Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: GY Joe on February 03, 2008, 03:03:07 PM

Title: F C U K the begrudgers - C'mon NEW ENGLAND!
Post by: GY Joe on February 03, 2008, 03:03:07 PM

Best team ever!
Best Coach ever!
Best Season ever!
Best Quarterback ever!

Patriots to possess perfection 42-24

Title: Re: F C U K the begrudgers - C'mon NEW ENGLAND!
Post by: Hardy on February 03, 2008, 03:23:00 PM
OK I'll have a go.

1. Current Kerry team
2. Sean Boylan
3. 1991
4. Don't understand - but I'll guess you mean midfielder. So Brian Mullins.
Post by: Leg End on February 03, 2008, 03:33:09 PM
i'm the opposite... love underdogs and like eli

Come on The GIANTS
[/color][/b]
Post by: J70 on February 03, 2008, 05:22:05 PM
(http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/3/3f/NewYorkGiants_1000.png)
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2008, 05:31:44 PM
(http://www.madhousepromotions.co.uk/425px-England_crest.png)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 05:40:32 PM
what station is it on here and what time?
Post by: venter on February 03, 2008, 05:53:01 PM
its on at 11pm on TV3. not sure if you can get that in armagh. Its also on Sky sports. Pats by 10
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 06:34:47 PM
Quote from: venter on February 03, 2008, 05:53:01 PM
its on at 11pm on TV3. not sure if you can get that in armagh. Its also on Sky sports. Pats by 10

Good stuff cheers. 
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on February 03, 2008, 06:36:46 PM
It's on BBC2 as well
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 03, 2008, 11:19:30 PM
The anthem singer.

Ya would.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 11:20:31 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 03, 2008, 11:19:30 PM
The anthem singer.

Ya would.
You couldnt!

:P
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2008, 11:20:40 PM
Shes never met a dinner she didnt like. Great set of lungs though.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 03, 2008, 11:22:43 PM
QuoteYou couldnt!

In fairness I could.

Its more accurate to say that I wouldn't be given the opportunity!
Post by: corn02 on February 03, 2008, 11:28:35 PM
YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

GIANTS WON THE TOSS!!

GO GIANTS!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 03, 2008, 11:30:23 PM
Jaysus thon announcer's some craic.

ARE YOU REAAAAAAAAAAADDDDYYYYYY GIANTS FANS?

ARE YOU REAAAAAAAAAAADDDDYYYYYY PATRIOTS FANS?
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2008, 11:40:36 PM
Its all very well to say this before New England have the ball, but the Giants are fired and ready.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2008, 11:43:52 PM
Unless Bellichick dyed his sweater red, New England are fcuked! :D
Post by: Leg End on February 03, 2008, 11:45:47 PM
field goal is not bad for first drive
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2008, 11:46:27 PM
Are you feckers getting the commercials over there? Cracking Pepsi Max one there.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 11:48:22 PM
first commercials now
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 03, 2008, 11:49:24 PM
QuoteAre you feckers getting the commercials over there? Cracking Pepsi Max one there.

Not on the BBC!

God bless them. Jaysus dunno if I can stick with this all night. Work comes fierce early in the morning.
Post by: Gnevin on February 03, 2008, 11:50:09 PM
How do so many channels have the rights to this ? Sky/TV3 and BBC?
Post by: corn02 on February 03, 2008, 11:50:24 PM
BBC ALL THE WAY, no commericials.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 11:52:06 PM
about what time will this be over?

everything I know about this game I've learned from the Madden ps2 game.
Post by: Fishbat on February 03, 2008, 11:55:11 PM
Anyone know where ye can watch it on the net?

Hard to say this being an Philly Eagles fan, but viva New york
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2008, 11:55:46 PM
not until about 6.40 my time.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 11:56:48 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2008, 11:55:46 PM
not until about 6.40 my time.
and what time would that be here?/
Post by: ONeill on February 03, 2008, 11:58:20 PM
NE must have serious TD rate in red zone.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 04, 2008, 12:01:37 AM
We witnessed history there. Longest drive in SUPERBOWL HISTORY at 9 minutes 59 seconds !
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 12:01:52 AM
3 hrs.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 12:02:01 AM
And there we are - 1 from 1.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 12:03:27 AM
SD's downfall was not scoring big in the red zone - looks like Giants will suffer from the same disease.

NE are ruthless.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 04, 2008, 12:05:52 AM
Didn't realise they just start the 2nd quarter from the same spot that the 1st quarter ended at.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 12:06:52 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 12:01:52 AM
3 hrs.

I'll never last it - such a time to put anything on at!

Yes tac - I believe it's half time they go back at. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 12:16:00 AM
Desperate from Giants - mountain to climb me thinks.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 12:18:47 AM
Are yous sleeping!!!
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 12:26:32 AM
Time left still. Sorry Pints, was playing with baby Puck. I like this game so far.
Post by: corn02 on February 04, 2008, 12:26:49 AM
Giants committing 'schoolboy errors' against the team that would punish you most, only one winner tonight folks, no upset.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 12:30:40 AM
Quote from: corn02 on February 04, 2008, 12:26:49 AM
Giants committing 'schoolboy errors' against the team that would punish you most, only one winner tonight folks, no upset.

Agree, I'm away to bed.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 12:31:10 AM
I don't know - you get the feeling NE are stumbling over the endline. Brady was average in the previous game and was turned over a couple of times. He has been anything but the superstar again.
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 12:38:16 AM
I disagree, the giants arent playing great, but it is still close. A little rub of the green and it can go either way. They need some red zone scores here.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2008, 12:52:16 AM
That's one hell of an image - the last Brady sack. If they lose this, it'll be iconic.
Post by: Minder on February 04, 2008, 01:10:14 AM
that is an expensive shampoo tom petty uses,how silky is his hair? Its as if he has just stepped out of a salon . . . .  Minder is fucked,away to bed. . . . . .Come on the big blue!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 01:19:04 AM
for f**k sake get on with the game some of us have to get up in the morning!
how long does half time last?
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 01:19:54 AM
Best half time show in years. Great stuff. If the Giants can get some points on board, this game can go to New York. The will not contain New England enough, so they need at least two touchdowns.
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 01:20:38 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 01:19:04 AM

For once embrace your insomnia and let one fly at how beautiful Tom Petty's hair is.
Post by: stephenite on February 04, 2008, 01:22:58 AM
What's the score now? Have NY killed them off yet, because it does happen ;)
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 01:47:29 AM
NE-7
NY-3

NY with the ball....6mins left in 3rd quarter
Post by: thejuice on February 04, 2008, 01:47:35 AM
C'MMMMMMMMMMMOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN GIANTS
Post by: thejuice on February 04, 2008, 01:49:34 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 01:19:04 AM

Some of us dont, Wa-hey!!!!
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 02:02:18 AM
Eli has been given the perfect platform from which to take the Superbowl to New York by his defence.
Post by: thejuice on February 04, 2008, 02:12:26 AM
Woooooooooooooooooooo

C'mon You Boys In Blue(Helmets)!!!
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2008, 02:13:26 AM
TOUCHDOWN
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 02:14:10 AM
great stuff.
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 02:15:09 AM
Christ there is alot of gay blue writing going on here boys.

Pints, was just going to ring you there to wake you up for the finale and Pucks bet coming in!
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2008, 02:16:37 AM
Can they hold out for the last 10? Brady has been starting find Welker in the last few possessions, while one of those long ones to Moss might get there yet.

Nail-chewing time!
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2008, 02:17:53 AM
Ah, only keeping with some of the earlier posts, never tried out the moving words, and not too bothered as to who wins anyway.

Not looking good for the Patriots though.
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 02:18:22 AM
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: stephenite on February 04, 2008, 02:22:25 AM
Yes , what? What happened?
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 02:25:10 AM
10-7 NY....but you probably already new that :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 02:31:16 AM
I wasn't bothered about who won until the patriots decided to be c***ts over the giants player not being off the field in time.
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 02:34:41 AM
Aye that was a bit of a joke..but thats the Pats for you..use ever trick in the book

Fcuk 1st down NE inside 10yard line :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2008, 02:34:49 AM
Patriots getting closer all the time.......
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 02:35:28 AM
not looking good
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2008, 02:36:29 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 02:31:16 AM
I wasn't bothered about who won until the patriots decided to be c***ts over the giants player not being off the field in time.
Jesus thats the same thing Mrs Puck said when I explained it to her. Except she said they were being mean. :o :o :o :o
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2008, 02:40:03 AM
Well there you go. Patriots touchdown.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 02:40:40 AM
for f**k sake
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 02:46:28 AM
FFFFFFUCK!!!!!!   Come on Eli :-[ :-[ :-[
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 02:53:03 AM
What a catch....come on!!!!!!!! :o
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2008, 02:56:33 AM
Offaly 1982 all over again!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 02:56:44 AM
that's it!
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 02:57:46 AM
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYES 
Post by: thejuice on February 04, 2008, 02:58:47 AM
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, this is killing me, c'mon Brady f**k up,
Post by: dec on February 04, 2008, 03:03:33 AM
Giants Win
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 03:04:52 AM
unreal. great game.
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 03:05:33 AM
Great win.....What a finish...f**k i wish was in new york :'( :'(
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:07:53 AM
they deserved that much more than the pats. Giants defence were unreal and eli deserves the mvp for that play to tyree before the touchdown pass alone. amazing game.
come on The Giants
Post by: thejuice on February 04, 2008, 03:08:29 AM
That Catch........................WOW. Thats why american football is f**king untouchable
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2008, 03:09:28 AM
Unbelievable! ;D

Burress hadn't done a thing all game!

Talk about a turned-around season! Two months ago, the NY press were slaughtering Manning! This time last year, Coughlin had to beg to keep his job!

Post by: stephenite on February 04, 2008, 03:11:36 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 04, 2008, 03:08:29 AM
That Catch........................WOW. Thats why american football is f**king untouchable

Let's not get carried away now
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:12:50 AM
Quote from: J70 on February 04, 2008, 03:09:28 AM
Unbelievable! ;D

Burress hadn't done a thing all game!

Talk about a turned-around season! Two months ago, the NY press were slaughtering Manning! This time last year, Coughlin had to beg to keep his job!

yea unbelievable turnaround ended the season 10 games unbeaten on the road... Maybe tom brady and pats under estimated giants defence. They soon found out... strahan was class. love underdogs winning.
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:15:04 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 04, 2008, 03:11:36 AM

are you for real. 2 men pulling on him in mid air. to hold onto it after they pulled him backwards bent his back and for him to land on his back and still have the ball.. credit were credits due
Post by: stephenite on February 04, 2008, 03:17:32 AM
Quote from: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:15:04 AM

are you for real. 2 men pulling on him in mid air. to hold onto it after they pulled him backwards bent his back and for him to land on his back and still have the ball.. credit were credits due

Just watched , it was unbelievable. But still one amazing feat does not make the sport in general, the comment was that American Football is untouchable. OK, Gaelic football or American Football Leg End and Juice, All Ireland final or the Superbowl - which would you chose if you had to?
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 03:18:39 AM
Yea was an unreal catch but the throw and play from Eli was equally as good
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:20:32 AM
Quote from: stephenite on February 04, 2008, 03:17:32 AM
Quote from: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:15:04 AM

Just watched , it was unbelievable. But still one amazing feat does not make the sport in general, the comment was that American Football is untouchable. OK, Gaelic football or American Football Leg End and Juice, All Ireland final or the Superbowl - which would you chose if you had to?

sorry i thought u were talking about the catch...

wouldn't mind the money from winning the superbowl ::) ::) ::) ::)

definate would prefer scoring the winnng point in croke park on all ireland final day
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 03:20:52 AM
If you go by this years All Ireland...i would have to pick tonights superbowl
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2008, 03:44:40 AM
Quote from: new devil on February 04, 2008, 03:20:52 AM
If you go by this years All Ireland...i would have to pick tonights superbowl
Don't worry, Cork won't be there to make a mess of it, just need to scupper Mayo and we might get a contest. :P
Title: One Happy Begrudger
Post by: Oraisteach on February 04, 2008, 03:47:44 AM
A Super Bowl that was actually thrilling.

Can't stand Belichick or Moss.  Pity for Vrabel, a Cleveland lad, a Buckeye and a great player.

If Armagh can make it to the All Ireland and win, then the Browns can be in the Super Bowl.  Perhaps.  Suit up Jim Brown and Leroy Kelly.

Still get annoyed when I hear the term "World Champions."  Is being the national champ not enough?
Post by: The Claw on February 04, 2008, 03:49:29 AM
Cannot believe what happened tonight. Crazy stuff, im wordless...
Post by: new devil on February 04, 2008, 03:54:47 AM
All we need now is for the Yankees to win the WORLD series  ;)
Post by: heganboy on February 04, 2008, 04:13:05 AM
man that was sweet, it helps that half the guys I work with (including my boss) are pats fans.
Ticker tape parade on Tuesday- I've never seen one of those, cant see much work being done that day...
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 04, 2008, 05:52:59 AM
Anyone wanna buy this?

(http://i25.tinypic.com/2d2c9hl.jpg)

http://www.amazon.com/19-0-Historic-Championship-Englands-Un beatable/dp/1600781500 (http://www.amazon.com/19-0-Historic-Championship-Englands-Unbeatable/dp/1600781500)
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 04, 2008, 12:09:01 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on February 04, 2008, 03:47:44 AM

Still get annoyed when I hear the term "World Champions."  Is being the national champ not enough?

agree totally with you,fcuk me does that mean kerry are "world champions"?
Post by: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 12:51:51 PM
who got MVP?
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2008, 01:04:28 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 12:51:51 PM
who got MVP?

Manning.
Post by: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 01:08:14 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 04, 2008, 01:04:28 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 12:51:51 PM
who got MVP?

Manning.

did he deserve it?
as i said on the american sports thread, i fell asleep just after half time and missed the end. up until then the giants defence were outstading and keeping them in the game. Eli had made a few mistakes and generally wasnt getting enough scores on the board for the amount of ball they had. i take it he came through in the end though...

it would have been nice to see a defencive player get MVP for a change
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 01:19:22 PM
yea he had an awesome second half. if u have read this thread you'll read about 'the catch' and wat eli done to get the ball away watch this. he deserved it for this alone ::) ::) :D :D :D

http://youtube.com/watch?v=e5BWzoyzVbc
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 04, 2008, 01:24:30 PM
f**k that was class !!
Post by: tyroneman on February 04, 2008, 01:36:40 PM
Eli got MVP based on 1 halfs performance (and not even the full half at that) - think the yanks wanted an "MVP brothers" angle for the media.

Justin Tuck should've got MVP

Come on the JaMarcus and the Raiders for 2009
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 01:54:45 PM
maybe so but he wasnt far away. strahan was also class... if the pats had've won welker was a cert for mvp.. he was everywhere. great game and great sport.... panthers for 2009
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 04, 2008, 01:59:31 PM
Quote from: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 01:19:22 PM
yea he had an awesome second half. if u have read this thread you'll read about 'the catch' and wat eli done to get the ball away watch this. he deserved it for this alone ::) ::) :D :D :D

are yous on the wind up?fcuk me youll see a better catch at a u/12 match every saturday,gridiron is the biggest load of crap i have ever seen,a friend of mine is into it big time and i argue with him all the time so i took his advice and gave it a chance last night,well sorry but what a load of bollicks,jesus the last 5 mins of the game took nearly a hour :o
Post by: Minder on February 04, 2008, 02:06:07 PM
piss off out of the thread then drumanee, thought tuck should have got mvp,without the defence playing to that level they would have struggled to stay in the game,but tuck would have needed 5 intercepions too to have any chance of getting it,as long as the qb does not do anything silly it usually goes to him. Some people,and some on this board had the pats annointed as the best ever before they had won the super bowl,you cant say that now because they didnt win when it mattered
Post by: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 02:07:19 PM
just watched that clip there. Eli did unbelievable well to stay on his feet there but jaysus how did the pats miss that sack?

from what i saw of the game i would have had strahan as MVP.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 04, 2008, 02:11:10 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 04, 2008, 02:06:07 PM
piss off out of the thread then drumanee

oooooooooooooohh sorreeeeeeeee,just expressing my opinion on a discussion board,thats what discussion boards are about?isnt it?ah well i'll take your advise :-*
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2008, 02:14:44 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on February 04, 2008, 01:59:31 PM

are yous on the wind up?fcuk me youll see a better catch at a u/12 match every saturday,gridiron is the biggest load of crap i have ever seen,a friend of mine is into it big time and i argue with him all the time so i took his advice and gave it a chance last night,well sorry but what a load of bollicks,jesus the last 5 mins of the game took nearly a hour :o

An under-12. Right...

I don't particularly like hurling, but I wouldn't presume to basically call people idiots just because they do enjoy it.

And say what you like about the time-keeping, but at least they get their full hour of playing time. During the Donegal-Kerry match the other evening, there was about 10 minutes of football played during one 25 minute stretch, which is fairly typical of quite a few gaelic football matches.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on February 04, 2008, 02:23:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on February 04, 2008, 02:14:44 PM

An under-12. Right...

I don't particularly like hurling, but I wouldn't presume to basically call people idiots just because they do enjoy it.

And say what you like about the time-keeping, but at least they get their full hour of playing time. During the Donegal-Kerry match the other evening, there was about 10 minutes of football played during one 25 minute stretch, which is fairly typical of quite a few gaelic football matches.

where did i say people were idiots if they liked gridiron?i just dont like it but to milions it's there no1 sport whereas i dont expect gaa football to be everybodys cup of tea either
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 04, 2008, 02:25:26 PM
Had never watched a full game before and like POG the only thing i knew about the game was from playing Madden on the Playstation..
Have to say i found myself unable to turn it off and go to bed..I was glued to it and i didn't even give a feck who won..
Really enjoyed it but am paying for it today for staying up late last night
Post by: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 02:30:27 PM
QuoteReally enjoyed it but am paying for it today for staying up late last night

thats why i went to sleep. couldnt have got up for work the next day if i hadnt have. not that i'm working hard or anything ;)

going home soon to hit the red button on bbc and watch the highlights of what i missed :)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 04, 2008, 02:34:06 PM
Great game - a close defensive game is just as good as a 38-35 wide open game if you ask me.

The Giants front 7 were beasts the whole game - and I do think one of them should have gotten the MVP award.

Mr Spagnuolo off to the Redskins?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 04, 2008, 02:39:43 PM
Absolutely delighted for Eli Manning after all the flack hes taken.

also Justin Tuck , Umenyiora(sp??) and Strahan were absolutely magnificant as was the whole Giants D

i enjoyed that Superbowl more than any other one ive seen before.

The Giants Defensive Co-ordinator as Gabirel has just said will have the pick of his head coaching jobs.
Post by: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 02:41:45 PM
i asked this on the other thread, but was strahan not considering retiring at the start of the year?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 04, 2008, 02:43:55 PM
He was LB. didnt partcipate in voluntary workouts etc, was encouraged by his dad to quit.

i would say he might quit after this though.
Post by: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 02:46:49 PM
bet he's glad he gave it another year though
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 04, 2008, 02:57:57 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 04, 2008, 02:30:27 PM
QuoteReally enjoyed it but am paying for it today for staying up late last night

thats why i went to sleep. couldnt have got up for work the next day if i hadnt have. not that i'm working hard or anything ;)

going home soon to hit the red button on bbc and watch the highlights of what i missed :)

I gave myself a half day today..The perks of working for yourself!
Post by: Declan on February 04, 2008, 03:00:55 PM
Interesting take on the whole razzamatazz

The Super Bowl: Who Stole the Soul?
by Dave Zirin

Apparently it's not killer bees, sleeper cells, or flesh eating viruses we are supposed to fear this week. According to the mainstream media, it's the Super Bowl that's hazardous to our health.

The LA Times ran an article this week titled, "Sports is a strain on fans' hearts". "In Germany," the piece opened, "a study finds a spike in heart attacks on soccer game days. Super Bowl viewers, take heed."

It seems that the adrenaline and heart pounding passion of Super Bowl Sunday could send the hundred million viewers into a pulmonary panic. Balderdash. If you want to know if the Super Bowl will strike you dead, don't ask a doctor. Ask a sports writer.

The NFL Championship is many things, but a white knuckled adrenaline overload aint one of them. In other words, any heart attacks this weekend are far more likely to come from undigested animal fat than adrenaline.

Before it is anything else, before it's even a football game, the Super Bowl is first and foremost a two week entertainment festival for the rich and shameless: a corporate Woodstock with suits and sports cars subbing for ponchos and patchouli. Less free love and drugs, more hookers and scotch.

One headline preceding the big game read "Phoenix Faces Super Bowl Parking Woe: Where to Put Gulfstreams?" As the article stated, "The Arizona host committee expects 800 to 1,000 private jets, or more, to use the airports before Sunday's game. That will be at least double the number when nearby Tempe was the site of the Super Bowl in 1996." Giants co-owner Steve Tisch spoke about the pugilistic plutocrats at the airport. "'When that game's over and a lot of people who've flown on private planes want to go home and everybody feels that they're entitled to be the first to take off, that's when it gets interesting. A lot of people are saying to their pilots to tell the tower, "Do you know who I've got on my plane?"'

What a terrifically charming slice of life. Is now an appropriate time to tell Mr. Tisch that 21.2% of children in Arizona live below the poverty line? Or 40% of Native Americans? Can he hear me over the jets?

The thought of corporate execs swinging their egos to get their planes out of an airport hangar is a perfect snapshot for the excess that's smothered the game. The Super Bowl has become a place to see and be seen. Q ratings matter more than quarterbacks. And spectacle has triumphed over sport.

Consider the 2004 game between the Patriots and Panthers. It will be remembered for eternity as the day Janet Jackson flashed the world, even though it was probably the best quarterback duel in the history of the game. Tom Brady set a record for completions, driving the Patriots down field for a last second Vinatieri fieldgoal.

But what I remember against my will, after Jackson's Action, was the sight of so much smoke, fog and haze from the halftime pyro, it was hard to see what was happening the first five minutes of the second half. The game looked like it was being played on the back streets of London's East End, with Jack the Ripper ready to slice up an unsuspecting Antowain Smith.

No question it's the spectacle that drives the spectacular ratings. Of the 20 most watched shows in history, 10 are Super Bowls. For the overwhelming majority of the public, this is a day to rank the commercials, grade the halftime show, and eat enough trans fats to make a goat nauseous. But one thing it is not, is a place to invest any kind of passion in the game itself.

Here's a modest proposal. Let's start playing the Super Bowl at the home stadium of the team with the best record. Imagine this Sunday instead of playing on the fast tracks of Scottsdale, in front of an audience text messaging in between martintis, the Patriots had to prove their worth in the Frigidaire of New England. Imagine if the fans were those same beautifully hateable minions that have been slogging to Foxboro all year. Imagine the excitement as the Giants would attempt to win a fourth straight game on the road. Imagine Eli avenging the Mannings in front of the Foxboro faithful (and just imagine...I'm from New York). Instead both teams have become scenery, some athletic bursts of poetry around which to sell us erection medicine, beer, and tires that are allegedly being produced by African child labor.

But exhilaration just isn't part of the program. Like a burly sous-chef pounding a chicken breast into flattened submission, the audacity and excitement of the great game of football have been pummeled out of the contest. A great way to avoid dangerous over stimulation would be to take five hours... and watch the game.
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:15:58 PM
did any of you's see the ''biggest hit ever'' this year of reid for the colts taking out henry of the titans. cringe worthy.. i've posted it on the classic you tube thread.. hve a look
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 04, 2008, 03:16:19 PM
There's no way a Superbowl will be played anywhere else than a city with a warm climate - it's one of the conditions for a city being awarded a Superbowl
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:27:30 PM
There is a minimum average temperature requirement for OUTDOOR stadiums but indoor stadiums in cold climates still have the chance of applying.... which is why it was in phoenix last night with a temperature of 4 degrees celcius but they had the facility of closing the roof
Post by: GY Joe on February 04, 2008, 03:41:27 PM
F U C K I N G... Gutted. :'(

Have to hand it to the Giants, their pass rush was unstoppable. The MVP was Strahan or Tuck, Manning was great but how lucky was he not to be sacked on that hail mary play.. The football gods were on NY's side. New England just did not perform, and I'm sorry to say, that was Tommy Terrific's second bad game in a row.

What a letdown, for 18 games the excitement has been building. Its like being about buried to the back axle in a virgin's honeypot and her old man walks in.. What an anti-climax for Patriot fans, and I suspect not a few neutrals.

All I can say is that New England can be proud, I think they brought gridiron to a whole new level this year, and a whole new audience. They just dont do boring. And they certainly dont do boring Superbowls. Thats a point difference in the last 4 superbowls of +3, +3, +3 and sniff -3
Post by: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:48:45 PM
Quote from: GY Joe on February 04, 2008, 03:41:27 PM

The MVP was Strahan or Tuck, Manning was great but how lucky was he not to be sacked on that hail mary play.. The football gods were on NY's side.

agree with most of what u said but this.... it was the blockers job to make sure he didn't get sacked so this was maybe their fault that they got through but thought it was brilliant not lucky the way manning got out of it and the pass and catch to follow were superb
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2008, 06:42:06 PM

Where are you? Surely you didn't sit and watch something until after three in the morning that you thought was crap?
There's something wrong with you if you weren't amazed at Tyree's catch! 

Im not fit to walk today - think I'll have to have a nap.  Worth it though - some game.
Presentation was a bit shite though.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 04, 2008, 08:35:49 PM
Quote from: Leg End on February 04, 2008, 03:48:45 PM
Quote from: GY Joe on February 04, 2008, 03:41:27 PM

The MVP was Strahan or Tuck, Manning was great but how lucky was he not to be sacked on that hail mary play.. The football gods were on NY's side.

agree with most of what u said but this.... it was the blockers job to make sure he didn't get sacked so this was maybe their fault that they got through but thought it was brilliant not lucky the way manning got out of it and the pass and catch to follow were superb

To be honest I think Manning just flung the ball downfield and hoped for the best. The Giants' Tyree that caught it has to take a lot of the credit as he was actually well covered by Patriots but pulled off an unbelievable catch. Jamming the ball between his hand and the top of his helmet. That said Manning did well to avoid going down as they had a hold of him three times.

Assante Samuel must be sick today as well. He probably should have made the interception on that last drive. Just seemed to take his eye off it for a second because he was worried about going out of bounds.

Had the Pats won I think Wes Welker would have got the MVP. He was the one Patriots player the Giants couldn't handle. Will be interesting to see where the Pats go from here as they have a few ageing players in that squad but their division is weak so they should still be back in the play-offs next year at the very least.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 04, 2008, 11:53:46 PM
History will fete Eli Manning for that late drive but I just looked at the highlights and he was a lucky, lucky boy. NE could have intercepted him a few times and will feel sick about not stopping them. That's sport though.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 05, 2008, 01:39:32 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on February 04, 2008, 03:16:19 PM
There's no way a Superbowl will be played anywhere else than a city with a warm climate - it's one of the conditions for a city being awarded a Superbowl

Steelers won in Detroit but it was indoors.

I hate indoor games, football should be outside in the elements. look at the Packers vs Giants game - thats what football should look like at this time of year.
Post by: J70 on February 05, 2008, 05:53:11 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 04, 2008, 11:53:46 PM
History will fete Eli Manning for that late drive but I just looked at the highlights and he was a lucky, lucky boy. NE could have intercepted him a few times and will feel sick about not stopping them. That's sport though.

Most losing teams can point to where they missed by inches, no matter what the sport. That's the way it goes. Ask Scott Norwood about the Giants last superbowl victory. Ask Bayern Munich about the shots off the crossbar in the '99 champions league final. Manning did the job when it mattered, going 83 yards up the field in two minutes with the biggest game of his life on the line, just as he did in Dallas and Green Bay when nobody rated his chances. The better team on the night won.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 05, 2008, 09:00:35 AM
I was delighted for the Giants, great to see a team really laying out for the win, and upsetting the odds. I just got the impression in the early part of the game that the Patriots were not as 'up' for it as the Giants were. I think they deep down believed that no matter what, they were going to get there in the end.

I thought Armani Toomer had lost the game for the Giants when he didn't get that extra half yard for the first down on the Giant's second last drive. The Patriots went down and scored after that.

Anyway, I;m delighted for 4 reasons.

1) Bill Bellichek. Karma's a bitch ain't it?
2) Michael Strahan.
3) Eli Manning for winning the big one in the manner he did. Far from brilliant for 3 quarters, but he was the one who came through in the 4th. Even after Brady had marched the Patriots down the field.
4) We saw the Superbowl Champs live at Wembley :D
Post by: thejuice on February 05, 2008, 09:53:22 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 05, 2008, 09:00:35 AM
4) We saw the Superbowl Champs live at Wembley :D

I think the pitch to the NFL teams when trying to secure games at Wembley in the future, was, "If you play here you'll either end up Superbowl champions or with the first pick of the draft"
Post by: AZOffaly on February 05, 2008, 10:17:51 AM
So San Diego for Superbowl XLIII? And ?new Orleans for 1-15? :D
Post by: Minder on February 05, 2008, 10:55:13 AM
You will probably see the break up of the Pats now, linebacking corps is old, will Seau, Bruschi come back? Will Moss come back? He took a pay cut to come to New England and probably thought it would be worth it for one year if he gotr his ring, i would imagine he will now want that contract renegotiated. Its now three years since the Pats won the Superbowl. Bellichick is a good loser, he started walking to the locker room with 1 second on the clock......
Post by: AZOffaly on February 05, 2008, 10:58:35 AM
In fairness to Bellichek, much as I hate to be :D, he had ran on and congratulated Coughlin after the 4th down incomplete pass, when the pitch was invaded. There was no point staying and doing it all again. i'm sure he was sick as a small hospital.

I was thinking that about the Pats linebacker corps alright. I'd nearly expect Bruschi to retire, and maybe Seau as well. I imagine the Pats will pay Randy Moss, and Brady and Maroney will be around. They'll still be a force next year.