GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on March 11, 2008, 12:31:25 PM

Title: An Mhí v An Cabhán
Post by: thejuice on March 11, 2008, 12:31:25 PM
Our favourite neighbours are coming to Navan on saturday. With Cavan propping up the table I'd normally be confident of a Meath win but if it werent for the Cork points we'd be sitting next to em. No news out of Meath just yet on team selction though we might be carrying injuries with O'Rourke, Bray, Sheriden and Farrell which doesnt leave us with much attacking options.
Title: Re: An Mhí v An Cabhán
Post by: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 12:57:04 PM
Dunno what to make of this one. Meath can only get better but if Cavan are going to beat their rivals at any time, this is their best chance. Injuries are not the only problem, midfield was poor against Westmeath as was the half back line. Meath are in real trouble if they put three bad performances back to back.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 11, 2008, 01:34:48 PM
With Armagh, Monaghan and Dublin still to play, this is surely a 'must win' for the royals.
Post by: thejuice on March 11, 2008, 02:33:51 PM
Indeed it is.

The midfield was bad and if only we could get Antony Moyles to play in all positions in the half back line we'd be alright. Ignoring injuries for now we have plenty up front but not much in defence except for Moyles, King and Fay.
Post by: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 03:33:48 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 11, 2008, 02:33:51 PM
Indeed it is.

The midfield was bad and if only we could get Antony Moyles to play in all positions in the half back line we'd be alright. Ignoring injuries for now we have plenty up front but not much in defence except for Moyles, King and Fay.
Were you in Mullingar Juice? Moyles had a nightmare, he gave no protection to Fay. He went centre forward and then full forward and was worse, not that he was the only one not to play well. Fay was destroyed by Glennon, though a number of factors contributed to that. Moyles left an acre of space in front of him, Coyler left him on Glennon when it was plain to everyone in Cusack Park that he wasnt going to be able for him, and also, there was no pressure on the ball coming into him, they had all day to pick the pass.
In saying that, the back were no really the problem, I thought McGill, McGuinness,King and Harrington when he came on were all solid. In my opinion the half forward line. We really need O Rourke and Ward (terrible to be relying on lads so young) to be the link men. Peader Byrne works hard but most of the time has blinkers on. The Westmeath Half back line attacked for fun all day, and a lot of that was done when Meath had the extra man!
Post by: Jinxy on March 11, 2008, 04:14:44 PM
Did Peadar get a straight red the last day?
Post by: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 04:22:57 PM
No, too yellows, the second was for a stupid late tackle, if only he had a head...
Post by: thejuice on March 11, 2008, 04:31:24 PM
Quote from: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 03:33:48 PM
Were you in Mullingar Juice?

I listened to it online and read paper reports for my info. My comments on Moyles are on his overall performances which i think are ususally very good.

Post by: magpie seanie on March 11, 2008, 04:59:38 PM
QuoteFay was destroyed by Glennon

How much did Glennon score from play?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 11, 2008, 05:35:42 PM
Thought Moyles was one of ur better performers, but since he was trying to put out fires all over the place his impact was probably limited.

Quote from: magpie seanie on March 11, 2008, 04:59:38 PM
QuoteFay was destroyed by Glennon

How much did Glennon score from play?

3 points
Post by: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 06:23:49 PM
Yeah three points but it wasnt even that, every ball that went into the Westmeath forwards went to Glennon and he either scored or set up someone else.
Wasnt jumping on you there Juice, i just think that Moyles is still not the answer to CB, he has a great engine and I am a fan but most of his good performances come from CHF, just not sure he's an out and out defender.. They seem to have lost interest in putting him midfield.
Post by: thejuice on March 11, 2008, 07:36:19 PM
Quote from: The Claw on March 11, 2008, 06:23:49 PM
Yeah three points but it wasnt even that, every ball that went into the Westmeath forwards went to Glennon and he either scored or set up someone else.
Wasnt jumping on you there Juice,

I know you'd never do that,

Its true what you say, he's hard to place because i tihnk his best work is done in midfield even though he's not one you'd place there.
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 13, 2008, 05:16:54 PM
It's a sad day when the Cavan bize can't be arsed to post in a Meath v Cavan thread...the wheels truly are coming off

Is Hardy off gathering stones or something?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 13, 2008, 08:21:53 PM
i refuse to share a thread with stone throwing bog men  ;D

i am with CC1 on this, i cant see any reason for optimism about this year.

one good half and one decent half of performance is all that ive seen from Cavan this year.

Meath by 5 im afraid.
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 14, 2008, 10:17:14 AM
Well I think Cavan are going to win despite having a manager with his head up his arse. Don't know where this optimism has come from as I have been depressed about the state of Cavan football for over a month now. Anyhow, Larry Reilly (sorry - Lawrence of Knockbride) told me to put the house on them at 11-4 with Boyle Sports so I did that yesterday. I'd say there will be a very poor crowd down from Cavan for this one though.
Post by: thejuice on March 14, 2008, 10:45:24 AM
Heres the preview from RTE.ie, hard to see any logic to it, you wouldnt think they would back Meath after reading the article.

QuoteMeath -v- Cavan

Meath are facing a forward crisis ahead of the visit of basement side Cavan to Páirc Tailteann.

Manager Colm Coyle will not be able to name Shane O'Rourke and Joe Sheridan, as both have been ruled out of the clash with their Breffni rivals.

Brian Farrell is a major doubt and Stephen Bray is struggling to recover from an injury incurred in the five-point loss to Westmeath.

Meath have amassed three points, thanks to a draw with Roscommon and the two points they received from their postponed game with Cork.

Cavan have yet to register any points, conceding 3-35 in losses to Armagh, Monaghan and Dublin.

Donal Keoghan's side lived with Dublin for the first 60 minutes a fortnight ago, but a Bernard Brogan goal more or less settled the issue.

If the visitors can win enough scoreable frees, Seanie Johnston has the ability to it edge for them in what is shaping up to be a low-scoring tussle.

Verdict: Meath
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 14, 2008, 11:01:54 AM
Ah yes - another piece of pure class from RTE/Aertel. I'd imagine they meant to give the verdict to Cavan after what went before.
Post by: thejuice on March 14, 2008, 11:51:05 AM
Hot off The Press, Meath Team to Face Cavan

1.  Brendan Murphy, Trim (C)
2.  Niall McKeigue, Navan O'Mahony's
3.  Darren Fay, Trim
4.  Cormac Mac Gill, Donaghmore/Ashbourne
5.  Eoin Harrington, Wolfe Tones
6.  Kevin Reilly, Navan O'Mahony's
7.  Caoimhin King, Dunshaughlin
8.  Nigel Crawford, St. Peter's, Dunboyne
9.  Mark Ward, Navan O'Mahony's
10.  Peadar Byrne, Ballinlough
11.  Anthony Moyles, Blackhall Gaels
12.  Alan Nestor, Blackhall Gaels
13.  Stephen Bray, Navan O'Mahony's
14.  Graham Geraghty, Clann na nGael
15.  Cian Ward, Wolfe Tones
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 14, 2008, 03:25:28 PM
Jaysus i know 12 of that team is over 6ft tall  :o dont know about Harrington,Gill and Nestor,

what do you feed them in Meath Juice.  :D

we will look like a team of minors against them.
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 14, 2008, 04:10:16 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 14, 2008, 03:25:28 PM
what do you feed them in Meath Juice.  :D

Little babies I heard. (Unconfirmed).

Seriously though, size matters, Meath at a canter in this one.
Post by: The Claw on March 14, 2008, 04:51:02 PM
Definitely like the look of the team. Defence looks solid with Harrington, Reilly and McKeigue back. Forward line looks far more potent especially the half forward line. I would prefer to see Cian Ward at centre forward because he was very good there against Roscommon, i'd say he'll come out the field anyway but the one thing he doesnt like is a sticky corner back and usually centre backs are looser which suit ward better. If the back stays back, all the better. Reilly should protect the full back line better than Moyles, I would expect McGill to pick up Johnson which should be a good battle. Need a big game from Midfield.
Post by: Jinxy on March 14, 2008, 09:31:16 PM
Decent looking side. Need full points from this one.
Post by: thejuice on March 16, 2008, 10:34:51 AM
Half Time:
Cavan 0-11
Meath 0-4

Full Time:
Meath 0-15
Cavan 0-13

Be-Jaysus
Post by: Maguire01 on March 16, 2008, 10:38:32 AM
How did Cavan manage to let that one slip?  That's Cavan as good as relegated now anyway.  At the same time, it hardly flatters Meath either.
Post by: thejuice on March 16, 2008, 11:03:49 AM
Cian Ward with 9 points, fair play, hope he can do that in the summer
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 16, 2008, 12:22:14 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 16, 2008, 10:38:32 AM
How did Cavan manage to let that one slip?  That's Cavan as good as relegated now anyway.  At the same time, it hardly flatters Meath either.

Don't get me started.
Post by: The Claw on March 16, 2008, 03:16:03 PM
Awful first half from Meath. I missed the first 15 but apparently Johnson was taking Fay to the cleaners, I think it was 7-1 to Cavan when I came in. From then on Meath came into the game a bit more. Second half was a different story, Meath totally dominated. Cian Ward kicked some unbelievable frees, including one unbelievable sideline from out near the 45. Mark Ward was good in the middle, Eoin Harrington was very good and Kevin Reilly also had a solid game. Still a lot to work on.