GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BallyhaiseMan on March 18, 2008, 11:41:24 PM

Title: Pick an All Greats team of the best players you have ever seen in PERSON
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 18, 2008, 11:41:24 PM
as im in my mid 20's i didnt think it would be hard to do,but the amount of great players that i didnt have room for was astounding.

i went with
1.John O Leary
2.Kieran McKeever/Martin O Connell- couldnt decide.
3.Darren Fay
4.Tony Scullion
5.Tomas O Se
6.Kieran McGeeney
7.Seamus Moynihan
8.Anthony Tohill
9.Daragh O Se
10.Trevor Giles
11.Greg Blaney
12.Michael Donnellan
13.Colm Cooper
14.Peter Canavan
15.Mickey Linden
Title: Re: Pick an All Greats team of the best players you have ever seen in PERSON
Post by: Double Cross on March 19, 2008, 12:49:35 AM
1 Brian McAlinden
2 Kieran McKeever
3 Francie Bellew
4 Tony Scullion
5 T O Se
6 Geezer
7 The Pony
8 A Tohill
9 B Magilligan
10 M Fitzgerald
11 G Blaney
12 Oisin
13 M Linden
14 P Canavan
15 The Gooch
Title: Re: Pick an All Greats team of the best players you have ever seen in PERSON
Post by: stephenite on March 19, 2008, 01:20:53 AM
That I've seen play

John O'Leary
Ken Mortimer
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
T O Se
Seamus Moynihan
Sean og De Paor
Liam McHale
Anthony Tohill
Trevor Giles
Maurice Fitzgerald
Michael Donnellan
Colm Cooper
Graham Geraghty
Ciaran MacDonald
Post by: BennyHarp on March 19, 2008, 02:04:19 AM
After writing my team i think my tyrone bias may have influneced my final team - can i just also make a disclaimer that i never had the pleasure of watching frank mcguigan senior playiing!!

1.John O'Leary
2. Marc O'Shea
3. Seamus Moynihan
4. Ryan McMenanmin
5. Thomas O'Shea
6.Conor Gormley
7. Phililp Jordan
8. Sean Cavanagh
9. Anthony Tohill
10. Steven O'Neill
11. Brian McGuigan
12. Greg Blaney
13. Mickey Linden
14. Peter Canavan (Captain)
15. Maurice Fitzgerarld
Post by: Oak Leafer on March 19, 2008, 09:04:14 AM
1. John O'Leary
2. Kieran McKeever
3. Darren Fay
4. Tony Scullion
5. Henry Downey
6. Seamus Moynihan
7. Kieran McGeeney
8. Anthony Tohill
9. Darragh O'Shea
10. Trevor Giles
11. Greg Blaney
12. Paddy Bradley
13. Colm Cooper
14. Peter canavan
15. Maurice Fitzgerald
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 09:35:33 AM
1. Martin Furlong

2. Marc O'Sé
3. Mick Lyons
4. Ryan McMenimin
5. Paidi O'Sé
6. Kieran McGeeney
7. Martin O'Connell

8. Jack O'Shea
9. Gerry McEntee

10. Pat Spillane
11. Matt Connor
12. Graham Geraghty
13. Maurice Fitzgerald
14. Peter Canavan
15. Colm Cooper
Post by: Declan on March 19, 2008, 09:45:02 AM
1. John O'Leary

2. Paidi O'Sé
3. Mick Lyons
4. Gay O'Driscoll
5. Paul Curran
6. Kevin Moran
7. Martin O'Connell

8. Jack O'Shea
9. Brian Mulliins

10. Graham Geraghty
11. Matt Connor
12. Pat Spillane
13. Maurice Fitzgerald
14. Peter Canavan
15. Colm Cooper

Tried to find a place for Mickey Linden but couldn't in that front 6 
Post by: Hound on March 19, 2008, 09:45:49 AM
Stephen Cluxton
Robbie O'Malley - Darren Fay - Ryan McMenamin
Paul Curran - Seamus Moynihan - Kieran McGeeney
Brian Mullins - Jack O'Shea
Ciaran McDonald - Matt Connor - Kieran Duff
Peter Canavan - Graham Geraghty - Maurice Fitzgerald
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 09:46:56 AM
We're fairly close there Declan, and I was trying to find a place for Mickey Linden as well. He'd probably be first sub. Greg Blaney wouldn't have been too far away either.
Post by: EC Unique on March 19, 2008, 09:54:34 AM
Quote from: stephenite on March 19, 2008, 01:20:53 AM
That I've seen play

John O'Leary
Ken Mortimer
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
T O Se
Seamus Moynihan
Sean og De Paor
Liam McHale
Anthony Tohill
Trevor Giles
Maurice Fitzgerald
Michael Donnellan
Colm Cooper
Graham Geraghty
Ciaran MacDonald

Is Peter Canavan not good enough or have you not seen him in person?
Post by: cornafean on March 19, 2008, 09:56:43 AM
1. John O Leary
2. Kieran McKeever
3. Seamus Moynihan
4. Tony Scullion
5. Paul Curran
6. Henry Downey
7. Martin O'Connell
8. Jack O'Shea
9.  Dara O'Se
10.Martin McHugh
11. Greg Blaney
12. Pat Spillane
13. Mickey Linden
14. Peter Canavan
15. Maurice Fitzgerald

Graham Geraghty better than Mickey Linden? Jaysus....!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 09:58:44 AM
As a half forward, yes. I tried to pick based on position played.

just realised this was aimed at Declan, but we have the same forward line.
Post by: muppet on March 19, 2008, 10:11:49 AM
John O'Leary

Ken Mortimer
Darren Fay
Martin O'Connell

Seamus Moynihan
K McGeeney
Sean Og De Paor

Liam McHale
Anthony Tohill

Eamon O'Hara
Ciarán McDonald
Michael Donnellen

Colm O'Rourke
Maurice Fitzgerald
Peter Canavan
Post by: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 10:34:17 AM

John O'Leary

Tony Scullion
Mick Lyons
Martin O'Connell

Henry Downey
Kieran McGeeney
Seamus Moynihan

Dara O'Se
John McDermott

Michael Donnellen
Greg Blaney
Mo Fitz

Wee James
Colm O'Rourke
Peter Canavan
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 19, 2008, 10:42:13 AM
1. John O'Leary

2. Kenny Mortimer
3. Mick Lyons
4. Marc O'Shea
5. Sean Óg de Paor
6. Tomás Mannion
7. Martin O'Connell

8. Jack O'Shea
9. Anthony Tohill

10. Michael Donnellan
11. Matt Connor
12. Maurice Fitzgerald
13. Mickey Linden
14. Peter Canavan
15. Colm Cooper
Post by: Declan on March 19, 2008, 10:44:24 AM
QuoteWe're fairly close there Declan,

Indeed- Just the county bias!!!!

O'Rourke, Linden, Hanahoe would be my first 3 subs   
Post by: Estimator on March 19, 2008, 10:47:11 AM
1. John O'Leary

2. K McKeever
3. D Fay
4. T Scullion

5. K McGeeney
6. H Downey
7. Martin O'Connell

8. A Tohill
9. J McDermott

10. T Giles
11. M Donnellan
12. J Fallon

13. M Linden
14. P Canavan
15. M Fitzgerald
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 10:48:30 AM
I didn't see much of Tony Hanahoe 'live'. My subs would include Colm O'Rourke, Liam Harnan, Brian Mullins, Mickey Linden, Greg Blaney and Bernard Flynn.

(Jaysus I have some time for them Meath feckers)

Jaysus, I completely forgot about Seamus Moynihan. He'd be very close as well, although I don't think he'd dislodge my half backs or full back.
Post by: tieroan on March 19, 2008, 10:50:04 AM
Spethinite, no Peter Canavan?! Is everyone else wrong. I know it is all about opinions but come on man.
Post by: Minder on March 19, 2008, 10:54:40 AM
Quote from: Double Cross on March 19, 2008, 12:49:35 AM
1 Brian McAlinden
2 Kieran McKeever
3 Francie Bellew
4 Tony Scullion
5 T O Se
6 Geezer
7 The Pony
8 A Tohill
9 B Magilligan
10 M Fitzgerald
11 G Blaney
12 Oisin
13 M Linden
14 P Canavan
15 The Gooch

You must not have seen too many greats in action if you have "The Gambler" on your team
Post by: Sean3 on March 19, 2008, 10:56:24 AM
1 John O'Leary
2. Robbie O'Malley
3. John O'Keefe
4. Tony Scullion
5. Paul Curran
6. Seamus Moynihan
7. Martin O'Connell
8. Jack O'Shea
9. Brian Mullins
10. Maurice Fitz
11. Matt Connor
12. Pat Spillane
13. Colm Cooper
14. Peter Canavan
15. John Egan

Might have to put the Bomber into that full forward line at half time to liven things up a bit
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:02:37 AM
Feck sake. John Egan as well.

Maybe we should pick a 'Favourite Provinicial teams' to contest a savage Railway Cup
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 19, 2008, 11:06:38 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:02:37 AM
Feck sake. John Egan as well.

Maybe we should pick a 'Favourite Provinicial teams' to contest a savage Railway Cup
Jaysus AZ, are you trying to start a civil war or what? :D :D
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:11:21 AM
There's too many great players I've been lucky enough to see. And this list is by nature excluding some very good players with counties who haven't won much. My Leinster team would probably include Kevin O'Brien from Wicklow and Dessie Barry from Longford as well.
Post by: mouview on March 19, 2008, 11:15:46 AM
In this thread so far, the mind boggles at the inclusion of Trevor Giles and cannot even comprehend the exclusion of Padraig Joyce, arguably the best forward ever to come out of Connacht.  Astonishing!!
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 11:18:26 AM
Quote from: mouview on March 19, 2008, 11:15:46 AM
In this thread so far, the mind boggles at the inclusion of Trevor Giles and cannot even comprehend the exclusion of Padraig Joyce, arguably the best forward ever to come out of Connacht.  Astonishing!!

Ye can't beleive no one has picked joyce yet one of the best , will do up a team later on when i have more time
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:19:01 AM

That's like saying he's the tallest pygmy :)

Ah I jest. I considered Joyce, but I considered him as a full forward, and I couldn't see him being better than Maurice, Gooch or Canavan. Nor Linden to be honest.
Michael Donnellan has a case for half forward, but again, Pat Spillane, Matt Connor and Graham Geraghty are better in my opinion.

There's too many good players, and I've watched too many of them, to make this an easy task.
Post by: mouview on March 19, 2008, 11:22:59 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:19:01 AM

That's like saying he's the tallest pygmy :)

Ah I jest. I considered Joyce, but I considered him as a full forward, and I couldn't see him being better than Maurice, Gooch or Canavan. Nor Linden to be honest.
Michael Donnellan has a case for half forward, but again, Pat Spillane, Matt Connor and Graham Geraghty are better in my opinion.

There's too many good players, and I've watched too many of them, to make this an easy task.

The tallest pygmy? From a province that has produced Dermot Earley, Packie McGarty, Tom Langan, Micky Kearns, Frank Stockwell, Mattie McDonagh, Michael Donnellan and the peerless Purcell.... ah well.. !!
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:23:34 AM
I said I jest :D A lot of the names you mentioned there would have been before my time of remembering them, lads like the Terrible twins would only be stories like Ring and Mackey to me. I remember Dermot Early alright, but you didn't mention Val Daly, and I always thought he was a great player.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 19, 2008, 11:25:59 AM
                                  Billy Morgan

Robbie O'Malley             John O'Keefe              Tony Scullion

Paddy Moriarty                  Geezer                     Ger Power                

Jack O'Shea      Brian Mullins

Anton O'Toole              Greg Blaney                  Pat Spillane

John Egan                    Matt Connor                 John Corvan
Post by: timmyot501 on March 19, 2008, 11:29:07 AM
John O'Leary   (Dublin)
Marc O'Sé    (Kerry)
Darren Fay   (Meath)
Tony Scullion    (Derry)
Seamus Moynihan    (Kerry)
Glen Ryan    (Kildare)
Martin O'Connell   (Meath)
Anthony Tohill    (Derry)
John McDermott   (Meath)
Michael Donnelan   (Galway)
Greg Blaney   (Down)
Maurice Fitzgearld   (Kerry)
Colm Cooper   (Kerry)
Peter Canavan    (Tyrone)
Mickey Linden   (Down)
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 19, 2008, 11:32:20 AM
I'd be a massive fan of PJ's over the years and I know where your coming from but its very very difficult to fit everyone in.  Below are my six forwards and PJ was just edged out by Linden.    

10. Michael Donnellan
11. Matt Connor
12. Maurice Fitzgerald
13. Mickey Linden
14. Peter Canavan
15. Colm Cooper
Post by: mouview on March 19, 2008, 11:35:01 AM
'Sfair enough but, absolutely magnificent player that he is, would the Gooch's 'body of work' yet surpass PJs?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 11:35:24 AM
Some fantastic sides - so many great footballers it's nearly impossible to pick - pity some of them weren't around now to see !  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:40:43 AM
Quote from: mouview on March 19, 2008, 11:35:01 AM
'Sfair enough but, absolutely magnificent player that he is, would the Gooch's 'body of work' yet surpass PJs?

I think in terms of who is the better player, and it sounds very harsh to say that, I think Gooch is better. And he will probably add to his trophy haul, which is probably bigger than Padraig's already. And in every trophy he's won, he's been fairly important, it's not like he's carried along by a great kerry team, contributing little.

I'd never denigrate PJ's contribution to Galway, or football generally, or his skill, but I just think there have been better players out there. My tallest pygmy comment was obviously with tongue firmly planted in cheek, and he joins a list of great players that just fail to make this grade in my view. That's why I want to pick 4 provincial teams :D
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on March 19, 2008, 11:45:51 AM
Quote from: mouview on March 19, 2008, 11:35:01 AM
On the national scene, he probably has if I'm being honest as we (Galway) have not really done anything of note in the championship since the early part of this decade and the Gooch has been to the fore front of Kerry's victories.  I still think he has a lot to offer and I am expecting a big year from him in the 11 jersey.  However, its an arguement I would gladly lose!!!  
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2008, 11:57:37 AM
1.John O Leary

2.Martin O Connell
3.Darren Fay
4.Robby O'Malley

5.Mick Lyons
6.Paul Curren
7.Seamus Moynihan

8.Jack O'Shea
9.John McDermot

10.Trevor Giles
11.Greg Blaney
12.Brian Stafford

13.Colm O'Rourke
14.Peter Canavan
15.Bernard Flynn

Yeah biased, but which team am I most likely to see in person  ???
Post by: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 12:00:25 PM
Joyce is obviously very unlucky but as has been said thee are so many great otions. i tried to stick to players who'd fit the style of play i like to see. i'll risk the possibility of lynchingby saying that regarding pj i always had a doubt in my head over his "intestinal fortitude", rightly or wrongly.

whoever picked phillip jordan is just not taking the tread seriousy

Juice - Mick Lyons at right halfback? you'd be better swappping himself and curran.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 12:02:27 PM
ah you weren't biased at all juice sure you  only picked 9 meath men ;)
Post by: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 12:09:39 PM
1. If I'm honest I can't think of one keeper that stands out

K MCkeever (Derry)
Darren Fay   (Meath)
Tony Scullion    (Derry)
Seamus Moynihan  (Kerry)
K MCGeeney  (Armagh)
Tomas O Se  (Kerry)

Anthony Tohill    (Derry)
Paul McGrane (Armagh)

Ciaran McGurk (Armagh)
Greg Blaney   (Down)
Colm Cooper   (Kerry)
Mickey Linden   (Down)
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2008, 12:11:22 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 12:00:25 PM
Juice - Mick Lyons at right halfback? you'd be better swappping himself and curran.

well i wasnt really getting to worked up about positions, but yeah you are right. But sure, positions dont mean anything these days, eh!

RE Deel, well you nearly include Paul Curren if you consider the colour of his blood-line and not the jersey he wore  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 12:17:08 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 19, 2008, 12:11:22 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 12:00:25 PM

well i wasnt really getting to worked up about positions, but yeah you are right. But sure, positions dont mean anything these days, eh!

RE Deel, well you nearly include Paul Curren if you consider the colour of his blood-line and not the jersey he wore  ;)

Ah makes sense now Juice couldn't believe you picked 2 Dubs? :D why didn't you pick the meath Goalie   Martin Mc quillan i think that was his name
Post by: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 12:29:13 PM
You rated McGurk that highly benny? i'm not sure he was any better than neil or jimmy smith?
Post by: tieroan on March 19, 2008, 12:51:56 PM
Rufus.................again no Canavan, supposed to be the greatest of his generation, and I appreciate that it is opinions. I cant understand it how anyone in this day and age would leave Peter or The Pony out of a team. McGeeny was a good player but not a great one and John Corvan had bags of skill with heaps of ability but rarely produced.
Post by: full back on March 19, 2008, 01:03:54 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 12:09:39 PM

Ciaran McGurk (Armagh)
Greg Blaney   (Down)
Colm Cooper   (Kerry)
Mickey Linden   (Down)

That is a shock inclusion Benny
Post by: rrhf on March 19, 2008, 01:13:36 PM
1) B Tierney
2) Paidi o se
3) Mick Lyons
4) Tony Scullion
5)  A Tohill
6) S Moynihan
7) H Downey
8) J O Shea
9) S Cavanagh
10) P Spillane
11) B Mc Guigan
12) B Dooher
13) M Fitzgerald
14) P Canavan
15) M Linden

Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 01:51:32 PM
Anthony Tohill wing back? Sean Cavanagh as an all time great instead of the likes of McEntee, Mullins, Darragh O'Sé, etc etc?
Brian Dooher on the half forward line, but no Matt Connor?

Ah well, I suppose it is all about opinions.
Post by: corn02 on March 19, 2008, 01:54:13 PM
RRHF throwing in Tierney so not to be accused of anti-Armagh biasm?  ;)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on March 19, 2008, 01:57:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 01:51:32 PM
Anthony Tohill wing back? Sean Cavanagh as an all time great instead of the likes of McEntee, Mullins, Darragh O'Sé, etc etc?
Brian Dooher on the half forward line, but no Matt Connor?

Ah well, I suppose it is all about opinions.

perhaps he does not have a clue about football more like
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 19, 2008, 01:59:54 PM
Quote from: tieroan on March 19, 2008, 12:51:56 PM
Rufus.................again no Canavan, supposed to be the greatest of his generation, and I appreciate that it is opinions. I cant understand it how anyone in this day and age would leave Peter or The Pony out of a team. McGeeny was a good player but not a great one and John Corvan had bags of skill with heaps of ability but rarely produced.

Well, as an Armagh man and a Harps man, I will accept the charge of tinted glases, but as you say yourself, it is opinions!

Wee Peter's omission does not take away from the fact that he was an excellent footballer. I though do recall the great Dublin and Kerry teams of the 1970s, both laden with great forwards, and of course there was the incomparable Matt Connor.

Incidentally, the charge that Corvan 'rarely produced' is oft heard from critics.

What exactly does this mean? I can recall instances of Corvan producing it in All Ireland Finals, Railway Cup Finals, Ulster Finals and County Finals. The fact that many of these were not on National TV or in the public eye, does not detract in my opinion. Corvan was a bit lke a modern day Declan Browne. Armagh back then were very limited - that's not Corvan's fault!

It has been menioned before, but when Charlie Nelligan appeared on Know Your Sport as the mystery guest, Jimmy Magee talked about the great Kerry forwards of the 1970s a 1980s, but asked Charlie to list the great forwards he came up against during his career.

The first named - numero uno - was JC.

Good enough for Charlie - good enough pour moi!   ;)
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 02:02:19 PM
Again it's all down to opinions - also footballers in the 70's can't be fairly and accurately compared to those of the 90's and those of the recent times - but sure it's all good crack !  ;D
Post by: rrhf on March 19, 2008, 02:05:26 PM
Matt Connor; never had the fortune of seeing him in person
Darragh O Se: roasted in AI semi 2003,  In 2005 was well handled.
Was impressive most tiimes i seen him on TV but as for the games Ive watched him in person he has been good to fair, very close but probably plays at a lower level of football in Munster and that cost him dearly here, just behind another Ose.  kerrymen please dont be greedy.   Kerry have a lot of fine and nice footballers thats why the dogs of war stand out a bit more methinks.  
Tohill V Mc Geeney for the other half back slot, Tohill got the nod for being part of a more successful team, but was edged out of midfield by a man who was an important midfield cog in an even more successful team.  Artistic license was sought out for this one.   :P
Post by: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 02:06:03 PM
Quote from: full back on March 19, 2008, 01:03:54 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 12:09:39 PM

Ciaran McGurk (Armagh)
Greg Blaney   (Down)
Colm Cooper   (Kerry)
Mickey Linden   (Down)

That is a shock inclusion Benny
I couldn't think of another truely outstanding HF tbh, McGurk was always a favourite of mine and was a great servant to Armagh(one of the best peno takers ever!), forgot about Neil Smyth, could have put him in there too.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 02:06:33 PM
Paidi O'Sé benny?
Post by: Hound on March 19, 2008, 02:27:53 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 19, 2008, 02:05:26 PM
Matt Connor; never had the fortune of seeing him in person
Darragh O Se: roasted in AI semi 2003,  In 2005 was well handled.
Was impressive most tiimes i seen him on TV but as for the games Ive watched him in person he has been good to fair, very close but probably plays at a lower level of football in Munster and that cost him dearly here, just behind another Ose.  kerrymen please dont be greedy.   Kerry have a lot of fine and nice footballers thats why the dogs of war stand out a bit more methinks.  
Tohill V Mc Geeney for the other half back slot, Tohill got the nod for being part of a more successful team, but was edged out of midfield by a man who was an important midfield cog in an even more successful team.  Artistic license was sought out for this one.   :P

Pretty much everyone has got a roasting at one time or another, not least Cavanaugh when he's been at midfield. His best performances in big games have generally been in the half forward line. If Cavanaugh had been from Armagh, he'd have played feck all at midfield.
Post by: Fíor Gael on March 19, 2008, 02:32:27 PM
1. John O Leary

2. Tony Scullion
3. Seamus Moynahan
4. Robbie O Malley

5. Martin O Connell
6. Kerian McGeeney
7. Tomás Ó Sé

8. Anthony Tohill
9.Daragh Ó Sé

10. Michael Donnllen
11. Greg Blaney
12. Maurice Fitz

13. Micky Linden
14. Peter Canavan
15. Colm Cooper
Post by: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 02:40:33 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 02:06:33 PM
Paidi O'Sé benny?
Paidi has more than 'just' being a HF to his name has he not?  (Ciaran McGurk was a better MF'er than HF anyway).
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 02:41:22 PM
Ignore that Benny, I was raving. I thought you said half back.  (Paidi might be a lot of things, but I'd never call him a half forward :D)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on March 19, 2008, 02:43:01 PM
Stephen Cluxton
Paudi O'Shea
John O'Keefe
Tony Scullion
Jim Reilly
Kieran Mc Geeney
Martin O'Connell
Jack O'Shea
Anthony Tohill
Michael Donnellan
Greg Blaney
Pat Spillane
Mickey Linden
Eoin Liston
Peter Canavan
Post by: TORGAEL on March 19, 2008, 02:51:03 PM
John O'Leary, Dublin

Paul Higgins, Down
Mick Lyons, Meath
Tony Scullion, Derry

Kieran McGeeney, Armagh
Seamus Moynihan, Kerry
Martin O'Connell, Meath

Anthony Tohill, Derry
Dara O'Se, Kerry

Padraig Joyce, Galway
Greg Blaney, Down
Maurice Fitzgerald, Kerry

Mickey Linden, Down
Peter Canavan, Tyrone
Colm O'Rourke, Meath

Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 02:52:38 PM
Lads,

those of you picking Paidi in your teams at corner back, is that because you feel he was better at corner back in the mid 80s timeframe, or do ye not think he was worth his place in the half back line from the 4 in a row team? Or did ye only really see him in the mid 80s?

I'm curious because when I think of Paidi O'Sé, I think of a little hardy, combative number 5, very similar to Tomás today. I don't really associate him with being corner back at all, even though he won 3 All Irelands there, I think,
Post by: thejuice on March 19, 2008, 02:53:20 PM
RE: Deel Rover

to be fair John O'Leary was better than Mick McQuillan though not far off.

I just realised I've never seen that great Down team in person as I couldnt get a ticket to the '91 A-I, so I have to drop Mr Blaney from the team and welcome in I suppose, Pat Spillane, (the footballer not the pundit  ;) )
Post by: Maximus Marillius on March 19, 2008, 02:55:31 PM
Paudi was a better corner back i feel, i think he only conceeded one pt in the All ireland finals that he played in corner back.
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 03:02:35 PM
Paidi conceded a goal to Paudge Quinn in the 86 AIF, which was the only goal he ever conceded.
Post by: Hound on March 19, 2008, 03:03:27 PM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on March 19, 2008, 02:55:31 PM
Paudi was a better corner back i feel, i think he only conceeded one pt in the All ireland finals that he played in corner back.
I thought he claimed zero points conceded...
Post by: rrhf on March 19, 2008, 03:03:58 PM
You keep talking Ill keep correcting Max.
Paudge Quinn took a goal off him in 86.
Still a class act  
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 03:06:33 PM
rrhf, are you sure about that? Was Paidi actually marking him when he scored the goal, or had there been a switch?

This is from Wikipedia, and as far as I know is what the man himself claims too...

QuoteIn all Ó Sé collected eleven Munster Championship medals. He played in ten All-Ireland finals, ending up on the winning side on eight occasions, and he only conceded one point to his opponent in all ten final appearances.
Post by: Hound on March 19, 2008, 03:09:57 PM
Not sure how valid it is in any event if you don't take account of frees conceded from which scores were taken...
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 03:12:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 03:06:33 PM
rrhf, are you sure about that? Was Paidi actually marking him when he scored the goal, or had there been a switch?

This is from Wikipedia, and as far as I know is what the man himself claims too...

QuoteIn all Ó Sé collected eleven Munster Championship medals. He played in ten All-Ireland finals, ending up on the winning side on eight occasions, and he only conceded one point to his opponent in all ten final appearances.
allways found that a strange stat fair enough if the man he was orignally marking didn't score but did teams not make any switches at all?Did teams  just say ah sure we know that no one is going to score on paidi so we will leave it the way it is 
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 03:15:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 03:12:41 PM

allways found that a strange stat fair enough if the man he was orignally marking didn't score but did teams not make any switches at all?Did teams  just say ah sure we know that no one is going to score on paidi so we will leave it the way it is 

Or did Paidi pull the head off every lad that he marked and conceded 4 points from the freetaker? :D

I had a housemate in college who used to play for Westmeath, and used to do that. Every week I'd come back and ask him how he got on, he'd say 'Held my man scoreless/scoreless from play'. I'd say 'fair play'. Then I'd look in the paper, and it'd be X (7 points, 7 f), and your man would have given away 5 of them :D
Post by: Maximus Marillius on March 19, 2008, 03:20:24 PM

:D :D :D I'm the winner rrhf
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 19, 2008, 03:21:16 PM
                                  John O'Leary (Dublin)

Kieran McKeever (Derry)             Darren Fay (Meath)                  Tony Scullion (Derry)

Martin O'Connell (Meath)            Seamus Moynihan (Kerry)          Kieran McGeeney (Armagh)               

Darragh O'Se (Kerry)      Paul McGrane (Armagh)

Maurice Fitzgerald (Kerry)                Greg Blayney (Down)            Michael Donnellan (Galway)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

Steven McDonnell (Armagh)            Peter Canavan (Tyrone)        Mickey Linden (Down)       

Lots of good players left out obviously but these are the best players I've actually seen in person as opposed to on TV etc.
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 03:25:06 PM
No sign yet of record scorer in Ulster championship football in the modern area ???? Oisin Mc Conville ??

Post by: rrhf on March 19, 2008, 03:26:44 PM
Boys Paudge scored a goaL whilst Paidi was marking him in an AIF in 1986.  Max Im glad to see Derry men watching us then too. Oisin is a scoring machine..... from frees. 
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 03:32:39 PM
my team is as follows                                 Larry Reilly

Larry Reilly                 Larry Reilly                 Larry Reilly

Larry Reilly                  Larry Reilly                 Larry Reilly

Larry Reilly              Larry Reilly

Larry Reilly               Larry Reilly                 Larry Reilly

Larry Reily                Larry Reilly                 Larry Rilley 
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 19, 2008, 03:36:57 PM
I'd say that's fair enough Deel Rover.

I'd imagine Larry Reilly pushed hard for the no.15 spot, but you went with your gut, fair play.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 19, 2008, 03:41:27 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on March 19, 2008, 03:36:57 PM
I'd say that's fair enough Deel Rover.

I'd imagine Larry Reilly pushed hard for the no.15 spot, but you went with your gut, fair play.

Ye its just that i was going to pick a team CM and then i remembered the Larry Reilly Thread from a few weeks ago and i said why bother just pick Larry and you won't go too far wrong ;)
Post by: off the laces on March 19, 2008, 03:42:36 PM
                                  John O'Leary (Dublin)

Kieran McKeever (Derry)             Darren Fay (Meath)                  Paul Higgins (Down)

T O'Se (Kerry)            Seamus Moynihan (Kerry)        Kieran McGeeney (Armagh)                

Darragh O'Se (Kerry)      Paul McGrane (Armagh)

Maurice Fitzgerald (Kerry)            Greg Blayney (Down)             Trevor Giles(Meath)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               Oision Mcconnville (Armagh)            Peter Canavan (Tyrone)        Mickey Linden (Down)        

Paul higgins is in, in place off scullion just for what he did to joe brolly after replacing john kelly at celtic park in 94
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 03:45:31 PM
No sign yet of record scorer in Ulster championship football in the modern area ? Oisin Mc Conville ??

Oisin is included at last !!!!  ;)

Now what about the great Frank Mc Guigan ?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 03:46:38 PM
Also, not a Donegal man in sight - what about Mairtin beag ?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 03:47:45 PM
No Eugene Mc Kenna either ??
Post by: Rav67 on March 19, 2008, 03:50:48 PM
    O'Leary

Moynihan Fay Scullion

Downey McGeeney T.O'Se

Tohill     D.O'Se

Cooper Giles Donnellan

Linden Corkery Canavan
Post by: 5 Sams on March 19, 2008, 03:53:44 PM
Hard choices all around...as someone said earlier there are and have been so many great players..

1. John O'Leary
2. Marc Ó Sé
3. John O'Keefe
4. Robbie O'Malley
5. Martin O'Connell
6. Séamus Moynihan
7. Tony Scullion (Had to squeeze him in somewhere)
8. Colm McAlarney
9. Jack O'Shea
10. Matt Connor
11. Greg Blaney
12. Frank McGuigan
13. Mickey Linden
14. Maurice Fitzgerald
15. The Gooch

Subs:
Kevin Moran
Peter Canavan
Paddy Bradley
Brian McGuigan
Declan Browne
James McCartan
Paddy Moriarity
Niall Cahalane
Páidí Ó Se
Tómás Ó Sé
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:00:06 PM
12. Frank McGuigan

Great stuff 5 SAMS !!  :D ;D
Post by: loughshore lad on March 19, 2008, 04:02:01 PM
What would your team be orangeman?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:05:32 PM
Seriously it's too hard to pick - It would take me weeks and I'd be changing my mind all the time !  :D :D :D
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 19, 2008, 04:07:51 PM
You have to remember the original question orangeman, the thread relates to players that contributors have actually seen in person, so that might be influencing the replies. I for one never saw Frank McGuigan or Eugene McKenna play in person.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 19, 2008, 04:08:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:00:06 PM
12. Frank McGuigan

Great stuff 5 SAMS !!  :D ;D

Am I missing something Orangeman. He's one of the few players I have seen who could play anywhere.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 04:09:54 PM
he means no-one else had picked him. That was happy smiley, not sarcastic smiley :D
Post by: loughshore lad on March 19, 2008, 04:16:29 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on March 19, 2008, 04:07:51 PM
You have to remember the original question orangeman, the thread relates to players that contributors have actually seen in person, so that might be influencing the replies. I for one never saw Frank McGuigan or Eugene McKenna play in person.

Good point Cavanmaniac and on that basis I would go for the following on first instinct:

1  ???
2 Paudi O'Shea
3 Darren Fay
4 Tony Scullion
5 Henry Downey
6 Kevin Moran
7 Paul Curran
8 Frank McGuigan
9 Jack O'Shea
10 Pat Spillane
11 Brian McGuigan
12 Eugene McKenna
13 Peter Canavan
14 Eoin Liston
15 Mickey Linden
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:17:18 PM
I agree with you 5 Sams as Offaly AZ says - a class act and could play everywhere - good picking on your part.
Post by: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 04:21:54 PM

You remember him playing orangeman?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:22:53 PM
Yep - great player !
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 04:23:27 PM
If I had seen him playing 'live' I would have picked him. The closest I saw was the day he scored 11 points I think, was it against Armagh. But that was on telly. It inspired me to do that dummy solo, and it was a great weapon :D
Post by: ExiledGael on March 19, 2008, 04:23:45 PM
Lot of greats here but I'm restricted to the last 15 odd years, only ten really of solidly going to games.

1 John O'Leary

2 Ryan McMenamin
3 Barry Owens
4 Marc O'Se

5 Tomas O'Se
6 Kieran McGeeney
7 Conor Gormley

8 Anthony Tohill
9 Dara O'Se

10 Sean Cavanagh
11 Brian McGuigan
12 Pauric Joyce

13 Colm Cooper
14 Peter Canavan
15 Declan Browne

Seen O'Leary back in '92/'93 but was no age, him and McHugh are about all I remember from that year's NFL final. Owens has been mighty impressive and I've seen a lot of him in recent years, he has two All-Stars after all. Moynihan didn't play when I seen Kerry play. McGuigan is without doubt the finest playmaker I've seen. Canavan kicked our asses for over a decade and seen Browne once, before I'd ever heard of him and couldn't believe how good he was.
Post by: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 04:24:01 PM
jaysus i'm in my thirties and don't remember him playing and you're... what... 16?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:25:35 PM
16 and a half ! Seen the videos as well !  ;D
Post by: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 04:27:38 PM
2nd mention of Kevin Moran, wtf!! How long did he play inter-county football 2yrs tops and crammed a lifetime into them?  Don't think so. 
Post by: ExiledGael on March 19, 2008, 04:42:09 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 19, 2008, 04:24:01 PM
jaysus i'm in my thirties and don't remember him playing and you're... what... 16?

Bit more than that Uladh, he was playing right up until 96/97
Post by: loughshore lad on March 19, 2008, 04:44:21 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 19, 2008, 04:27:38 PM
2nd mention of Kevin Moran, wtf!! How long did he play inter-county football 2yrs tops and crammed a lifetime into them?  Don't think so. 

Its all about a persons individual choice. I may have only saw Moran play 3 times but the impression he left on me from those 3 occasions was enough for me to feel he should have been included.
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:47:56 PM
Personally I think longevity should be an important consideration - I don't really rate 1 or 2 season wonders - I saw Michael Donnellan the year Galway won the AI and I thought leaving Croker that day that he was the best I ever seen but a few seasons later, I had obviously changed my mind.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 19, 2008, 05:15:04 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:47:56 PM
Personally I think longevity should be an important consideration - I don't really rate 1 or 2 season wonders - I saw Michael Donnellan the year Galway won the AI and I thought leaving Croker that day that he was the best I ever seen but a few seasons later, I had obviously changed my mind.

Donnellan was a great player for Galway probably right up until around 2003 maybe 2004. Unfortunately niggling injuries slowly wore him down after that. He was very good almost every year from 98 until 2003/4 apart from maybe 99 when we did very little really after ending the famine the year before. Was also the main reason that Salthill won the club final in 2006. I always maintain that I have never seen a player since that could excite a crowd as much when he got the ball. Not Colm Cooper or anyone. There was almost a palpable intake of breath when Donnellan got the ball as people waited for him to take off. Unfortunately he was like a tempremental thoroughbred racehorse that broke down more often as he got older.

That said I would rate Padraig Joyce higher personally. How can you argue with a man who scores 0-10 in an All-Ireland final. I'm actually quite shocked that he hasn't featured in more teams. Granted the competition is fairly stiff up front especially amongst our older contributors who probably were in the Polo Grounds in 1947. ;D
Post by: Fuzzman on March 19, 2008, 05:40:28 PM
Can any Non Tyrone Posters tell me what do they Brian McGuigan best qualities are and when did first begin to rate him?

Interesting how few people have listed Oisin despite him being Ulster's top scorer
Mickey Linden was an awesome footballer in the early 90s

I regret not seeing more of Maurice Fitz
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 05:41:07 PM
Joyce is well entitled to be included alright - I have to agree with you there - Also agree that Donellan was breathtaking at times, but as you say injury blighted his careeer for too long.
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 05:42:31 PM
I regret not seeing more of Maurice Fitz

I saw Mo in the Mo Fitz final in 97 - unbellievable !!!!!!!!!! What a pleasure !
Post by: Throw ball on March 19, 2008, 05:51:01 PM
Best I remember:-

John O'Leary
Paudie O'Shea    Darren Fay     Tony Scullion
Tomas O'Shea    Geezer           Paddy Moriarity
             Jack O'Shea     Mark Grimley
Padraig Joyce     Frank McGuigan Snr.   Maurice Fitzgerald
Stevie McDonnell  Colm O'Rourke  Oisin McConville

Other notables: j. Corvan, M. Donnellan, B Mullins, K. Barr, B Rock. Picked Oisin for frees. Could not pick Peter Canavan as I told everyone in work I thought Johnny Corvan was better than him and I did not pick him! Also the best individual performances I saw were Eamon O'Hara V Armagh in 2002 quarter final and Maurice Fitzgerald any time he played.
Post by: ONeill on March 19, 2008, 09:11:21 PM
rrhf is 100% correct. Paidi even mentions Quinn's goal in his book - the first he'd conceded in an AIF.
Post by: ONeill on March 19, 2008, 09:15:22 PM

O'Leary
McKeever     Fay     Scullion
Tomas O'Se    Downey           Jordan
             Jacko     Tohill
Padraig Joyce   McGuigan   Fitzgerald
Linden   Canavan McDonnell

Post by: shark on March 19, 2008, 10:08:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 03:15:13 PM

I had a housemate in college who used to play for Westmeath, and used to do that. Every week I'd come back and ask him how he got on, he'd say 'Held my man scoreless/scoreless from play'. I'd say 'fair play'. Then I'd look in the paper, and it'd be X (7 points, 7 f), and your man would have given away 5 of them :D

As a Westmeath man i'd be curious to know who that is. There would be quite a few contenders...
Post by: ildanach on March 19, 2008, 10:31:14 PM
1 John O'Leary

2 Robbie O Malley
3 Darren Fay
4 Marc O'Se

5 Thomas O'Se
6 Seamus Moynahan
7 Sean Og de Paor

8 Anthony Tohill
9 Dara O'Se

10 Maurice Fitzgerald
11 Ciaran McDonald
12 Michael Donnelan

13 Colm Cooper
14 Padraig Joyce
15 Peter Canavan
Post by: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:20:18 PM
Quote from: shark on March 19, 2008, 10:08:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 03:15:13 PM

As a Westmeath man i'd be curious to know who that is. There would be quite a few contenders...

From Delvin. Ex captain for a while. Nice lad, but an awful hoor to play against :D
Post by: Bogball XV on March 19, 2008, 11:21:20 PM
It's easier after reading everybody else's teams, but it's still a tough task, so here goes:

1.  Neil Collins

2. Kieran McKeever                    3. Tony Scullion             4. Conor Gormley

5. Tomas O'Se                          6. Seamus Moynihan       7. Martin O'Connell

8. Anthony Tohill      9. Dara O'Se

10. Maurice Fitzgerald                11. Brian McGuigan          12. Frank McGuigan

13. Colm O'Rourke                    14. Peter Canavan           15. Colm Cooper

Post by: 5 Sams on March 19, 2008, 11:22:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 04:09:54 PM
he means no-one else had picked him. That was happy smiley, not sarcastic smiley :D

Alright lads...point taken...sorry Orangeman :-*
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 19, 2008, 11:52:04 PM
Have to allow for the fact that I seen damn-all of the players already listed playing up to 96 or so, thanks to Sligo's splendid isolation in Division 4 and the all-conquering Connacht Championship of those times.

Anyway:

John O'Leary

Marc O'Se
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
Sean Óg de Paor
Glen Ryan
Seamus Moynihan

Anthony Tohill
Darragh O'Se

Michael Donnellan
Ja Fallon
Ciaran McDonald
Colm Cooper
Peter Canavan
Padraig Joyce

Years of beatings by Galway left an impression I suppose. Never seen Maurice Fitz play, nor Linden.
Post by: diesel-smuggler on March 20, 2008, 12:28:28 AM
john o'leary

tony scullion
darren fay
conor gormley

andrew mccann
seamus moynihan
tomas o'se

anthony tohill
paul mcgrane

martin mchugh
greg blayney
maurice fitzgerald

colm cooper
peter canavan
mickey linden
Post by: muppet on March 20, 2008, 12:53:41 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on March 19, 2008, 11:52:04 PM
Have to allow for the fact that I seen damn-all of the players already listed playing up to 96 or so, thanks to Sligo's splendid isolation in Division 4 and the all-conquering Connacht Championship of those times.

Anyway:

John O'Leary

Marc O'Se
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
Sean Óg de Paor
Glen Ryan
Seamus Moynihan

Anthony Tohill
Darragh O'Se

Michael Donnellan
Ja Fallon
Ciaran McDonald
Colm Cooper
Peter Canavan
Padraig Joyce

Years of beatings by Galway left an impression I suppose. Never seen Maurice Fitz play, nor Linden.

No O'Hara!!!

On his day as inspirational as any you named with the exception of Mossie and PTG.

Don't get the O'Sé fascination myself. I've seen all three cleaned at different times but when it happens one another O'Sé usually gets MOTM so it probably clouds people's opinion of them. Don't get me wrong I'd take all 3 for Mayo, but they are not the best I've seen in their positions.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 20, 2008, 01:10:15 AM
Quote from: muppet on March 20, 2008, 12:53:41 AM

Anyway:

John O'Leary

Marc O'Se
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
Sean Óg de Paor
Glen Ryan
Seamus Moynihan

Anthony Tohill
Darragh O'Se

Michael Donnellan
Ja Fallon
Ciaran McDonald
Colm Cooper
Peter Canavan
Padraig Joyce

No O'Hara!!!

On his day as inspirational as any you named with the exception of Mossie and PTG.

Don't get the O'Sé fascination myself. I've seen all three cleaned at different times but when it happens one another O'Sé usually gets MOTM so it probably clouds people's opinion of them. Don't get me wrong I'd take all 3 for Mayo, but they are not the best I've seen in their positions.
I left him out as though he's the one Sligoman who would get in, I opted to select it from other counties. I'd slot him in for McDonald probably if I included him. ;)

As for the O'Sés, indeed I found it difficult to select the FB line, didn't see a lot of the players listed above, didn't tend to see games other than our own, and Sligo rarely crossed paths with the top teams outside Connacht before 2001 (league excepted). So while Marc could be dropped, I'm not entirely sure who I'd put in instead. As for Darragh, more certain there, though a case could be made for Kevin Walsh, but if that were so I'd be going in a direction where Ray Silke would probably end up getting in too. :D
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2008, 04:33:50 AM
I find it interesting that not one person has selected Larry Tompkins.
Post by: stephenite on March 20, 2008, 04:39:52 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2008, 04:33:50 AM

I did think of him, left him out for Trevor Giles (some people didn't rate him, I did) But I also thought someone would have him in there
Post by: rrhf on March 20, 2008, 07:57:16 AM
Max have a  slice of warm pie,  would you like some more powdered humble sprinkled generously over the top of it?
Post by: No1 on March 20, 2008, 09:46:52 AM
Best team made up of players I've seen in person                                                   

1.  Mickey McVeigh

2. Kieran McKeever                    3. Mick Lyons                4. Paul Higgins

5. Barry Breen                           6. Henry Downey          7. Martin O'Connell

8. Anthony Tohill         9.  Ciaran McManus John McDermott

10. Maurice Fitzgerald                11. Greg Blaney             12. Padraig Joyce

13. Colm O'Rourke                    14. Brian Stafford           15. Mickey Linden

It would be great to be able to say I never saw Canavan and therefore can't pick him, but I'll have to be honest, I never liked the wee shite!!

Forgot all about McDermott!
Post by: passedit on March 20, 2008, 10:33:50 AM
Best team made up of players I've seen in person                                                   

1.  Mickey McVeigh

2. Tommy Mc Govern                 3. Dan Mc Cartan       4. Paul Higgins

5.  Tom  O Hare                         6. Barry Breen          7. Paddy Kennedy

8. Ambrose Rogers (sen)         9.  Colm Mc Alarney

10. John Purdy                         11. Greg Blaney             12. Oul James

13. Wee James                        14. Sean O Neill           15. Mickey Linden
Post by: Uladh on March 20, 2008, 10:42:32 AM

You wouldn't be a down man Passedit? by the way, who's paddy kennedy?

Did some joker just include Ciaran McManus? i thought friday was comedy day?
Post by: thebandit on March 20, 2008, 10:58:20 AM
John O Leary
Marc O'Se
Seamus Moynihan
Tony Scullion
Conor Gormley
Kieran McGeeney
Martin O'Connell
Anthony Tohill
Dara O'Se
Maurice Fitzgerald
Greg Blaney
Oisin McConville
Mickey Linden
Peter Canavan
Colm Cooper
Post by: No1 on March 20, 2008, 11:12:15 AM
QuoteDid some joker just include Ciaran McManus? i thought friday was comedy day?

Good lad.  Saw him twice and both times he was absolutely fantastic. 

Never seen Dara O'Se play in the flesh and there was no way McGrane was getting in there.  Maybe shoulda stuck big Conor Deegan in!
Post by: Canalman on March 20, 2008, 11:19:43 AM
Bedt player I ever saw play was Kevin O'Brien of Wicklow.
Post by: mouview on March 20, 2008, 11:20:29 AM

Anyway:

John O'Leary

Marc O'Se
Darren Fay
Tomas Mannion
Sean Óg de Paor
Glen Ryan
Seamus Moynihan

Anthony Tohill
Darragh O'Se

Michael Donnellan
Ja Fallon
Ciaran McDonald
Colm Cooper
Peter Canavan
Padraig Joyce

Good man Owen - now that's what I call a right team! Respect for including Sean Og, Mannion and Ja - in their day they were the best around. (And it shows what a real confluence of talent Galway had in '98 - they were just so right that year.) Thought you might include Kevin Walsh also? Enormously underrated I suggest.
Post by: passedit on March 20, 2008, 11:23:19 AM
Quote from: Uladh on March 20, 2008, 10:42:32 AM

You wouldn't be a down man Passedit? by the way, who's paddy kennedy?

Whatever gave you that impression Uladh?

http://www.gaa.ie/page/football_all_stars_80s.html (http://www.gaa.ie/page/football_all_stars_80s.html) 1981

Anyway excluding those from my own county (the only credible way imo)

1 B Mc Alinden
2 M O Se
3 T Scullion
4 K Mc Keever
5 H Downey
6 L Harnan
7 C Gormley
8 E Mc Kenna
9 A Tohill
10 Spillane
11 L Tompkins
12 J Fallon
13 C O Rourke
14 M Fitzgerald
15 P Canavan
Post by: umpire on March 20, 2008, 11:30:07 AM
Paddy Cullen Dublin
Robbie Kellagher Dublin
Jack Lyon Meath
Tom O' Hare Down Best defendet ever
Paddy Moriarty Armagh
Jack O'Shea Kerry
Martin O'Connell Meath
Colm McAlarney Down
Mick O Connell Kerry
Frank McGuigan Tyrone
Sean Purcell Galway
Matt Connor Offaly Brilliant forward of all time
Mickey Linded Down
Sean O'Neill Down
Eoin Liston Kerry
Post by: AZOffaly on March 20, 2008, 11:33:53 AM
Jaysus umpire, did you see all them lads live? You might be the oldest poster so :)
Post by: Bogball XV on March 20, 2008, 11:49:35 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on March 20, 2008, 04:33:50 AM
too many marquee forwards - I had to leave out McDonald, I was also tempted to throw in Mattie Forde, Brolly on his day was pretty good too....
Post by: Maximus Marillius on March 20, 2008, 11:51:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 20, 2008, 11:33:53 AM
Jaysus umpire, did you see all them lads live? You might be the oldest poster so :)

r u not scared shitless of the keyboard umpire ;)
Post by: Aghdavoyle on March 20, 2008, 12:04:48 PM

Gary Walsh

Kieran McKeever
Gerry McCarville
Martin O'Connell

Paudi O'Se
Liam Harnan
Glen Ryan

John McDermott
Jack O'Se

Pat Spillane
Greg Blaney
Michael Donnellen

Peter Canavan
Maurice Fitz
Gooch
Post by: umpire on March 20, 2008, 12:55:59 PM
Yes I seen all of those players that i picked. Mick O'Connell was a dream player. i seen him playing against Down in 60's
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 20, 2008, 07:05:05 PM
I have seen the 2 Micko's, Dwyer and Connell, playing but it was at the end of their careers so they dont make my team.
Have only seen Canavan "live" twice and he was subbed in both games :P so does he deserve mention.

There will naturally be a slight bias in my team to Kerrymen as they are the ones I have seen the most of over the last 30 plus years so I have named my favourite Kerry team and the pick of the rest.

My Kerry team
Charlie Nelligan
Marc O'Se
John O'Keeffe
Jimmy Deenihan
Paidi O'Se
Seamus Moynihan
Ger Lynch
Jack O'Shea
Darragh O'Se
Maurice Fitz
Pat Spillane
Colm Cooper
Bomber Liston
John Egan

The best of the rest
Paddy Cullen
Robbie O'Malley
Darren Fay
Robbie Kelleher
Niall Cahalane
Kieran McGeeney
Sean Og de Paor
Brian Mullins
Anthony Tohill
Matt Connor
Larry Tompkins
Greg Blayney
Padraig Joyce
Jimmy Keaveney
Peter Canavan

Thats not as easy as it looks I could pick 5 teams there but sin é
Post by: shark on March 20, 2008, 07:13:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:20:18 PM

From Delvin. Ex captain for a while. Nice lad, but an awful hoor to play against :D

Ha, I was thinking it might be him. Think he is actually from Turin though, not Delvin. No football club in Turin who he hurled with, so played for Delvin, and then a coupla other clubs!
Post by: Orior on March 20, 2008, 07:31:21 PM
                                                        1.  Pat Donnan

2. Dennis Stevenson                 3. Tom McCreesh       4. Enda McNulty

5.  Andy McCann                       6. Paddy Moriarity          7. Aidan O'Rourke

8. Joe Kernan        9.  Colm Mc Alarney

10. Oisin McConville                        11. Greg Blaney             12. Noel Marley (with Sat Nav installed)

13. Johnny Corvan                    14. Stevie McDonnell           15. Mickey Linden
Post by: AZOffaly on March 20, 2008, 07:45:52 PM
Quote from: shark on March 20, 2008, 07:13:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 19, 2008, 11:20:18 PM

Ha, I was thinking it might be him. Think he is actually from Turin though, not Delvin. No football club in Turin who he hurled with, so played for Delvin, and then a coupla other clubs!

I thought it was the other way around? Hurled with Turin because there was no hurling in Delvin? You could be right though. Went on to Loman's as well for a while.
Post by: iano on March 21, 2008, 08:33:39 PM
Since mid ninties i'd have.....
1 Fergal Byron
2 Marc O'Se
3 Fay
4 Joe Higgins
5 Tomas O'Se
6 McGeeney
7 Moynihan
8 Dara 'O'Se
9 Cormac McAnallan
10 Donnallen
11 Brian McGuigan
12 Canavan
13 Cooper
14 Declan Browne
15 Maurice Fitz
Some players out of posiition but you catch my drift.Byron in goals probably talking point but still he was was consistant keeper around over this period imo.
Maurice Fitz best forward i've seen, McAnallen probably most adaptable( to the highest level) player i've seen.
Post by: dec on March 21, 2008, 08:52:56 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 20, 2008, 07:31:21 PM
                                                        1.  Pat Donnan

2. Dennis Stevenson                 3. Tom McCreesh       4. Enda McNulty

5.  Andy McCann                       6. Paddy Moriarity          7. Aidan O'Rourke

8. Joe Kernan        9.  Colm Mc Alarney

10. Oisin McConville                        11. Greg Blaney             12. Noel Marley (with Sat Nav installed)

13. Johnny Corvan                    14. Stevie McDonnell           15. Mickey Linden

Have you only ever watched Armagh / Down games?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 21, 2008, 09:00:47 PM
John O'Leary

Rob O'Malley - Mick Lyons - Marc O'Se

Paul Curran - Moynihan - Martin O'Connell

Brian Mullins - Jack O'Se

Matt Connor - Blaney - Spillane

O'Rourke - Canavan - Cooper
Post by: orangeman on March 21, 2008, 09:21:05 PM
2 great full backs both came from Meath - Mick Lyons and Darren Fay - both immense players - both as hard as nails !
Post by: glenullinabu on March 21, 2008, 11:16:27 PM

John Somers
Rob O'Malley - Gerry McCarville- Kieran McKeever
Paudi O'Se - Moynihan- John McGurk
           Dara O'Se- Jack O'Se
Matt Connor - Dermot McNicholl - Spillane
Linden/McDonnell - Sheehy - Cooper

(Linden will soon be replaced by Paddy Bradley  ;D)
(Plunkett Donaghy was nowhere near my list, despite the "catch in 1992")
Post by: orangeman on March 21, 2008, 11:21:06 PM
No Anthony Tohill ??? No Brolly ? No Paddy Bradley ?
Post by: glenullinabu on March 21, 2008, 11:23:49 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 21, 2008, 11:21:06 PM
No Anthony Tohill ??? No Brolly ? No Paddy Bradley ?

Tohill was best with mcgilligan
mcentee was one of my favourites
brolly was great but others better
ask me in 5 years time and there might be 2 bradleys on it!!!
Post by: thewobbler on March 21, 2008, 11:25:47 PM
From about 1988 onwards:

...............................Stephen Cluxton..................................

Tony Scullion.................Darren Fay......................Tomas Mannion

Conor Gormley.............Kieran McGeeney..............Seamus Moynihan

..............Anthony Tohill.....................John McDermott...............

Greg Blaney.................Brian McGuigan.............Maurice Fitzgerald

Peter Canavan.............Kieran Donaghy.............Mickey Linden

With honourable mentions to Mickey McVeigh, Stephen O'Brien, Sean Marty Lockhart, Dara Ó Sé, James McCartan, Colm O'Rourke, Tommy Dowd.  
Post by: orangeman on March 21, 2008, 11:28:47 PM
2 Bradleys ?? Sure you haven't one on YET !! It mightn't be long says you !  ;) ;)
Post by: glenullinabu on March 21, 2008, 11:30:28 PM
Quote from: glenullinabu on March 21, 2008, 11:16:27 PM

John Somers
Rob O'Malley - Gerry McCarville- Kieran McKeever
Paudi O'Se - Moynihan- John McGurk
           Dara O'Se- Jack O'Se
Matt Connor - Dermot McNicholl - Spillane
Linden/McDonnell - Sheehy - Cooper

(Linden will soon be replaced by Paddy Bradley  ;D)
(Plunkett Donaghy was nowhere near my list, despite the "catch in 1992")

maybe should have darren fay in full back
we had a real clinker of a full back in gabriel bradley in mid 80's - derry stalwart for years from mid 70's
derry would have won 1985 final had he not told mickey moran he couldnt pick ... a few years beforehand (he was a wise man!) & nleft the panel
i think body fat was scared of him!!!
Post by: glenullinabu on March 21, 2008, 11:31:54 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 21, 2008, 11:25:47 PM
From about 1988 onwards:

...............................Stephen Cluxton..................................

damian mccusker was much better
Post by: thewobbler on March 21, 2008, 11:35:47 PM
Couldn't have that Glenullin Abu. Maybe if you want to win an Cic Fada, but that apart, Cluxton is a better keeper.
Post by: glenullinabu on March 22, 2008, 12:01:46 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 21, 2008, 11:35:47 PM
Couldn't have that Glenullin Abu. Maybe if you want to win an Cic Fada, but that apart, Cluxton is a better keeper.

his short kick outs were very good too and he had good awareness of players available for passes
cluxton is probably form keeper over the last few years
Post by: moysider on March 22, 2008, 12:06:53 AM

Martin Furlong

Tony Scullion                                        John o Keefe                                 Paudie Lynch

Paudie O Sé                                     Seamas Moynihan                            Martin O Connell

Dara O Sé                                            Jack O Shea

Maurice Fitzgerald                                  Matt Connor                                  Mickie Kearins

Colm Cooper                                        Peter Canavan                                John Egan

It broke my heart to leave so many great players out. To mention a few. Eugene McKenna, Willie Joe Padden. Frank McGuigan. Greg Blaney. Kevin Moran . Dermot Earley. Mickey Linden. Mikey Sheehy. Colm O Rourke. Tony McManus. Padraig Joyce. Brian Mullins. Michael Donnellan. Ciarán McDonald. Seán Lowry. Eamonn O Hara.
Post by: orangeman on March 22, 2008, 11:40:09 AM
Canavan and Cooper seem to be coming up in most teams - is this cause they're more recent do you think ?
Post by: An Duin Abu on March 22, 2008, 11:50:35 AM
That Armagh team that were defeated by Dublin in the All-Ireland in '77 were an excellent team. More street wise and they would have achieved an awful lot more than what they actually did.

Post by: orangeman on March 22, 2008, 12:54:50 PM
If Dublin had not beaten them on the day !
Post by: donegal gael on March 22, 2008, 01:11:08 PM
                                       John o'leary

Tony Scullion                Darren Fay         Marc O'se

Sean Og De Paor         Kirean McGeeney     Seamus Moynihan

Anthony Tohill                        Dara O'se

Brian Dooher               Greg  Blaney       Trevor Giles

Colm Cooper      Peter Canavan        Mickey Linden

Stephen Cluxton
Kirean McKeever
Conor Gormley
Mike Mc Carthy
Declean Meehan
Henry Downey
Tomas O'se
Sean Cavanagh
John mcDermott
James McCartan
Brian McGuigan
Ja Fallon
Steven McDonnell
Padraig Joyce
Stephen O'neill
Post by: orangeman on March 22, 2008, 01:14:21 PM
Stephen O'neill

Such a big impact in a few short years !