Lads there are a number of guys (around 30) going to Newcastle (England) next weekend for a stag doo, can you's name a few Bars/Nightclubs to go too and the ones to avoid!!! and any other attractions that should get a visit??? (and hopefully the local cop shop is not one of them :D :D)
The Anchor near Donard Park for decent pint, Quinns in Main Street for music, O'Hare's down the Promenade for the fight .... oh, not that Newcastle?
Right opposite Central Station there's an O'Neills- its pretty busy all day Friday and Saturday.
Osbourne's Bar on the Osbourne road- its a good spot and has dirt cheap drink, happy hour is on 5.30-7.30 and its open to 11 I think.
Mushroom Bar after that is open to 1.30 its got good offers on to.
If you're heading onto a club, try Buffalo Joes (good on a Saturday night anyway), Perdu, Liquid or somewhere down the Gate(its like Newcastle's version of the Odyssey in Belfast, a few places there).
If you are looking for an early house the Beehive is your spot, think its around Bigg Market - but you have to clean your shoes on the way out...
Newcastle is a great spot,Or as the Dubs would say its a bleedin deadly buzz man....
The Sports Bar in The Gate is a good spot also there is a place called Buffalo Joes which is a decent spot
Another good place to go is a venue called For your eyes only....Ill leave it up to your imagination what that venue is about.. ;)
Buffalo Joes is quality. Do not go near the big nightclub on the ship on the river, full of teenagers off their heads on drugs. For your eyes only isnt too bad either ;D
Sam Jacks is a great pub - recommend it
get yourself to a st james park for a goal fest
Quote from: Surreal Steve on February 13, 2008, 12:04:12 AM
get yourself to a st james park for a goal fest
don't worry about that chief there is 11 tickets floating about in our group and i've my name on one of them C'mon UTD (not telling which UTD)
Buffalo Joes, Jasus the talent and the beer! ;D
Down round the ground there are loads of all you can eat for a 5iver Chinese restaurants , Get a good lining before a night on the "dog" ( Newkie brown )
Check out Blue Velvet.... Classy spot!!! ;)
Theirs a place just down from the gate called FEVER not to bad a place either loose women about!!!
Buffalo Joes - Yes, do you remember the film Coyote Ugly, a wee bit like that where a few lovely ladies get up on the bar and dance !!
Class !!
Couple of good spots down by the quays also. I vaguely remember one of them being called the cooperage (or something similar). In my day, if you drank the board there, you drank free the rest of the night; don't remember anyone managing it though
buffallo joes is the only place i can remember!!!!!
Quote from: Candyman on February 13, 2008, 10:36:31 AM
Check out Blue Velvet.... Classy spot!!! ;)
It is indeed ;)
Quote from: T O Hare on February 13, 2008, 03:06:49 PM
buffallo joes is the only place i can remember!!!!!
Was it the ladies doing a strip on the bar counter or the half naked ladies in the cages you remember!!!
That sports br is a decent spot lady birds up dancing above the bar. You gotta like this shit. There is a place called sea something ??? just up from the Quay it ain't a bad spot but it is a bit pricey and they only serve shots in doubles. Y aye man.
bar near st.james park , ithink its called the Vault, strippers on there before the match
i couldnt believe it the time we were there 2.00 in the afternoon, pints and strippers, then match, then more pints and strippers - heaven !!
Lads I'm getting excited with all these bars to visit. "strippers, strippers, and more strippers". I can see me missing the match and staying in the bar ;) :D
How about just hitting all the bars and strippers that we can and then going to the match and then believe it or nor coming back out of St James' park and doing it all again wohoooooo. The retiring for a night cap. ;) ;)
I take it Buffalo Joes is a Chain? I could swear I was in one in Glasgow before Crimbo :P Heading to Newcastle for a stag mayday weekend meself, sounds interesting. Wouldn't mind a ticket for the football, Chelsea are in town that weekend, should be easy enough
Benny as already stated check out Blue Velvet... its the spot ;)
what about this bar where the ladies get their ta ta's out during the day - it isnt a strip bar though, a normal bar with ta ta's out???
also, though many might not like to admit - did anyone visit any houses of ill repute?
Quote from: ThatManJimmyMagee on April 15, 2008, 04:05:25 PM
what about this bar where the ladies get their ta ta's out during the day - it isnt a strip bar though, a normal bar with ta ta's out???
also, though many might not like to admit - did anyone visit any houses of ill repute?
:o :o :o :o ;) :D
Good man yourself, at least you admit to it ;)
Passed the titty bar phase, been to a right few in different places and one thing remains constant, you get ripped off somewhere along the line!
Quote from: bennydorano on April 15, 2008, 07:23:29 PM
Passed the titty bar phase, been to a right few in different places and one thing remains constant, you get ripped off somewhere along the line!
Ouch. Money back please!
Anyone know a good(safe?) bar in Newcastle to watch Celtic in this saturday?
All bars are fairly safe i would have thought.
Irish centre up beside St. James Park or if all else fails The Beehive!!
Quote from: bennydorano on April 28, 2008, 02:02:33 PM
Anyone know a good(safe?) bar in Newcastle to watch Celtic in this saturday?
The local CSC is run from the Tyneside Irish centre so probably be a few in there to watch it, cheap beer there too!
The golden mile is quality, start off in the burrendale, then the percy french, a swift half in the arlington before making quinns for happy hour.
Off to Newcastle in 3 weeks for a stag do.
Buffalo Joes seems to be popular, as well as the usual O'Neills and Irish bars.
Heading to evening horse racing on the Friday.
Can't wait, long, long overdue a good 2/3 day bender. ;D
Quote from: bingobus on April 23, 2009, 04:36:22 PM
Some spot! We had some craic in there! Think some of the fellas still had their bags with them and they were being kciked round the dancefloor :D
O'Neills is, well, O'Neills.
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 04:38:10 PM
Some spot! We had some craic in there! Think some of the fellas still had their bags with them and they were being kciked round the dancefloor :D
I hear that Joes has been refurbed and has a vegas theme! Not sure how true that is.
Quote from: bingobus on April 23, 2009, 04:42:14 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 04:38:10 PM
Personally I would try to head in round central station with places like the Forth, Head of Steam, Telegraph and then hit some of the late bars round there. Deadly women round there but then it all depends on what your after. The 16 yr old sluts are in the bigmarket ;)
I hear that Joes has been refurbed and has a vegas theme! Not sure how true that is.
Lads i have an e-mail here that shows you all the pubs & clubs in Newcastle and a map showing their location. If you pay £20 you can gain entry to these clubs and go to as many as you like and on entry you get 2 free bottles of Fosters. For Full Back's attention it also gets you into the 3 strip clubs ;)
Quote from: illdecide on April 23, 2009, 05:05:44 PM
Lads i have an e-mail here that shows you all the pubs & clubs in Newcastle and a map showing their location. If you pay £20 you can gain entry to these clubs and go to as many as you like and on entry you get 2 free bottles of Fosters. For Full Back's attention it also gets you into the 3 strip clubs ;)
I dont go for strip clubs ;)
Quote from: full back on April 23, 2009, 05:08:08 PM
Just the hoor-houses for you then
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 23, 2009, 05:18:47 PM
Quote from: full back on April 23, 2009, 05:08:08 PM
Just the hoor-houses for you then
I was thinking public toilets.
Neither, Im a clean living man...........
i am headed to newcastle in a few weeks for a hen.... can't week... so is buffalo joes good for the male talent?
If I was a woman Newcastle would be the last place I would be heading, unless you & your mates are a bunch of very fine hens
Quote from: leenie on April 23, 2009, 05:32:05 PM
i am headed to newcastle in a few weeks for a hen.... can't week... so is buffalo joes good for the male talent?
Brilliant leenie, you'd love it. Actually, I think the male bar men get up and dance on the bars too don't they?? Not sure.
When you say few do you mean 2 or 3 weeks?
The Pink triangle is the best spot for a hen.
Quote from: bingobus on April 23, 2009, 05:39:55 PM
:D :D :D ;)
Avoid Geordie wimmin with 'Don' tattooed on the lower back!
All bars around quayside busy from afternoon on. Irish centre a dump like something 30 years ago there is another around the corner opposite st James park can't remember name there is a Celtic supporters club in it as well shows games decent spot.
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 05:40:56 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 23, 2009, 05:39:55 PM
:D :D :D ;)
I'll be there in 2 weeks as well
4 weeks away .......
Quote from: full back on April 23, 2009, 05:37:25 PM
If I was a woman Newcastle would be the last place I would be heading, unless you & your mates are a bunch of very fine hens
of course....
explain further?
Best area in Newcastle for going out is still around Central Station, loads of class bars like The Forth, Head of Steam, Telegraph, loads of late bars with live music/dj's etc...... All the talent hangs out round there :)
Stay away from Biggmarket unless you like 16 year old jail bait ;) vomiting over themselves and lots of young fellas trying to make heroes out of themselves. Keyside has got a bit rough as well IMHO although Bob Trollops is still doing them lethal cheap trebles and mixers. Was always a favourite of mine to start of a night out ;D
illdecide,
Spill the beans (possibly wrong choice of phrase) on the weekend?
Did them armbands work out ok?
Cheers, bigfella, will send half the group to the biggmarket and I'll stay with a few others round central station ;D
Leenie don't listen to him, you'll be grand. If your going for 2 nights I'd recommend you do Buffalo Joe's and then the night club across the road afterwards and the second night would have to be spent around "The Gate" and the bars just outside the gate. If it's only one night then the gate and it's surrounding area is the place to be. Get on the dentist chair in one of the bars... ;D
Leenie as for the good looking men...well you went on the wrong weekend as we were there last weekend...lol ;)
Quote from: bingobus on April 27, 2009, 11:37:32 AM
illdecide,
Cheers, bigfella, will send half the group to the biggmarket and I'll stay with a few others round central station ;D
Nah the wristbands were useless, seriously. Never even took it out of my pocket. Newcastle is the best spot for clubbing no doubt about that, if you want a woman they're there half naked in their thousands...if you want a man they're there in their thousands. There are that many bars and clubs to go to it's just crazy, i woke up yesterday morning with the arm full of ink stamps from about 5 different night clubs. Couldn't believe the many people out clubbing and not a row, if that was here it would be like fecking Vietnam
Quote from: illdecide on April 27, 2009, 11:46:29 AM
Quote from: bingobus on April 27, 2009, 11:37:32 AM
illdecide,
Nah the wristbands were useless, seriously. Never even took it out of my pocket. Newcastle is the best spot for clubbing no doubt about that, if you want a woman they're there half naked in their thousands...if you want a man they're there in their thousands. There are that many bars and clubs to go to it's just crazy, i woke up yesterday morning with the arm full of ink stamps from about 5 different night clubs. Couldn't believe the many people out clubbing and not a row, if that was here it would be like fecking Vietnam
Cheers. Looking forward to it. Hope Newcastle don;t get relegated the weekend we are there (playing Fulham at home), could put a dampner on the atmosphere. We have 18 going, I believe big groups aren't a problem? I'm sure we'll end up all over the place though, nothing planned for Saturday only drinking :-\
Recommend Sam Jacks , Tiger Tiger, and Blue Bamboo
Osbornes Bar is a five minute taxi ride away - but worth it - they have a promotion on (Maybe 5 - 7pm) were you order a round and then they give u a buzzer - you give the buzzer a whack - depends wot section you hit - but the options are Free Round, 2 for the price of 1, Half Price, Round for a Pound or normal price. Its good craic alright
Was in Osborne's myself for that promotion with 3 mates. When it was their turn to buy a round they all had to pay Normal price for a round...I went up & got 2 for the price of 1 They were raging ;D ;D
Osborne's and Osborne Rd/Jesmond isn't bad on a Friday night, loads of posh public school girl students round and a real student area. Definitely guaranteed to pull if you make any sort of an effort with them.
Personally I think Blue Bamboo etc.... are a bit tacky and cheesy but if thats what your after then I would check them out. Clubs like World Headquarters and some of the more underground places have much better music and attract better women. The Forth used to be unbelievable on weekends for women.
does anyone know of good things to do on the Saturday during the day which doesn't involve hitting the pubs early...
visiting st james park isn't an option neither is shopping as way too much money would be spent... thou i have heard there is meant to be a fantastic shopping center there....
any ideas?
Quote from: leenie on April 28, 2009, 02:42:04 PM
does anyone know of good things to do on the Saturday during the day which doesn't involve hitting the pubs early...
visiting st james park isn't an option neither is shopping as way too much money would be spent... thou i have heard there is meant to be a fantastic shopping center there....
any ideas?
We have hired a cultural guide for Saturday who is taking us on a walking tour of the Art Galleries, Museums and Craft fair. Highlight of weekend for many.
Quote from: bingobus on April 28, 2009, 02:51:38 PM
any ideas?
We have hired a cultural guide for Saturday who is taking us on a walking tour of the Art Galleries, Museums and Craft fair. Highlight of weekend for many.
emmm.... can't imagine the hens would go for that..... was thinking more of outdoors pursuits or indoor.... is there plenty to see around newcastle?
any ideas?
R u serious...get yourself into the bars as soon as you get there and then back to the room for a couple of hours that evening for a shower and a change of cloths and back out for the main event...
Quote from: leenie on April 28, 2009, 02:56:36 PM
any ideas?
emmm.... can't imagine the hens would go for that..... was thinking more of outdoors pursuits or indoor.... is there plenty to see around newcastle?
;D ;D Are we f**k going for a cultural tour!!!
Land Friday at 9.30 - breakfast and pints.
2pm - check in hotel, meet in lobby for pints
4pm grub, pints and then off to Horse racing.
6pm horse racing and pints, half ones optional.
9.30pm back to town for pints, half ones, shots and medical care.
Saturday
9am-11am Breakfast
The rest of the day is free for whatever comes naturally - pints.
i was just googling i=t newcastle activities for a hen
paintballing............ no chance, not from a previous experience, we'll still have the bruises on the wedding day......
clay pigeon shooting..... :-\
male strippers..... em no.... rank
pampering..... to expensive and we are doing that the following week at home
pole dancing lesson.... :D :D :D that would be hilarious however i can't imagine 18 country girls swinging around poles.... (would make 4 a classic youtube)
limo hire .....£150 for one hour ..... not a chance
looks like what illdecide posted seems the best option.....
we've hired apartments for it so we can come and go and cook if we want.....
did ya see many themed hen or stags?
Quote from: bingobus on April 28, 2009, 03:02:22 PM
any ideas?
Saturday
9am-11am Breakfast
wheres the horse racing ... that could be fun...
Quote from: leenie on April 28, 2009, 03:15:48 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 28, 2009, 03:02:22 PM
any ideas?
Saturday
9am-11am Breakfast
wheres the horse racing ... that could be fun...
Newcastle Race course. Us going on the Friday 15th and they having an evening meeting.
The following Friday they are having a Day meeting on the Friday. Nothing on Staurday till June 6th and its an evening meeting as well.
The place is coming down with Hen & stag parties...there's feck all else to do other than booze. But don't forget your we siesta or you'll be like an S hook by 10:00 ;)
If its anything like Edinburgh all the English/scottish stags will be themed in some way. The Irish lads are themed drunks by end of end! This year in Edinburgh I seen everything from Golfers to Nuns to flintstones to superheroes to devils.
we are going for a theme on the saturday night.... sure we thought we might... a bit of craic!
Quote from: leenie on April 28, 2009, 04:20:38 PM
we are going for a theme on the saturday night.... sure we thought we might... a bit of craic!
And what is that theme? Hope its not pink t-shirts and bunny ears? Very lame and wouldn't grab any attention ;)
no its not .....
its 1950's theme ..... like in the video for candy girl
any ideas?
If you are in the horrors I would advise staying out of Eldon Square (the one in the city centre) or the Metro Centre on the Saturday. They are absolutely rammed, probably some of most scariest saturdays I spent in my life was negotiating them places after a Friday night.
Watch out for the local gangsta's like Buzzcocks - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VO6ucOnBwHA (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VO6ucOnBwHA)
Quote from: leenie on April 28, 2009, 04:29:37 PM
no its not .....
Very good...always thought the 50's where conservative myself, not much flesh to flash. You's will stick out like a sore thumb ;D
Could never imagine any of the lads I would stag with very going for a theme. You'd be told fairly lively what to do with your theme!!!
Quote from: bingobus on April 28, 2009, 04:35:29 PM
Quote from: leenie on April 28, 2009, 04:29:37 PM
no its not .....
Very good...always thought the 50's where conservative myself, not much flesh to flash. You's will stick out like a sore thumb ;D
Could never imagine any of the lads I would stag with very going for a theme. You'd be told fairly lively what to do with your theme!!!
we'd be conservative girls.......... ::)
Greyhound racing meeting on saturday afternoons.
Just hit the bars, i found them better and more craic during the day than at night
Just back from a stag do on the weekend.
Looking forward to getting home from work and into bed again!
As said there is a serious amount of stags and hens.
We where staying in jurys, and when we got in on friday their was about 3 or 4 other irish stag hen parties checking in.
Quote from: nifan on May 04, 2009, 01:52:50 PM
Just back from a stag do on the weekend.
Looking forward to getting home from work and into bed again!
As said there is a serious amount of stags and hens.
We where staying in jurys, and when we got in on friday their was about 3 or 4 other irish stag hen parties checking in.
How was Jurys? Any hassle with casuing noise etc. Heard they can be pretty tight in that regard. Shouldn't affect us too much, thrashing hotel rooms never my thing!
Got back on Saturday from Newcastle on Sunday...Top, top spot.
Massive two day drinking session and had a blast the whole two days/nights.
As good a spot as I've been to for stag party. Massive choice of venues and all are busy. Buffalo's a right good spot to end a night.
Beehive during the day for a good drink in a local type pub. It was rammed most of the day.
Will return at some stage I hope to see the other few hundred pubs we missed.
can't wait for tomorrow....
so much to do before hand though..... get hair done, nails, tan etc....
unfortunately it's giving bad weather though!
what a weekend,,,,,
i have to say newcastle is some spot... i am absolutely wrecked but it was worth....
would go back in shot.... for another shot
Quote from: leenie on June 08, 2009, 03:46:50 PM
what a weekend,,,,,
i have to say newcastle is some spot... i am absolutely wrecked but it was worth....
Some spot Leenie ;). I've been there twice in the last year and it's no1. Hope you behaved yourself ???
Quote from: illdecide on June 08, 2009, 04:39:14 PM
Quote from: leenie on June 08, 2009, 03:46:50 PM
what a weekend,,,,,
Some spot Leenie ;). I've been there twice in the last year and it's no1. Hope you behaved yourself ???
of course i did.... mr leenie would be proud...
one of the many highlights was going on the cruise on the tyne..... and it was the cheapest round of drinks ! (we were dressed as sailors)
heading there this weekend, looking forward to it but not the hangover, had one two weeks ago after the heineken cup final and it near killed me !
I have a stag in Newcastle this weekend and i was wondering is there anywhere we could watch the armagh and monaghan game!!!! That if i am still awake :) :)
Quote from: T O Hare on June 30, 2009, 05:25:04 PM
I have a stag in Newcastle this weekend and i was wondering is there anywhere we could watch the armagh and monaghan game!!!! That if i am still awake :) :)
Try the Irish centre up beside St James' Park
In newcastle myself this weekend, anyone recommend any good bars to slug in Friday during the day?
don't go to "the bar" quayside...... drink is very expensive...
there's always o neills to watch the game (opposite train station)
Quote from: stiffler on June 30, 2009, 05:49:49 PM
In newcastle myself this weekend, anyone recommend any good bars to slug in Friday during the day?
Tidy :) :) ;)
During the day we drank in a pub called the Beehive in the city centre, in Grassmarket. A real old style pub, good mix of locals and visitors and a good atmosphere in it. Drink very cheap as well. Its by no means an upmarket type of pub, more a rough and ready local with very friendly staff and locals.
Quote from: bingobus on July 01, 2009, 10:11:43 AM
During the day we drank in a pub called the Beehive in the city centre, in Grassmarket. A real old style pub, good mix of locals and visitors and a good atmosphere in it. Drink very cheap as well. Its by no means an upmarket type of pub, more a rough and ready local with very friendly staff and locals.
An absolute sh1thole, although it's been a few years since I was in it but I can't imagine it's changed. I remember it sold pints for 1 quid from 2 to 6 during the week, some absolute victims around it. Also it's in BiggMarket ;)
Quote from: thebigfella on July 01, 2009, 10:37:09 AM
An absolute sh1thole, although it's been a few years since I was in it but I can't imagine it's changed. I remember it sold pints for 1 quid from 2 to 6 during the week, some absolute victims around it. Also it's in BiggMarket ;)
Yes, the Biggmarket, wrong city!!
It could be described as a shithole I suppose but we had a serious day's craic in it and it was full all day. Some "characters" about it for a group of lads on the beer it was far better any any other spots we where in during the day. After 6pm the place will come to life and there'll be lots of places to go.
Quote from: bingobus on July 01, 2009, 11:12:13 AM
It could be described as a shithole I suppose but we had a serious day's craic in it and it was full all day. Some "characters" about it for a group of lads on the beer it was far better any any other spots we where in during the day. After 6pm the place will come to life and there'll be lots of places to go.
Good man, that sounds like the spot all right, i think its down at the bottom of the bigg market?
Arrive in Newcastle about half 10 so it could be a messy day!
T O hare- i dont want any silly songs out of you this weekend :P
Quote from: stiffler on July 01, 2009, 02:58:34 PM
Quote from: bingobus on July 01, 2009, 11:12:13 AM
Good man, that sounds like the spot all right, i think its down at the bottom of the bigg market?
Arrive in Newcastle about half 10 so it could be a messy day!
T O hare- i dont want any silly songs out of you this weekend :P
Thats the spot, its at the corner of the square, Ladbrokes beside it. Rough and ready but a good boozer. You'll get used to the smell of pish after a few pints!
Buffalo Joes is closed according to their website. What is an adequate substitution?
Sam Jacks could be a similar type of spot.
But you'll not fail in finding a busy spot.
Heading over this weekend on a stag.
Anyone know of any early openers in the city centre?
Quote from: stiffler on July 08, 2010, 07:26:17 PM
How early?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 08, 2010, 07:32:05 PM
How early?
anything after 10am
Quote from: stiffler on July 08, 2010, 07:49:32 PM
How early?
anything after 10am
Yes the irish bar facing the train station should get you an early pint sir
lloyds maybe?
I thought Newcastle was good but didn't quite live up to the hype. Not much different to any other big English town as regards nightlife and if you are with a crowd of mates you will have a good time no matter where you go.
Quote from: illdecide on July 09, 2010, 11:45:32 AM
Quote from: stiffler on July 08, 2010, 07:49:32 PM
How early?
anything after 10am
Yes the irish bar facing the train station should get you an early pint sir
O'Neills.
You could do like the Donegal fellas on our plane and sit skulling pints in Newcastle airport bar when you land! Strange.
I think we spent most of the morning and early afternoon in a boozer called The Akenside or something below the Tyne Bridge on Quayside.
anyone recommend anywhere to stay in newcastle close to the city centre?
Quote from: The Worker on October 16, 2010, 09:25:59 PM
I stayed in a Premier Inn. I think it's on Newbridge St. It's grand if you're over for a game or a stag.
Off to Newcastle for a few days on Friday with the lads. Should be fun.
Anyone been recently. I hear Buffalo Joes is no more, which is a shame, was a lively spot. I'm sure we'll find an alternative.
Does anyone know where I could watch gaa here. Just asked in oneils and they are not shown it
Quote from: gerry on July 23, 2011, 03:07:50 PM
Does anyone know where I could watch gaa here. Just asked in oneils and they are not shown it
The Irish Centre, close to St James' Park
Quote from: The Worker on October 16, 2010, 09:25:59 PM
The Slieve Donard is a nice place, very close to the centre of Newcastle and offering beautiful views over the Irish Sea and the Mourne Mountains.
Cheers joe