Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: passedit on February 21, 2008, 02:16:52 PM

Poll
Question: Touts
Option 1: I'm a sneaky snitch votes: 3
Option 2: I'll back myself in public votes: 16
Option 3: please stop picking on me votes: 3
Option 4: you'll never use a keyboard again votes: 4
Title: The Naughty Step
Post by: passedit on February 21, 2008, 02:16:52 PM
QuoteQuote from: Evil Genius on Today at 01:04:22 PM
and certainly not enough to run to the Mods to "tout" you, as certain individuals on this Board are wont to do  Roll Eyes
Off topic I know, but is there a function on here to see who reports what to the mods?
I see a few people have made comments like the above.

Just interested, I've been acccused myself previously of running to the mods on occasions where I actaully didnt.
Was just curious.

As some of you may have gathered i'm not a great fan of the current rule based regime however i'll concede that there are times when some moderation is needed. I've often wondered however,at the motivation of the 'reporters' of rule infractions (not just on this board btw) and thought it might be an idea to encourage them to make public their reasons for doing so on a designated thread. Equally there will always be the sneaky snitch so those who have been officially warned could post a mea culpa and see if anyone is willing to claim the bust.

Practically I could see it working like this:

Say i was to report Mike Sheehy2 to the mods, i would then come on this thread and state his being from Kerry as a valid reason.
Equally if i was to report him and stayed schtum he could post here that he had been reprimanded and invite his accuser to make his identity and reasoning public. then everyone could throw in their tuppence worth and maybe settle a few scores without getting banned etc etc. 
Title: Re: The Naughty Step
Post by: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 02:27:19 PM
I see what you mean. But the Mods, when warning or banning you, are very clear as to exactly why you have been banned.

It would help clear peoples names I suppose, as Snowed Under (on another thread) seems to take exception with my comment that I have been accused of reporting people when in fact I havent.

I think theres a certain schoolyard bully mentality in some parts of the board when people are ridiculed for reporting certain posts. Bear in mind the mods are depending on people to do exactly this to save them from trawling through every single post.
I have reported certain posts I thought were out of order, and dont give a f**k if I am called a "snitch". At the same time I have been accused of reporting people when in fact I havent.

A tricky one.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 05:29:08 PM
Ive reported people, I'd rather stand up for myself but if I'm not allowed to give shit I ain't taking any. 

I think I'm quite public about it though.

Either way, I'm not sorry.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 21, 2008, 05:40:57 PM
I just reported TBT for personal abuse.

I'll actually use this thread to clarify who I do and dont report, as some people seem to presume I have reported them when its not the case.

Would "you are obviously an imbicile unable to comprehend basic fact" count as personal abuse? I cant see how its not.
No smart comments about it being true  ;)

I agree with Pints, you can either give it back and get reported yourself, accept it and stay quiet (hardly fair) or report the offending comment.
Post by: passedit on February 21, 2008, 06:27:07 PM
Perhaps we could use this thread for advice BEFORE we snitch report. For example I'm on the horns of a dilemma with the following post from Hardstation

QuoteQuote from: T Fearon on Today at 04:57:35 PM
For a similar dramatic irony effect as last year, surely the protestors should all be wearing crowns and holding their corgis on leads etc Huh
And be riding members of their own family.

Now this obviously breaches rule 2

Quote2. Libellous/insulting posts about a real person
   In this day and age, many more people are becoming aware of the existance of boards such as this. While this is generally a good thing, it also means that the posts are
   more likely to be read by a casual visitor to the site. In these circumstances, the board must protect itself against allegations of libel, or defamation and so any posts
   which make derogatory remarks about a named, or clearly implied, individual, are a serious breach of the rules, and dangerous to the board itself. This particularly applies
   to individuals' private lives, finances, legal issues etc etc. This also applies to unwarranted abuse of GAA players and officials.

Penalties - 1st Offence - Warning, Second Offence  - 5 Day Ban, Third Offence - Permanent Ban

but I'm wondering if there is a specific incest pressure group who could sue the board for the distress caused by linking them to the Royal Family?

Obviously the next post on that thread from Tony is fine
QuoteGrin and arranging the deaths of their daughters in law as well Grin
as we all know that to be the truth.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 06:32:36 PM
I'm on a rule 2 warning when half the board break rule 2 every day. 

:-\
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 08:56:53 PM
Is my warning up yet? I'm itching to say something to someone...... ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2008, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 08:56:53 PM
Is my warning up yet? I'm itching to say something to someone...... ;)

What were you on a warning for?
Post by: ziggysego on February 21, 2008, 09:00:24 PM
Lost the bap with Tony  :D
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on February 21, 2008, 09:08:01 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on February 21, 2008, 07:01:21 PM
Could the Moderators confirm if I am allowed to comment on this thread ?

This thread, albeit another interesting sociological experiment by passedit ;D, is subject to the same rules and regulations as every other thread. Personal abuse or insults, Rule 9 warnings, etc etc, all *still* apply in here, and any rule breaches in here will be treated as if they were in any other thread.

That said, I don't believe you are banned from posting in any thread, per se, you are simply under a Rule 9 warning with regard to another poster, as well as a Rule 1 warning for personal abuse. If you are not sure what those rules stop you from doing, have a quick look at them before you post here.

Cheers.
Post by: Puckoon on February 21, 2008, 09:33:55 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on February 21, 2008, 09:24:17 PM
I made a comment on the board on Sunday and some posters thought that comment was about the poster that I am not allowed to mention. Immediately after I made the comment* another poster quoted the post and replied to it, so that it would be there for the mods to see in the event that I decided to delete the post.
It is sad that the board has become a haven for touts and bitches who seem to want to tell tales on everyone to score brownie points for themselves. What they dont seem to realise is that no one likes a tell tale, they are the lowest of the low. In an ironic twist of fate the same poster was looking for tickets for an upcoming event in Croke Park, if he hadnt been so quick to tell tales he would have been offered a couple of tickets as I wont be using them. It seems that there is a little gang of bitches gathering round one poster in particular. What is it they say about birds of a feather?

*I would just like to clear one thing up. The post I made on Sunday was not directed at any particular individual. Lets be honest there are quite a few fat, manic depressives in South Armagh.

5ive Times, Being one of the only posters I have noticed putting out feelers for tickets, I can only assume you are refering to me.

I openly invite the moderators to post a list of any topics I have ever reported. I reported a comment about Brian McGuigan I think way back about 5 months ago. Like you alluded to in a pm to me (the contents of which are still and will be respected) once I had a problem with your thanksgiving post, and I pmed you and we sorted it out respectfully.  I did ask Mod1 to delete the John Mangan thread as he had locked it. Bottom line, end of story.

If you think that I have ever had anything to do with your bannings, warnings and the like - the delusion is yours. That is not my MO.

I ask you to pm the moderators if they do not respond to my open invitation and find out these facts for yourself. I take as a personal insult what you have written here alluding to me, yet still I am not reporting the post.
Post by: Puckoon on February 21, 2008, 09:41:48 PM
Quote--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote from: 5iveTimes on February 17, 2008, 07:26:04 PM
Yes Gabriel, but the point I am trying to make is that there is no need for the non GAA section.
Maybe then the posters who sit here hour after hour at the weekends would find something else to do. Maybe www.weightwatchers.ie or www.ihateeveryonefromcross.com or Yahoo chat or whatever floats their boat, but I think its strange that some of the most prominent posters on the GAA Board, dont seem to attend GAA games.

Some of us would give our left arm to have the privilege of watching club and county week in week out. Some of us would love to even get to train and play a little. Unfortunately there are some, for whom the commute would be a right bitch and with the price of petrol not worth it. It might not be necessary to some, but some people obviously enjoy this side of the board.

Its like any other thread/section/post. If you dont like it leave it to the side of your plate. 

« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 11:30:37 PM by Puckoon »  Report to moderator    75.54.120.79 

I think this is the post you refer to. I wasn't even thinking about highlighting the contents of that post that allude to I hate cross, or weight watchers or whatever. I was highlighting the fact that some people cant attend Gaelic Games.

Heres another question, why am I even determined to defend myself when it is plain to see for all and sundry that what I did was completely inncouous.

Serioulsy, if there is a problem - why wouldnt you pm me?
Post by: stew on February 21, 2008, 09:49:53 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on February 21, 2008, 07:01:21 PM
Could the Moderators confirm if I am allowed to comment on this thread ?

Here fivetimes, I hear you were spotted drinking in the bridge there a few weeks ago? I hope you were there for the craic and not looking for board members to bate!

Post by: Puckoon on February 21, 2008, 10:07:15 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on February 21, 2008, 09:55:18 PM
Quote from: stew on February 21, 2008, 09:49:53 PM
Here fivetimes, I hear you were spotted drinking in the bridge there a few weeks ago? I hope you were there for the craic and not looking for board members to bate!

Sorry to disappoint you Stew, but I dont drink.

Puckoon, maybe I picked your post up wrong and if I did I apologise, but as I saw it you were highlighting the post on behalf of your buddy.

You did pick it up wrong, which is fine, if you were pissed off about the banning and so on. I appreciate the apology, maybe you can remove the lines that make me look like a schoolgirl telling tales and the whole drama can get put to bed.

Pints gets himself into, and out of enough scrapes without help from me or anyone else. There are people who trawl the board reporting posts, Ive alluded to them in the past. I am not one of them.
Post by: passedit on February 22, 2008, 09:21:49 AM
QuoteThis thread, albeit another interesting sociological experiment by passedit Grin, is subject to the same rules and regulations as every other thread. Personal abuse or insults, Rule 9 warnings, etc etc, all *still* apply in here, and any rule breaches in here will be treated as if they were in any other thread.

I do my best mod. ;)  I already consider this thread a success with the Rapprochement of 5times and Puckoon but I'll continue to strive for world peace.

To continue the well worn analogy of the virtual pub, the aggrieved poster can come here to shout 'oi did you call my pint a woman'***, to which the object of their ire could respond with' I'm sorry old chap, i was merely remarking on your educated choice of ale'. All friends again. Or if it turns nasty other posters can join in with a few ' Leave him Kev he's not worth it' s. Problem sorted. Either way Mod3 gets more quality time eating out with the family, everyone's a winner.

*** Disclaimer.....this is a well worn fight starting tactic where i come from and any resemblance to any person living, dead or virtual is purely coincidental.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2008, 04:32:52 PM
Passedit, you're an awful lick arse so you are, "oh mods look at me, saving you time" :P You would expect nothing else from a Down hoor!  Make the Moderators earn their crust is what I say!  It is too long since we had a proper barney on the board, not the silly your da's bigger than mine.  We used had reason, clutured debates than once in a while, whne the drink was in, burst out onto the streets and shirts were ripped off.  But shure after the pucking we all hugged and claimed "jeez, you're some boy, thon was a fair auld scrap".  Too many take it too serious on here and if they have delved into the depths of the internet to find solace then they are to be pitied rather than anything else. 

Now away with the lot of ye, tis half past the hour of 4 and there are alshes of pints to be consumed in Biddy Mulligan's or where ever it is that you wet your tongues!  C'mon Cross!
Post by: his holiness nb on February 22, 2008, 04:58:00 PM
A question for Mods, if you arent around when a personally abusive post is put up, and its repeated before you get to it, do you still just go on to the first warning?

Seems a bit odd that people might breach the rules twice and get a warning, while someone else who does the same while mods are around, will get a ban.

Can you clarify that please?

Everyone can see if the mods are online or not, so that could let people squeeze in multiple rule breaks and only get punished for one.
Post by: Hardy on February 22, 2008, 05:04:23 PM
Holiness - I don't have the answer, but there's a hint in your own signature.  :)
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2008, 05:09:42 PM
Quote from: passedit on February 22, 2008, 09:21:49 AM
QuoteThis thread, albeit another interesting sociological experiment by passedit Grin, is subject to the same rules and regulations as every other thread. Personal abuse or insults, Rule 9 warnings, etc etc, all *still* apply in here, and any rule breaches in here will be treated as if they were in any other thread.

I do my best mod. ;)  I already consider this thread a success with the Rapprochement of 5times and Puckoon but I'll continue to strive for world peace.

To continue the well worn analogy of the virtual pub, the aggrieved poster can come here to shout 'oi did you call my pint a woman'***, to which the object of their ire could respond with' I'm sorry old chap, i was merely remarking on your educated choice of ale'. All friends again. Or if it turns nasty other posters can join in with a few ' Leave him Kev he's not worth it' s. Problem sorted. Either way Mod3 gets more quality time eating out with the family, everyone's a winner.

*** Disclaimer.....this is a well worn fight starting tactic where i come from and any resemblance to any person living, dead or virtual is purely coincidental.

Cheers passedit - it was just what I was looking for off a Thursday evening. :-\
Post by: his holiness nb on February 22, 2008, 05:10:48 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D

Honest question though.  It could leave someone posting abuse repeatedly for hours and only having a warning to worry about.

There was an incident where I was abused twice yesterday by a poster, said the same thing on both posts, and the warning were as if it were one offence.

I dont for a second want to suggest the guy get in any more trouble, just that people may take advantage of this "glitch" in the disciplinary system.
Post by: passedit on February 22, 2008, 05:12:39 PM
QuotePassedit, you're an awful lick arse so you are, "oh mods look at me, saving you time" Tongue You would expect nothing else from a Down hoor!

Aye BC that'd be me alright, I'd say Mod3 is afraid to step back for fear of falling over me. 

I'm deeply insulted and there are multiple rule infractions in that post so i'm afraid i've no choice but to report. My hands are tied, rules are rules afterall.

Ye arma barsteward
Post by: passedit on February 22, 2008, 05:13:06 PM
Arma arsteward
Post by: passedit on February 22, 2008, 05:13:42 PM
Arma  barsteward
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2008, 05:22:21 PM
3 strikes, you're out of here!!!!!!!!

Have you a speech impediement running down your fingers or something? 

Post by: passedit on February 22, 2008, 05:24:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 22, 2008, 05:22:21 PM
3 strikes, you're out of here!!!!!!!!

Have you a speech impediement running down your fingers or something? 

See his humourless' post.  ;D
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 07:31:46 PM
QuoteSay i was to report Mike Sheehy2 to the mods, i would then come on this thread and state his being from Kerry as a valid reason.
Equally if i was to report him and stayed schtum he could post here that he had been reprimanded and invite his accuser to make his identity and reasoning public. then everyone could throw in their tuppence worth and maybe settle a few scores without getting banned etc etc.

I reported two posts on the "Eduardo's leg" thread because it's boring, predictable personal abuse.  It's hardly worthwhile as if they do get warned another account will just be set up tomorrow but the only other options are to respond and get a warning myself or set up a second account for myself and abuse them back but I can't be bothered wth that.     
Post by: Bar None on February 24, 2008, 07:35:18 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 22, 2008, 05:10:48 PM
:D :D :D :D :D

Honest question though.  It could leave someone posting abuse repeatedly for hours and only having a warning to worry about.

There was an incident where I was abused twice yesterday by a poster, said the same thing on both posts, and the warning were as if it were one offence.

I dont for a second want to suggest the guy get in any more trouble, just that people may take advantage of this "glitch" in the disciplinary system.

::) ::) ::) ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 07:45:42 PM
Maybe the mods should ban those that have been banned, how many time before?, I've lost count.

Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on February 24, 2008, 07:58:30 PM
I must say I've great difficulty with this reporting business. I've only ever reported someone once and that was Aristotle Flynn when he sent me a PM accusing me of using the internet to 'groom young people'  Mind you the Mods took no action that I'm aware of. Even in the height of my shamozzle with 5times, to whom I've apologised on at least 2 occasions for my part in that incident although he has never responded to accept this, I never felt any need to report him. Now we have people being reported for the simplest of things such as posting on the wrong thread. I really think some people need to take a look at themselves and take a chill pill. God almighty there's more to life. Like Pints you made a number of accusations about my friend Lecale2, all of which were totally incorrect. Despite this he never reported you. I'm very disappointed that you never apologised to him for that
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 08:15:36 PM
QuoteNow we have people being reported for the simplest of things such as posting on the wrong thread.

Who's doing this and how do you know?

Like Pints you made a number of accusations about my friend Lecale2, all of which were totally incorrect. Despite this he never reported you. I'm very disappointed that you never apologised to him for that
I broke no rules and the mods where posting on the thread so there wasn't exactly much to report.
I'm not apologising for something when I'm right.

I don't like reporting either, I'd much rather it the old way where (apart from extreme cases) you stood up for yourself (though I understand the need for the rules) however I'm not sitting taking shite from something with apparently only 4 posts when I can't respond.
Post by: Bar None on February 24, 2008, 08:17:08 PM
It is an amazing forum though, I mean someone can condone physical punishment on toddlers, condone young men being battered to death, can have complete and utter contempt for everyone and anyone calling them all sorts of obscenities and then take exception when someone questions them or returns the complement, an amazing place.  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 08:19:27 PM
Barnone,
I never condoned anyone being battered to death.
I have never called anyone any obscenities.
Post by: Bar None on February 24, 2008, 08:21:18 PM
No you haven't!

Edit Who said you did? Maybe a case if the cap fits!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 08:33:51 PM
Quote from: Bar None on February 24, 2008, 08:17:08 PM
It is an amazing forum though, I mean someone can condone physical punishment on toddlers, condone young men being battered to death, can have complete and utter contempt for everyone and anyone calling them all sorts of obscenities and then take exception when someone questions them or returns the complement, an amazing place.  ::)

Who are you talking about?

Maybe I wrongly assumed it was me since you've spouted this type of thing before and made the post immediately after mine.
Post by: Treasurer on February 24, 2008, 10:42:13 PM
Bring back the chat room - where we could all fight and insult each other without any rules/banning/reporting etc.  If the rules were applied in there, half of us would have been banned permanently at some point!
Post by: stew on February 24, 2008, 11:12:23 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on February 24, 2008, 10:42:13 PM
Bring back the chat room - where we could all fight and insult each other without any rules/banning/reporting etc.  If the rules were applied in there, half of us would have been banned permanently at some point!

Ah treas, you hit the nail on the head, I loved the aul chat room altogether. having three aliases up at the same time, messing with the likes of star, laois and armaghfan. Ah those were the days. :'(
Post by: Treasurer on February 24, 2008, 11:16:34 PM
Quote from: stew on February 24, 2008, 11:12:23 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on February 24, 2008, 10:42:13 PM

Ah treas, you hit the nail on the head, I loved the aul chat room altogether. having three aliases up at the same time, messing with the likes of star, laois and armaghfan. Ah those were the days. :'(

I know Stew, some classic windups went on in there, not to mention rows !
Post by: ziggysego on February 25, 2008, 02:27:36 AM
I used to love winding you up in there treas, Are you an Armagh woman? lol
Post by: passedit on February 26, 2008, 08:31:03 PM
I have reported the mods tothe mods for being too soft.

Had a wee look on AFR there and the boss man there sure knows how to wield the old sledgehammer against that damned nut.

http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=446920&xpos=0 (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=446920&xpos=0)

He's also gone and closed the Limousin cattle thread, which was the best thread on there in many a day.

http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=436611&xpos=140 (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=436611&xpos=140)

The mods would need to look to their laurels if they're to keep up with the indigenous competition nevermind the pakistan or chinese govts.

c'mon lads get the iron fist out.  :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 26, 2008, 09:34:08 PM
I think we should have a little competition...the first one that gets mod1 or mod3 to break one of the rules (any means necessary) gets £100.00.  (I think I came closest with mod3 told me to grow up)
Hardstation will sponsor it. 
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 09:29:49 AM
Quote from: passedit on February 26, 2008, 08:31:03 PM
I have reported the mods tothe mods for being too soft.

Had a wee look on AFR there and the boss man there sure knows how to wield the old sledgehammer against that damned nut.

http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=446920&xpos=0 (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=446920&xpos=0)

He's also gone and closed the Limousin cattle thread, which was the best thread on there in many a day.

http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=436611&xpos=140 (http://www.anfearrua.com/db.asp?a=topicdisplay&tid=436611&xpos=140)

The mods would need to look to their laurels if they're to keep up with the indigenous competition nevermind the pakistan or chinese govts.

c'mon lads get the iron fist out.  :P

It's gas to see the same posts, almost word for word, on some of the topics over there about AFR's moderating policies. Quality declining, board is dead, too many cliques, good posters leaving, censorship, bannings etc etc.

It's a common occurence it seems.

On another note, they have some really good posters over there, that also used to post on the GAABoard, until hurling became marginalised here, around 2002 when the Nordies took over :D. Lads like Shannonsider, FTJC, CCHA, Sid Wallace, all names fondly remembered :D

I used to post there as well, back in the day, but I think there was a big row. Why was that? I can't even remember :D I was tempted to re-join there last night, but in fairness, most of the topics are already discussed here. It's still a very entertaining read though, and a great place for the hurling. It'd be great if we got this board's hurling section up to that sort of level.

What is this 'TFK.COM' site they are talking about?
Post by: passedit on February 27, 2008, 10:00:49 AM
QuoteI used to post there as well, back in the day, but I think there was a big row. Why was that? I can't even remember Cheesy I was tempted to re-join there last night, but in fairness, most of the topics are already discussed here. It's still a very entertaining read though, and a great place for the hurling. It'd be great if we got this board's hurling section up to that sort of level.

What is this 'TFK.COM' site they are talking about?

I've been lurking there for years (have 40 odd posts) for the hurling but Mr Cahill appears to have flipped. I suspect a few lawyers letters have made him ultra cautious but banning someone for saying fcuk is a bit much. I fear the decent hurling posters will now defect to http://clarehurlers.proboards79.com/index.cgi?board=general (http://clarehurlers.proboards79.com/index.cgi?board=general)

Our hurling board suffers for the northern centric nature of the board as a whole despite the best efforts of a few. I wonder has the division of the board further marginalised it?

TFK is www.thefreekick.com (http://www.thefreekick.com) which is ok for a bit of banter but not really a GAA site. If a transfer fee could be arranged for Bandage though he would be a great addition to the Neighbours, WWE and celtic threads.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 10:03:11 AM
I was in favour of the separation, because the Hurling posts get shoved to the bottom too quickly. There might not be too many posters who actively use it, but at least there are interesting topics in there.

I actually think this board is not badly set up in terms of the different 'fora'. I like it.
Post by: thebandit on February 27, 2008, 10:24:48 AM
I was in favour of it too, but I think it may have set the hurling threads back, because I know I never think to look in there now, and I'm sure other posters are the same.

Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 10:33:18 AM
There's 10 pages of threads in there, and the ones on Birr and Dunloy, The Walsh Cup etc would be swamped on the main board within hours. If the balance became more 50-50 in terms of football/hurling posters, it could be all on one board. For now though, I think it's grand.
Title: Jody Gormley's biggest fan
Post by: passedit on March 04, 2008, 10:53:58 PM
What's the story with your signature sam? Is that your work or the mod's?.

Post by: Fishbat on March 05, 2008, 02:09:58 AM
yehaaaaa, first post of march 5th
Post by: Surreal Steve on March 05, 2008, 02:26:15 AM
was the board down for everyone for ages there again tonight?
Title: Re: Jody Gormley's biggest fan
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on March 05, 2008, 08:30:55 AM
Quote from: passedit on March 04, 2008, 10:53:58 PM
What's the story with your signature sam? Is that your work or the mod's?.

It's all his own work. I'll have to change my calling card :D
Post by: passedit on March 19, 2008, 05:08:47 PM
right Hardstation, come in sit down and talk us through the humble pie ye had to ate.
Post by: passedit on March 19, 2008, 05:16:18 PM
ye might want to drop admin a line to make sure there are no further 'misunderstandings'.

I wonder are there any internet cafes in donegal?
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 19, 2008, 06:24:16 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on March 19, 2008, 06:21:11 PM
Wasnt the above idiot banned?
Surely it would have been better for the board to allow Drici back, at least he does something positive.
The board was a much better place over the last couple of days, it was interesting and worth reading. It will quickly descend into chaos now that Hardstation and his ilk are back from exile.

personal abuse tut tut tut tut
Isn't that a breach of the rules?
Post by: Double Cross on March 19, 2008, 06:26:03 PM
Nothing abusive in that post, just the truth.
Post by: the green man on March 19, 2008, 06:26:47 PM
Quote from: Double Cross on March 19, 2008, 06:21:11 PM
Wasnt the above idiot banned?
Surely it would have been better for the board to allow Drici back, at least he does something positive.
The board was a much better place over the last couple of days, it was interesting and worth reading. It will quickly descend into chaos now that Hardstation and his ilk are back from exile.

Id say rule 2 and 4
Title: The Naughty Step bump
Post by: passedit on June 19, 2008, 11:09:39 AM
in the dock this week:

Pog
Illdecide
Heffo
Tony
The Hulk
Stephenite
ONeill and all his aliases
Title: Re: The Naughty Step bump
Post by: his holiness nb on June 19, 2008, 01:41:31 PM
Quote from: passedit on June 19, 2008, 11:09:39 AM
in the dock this week:

Pog
Illdecide
Heffo
Tony
The Hulk
Stephenite

Man I only saw Tony and Hulk getting in trouble, missed the rest.
Its better than big brother on here!
Post by: illdecide on June 19, 2008, 01:55:22 PM
in the dock this week:

Pog
Illdecide
Heffo
Tony
The Hulk
Stephenite

I got my 2 days for personal abuse. It was against POG but apparently he did not report me...
Post by: stephenite on June 20, 2008, 12:22:16 AM
in the dock this week:

Pog
Illdecide
Heffo
Tony
The Hulk
Stephenite

Is there a list somewhere or did you just request from the Mod?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 20, 2008, 11:29:55 AM
FFS just read this thread there now, I have never reported anybody and feel that anyone who does should catch themselves on.
If someone is giving grief then the person its directed at should be man enough to deal with it! Also most posters on here are decent people and if someone is getting a hard time, then others normally intervene to show solidarity.
Post by: passedit on June 20, 2008, 12:00:51 PM
Quote from: stephenite on June 20, 2008, 12:22:16 AM
in the dock this week:

Pog
Illdecide
Heffo
Tony
The Hulk
Stephenite

Is there a list somewhere or did you just request from the Mod?

Nah I was only stirring based on posts i'd read. Nothing like a good row to liven things up a bit.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 20, 2008, 01:36:15 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 20, 2008, 11:29:55 AM
FFS just read this thread there now, I have never reported anybody and feel that anyone who does should catch themselves on.
If someone is giving grief then the person its directed at should be man enough to deal with it! Also most posters on here are decent people and if someone is getting a hard time, then others normally intervene to show solidarity.

Ah but you always get one eegit who ends up dragging the whole thing down and targets people for repeated personal abuse. In these circumstances I understand reporting, but other than that you are right.

I've been accused before of reporting people I never did   :'(
Title: Re: The Naughty Step ou
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 21, 2008, 11:35:01 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 20, 2008, 11:29:55 AM

Man enough to deal with it how? 
You can't answer with abuse of your own because you too will run the risk of a ban.
I've tried answering post for post while not abusing and I was put on a warning for "feuding".
I've tried ignoring it and when someone else reports the culprit I get accused of reporting it so I might as well have done it anyway.
I'm not a fan of reporting posts, though I've done it before and have always said when I did, I've found it to be a hassel. 

So maybe you could tell us how we should deal with it, because I know I'm getting a little fed up of the board for this reason.

Also I know for me, that if someone is giving abuse they are normally joined by a couple more to hold his hand. 
With the exception of prehaps Tony I'm probably the most abused poster on here yet I can count on one hand the number of times someone else has "intervened to show solidarity".  I don't see it very often with other people either so I don't think your theory are correct.

Illdeicde, it's a pity you havent the balls to come back on the armagh thread and admit your mistake or maybe you're accusing me now of being able to edit your posts?  ::)
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2008, 12:43:24 AM
4. Inappropriate posts, incitement or racist posting.
   This is a very broad topic, and can be the most subjective in the way the moderators view things. In general, it would be the 'good manners' rule. Specific examples of
    inappropriate posts would be the following. (This list is by no means conclusive)
      - Abusive posts between fans of soccer teams, clearly not part of good humoured banter. Mentions of Hillsborough, Munich, Heysel or alluding to these incidents in a
        way designed to incite other posters to break forum rules.
      - Sectarian posts, or posts advocating violence against any community or person. Some of the topics under discussion from the different cultures on this island have
        come close to this. That will not be allowed or accomodated.
      - Racist posts, including posts propogating racist views about any race or community.
      - inappropriate posts such as the Maddie McCann jokes etc.

Probably snookered. Shouldn't have mention the Loup .They're wile sensitive.
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2008, 12:54:23 AM
No. I'm prepared to take my 15 day sinbin.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 30, 2008, 11:30:09 AM
QuoteNah I was only stirring based on posts i'd read.

That's not like you passedit - I suspect you're in more sober humour today.  Never mind, at least you won't have to worry about Kerry this year.  ;)
Post by: passedit on June 30, 2008, 05:40:47 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 30, 2008, 11:30:09 AM
QuoteNah I was only stirring based on posts i'd read.

That's not like you passedit - I suspect you're in more sober humour today.  Never mind, at least you won't have to worry about Kerry this year.  ;)

Nah Billy, not too bothered, better team won end of story. We'll beat Kerry whenever we play them though.  :P

Back to more important matters, I feel obliged to report Ziggy for cyberbullying poor ole Tony, infractions of Rules 1,2 and 9 if i'm not mistaken. Any punishment he receives should be doubled imo for mocking the afflicted.
Post by: passedit on November 12, 2008, 10:24:35 PM
Right who threw EG the Martyr's cloak.

State your case
Post by: passedit on November 21, 2008, 05:57:54 PM
Quote from: passedit on November 12, 2008, 10:24:35 PM
Right who threw EG the Martyr's cloak.

State your case

QuoteI did not therefore abuse personally any specified individual; indeed, I could not have, since I genuinely was not certain who it was had complained to the Mods.
Then a little later when I went to log on, I received an onscreen message informing me that I had now incurred a two week ban for "engaging with XYZ".

Was this a unilateral action by a mod or the result of a complaint?

seriously poor judgement in either case.