 PM

Yes very poor

There was one think she had an irish accent, She would do the job after a few pints
Post by: johnneycool on March 27, 2008, 05:09:15 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 27, 2008, 04:45:06 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 27, 2008, 04:11:49 PM

Yes very poor

There was one think she had an irish accent, She would do the job after a few pints

Is that the one who said she's the best sales manager in Europe?  ;D ;D

you gotta loves these poor wee dotes, when their careers teacher told them they'd be the ones running the country in a few years time they actually believed it. Most farmers or builders I know would have them bought and sold by now.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 27, 2008, 06:09:41 PM
Don't think its fair to slag off thon Raef fella - after all he'll speak to "prince or pauper"!

Must do shockin harm to some of their careers alright.
Post by: GaryColemansLeftPeg on March 27, 2008, 10:19:10 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 27, 2008, 06:09:41 PM
Don't think its fair to slag off thon Raef fella - after all he'll speak to "prince or pauper"!

Must do shockin harm to some of their careers alright.

The lad last night would hardly inspire confidence in the legal profession.  Thinking of a career change TAM?
Post by: Skiddybadoo on March 27, 2008, 11:32:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on March 27, 2008, 02:18:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 27, 2008, 01:28:38 PM

The asian Jimmy Carr lookalike will be some laugh with his huge vocabulary he just has to use at any given point in time. I'd say Sugar will enjoy pulling the piss out of him.

There's a John Thompson lookylikey in there too.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 27, 2008, 11:47:07 PM
QuoteThe lad last night would hardly inspire confidence in the legal profession.  Thinking of a career change TAM?

I am actually but its back to the law I'm headed. Sure I've been called to the bar since I was 16 years old, its only fair that I formalise the arrangement!
Post by: Guillem2 on March 28, 2008, 07:42:14 AM
I never watch much on TV other than news & sport but I have to admit to watching this on occasion.

Do you remember this one?

(http://image.guardian.co.uk/sys-images/Arts/Arts_/site_furniture/2007/06/06/katieapprentice460.jpg)
Post by: Orior on April 02, 2008, 10:38:40 PM
Watched only my second episode of this programme tonight and now I'm hooked.

I was pleased that Lucinda stayed in - she is hot.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 02, 2008, 11:34:37 PM
She's a nice rack indeed...

That one Jenny should have been fired, completely useless. Impressed with the lads tonight, good effort...
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on April 03, 2008, 07:43:38 AM
An interesting programme. Some of these people as out of touch with reality. Imagine asking for £4.99 to wash and iron a pillow case! The customer couldn't believe his ears. That Jenny is a nasty piece of work.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 03, 2008, 08:22:06 AM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on April 03, 2008, 07:43:38 AM
An interesting programme. Some of these people as out of touch with reality. Imagine asking for £4.99 to wash and iron a pillow case! The customer couldn't believe his ears. That Jenny is a nasty piece of work.

Thst was funny. I am no expert but turned to the wife and asked, would it not just cost you a £1 or £2 to buy a sheet? I knew at that point the girls were in bother.

As for 'hot'. I like the girl that was offering 24 hour call out support...very pretty!

The team captain last night (It's obvious now I know none of their names), but guess from above her name was Jenny completely shafted the girl that got booted.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 09:43:43 AM
fcuk me there was a lot of work and washing for 200 sterling and that was the price the hotels normally pay :o
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 03, 2008, 10:57:50 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 09:43:43 AM
fcuk me there was a lot of work and washing for 200 sterling and that was the price the hotels normally pay :o

Aye but the works normally done by low paid immigrants.
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 11:04:20 AM
i was thinking that gda fecking disgrace if thats the case , is there no minimum wage in the Uk or most likely the immigrants are illegal
Post by: Moose on April 03, 2008, 11:25:54 AM
The wrong person went last night, should have been Jenny, she's a complete bitch, messed up the task badly, pricing, sorting clothes, general mess. Couldn't believe when she asked for a tip , cringeworthy. She fairly shafted the other two but then they hardly stood up for themselves properly. Always looked like the lads were going to win even though in the end it was closer than I imagined. The lads did very well. Raef actually came across quite well as well, seemed like a bit of craic.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 03, 2008, 11:40:36 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 11:04:20 AM
i was thinking that gda fecking disgrace if thats the case , is there no minimum wage in the Uk or most likely the immigrants are illegal

There is a minimum wage, but like every other country around the world there will be employers who ignore it and take advantage of the most vunerable sections of society.
Post by: ildanach on April 03, 2008, 01:06:09 PM
I've a feeling that simon will do well. He seems to be a grafter and does not seem to want to cause agro.
Post by: Onion Bag on April 03, 2008, 02:02:55 PM
I was up all night ringing the girls 24 hour hotline, no answer, f**king disaster, i cant beleive this was one of their selling points, For so many successful business people, i couldnt beleive they couldnt come up with anything better than that
Post by: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 02:13:18 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 03, 2008, 02:02:55 PM
I was up all night ringing the girls 24 hour hotline, no answer, f**king disaster, i cant beleive this was one of their selling points, For so many successful business people, i couldnt beleive they couldnt come up with anything better than that

thats the thing onion Bag are any of them really successfull?
Post by: rosnarun on April 03, 2008, 05:08:28 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 03, 2008, 02:02:55 PM
the phoneline itself wasn't that bad an idea. they just didn't justify it well
would you hand over you clothes to a bunch of people who had no permanent address and no phone number. people like that belong on the real Hustle show. esp none of the looked  or dressed like  Laundry staff.
BTW how posh were they to was and Iron all the clothes while still wearing suits?
Post by: Maguire01 on April 03, 2008, 07:04:10 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 03, 2008, 05:08:28 PM
the phoneline itself wasn't that bad an idea. they just didn't justify it well

Come one, seriously!  Why would anyone need a phoneline when the clothes are being collected in the afternoon and returned less than 24 hour later?

Great show.  Last night was quality entertainment, although the wrong decision was made.  However, it's clear that these decisions are also influenced by what makes the best TV.  When they showed the losers 'best bits' on the 'You're Fired' show, they were crap (even considering she was only there for 2 weeks).
Raef was actually a lot more likeable this week.... for a tool.

What the show does highlight, is the difference between common sense, formal/academic education and business acumen.  Many have the middle trait, a lot less have the two others.

My other issue last night was the 'tipping': a serious cringefest. Jenny should have been fired for allowing this to happen, regardless of what anyone else done.  It's so unprofessional and it's not the first time in this programme that women have tried to use their 'feminine ways' to get more money (you wouldn't see the males being as successful with this doe-eyed tactic!).  Women fight to be treated as equals in the workplace, objecting to discrimination and ridicule as a result of their gender (and rightly so!), but then expect to be taken seriously when they use their sexuality to get ahead,  It's cringeworthy and does them no favours.
Post by: rosnarun on April 03, 2008, 11:55:17 PM
re the phoneline 
come 3 o clock the nextday and no sign of your washing whatt u gonna do. tell the cops some on came and said theyd do your washing real cheap but no they did't leave a number or address? sone eejet you'd look.
the programs really bring the hate out in people albeit in a safe way . but it sets up all the kinda of people the majority despise and promises to kick one of them in the goolies each week. LCD stuff but its a harmless guilty pleasure
Post by: Yer Ma on April 04, 2008, 12:30:19 PM
It was blatantly obvious that they kept Jenny and Lucinda in purely for entertainment purposes, which undermines the ethos of the show.

Even Sugar's reasoning at the end just as he was firing Shazria was crap - basically Jenny 'You are useless and responsible for not managing your team' - Shazria - 'you left your post at some point - you're fired'.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 11, 2008, 10:37:18 AM
saw this the other night

the wife - who is an avid fan of this prog - commented that she reckons the guy called (tony / anthony? - the lad who was 'head chef' in the last prog) - is a plant.
Not only does he look like catherine tate, but he says and does the most outrageous things (well bizzare anyhow) which no one seems to pick up on.

anyone else think this...
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 11, 2008, 10:59:01 AM
You mean the guy called Kevin, couldn't be a plant no one could act that dumb....

The ladies did well this week......lads hadn't a clue when it came to costs.....
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 11, 2008, 11:08:52 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 11, 2008, 10:59:01 AM
You mean the guy called Kevin, couldn't be a plant no one could act that dumb....

The ladies did well this week......lads hadn't a clue when it came to costs.....
Thanks Dinny - kevin it is !

thats what I mean though, he is playing dumb, and we reckon its on purpose
why would you act so stupidly in such a prog when you are trying to 'win it'

though kevin and is stupidity act is lost as he is surrounded by a number of over ego-ed .self loving. self macho-ed fellow half wit and fcuk wit male team mates.
not thinking out the costing and pricing of their exercise was just unbelieveable.
That one chap - the working class 'grafter' is the only decent one amongst the lads - but he seems to have difficulty in responding to cquestioning and conversation when on the spot - seems to panic and is obv not a great communicator.
for that reason I dont think he will win, but you'd employ him to be a good hard worker on your team.

Wouldnt employ the rest of the men, and the women are bitches and youd only hire them if you were after one thing...
the Irish one makes me cringe.
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 11, 2008, 11:11:21 AM
Quotethe Irish one makes me cringe

Yep, the token Paddy, cringe ever time I here her god-awful accent, some mouth on her as well, not classy at all. But that Jenny one needs a good kicking...
Post by: blasmere on April 11, 2008, 11:34:08 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 11, 2008, 11:08:52 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 11, 2008, 10:59:01 AM

Thanks Dinny - kevin it is !

thats what I mean though, he is playing dumb, and we reckon its on purpose
why would you act so stupidly in such a prog when you are trying to 'win it'

though kevin and is stupidity act is lost as he is surrounded by a number of over ego-ed .self loving. self macho-ed fellow half wit and fcuk wit male team mates.
not thinking out the costing and pricing of their exercise was just unbelieveable.
That one chap - the working class 'grafter' is the only decent one amongst the lads - but he seems to have difficulty in responding to cquestioning and conversation when on the spot - seems to panic and is obv not a great communicator.
for that reason I dont think he will win, but you'd employ him to be a good hard worker on your team.

Wouldnt employ the rest of the men, and the women are bitches and youd only hire them if you were after one thing...
the Irish one makes me cringe.

Is that the one that said "how do you spell accent?"  :D
Post by: BennyHarp on April 11, 2008, 11:42:41 AM
QuoteNot only does he look like catherine tate, but he says and does the most outrageous things

Not sure Kevin looks like catherine tate but defnately Matt Lucas!

I hope he stays in as long as possible because he was hillarous on wednesday night! When he was suggesting a menu and hadnt a clue and then looked at the oven and suggested a baked mushroom to puree had me doubled up!
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2008, 01:07:20 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 11, 2008, 11:42:41 AM
QuoteNot only does he look like catherine tate, but he says and does the most outrageous things

Not sure Kevin looks like catherine tate but defnately Matt Lucas!

I hope he stays in as long as possible because he was hillarous on wednesday night! When he was suggesting a menu and hadnt a clue and then looked at the oven and suggested a baked mushroom to puree had me doubled up!

Yes that was absolutley hilarious, though I strangley felt sorry for him. That sorry disappeared at the end when he boasted that he wiped the floor with the guy who got the sack. Bastard. You're not that clever.
Post by: Maguire01 on April 11, 2008, 01:12:11 PM
(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/04_01/littlebritain1504_228x265.jpg)

(http://www.bbc.co.uk/apprentice/images/people/big_KevinShaw.jpg)

Kevin is top quality entertainment.  Doesn't have a hope of getting the job, but i hope he stays in for a while yet.  I think that his west country accent doesn't help him - it's one of those english accents, like the brummie one, that's hard to take seriously.

As for the task, why didn't they just do plain english/pub food?  Surely that would have been the easiest to cook?
Without a doubt, the right man got fired - even if only for spending the guts of £300 promoting one night, nevermind the fact that he sanctioned buying the produce from a supermarket rather than a wholesaler.  
Also, a couple of hundred pound profit?  How much profit would there really be, if you were paying all the overheads, nevermind 24 hours of wages for the 6 members on each team?!
Post by: Dinny Breen on April 24, 2008, 02:09:25 PM
Jayus how did not Dublin knack not got fired last night, she wouldn't look out of place in Parnell Park...
Post by: Billys Boots on April 24, 2008, 02:33:32 PM
Quoteshe wouldn't look out of place in Parnell Park

... with a cup of tea?
Post by: Orior on April 24, 2008, 07:20:26 PM
1) The wrong team won last night. One team was well led, had a good plan, done all that was expected, and the other team were clueless but got lucky.
2) Lucinda is a babe
Post by: Silky on May 01, 2008, 09:07:05 AM
They all came across as really mean picking on the Indian girl. But the posh lad looked good by defending her in the house. Even after Alan Sugar basicly said leave her alone in the board room that fool Kevin still said she should go!
He lost it in the board room by refusing to accept that it was a shit idea and blaming the ginger one.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 01, 2008, 10:23:46 AM
Yea your man Raef definitely is coming across well, early favourite I'd imagine. Kevin was an idiot, hadn't a clue how to handle the board room and of the three left he deserved to be fired.
Post by: haranguerer on May 01, 2008, 10:59:41 AM
That wee twat deserved to go, only thing is so did jenny - 'I'm so passionate about the environment I now buy less cards' at a pitch to sell cards for the environment!!
He was bullied into taking Zara back in, he was weak and deserved to go, and his pitching was absoulutely brutal. Clare is a mean piece of work, she picks on someones weak point and magnifies, pure evil: with simon she went on about him sweating, with kevin it was his pointing, just to make them feel self-conscious and fu*k up.
Alex is the smartest one left, but he'll only ever work for himself. Lee is an idiot, not good, and thinks being one of the lads will stand him in good stead. Would never turn my back on the irish one, there'd be a knife in the shoulder blades for sure.
Lucinda doesn't want it enough, and Raef probably doesn't want it enough to do the necessary backstabbing to get it. These last 2 the only ones I'd want to win it tho...
Post by: bcarrier on May 01, 2008, 11:25:24 AM
Zara is the new Shilpa .

Post by: Charmingman on May 01, 2008, 01:27:45 PM
Interesting development last night. The criticism of Zara put those involved in a very poor light especially when the only person who sprang to her defense was / is possibly of the same ethnic background. There may have been some clever editing involved but the rant directed at Zara appeared to be totally dispropropriatre.

I thank god that I don't have to share an office / county / country with Claire.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2008, 01:53:03 PM
It was the right decision last night. Thing is they are all useless and I don't believe for one minute the winner is given any responsibility for managing anything of worth belonging to Sugar.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 01, 2008, 01:53:59 PM
If I was sugar I would have lost interest at this point, there is no  one decent in that group who he would want to give a good job to.

It would seem that he will have to give someone the job, and the job being some backwater low-risk Proj mgt position where they are miles away from Sugar.

the contestants on this prog this year have been picked from the posher/educated failed 'x-factor' contestants.
Selected for their 'personalities' rather than abilities.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 01, 2008, 01:54:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 01, 2008, 01:53:03 PM
It was the right decision last night. Thing is they are all useless and I don't believe for one minute the winner is given any responsibility for managing anything of worth belonging to Sugar.

you beat me to it!
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 08, 2008, 04:55:22 PM
well thanks be to god the irish one is gone she was doing me head in
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 09, 2008, 09:08:47 AM
raef seems to be the best (by consensus) though he is still crap imo - the best of a bad lot.

glad the two jennifers were kicked out. The Irish one just gives the Irish a bad name (for being forked tongued, back stabbing manipulating fcukers - maybe she should go into politics at home).
the english one was a hateful hoor. Cringe watching this on TV !
Post by: haranguerer on May 09, 2008, 01:51:08 PM
Glad that ginger tr**p was sacked - the irish one surprised me by being pretty timid when leader. Alex is going up imo. Hes a dangerous fecker, but he called it like he seen it the other night, saying clare should go for interrupting him, even tho it seemed like some of the others were easier targets. Him or raef i reckon. Michaels the greatest p***k i've ever seen on tv, and thats saying something
Post by: Tankie on May 10, 2008, 09:05:14 PM
That Irish girls must be one of the most annoying people ever on tv!
Post by: Apple Top on May 14, 2008, 12:36:56 PM
I started watching this for the first time a few weeks ago - I wouldn't give any of those upstarts a job.
Post by: Orior on May 14, 2008, 02:15:03 PM
What to do!!!!

Watch the Aprentice or see Rangers getting stuffed?
Post by: Bacon on May 14, 2008, 02:37:53 PM
You could use the video or something like that.

I watched last weeks show - God they are a dim lot! Thon boy who claimed to be Jewish & then blessed himself said it all for. They would do or say anything for a job and 30 minutes on TV. I wouldnt want to work with any of them.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on May 14, 2008, 02:47:04 PM
They're all twats, but it's good TV!!
Post by: Longshanks on May 15, 2008, 12:36:51 PM
Flicked between Rangers and the Apprentice lastnight, funny on both channels ;D ;D
Gotta say I hate that wee p***k Michael, has to be fired sooner or later and recently found out he was a gigilo or something!?!? flip me and now he's trying to get a job in Alan Sugars business?
Can only see the winner being between your posh lad who I have grown to have like and your Northern doll Clare.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 21, 2008, 10:02:46 PM
The very dapper Raef was fired.
Post by: Yes I Would on May 21, 2008, 11:19:24 PM
He was a right ponce!!
Claire lookin like a potential winner!! Reckon shed be a rite little rattler under the sheets!!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 27, 2008, 01:33:58 PM
This is on tonight instead of tomorrow due to Engerland v USA.
Post by: Feckitt on May 27, 2008, 03:08:13 PM
Surely it's time for 'nice little jewish boy' Michael to get the road!
Post by: haranguerer on May 27, 2008, 03:15:43 PM
Its time for him to get put down, never mind the road. What a little fu*ker.
Post by: Yes I Would on May 27, 2008, 11:14:24 PM
Michael got the road tonight. Dont know how he lasted so long.
In fact they really are quite a thick bunch this year.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 27, 2008, 11:30:37 PM
QuoteMichael got the road tonight. Dont know how he lasted so long.
In fact they really are quite a thick bunch this year.

Shockin poor. Think it's between Alex and Claire at this stage.
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 05, 2008, 10:11:19 AM
Did ye see it last night wouldn't like any of them boyos to inteview me .
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 05, 2008, 11:09:08 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on June 05, 2008, 10:11:19 AM
Did ye see it last night wouldn't like any of them boyos to inteview me .
saw it.
the wife was laughing her head off at it.
While the interviewers seemed bad , once the obteuse questions had been deflected, they were not that hard - argumentative though ! trying to get the candidates to snap in anger.
The only really hard question was the old sales trick of 'sell me that pen' - usually a confidence killer. Yer man did well imo. Still way too inexp.

If anything the interviews demonstrated how inexperienced and sheltered these candidates actually are.

claire will prob win it, but I think she is too blinkered and rigid to be any use really.
the rest are eager as well but none are what would be an actual 'apprentice' to alan sugar....a team leader in one of his departments yeah maybe!

thought karen brady was a little economical with the truth when she gushed about her running the football lcub at 20 or whatever it was...from recollection it was a pr stund and prob more to do with the fact that the chairman fancied his chances at getting her into the sack than due to what she had to offer in the boardroom.

the girl that was fired last night was prob the best of the last 5, but you couldnt hire her as she was a looney and all employees would walk due to her inability to get on with people.  I feel much the same about claire though!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 05, 2008, 11:27:45 AM
Alex (who's only 24 by the way) seemed really defensive and definitely doesn't take criticism well. If he wants to make it in a big organisation he's going to have to learn to take certain things on the chin and just get on with it. Whatever way they edited the show though probably made him look worse than he was as most of the interviewers rated him as a possible Apprentice.

The way the final is set up the losing team get fired so if Claire and Lee lose the task she's out. I reckon they've split up Alex and Claire for next week cos he'd be happy with either of them.
Post by: INDIANA on June 05, 2008, 11:41:57 AM
don't want to ruin it for people, but the final 2 usually always worked with sugar for 6 months before he made his decision. the idea that it was based solely on the last task was bullshit and simply for tv purposes. i believe in this case all 4 worked for sugar for a number of months in various capacities before he made his decision. so the final task isn't a definitive, just a very small part of it. judging by the quality of candiatates they probably took the bins out every thursday. i wouldn't give any a job licking stamps.
Post by: ludermor on June 05, 2008, 02:56:49 PM
Did anyone catch the date of the letter from the college? Im nearly sure it was around november?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 12, 2008, 01:03:09 PM
Am I the only one watched this last night?!  :o
Post by: Rois on June 12, 2008, 01:25:46 PM
Watched it, was going for Alex and I thought that they'd stolen it with the great reviews from the experts, but it seems that wasn't the priority for Alan Sugar.  Helene probably robbed Alex of it with her welcoming and cooperative sunny outlook.

Got a text after going "great, so now 20 million people will think it's ok to lie on their cvs".  He was convincing at the end though!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 12, 2008, 01:30:31 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 12, 2008, 01:25:46 PM
Watched it, was going for Alex

Let me guess. You fancied him. ;D
Post by: screenexile on June 12, 2008, 02:20:11 PM
Yeah watched it myself last nite and I'm quite glad Lee won it in the end. My mother is up in arms though calling Sugar all the sexist pigs of the day "Claire deserved it blah blah blah".

End of the day she was in the boardroom 5 times on the losing team and I'd rather scratch 20 nails against a blackboard than listen to her. Good on you Sugs!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on June 12, 2008, 03:10:20 PM
Never watched it at all until last night. Was surprised at the low standard of the candidates to be honest. You couldn't have picked Claire cos she'd drive you demented. Yer man was the one with the most potential of the final two I think, probably of the final 4. Can't stand all that boardroom w**k though.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 12, 2008, 04:32:21 PM
Managed to avoid most of this. Was subjected to a bit of it last night and nearly pissed myself laughing at the clip of ur one who claimed she was the best salesperson in Europe, what an ego  :D
Post by: Rois on June 12, 2008, 06:36:10 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 12, 2008, 01:30:31 PM

Let me guess. You fancied him. ;D

Definately not but would rather have looked up from my desk and seen him than any of the other three. 
Post by: ludermor on June 12, 2008, 06:46:14 PM
So you do fancy him !!
Post by: balladmaker on June 12, 2008, 07:39:34 PM
Apparently, the whole series was recorded within a 4 week period last Autumn.  The 4 of them worked for Sugar since then until 3 weeks ago when the final edition was recorded.  Someone told me today that apparently two endings were recorded with both of them being told they were hired to try to keep it under wraps until the last minute, but I find that hard to believe.

All round, a poor standard, you'd have thought some real high flyer would come out of it, but they seemed to be very average.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 13, 2008, 01:59:45 AM
Quote from: Rois on June 12, 2008, 01:25:46 PM
Watched it, was going for Alex and I thought that they'd stolen it with the great reviews from the experts, but it seems that wasn't the priority for Alan Sugar.  Helene probably robbed Alex of it with her welcoming and cooperative sunny outlook.

Got a text after going "great, so now 20 million people will think it's ok to lie on their cvs".  He was convincing at the end though!

I think Alex, and Helene winged it. The other two had a flow to their plan, pick a name, pick a concept. However Alex/Helene's team got lucky with the bottle, and the name sort of followed. I was glad 'Sir Alan' (Christ they treat him like he is God!) put them on the spot to whose idea the bottle was. The feckers tried to claim it as their idea, and in reality the designer said...here's a bottle, and luckilly the bits fell into place then.
Post by: ziggysego on July 03, 2008, 12:01:47 AM
It was Lee McQueen's first day working for Alan Sugar yesterday and what happened? He phoned in sick!  :D

Apparently he's suffering from Man Flu too ;)