GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Hound on February 06, 2008, 09:26:21 AM

Title: O'Byrne Cup Final 2008
Post by: Hound on February 06, 2008, 09:26:21 AM
I must admit that on leaving Parnell Park on Saturday (and having won 200 bills on Wales beating England) I had the intention of putting 50 yoyos on Longford, who would in all likelihood be big outsiders with the bookies, to win the O'Byrne Cup. Had heard Longford had been playing well, and they did get some good results in the O'Byrne Cup, but now not so sure after their defeat to Wexford.

Dublin's forward line should also be improved with the return of the two Brogans - albeit this is largely cancelled out by the loss of Sherlock, Keaney and the free taking of Vaughan.

The following team has been picked:

J Leonard
D Henry, R McConnell, S O'Shaughnessy
P McMahon, P Casey, D Murray
E Fennell, S Ryan
B Cullen, A Brogan, B McManamon
J O'Brien, B Brogan, K Bonner

Subs: S Cluxton, N O'Shea, C Moran, D Lally, P Brogan, B Kennedy, G Cullen, J Sherlock, E O'Gara, P Flynn.
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup Final 2008
Post by: tayto on February 06, 2008, 10:50:49 AM
Could be close, a lot depends on how fired upt he two teams are.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2008, 11:26:35 AM
Well.....I won't be wasting my money on a Longford win.

Saving it for the Leinster first round  ;)

Seriously Dublin, on paper, have to win. Again it depends on who is fired up the most. If Dublin are any way interested their forwards could run riot on us.

However, like always, I'll travel with hope in the heart.
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2008, 12:03:41 PM
Dublin - final - pressure - choke.  No?
Post by: An Laoch on February 06, 2008, 12:09:43 PM
Don't recall seeing Casey play centre back for the Dubs before....another experiment? Ray Silke wont be happy.

With Cluxton on the bench who'll miss the 45s for Dublin? ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2008, 12:16:42 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on February 06, 2008, 12:09:43 PM
Don't recall seeing Casey play centre back for the Dubs before....another experiment? Ray Silke wont be happy.

He played there last Sat night, with Moran at half back  :o Both were rubbish.
Post by: An Laoch on February 06, 2008, 12:27:57 PM
Thanks Croi.

I don't think Casey has the distribution skills for that role, and I think Collie Moran would probably benefit from a period of being brought in as an attacking substitute rather than a starting role.

Is Cosgrove gone altogether from the set up now?
Post by: his holiness nb on February 06, 2008, 12:31:46 PM
Based on Dublins form so far, I predict a Longford win.
Post by: tayto on February 06, 2008, 01:15:54 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on February 06, 2008, 12:27:57 PM
I don't think Casey has the distribution skills for that role, and I think Collie Moran would probably benefit from a period of being brought in as an attacking substitute rather than a starting role.

Would have to agree with that. Not suited to CHB at all in my opinion, seems to be a favorite of Pillar's though. Thought Collie was playing well there till he picked up a knock in the earlier rounds.

Cosgrove seems to be gone alright, no sign of him anyway. 
Post by: tayto on February 06, 2008, 01:16:26 PM
No Vaughan for the frees could be crucial.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2008, 01:41:56 PM
Quote from: tayto on February 06, 2008, 01:16:26 PM

That's all he's good for though. If yous could wheel him on a la American Football youw would be sorted  :P

Cosgroves inter-county days are well over, no confidence or nothing left. McMenamin was a handy impact sub the last day.
Post by: LaurelEye on February 06, 2008, 01:42:13 PM
Longford team named:

Damian Sheridan; Dermot Brady, Diarmuid Masterson, Declan Reilly; Shane Mulligan, Arthur O'Connor, Noel Farrell; Liam Keenan, Enda Farrell; David Barden, Paul Barden, Pádraig Berry; Brian Kavanagh, Declan Farrell, Francis McGee.

Subs: Stephen Watters, Gary Murphy, Enda Williams, Kevin Mulligan, Stephen Phillips, Aidan Rowan, Jamesie Martin, Paddy McDonnell, Paddy Dowd, Conor Casey, Cathal Conefrey.

A number of those are named subject to fitness tests though - Shane Mulligan, Paul Barden, Keenan.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2008, 02:02:40 PM
QuoteDavid Barden

Where did they find him?

A pretty strong side - looks like Luke wants a trophy!
Post by: Hound on February 06, 2008, 02:17:14 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2008, 12:16:42 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on February 06, 2008, 12:09:43 PM

He played there last Sat night, with Moran at half back  :o Both were rubbish.
While I thought Dublin were rubbish in general, I had no complaints with Casey and Moran. It would be easy to mention half a dozen who were worse. Moran did particularly well in setting up the goal.

Personally I hope Collie gets an extended run at 7. I'd imagine number 6 in the summer will be between Cahill and Brennan.
Post by: LaurelEye on February 06, 2008, 03:51:12 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2008, 02:02:40 PM
QuoteDavid Barden

Where did they find him?

He came on last Sunday late-ish in the match for Declan Farrell. He was away on holidays for the previous O'Byrne matches and I'm not sure if he'd been training before Sunday last.

There are injury worries over Berry and Paddy Dowd as well.
Post by: tayto on February 06, 2008, 05:06:09 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 06, 2008, 01:41:56 PM
Quote from: tayto on February 06, 2008, 01:16:26 PM

That's all he's good for though. If yous could wheel him on a la American Football youw would be sorted  :P

ha ha, Would be handy alright! Vaughan has never had a run in the league, he's either been injured or on a run with Crokes, he could do with a good run this year, i expect him to improve from play this year, contributes well from play for his club. he's worth having for the frees anyway, nothing worse then missing easy frees and last summer it got to the point where you'd just assume he'd score from a 45. 
Post by: Hound on February 06, 2008, 09:56:05 PM
Quote from: tayto on February 06, 2008, 05:06:09 PM
ha ha, Would be handy alright! Vaughan has never had a run in the league, he's either been injured or on a run with Crokes, he could do with a good run this year, i expect him to improve from play this year, contributes well from play for his club. he's worth having for the frees anyway, nothing worse then missing easy frees and last summer it got to the point where you'd just assume he'd score from a 45. 
His running off the ball v Westmeath was the worst I have EVER seen. The chap just has not got a clue about how to get himself in a good position to receive a ball.
Post by: North Longford on February 08, 2008, 08:09:40 AM
Can anyone tell me what the parking is like around Parnell park and what the best way to get in from the N4 is?
Last time I was there I was playing for the U21's (long time ago) and when we got to the gate it was locked and we had a bit of a job to get in...we got off the bus before we went in through the gates for the some reason and we obviously weren't that recognisable to the gent on the gate!!!
As it transpired we'd have been as well staying outside!
Post by: heffo on February 08, 2008, 08:31:48 AM
Quote from: North Longford on February 08, 2008, 08:09:40 AM
Can anyone tell me what the parking is like around Parnell park and what the best way to get in from the N4 is?
Last time I was there I was playing for the U21's (long time ago) and when we got to the gate it was locked and we had a bit of a job to get in...we got off the bus before we went in through the gates for the some reason and we obviously weren't that recognisable to the gent on the gate!!!
As it transpired we'd have been as well staying outside!

Plenty of parking in the estate across the road.

Best way from N4 depends on the time you're going at - I'd go M50, come off at Ballymun, turn right and go straight down until you come to a four way junction, go left. You come to another four way junction (Whitehall church) on the left, go straight through, straight down past DCU, Whitehall Colmcilles GAA club, past Kitty Kiernans pub on your right and you can try and get parking anywhere around there.
Title: Re: Parking
Post by: Sean3 on February 08, 2008, 08:37:47 AM
I presume that if you are coming from the N4 that you'll be using (ie be parked) the M50. If so, turn off at the Ballymun exit and head down through Ballymun as far as the intersection with Collins Ave extension. Turn left onto Collins Ave and its a straight run down to Donnycarney - about 2 miles. Your first major set of traffic lights will be the Collins Ave-Swords Rd intersection. It can take a long time to get across that. The next lights are at the Beaumont Rd intersection. Parking really depends on how late/early you are. Whitehall Colmcilles clubhouse is just past the lights at the Beaumont Rd on the right hand side. You could park there with no hassle but its just under a mile walk. The next right hand turn is Belton Park Ave. Go down to the end, left onto Donnycarney Rd and there are 3 left hand turns along there, each of them small little roads where you can park. On the other side of Collins Ave you can turn left just after Belton Park Ave onto Collins Park and again its only a few minutes from the pitch. If you are early enough you can continue down Collins Ave, through the Malahide Rd intersection and there is official parking at the back of Scoil Chiaran which backs onto Parnell Pk. Hope this helps.  
Post by: North Longford on February 08, 2008, 09:00:49 AM
Cheers lads. Actually lived off Mobhi road for a while so think I know this a bit better than I thought. The Ballymun end of it anyway, not so sure about the Donneycarney side but its seems straightforward enough
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 11:32:24 AM
I'd be coming up the m50 from the n2 and would normally go to the very end of it, turn right onto the n1 then go straight till you get to Whitehall church, turn left at the lights and its straight down the road.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2008, 11:38:02 AM
DART from Lansdowne to Clontarf for me and then a 15 min or so hoof up The Malahide Road. Decided to leave the car at home cos of the traffic.

Where will the Longford 'end' be?
Post by: North Longford on February 08, 2008, 12:02:28 PM
Am travelling as part of 3 generations of the NL family....One being nearly 70 and one being nearly 6 (the one thats making us go) so I want to get fairly close and be there in good time. Not sure where the Longford end is but I know one north Longford club are even going to put a bus on....great excitement indeed.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:09:06 PM
Oppostion fans tend to head for the seats in Parnell park.

Anywhere is fine, I wouldnt head behind the church end goal, you get some knackers in there. Not aggresive towards you or anything, just not pleasant to be around.
Of course the majority are grand.

Post by: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 01:01:30 PM
QuoteKitty Kiernans pub

Might this be a good omen for Longford?  :P
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 01:04:39 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 01:01:30 PM
QuoteKitty Kiernans pub

Might this be a good omen for Longford?  :P

What have they done to the entrance to Kitty Kierans by the way. It looks like the entrance to a casino or nightclub now. Terrible looking.

Incidentally Lonford lads, if ye happen to go into the spar beside Kierans for a hang sandwhich on the way to the game, allow approx 5 minutes per sandwhich.

The guy in there is seriously the slowest thing I have ever seen in my life.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2008, 01:21:12 PM
Holiness

You do't seriously expect us to come without the Hang Sangwigges packed lovingly by The Mammy/The Mrs

Pay 4 euro for some wafter thin ham-ette shite stuck between two stale slices of bread with margarine???????? Are ya mad?

No - some fresh Pat's Pan with some home made hairy buhher with even hairier hang, washed down with a flask of strong tay.

Some Marietta to celebrate a win after as well.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 01:23:55 PM
 :D :D
Post by: Sean3 on February 08, 2008, 02:23:22 PM
SS, why not get the DART to Killester? It'll save the feet.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2008, 02:52:16 PM
Ah - but I am not sure of my way to Parnell Park from Killister so I may end up getting lost and ending up in Coolock.

Any directions would be of help Sean
Post by: Gnevin on February 08, 2008, 02:54:50 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2008, 02:52:16 PM
Ah - but I am not sure of my way to Parnell Park from Killister so I may end up getting lost and ending up in Coolock.

Any directions would be of help Sean
Its straight up Collins ave
Post by: Gnevin on February 08, 2008, 02:56:02 PM
Am looking forward to this game , Hope the weather stays responsibly ok am dieing of a cold again.
Post by: Sean3 on February 08, 2008, 03:17:19 PM
As Gnevin says, just a few very small side streets until you come out on Collins Ave and then it's only a short walk to the pitch.
Post by: Gnevin on February 08, 2008, 10:41:03 PM
First things first , better team lost .

Dublin where shit . A Brogan was just terrible . The only decent players where Ryan, B Brogan and O'Shaughnessy.

Any one watching on  TV think the ref was a constant pain and two teams playing in Blue was just plain stupid ?
Post by: Zulu on February 08, 2008, 10:59:00 PM
Great game, better team lost , ref gave the Dubs a few soft frees in front of the posts. In saying all that credit where credits due, playing poorly the dubs stuck at and got a result in the end. As a neutral though it was marvellous entertainment and both sides contributed to the actionin the manner in which they played the game.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 11:14:11 PM
Great game and as has already been posted the best team lost...But in fairness the second goal was a great finish by Sherlock...
Felt sorry for the Longford lads
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 08, 2008, 11:18:47 PM
Ara my heart is aching. We did everything but win the shagging thing. Very enjoyable stuff. 100% from both teams. Ref was a pain in the nads to be sure. Very harsh on Barden for that free that lead to the Dubs' winner I felt.

Was the ball wide for the first Dubs' goal? I dunno. Dems the breaks.
Should Jayo have walked after he scored the first goal for the elbow. I dunno - perhaps he was provoked a wee bit.

Why was he all alone for the 2nd goal (which he took well, the hoor)?

If we can maintain the progress and if Dempsey can talk up the heads after this blow then we may see some craic in summer. Brian Kavanagh deserves to be seen by more GAA folk in Ireland cos he's the real deal.

OK - it's 'only' the O'Byrne Cup - great cause and I am sure of ye will agree it's probably been the best O'Byrne Cup in years.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 11:31:33 PM
Yer all giving out about the Ref lads.....Did ye know he was from Laois  :o  Don't say us Laois lads never help the Dubs!
Post by: Gnevin on February 08, 2008, 11:53:30 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 11:31:33 PM
Yer all giving out about the Ref lads.....Did ye know he was from Laois  :o  Don't say us Laois lads never help the Dubs!
Thought he was equally shit for everyone , did he appear to "favour" the dubs ? Who was the Dub playing  on the right near the half back line/ midfield area that was giving away all the frees?
Post by: LaurelEye on February 09, 2008, 02:35:36 AM
Sickener at the end to see the Dubs rob it from a better team on the night.

I would advise a little caution before we run away with our prospects for the coming year. It will depend on whether it's tonight's Longford team or the one from last Sunday that turn up.

Finally, as a bit of light relief, let's play Where's Shamrock Shore :)

(http://www.raydonlon.com/9019/images/000030_long_dub_feb_08.jpg)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 09, 2008, 09:57:01 AM
I'm in the picture alright. Spotted myself on Setanta as well when I went home and reviewed the last 10 Jazesing minutes and then McGee and Earley's commints.

Still think, on reflection, it was a marvellous game and McGee was right. If that game had been in August it would be game of the year (and if it involved Tyrone or Armagh you would see 45 pages of a thread)
Post by: Hardy on February 09, 2008, 11:03:04 AM
Great entertainment - not only for the neutrals, but for the rest of us as well. The ref had a mixed game, I thought, with some poor calls , but some very good ones. But I'm coming to the view that the game is becoming impossible to referee properly and it's not helped by how easy it is to fool the ref. I felt that last night, most of his errors were due to being conned by lads going down as soon as they felt the hand and, if he appeared to favour Dublin, it was because they were doing more of it.

On the other hand, I was shouting at the telly when he gave one free to Dublin only to see he was right when they replayed it and showed the Longford forward executing the old pulling-down-the-tackler trick perfectly. Not many refs ever get that right.

I'd have to say it's a great sign of a team to pull off a win in this fashion and Dublin can now install themselves as odds-on unbeatable favourites to steamroll Leinster and the rest of the country this year. Get yizzer money on now.

The game will have been great for Longford too and can do no harm to their confidence. And if you have to learn a harsh lesson like this, it's better to learn it in the O'Byrne Cup than in the Chamionship. I hope when they review the video they'll notice the difference in outcome between the long ball from midfield and trying to walk it in. They were great to watch when they were tearing the Dublin defence apart with good supply from midfield.

I agree about Kavanagh - I hope we see more of him this Summer. And if we had a transfer system I'd be recommending we put in a bid for Paddy Dowd. The injured midfielder must be something else if Dowd wasn't in the selected team. 
Post by: his holiness nb on February 09, 2008, 11:41:13 AM
Good stuff, great to see at this time of year.

Longford were shocking unlucky but fair play to the Dubs, they never gave up.

Suprised nobody has mentioned the umpires "incident" yet.
World class entertainment.

One reason I was glad the Dubs left it late was due to the kn**ker in the white top standing near us roaring that all the Lonford players and the ref were "wankers" repeatedly, with a crowd of bemused children around him. He left in a huff as we went into injury time and missed the ending. Delighted for him!

I honestly dont think the refs favoured the Dubs, although I should know by now that every game the Dubs ever play brings cries of "the ref was for the Dubs" after the game.

I enjoy these arguments, as the other 31 counties all want to see Dublin lose, yet for some weird reason, all refs are an exception to this rule  ???
Gives me a laugh anyway.

Fair play to Longford, even despite the manner of the defeat, it was taken with dignity by the fans.
Post by: INDIANA on February 09, 2008, 11:52:27 AM
daylight robbery by us- longford deserved it by far- some really fine players and should have every confidence that they can win a Leinster Championship if they believe in themselves. Nice to win a tight game from our point of view but only a few guys like Cullen/Shocks and Bernard turned up - a couple of the new comers did well too. But same old failings are there unfortunately.
Felt sorry for the longford fans- had great banter with some of them around us - didn't engage in the sort of triumphant bullshit that certain other Leinster counties are good at it when it looked like they were going to win. Hope they get promoted in the league. Great night's entertainment.
Post by: donelli on February 09, 2008, 11:59:13 AM
Seen the second half of this on tv last night.
Great entertainment. Longford played the better football, but when you concede 2 goals like that at the end..well thats what they 'deserve'.
when the defensive marking is like this, it makes for more scores. i dont expect as much loose defending come the height of summer..
Post by: magickingdom on February 09, 2008, 12:07:00 PM
must say i really enjoyed the game last night, longford will have nightmares about losing that game. the only time they were down was in the last second! what about jayo tho, two great goals even if only one was legal...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 09, 2008, 12:25:41 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 09, 2008, 11:41:13 AM

I honestly dont think the refs favoured the Dubs, although I should know by now that every game the Dubs ever play brings cries of "the ref was for the Dubs" after the game.

I enjoy these arguments, as the other 31 counties all want to see Dublin lose, yet for some weird reason, all refs are an exception to this rule  ???
Gives me a laugh anyway.

Once your happy thats all that matters  :D
Post by: LaurelEye on February 09, 2008, 01:27:48 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 09, 2008, 11:03:04 AM
Great entertainment - not only for the neutrals, but for the rest of us as well. The ref had a mixed game, I thought, with some poor calls , but some very good ones. But I'm coming to the view that the game is becoming impossible to referee properly and it's not helped by how easy it is to fool the ref. I felt that last night, most of his errors were due to being conned by lads going down as soon as they felt the hand and, if he appeared to favour Dublin, it was because they were doing more of it.

On the other hand, I was shouting at the telly when he gave one free to Dublin only to see he was right when they replayed it and showed the Longford forward executing the old pulling-down-the-tackler trick perfectly. Not many refs ever get that right.

I'd have to say it's a great sign of a team to pull off a win in this fashion and Dublin can now install themselves as odds-on unbeatable favourites to steamroll Leinster and the rest of the country this year. Get yizzer money on now.

The game will have been great for Longford too and can do no harm to their confidence. And if you have to learn a harsh lesson like this, it's better to learn it in the O'Byrne Cup than in the Chamionship. I hope when they review the video they'll notice the difference in outcome between the long ball from midfield and trying to walk it in. They were great to watch when they were tearing the Dublin defence apart with good supply from midfield.

I agree about Kavanagh - I hope we see more of him this Summer. And if we had a transfer system I'd be recommending we put in a bid for Paddy Dowd. The injured midfielder must be something else if Dowd wasn't in the selected team. 

Thanks for the vote of confidence, Hardy :)
Post by: parkoncrokie on February 10, 2008, 11:12:09 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 09, 2008, 12:07:00 PM
must say i really enjoyed the game last night, longford will have nightmares about losing that game. the only time they were down was in the last second! what about jayo tho, two great goals even if only one was legal...
Watched  the final I could'nt believe  longford let it slip they were far & away the better team as you say one of  jayos majors was illegal
but it matters little now, Hopefilly longford will learn to defend to the death in future
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 10, 2008, 11:57:22 PM
As Hardy said best to be learning dem lessons in February rather than in May or June.

Amazing the number of people who watched the game and who texted me during and after. Anyone I knew seemed to be tuned in. Setanta have hit a gold mine here. Fair play to them. 
Post by: North Longford on February 11, 2008, 09:07:19 AM
Jesus Jayo has a lot to answer for.....took me 10 minutes after the final whistle to stop a 5 year from sobbing his heart out. Terrible thing to do to the young fella!!!
Anyway thought it was  good game and Longford played well although I actually think they could still play better. Paul Bardenn and Declan Reilly were still a bit rusty as they're only over ops. Reilly's first game in about 4 months and there is a lot more in him. Barden kicked 3 or 4 very uncharacteristic wides. He'd often have 100% days. As well with David Barden, Padraig Berry and Kevin Mulligan all only playing their first games there is definitely improvement to come plus with Keenan to come into midfield. So its all positive really. Disappointed Jayo got so much space for the second goal although it looked like a super finish from where we were. Again from where we were oculdn't make out what the complaints over the first goal were.
As for the ref, the last decision against David Barden which led to the goal made no sense to me, haven't seen replays so can't be sure but nobody in our vicinity inclduding Dubs could make out why he gave a free. Other than that the 7 scorable frees to 2 tells a lot for me. Invariably if a Dublin player got surrounded by 2 or 3 Longford lads it s was free for pushing or pulling while if the opposite occurred it was free for overcarrying or the Longford lad had to release the ball anywhere to avoid the overcayrrying.
Anyway after the Wexford performance wasn't sure how things stood but a good bit happier now.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 11, 2008, 09:27:06 AM
The free agin Barden was, allegedly, for palming the ball - i.e. he had the ball in his right hand and then 'hopped' it on the hand over to Farrell. I think. The TV is not conclusive but the Dub I was sitting beside claimed that's what it was for. I certainly missed it.

I should have got you over to comfort me NL.......I was crying for 10!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 11, 2008, 11:35:16 AM
Super game, great O'Byrne Cup when u add in the Carlow game. Daylight robbery by the Dubs. It was a typical Dempsey team, threatened to blow away the opposition completely and then got sucker punched at the end. This was a statement of intent from the Slashers, I hope O'Flaherta was watching and taking notes, porous backline but excellent forward play once quick ball went in. Can't for the life of me figure out why Caffery took O'Shaughnessy off Kavanagh as he's a great man to get his hand in. Thought the ref had a decent game, as good as can be expected what with all the off the ball blocking of runs, pulling and dragging, surrounding the player, etc. that is all too prevelant in the modern game. He did get one call unbelievably wrong, Sherlock should have walked for the elbow.
Post by: Hound on February 11, 2008, 01:06:36 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 09, 2008, 11:03:04 AM
I'd have to say it's a great sign of a team to pull off a win in this fashion and Dublin can now install themselves as odds-on unbeatable favourites to steamroll Leinster
Sure, we already were Hardy!

Hard luck Longford. We certainly "stole it" in the end. Great winning goal from a Dublin point of view, superb ball by Fennell and great finish by Jayo.

Not many positive individual performances to highlight from a Dublin perspective. None of the new boys look good enough to me to start championship matches - but could say that about a few of the existing boys too!!