Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Surreal Steve on February 05, 2008, 08:21:38 PM

Title: Ireland versus Brazil
Post by: Surreal Steve on February 05, 2008, 08:21:38 PM
Well what do you all reckon about this game and how it will go. I see yer man Pato from AC is out anyway. Lucas of liverpool is in the squad i believe.
Title: Re: Ireland versus Brazil
Post by: corn02 on February 05, 2008, 10:11:53 PM
Kaka out I believe?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2008, 10:36:59 PM
Quote from: corn02 on February 05, 2008, 10:11:53 PM
Kaka out I believe?

You believe correct.He injured himself at the weekend.Pity that the current Worlds Best soccer player won't be playing in Croke Park tomorrow night
Post by: Minder on February 05, 2008, 10:38:16 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2008, 10:36:59 PM
Kaka out I believe?

You believe correct.He injured himself at the weekend.Pity that the current Worlds Best soccer player won't be playing in Croke Park tomorrow night

Injured himself or did someone else injure him ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2008, 10:39:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 05, 2008, 10:38:16 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2008, 10:36:59 PM
Kaka out I believe?

Injured himself or did someone else injure him ???

He got injured is that better  ::)
Post by: Minder on February 05, 2008, 10:41:03 PM
I like your style into trying to tempt some of the Man Ure supporters into the Ronaldo v Kaka debate......... ;)
Post by: mannix on February 05, 2008, 10:41:46 PM
Hard to believe Brazil are wasting energy on this one.Team Ireland are a middling division one club type effort at best these days.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 05, 2008, 10:44:07 PM

Sure the Duffer's playing on the wing  :)
Post by: stiffler on February 05, 2008, 10:45:33 PM

Pity that the current Worlds Best soccer player won't be playing in Croke Park tomorrow night

I thought Duffers back into the Irish line up ? :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 05, 2008, 10:46:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 05, 2008, 10:41:03 PM
I like your style into trying to tempt some of the Man Ure supporters into the Ronaldo v Kaka debate......... ;)

Not really..Kaka holds 7 personal awards at the moment including the Ballon d'or and the Fifa World Player of the year so at the moment he is the best player in the world and im disapointed i won't get to see him play tomorrow night
Post by: nifan on February 05, 2008, 10:53:47 PM
steve - are you new?

Tony usually starts these threads, usualy with references to "the Real Ireland" and derogatory references to "the north east of ireland team"
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 05, 2008, 11:03:01 PM
Tony usually starts these threads, usualy with references to "the Real Ireland" and derogatory references to "the north east of ireland team"

You just concentrate on keeping your unruly shower of hooligans behaved when they're passing the poor God fearing Catholics on their way out of Ash Wednesday mass in the chaplaincy tomorrow evening!
Post by: Puckoon on February 06, 2008, 05:06:13 AM
Quote from: Minder on February 05, 2008, 10:41:03 PM

Is there still much of a debate? :o :o ;)
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 06, 2008, 08:15:13 AM
Looking forward to the game.

Ireland have named a strong line up. Brazil have named a 'hungry' young squad! These players will come with something to prove, unlike Ronaldinho & co.

Still a lot of big names too... Diego, Anderson, Alex, Gilberto, Luisao, Robinho....

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/7225784.stm (http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/7225784.stm)
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 06, 2008, 08:52:57 AM
Are many on this board going to the game? Have a ticket for the cusuak stand myself. Do yous think there will be a good atmosphere at the game? I know one thing it will be weird watching soccer at croke park!
Post by: Declan on February 06, 2008, 09:24:41 AM
Have tickets alright but am in London so going to see Cappello's new Engerland take on the might of Switzerland!!!!

Interested to see what the new wembley is like
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 09:27:30 AM
It's Savage Declan, but in a shithole of an area, and a nightmare to get out of. Well, it was back in October for the NFL game. I was wondering if they had special arrangements for midweek Internationals there. I'd be interested to hear how easy you find it to get back into the city from there.
Post by: Declan on February 06, 2008, 10:43:52 AM
QuoteI'd be interested to hear how easy you find it to get back into the city from there.

Hoping to meet up with folks in town later so I hope its not too bad!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 10:46:49 AM
When we came out of Wembley after the NFL game, the scene down the old 'Wembley Way' was like a battle scene in Lord of the Rings. A huge Orc army just massed shoulder to shoulder as far as the eye could see. I actually thought it was a cobblestone street from far away, until I realised they were all heads, queueing up for a Tube.

I've never seen anything like it.
Post by: nifan on February 06, 2008, 10:59:26 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 05, 2008, 11:03:01 PM

You just concentrate on keeping your unruly shower of hooligans behaved when they're passing the poor God fearing Catholics on their way out of Ash Wednesday mass in the chaplaincy tomorrow evening!

are you taking the piss?
the only incidents that have happened in the past 2 times a game has happened on ash wednesday is a bit of verbals back and forth the first time.
The second time the people where out of the chaplaincy early and the bar was full of them and ni fans without a bother.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 06, 2008, 11:16:52 AM
Go on nifan, lose the head entirely.  Good man.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 06, 2008, 11:27:35 AM
I'm going myself. Canal End.

It's bound to be better than the last game I was at (Cyprus) - That sort of atmosphere would put you off soccer!

Full house too!
Post by: nifan on February 06, 2008, 11:32:07 AM
Not loosing the head at all billy, just interested if he is taking the piss or being serious.
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 11:54:33 AM
Quote from: Declan on February 06, 2008, 09:24:41 AM
Have tickets alright but am in London so going to see Cappello's new Engerland take on the might of Switzerland!!!!

Its a f**king hole, crap views and despite all that money the toilets still flood everywhere
Post by: SammyG on February 06, 2008, 11:59:17 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 11:54:33 AM

Its a f**king hole, crap views and despite all that money the toilets still flood everywhere
Are you taking the piss? Every seat at Wembley has a perfect sight line and it has more loos per spectator than any stadium in Europe. The only problem with Wembley (and it's a minor one) is the 1/2-3/4 of an hour it takes to get down Wembley way to the tube, after a match.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 12:12:19 PM
Quote from: SammyG on February 06, 2008, 11:59:17 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 11:54:33 AM

Are you taking the piss? Every seat at Wembley has a perfect sight line and it has more loos per spectator than any stadium in Europe. The only problem with Wembley (and it's a minor one) is the 1/2-3/4 of an hour it takes to get down Wembley way to the tube, after a match.

Sammy, is that all it took you after the NFL game? 30 to 45 minutes? Jaysus when I was there it literally didn't move 1 step for over 20 minutes, and there was about 3/4 mile of people wedged in like sardines going along Wembley Way.

We ended up walking to the other station about a mile/2 mile away. And that still took us an hour to get on the train.
Post by: Main Street on February 06, 2008, 01:29:43 PM
I usually wouldn't get too worked up about a friendly but Ireland V Brazil is different.

We are weak in the middle without the 2 Reids, I don't know about Miller but I hear he has been ok in the EPL so you never know.
Givens has picked an attacking team with both Duff and McGeady selected. I'm looking forward to it.

Post by: Chrisowc on February 06, 2008, 03:06:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 06, 2008, 01:29:43 PM
I usually wouldn't get too worked up about a friendly but Ireland V Brazil is different.

We are weak in the middle without the 2 Reids, I don't know about Miller but I hear he has been ok in the EPL so you never know.
Givens has picked an attacking team with both Duff and McGeady selected. I'm looking forward to it.

Was Givens part of Stan's staff?  I was just wondering because I saw his press conference yesterday and it was brutal.  Ive seen the manager of our amateur league 2nds team be more inspiring and thats saying something!  I'm sure the team talks were quere craic with those two trying to gee you up :-\
Post by: Chrisowc on February 06, 2008, 03:10:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 10:46:49 AM
When we came out of Wembley after the NFL game, the scene down the old 'Wembley Way' was like a battle scene in Lord of the Rings. A huge Orc army just massed shoulder to shoulder as far as the eye could see. I actually thought it was a cobblestone street from far away, until I realised they were all heads, queueing up for a Tube.

I've never seen anything like it.

I was at a Metallica concert at Wembley last July and it is some place alright.  The only complaint about the place I had was that it was the day after that big charity gig and the beer was flat!! (and expensive :()

Standing above Wembley Way beside Bobby Moore's statue while the crowds clear is an amazing sight.
Post by: SammyG on February 06, 2008, 03:20:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 06, 2008, 12:12:19 PMSammy, is that all it took you after the NFL game? 30 to 45 minutes? Jaysus when I was there it literally didn't move 1 step for over 20 minutes, and there was about 3/4 mile of people wedged in like sardines going along Wembley Way.

We ended up walking to the other station about a mile/2 mile away. And that still took us an hour to get on the train.

Yep took about 45 minutes from joining the crowd on Wembley Way to being on a tube to Baker Street. The crowd moved then stopped then moved again as they filled each train. Thought it was a lot better than it used to be at the old Wembley but maybe I was just lucky.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 06, 2008, 03:20:30 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on February 06, 2008, 03:06:12 PM
Was Givens part of Stan's staff?  I was just wondering because I saw his press conference yesterday and it was brutal.  Ive seen the manager of our amateur league 2nds team be more inspiring and thats saying something!  I'm sure the team talks were quere craic with those two trying to gee you up :-\

dont think he was Chris, was the under 21 manager for a good while.

Seems an awful eegit to me. Put the next manager in a awkward position with his comments on Stephen Ireland last week. Had a right go at him in a press conference.
I would understand giving his opinion if he had the full time job, but for someone trying to keep things smooth for a handover, he made getting Ireland back much more difficult with his comments, should the new guy want him back.

Cant say "manchester" either.
Post by: stew on February 06, 2008, 04:20:58 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on February 06, 2008, 08:52:57 AM
Are many on this board going to the game? Have a ticket for the cusuak stand myself. Do yous think there will be a good atmosphere at the game? I know one thing it will be weird watching soccer at croke park!

I would have thought for a Downie like yourself it would be weird to be in Croke Park at all.
Post by: Main Street on February 06, 2008, 05:02:44 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on February 06, 2008, 03:06:12 PM
Givens wasn't a part of the senior team set up. He is the u21 manager. I didn't see it but personally I couldn't care less for press conferences.
Professional players don't need geeing up in the international set up. Both Staunton and Givens are extremly proud to have represented their country and it's easy for the players to identify with that, both are comfortable in the company of players.
I am concerned with coaching/tactical ability, what way we play, selecting the best players for that formation, give them instructions, of the young players - recognizing who is ready and who is not and most importantly learn from mistakes.

Givens has had a few blind spots towards a couple of our best u21 players, Midfielders Chris McCann and Owen Garvan. Republic fans are quite bitter and personal towards Givens but there is some sort of a ceasefire in his caretaker role.

Givens likes a passing game. We are playing Brazil and basically we have only one defensive midfielder in Lee Carsley protecting the back 4, we are playing with 2 wingers Duff and McGeady, which is a luxury only good teams can afford against the likes of Brazil.
Might be fun though.

Post by: Bensars on February 06, 2008, 05:28:07 PM
Disgusted im missing this. Mrs Bensars won 4 tickets to the game. Booked half day off from work , lined up a few mates to head down and the f***ing tickets havent arrived.

Probably arrive first thing in the morning
Post by: Puckoon on February 06, 2008, 07:03:22 PM
Thats a terrible kick in the balls Bensars. Id be beside myself - who'd the Mrs win the tickets from? What kind of half arsed carry on is that.
Post by: ONeill on February 06, 2008, 07:06:31 PM
GOAL ANDORRA!
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 07:07:27 PM
Someone should tell Sky Sports that RoI isn't part of the home nations!
Post by: Bensars on February 06, 2008, 07:56:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 06, 2008, 07:05:32 PM
I reckon Fearon was doing the nut because he didn't win it. He stayed outside your house and intercepted the tickets when the postman came.
;D ;D

Nah tony would have already been scoffing the freebies in the VIP lounge, courtesy of Ulster Bank.

In fairness the source of the tickets have been on the phone constantly yesterday and today. They have been trying to track them. They were posted in the FAI envelope, in the which the charity recieved them. ( i know, schoolboy error ).

Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 07:58:44 PM
Paddy Powers adverts upside down around the pitch.
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 07:59:31 PM
now it may just be the dodgy stream I have, but can someone tell me if I can see a butchers apron on the far side of the field drapped over at the front to the right of all the ireland flags??
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 08:05:19 PM
By God, you're right!
Post by: blast05 on February 06, 2008, 08:06:02 PM
Where you watching the stream from AFR ?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:09:05 PM
here, using Sopcast, software available at the root of that site http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=5762&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=5762&part=sports)

Ziggy whats on the flag , is it an English one ?
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 08:20:14 PM
It's English, but not clear what's in the centre.
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:30:39 PM
The difference is simple, Brazil move the ball quickly, we dont. Too much effort for little product.
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 08:33:05 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:09:05 PM
here, using Sopcast, software available at the root of that site http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=5762&part=sports (http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=5762&part=sports)

Ziggy whats on the flag , is it an English one ?

afr, my sky is down and i followed your link and registered with bet365 but the ireland game aint on there. where are you watching it?
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:36:07 PM
you need sopcast software from the site I mentioned
Dont know why you registered with 365.

and then this is the game

sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/14249 (http://sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/14249)

the link is still available on that site . look for the following text:
atdhe 1 [EN]
Sopcast Play 400 Kbps

click on play(assuming you have sopcast installed it willopen.
Its down now for half time, and may switch to another game, but stick withit, its skys commentary
Post by: Bensars on February 06, 2008, 08:39:30 PM
Happy days. Did 0-0 HT score in running afer 25 mins  to win a few pound.
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 08:42:18 PM
Actually I think it's a Northern Ireland flag. Why he not in Belfast tonight? ;)
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:44:06 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 06, 2008, 08:42:18 PM
Actually I think it's a Northern Ireland flag. Why he not in Belfast tonight? ;)

For Peter and Ulster
Post by: Bensars on February 06, 2008, 08:44:52 PM
Maybe it's  Ian og doing a little bit of research !
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 08:49:32 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:36:07 PM
you need sopcast software from the site I mentioned
Dont know why you registered with 365.

and then this is the game

sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/14249 (http://sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/14249)

the link is still available on that site . look for the following text:
atdhe 1 [EN]
Sopcast Play 400 Kbps

click on play(assuming you have sopcast installed it willopen.
Its down now for half time, and may switch to another game, but stick withit, its skys commentary

way to complicated for me!
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 08:53:29 PM
go here
http://www.myp2p.eu/download.php?p=sopcast (http://www.myp2p.eu/download.php?p=sopcast)
download and install the software.

Once installed , click the link on the site I posted

Sopcast Play 400 Kbps (click the play bit) if you hover the mouse over it it says sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/14249

It will open the channel(takes a few mins), May have to click the blue&white right arrow to show screen

once open, click the icon on the bottom of the screen, click the two white squares icon to open up in media player for ful screen.
If you cantdo that, dont worry, Im watching itfor you!! ;)
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 09:05:13 PM
good man  ;)
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 09:06:32 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 09:05:13 PM
good man  ;)

are you up and running?
Post by: Gnevin on February 06, 2008, 09:57:40 PM
Well how was the overrated shite ? Going by the crowd in the gym no one gave a f**k about this .
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 09:59:56 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on February 06, 2008, 09:57:40 PM
Well how was the overrated shite ? Going by the crowd in the gym no one gave a f**k about this .

Wasnt a patch on dublin /carlow. nothing to see here .....
Post by: Rossfan on February 06, 2008, 10:07:45 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 09:59:56 PM
..... nothing to see here .....
Is there ever ? It's usually 90 minutes of mind numbing boredom.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:09:30 PM

Why do you care how good it was with a attitude like that  ???

Good enough game i thought,The second half was better than the first..Brazil are class to watch some of their movement on and off the ball is amazing..
I thought we done well enough to be honest,Duff was bright in the second half..
But i can't for the life of me see how McGeady is getting into the first XI,I have never seen him play well for Ireland..He takes far to many touches with the ball and usually ends up running into a dead end or giving the ball away..he had a great chance to put Duffer thru in the second half but waited far to long to deliver the pass and Duff was then offside when he did pass it too him..
I know posters will say he is excellent for Celtic but i don't care how well he does for Celtic he has yet to produce it for Ireland,And it's also a massive difference playing against St.Mirren,Falkirk etc every week and then playing against the likes of Brazil and other top national teams..From what i have seen he isn't good enough for this level..
Post by: Gnevin on February 06, 2008, 10:11:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:09:30 PM

Why do you care how good it was with a attitude like that  ???

Good enough game i thought,The second half was better than the first..Brazil are class to watch some of their movement on and off the ball is amazing..
But i can't for the life of me see how McGeady is getting into the first XI,I have never seen him play well for Ireland..He takes far to many touches with the ball and usually ends up running into a dead end or giving the ball away..he had a great chance to put Duffer thru in the second half but waited far to long to deliver the pass and Duff was then offside when he did pass it too him..
I know posters will say he is excellent for Celtic but i don't care how well he does for Celtic he has yet to produce it for Ireland,And it's also a massive difference playing against St.Mirren,Falkirk etc every week and then playing against the likes of Brazil and other top national teams..From what i have seen he isn't good enough for this level..
Just wondering what other peoples opinions where , i hate soccer , can't stand it any more.

Would have more fun with a can of Crown , a paint brush and a wall .

P.S You have to give admit it was overrated sections of the media where falling over themselves ,the samba boys are in town . Give me a break
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:22:01 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on February 06, 2008, 10:11:56 PM

Just wondering what other peoples opinions where , i hate soccer , can't stand it any more.

P.S You have to give admit it was overrated sections of the media where falling over themselves ,the samba boys are in town . Give me a break

Well if you don't care about it maybe you shouldn't be posting on a soccer thread saying its overated shite..Your entitled to your opinion and i honestly don't care what you think about soccer or what you post about it but i don't think there is a need for posting such things on a thread about the sport
What are you trying to gain from it?
Post by: Main Street on February 06, 2008, 10:35:56 PM
It was an alright game.
It told me more about what we were missing than what we had.

Laoislad unless you were listening to Ronnie Whelan I don´t know where you are coming from as regards  McGeady, he had as much end product as Duff - constantly probing and good defensive cover.
In comparison Hunt looked like a Dub fan with hair on Hill16.

We seriously missed a player like Andy Reid in the middle. Miller is alcohol free and Carsley just has that overhit touch for the long pass.
Carsley's default pass should be a player like Reid. If Andy Reid is ever injured again we haven't a hope unless we bring on players like Owen Garvan.

Post by: Gnevin on February 06, 2008, 10:36:08 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:22:01 PM

Well if you don't care about it maybe you shouldn't be posting on a soccer thread saying its overated shite..Your entitled to your opinion and i honestly don't care what you think about soccer or what you post about it but i don't think there is a need for posting such things on a thread about the sport
Nothing ,see that i said above , just wondering what people though of it was a huge lack of interest from people i was talking too  .
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:38:24 PM
Main Street..I was at the game so don't know what Whelan was saying..
From what i saw and what i have seen off McGeady he hasn't done anything to impress me..
I certainly didn't see anything from him tonight only holding onto the ball way to long and running into Brazil players and losing the ball
Post by: Minder on February 06, 2008, 10:41:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:38:24 PM
Minder..I was at the game so don't know what Whelan was saying..
From what i saw and what i have seen off McGeady he hasn't done anything to impress me..
I certainly didn't see anything from him tonight only holding onto the ball way to long and running into Brazil players and losing the ball

LL, i never spoke !
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:42:30 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on February 06, 2008, 10:36:08 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:22:01 PM

Nothing ,see that i said above , just wondering what people though of it was a huge lack of interest from people i was talking too  .

Well do you not think maybe you should have just asked what people thought of the game instead of going on about over rated shite?To me it read like you had another agenda and wanted posters to argue with you.. Can you not see where im coming from at all?
Some people do actually like the sport you know..Your fully entitled to think what you want about the sport but you were just looking for a reaction..
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:44:41 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 06, 2008, 10:41:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:38:24 PM
Minder..I was at the game so don't know what Whelan was saying..

LL, i never spoke !

Sorry dude im bad :-[
Post by: tyssam5 on February 06, 2008, 10:54:36 PM

Why do you care how good it was with a attitude like that  ???

McGeady has been pretty in good in a few champs league games I saw him in.

What size of a pitch did they mark out? One would imagine it would have to be close to max dimensions so as not to look completely out of place, but this might not be ideal against better teams? Or is all international soccer played at pretty close to max size?
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 10:54:56 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on February 06, 2008, 09:06:32 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 09:05:13 PM
good man  ;)

are you up and running?

nah, downloaded it but couldnt install it... thanks tho
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:58:17 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on February 06, 2008, 10:54:36 PM
McGeady has been pretty in good in a few champs league games I saw him in.

What size of a pitch did they mark out? One would imagine it would have to be close to max dimensions so as not to look completely out of place, but this might not be ideal against better teams? Or is all international soccer played at pretty close to max size?

Maybe so regarding McGeady but that doesn't matter when he plays for Ireland..
I haven't seen him play well for Ireland yet..I hope that changes and he can play for Ireland the same way everyone says he plays for Celtic..I don't watch Celtic play so can't comment and how good he is for them
Post by: whyarerefssobad on February 06, 2008, 11:00:18 PM
heard liverpool were after him  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 11:05:06 PM
Quote from: whyarerefssobad on February 06, 2008, 11:00:18 PM
heard liverpool were after him  ::)

Where did you hear that or is it a futile attempt at trying to be funny
Post by: whyarerefssobad on February 06, 2008, 11:08:24 PM
lets just say watch this space you heard it here first
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 11:10:00 PM
Quote from: whyarerefssobad on February 06, 2008, 11:08:24 PM
lets just say watch this space you heard it here first

I'd prefer Steven Hunt
Post by: Main Street on February 06, 2008, 11:41:43 PM
People are quite divided on McGeady but I would say most would have been well pleased with him tonight
and more than a few would have him MOM.
He is a  player who is visibly improving year after year. In 3 or 4 years I reckon he will be our key player.

Tonight he beat his man regularily, forced a good number of frees,  some moments of pure magic-  late in the first half he danced around a couple of Brazilians and hit across a dangerous ball in the box.
Doyle was poor except he was the only for the set pieces

I'd say a midfield of Duff, Reid, Reid and McGeady or Duff, Andy Reid, Carsley and McGeady/Hunt  will do just grand.

Post by: ONeill on February 07, 2008, 12:06:12 AM
Jaysus, Laoislad are you serious? Amid the mediocrity tonight McGeady was a brighter spark - always available and willing to take on his man. Most of what was good tonight came through McGeady.
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2008, 12:16:01 AM
It´s just hit me

Hunt is a Laois Lad  ;D ;D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 07, 2008, 02:12:03 AM
QuoteQuote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 05, 2008, 11:03:01 PM

are you taking the piss?
the only incidents that have happened in the past 2 times a game has happened on ash wednesday is a bit of verbals back and forth the first time.
The second time the people where out of the chaplaincy early and the bar was full of them and ni fans without a bother.

I was taking the piss. Hope there was no trouble though.

Thought Ireland played reasonably well tonight. Don't rate McGeady at all but he looked quite dangerous tonight. Carsley had a decent game. Great work from the front 2 as well.

Roll on the next manager!
Post by: Declan on February 07, 2008, 07:59:07 AM
QuoteIt's Savage Declan, but in a shithole of an area, and a nightmare to get out of. Well, it was back in October for the NFL game. I was wondering if they had special arrangements for midweek Internationals there. I'd be interested to hear how easy you find it to get back into the city from there

No real problems getting home - left 2 mins before the hand to beat the rush and was back in town by 10.30. Bit of a queue getting into the tube station but all in all well organised. However it was a nightmare getting there - 2 hours 15 mins to travel from Canary Wharf - Tube lines down so actually didn't get in until 30 mins after kick off. >:(

From what I saw of the game England were pretty average - centre defence looked dodgy and they gave away a simple goal - Rooney was excellent in the second half and himself and Gerrard did well for the second goal but Fabio certainly knows the height of his challenge now!!!!

Crouch could have scored and did alright when he came on.

Wembley is a fantastic stadium alright and seats were great
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2008, 09:48:31 AM
I thought McGeady was fairly good tonight, in comparison to his earlier games. He brings that bit of unpredictablilty that Duff used to bring before he got injured. A couple of his ball skills to extricate himself from tight situations were as good as any the Brazilians managed. Robinho's 'trick' near the end was like something you'd see a lad with white boots try in the Limerick League Division 3B. Same result too :D

Anyway, McGeady still has a lot to improve on, especially getting his head up, and passing it earlier before he gets in trouble, but overall promising.

I thought Duff was reasonable, maybe he'll flourish under Keegan again. At least he looked like he was thinking about taking people on last night. As his fitness improves, he could get back to something approaching what he was.

Duff on the Right, and McGeady on the left, switching every so often, would give Ireland a nice balance, and a legitimate hope of getting behind people.

Given was grand apart from one flap in the second half, from what I saw. (I didn't see all the game). He looked a bit sheepish about that.

Kelly looked a bit out of his depth, and should have gotten a red card for that challenge on Robinho. Really poor I thought.
Dunne and O'Shea were solid enough, never really torn apart, but you got the sense that if the Brazilians ran at them, they'd be in trouble. Ireland's midfield will have to protect against runs from deep, and let the centre halves deal with long balls, set pieces and following the strikers.
Kilbane was grand going forward again, but is a little open to the ball down the channel behind him. Still, he's not a liability there.

McGeady and Duff I already mentioned, but Miller and Carsely were completely outplayed by the Brazilians. No shame in that I suppose, because the Brazilians are very comfortable on the ball, no matter what XI they pick. The worrying thing is that there is zero creativity from Miller, and Carsley is beginning to run down. I agree with whoever said we need an Andy Reid - type player, if by that they mean a player who will put his foot on the ball, and pass it to a green shirt. The problem is that I don't think Andy Reid is that player at the moment. He's too erratic in his delivery from set pieces and his distribution generally, as well as his suspect fitness levels. However, he probably is the best hope for Ireland in that position, so hopefully Roy Keane works on him at Sunderland. It's either him or Stephen Ireland at Citeh, and only if his head is right. He's the opposite of Reid in body size. If you could transplant about a stone and ahalf from Reid to Ireland, you'd have two good players :D

Keane worked hard, looked lively I thought, and was unlucky with a great reverse pass to Duff. Also if Kilbane's knock down had been a foot closer to him, rather than the keeper, he would have gotten his goal. I really liked to see him chasing down the keeper and defenders in the second half. That's what Ireland need to do.

Doyle looked quiet enough, similar to the season he's had with Reading. It's not quite happening for him, but he's still useful in the air, for his size, and the best bet we have up front to partner Robbie Keane. Shane Long might be worth a go in the new regime to see if his energy would give things a shake up.

The main difference was the quality Brazil had on the ball, and their incisive passing and ability to keep it, playing triangles, even when under pressure. Their goal was a perfect example of how to break, and Robinho's finish exemplified their quality. All brains, calmness and skillful execution.

A few friendlies against teams like that would be great for a youngish team like Ireland.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on February 07, 2008, 10:40:27 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 07, 2008, 12:16:01 AM
It´s just hit me

Hunt is a Laois Lad  ;D ;D
He is from Waterford
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2008, 10:41:39 AM
I thought Hunt was from Laois, but played with Waterford? Could be wrong, actually probably am given Gabriel's signature photo.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2008, 10:42:42 AM
We're both right, according to the bible that is Wikipedia

Early years

Hunt became known for his creative and skillful play as well as his work rate as a winger. Although born in county Laois in Ireland, Hunt grew up in Clonea-Power, Waterford in the south of Ireland. Hunts first introduction to organised football was when he moved to the Mount Sion secondary school in Waterford at the age of 11.
Post by: T Fearon on February 07, 2008, 11:07:53 AM
Good game last night, certainly better than the 2004 one. Probably good that Brazil were missing their big names as it motivated a few fringe players to try and impress. Great samba support on the Hill and an excellent article in the match programme written by Gary Spain on previous Ireland Brazil clashes. Very informative, even I wasnt aware that Pat Jennings saved a penalty in the famous 4-3 game in 1973. Great year for penalty saves for the big man was 1973. He saved two penalties against Liverpool at Anfield both in the same game, that year as well
Post by: Declan on February 07, 2008, 11:17:46 AM
QuoteVery informative, even I wasnt aware that Pat Jennings saved a penalty in the famous 4-3 game in 1973

Given your fantastic recollection of past games I'm surprised at that Tony. Weren't you at it? ;)
Post by: T Fearon on February 07, 2008, 11:23:46 AM
Wasn't at it and was majorly disappointed. Was in my early teens and one of my mates da's was taking a car down but he had room for family members only. I was genuinely unaware that Jennings saved a penalty in this game. Gary sure knows his stuff
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2008, 01:23:41 PM
It's doubtfull that we can have success with a 4 man midfield including 2 wingers from Duff, McGeady Hunt

I think we have to go for a 5 man midfield.

Andy Reid played well against Germany but was less influential against a weaker Wales away.
I'd put that down to Carsley playing too deep and not supporting Reid when Reid got closed down.
The two Reids together are a better balance but Steven Reid is our most injury prone player since Keith O'Neill.

The outstanding CM prospect from the U21s is Owen Garvan, he looked the part against the England U21s and should be drafted into the senior squad

Post by: tyroneman on February 07, 2008, 01:42:41 PM
Quoteknow posters will say he is excellent for Celtic but i don't care how well he does for Celtic

Insert "Robbie Keane" and "Spurs" into that remark and you wouldn't be far off either.

Hunt is naother player hyped in the EPL who was absolutley atrocious last night after coming on. Several times he tried to beat a man and simply kicked the ball striaght out over the line, then hung his head sheepishly and trotted back down the park. His crossing was terribel and he contributed zero to the game.

Having seen the game first hand I have to say McGeady did alright, the extra speed he seemed to gain this year at Celtic doesn't seem enough to beat international footballers however as he constantly checked back inside.

Duff was ok too, as was Dunne

Carsley is woeful however and it is embarrasing that he is the mainstay of our midfeild after greats such as Whelan, Houghton and Keane (I know beggars can't be choosers but come on.................)
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2008, 02:36:49 PM
Hunt is better for Ireland than what he showed last night.
Usually he does have the ability to hit good crosses into the box.
By his standards for Ireland he was poor last night.

Having Carsley in midfield simply does not work with 2 wingers and a lightweight Miller. He plays too deep and can only pass 5 metres.
There was no better holding midfielder option than Carsley available to play last night.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 07, 2008, 03:18:32 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:09:30 PMBut i can't for the life of me see how McGeady is getting into the first XI,I have never seen him play well for Ireland..He takes far to many touches with the ball and usually ends up running into a dead end or giving the ball away..he had a great chance to put Duffer thru in the second half but waited far to long to deliver the pass and Duff was then offside when he did pass it too him..

Your anti-McGeady mindset has got the better of you here, he reproduced the form for Ireland (finally) that he's had for Celtic this year, cetainly offered more than Duffer last night. Got a great laugh out of Hunts comment for not being selected, apparently he was offered an "iffy excuse"  :D All that's left to wonder is if the FAI will make a balls out of appointing Trappatoni...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2008, 10:00:19 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 07, 2008, 03:18:32 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2008, 10:09:30 PMBut i can't for the life of me see how McGeady is getting into the first XI,I have never seen him play well for Ireland..He takes far to many touches with the ball and usually ends up running into a dead end or giving the ball away..he had a great chance to put Duffer thru in the second half but waited far to long to deliver the pass and Duff was then offside when he did pass it too him..

Your anti-McGeady mindset has got the better of you here, he reproduced the form for Ireland (finally) that he's had for Celtic this year, cetainly offered more than Duffer last night. Got a great laugh out of Hunts comment for not being selected, apparently he was offered an "iffy excuse"  :D All that's left to wonder is if the FAI will make a balls out of appointing Trappatoni...

Why in Gods name would i be anti-McGeady thats just typical of this board,as soon as you have a different opinion than someone else you are then automatically biased,anti this or that or blinkered in some way etc its feckin ridiculous..  ::)
I would love the chap to play for Ireland as well as everyone says he does for Celtic,But he hasn't produced anything thus far that would make me think he deserves a place in the first XI ahead of someone else
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 10:02:03 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2008, 10:00:19 PM
,as soon as you have a different opinion than someone else you are then automatically biased,anti this or that or blinkered in some way etc its feckin ridiculous..  ::)

That's not true!!!  >:(  What a frickin' stupid thing to say. I think since you've been on the OWC board, you've become anti-gaaboard.  >:(

Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 07, 2008, 10:11:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 10:02:03 PM
,as soon as you have a different opinion than someone else you are then automatically biased,anti this or that or blinkered in some way etc its feckin ridiculous..  ::)

That's not true!!!  >:(  What a frickin' stupid thing to say. I think since you've been on the OWC board, you've become anti-gaaboard.  >

Who the feck is impersonating me on that owc thingy?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 12:05:19 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 07, 2008, 03:18:32 PM

Why in Gods name would i be anti-McGeady thats just typical of this board,as soon as you have a different opinion than someone else you are then automatically biased,anti this or that or blinkered in some way etc its feckin ridiculous..  ::)
I would love the chap to play for Ireland as well as everyone says he does for Celtic,But he hasn't produced anything thus far that would make me think he deserves a place in the first XI ahead of someone else

I give u Wed night. I put it to u that u were expecting another shite performance from him and failed to realise the sparkling performance he put in due to ur mindset...
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:15:59 PM
I thought McGeady was shite on wednesday. I have no reason not to like him, in fact would love him to reproduce the form he shows for Celtic. But so far he hasnt.

Incidentally, I dont get the "anti McGeady bias" thing. I'd understand it for United or Liverpool players, but would presume theres not many Rangers fans on here.
Otherwise what could you have against him?
Post by: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 12:20:39 PM
I thought McGeady did alright (better than usual anyway) on Wednesday night, but he always (always, always) takes too much out of the ball, and missed a number of clear opportunities to play someone through the Brazil back-four.  I'd be starting Hunt and Duff ahead of him every time, I have to say.
Post by: stibhan on February 08, 2008, 01:07:35 PM
McGeady was takin on Brazil by himself at times so I'd suggest you all take a reality check. He won a decent amount of frees in the time that he had whereas Hunt did f**k all when he came on. People aren't willing to forgive him for the Slovakia and Czech Republic games yet as far as I can see- even though against Germany when he came on he was the only one doing anything, and against Cyprus he again was the only person setting up anything for the forwards (hence Finnan's goal coming from his cross if I remember correctly).

He was the most effective player on both flanks when he played there and that's why Ireland constantly gave him the ball. And as for the idea that he isn't fast enough for international level, it's bloody hard to be faster than a Brazilian right back who bombs up the pitch-- bear in mind Aiden did decent enough defensive work if not spectacular and did in fact help Kilbane out on more than one occasion.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 01:15:28 PM
Quote from: stibhan on February 08, 2008, 01:07:35 PM
McGeady was takin on Brazil by himself at times so I'd suggest you all take a reality check.
People aren't willing to forgive him for the Slovakia and Czech Republic games yet as far as I can see

Willing to forgive him?? Jaysus what did he do during those games that requires "forgiveness" ??

I just thought he was shite this week, no need for a reality check, I've yet to see him have a good game. So far it has varied between shite and ok.
In my opinion of course, maybe once I check my reality that will change.  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 01:19:00 PM
QuoteI'd suggest you all take a reality check.

Post of the day.   ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 01:53:10 PM
Ah McGeady did better than alright on Wed. Up to that he done fcuk all for Ireland. Jaysus even Dunphy was singing his praises after, then again he was very excitable about Trappatoni.

Quote from: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:15:59 PMIncidentally, I dont get the "anti McGeady bias" thing. I'd understand it for United or Liverpool players, but would presume theres not many Rangers fans on here.
Otherwise what could you have against him?

Because people have been giving out about how shite he's been in the past they assume he'll be just as shite on the night/in the future. For example I'm sure the goal can be traced back to John O'Shea...
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 01:59:17 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 01:53:10 PM
Because people have been giving out about how shite he's been in the past they assume he'll be just as shite on the night/in the future. For example I'm sure the goal can be traced back to John O'Shea...

Look, everybody agrees the goal was O'Sheas fault, stop trying to defend him  ;)

Seriously though, if you are an Irish fan, and McGeady has been shite before, surely you would be happy if you thought he played well for once?

I'd love McGeady to do well, it would be good for Ireland, I just dont think he has so far.
I wont say he should never play as he does have the potential to be a star, and I do think that day will come.

However I do think Stephen Hunt has been hard done by. On form he should be in ahead of both Duff and McGeady.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 02:08:27 PM
QuoteSeriously though, if you are an Irish fan, and McGeady has been shite before, surely you would be happy if you thought he played well for once?

I am, can't believe other people thought he was shite again, only plausible reason can be that they expect/want him to be shite.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 02:13:48 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 02:08:27 PM
QuoteSeriously though, if you are an Irish fan, and McGeady has been shite before, surely you would be happy if you thought he played well for once?

I am, can't believe other people thought he was shite again, only plausible reason can be that they expect/want him to be shite.

right thats it (takes off coat) outside!!!
Post by: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 03:56:09 PM
QuoteI am, can't believe other people thought he was shite again, only plausible reason can be that they expect/want him to be shite.

Ah for Christ's sake Croí, he didn't actually do or create anything on the night, he took on the fullbacks a few times, and beat them (and admittedly scared them a bit) but didn't deliver telling crosses or passes on any occasion - what the f*ck good is that to anyone?  Can you imagine the hairdryer he'd be getting if Roy Keane was his captain (or manager)?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 04:09:45 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 03:56:09 PM
QuoteI am, can't believe other people thought he was shite again, only plausible reason can be that they expect/want him to be shite.

Ah for Christ's sake Croí, he didn't actually do or create anything on the night, he took on the fullbacks a few times, and beat them (and admittedly scared them a bit) but didn't deliver telling crosses or passes on any occasion - what the f*ck good is that to anyone?  Can you imagine the hairdryer he'd be getting if Roy Keane was his captain (or manager)?

Off the top of my head, I give u the ball in to Zinidine who put it just out of Robbies reach. We weren't set up for getting crosses in, the only man who is a danger in the air (from midfield up) is Doyle and even he isn't prolific.
Post by: Main Street on February 08, 2008, 04:17:38 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 03:56:09 PM

He did have an end product to his creative build up play on a number of occasions. Glaringly his head was down when Duff was waiting, apart from that that the passing stats were well in his favour.

Personally I see competitive game as much more of a test and that remains to be seen with McGeady,
though clearly he is still developing.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 04:31:24 PM
This idea of people being Anti-McGeady or wanting him to do bad is laughable and a bit ridiculous..We are all Irish and want the national team to do well,I couldn't care who is on the team once they are all playing well and winning and that includes McGeady,why would i have anything against the chap?
I'd love him to turn in performances that he is capbale of
Fact is McGeady hasn't played well for Ireland full stop...Duffer even came out and said the match on Wednesday night was little more than a glorified training session at times so basically even if McGeady had a better than average game on Wednesday it can hardly be judged as a real test of how good he can play for Ireland....
Steven Hunt deserves to play ahead of him in my opinion
Post by: Main Street on February 08, 2008, 04:35:27 PM
Where was Stephen Hunt born? ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 04:53:07 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 08, 2008, 04:35:27 PM
Where was Stephen Hunt born? ;)

Ireland  :D
Post by: T Fearon on February 08, 2008, 04:57:11 PM
Robust defence of the Robster by Brendan Crossan in to-day's Irish News, commending his continued devotion to the cause and contrasting his commitment with that of early retirees like Finnan, Carr O'Brien etc.

Why is Robbie universally loved by Spurs fans the world over but criticised by Irish fans? The guy is simply a legend
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 05:30:35 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 04:31:24 PM
This idea of people being Anti-McGeady or wanting him to do bad is laughable and a bit ridiculous..

I don't think anyone here said that or wants that

Fact is McGeady hasn't played well for Ireland full stop...

Er, he was one of our better players Wed night

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 04:31:24 PMDuffer even came out and said the match on Wednesday night was little more than a glorified training session at times so basically even if McGeady had a better than average game on Wednesday it can hardly be judged as a real test of how good he can play for Ireland....
Steven Hunt deserves to play ahead of him in my opinion

I'd agree with that based on competitive outings...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 08, 2008, 05:39:31 PM

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 05:30:35 PM
This idea of people being Anti-McGeady or wanting him to do bad is laughable and a bit ridiculous..

I don't think anyone here said that or wants that

Eh you did...

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 02:08:27 PM

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 08, 2008, 05:48:17 PM
Twisting words and taking things out of context there LL. The point I was trying to make there is that because McGeady has been shite for Ireland in the past some people expect him to be shite all the time (or to reinforce their mindset, want him to be shite in a perverse way, i.e. if he's shite today he hopefully won't get selected tomorrow).

Anyways did u think McGeady was one of our better players Wed night???
Post by: Declan on January 15, 2010, 10:32:13 AM
Ireland v Brazil will be at Emirates in March
Friday, 15 January 2010 10:26

The Republic of Ireland will face Brazil in a friendly at Arsenal's Emirates Stadium on Tuesday, March 2.

International sports event promoter Kentaro has confirmed the London venue will be used for the game, which was announced late last year.

The fixture is something of a coup for Ireland, who will also face Argentina at the Aviva Stadium - the newly-revamped Lansdowne Road - on 11August.

The fixture was given to the Football Association of Ireland as part-compensation for the controversial 'Hand of Henry' defeat to France in the World Cup play-offs.
Post by: FermGael on January 15, 2010, 11:02:25 AM
I hope that this is diaster for the FAI.
People can hardly afford to go to matches, now they want them to pay flights and for a hotel as well.
A Joke. 
Post by: BerfArmagh on January 15, 2010, 11:03:44 AM
Another FAI own goal. At least the are consistant
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 15, 2010, 11:13:16 AM
These games at the Emirates usually are quite successful, but I can't see the point in playing it in London. Would be different if they were struggling to sell out Croke Park, but surely if this was in Croke Park it would be a sell out. Unless it's something to do with the event promoter that made the game be played at the Emirates.
Post by: FermGael on January 15, 2010, 11:16:01 AM
And i would say before long we will have the Gaa bashers on here saying it is the Gaa's fault.
The stadium rent issue has been an issue between the FAI and the Gaa for a while.
The FAI do not want to pay the going rate. 
There has never to my knowledge been as issue with the IRFU.

Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 15, 2010, 11:22:03 AM
I read that the GAA offered to reduce the rent for this game, but the FAI still refused.
Post by: dublinfella on January 15, 2010, 01:04:05 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on January 15, 2010, 11:22:03 AM
I read that the GAA offered to reduce the rent for this game, but the FAI still refused.

Where?

This game is being run by a sports agency. Ireland are the away team and accepted a lucrative invite to play. But carry on anyway.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2010, 02:05:17 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 15, 2010, 01:04:05 PM

Where?

This game is being run by a sports agency. Ireland are the away team and accepted a lucrative invite to play. But carry on anyway.

It was the independent that said that. Either Breheny or McGee. Of course the independent is the Wikipedia of newspapers these days.
Post by: magickingdom on January 15, 2010, 07:39:30 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 15, 2010, 01:04:05 PM

Where?

is there a particular reason why the sports agency wanted the game played in a 60,000 seater stadium in london rather than an 74,000 one in dublin?
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 07:46:09 PM
Corporate big wigs at the Emirates that's why. Stadium has more corporate places than anywhere else. Biggest money making stadium in England. Brazil have played twice there already.
Post by: trileacman on January 15, 2010, 07:50:44 PM
Of course the independent is the Wikipedia of newspapers these days.
Wikipedia? Explain??
Post by: magickingdom on January 15, 2010, 08:12:18 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 07:46:09 PM
Corporate big wigs at the Emirates that's why. Stadium has more corporate places than anywhere else. Biggest money making stadium in England. Brazil have played twice there already.

got it, that makes more sense. still would brazil/ireland be a draw for london corporate big wigs. . i have my doubts
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 08:16:31 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on January 15, 2010, 08:12:18 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 07:46:09 PM

got it, that makes more sense. still would brazil/ireland be a draw for london corporate big wigs. . i have my doubts

Probably Brazil playing anyone is a big draw, they never play home friendlys. Played England in Dubai recently..All about money!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2010, 08:16:46 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 15, 2010, 07:50:44 PM
Of course the independent is the Wikipedia of newspapers these days.
Wikipedia? Explain??

Wikipedia is not exactly the most accurate all the time, and as my mother used to say, 'A paper doesn't refuse ink'.
Post by: longrunsthefox on January 15, 2010, 08:18:39 PM
Never did the see the attraction of a soccer friendly- I woundn't even bother to watch it on TV.
Post by: stiffler on January 15, 2010, 08:47:53 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on January 15, 2010, 08:18:39 PM
Never did the see the attraction of a soccer friendly- I woundn't even bother top watch it on TV.

I was at the last Ireland Brazil game whenever Don Givens was in charge of the team, bit of a non-event.

The Brazilian fans were crazy, they were singing and dancing the whole way through the game, which brightened up preceedings somewhat.

This upcoming game should be more of a challenge as Trap will be trying to build his squad for the Euro qualifiers. I would expect to see a few new faces in the squad, also probably the return of Andy Reid.

Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 09:00:08 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 15, 2010, 08:47:53 PM
Never did the see the attraction of a soccer friendly- I woundn't even bother top watch it on TV.

I was at the last Ireland Brazil game whenever Don Givens was in charge of the team, bit of a non-event.

The Brazilian fans were crazy, they were singing and dancing the whole way through the game, which brightened up preceedings somewhat.

This upcoming game should be more of a challenge as Trap will be trying to build his squad for the Euro qualifiers. I would expect to see a few new faces in the squad, also probably the return of Andy Reid.

Marc stiffler? Hopefully...!!
Post by: stiffler on January 15, 2010, 09:03:08 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 09:00:08 PM

no better place for him to make his debut pat   ;D

well maybe starks park :P
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 09:06:34 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 15, 2010, 09:03:08 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 09:00:08 PM

no better place for him to make his debut pat   ;D

well maybe starks park :P

Starks park.lol

Haven't heard that in a while.....From what I heard Trap was at a Pompey game recently. Expect to see Jamie O'hara offered a cap pretty soon. Irish grand parents i hear.
Post by: Rav67 on January 16, 2010, 12:28:53 AM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on January 15, 2010, 09:06:34 PM
Starks park.lol

Haven't heard that in a while.....From what I heard Trap was at a Pompey game recently. Expect to see Jamie O'hara offered a cap pretty soon. Irish grand parents i hear.

He's a better footballer than Gibson, get him called up if he's eligible..
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 16, 2010, 07:36:21 AM
[Q]O'Hara was called up to the England U21 squad for their game against Republic of Ireland on the 5 February 2008, but did not take the field.[16] He did gain his first U21 cap on 25 March 2008 ,in a 0–0 friendly against Poland.[17] He gained another cap on 15 May 2008, coming on as a second-half substitute in the fifty-seventh minute, in a 2–0 victory over Wales, a match in which Theo Walcott and Spurs team-mate Tom Huddlestone scored.

On 5 June 2009, article 18 of the Regulations Governing the Application of the FIFA Statutes was amended by FIFA Congress to allow players who have competed as a junior for one country to still follow an international career with another. This opens the door for O'Hara to officially declare for the Republic of Ireland or Northern Ireland.[18][Q]

From Wiki...I know before everyone starts....but was talking to my cousin and he tells me O'hara is eligible for Ireland and him and Stevie Finnan are trying to talk him in to it..Hopefully we'll see Danni Lloyd at the Aviva next year.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 16, 2010, 09:17:15 AM
He'd be a good addition. Can play LB centre mid or left wing so if nothing else a good cover man.

Is he going out with Danielle LLoyd now? Last I heard she was engaged to Jermain Defoe. She's doing the rounds with the footballers that one...
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2010, 09:50:48 AM
anyone see yesterdays 'Irish' mail on sunday - where that eejit chief exec of the fai could hardly hold his contempt for the GAA by saying that soccer and rugby shoul dnever play in Croke park again for the next 10 years because the GAA said that allowing soccer and rugby to be played in croker was 'temporary' !

bitter fcuker !!
Post by: dublinfella on January 18, 2010, 12:05:38 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on January 15, 2010, 07:39:30 PM

is there a particular reason why the sports agency wanted the game played in a 60,000 seater stadium in london rather than an 74,000 one in dublin?

London. 60,000 Brazilains live there.

Emirates stadium. £600,000 to rent. Croker. €1,400,000 to rent, plus the GAA keep the the food and drink revenues. In your own time.
Post by: dublinfella on January 18, 2010, 12:06:36 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 15, 2010, 02:05:17 PM

It was the independent that said that. Either Breheny or McGee. Of course the independent is the Wikipedia of newspapers these days.

And Breheny or McGee are experts on the subject of the Brazilian FA and London based sports agencies?
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2010, 12:17:14 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 18, 2010, 12:05:38 PM

Don't worry. The Metropolitan Police are working on that problem.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 18, 2010, 12:40:30 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on January 15, 2010, 07:39:30 PM

Emirates stadium. £600,000 to rent. Croker. €1,400,000 to rent, plus the GAA keep the the food and drink revenues. In your own time.

Do the sports agency get the food and drink revenues at the Emirates?
Post by: dublinfella on January 18, 2010, 01:02:10 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 18, 2010, 09:50:48 AM
anyone see yesterdays 'Irish' mail on sunday - where that eejit chief exec of the fai could hardly hold his contempt for the GAA by saying that soccer and rugby shoul dnever play in Croke park again for the next 10 years because the GAA said that allowing soccer and rugby to be played in croker was 'temporary' !

bitter fcuker !!

Actually, its an unsourced quote from Delaney saying that at the time the FAI decision was made to buy half of LR Croker was only available until LR was finished. The GAA have changed their stance in the meantime and he is supposed to have said that if future availability of Croker was stated as the case at the time, it would have been a factor in the FAI getting involved in the LR project or not.

I'm struggling to see how you got what you got from that piece.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 18, 2010, 01:03:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 18, 2010, 12:17:14 PM

Don't worry. The Metropolitan Police are working on that problem.