GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: cavan4ever on February 25, 2008, 09:11:58 AM

Title: Cavan V Dublin
Post by: cavan4ever on February 25, 2008, 09:11:58 AM
Many Dubs travelling down for this one?  I think this could end up similar to the Monaghan game although McKeever will be back so that will be a great help for us.  Hopefully there will be a few others back aswell.
Title: Re: Cavan V Dublin
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 25, 2008, 10:07:35 AM
Dublin by at least 6 points I reckon. Cavans midfield will not be able to deal with their runners and I have no faith in management to come up with a game plan to counter Dublins.
Post by: Stagmeister on February 25, 2008, 12:30:02 PM
Dublin to scrape a 1 or 2 point victory with Bernard Brogan to stand out in a poor scrappy affair...
Post by: Hollow Man on February 25, 2008, 07:20:30 PM
QuoteDublin to scrape a 1 or 2 point victory with Bernard Brogan to stand out in a poor scrappy affair...

I'd say he will score a point to win the game from 33 metres with his left foot in the 58th minute as well
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 25, 2008, 10:15:15 PM
The game is live on Setanta if anyone can't make it.
Post by: Davitt Man on February 26, 2008, 09:44:33 AM
Stagmeister, dublin will hammer Cavan, berno to bag 1-4
Post by: dubsnsubs on February 26, 2008, 09:46:20 AM
Are you from Dublin or Cavan Thastheball?? :P
Post by: cavan4ever on February 26, 2008, 09:49:29 AM
Quote from: dubsnsubs on February 26, 2008, 09:46:20 AM
Are you from Dublin or Cavan Thastheball?? :P

He is from Cavan. Things aren't half right in the Cavan setup.  A six point defeat would be a good result for us but i can see it being alot more than that.
Post by: dubsnsubs on February 26, 2008, 10:16:26 AM
Having attended the Cavan/Monaghan game I would have to agree that Cavan looked brutal. However, the bulk of this Dublin team drew with Carlow, should have been beaten by Longford in O'B cup and struggled past Westmeath in the League. Cavan will not play as bad as against Monaghan again and will no doubt raise their game for the visit of the Dubs. They will probably make a few changes to starting personnel. The league is a funny animal and nothing is certain but I believe Dublin should scrape through but nothing surprises me with the Dubs so ........you never really know!
Post by: dubinhell on February 26, 2008, 01:17:53 PM
Quote from: Thastheball on February 26, 2008, 09:41:49 AM
a big beating is in store for us this weekend....bad manager, poor players and a poor attitude, combined together spells disaster.

Are you lads from Kerry or Cavan? Yerra Yerra. Westmeath, Longford and Carlow had thier chance to beat Dublin and Cavan are better than Carlow.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 26, 2008, 01:20:23 PM
Would certainly open things up in division 2 if Cavan did pull off what would be the shock of the year.
Post by: cavan4ever on February 26, 2008, 01:24:25 PM
Quote from: dubinhell on February 26, 2008, 01:17:53 PM
Quote from: Thastheball on February 26, 2008, 09:41:49 AM
a big beating is in store for us this weekend....bad manager, poor players and a poor attitude, combined together spells disaster.

Are you lads from Kerry or Cavan? Yerra Yerra. Westmeath, Longford and Carlow had thier chance to beat Dublin and Cavan are better than Carlow.

I wouldn't bet on it Carlow are probably almost certaintly better organised and coached than Cavan.
Post by: dubinhell on February 26, 2008, 02:49:18 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on February 26, 2008, 01:24:25 PM

I wouldn't bet on it Carlow are probably almost certaintly better organised and coached than Cavan.

Really? What's the problem? People mention infighting but no details given. Shame if its true though.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 26, 2008, 06:55:26 PM
Will be there, the Dubs to scrape a tight game.
Post by: Dubh driocht on February 26, 2008, 08:26:01 PM
For those in the North/GB who are subscribed to Setanta via Virgin, you can get the game at 11am on Setanta Sports 2 on sunday morning at 11am
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 26, 2008, 08:36:55 PM
Have just had a word with my old friend Confucius who has advised as follows:

Good big player better than good small player;
Good big player much better than moderate small player;
Good big fit team hell of a lot better than moderate small unfit team.

I've worried about the Dublin fixture since the divisional groupings were announced and am more worried now. Think we could take a serious tanking on Saturday night if dublin start to fire on all cylinders. Could easily see 4 or 5 goals go in, if that's the case the new management team will start to feel serious heat and the fallout will start earlier than usual.

Mind you the dubs have yet to catch fire, which I suppose gives some hope
Post by: Sky Blue on February 26, 2008, 09:26:20 PM
What do ye expect as a team?

Cluckston

Henry
McConnell
Griffen

Cahill
Brennan
Moran

Whelan
Fennell

B. Brogan
Cullen
Sherlock

A. Brogan
Keany
Vaughn

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 26, 2008, 10:18:58 PM
i think Dublin will win with a few points to spare,
Nobody in Cavan expects us to put up any sort of a challenge, and hopefully with Flanagan,McKeever and possibely McCabe and Cullivan playing some part we will be much stronger than against Monaghan. And with some defensive well actually with any tactics at all.  >:(
we could put up some stiff resistance.
Post by: heffo on February 26, 2008, 10:49:00 PM
Team Named:

DUBLIN (SF v Cavan) - S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, S O'Shaughnessy; P McMahon, P Casey, C Moran; E Fennell, S Ryan; B Cullen, A Brogan, M Vaughan; J Sherlock, B Brogan, B McManamon.
Post by: heffo on February 26, 2008, 10:50:53 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on February 26, 2008, 09:26:20 PM
What do ye expect as a team?

Cluckston

Henry
McConnell
Griffen - He's travelling in Australia

Cahill - only back training from injury, hasn't started a game in months
Brennan - Won't be back until after the club final v Nemo
Moran

Whelan - only back training - wont be playing for a few games yet
Fennell

B. Brogan
Cullen
Sherlock

A. Brogan
Keany - Has a broken nose
Vaughn

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on February 26, 2008, 11:04:45 PM
Quote from: heffo on February 26, 2008, 10:49:00 PM
Team Named:

DUBLIN (SF v Cavan) - S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, S O'Shaughnessy; P McMahon, P Casey, C Moran; E Fennell, S Ryan; B Cullen, A Brogan, M Vaughan; J Sherlock, B Brogan, B McManamon.

A decent team with Griffen, Cahill, Brennan, Whelan, Magee, O'Mahony, Keaney, Quinn, Bonner, Connolly all to come back into contention...
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 26, 2008, 11:37:03 PM
still a strong Dub team though.
delighted that Whelan is missing,as McCabe wouldnt be fit enough at this time of year to mark him.

what are your new guys,
McMahon,Fennell and McManamon like?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 26, 2008, 11:44:07 PM
I remember Dublin played Cavan in the League in Longford in 1977. Was there as an excited 9 yr old seeing the Dubs up close (I got in on the line). Placed was packed to the rafters. I think it was a Q/F. Cavan got reduced to 14 early on and the Dubs won handy.

Many years later I bumped into Jimmy Keaveny in the Burlo. There I was, with me big story. "Jimmy...remember ye played Cavan in the League in Longford in 1977"

"Did we??????????? Jazes, I don't remember that!"

Exit - stage left  :'(
Post by: his holiness nb on February 27, 2008, 07:27:55 AM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 26, 2008, 11:37:03 PM
still a strong Dub team though.
delighted that Whelan is missing,as McCabe wouldnt be fit enough at this time of year to mark him.

what are your new guys,
McMahon,Fennell and McManamon like?

Fennel the best of the new bunch, wins a lot of ball in midfield, needs to compose himself going forward though.

McMahon has been doing ok, no more, no less in the half backs.

McMenaman has only played 1 and a half games so far.
Has looked handy enough, a battler, need to see more.

Fennel for me is the only new comer with a hope of getting near the team come summertime.
Post by: Hound on February 27, 2008, 08:41:17 AM
Jst reading in the Times today that Barry Cahill's father played for Cavan in the 70s. And his mother is from Cavan too. Barry has just about recovered from his knee ligament injury but unfortunately this game is a little too early for him.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 27, 2008, 11:01:44 AM
I believe your manager has Cavan links too. No wonder we are so bad with ye stealing all our players ;)
Post by: Northside Dub on February 28, 2008, 04:17:57 PM
Has the Cavan team been named yet? if not any of the Cavan lads want to hazzard a guess of what it might be??
Post by: CC1 on February 28, 2008, 04:57:29 PM
No team named just yet. I reckon it could well be:

James Reilly
Keith Fannin
Dermot Sheridan/Rory Dunne
Michael Hannon
Barry Watters
Padraig Reilly
Anthony Forde
Lorcan Mulvey
Dermot McCabe
Mark McKeever
Sean Brady/Rory Donohoe
Martin Reilly
Sean Johnston
Jason Reilly
Gerald Pearson
Post by: cavanmaniac on February 28, 2008, 05:06:05 PM
No yerra about it, there's no way Cavan are going to come close to winning this. Whatever about the Dubs formline, Cavan losing to an Armagh team (themselves well beaten last time by Westmeath) that are way behind Dublin (after leading handsomely at HT) and capitulating farcically at home to Monaghan amidst rumours of players bemused at the childishness of our tactical directions from sideline = handsome Dubs win this weekend. And that's before you even get into the relative merits of the two sets of players where even on a good day the Dubs are streets ahead.

If there's any hope for Cavan it's that they should be eager to atone for the Monaghan debacle, the game is at home and that traditionally under Pilar, there's always been a rogue league result waiting around the corner in the NFL.

But Dubs by 5 at least for me and believe me that'd be progress.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 28, 2008, 06:47:37 PM
team id say will be

James Reily
Keith Fannin
Michael Hannon
Michael Brides
Anthony Forde
Padraig Reily
Ronan Flanagan
Lorcan Mulvey
Mark McKeever
Sean Brady
Michael Lyng
Martin Reily
Seanie Johnstone
Dermot McCabe
Jason Reily/Gerard Pierson
Post by: his holiness nb on February 28, 2008, 06:50:20 PM
I trust its pay at the gate?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 28, 2008, 06:54:14 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 28, 2008, 06:50:20 PM
I trust its pay at the gate?

was 13 Euro against Monaghan HHN

The little ticket office is beside the turnstiles, and you have to buy a ticket as they wont take cash at the turnstiles.

PS No delayed throw ins like you dubs normaly get up to!!!!  :D
Post by: his holiness nb on February 28, 2008, 06:57:46 PM
Speaking of delayed throw ins, where good for a pint before the game ?
Post by: Hound on February 29, 2008, 08:31:34 AM
Cavan team named:

J Reilly
M Hannon, P Reilly, K Fannin
A Forde, R Flanagan, D Sheridan
D McCabe, M McKeever
M Reilly, M Lyng, R Donohoe
J O'Reilly, S Brady, S Johnston
Post by: heffo on February 29, 2008, 09:24:48 AM
Quote from: heffo on February 26, 2008, 10:49:00 PM
Team Named:

O'Shaughnessy is out and Derek Murray in at corner back in his place.
Post by: Northside Dub on March 01, 2008, 09:52:01 AM
I reckon flanagan will go man to man on A.Brogan. Will McCabe be fit enough for midfield at this time of year??
Post by: cavanmaniac on March 01, 2008, 03:14:45 PM
Simple answer is no. He's never that mobile or fleet footed at the best of times and he's just back after a long enough injury. McKeever is alongside him to do the hard running, much like Ryan will do for the Dubs.
Post by: MayoMan on March 01, 2008, 07:17:52 PM
That camera could do with a clean!!
Post by: never kickt a ball on March 01, 2008, 08:19:08 PM
Cavan 0-7 Dublin 1-8 can be heard on the following:

http://powerlink.powerstream.net/002/00187/live4.asx
Post by: thejuice on March 02, 2008, 12:19:07 PM
Was really impressed with Vaughn, that 45 wasnt easy in those elements. his over all play has really improved
Post by: Gnevin on March 02, 2008, 06:59:18 PM
I notice so very ,very bad passing from both side . Kicks to the other teams player when no one was even close . I also found it difficult at times in the crowd to pick out a Dub . Was the clash of colours noticeable on tele ? A possible reason from some of the poor passing or was it just that poor passing ?
Post by: ExiledGael on March 02, 2008, 07:12:18 PM
Decent showing by Cavan but never thought they could win the game.Shocking night and Dublin went through the motions at times, typical of their league form in recent years and had Cavan been able to push on could have been beaten.
Brogan in particular was very unimpressive, and greedy just before he was subbed when he could have put the brilliant Shane Ryan in on goal on the overlap.
Cavan started well when Lyng was inflential, but when things atarted to go wrong at midfield they did nothing to respond. Big man in the midfield was excellent for Dublin, totally outpowered a clearly unfit McCabe. Not often he's outpowered though and Caffrey gave him some applause when he came off. Vaughan was hit and miss, some dreadful passing out the field but got a few nice scores from play and a few classy frees. The 45 in those conditions was brilliant.
very disappointed in some of the Cavan forward play, almost seemed to be hiding behind their men except for Jason O'Reilly and Johnstone in flashes.
When the sides were level in the second half Cavan got a free in scorable range and missed, Dublin won the game in the next 10 minutes.
Can't really tell much from the game, though I'd be worried if I was a Cavan fan. Dubs will be there or thereabouts again, Bernard Broigan was very good at times and Casey in patches, they'll come good.
Post by: Hound on March 02, 2008, 08:13:08 PM
Its totally effin ridiculous that one of these teams don't change colours when they play.

The goal and the missed goal within 60 seconds was the difference between the two sides.

Delighted with Mark Vaughan's performance, as he was useless the last day. Bernard Brogan continues to look a player. His brother is having a mare of a time though. Clearly "trying too hard" and clearly not getting bollocked out of it enough for being too greedy. Hopefully being substituted will give him the kick up the jacksey. I'd still rate him our most talented player. Bryan Cullen's another not playing well.

Nice to be at the top end of the league - even if its only Division 2. But we'll need to raise our game seriously for Monaghan. 
Post by: corn02 on March 02, 2008, 08:14:50 PM
Division two is not that much weaker than the top tier Hound.
Post by: Hound on March 02, 2008, 08:31:46 PM
Quote from: corn02 on March 02, 2008, 08:14:50 PM
Division two is not that much weaker than the top tier Hound.
Yip, not that much weaker. But whatever kudos league titles carry - winning Div1 means you're league champions, winning Div 2 means nothing
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on March 03, 2008, 12:43:22 PM
Saw the game on TV and by God the conditions were conducive to a good flowing game of football........I had serious problems working out which team was which at times as the jerseys were pretty close to each other in the wet and can understand why people were mispassing...

From a Dublin point of view -
While it was a poor start and we went 5 points to 1 down after 18 mins it was due to missed chances rather than being dominated....
Keeping them to 2 points for the rest of the game was very good even with Henry struggling on Seanie....Griffen is required back...
Half back line were ok and Casey surprised me as thought he would have been worse but Brennan/Cahill to come back...
Fennell/Ryan didn't do much right, didn't do much wrong - Fennell needs to improve his tackling skills and anyone any idea what he would be like on a hot summers day as he strikes me as a wet weather footballer....
Forwards missed too many chances - I would leave Brogan in at corner forward and get him working really really hard on his shooting and passing....B Brogan played well as did Vaughan...
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 03, 2008, 01:50:10 PM
really enjoyed this game on TV.
Terrible conditions so cant blame the players for poor handling, passing and shooting etc.
Didnt have a prob with the jerseys, then again with the raindrops on the camera lense, it was hard to see anything!

Cavan certainly tried hard and can hopefully build on that.
dublin putting a lot of second and third strng players out for their chance. Caffrey needs to figure out his best XV and where and how to play them
Post by: cavan4ever on March 03, 2008, 03:05:18 PM
Though Dublin were lucky to finish with 15 players.  Fennell should have gone after a high challenge straight after he had being booked but the referee chickened out of it.  Then later on Vaughan went in and struck John Cunningham twice with a closed fist when he had Whelan in a headlock.  Probably wouldn't have made any difference anyway because Cavan were not looking like scoring anyway. 
Post by: Stagmeister on March 03, 2008, 03:31:35 PM
Thought Dublin were very poor on saturday night, their distribution was absolutely brutal, I know the conditions were bad but even allowing for this they kicked way too many bad passes and some of these passes weren't just missing their intended target by a yard or two they were missing it by 5 to 10 yards.
Dublin seem to put in at least two league performances of this standard every year...It doesn't really matter when they do it at this time of year but the problem is that its bad shooting and bad passing that lets them down in the middle of summer as well and it doesn't look like they are going to improve on this aspect of their game this year. Would like to know what if anything is done in training to try and remedy this.

Fennell was lucky not to go alright, that high tackle definitely warranted a yellow card, although his first yellow was a bit harsh..
Don't know what you saw in the John Cunningham incident, thought that was a nothing incident, Vaughan did nothing wrong there at all...

Only real plus to be taken from this game from a Dublin perspective was the performance of Mark Vaughan and maybe McManamon who is showing a bit of potential.

Vaughan's 45 from the right side of the pitch was pure class and definitely the highlight of the game for me...
Post by: heffo on March 03, 2008, 03:32:46 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on March 03, 2008, 03:05:18 PM
Though Dublin were lucky to finish with 15 players.  Fennell should have gone after a high challenge straight after he had being booked but the referee chickened out of it.  Then later on Vaughan went in and struck John Cunningham twice with a closed fist when he had Whelan in a headlock.  Probably wouldn't have made any difference anyway because Cavan were not looking like scoring anyway. 

Poor aul Cavan - all they wanted to do was play open honest football.
Post by: Gnevin on March 03, 2008, 03:34:12 PM
Quote from: Stagmeister on March 03, 2008, 03:31:35 PM
Thought Dublin were very poor on saturday night, their distribution was absolutely brutal, I know the conditions were bad but even allowing for this they kicked way too many bad passes and some of these passes weren't just missing their intended target by a yard or two they were missing it by 5 to 10 yards.
Dublin seem to put in at least two league performances of this standard every year...It doesn't really matter when they do it at this time of year but the problem is that its bad shooting and bad passing that lets them down in the middle of summer as well and it doesn't look like they are going to improve on this aspect of their game this year. Would like to know what if anything is done in training to try and remedy this.

Fennell was lucky not to go alright, that high tackle definitely warranted a yellow card, although his first yellow was a bit harsh..
Don't know what you saw in the John Cunningham incident, thought that was a nothing incident, Vaughan did nothing wrong there at all...

Only real plus to be taken from this game from a Dublin perspective was the performance of Mark Vaughan and maybe McManamon who is showing a bit of potential.

Vaughan's 45 from the right side of the pitch was pure class and definitely the highlight of the game for me...
Passing in generally being put down to clash of colours and the general poor visibility
Post by: ExiledGael on March 03, 2008, 05:27:25 PM
Thought the ref made the right call on the high tackle. Always looks a lot worse when a big man simply puts his arm out and catches a smaller man often falling around the shoulder/neck area. Was nothing in it at all and thought the player was happy to go to ground and get the free.
Maybe it was the TV and the jerseys, but I was at the game and the colour clash never came into my head at all. In saying that some of the distribution from the foot on both sides was shocking, maybe that's their excuse.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 03, 2008, 11:30:21 PM
Lads

i dont get the Mark Vaughan fantastic praise,
he was exceptional from frees,
and kicked over 2 good points from play,But we withdrew his marker in as an extra man in front of Brogan and Sherlock,meaning he was free to get posession throughout.
He didnt make terribely good use of it on a fair few occasions.
hes a cracking talent,dont get me wrong,
he was more good than exquisite Saturday Night.

As for the Game, had great craic with the Dubs Fans, a more genuine friendly bunch i have not met.
We were much better than against The Infidels, but If McCabe doesnt hit form at Midfield, we really have no other options and will struggle greatly.
Backs played well against a very crafty quick Dublin Forward line, holding them to 10 scores even in the poor conditions was good.
Lyng and Martin Reily good in Half forward line.
Jelly had no support in FF line,

0-7 in 70 minutes of football just isnt good enough.