Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on March 27, 2008, 09:35:25 AM

Title: Podcasting
Post by: screenexile on March 27, 2008, 09:35:25 AM
Anyone ever bother with this newfangled idea?

I've subscribed to Ricky Gervais and Today FM's Gift Grub but I haven't really come across anything good apart from those 2.

Anybody else use podcasts much? Maybe someone could recommend some good podcasts to subscribe to.

Cheers.
Title: Re: Podcasting
Post by: take_yer_points on March 27, 2008, 09:42:10 AM
The Eamon Lowe show is very good - from Today FM as well. Very funny

http://www.todayfm.com/Article.asp?id=464870
Post by: AZOffaly on March 27, 2008, 10:20:08 AM
You can get the podcasts from Newstalk as well, including the Off The Ball show which is very good radio. 3 hours a night of pure sports, soccer, GAA, rugby, American sports etc etc.

www.newstalk.ie (http://www.newstalk.ie)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 19, 2008, 10:19:10 AM
anyone got the link for that gaa podcast??

any ohter good ones?

I get the russell brand one, hes hilarious, plus has some class guests...
Post by: ludermor on November 01, 2013, 12:23:32 PM
Resurrecting this thread from the grave, cannot find a more current one?
Can people recommend some good podcast they subscribe to?
Post by: Syferus on November 01, 2013, 12:28:55 PM
This American Life. Auditory perfection at times.

99% Invisible is an excellent design-focused podcast.

The Memory Palace is a great, short and sweet history podcast that pulls up lost moments in time with a remarkable poignancy.

Accidental Tech Podcast is a dream podcast if you're a serious computer nerd.

So many great podcasts out there.
Post by: BennyCake on November 01, 2013, 12:30:25 PM
The Guardian's Football Weekly is a great podcast.  Funny as feck too.
Post by: laoislad on November 01, 2013, 01:12:12 PM
The Anfield Wrap.
A must for all Liverpool fans.
Post by: gallsman on November 01, 2013, 01:35:09 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 01, 2013, 12:30:25 PM
The Guardian's Football Weekly is a great podcast.  Funny as feck too.

Been listening to it for about 5 years now - absolutely excellent. Best sports podcast out there by a mile.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 01, 2013, 02:11:44 PM
For any runners out there marathon talk is a superb podcast and masisvely popular. Started by Martin Yelling and has just got bigger and bigger.
Post by: declan85 on November 01, 2013, 02:46:09 PM
Really liked "Coffee Break Spanish" when i was learning a bit of Spanish. Results in excellent pronunciation ive been told...
Post by: The Iceman on November 01, 2013, 02:51:27 PM
"The Advanced Selling Podcast" is good listening for anyone in sales.

For anyone looking a bit of Catholicism:
"the Reason for our Hope" weekly homily from Fr. Larry Richards
"UMD Newman Catholic" weekly homily from Fr Mike Schmitz
Post by: Hardy on November 01, 2013, 03:17:07 PM
Skeptoid (http://skeptoid.com/about.php) - a weekly podcast that tries to promote the scientific viewpoint and contribute to redressing the pro-quackery bias in the media. It tries to do its bit against the promotion of psychic scams, Uri Gellerism, "alternative medicine", anti-science propaganda and all the wacky woo that's still unquestioningly churned out by mainstream media.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 01, 2013, 04:34:38 PM
Second captains is very good

How stuff works can be interesting too
Post by: BennyCake on November 01, 2013, 05:55:02 PM
Red Wednesday on BBC Radio Manchester is a great podcast for United fans. Or for City fans, Blue Tuesday.
Post by: mc_grens on November 02, 2013, 01:35:57 PM
The BS Report with Bill Simmons by ESPN.
Post by: Linkbox on November 04, 2013, 06:18:43 AM
Some great shouts on here. The Steve Austin one, if you liked his wrestling persona, is a laugh. He has done some great interviews with X-Pac and other older wrestlers which is worth a listen.

Americarnage is quite good too if you like American sports and some pop culture. Nat Coombs and Mike Carlson (Channel 4 NFL) do it.
Post by: Jonah on November 04, 2013, 08:54:02 AM
Guardian football podcast is very good.
Post by: ludermor on November 04, 2013, 11:55:22 AM
Some great choices here, what about the apps for listening to Podcasts? I have a windows phone and tried a few apps  ( currently ipodcast) but sometime i cannot find the podcast in the listings, do some podcast just work on different formats?
Also anyone have any good new music podcast ?
Post by: Ulick on November 04, 2013, 01:56:23 PM
Quote from: ludermor on November 04, 2013, 11:55:22 AM
Some great choices here, what about the apps for listening to Podcasts? I have a windows phone and tried a few apps  ( currently ipodcast) but sometime i cannot find the podcast in the listings, do some podcast just work on different formats?
Also anyone have any good new music podcast ?

"Podcasts" are simply RSS XML text files containing links to the media to be downloaded. Therefore any RSS reader will do as a podcast app. To add a podcast to your reader or app, go to the podcast page and click on the orange 'RSS' button to get the address of the poscast (will end in 'xml'), then copy and paste this into your app. Windows Phone tries to encourage you to use the built-in podcast app via Zune. I have Podcast Lounge installed but I always use 'SimpiRSS Free' as it's much easier and convenient to access podcasts I've subscribed to and not a load of oul guff someone is trying to get me to listen to.
Post by: laceer on January 16, 2015, 09:30:28 PM
Anyone listen to any good music podcasts?
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on January 17, 2015, 11:07:05 PM
Steve austin is great listening, so is Jim Ross if you into wrestling. Really enjoy the Rich Risen podcast, if you love NFL its a great listen. Some good content out there. Podcastone.com is a great site, when you work night shift its comes in very handy.
Post by: ONeill on January 18, 2015, 12:03:43 AM
The Tuesday Club (for Gooners)
Stuff You Should Know
Best of the Left
365 days of Astronomy
Talksport's clips of the week
Philosophy Bites
Post by: laceer on January 18, 2015, 09:14:47 AM
Cheers lads. Distraction Pieces is a good listen-also subscribe to Second Captains and an Irishman Abroad. Jason McAteer gives a great interview on the latter
Post by: ziggysego on January 18, 2015, 03:40:35 PM
Thinking of creating a weekly podcast to compliment my website. Can anyone recommend good podcast hosts so I can put it ob iTunes?
Post by: NAG1 on January 19, 2015, 12:06:34 PM
Not the right thread I know but cant be bothered to search for one if there is in fact one around this question  ;)

Any one know of any good sites to download audio books?
Same goes for music

obviously preferable if I didnt have to pay for either   :D
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 21, 2015, 10:35:29 PM
I think ur man is guilty, too many holes in his story. He was in the park that evening according to his phone. 

Good interview here from Jay

https://firstlook.org/theintercept/2014/12/29/exclusive-interview-jay-wilds-star-witness-adnan-syed-serial-case-pt-1/
Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 14, 2015, 05:28:14 AM
He's guilty as f**k
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 06, 2015, 01:49:49 PM
Been linked to this from a new podcast thread - did anything ever come of this Adnan Syed case?
Post by: scoopmine on November 08, 2015, 09:36:16 PM
There is now new evidence allowed. http://www.avclub.com/article/courts-re-open-case-serial-subject-adnan-syed-228103
Post by: laoislad on February 02, 2017, 09:21:50 PM
Have been listening to this while running on the treadmill. It's very good.
https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/in-the-dark/id1148175292?mt=2
Post by: lurganblue on February 03, 2017, 12:11:31 PM
the Witness podcasts by the BBC are decent if you like a wee short ten min burst of history on a wide range of events.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 03, 2017, 04:06:42 PM
Eamon Dunphy has a new podcast called 'The Stand' in which he pontificates on a range of subjects.  It's patchy, as you might imagine, but there was an excellent interview (when he was allowed to speak) with Stephen Kenny about his career in football in the past week or two.  Recommended.