GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on February 06, 2008, 08:03:51 AM

Title: Celebrity Bainnisteor
Post by: Barney on February 06, 2008, 08:03:51 AM
Saw this post on anfearrua.com by An Fear Rua himself so I presume its a press release, and not a joke.

QuoteEight celebrities have swapped their glamorous lifestyles for the raw passion of a GAA training ground.

The contestants of the new reality television show, `Celebrity Bainisteoir`, were revealed today as they took control of their local football clubs.

Top model Glenda Gilson, celebrity solicitor Gerald Kean, journalist Nell McCafferty, comedian Jon Kenny, television presenter Baz Ashmawy, politician Mary O'Rourke, bookmaker Ivan Yates and former Rose of Tralee Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain have taken the reigns of an intermediate club football team in their home county.

Officially sanctioned by the GAA, the tournament will feature four quarter-finals, two semi-finals and the final, which is to be played on May 9 at Parnell Park in Dublin.

The show will hit our screens on RTÉ One starting Sunday, March 23.

Glenda, who has one of Ireland's most photographed faces, has stepped off the red carpet and on to the pitch at Crumlin GAA Club in Dublin.

She said her new role – which she started just over a months ago – was her most daunting ever.

"The first day of the training session I nearly started crying," she said.

"I wasn't able for it at all and felt I was like a schoolgirl on a street corner trying to be cool in front of boys.

"It's been the most daunting experience of my life.

"I've never felt so sick in my stomach as I have going out on to every training session with 25 to 30 lads and training them.

"The crew and producers were telling me I had to be harder on them, and I found it quite hard to be tough, but I have to say as the weeks have gone on I've been able to give them a bit more lip."

Gerald travels home to Mayfield in Cork, with Nell training St Mary's Faughanvale, Derry, and Jon leading the way at Galtee Gaels, Limerick.

Wicklow man Baz will manage a team at Ballymanus, while Mary – Fianna Fáil TD for Longford-Westmeath – will give the orders at Maryland.

Ivan, a former Fine Gael politician, goes home to Taghmon-Camross GAA Club, Wexford, and Aoibhinn, a regular on The Panel, goes to Kiltimagh GAA Club, Mayo.

Although Glenda admitted she hope's the coverage will enhance her career prospects as a television presenter, she said she took the challenge because it was very different than anything she's done before.

"We have a really good team with great players so I hope to god we'll win," she added.

"Our first game is Gerald Keane's team at Mayfield and we're definitely going to kick their ass."

Each of the Bainisteoiri will have an experienced mentor on hand to help them train and manage their team.

But the celebs – who will battle it out for title of `Celebrity Bainisteoir 2008` - will be responsible for team training, tactics, and picking the teams.

Producer Jean Devlin, of Animo Television, said the show was about showcasing and celebrating the passion, skill and commitment of grassroots GAA.

"But we're having a bit fun with it by throwing celebrities into the mix," he added.

"At its heart it's a uniquely Irish family entertainment programme.

"For the clubs it's a rare chance to showcase club football to a national audience in an entertainment programme, while for the celebrities it's a chance to learn a brand new skill."
Title: Re: Celebrity Bainnisteor
Post by: lfdown2 on February 06, 2008, 08:35:50 AM
aye know a lad on the team from derry, they also hav a gaa mentor (ie well know face in the gaa) cant mind who they got
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2008, 09:17:58 AM
I think it's time for a new "reality TV" show. Celebrity Cull. They seem to be reproducing every sphere of activity as tacky TV entertainment featuring annoying bastards who are famous either just for being famous or for being useless. Well, in real life, any species that gets either too numerous or just too damn annoying for the rest of the population gets culled. Either automatically, by nature, or deliberately, by the people who know it's necessary.

So for this new show (maybe I'm a Celebrity – Take Me Out is a better name) select about a dozen capable marksmen, arm them well and let then compete for "celebrity" kills. The staging will be easy enough. Just hang around the four or five bars or clubs in Dublin where these creatures congregate (lacking, as they do, the wit to be original enough to find their own places of entertainment) and it'll be like shooting fish in a barrel. A few random rallies with a Kalashnikov outside Annabel's at 2 a.m. would take out large numbers of their breeding population with zero chance of damage to normal useful members of the public, who are elsewhere doing, well ... normal useful things.

I'd watch that.

With a bit of luck, most of them would be eliminated. Hopefully, those that weren't would be driven out of sight, at least for a while, assuming they have sense enough to be afraid. If it meant we never heard the word "celebrity" for even six months, I would take that as a win. Unfortunately, it's probably more likely that the marksmen would become "celebrities" themselves ...
Post by: feetofflames on February 06, 2008, 09:26:08 AM
I agree Hardy its also obvious that these guys would be getting paid for their time as bainsteoir.  So lets have a pop.
Post by: AbbeySider on February 06, 2008, 11:27:34 AM
Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain is coaching Kiltimagh in the competition.

I heard that they never had bigger numbers at training.   :D
They even have lads coming out of retirement  :D  :D  :D
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 11:35:17 AM
Read about this in the Irish News this morning. Sounds like it could be a laugh.  :D
Post by: Declan on February 06, 2008, 11:46:45 AM
Surely if they were imposed by the CB or central council the players should withdraw their services ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2008, 11:51:03 AM
QuoteA few random rallies with a Kalashnikov outside Annabel's at 2 a.m

Unfortunately, Hardy, this place is long closed.

Lillies is the place to be with the sniper. Top of my list:

1. That De Burgh wan
2. Gavin Friday and Guggi and the other Bono-hanger-oners (including Bono)
3. Gerard Keane
4. Barry Egan

In fact make them all joint 1st. Bastards.
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2008, 12:01:43 PM
Sorry SS - not up to date on the spots. I don't hold with your sniper idea though. Too inefficient. You need to take them out in large numbers otherwise you'd be at it for months, there's so many of the hoors. What about booby-trapped mojitas? Or give one of them a bomb with "Prada" or something written on it - they'd carry that anywhere. It could be detonated by speech recognition. At the first "mwa-mwa" as they air kiss each other - kaboom!
Post by: Uladh on February 06, 2008, 12:11:51 PM

I don't know any ofthe people n your list but whoever came up with the idea should be shot with a ball of their own dung.

i have a novel idea to reach a gaa audience... show some f**king national league games during the week!
Post by: Donagh on February 06, 2008, 12:38:37 PM
"Nell McCafferty"

That teams going to be some craic. Won't win anything and they're be more pints and points, but'll be some craic...  :D
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on February 06, 2008, 02:03:05 PM
"Our first game is Gerald Keane's team at Mayfield and we're definitely going to kick their ass." - Good girl Glenda, her team talks will be so, like totally, kick ass  ::) And Aoibheann, oh I dont envy her tryin to tame the Kiltimagh boys  :D

Gerald Kean is from Mayfield  :o He's hardly a relation of the bould Roy ;D
Post by: Jinxy on February 06, 2008, 02:46:07 PM
The lovely Aoibheann can take me for training anytime she likes. :-*
Post by: Puckoon on February 06, 2008, 02:49:22 PM
What the fcuk is a celebrity solicitor? Are we that stuck for celebrities?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 02:53:24 PM
BC1 is a celebrity solicitor :D
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 02:55:43 PM
I can imagine the lads in Galtee Gaels busting their arses laughing at this. Jon Kenny will have to give the Timmy Ryan speech before every game, and the Gaels will think it's serious :D
Post by: his holiness nb on February 06, 2008, 03:01:35 PM
I beleive theres a new programme on one of the crap sky channels called "I want to be a celebrity" in which last years Big Brother contestant Chanel (not even winner, or finalist) is grooming wannabees to be celebrities.

Honest to god.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 06, 2008, 04:01:21 PM
so this is where our license fees go then eh - to appease the ego of some smarmy solicitor and to be used as a futile attempt to land some wannabe celeb get into TV presenting etc.
Oh for fux sake.

How the fcuk did the GAA sanction this, how did any team sign up for this?
its a f**king joke that wont even be funny.

underdogs, underdogs ladies and what will we do now - lets have an underdogs managers show, yes - what about having 'celeb' managers - no its rte, we cant afford celebs, how about some fuckwits who love themselves so much that they'll do it for nothing so they can get on TV.
::) ::)

Hardy, careful - yer going all paramilitary, did you lose that blueshirt ;)
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2008, 04:27:41 PM
Ah sure we were here before a lot of yiz!
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 06, 2008, 04:52:17 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2008, 11:51:03 AM
QuoteA few random rallies with a Kalashnikov outside Annabel's at 2 a.m

Unfortunately, Hardy, this place is long closed.

Lillies is the place to be with the sniper. Top of my list:

1. That De Burgh wan
2. Gavin Friday and Guggi and the other Bono-hanger-oners (including Bono)
3. Gerard Keane
4. Barry Egan

In fact make them all joint 1st. Bastards.

Give me a pm if you want an assistant SS :D
Post by: wobbller on February 06, 2008, 05:22:31 PM
 I think the choice of these pri ks is Krystle nowadays!
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 06, 2008, 07:25:54 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on February 06, 2008, 11:27:34 AM
Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain is coaching Kiltimagh in the competition.

I heard that they never had bigger numbers at training.   :D
They even have lads coming out of retirement  :D  :D  :D
I've a transfer in, should go through next week. :P
Post by: Louth Exile on March 30, 2008, 07:20:41 PM
Oh my God, I watched some of it after the news, as bad as you might expect it to be!

Having said that, my money is on Ivan
Post by: LaurelEye on March 30, 2008, 07:47:19 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on March 30, 2008, 07:20:41 PM
Oh my God, I watched some of it after the news, as bad as you might expect it to be!

Having said that, my money is on Ivan

Any hope of one of them being drafted in to manage Longford before next weekend?  >:(
Post by: dodo on March 30, 2008, 07:59:50 PM
It's fairly harmless stuff. Easy watching (especially Aoibheann and Glenda) and possibly even a bit of craic.
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2008, 09:01:31 PM
I quite enjoyed it. Yer man Gerald Keane is actually a bit of craic. Doesn't seem to take himself too seriously. Thought the Crumlin lads were gas as well.

p.s. I'd take Aoibheann over Glenda any day of the week.
Post by: Jinxy on March 30, 2008, 09:13:30 PM
When choosing between 2 women I'd always lean towards the one with the degree in theoretical physics.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on March 30, 2008, 10:41:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 30, 2008, 09:13:30 PM
When choosing between 2 women I'd always lean towards the one with the degree in theoretical physics.

Nice one Jinxy!  :D
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2008, 10:56:03 PM
Christ I m still gettin over those two girls earlier. Easy on the eye the pair of them. Gorgeous and great crack. God I d be still playin if Glenda was my manager. Any young fella that would nt burst his balls for either of them out there on the field should nt be handed a jersey again! I need to lie down now.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 30, 2008, 11:14:15 PM
I thought it was good craic. The Crumlin lads seemed a good laugh especially when the asked Glenda did she know the offside rule!!
Post by: bigpaul on March 30, 2008, 11:45:26 PM
Enjoyed that myself,good lighthearted stuff after a fiasco in Cross'!When it comes to a choice between the two ladies I'd always go for the older,if she still looks good at this stage there's more chance of it lasting!
Post by: dodo on March 30, 2008, 11:58:14 PM
Quote from: bigpaul on March 30, 2008, 11:45:26 PM
Enjoyed that myself,good lighthearted stuff after a fiasco in Cross'!When it comes to a choice between the two ladies I'd always go for the older,if she still looks good at this stage there's more chance of it lasting!

You on about Nell ?   :-\
Post by: bigpaul on March 31, 2008, 12:00:05 AM
Deffo,all that can go wrong already has,apart from the grim-reaper!
Post by: sail_in on March 31, 2008, 08:07:31 AM
Nothing too original to say here - thought the programme was good enough, pretty harmless fun.

On to the big question, Aoibheann or Glenda?

Aoibheann all the way!

sail_in - supporting natural beauty!
Post by: paddypastit on March 31, 2008, 08:22:47 AM
All a bit of harmeless fun albeit is the type of stuff that should be on commercial TV rather than taxpayer funded RTE1

QuoteThe Crumlin lads seemed a good laugh especially when the asked Glenda did she know the offside rule!!

Sharp boys too.  When she did her 'I know nothing about football...' speech, quick response "bet you know a bit about the rugby all the same..."
Post by: thebandit on March 31, 2008, 10:55:41 AM
Aoibheann all the way!

Jon Kenny to win
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 03:05:57 PM
Nell McCaffrey too. Good Lord!  :D

However she said that she doesn't like the GAA, as soccer's more her sport. Plus, she reckons there's 6 counties in Ulster and that GAA is a southern sport for people with bad teeth..... erm.... should be interesting.  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on March 31, 2008, 03:27:44 PM
Had to laugh at the Derry boys response when she said she was doing this for the same reasons as them. "Yeah, money!"  ;D
Post by: Buckass on March 31, 2008, 03:28:11 PM
It'd be great to see the two fine wans quizzed on their views on all matters Gaa.Y'know..ask Glenda is she a fan of the back door championship..that kinda stuff.. ::)
Post by: magpie seanie on March 31, 2008, 03:32:03 PM
Nell McCafferty is one twisted hateful bitch. I will not say anything more about her cos it just makes me angry.

Saw them on the Late, late show the other night. Yer man Kean seemed like a bit of a tool but in a harmless way. Aoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin comes across as a really bright, interesting young lassie and she is stunning to boot. One of these hugely talented people without the arrogance that can blight some of them. More power to her. Ivan Yates was good craic too. I always thought he'd be Taoiseach some day, he's a fairly shrewd hoor and a massive loss to FG and maybe the country.

What struck me though was how these people have been shocked by what they've discovered - Young men with great dedication and pride and passion for their parish. I suppose as GAA people we take it for granted. It just opened my eyes to the fact that there are a huge amount of people in the country who don't know that type of dedication is going on under their noses.

After watching the Late, late I felt this was going to be cringeworthy stuff but comments here are not too bad. May give it a viewing next week.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 31, 2008, 03:33:44 PM
They should read my Declan Grennan diaries :)
Post by: tyroneboi on March 31, 2008, 03:34:05 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on March 31, 2008, 08:22:47 AM
All a bit of harmeless fun albeit is the type of stuff that should be on commercial TV rather than taxpayer funded RTE1

QuoteThe Crumlin lads seemed a good laugh especially when the asked Glenda did she know the offside rule!!

Sharp boys too.  When she did her 'I know nothing about football...' speech, quick response "bet you know a bit about the rugby all the same..."

O'Drico is a foolish man for letting her go!!
Post by: ziggysego on March 31, 2008, 03:39:55 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 31, 2008, 03:32:03 PM
Nell McCafferty is one twisted hateful bitch. I will not say anything more about her cos it just makes me angry.

She always makes me laugh. You have to take everything she says with a pinch of salt. Be easy to get annoyed with her.

Will this be repeated or is it up on RTÉ.ie? I've missed it so far.
Post by: Jinxy on March 31, 2008, 04:03:18 PM
Not up on RTE.ie yet but I'd say it'll be repeated at some stage during the week. I honestly think it works very well (although I'd get rid of Mary O'Rourke and that other dude who nobody has ever heard of).
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 31, 2008, 04:50:45 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 31, 2008, 03:32:03 PMAoibhinn Ní Shúilleabháin comes across as a really bright, interesting young lassie and she is stunning to boot. One of these hugely talented people without the arrogance that can blight some of them. More power to her.

Would second that. Was queuing to get into the filming of the Christmas Edition of The Panel and she arrived with her entourage and obviously she was able to skip the queue what with her being part of the programme from time to time. She had the manners to apologise to people at the top of the queue when it wasn't really needed and looked quite sheepish at being able to get in ahead of those who had been standing in the freezing cold, a nice touch of humility I thought...

Caught most of the programme, looked decent, certainly better than the usual reality show offering...
Post by: Roseyland on March 31, 2008, 07:02:15 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 31, 2008, 04:03:18 PM
Not up on RTE.ie yet but I'd say it'll be repeated at some stage during the week. I honestly think it works very well (although I'd get rid of Mary O'Rourke and that other dude who nobody has ever heard of).

Mary O'Rourke is gone, not sure why, Marty Whelan has replaced her at the Helm of the Mighty Maryland.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 31, 2008, 07:11:21 PM
Quote from: Roseyland on March 31, 2008, 07:02:15 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 31, 2008, 04:03:18 PM

Mary O'Rourke is gone, not sure why, Marty Whelan has replaced her at the Helm of the Mighty Maryland.

Groan, bring back Mary  :-[
Post by: Rav67 on March 31, 2008, 09:22:05 PM
To the important question, has to be Glenda.

Could RTE not have managed to actually get recognisable faces for this?  Had to laugh when I think it was your boy "Baz" whoever the feck he is taking the Wicklow side, a crowd of young ones had gathered outside waiting to cheer wildly for the "celebrity" when they showed up, but not a sinner had a clue who he was.  You could almost see the tumbleweed bouncing past the clubrooms.  :D
Post by: imtommygunn on March 31, 2008, 10:00:49 PM
I thought it looked very good craic.

When your woman Aoibhinn said "will I need a pair of football boots" one of the boys replies "you'll need a pair of shorts anyway" - classic stuff.

The ex politician guy didn't come across as much craic - came across as a shrewd boy though.

Aoibhinn all the way but wouldn't kick the other one out of bed for farting...
Post by: mattockranger on April 03, 2008, 10:27:56 AM
ideal world most famous people as celebrity bainisteor!

ULSTER :
Derry-
Tyrone-
Armagh-
Antrim- Gerry Adams
Donegal-
Cavan-
Monaghan-
Down-
Fermanagh-Fr Brian :D

LEINSTER :
Dublin-Gabriel Byrne
Louth-
Meath-Pierce Brosnan
Laois- Darina Allen ;D
Wicklow-Daniel Day lewis
Westmeath- Michael o'Leary
Kildare- Christy Moore
Wexford-Kevin Doyle
Carlow-
Kilkenny-
Longford-
Offaly-

MUNSTER:
Kerry-
Cork- ROY Keane :o
Limerick-
Tipp-
Clare-
Waterford-

Connacht
Galway-
Mayo-
Roscommon-
Sligo- Neil Jordan
Leitrim-

theres a few of the top of my head

Post by: AZOffaly on April 03, 2008, 10:38:34 AM
Offaly - Brian Cowen without a doubt. An ex Offaly under 21, full forward on a team with Matt Connor.
Post by: Louth Exile on April 03, 2008, 11:26:44 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 03, 2008, 10:38:34 AM
Offaly - Brian Cowen without a doubt. An ex Offaly under 21, full forward on a team with Matt Connor.

I heard then mention this on newstalk last night and was wondering about the truth in it, given that they supposedly lost to Kilkenny. Matt himself would beat Kilkenny surely
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on April 03, 2008, 11:31:16 AM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 03, 2008, 11:26:44 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 03, 2008, 10:38:34 AM

I heard then mention this on newstalk last night and was wondering about the truth in it, given that they supposedly lost to Kilkenny. Matt himself would beat Kilkenny surely
Apparently Matt was playing them by himself alright but got sent off with 5 mins to go and KK kicked 2 points in injury time to win by the minimum  :P
Post by: hectorsheroes on April 03, 2008, 05:34:37 PM
Aoibhinn Ni Shuilleabhain - ALL DAY LONG!
Post by: Louth Exile on April 06, 2008, 07:33:46 PM
Crumlin facing a hefty fine from the GAA for wearing of non regulation kit by Glenda!!

You can't say it didn't mean anything to players anyway!! All in melee and two straight red cards  :o

Louth should be in it next year, I have two ideal Intermediate teams for the challenge.....
The Joes - managed by local comedian Pat Mc Donald (aka Eoin Mc Love in Fr Ted, the one with no willy and also off naked camera) He fits the bill in terms of not having a clue about football anyway!!
The other suggestion is more interesting......
Clan na Gael - managed by former clubman Stephen Staunton. Only problem here is that he is a former gaelic player, although his detractors would say that he doesn't know much about management!
Post by: magpie seanie on April 06, 2008, 08:49:53 PM
Yer man Kean is an awful tool.
Post by: Jinxy on April 06, 2008, 09:22:02 PM
I hope the cheesy commentary by Micheál isn't going to be a regular feature.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 06, 2008, 11:01:59 PM
QuoteYer man Kean is an awful tool

Jazes Seanie - are you only realising this now? Him and his freckin Jaffa cakes.

Despite my usual cynicism in these sort of programs I am actually enjoying this.

Had to laugh at the Cork tools wrecking the table of scran before the game. Gobshites.

Glenda has gone up in my estimation - Kean was already at absolute zero in my books so he can go no further

(serious lack of 'effs and blinds' which is worrying - but I spose it is on at 18.30)
Post by: Jinxy on April 07, 2008, 12:09:56 AM
After watching the histrionics of the Mayfield lads before the game I hope they get hockeyed the next day. Caveman stuff. ::)
Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 07, 2008, 08:44:50 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 06, 2008, 11:01:59 PM
QuoteYer man Kean is an awful tool

Jazes Seanie - are you only realising this now? Him and his freckin Jaffa cakes.

Despite my usual cynicism in these sort of programs I am actually enjoying this.

Had to laugh at the Cork tools wrecking the table of scran before the game. Gobshites.

Glenda has gone up in my estimation - Kean was already at absolute zero in my books so he can go no further

(serious lack of 'effs and blinds' which is worrying - but I spose it is on at 18.30)

Thought the very same myself.  Complete tools.  Pity we won't get a chance til see Glenda along the sideline again.  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on April 07, 2008, 09:34:52 AM
It's good craic, but sure it's all hammed up for the cameras. All that roaring and shouting from the Mayfield lads before the game, breaking the table and all. Load of shite. It's a pre-season celebrity tournament. They were playing it up for the cameras, end of story.

I thought Kean's ploy of getting them away to a hotel and having Stachan and Given talk to them, as well as the suits, was a nice touch, and probably appreciated by the players because it makes them feel looked after, but Dave Barry's comments are 100% on.

As for the Dublin wan, I couldn't listen to her. She's 'easy on the eye' as Tommy Lyon's said, but how could you listen to her on the pitch? 'No kicking, when you get through do one of these (punch) over the thing, because there's no thing'. Whatever the feck that means Glenda, nice rig out though :)

Post by: cnoc16 on April 07, 2008, 01:09:40 PM
Ah i was on the Crumlin team for the show and she ain't that bad at all, she is a sound girl and she ain't stuck up at all, as I had expected, she wouldn't be too effective as a manager and picking a team and it was an experienced player on the line making decisions, being communicated to him by the real selectors of the team.

Very worthwhile experience and it has brought a bit of excitement to the club, pity were out. ha
Post by: Jinxy on April 07, 2008, 01:30:02 PM
Yer man getting put off killed ye by the looks of it on TV. I'd say he was fairly disgusted with himself. Had heard from a friend of a friend that Glenda was a good egg alright.
Post by: his holiness nb on April 07, 2008, 01:35:16 PM
I'd have imagined most non Dubs would root for the Cork team in this one. But yer man Keane is an awful gobshite so maybe not.

Fair play cnoc, best laugh so far was when ye were welcoming Glenda on last weeks show!

Post by: AZOffaly on April 07, 2008, 01:37:10 PM
I hope you are not that poor young lad that looked like he was totally in love with Glenda. I'd imagine he was heartbroken after it was over :D
Post by: Jinxy on April 07, 2008, 01:40:07 PM
The Crumlin boys seemed like a good bunch of lads. I was actually quite disappointed for them. No team should have home advantage anyway.
Post by: tintin25 on April 07, 2008, 01:46:10 PM
What about the wee corner forward on the Mayfield team?  :D You just knew he was gonna be brought on!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 07, 2008, 01:52:12 PM
Oh Jazes no Holiness. I was hoping the Crumlin lads would bate 12 bales of shite out of that Cork shower. I am sure most of the Cork lads are fine but 'Keano' sickens my ring so it was 'Crumblin' all the way for me.

I see that other Gobshite, the Sindo's Barry Ego, was there in the crowd. God sometimes has a wicked sense of humour. Ego is walking proof.
Post by: cnoc16 on April 07, 2008, 03:09:56 PM
Ah yeah one of the lads is in love with her, and sickens me to say there is a bit of both ways in it I believe, but they are keeping fairly quiet.

In fairness she has been in the club 2 or 3 times since it was on.

Here we are giving our corner back some stick about little podgie roasting him, haha :D :D :D

I wouldn't say losing the man killed the game for us, but it made a difference, they were better than us plain and simple despite what some of our players continue to say, they had a good game plan, we didn't.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 07, 2008, 03:13:24 PM
QuoteAh yeah one of the lads is in love with her, and sickens me to say there is a bit of both ways in it I believe, but they are keeping fairly quiet.

God Jaysus. That's some recalibration. Captain of the Irish Rugby team to intermediate club player from Crumlin. Fair play to them :D

QuoteI wouldn't say losing the man killed the game for us, but it made a difference, they were better than us plain and simple despite what some of our players continue to say, they had a good game plan, we didn't.

Ah here, that's not fair, slagging off poor Glenda. I distinctly heard her telling ye to , you know, enjoy this. Ye know what to do. If ye had just did the thing and put the thing over the  thing ye'd have won :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 07, 2008, 03:18:40 PM
Good man AZ  :D

I'd say the big full forward captain lad is the one cnoc16 may be referring to. She, loike, made him captain after all!
Post by: Jinxy on April 07, 2008, 03:20:09 PM
The thing is, Crumlin lost because they didn't have enough of the thing to kick it over the thing as many times as the other shower of things did.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 07, 2008, 03:32:58 PM
I actually though Gerald Keane didn't come off too badly from it although when I saw that ringpiece Barry Egan at the game I was tempted to change my mind.

Was laughing away when he was giving the half-time teamtalk while stuffing his face with Jaffa cakes. ;D
Post by: thebandit on April 07, 2008, 03:41:54 PM
I met Aoibheann Ni Shuileabhain out in Cork on Saturday night, I wonder was she down in connection with the show? She was good oul craic
Post by: Jinxy on April 07, 2008, 03:42:38 PM
Yeah Kiltimagh were playing Mayfield.
Post by: cnoc16 on April 07, 2008, 03:57:04 PM
Yeah think it was Mayfield who were doing the playing, they won 2-11 to 1-5, into the final Mayfield are.

Ah know it aint the big fella, haha
Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 07, 2008, 04:11:06 PM
I take it then we know who has already made it to the final?  In saying that, I don't, so can anyone enlighten me?
Post by: his holiness nb on April 07, 2008, 04:31:27 PM
DONT TELL US FFS !!!!!

Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 07, 2008, 04:39:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 07, 2008, 04:16:04 PM
Can we change the name of the thread to 'Celebrity Bainisteoir'?

Tear you on Hardstation, knock yourself out!

As for the final His Holiness NB, you're probably right, lets leave it.
Post by: ludermor on April 07, 2008, 04:49:10 PM
Quote from: cnoc16 on April 07, 2008, 03:09:56 PM

I wouldn't say losing the man killed the game for us, but it made a difference, they were better than us plain and simple despite what some of our players continue to say, they had a good game plan, we didn't.

Here cnoc16 are you sure your from dublin? You wont have many county allies here with that attitute ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on April 07, 2008, 05:24:31 PM
I'd recommend you delete the post where future results are given away. Might take the fun out of it for some viewers.

Never the same when you already know who won!
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 07, 2008, 06:02:42 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 07, 2008, 04:16:04 PM
Can we change the name of the thread to 'Celebrity Bainisteoir'?

I remember a few years ago when Tipp?? had Bainnisteoir written on the 'vest' of their manager. Lyster and the boys had a laugh wondering was he a manager of a Creamery. I suppose I'm the only person who remembers this...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 07, 2008, 09:32:45 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on April 07, 2008, 05:24:31 PM
I'd recommend you delete the post where future results are given away. Might take the fun out of it for some viewers.

Never the same when you already know who won!

Agree, NO FECKIN SPOILERS!!!

Enjoyed it but we could do without Michael's input from the sound studio, it's as clear as day he wasn't at the match and it takes from the programme. As least with the Dubs out we won't have to see anymore of Tommy and his Gain Lines...
Post by: AZOffaly on April 07, 2008, 09:34:10 PM
Actually if he used the term gain lines to Glenda, she might at least have had a clue what he was on about.
Post by: cnoc16 on April 09, 2008, 01:03:31 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 07, 2008, 04:49:10 PM
Quote from: cnoc16 on April 07, 2008, 03:09:56 PM

Here cnoc16 are you sure your from dublin? You wont have many county allies here with that attitute ;)

Honesty is a thing that should be cherished not snuffed at.
Post by: cnoc16 on April 09, 2008, 01:06:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 07, 2008, 03:13:24 PM

God Jaysus. That's some recalibration. Captain of the Irish Rugby team to intermediate club player from Crumlin. Fair play to them :D

Here that is a step up in my eyes
Post by: dodo on April 12, 2008, 06:03:07 PM
Glenda "Get the ball and make magic with it"   ;D
Post by: Jinxy on April 12, 2008, 06:05:49 PM
She didn't pick that one up at a junior C match.
Post by: Rav67 on April 14, 2008, 12:08:37 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 07, 2008, 09:32:45 PM

Enjoyed it but we could do without Michael's input from the sound studio, it's as clear as day he wasn't at the match and it takes from the programme. As least with the Dubs out we won't have to see anymore of Tommy and his Gain Lines...

Micheal was there in tonight's episode with Brian McEniff!  It looked a great game of football too.  I'm beginning to dislike Nell as wee bit less, wish she wouldn't bring every interview she has back to gender politics though.
Post by: toiletroller on April 14, 2008, 10:01:31 AM
Watched last nights show and one on saturday...think its pretty hilarious! RTE have really went to town on it...no expense spared. the teams landing to the match in suits, a marching band.Then there are guys throwings tables round the changing room to get physced up for their  'quarter final' :D On the other hand joe gray is a handy player (altho his opposition arent so hot), think he was on Mickey Morans Derry panel a few years back
Post by: AZOffaly on April 14, 2008, 10:19:23 AM
John Quane would be a well known lad too. He played Centre Field for Limerick for a good few years. Always gave Darragh O'Sé his bellyful of it too. Sorry to see them go out (Galtee Gaels) but it's interesting to see the effect the GAA lads are having on the old battleaxe. She almost seems human, and when she was closing her eyes singing Amhrán na bhFiann, holding one of the lads hands, she looked like she was really into it.

Of course, as she admitted herselve, she came into it with a gender-politics agenda, but she seems to have been mightily impressed by the lads decency.
Post by: thejuice on April 14, 2008, 10:43:07 AM
When I heard about this a few weeks ago I was thinking, oh Jesus, but saw it last night, was in stiches. Great stuff, dont know if I could take Jon Kenny serious as a coach, sounds like he could have been on stage. good show.
Post by: screenexile on April 14, 2008, 11:47:58 AM
Was looking to watch this online but I keep getting all that "Access restricted" crap from RTE. Does anyone know a way round this for the folk's in the 6 Counties?
Post by: Louth Exile on April 14, 2008, 12:36:31 PM
Last night was the perfect example of how the celebs make no difference at all and it is the better team that wins and it is as simple as that. John Kenny was clearly a far better coach than Nell and I really wanted to see the Limerick lads win, but the class shone through in the extra time. Derry clearly had one of their managment team togged out as a "player" not chance, the lad was older than Stephen Melia and was doing all the talking, as well as making all the decisions we can safely assume
Post by: stevo-08 on April 14, 2008, 12:43:14 PM
I just cant stand that Nell McCafferty one but thought it was hilarious watching her poke the lads with her crutch saying "Bib, Bib, Bib..." And then in total bewilderment "Jaysus Brian, you're going to have to show me what a hop is". And then McEniff showing her like she was a 6yr old.  :D :D

Was hoping the limerick lads would win, it's just asking to much to watch nell yahooing on the sideline like a scaulded cat.... But it's probably just aswell Derry won, Nell wouldnt have let them near the sangwidges if they lost!!!
Post by: toiletroller on April 14, 2008, 12:44:26 PM
i think thats yer man Gabriel Mc Guiness. He could well still be playin.
Post by: Louth Exile on April 14, 2008, 01:28:06 PM
Quote from: toiletroller on April 14, 2008, 12:44:26 PM

Yer man doing all the talking in the Derry dressing room???
Post by: Jinxy on April 14, 2008, 01:37:07 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 14, 2008, 12:36:31 PM
Last night was the perfect example of how the celebs make no difference at all and it is the better team that wins and it is as simple as that. John Kenny was clearly a far better coach than Nell and I really wanted to see the Limerick lads win, but the class shone through in the extra time. Derry clearly had one of their managment team togged out as a "player" not chance, the lad was older than Stephen Melia and was doing all the talking, as well as making all the decisions we can safely assume

It was a nice little speech she gave in the dressing room beforehand in fairness to her. A pleasant change from the usual roaring and lepping before a game.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on April 21, 2008, 05:04:51 PM
With the Dublin v Meath schmozzle dominating yesterdays thoughts, I totally forgot to tune into this - how'd it go last night??
Post by: Louth Exile on April 21, 2008, 05:06:52 PM
The beautifull Rose and her boys from Kiltimagh had a win over the former Minister and his Weford lads with a last gasp goal  :o
Post by: AZOffaly on April 21, 2008, 05:09:43 PM
I was disappointed in her to be honest. I know she's supposed to be a lovely girl, but she didn't come across that well, or even that interested. Still glad she beat the Fine Gael bookie though :D
Post by: sail_in on April 22, 2008, 08:54:49 AM
Lads,

Can someone help me out here?

Am I right in thinking that Sunday night's programme (6.30pm) the first time we see the new show, and if so, is it repeated at any stage?

I missed the Rose on Sunday night as it turns out that the fact that the manger would miss an important TV programme isn't a good enough reason to get an U14 Feile game called off!  >:(
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 22, 2008, 09:10:32 AM
Quote from: sail_in on April 22, 2008, 08:54:49 AM
Lads,

Can someone help me out here?

Am I right in thinking that Sunday night's programme (6.30pm) the first time we see the new show, and if so, is it repeated at any stage?

I missed the Rose on Sunday night as it turns out that the fact that the manger would miss an important TV programme isn't a good enough reason to get an U14 Feile game called off!  >:(

It's online here, repeated on Saturdays I think around 5 or 6...

http://www.rte.ie/tv/celebritybainisteoir/ep4.html (http://www.rte.ie/tv/celebritybainisteoir/ep4.html)
Post by: bcarrier on May 11, 2008, 07:37:15 PM
Thoughts...

Have mayfield any ringers ?

Mayobridge could win this.

Post by: Jinxy on May 11, 2008, 07:54:29 PM
Wouldn't have had Marty Whelan down as the Tai Chi and relaxing strolls on the beach type. Seems to have got into the spirit of things well though. Felt sorry for poor oul Nell after the match. Anyone heading along to the final in Parnell Park on Friday? It's free in.
Post by: gaagaa on May 11, 2008, 07:56:40 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 14, 2008, 01:28:06 PM

heard the players werent happy with him railroading the competition & got him threw out of team involvement after they got beat
Post by: magpie seanie on May 12, 2008, 09:58:45 AM
As stated before I really don't like Nell but I must say I did feel sorry for her after the game. I think she contributed to their downfall by her over emotional approach but it was understandable.

I think the series has been great promotional stuff for the GAA. The reaction of the celebrities to the GAA is great and amazing.
Post by: Jinxy on May 12, 2008, 10:20:28 AM
I completely agree. I think its been a hugely positive promotional vehicle for the GAA. It'd be great if there was a full house in Parnell Park on Friday.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 12, 2008, 11:07:38 AM
I'm really enjoying this show now. I noticed Dessie Dolan gave a 'spoiler' after the game yesterday though, saying the Maryland (That's MARYLAND not MARYFIELD Michael) lads were doing well and got to the final.

I felt sorry for Nell McCafferty afterwards, and I never thought I'd say that :D
Post by: Drumanee 1 on May 12, 2008, 11:13:44 AM
Quote from: gaagaa on May 11, 2008, 07:56:40 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on April 14, 2008, 01:28:06 PM

heard the players werent happy with him railroading the competition & got him threw out of team involvement after they got beat

there's more to it than that gaa,there is serious rows going on in the vale all to do with the team mascott
Post by: turk on May 12, 2008, 11:24:17 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 12, 2008, 11:07:38 AM
I'm really enjoying this show now. I noticed Dessie Dolan gave a 'spoiler' after the game yesterday though, saying the Maryland (That's MARYLAND not MARYFIELD Michael) lads were doing well and got to the final.

I felt sorry for Nell McCafferty afterwards, and I never thought I'd say that :D

Ricey ruined the whole thing on radio three a few weeks back
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 12, 2008, 11:24:52 AM
Maryland were 'introduced' to the crowd yesterday in Longford as "finalists" thereby 'ruining' yesterday's program for 5,000 people.

Shame was there was no Marty Whelan even though the program said he'd be 'introduced' as well.

Shame  :'(
Post by: sail_in on May 12, 2008, 11:53:39 AM
There was a spoiler in one of the columns in the Irish Mail on Sunday yesterday as well when talking about the Westmeath Hurlers' boycott of club football games, he was saying how the Hurlers were struggling to get a look-in with the whole place was going football mad, if not due to Westmeath's championship game, then due to the Celebrity Bainisteor final next Saturday - thanks for that!

Also, I know this has been said before but Jesus yer man Gerald Kane or whatever his name is comes across as a right bollocks, but I suppose that's the part he's playing.  At least I hope he's playing a part, I would hate to think he's like that in real life.

What's the row in the vale to do with the mascot?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 12, 2008, 12:02:15 PM
Westmeath lads, where exactly is Maryland? I thought it was near enough to Athlone, but I can't place it in my head. I might be mixing them up with Rosemount?

Edit. Never mind. I found it on that results website. I'm not sure of the scale though. How far outside Athlone is it? It looks like it's Glasson or that way?
Post by: dodo on May 12, 2008, 12:21:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 12, 2008, 12:02:15 PM
Westmeath lads, where exactly is Maryland? I thought it was near enough to Athlone, but I can't place it in my head. I might be mixing them up with Rosemount?

Edit. Never mind. I found it on that results website. I'm not sure of the scale though. How far outside Athlone is it? It looks like it's Glasson or that way?

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=&saddr=&daddr=53.5378,-7.793

It's in Tang, on the road from Athlone to Ballymahon. Right on the border.
Post by: shark on May 12, 2008, 12:35:35 PM
Quote from: dodo on May 12, 2008, 12:21:00 PM

Jaysus dont let anyone from Maryland here you saying its in Tang. Maryland are from Drumraney. The pitch is on the Athlone - Mullingar road, about 10 mins from Athlone. They were hotly tipped to win the Intermediate last year but got hammered in the semi-final by a David Duffy inspired Shandonagh. The year before they were beaten in the final by Bunbrosna after a replay. Very unlucky the first day.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on May 12, 2008, 12:40:26 PM
Jaysis Tony Scullion is a passionate man!!
Post by: dodo on May 12, 2008, 12:44:24 PM
Quote from: shark on May 12, 2008, 12:35:35 PM
Quote from: dodo on May 12, 2008, 12:21:00 PM

Jaysus dont let anyone from Maryland here you saying its in Tang. Maryland are from Drumraney. The pitch is on the Athlone - Mullingar road, about 10 mins from Athlone. They were hotly tipped to win the Intermediate last year but got hammered in the semi-final by a David Duffy inspired Shandonagh. The year before they were beaten in the final by Bunbrosna after a replay. Very unlucky the first day.

They are amalgamated together for underage I think.......apologies for insulting both clubs !  :P

http://www.gaainfo.com/clubmap.php?co=westmeath&club=maryland

Post by: Jinxy on May 12, 2008, 01:33:52 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on May 12, 2008, 12:40:26 PM
Jaysis Tony Scullion is a passionate man!!

Scary man! Brilliant coach by the looks of it though.
Post by: North Longford on May 13, 2008, 09:07:47 AM
QuoteShame was there was no Marty Whelan even though the program said he'd be 'introduced' as well.
He was there Shamrock. Came up through the crowd where the temporary studio was, followed by a camera crew.
Got a good few "go on ya boya Marty" from the Westmeaths. Took me a few seconds to figure out what was going on!

As for Scullion, he's a class act. Had him for a couple of trainig sessions last year with our senior team. Best I've ever come across.
Glad to say he'll be in achadh na cloiche next Friday again.
Post by: Zulu on May 18, 2008, 08:16:55 PM
Well Marty Whelan and the Maryland boys did it, beating Mayfield and Gerald Kean 2-9 to 1-4 to lift the cup. Credit where credit's due I thought it was a very good series and the GAA came across as the great organisation it is. I'm sure they'll be doing another series next year and hopefully it will be just as good.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 19, 2008, 10:18:13 AM
Well Done Maryland and everyone involved. Good to see Westmeath bring more success to the Midlands.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 10:24:35 AM
Well done to Maryland indeed. First time ever I was shouting for a Westmeath football team :D

Is David Martin , the captain, an ex-Westmeath player, at underage or anything. He vaguely rings a bell, and I'm not sure why. He looked fairly classy in the way he was taking his scores.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 19, 2008, 10:30:40 AM
Well Done Maryland indeed, that's the fourth national title brought to the Lake County this year, keep em coming lads. Dessie really got into it and was great to see him giving the slaps on the back at the final whistle for a change, hopefully it'll give another spur on to the county footballers.

Great to see Keane put back in his box, although as the article in the Tribune said yesterday, he played the villain role to perfection, lighting cigars with 5 mins to go and turning up at opponents matches to rubbish them etc. Managerial wise I thought the best were Marty, Nell and Baz, in that order.

Edit: Article from Hoganstand AZ...

Marty's Maryland take the spoils
17 May 2008

Broadcaster Marty Whelan was carried shoulder high off the Parnell Park pitch after his Maryland team recorded an emphatic victory over Gerald Kean's Mayfield in the final of RTE's 'Celebrity Banisteoir' on Friday night.

Whelan, who only took charge of Maryland after their original manager Mary O'Rourke opted out, steered the Westmeath club to a 2-9 to 1-4 win over their much-fancied Cork opponents. The victory netted EUR10,000 for the tiny midlands club which is based in the parish of Drumraney near Athlone.

"This is going to change the club forever. This has put them on the map," said an overjoyed Whelan, whose Westmeath connections are through his mother, who hails from Kilbeggan.

His opposite number and 'solicitor to the stars' Gerald Kean, who had spent an estimated EUR40,000 on designer suits and five-star hotel accommodation for his players, as well as organising team talks from Celtic manager Gordon Strachan and Newcastle and Ireland goalkeeper Shay Given, was gracious in defeat.

"It's devastating, but Maryland are a great team," he said.

Maryland aren't currently represented on the Westmeath senior squad, but key forwards David Martin and Richie Browne were members of the county's All-Ireland winning minor and under 21 teams in 1995 and '99 respectively.

Extended highlights from the final, along with all the build-up and post-match reaction, will be broadcast on RTE1 on Sunday at 6.30pm.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 19, 2008, 10:34:53 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 10:24:35 AM
Well done to Maryland indeed. First time ever I was shouting for a Westmeath football team :D

Is David Martin , the captain, an ex-Westmeath player, at underage or anything. He vaguely rings a bell, and I'm not sure why. He looked fairly classy in the way he was taking his scores.

Was on the Panel up to Last year I think.

Don't know why he is off it this season
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 10:35:26 AM
I knew I recognised him from somewhere alright. Cheers for that Croí.

Although it was a bit 'off' the way they kept referring to the competition as an All Ireland. They didn't have to do that to justify the competition, and it wasn't an All Ireland. It was an 8 team invitational tournament, and there is already an intermediate Club All Ireland competition.

Still a good show though, and the games were hotly contested. It was great for the lads involved, on all the teams, and well done to Maryland as well.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 19, 2008, 10:38:53 AM
What happened with o'Rourke - I missed that and when I asked the Olde Lad he gave me his usual tirade about FF
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 10:43:00 AM
Mary, or Colm? :D

Colm came in and gave a speech to the Maryland lads, I was hoping he would slag Dessie about *that* free, but he didn't :D

I suspect you are asking about Mary though. She never looked remotely interested in the whole thing, and she pissed the lads off the first morning by making them play a game, and then disappearing to do an RTE interview without saying a word to anyone. I heard on the grapevine up at home that the lads absolutely hated her, and her lack of enthusiasm for the whole thing.

She left, officially, because she couldn't give the time to the club, with her political priorities, but you'd have thought she'd have known about that before the season started! Unofficially, she left because she wasn't interested, and the lads hated her.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 19, 2008, 10:44:10 AM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on May 19, 2008, 10:38:53 AM
What happened with o'Rourke - I missed that and when I asked the Olde Lad he gave me his usual tirade about FF

She walked away, too busy she said, time commitments, blah, blah, blah. U can watch it here... http://www.rte.ie/tv/celebritybainisteoir/ep5.html (http://www.rte.ie/tv/celebritybainisteoir/ep5.html)

One of de funnier episodes, what with Dessie trying to hide his amusement at Mary's approach and de Maryland players castigating her after she fecks off without telling them...
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2008, 10:46:26 AM
Yeah, but did she jump or was she pushed?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 10:47:29 AM
She was jushed.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 19, 2008, 10:51:33 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 10:43:00 AM
Mary, or Colm? :D

Colm came in and gave a speech to the Maryland lads, I was hoping he would slag Dessie about *that* free, but he didn't :D

I suspect you are asking about Mary though. She never looked remotely interested in the whole thing, and she pissed the lads off the first morning by making them play a game, and then disappearing to do an RTE interview without saying a word to anyone. I heard on the grapevine up at home that the lads absolutely hated her, and her lack of enthusiasm for the whole thing.

She left, officially, because she couldn't give the time to the club, with her political priorities, but you'd have thought she'd have known about that before the season started! Unofficially, she left because she wasn't interested, and the lads hated her.

I'm sure if there were a few votes to be had she would have been in for the long haul. If it was all on good terms she should have turned up and wished Marty and the lads well.

Who would Offaly have as their Celebrity Banisteor AZ - Simon Casy???
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2008, 10:57:06 AM
Next seasons Offaly and Dublin celebrity bainisteoirs talk tactics.

(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00082/bertbrian_82039t.jpg)
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 19, 2008, 11:00:34 AM
Clara - Sponsored by the Department of An Taoiseach - Managed by Eugene McGee
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 11:01:10 AM
Michael O'Leary should be the Westmeath celebrity bainisteoir next year. If Offaly have a team, it should be someone like Mundy or Barrack Obama :D

Simon Casey wouldn't be eligible because he's actually a decent club footballer himself, or used to be, and the bainisteoirí are supposed to know next to nothing about the game, or the set up of a club.
Post by: Donegal Danny on May 19, 2008, 11:16:39 AM
There was alad from Letterkenny playing for Maryland called Philip Rainey. He is in the Army in Athlone and i think maybe married as well. Was a good footballer in his underage days with St Eunan's winning 2 county minor titles in 1993 and 1994. I think he played in the Ulster minor club final against the Loup on new years day 1993. He must have joined the Army soon afterwards because he hasn't played for Eunan's since then i think. Fair play to him anyway for sticking at the old football.
Post by: Main Street on May 19, 2008, 11:56:05 AM
I enjoyed the series.
I think the bainnisteors role was (cough) slightly exagerrated in the greater scheme of things.

Keane was the "personality" of the series.
I thought he was perfect for the Langers. He had the right name. They naturally responded in kind to the attitude he portrayed, with an ease that suggests only Cork people would be at home with him in the dressing room. ;)

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on May 19, 2008, 11:58:40 AM
i enjoyed the series,

i hope they bring it back with teams and celebs from new counties.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2008, 12:00:24 PM
A hurling one would be interesting too. Some flaking in that I'd say.
Post by: ziggysego on May 19, 2008, 12:02:42 PM
I'm sure Barry McElduff would love to take Carrickmore next year!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on May 19, 2008, 12:06:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 19, 2008, 12:02:42 PM
I'm sure Barry McElduff would love to take Carrickmore next year!

whose he ziggy? hes not a sinn fein politician is he?

sure ye would have the Unionists complaining like f**k over that  :D
Post by: ziggysego on May 19, 2008, 12:08:32 PM
Sure Big Ian can take Beragh sure. His family hail from the Cross ;)
Post by: laoisgaa on May 19, 2008, 01:22:47 PM
Was anyone else here actually at the final?

I went along on Friday night with my 'journalist' hat on and I have to say I was pleasantly amused. The highlights for me were the after match interviews. While interviewing Marty, Dessie Dolan came along and there was a bit of banter going. Best of all was Ger Kean interview, when Michael O'Muircheartaigh comes along and decides to have a chat in the middle of our interview - priceless stuff!

And of course the onfield action wasn't bad. Mayfield were woeful in front of the posts in the first ten minutes. Dunno how much of an airing this got on last night's programme as I didn't see it, but really the Cork lads should have had Maryland out of sight after the first quarter.

Goals were well taken and would probably be up there as some of the best seen on TV this year so far.

David Martin was involved with the Westmeath minors in the mid-nineties if memory serves me correctly? Maroon Heaven was he on the 1995 squad by any chance?

Great to see a huge crowd turn up for the game - Ger Kean pumped 70,000euro into Mayfield, but it shows heart and committment can win out over flash suits, goalkeeping coaching at Newcastle United and the like.
Post by: Roseyland on May 19, 2008, 06:28:30 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on May 19, 2008, 01:22:47 PM

David Martin was involved with the Westmeath minors in the mid-nineties if memory serves me correctly? Maroon Heaven was he on the 1995 squad by any chance?

David Martin was corner forward on the All Ireland minor winning team in '95 (Im 95% sure he started)
Post by: tyrone86 on May 19, 2008, 06:39:45 PM
Quote from: Roseyland on May 19, 2008, 06:28:30 PM

David Martin was corner forward on the All Ireland minor winning team in '95 (Im 95% sure he started)

According the programme he started at corner forward in the final anyway
Post by: Mentalman on May 20, 2008, 09:13:49 AM
Ger Kean pumped 70,000euro into Mayfield, but it shows heart and committment can win out over flash suits, goalkeeping coaching at Newcastle United and the like.

That was one of the main reasons I was glad Maryland won. No harm to Mayfield, and at the end of the series I had changed my opinion of Kean a lot, but at the end of the day cigars and splashing the cash are all fine and good, but it's great to see old fashioned blood and guts win out at the end of the day. A friend of mine always says "if you put a good side from the country and a good side from the town up against each other, the country lads will win more than they lose". I think there is more than a grain of truth in that to me. I'd say ultimately Mayfield, given their situation, will benefit more from the program as a club, as it will get more kids into training etc. where they are competing against soccer/rugby etc. - did anyone notice their jerseys in the final sporting the irishrail.ie sponsership? Maryland are at the other end of the spectrum, I mean Drumraney is hardly even what you would call a townland, such is it's lack of a shop or even a church as far as I recall. For them it was all about a bit of pride.
Post by: Rav67 on May 20, 2008, 11:10:56 AM
A fella from our university team this year plays for Mayfield- Paul Condon, he'd probably play in the FF line, did he start the game and how'd he do?
Post by: shark on May 20, 2008, 07:05:48 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on May 20, 2008, 09:13:49 AM
I mean Drumraney is hardly even what you would call a townland, such is it's lack of a shop or even a church as far as I recall. For them it was all about a bit of pride.

Has a church on top of the hill, very picturesque.
Post by: shark on May 20, 2008, 07:09:46 PM
Quote from: Donegal Danny on May 19, 2008, 11:16:39 AM
There was alad from Letterkenny playing for Maryland called Philip Rainey. He is in the Army in Athlone and i think maybe married as well. Was a good footballer in his underage days with St Eunan's winning 2 county minor titles in 1993 and 1994. I think he played in the Ulster minor club final against the Loup on new years day 1993. He must have joined the Army soon afterwards because he hasn't played for Eunan's since then i think. Fair play to him anyway for sticking at the old football.

Eunan's did alright out of Westmeath though, getting Kieran Ryan a few years ago. A superb footballer in his day, still going strong I believe.
Post by: jen83 on May 20, 2008, 10:20:24 PM
Well done to Maryland on the big win :)
Post by: Mentalman on May 21, 2008, 08:07:46 AM
Quote from: shark on May 20, 2008, 07:05:48 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on May 20, 2008, 09:13:49 AM
I mean Drumraney is hardly even what you would call a townland, such is it's lack of a shop or even a church as far as I recall. For them it was all about a bit of pride.

Has a church on top of the hill, very picturesque.

The one on the right hand side, on the way to Athlone? You be right!
Post by: GAA_Punter on August 15, 2010, 02:10:10 PM
Irish Stars Looking Forward To Celebrity Bainisteoir

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/08/15/irish-stars-looking-forward-to-celebrity-bainisteoir/

Nobber & Irvinestown are supposed to be playing , Anyone here the other clubs
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on August 15, 2010, 02:16:33 PM
Castleisland Desmonds are in it I think.
Post by: mountainboii on August 15, 2010, 02:59:20 PM
Roche Emmetts from Louth are in it. Playing a team from Galway I think.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 15, 2010, 03:26:24 PM
Castleisland are in it alright Shannonbridge from Offaly are in it as well.
Post by: bcarrier on August 15, 2010, 05:50:11 PM
What happened Desmonds as a club ?

I know these things can run in cycles but for a club that won the all ireland club in 85 http://castleislanddesmonds.kerry.gaa.ie/allirelandseniorchamps85.html and lost another final to Burren in 86 to be involved in something like Celebrity Bainnisteor seems like an almighty fall.

Does Mick Galway have all the local talent playing rugby ?

Post by: spuds on August 15, 2010, 06:25:27 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on August 15, 2010, 05:50:11 PM
What happened Desmonds as a club ?

I know these things can run in cycles but for a club that won the all ireland club in 85 http://castleislanddesmonds.kerry.gaa.ie/allirelandseniorchamps85.html and lost another final to Burren in 86 to be involved in something like Celebrity Bainnisteor seems like an almighty fall.

Does Mick Galway have all the local talent playing rugby ?

He is from Currow and still lives in kilkenny ?
Post by: mountainboii on August 21, 2010, 08:31:12 PM
More disappointment for Louth football today.
Post by: hairyhog on September 19, 2010, 07:32:28 PM
First time I ever watched this there tonight.  Christ what a load of shite.  It's so contrived and must be 95% scripted including the glorified friendly game. That's an hour i'm never getting back, thanks rte.  Why can they not just show gaa for what it is without a pile of clueless celebrities in it, by running a small tournament with prize money for the winning club in some sort of documentary type programme?
Post by: Jinxy on September 19, 2010, 07:34:30 PM
God that Blaithnaid one would wreck your head.
Post by: Jinxy on September 26, 2010, 07:13:22 PM
Maybe its just me but it's not bad this week.
Certainly beats listening to that shrill headcase last week anyway.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 26, 2010, 09:17:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 26, 2010, 07:13:22 PM
Certainly beats listening to that shrill headcase last week anyway.

Ah, com on now Jinxy, you shouldn't talk about Pat Spliiane that way.
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2010, 02:09:42 PM
First time I watched it was last night, because my cousin was involved in playing. What a load of shite and I don't care if he's on again, not watching it.
Post by: muppet on September 27, 2010, 07:06:54 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 19, 2010, 07:34:30 PM
God that Blaithnaid one would wreck your head.

You're doing it wrong.
Post by: Jimmyjimson on September 27, 2010, 07:13:37 PM
A fella playing for Irvinestown in the programme last week collided with a post at the side of the pitch during the match.
Turns out he needed over 100 stiches in the wound. Couldn't believe that they didn't even mention it in the programme.
Post by: gerry on September 27, 2010, 07:37:34 PM
gong by this report he got a awful injury.  can't understand why rte decided to edit this out.

http://www.impartialreporter.com/news/roundup/articles/2010/08/19/392041-100-stitches-in-head-wound-for-celebrity-gaa-player/ (http://www.impartialreporter.com/news/roundup/articles/2010/08/19/392041-100-stitches-in-head-wound-for-celebrity-gaa-player/)

100 stitches in head wound for Celebrity GAA player

A well-known player for Irvinestown St. Molaise GFC received such as bad head injury in a match during the filming for RTE's Celebrity Bainisteoir at the weekend that the surgeon treating him lost count of the number of stitches she applied to the wound.

It's estimated that 31-year-old Conor Doonan, a civil engineer, has more than 100 stitches in his head after he hit a concrete post at the side of the pitch as he played centre half-back in a game against Nobber on Saturday. It was being filmed as part of the Celebrity Bainisteoir programme which is due to be screened in October. Comedian Andrew Maxwell was the Irvinestown team's manager. Unfortunately, the Fermanagh side lost 2-10 to 1-15.

It was ten minutes before the end of the game that the accident happened.

He was taken to Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital where he underwent surgery for two hours.

Irvinestown club chairman, Mr. Liam Donnelly visited the injured player at his home after he was released from the Drogheda hospital earlier this week. "He got a bad gash all right. He has well over 100 stitches in his head. During the match with ten minutes to go one of the Nobber players went for the ball. There were big posts at the side of the pitch and his head came in contact with the post. It spoiled the day. Andrew Maxwell was very concerned. Conor would have been one of his main players and would have been filmed a lot being interviewed," he said.

Mr. Doonan is a member of the well-known Doonan family of Irvinestown. Married to Blaithin, they live in Ballinderry. His mother, Mrs. Sheila Doonan, said that it had been a worrying time for her family. "It is going to be a process now and he is trying to get better again. There is a lot of convalescing to do. The surgeon said she lost count of the stitches. His eye is still closed".

The family acknowledges the excellent work by surgeon Ms. Carton, the A&E staff at Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital and Mrs. Denise Donnelly, St. Molaise team nurse. They thank all well-wishers with messages and support and prayers from Irvinestown, Ballinderry and the Gaelic world in particular.

The Celebrity Bainisteaoir programme will be seen by a huge audience. It attracts the third highest audience figures on RTE after the news and The Late Late Show.

"It does not do Irvinestown any harm. People will see it in a way they have never seen it before," said Mr. Donnelly.
Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:43:36 PM
When are they ever going to make a hurling edition of this?
It is our national sport after all,though I suppose it is easier train footballers than hurlers,hurling being more skillful and all that.
Post by: haze on October 04, 2010, 04:23:08 PM
Quote from: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 03:43:36 PM
It is our national sport after all,though I suppose it is easier train footballers than hurlers,hurling being more skillful and all that.

I love it when hurling people have a chip on their shoulder! Hurling is one of our national sports- no more, no less.

Maybe there has been no hurling series as RTE recognise the fact that bad football is easier on the eye to bad hurling- Also would be very difficult to pick intermediate teams of similar standard from any 8 of Cork, Waterford, Tipp, Offaly, Wexford, Kilkenny, Limerick, Galway, Clare, Dublin. I'd imagine the standards would vary significantly more than would be the case in football

Post by: Hardy on October 04, 2010, 04:39:27 PM
Quote from: haze on October 04, 2010, 04:23:08 PM

I love it when hurling people have a chip on their shoulder! Hurling is one of our national sports- no more, no less.

Maybe there has been no hurling series as RTE recognise the fact that bad football is easier on the eye to bad hurling- Also would be very difficult to pick intermediate teams of similar standard from any 8 of Cork, Waterford, Tipp, Offaly, Wexford, Kilkenny, Limerick, Galway, Clare, Dublin. I'd imagine the standards would vary significantly more than would be the case in football

Are hurling people naturally inclined to be pains in the arse or do they go out of their way to do it?

Post by: King Henry on October 04, 2010, 04:57:58 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 04, 2010, 04:39:27 PM
Quote from: haze on October 04, 2010, 04:23:08 PM

Are hurling people naturally inclined to be pains in the arse or do they go out of their way to do it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXoNE14U_zM

Post by: Jinxy on October 24, 2010, 07:07:21 PM
Doesn't look like the Nobber boys had a whole pile of interest in this after winning the Intermediate.  ;D
Post by: fearglasmor on October 24, 2010, 09:51:34 PM
Dislike that Blaithnaid one anyway.  Gimme Mairead any day.

Havent heard aru cha cha aru cha cha since I was playing u-21 meself.
Post by: Jinxy on October 24, 2010, 09:54:22 PM
Quote from: fearglasmor on October 24, 2010, 09:51:34 PM

I got the feeling the Nobber lads weren't mad about her either.
Post by: muppet on October 25, 2010, 02:33:01 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on October 24, 2010, 09:51:34 PM

I always wondered whether we would meet again.

aru cha cha aru cha cha [muppet scored only goal of his life] aru cha cha aru cha cha.

Pleasant memories.......