GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: never kickt a ball on March 03, 2008, 11:21:44 AM

Title: Tyrone v Laois NFL 2008
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 03, 2008, 11:21:44 AM
Sat 15th March
Omagh@19:30 Tyrone v Laois
Allianz National Football League Fourth Round

http://www.tyronegaa.ie/county/football/news/story.jsp?newsid=531

Bottom of the table clash. Big game for both teams
Title: Re: Tyrone v Laois NFL 2008
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 03, 2008, 01:20:36 PM
Sean mór sees it as a championship game but is optimistic after the Galway game:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/avdb/sport/other_sport/audio/156000/bb/156237_au_bb.ram
Post by: tyroneman on March 03, 2008, 01:51:43 PM
Big game for both teams alright............Tyrone now need 3 straight wins to see off relegation

Hopefully the disgracefull memory of how the Laois players carried on in our last Championship meeting will be fresh enough in the lads heads.
Post by: doirebhoy on March 03, 2008, 02:08:11 PM
how many get relegated?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 03, 2008, 05:53:58 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 03, 2008, 01:51:43 PM
Big game for both teams alright............Tyrone now need 3 straight wins to see off relegation

Hopefully the disgracefull memory of how the Laois players carried on in our last Championship meeting will be fresh enough in the lads heads.

::) Are you serious  ???
Or just sour we beat you  ;)
Post by: ExiledGael on March 03, 2008, 06:17:47 PM
Can see Tyrone handing out a serious hammering here. They are long overdue and a few positive signs seem to have emerged lately.
Notice Liam Kearns refused to speculate on the return of a number of Laois players from retirement on Saturday night. Are there rumours of a return for Higgins and Kelly?
Post by: orangeman on March 03, 2008, 06:21:12 PM
Hope you're right Exiled -
Post by: Zapatista on March 03, 2008, 06:32:05 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 03, 2008, 06:21:12 PM
Hope you're right Exiled -

Ye'd take a small win though.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 03, 2008, 06:37:31 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on March 03, 2008, 06:17:47 PM
Can see Tyrone handing out a serious hammering here. They are long overdue and a few positive signs seem to have emerged lately.
Notice Liam Kearns refused to speculate on the return of a number of Laois players from retirement on Saturday night. Are there rumours of a return for Higgins and Kelly?

Is there any point in us even turning up so    ???

As for Kelly/Higgins rumours have been going on since they quit,Personally as much as i'd love to see them back i think at this stage it would be better off if they didn't come back because it shouldn't take that much coaxing to get them back if they really wanted to play,So if they do come back will their hearts really be in it?
Post by: ExiledGael on March 03, 2008, 07:00:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 03, 2008, 06:37:31 PM

Is there any point in us even turning up so    ???

Ah yiz can turn up alright. I'd love to see a Laois win, but have a feeling Tyrone have turned a corner.
Post by: tyroneman on March 03, 2008, 07:37:30 PM
QuoteAre you serious 
Or just sour we beat you 

Can take getting beat by a better team, and Laois were the better team on the day, but thier players were waaaay over the top in how they carried on. That bollix screaming in the face of Jordan will be an image I hold for many years - uncalled for
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 03, 2008, 09:14:03 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on March 03, 2008, 07:37:30 PM
QuoteAre you serious 
Or just sour we beat you 

Can take getting beat by a better team, and Laois were the better team on the day, but thier players were waaaay over the top in how they carried on. That bollix screaming in the face of Jordan will be an image I hold for many years - uncalled for

Maybe so but sure isn't it great all Tyrone players are Saints
Post by: bennydorano on March 03, 2008, 11:30:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 03, 2008, 09:14:03 PM
QuoteAre you serious 
Or just sour we beat you 

Who was it, was it Sheehan?  I ask as I reckon it's a Kerry thing or else him and Donaghy(who seems to be at it all the time) are just fuckwits.
Post by: Zapatista on March 04, 2008, 08:08:17 AM
QuoteAre you serious 
Or just sour we beat you 

Jordan is a big boy, he will be grand.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2008, 07:01:04 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 03, 2008, 11:30:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 03, 2008, 09:14:03 PM
QuoteAre you serious 
Or just sour we beat you 

Who was it, was it Sheehan?  I ask as I reckon it's a Kerry thing or else him and Donaghy(who seems to be at it all the time) are just fuckwits.

Yeah it was Billy Sheehan,It was much a do about nothing really
Post by: ONeill on March 04, 2008, 10:10:12 PM
Laois looked handy enough on Sunday. Some fine point-taking.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2008, 10:11:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 04, 2008, 10:10:12 PM

Na sure we're gonna get a hammering this weekend i believe
Post by: ExiledGael on March 05, 2008, 05:21:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2008, 10:11:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 04, 2008, 10:10:12 PM

Don't believe everything you read LL.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 05, 2008, 07:23:30 PM

Would take that with a pinch of salt...there isnt much prospect of a team whose best tally so far this campaign is 11 scores handing out a hammering. And it wasnt even a Tyrone fan who made that claim.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 07, 2008, 09:38:41 PM

Not sure what you're up to this weekend RLL, but as long as ye get a hammering the weekend after in Omagh and I'll be happy  ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on March 11, 2008, 11:20:44 AM
How's the Omagh pitch holding up for this weekend?

I heard the hurling was cancelled at the weekend because it was so wet and the county board now want to have a contingency plan like Dungannon or Coalisland pitch at the ready for such future incidents.

Any more team news?

Do we expect to see the same 15 as in Galway or will Mickey make his usual 4 or 5 changes again.
We need to win this one?
It's on Setanta isn't it?

Post by: Oakleafer1993 on March 11, 2008, 12:00:15 PM
Tyrone are going to get roasted when they come to celtic park ;D
Post by: ziggysego on March 11, 2008, 12:02:21 PM
Why, someone setting fire to cars?
Post by: Star Spangler on March 12, 2008, 05:26:16 PM
I remember being at that game in Portlaoise in '06 and one of the Laois supporters shouting, "You won't get away with that kind of thing down here!".  Like Tyrone hadn't played all but three of their previous 15 championship games "down here"!  :D
Post by: tyrone86 on March 12, 2008, 10:12:55 PM
1    John Devine Aireagal Chiaráin
2    P J Quinn Baile na Móna
3    Justin McMahon An Omaigh
4    Dermot Carlin Coill an Chlochair
5    Davy Harte Aireagal Chiaráin
6    Conor Gormley An Charraig Mhór
7    Ryan McMenamin An Droim Mhór
8    Kevin Hughes Cill Íseal
9    Enda McGinley Aireagal Chiaráin
10  Ryan Mellon An Mhaigh
11  Raymond Mulgrew An Chorra Chriochach
12  Sean Cavanagh An Mhaigh
13  Tommy McGuigan Ard Bó Mhór
14  Colm McCullagh An Droim Mhór
15  Owen Mulligan  An Chorra Chriochach

16  Pascal McConnellAn Baile Nua
17  Colm Cavanagh An Mhaigh
18  Peter Donnelly Oileán a'Ghuail
19  Niall Gormley Trí Leac
20  Ciaran Gourley An Charraig
21  Colin Holmes Na Clairsigh
22  Philip Jordan An Mhaigh
23  Damian McCaul Domhnach Mór
24  Michael McGee Loch Mhic Ruairí
25  Brian McGuigan Ard Bó Mhór
26  Shaun O'Neill An Droim Mhór
27  Martin Swift Coill an Chlochair
Post by: tyroneboi on March 12, 2008, 10:44:06 PM
Not a bad side you would like to think it would be enough to get us our first win of the season. Will be interesting to see Justin McMahon at full back. Has he had many games there?
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2008, 11:00:27 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on March 12, 2008, 10:12:55 PM
1    John Devine Aireagal Chiaráin
2    P J Quinn Baile na Móna
3    Justin McMahon An Omaigh
4    Dermot Carlin Coill an Chlochair
5    Davy Harte Aireagal Chiaráin
6    Conor Gormley An Charraig Mhór
7    Ryan McMenamin An Droim Mhór
8    Kevin Hughes Cill Íseal
9    Enda McGinley Aireagal Chiaráin
10  Ryan Mellon An Mhaigh
11  Raymond Mulgrew An Chorra Chriochach
12  Sean Cavanagh An Mhaigh
13  Tommy McGuigan Ard Bó Mhór
14  Colm McCullagh An Droim Mhór
15  Owen Mulligan  An Chorra Chriochach

16  Pascal McConnellAn Baile Nua
17  Colm Cavanagh An Mhaigh
18  Peter Donnelly Oileán a'Ghuail
19  Niall Gormley Trí Leac
20  Ciaran Gourley An Charraig
21  Colin Holmes Na Clairsigh
22  Philip Jordan An Mhaigh
23  Damian McCaul Domhnach Mór
24  Michael McGee Loch Mhic Ruairí
25  Brian McGuigan Ard Bó Mhór
26  Shaun O'Neill An Droim Mhór
27  Martin Swift Coill an Chlochair

This is more like it. Glad to see Carlin in at 4. Was never convinced by Swift. Justin at 3 is an experiment worth persisting with, especially after the Kerry game. Harte-Gormley-Ricey at the expense of Jordan is peculiar, unless Jordan is injured. Are Ricey's days numbered? Jordan will start come the summer, although I suspect Mickey still sees Ricey as the starting RB. Hughes and McGinley again with Sean in the half forwards...given our lack of scoring potential at the minute we need Sean as freed as possible from midfield duties so his selection at 12 can only be a good thing. Mickey's definitely giving this Hughes/McGinley partnership plenty of airing. Tommy/Colm/Mugsy - we look forward to seeing this division rack up a decent total. Mulligan started to show a little of his old form last time out.

On the bench I'd like to see Gormley and O'Neill get a run out.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 12, 2008, 11:19:04 PM
After Carlins performance down in Galway he is extremely lucky to keep his place on the team. Would definately have preferred Jordan to be on who was the best player down in Kerry - a half backline of ricey-gormley-jordan would be as good as there is in Ireland. Think Ricey has to move out the field - he's been picking up a few rosatings at corner back over the last year or 2. Cant compalin with the rest of the team and would be great to see Justy do well at full back. McGuigan named on the bench - looks like Harte is certainly considering giving him game time. Its important that the forwards continue to improve and improving on the 2-9 the last day would be a good target. Maybe now Mulligan has found a bit of form his free taking will improve.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 12, 2008, 11:39:58 PM
Tyrone very strong favourites with Paddy Power:

4/11 Ty, 11/4 Laois, 15/2 draw.

Bookies know.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 13, 2008, 11:45:39 AM
Yeah at last Mickey has moved Block back to his best position and it's good to see Justy in at FB.
Think he plays there for St Mary's doesnt he or am I confused.
He seemed to fair well enough with Star in Tralee but will depend on how much good ball goes into ther FF.

Will be interesting to see will the Wild Rover Carlin continue his forays up the field as much from No 4 but I'd suspect yes which could lead to trouble.
Yeah I'd be happy with Ricey at 5 come summer time as he still brings a lot to the time and is always motivating those around him, even if he does get the odd silly red card. No I'm not on a nephew witch hunt but l do think we've better defenders back from injury now.

I think our forwards will kick on now and as I said recently I think we all over-reacted to recent defeats
Yeah Kildare game was disappointing but even from 2003 - 2005 we would have found it tough going away to Galway and Kerry.

Post by: nrico2006 on March 13, 2008, 11:55:13 AM
Yeah, I would like to see Justin get a run in the team now as I think he has the ability to play at No.3 and provide a solution to the problem long-term.  Good to see McGee back in contention aswell.  Hopefully now the forwards can better on and regain abit of confidence for the rest of the year.
Post by: tyroneman on March 13, 2008, 01:42:49 PM
Great to see Justin get a run at FB. Hopefully he will be a big success and can offer a genuine option along with McCarron for years to come.

Also might mean Joey can get up to MF.

Not far off the Championship line up now..........would like to see (if all were fit, sharp and ready to go)

Devine
PJ
Justy
McGee
Ricey
Block
Model
Hub
Sean
Mulgrew
God ptII
Enda (asuming Dooher ain't gonna make it for the Down game)
Tommy
Colm
Mugsy

Swift
Mellon
Joey
Gourley
McCaul
McCarron
O'Neill
Cavanagh Jnr
Gormley
Carlin

and the rest providing options on the bench
Post by: Fuzzman on March 13, 2008, 03:58:06 PM
What's the latest on Joey anyway?
Is he just another guy that always gets injured or do you think he'll be OK soon

Do ye think Mickey's being hard on McCaul or has he already decided to play him come May. Maybe he's just giving others match time.
Wonder is Jordan being rested or has he been dropped cos he went off skiing.

Certainly is an abundance of descent defenders but again we wait to see what MF will provide us with.
Watching Hub there in 2003 on dvd and he looked so much more mobile and faster to the ball than in recent times.

Glad Mickey has taken Colm Cavanagh out of the forward line for a while as he just wasn't performing but maybe he suits the better pitches come the summer.

How did McCullagh play at FF in Salthill?
Post by: rrhf on March 13, 2008, 04:27:25 PM
Mc Caul is standing out as the great untried, maybe Mickey is watching his displays at 3 for the Sigerson and is happy that hes playing enough football.  To play at 3 in a Sigerson final team 2 years in a row must bring him in to the reckoning at some time, or maybe hes going to piss about with him like he did with Robinson.  I dont know.  Id love to see Mc caul tried in the half forwards or half backs he the  fastest man on the panel,  they call him the gazelle. Overall though thats not too bad a team bar Hughes who is not capable of starting at that level anymore.  I can see sean moving into the centre to give life support to the midfield after a short period of time, but is this practice weakening our forwards chances of scoring when they need all the help they can get. 
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 13, 2008, 06:03:42 PM
I'd rather have seen McMahon at 8 and McCaul at 3 but MH persists with a midfield that hasn't clicked yet, nor does it ever look like clicking. Hub must put in some performances in training week in week out. McMahon has the engine for midfield and could be the answer for distance frees. He did well at 3 against Kerry but the next few games will tell all. Can't wait for Saturday night and really hope that there's no monsoon or tropical storm blowing in over Healy Park. Absolutely salivating at the prospect of a 5-10 minute cameo from McGuigan. 2 points badly needed, I think that team should be good enough. 
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 13, 2008, 06:24:27 PM
I think McGinley has been good in midfield and could well start their come championship. He win's a lot of possession in the area which is very important, although he was out caught a number of times down in Kerry. Hub has come in for a lot of criticism and looks slow but he was much improved down in Galway and if that trend continues maybe he shouldnt be counted out just yet.

Im glad McMahon is getting a go and he looks an option at both full back and midfield. Im not sure what are best option is here so he probably is worth a go. People are talking about McCaul but Im not convinced he is ready for full back at this stage. He like many of our defenders seems better going forward so might be a better option at half back. I havent seen that much of him so maybe Im being harsh on his defensive ability but I thought he struggled against Meath last year and got a roasting in last years Sigerson final. There's a big step up from Sigerson to county football RRHF - the likes of Peter Donnelly and many other non starters at county football can make Sigerson teams and perform well. McCaul is young so should improve and would certainly add a bit more strength in the half back line than Harte.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 13, 2008, 06:25:46 PM
Thats the strongest looking team so far IMO. Harte should have been giving the likes of McCarron, McCaul and Justy a run at no.3 all the way through the league but better late than never. Defence should be a good bit stronger with Gormley at 6.

Must win this game and if that team performs to potential we will have a good chance.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 13, 2008, 10:27:57 PM
LAOIS senior footballers followed up their recent National Football League draw with Mayo by registering an easy win over Longford on Sunday in a challenge.
However, the side has a much bigger game on Saturday as they travel to Omagh to take on Tyrone in a very important encounter.
The last time the two sides clashed was in 2006 when Laois defeated the Red Hand in the all-Ireland qualifiers in O'Moore Park, Portlaoise.
But Liam Kearns and his players will be approaching this game at the weekend in the knowledge that a win is a must do if the side are to have any chance of avoiding relegation from Division 1.
The recent result over Mayo in the league was a huge confidence booster for the side, and the county, after the team gave a good display and were unlucky not to come way with the victory.
The away clash with Tyrone on Saturday will be a much sterner test for the side as they have to make the long trip up north. The injury suffered to Aidan Fennelly during the Mayo match will leave him sidelined for a few weeks so it could be a chance for David Murphy to claim his place in the side.
The Portarlington clubman was reported to have played well during the challenge match on Sunday in a midfield role.
But time is ticking towards the forthcoming Leinster championship campaign so Kearns and Co will need to settle on a formidable line up for the competition.
However, the competition from Tyrone will be tough as the Mickey Harte trained side will be looking to register more points in the league.
The news coming from the camp is that Brian McGuigan has been training with the squad over the last few weeks but has now finally been given the nod by medical experts to return to competitive action.
The Ardboe clubman has not played competitively since he suffered a horrendous eye injury in a club game last year. The 28-year-old had just recovered from a double leg fracture which had seen him ruled out of action since the 2005 all-Ireland football final.
In other news, former Laois captain Gary Kavanagh has returned to the county fold after he was asked back into the panel by Liam Kearns.
Liam Kearns also received a huge boost with the news that Graiguecullen cl ubman Barry Brennan is expected to return to the Laois senior football panel this week. The talented forward is only recently recovering from a groin injury which h ha s halted his progress in the past year.
However, he has turned in some fine performances for the Garda Training College during the Sigerson Cup.
One of the finest displays from Brennan came in 2005 after he almost single-handedly defeated Kildare in the semi-final of the Leinster championship.
Post by: rrhf on March 14, 2008, 09:04:50 AM
There's a big step up from Sigerson to county football RRHF
Tyrone dreamer - you are on the money with that comment.  There must also be a recognition of the right to having several chances, if you are going to give hub the benefit of the doubt then you have to give everyone a chance on the panel.  Im not sure either ogf Mc caul at 3 but by God every man in the squad has has multiple chances and he has had 10 minutes.  He is young but the lad last year was thrown in at the deep end agaianst Meath and as you say would need to have a chance to acclimatise this year to the step up.  I believe his only full (competitive) game for Tyrone has been an AIQF where he was thrown in against an All Star in form.  Does that make logical sense to you TD?
Post by: orangeman on March 14, 2008, 10:43:25 AM
RRHF -

I really can't fully understand why Mc Caul hasn't been tried more - I was shocked to say the least at his inclusion in last years AIGF against Meath but as I say I can't understand if he was good enough to include back then when the stakes were higher, why is he not being given a run now ?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2008, 01:56:48 PM
It makes sense but just not sure if he's the option for 3 at the minute. Suppose he's worth a go although I think Justy McMaahon after his performance against Donaghy in Kerry definately deserves a go there for a game or 2. Did McCaul not play the league game against Fermanagh last year in Omagh?
Post by: loughshore lad on March 14, 2008, 02:31:14 PM
Wouldnt be that convinced about Justin McMahon in full back. Dont think he has the pace, mobility or defensive capability to play there at county level. Have to agree with RRHF as regards McCaul, its puzzling that he has not been given more of a chance so far this season.
Post by: rrhf on March 14, 2008, 02:54:19 PM
I haventy seen that much of Justin to comment, but with a strong defence an attack minded midfielder like Justin might let Sean C a little more time in the half forwards.  I think we are probably concentraing too much on the wrong end of the pitch, defence is not a problem area at the moment could maybe be better but they havent lost us any of the games to date.  The real focus tomorrow night has to be on the performance of the Tyrone forwards in particular the following needs to be addressed
Mc Culla: Scorer or playmaker
Mulligan: Leader or second in command
Mulgrew: Is he delivering at the moment
Tommy: Is he a full forward line member or playmaker. 
Do our half forwards play too deep.
By 9 00 on Saturday night those who are sober should know what members ofTyrones forwards have passed the test in a must win game.  The perhaps unfair thing about this is,  every game is last chance saloon now, and yet there will be guys who will not have had the opportunity to stake a claim like the others until its a life or death game. Good luck Tyrone lets keep it Division 1. 
Post by: iano on March 14, 2008, 10:21:26 PM
Looking forward to match this weekend.As for Tyrone I think I can speak for most fair minded laois fans amd say we have nothing but respect for Tyrone.Think this goes back to minor days of late ninetes(not many teams get gaurd of honour out of croke park by losing team).We have always had good relationship and you'll always get stupid things going on between players & suppporters.Always found Tyrone crowd sound unlike some other sets of supporters.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 11:49:26 AM
maybe Mickey is watching his displays at 3 for the Sigerson and is happy that hes playing enough football

I think IF this were the case, MH would be playing him.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 15, 2008, 04:27:14 PM
Glad to see Mickey's gone with my preferred at nos 3 and 6  ;)

Strong look about this lineout, and here's hoping, though the Laois lads will be well fired up for it, especially after their neighbour's (Kildare) semi-successful exploits a few weeks before. If the upward trend in terms of the performance continues we should be home and dry, though taking nothing for granted.

Tir Eoghain abu!
Post by: iano on March 15, 2008, 05:43:49 PM
Anyone got link to anywhere broadcasting match?
Post by: tyroneboi on March 15, 2008, 07:18:54 PM
any updates?
Post by: ONeill on March 15, 2008, 07:47:16 PM
Half Time Tyrone 0-8 Laois 0-5 - Definately a much improved Tyrone perfomance and the first time this year that Tyrone have scored eight times in the first half of a National League match.

34 mins Owen Mulligan strikes a fine point from the left wing after Colm McCullagh is knocked to the ground.

33 mins Laois add a third free through the boot of Michael Tierney to close the gap to two points once again.

28 mins Colin Holmes scores from distance before Moy man Sean Cavanagh adds a second point within a minute.  Tyrone 0-7 Laois 0-4

27 min Laois add their forth point in a row.  Brian McCormack points from play.  Tyrone 0-5 Laois 0-4

25 min Michael Tierney follows up his first free with a fine left footed point from the left wing.  Only two points between the teams now.

20 min Colm Parkinson fists a first Laois point after a sharp turn and run from the line. A Minute later Michael Tierney adds a free.  Tyrone 0-5 Laois 0-2

15 min Very sweet left footed point from Davy Harte after some excellent build up play from Colm McCullagh and Owen Mulligan.

14 min Laios are forced to replace Ross Munnelly as Owen Mulligan adds a thirty metre free to total.  Tyrone 0-4 Laois 0-0

9 min Incredible left pointed score from the end line. Raymond Mulgrew adds a third point for Tyrone.
Tyrone 0-3 Laios 0-0

7 min Tommy McGuigan links up well with Tyrone's second scorer Colm McCullagh. Tyrone 0-2 Laois 0-0

4 mins Owen Mulligan opens the scoring after a nice flick from Tommy McGuigan.

Game begins with one change on the Tyrone team.  Colin Holmes replaces an injured Kevin Hughes.

Tyrone - J Devine, PJ Quinn, J McMahon, D Carlin, D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin, C Holmes, E McGinley, R Mellon, R Mulgrew, S Cavanagh, T McGuigan, C McCullagh, O Mulligan

Laois - M Nolan, C Ryan, D Rooney, C Healy, P O'Leary, J O'Loughlin, P McMahon, P Clancy, K Meaney, R Munnelly, B McCormack, B Sheehan, M Tierney, B Quigley, C Parkinson

tyronegaa.ie
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2008, 08:18:06 PM
McGuigan's on!
Post by: ONeill on March 15, 2008, 08:18:32 PM
Mulligan 3
McCullagh 2
Mulgrew 1
Harte 3
Holmes 1
Cavanagh 1
McGuigan 2
McGinley 1
N Gormley 1
Post by: omagh_gael on March 15, 2008, 09:41:21 PM
much improved performance from last time i saw tyrone, v kildare, very good 1st 20 mins although went off the boil slightly towards end of half! glad to see mugsy finally puttin over a few frees, thought collie holmes did well although faded in 2nd half! Laois very poor shootin in 1st half apart from mj tierneys free takin, one gr8 free of the ground from left touchline!! 2nd half, very quick start from laois and are level with 5-10 mins although tyrone came back into it with couple of quick scores, mugsy did his back in challenging for ball in with full back. Got nervy towards end as Laois looked like they could snatch it, gr8 reception for brian mc guigan, although he only touched the ball twice i think, never the less brilliant to see him in the tyrone jersy again. overall i think it was a decent performance from tyrone, some good scores, although we rarely threatened there goals an justy was a bit shaky at FB in my opinion. will need more improvement wen donegal come to omagh though lookin better.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 10:15:28 PM
Laois left their shooting boots behind particularly in the first half - they should have scored a goal with the first attack when a wayward pass from PJ let the Laois corner forward in but he blazed wide.

Devine was better in goals - not really troubled
PJ was steady enough
I thought Justin was doing ok at full back and was surprised to see him replaced at half time, BEFORE Carlin
Carlin was having an off day.
Davy was simply superb -
Gormley was second best most of the time whilst
Ricey showed some good form again.
Holmes battled well
Mc Ginley really upped the ante in the 2nd half and was probably MOM
Mellon - another off day though put a lot of pressure on Laois defenders
Mulgrew - not bad - got through a lot of work and showed some great glimpses - what about that pass for Davy to score his last point ??
Sean  - very stong and won a lot of ball without doing a lot with it - how did he miss the goal ?
Tommy had his best day so far
Mc Cullagh cuased his marker a lot of trouble
Mulligan was having a great game until he had to go off
Jordan came on at half time for Justin and did nothing wrong
Swift - steadied the ship
Gormely was also effective when he came on
Mc Guigan - great to see him back - will improve for this outing
Donnelly - didn't see a lot of action

Overall, it was a well deserved two points and this performance will show that Tyrone have still a lot of good performers.

I was surprised that Mc Caul still didn't get a run out when Carlin was struggling - what's the score here RRHF ?

I think Tyrone can beat Donegal and get something out of the Derry game to stay up.

Referee John Bannon didn't exactly endear himself to the Tyrone crowd with some shockers !
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 15, 2008, 10:41:05 PM
A victory, an excellent tally of 0-16 and Brian McGuigan back in action has to make it a good day for Tyrone! Who went to fullback when Justy went off? Hope Mugsy isnt badly hurt just as he seems to be playing his way back into form.
Post by: CoDeo2 on March 15, 2008, 10:49:19 PM
Jordan went to full back for most of the second half!! Then he swapped with gormley last 10 minutes!!!!

Tyrone gave away alot of free's in the first half which kept laois in the game!!! That wee number 13 was brilliant at the free's though!!!

Mc cullagh should have had a goal in the first half but buried it over thr bar!!!

Thought swifty done well when he came on!!!! Any word on mugsy!!? He did look too hot when he was getting helped off

Interesting to read harte saying in the programme that everyone associated with the team are hopeful oneill will return to the fold in the near future!!!

Great reception for mcguigan!!!

Post by: CoDeo2 on March 15, 2008, 10:52:13 PM
Also does anyone know why the game started at 7 and not half 7?? Arrived in about 6.55 and was just there in time for the throw in!!
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 10:53:08 PM
Interesting to read harte saying in the programme that everyone associated with the team are hopeful oneill will return to the fold in the near future!!!

Delighted to hear that. I'm reading that it's a hamstring injury for Mulligan.
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2008, 10:53:50 PM
Quote from: CoDeo2 on March 15, 2008, 10:49:19 PM

I really can't see that happening.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 10:54:26 PM
The game was fixed for 7 !
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 10:57:39 PM

I really can't see that happening.

Please Ziggy - just for tonight - try and look on the bright side ! Be positive !!!  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2008, 10:59:14 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 10:57:39 PM
Please Ziggy - just for tonight - try and look on the bright side ! Be positive !!!  ;D ;D ;D

We're going to win the All-Ireland.

I do believe that actually. Told my mate that last night..... he just laughed at me.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 11:12:08 PM
Are you serious ??? I asked you to be positive but that's taking the piss !!!!!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 15, 2008, 11:14:20 PM
 What about the increased admission charge for tonights game , 15 euros for the last home game  = 10 sterling , again  tonight 15 euros  but admission  has risen to 12 sterling, in other years the  price for the sectional games remained constant  until the semi finals and did not not depend on currancy  changes.
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2008, 11:16:02 PM
Trust me Orangeman.

I put money on them in 2003... they won.

A few things happened in 2005, that happened in 2003 (non-football related). Took that as a sign, so put money on them.... they won.

Those same things are happening in 2008. I'm gonna put money on them.

You heard it here first! ;)
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 11:18:45 PM
I hope you're right Ziggy - thanks for being positive Ziggy - you can't be any MORE positive than that !!!!  ;D ;D ;D   Roll on September !
Post by: CoDeo2 on March 15, 2008, 11:22:33 PM
Ah rite i had thought it was half 7 from reading the start of this post, was it changed?? the programme also had half 7 on it!!!
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2008, 11:26:11 PM
in other years the  price for the sectional games remained constant  until the semi finals and did not not depend on currancy  changes.

I thought this was in poor taste - we're being punished for being Northerners again !!!! There was no prior warning of an increase in admission but this would be par for the course really !  >:( >:(
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2008, 04:05:47 AM
ha ha this was the best game i been to in terms of free admission, handy wen you have a mate playin for the tyrone hurlers who has free passes, well wat are mates for!!  ;D
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 16, 2008, 06:45:38 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 15, 2008, 11:16:02 PM
Trust me Orangeman.

I put money on them in 2003... they won.

A few things happened in 2005, that happened in 2003 (non-football related). Took that as a sign, so put money on them.... they won.

Those same things are happening in 2008. I'm gonna put money on them.

You heard it here first! ;)

Just liased with Tone there and the hotel is booked!
Post by: give her dixie on March 16, 2008, 10:21:25 AM
Have been looking for tickets all night for the final, and they are like hens teeth.......
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 16, 2008, 10:28:55 AM
Decent display there and certainly some hope going forward. Mulligans free taking and general play is on the up which is much needed in the forwards although hope the injury he picked up isnt to bad. Swift looked like a much better defensive option when he came on than Carlin. Full back is still going to be a major issue. Provided he keeps Gormley at chb and decides that McMenamin is better at half back then he will have a selection headache as Jordan and Harte are already there. Despite Harte playing very well last nite (and scoring 3 points) he'd probably be the one from the 4 Id drop as he's the weakest defender.

Still think Justy McMahon is worth another look at full back. Wouldnt be a bit supriised though if the defence come the Down game is swift-gormley-quinn-harte-mcmenmain-jordan. That full back line would still lack a bit of height and the half back line looks very attacking but couldnt complain to much with it.

The attendance of 3300 was shocking. I know its a Saturday night and £12 in is steep (although people wouldnt have known this before going to the game) but its still points to a lot of sunshine fans (which every county is). It doesnt seem to long since the 05 final when every fan in Tyrone had been "to every game this year" and the gaa were a disgrace for them not having tickets. There was one family who made front page news becasue there baby couldnt get a ticket and he'd been "to every game this year". Id love to know if they were at the match last night. There some difference between the average GAA county supporter and a soccer fan England. Many of these fans go to every home game (20+ in a season) and numerous away games invlving huge distances and £12 would be small change compared to the prices they'd be paying. People say they are being priced out of it especially when they have children (even though they get in free to league games) but at the end of the day Tyrone only have 3-4 home league games in the whole year. They will have another 4-5 championship games in an average year. Most "supporters" only seem to make the effort 2 to 3 times a year. You'd think a few more would have turned out last night to see the return of McGuigan. If Tyrone were to do anything later in the year its these "supporters" who will do the most shouting about tickets and throw out the "grab all association" line.

Having said all that I dont think the GAA are doing themselves any favours. £12 is too dear when the counties only use the league as a warm up to the championship. Also the GAA are doing nothing to sell the games and the decision to play them on a Saturday night is a joke and is totally putting families off. Away fans are expected to travel in the dark and not return home until after midnight which is stupid. The Donegal game should be on the Sunday which Im sure would guarentee 8000+ including a sizeable away support. I wonder are the county board having second thoughts as it will be hitting them in the pocket big time.
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2008, 08:35:10 PM
Heard the bearded one on the wireless today saying that Davy Harte's performance was one of the most complete half back performances he has witnessed in manys a year. Great to hear that. I'll never understand Davy detractors. He also claims Mugsy's showing a bit of the old 05 form - another decent sign - pity about the injury.
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2008, 09:02:32 PM
Davy Harte was outstanding last night - his 3 points were awesome.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 16, 2008, 10:23:51 PM
I'm afraid I am one such detractors but I stand corrected by all accounts
I have saw him play some great games in the past but his lack of pace always concerns me and I just think with Ricey and Gourley fit and Joey & Justy coming backl as well as McGee we have a lot of good defenders now

Sounds like it was a open game with loads of scoring
Anyone know if its being shown again on TG4 or Setanta anywhere?

Donegal and Derry will be tough games though

Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2008, 10:29:49 PM
Davy was the pick of the entire half back line last night - 3 points is some scoring - all real good scores !
Post by: gerry on March 16, 2008, 10:46:52 PM
> mugsy looked hungrier last night, hope his injury only short term

> great to see brian back, he got a good reception, although the crowd put him of when he got the ball and passed it to a laois player.

> poor crowd for a bank holiday weekend

> £12 a bit steep but with kids free its a cheap night
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 16, 2008, 11:27:48 PM
Admission at Crossmaglen 11 sterling ,  the price debates continues .
Post by: rrhf on March 17, 2008, 08:25:12 AM
Harte was great going forward thought and hit 3 ggod points there were serious gaps left behind him imho and Laosi made it a close game through these gaps.  Did Mickey not see this?   
Ricey, Carlin and Mc Mahon were very poor.  Mc Mahon deserves another chance though.
To answer your question Orangeman he obviously dosent rate him 3 options including Phillip Jordan played 3 over the course of the 70.
Swift, PJ and Enda are Tyrones best players this year so far.
Forwards starting to perform, still need a little help from a Canavan style forwards coach.  The scorline is a decent tally. 
Generally an excellent game, Tyrone were a combination of good and awful, I think there are a lot of cracks covered up I have a fear that they may not get a point from their last 2. I thgink they'll be better com,e championship and this team is not far from their best.
The most impoirtant thing was the return to health of Brian Mc guigan,  the 3300 a(nd I thought there was about double that) sounded like a packed Croker, the Laois Lads beside me rose and gave our boy a standing ovation,  somethings you cant buy in the GAA.   
Post by: orangeman on March 17, 2008, 08:29:10 AM
somethings you cant buy in the GAA.     

For everything else there's MASTERCARD !  ;D

Seriously though it was great to see Mc Guigan back -

But Laois were poor and we only beat them by 2.
Post by: rrhf on March 17, 2008, 08:31:30 AM
No offence but I though Laois were poor, and tyrones attacking half backs were egiving them the keys to the kingdom, and I am a fan of both wing halfs, Why not play them in the half forward line. 
Is the Mulgrew man going to make it at the highest level? 
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 17, 2008, 09:55:54 PM
Quick word for MJ Tierney's free taking for Laois on Sat night which was excellent throughout. The ball was placed on the ground each time for his Jonny Wilkinson-style run-up. The kicks were accurate and long and he ended with 7 scores. Tyrone haven't taken a free kick off the ground since 2002.
Post by: rrhf on March 18, 2008, 08:27:12 AM
He has it to an art, one of the highlights of the game. 
Post by: Star Spangler on March 18, 2008, 12:30:44 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 17, 2008, 09:55:54 PM
Quick word for MJ Tierney's free taking for Laois on Sat night which was excellent throughout. The ball was placed on the ground each time for his Jonny Wilkinson-style run-up. The kicks were accurate and long and he ended with 7 scores. Tyrone haven't taken a free kick off the ground since 2002.
I notice that Kerry are kicking frees from the ground to good effect also.