Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tyronelass on January 29, 2008, 05:27:23 PM

Title: Dustin set for Eurovision
Post by: Tyronelass on January 29, 2008, 05:27:23 PM

From http://www.rte.ie/arts/2008/0129/eurovision.html

Dustin going for Eurovision gold?
One week after the deadline for submitting potential Eurovision songs to RTÉ, rumours are rife of an unusual entry.

Newspapers are reporting that Dustin the Turkey is one of the contenders, with his song '12 Points' ('Douze Points'), which may in itself be a tongue-in-cheek parody of all things Eurovision.

If the Dustin rumour is true, and he is selected for the Irish final, it will mean that the remaining five Eurosong finalists have to face one of the country's biggest and best-known stars in the race for Belgrade, where the 53rd Eurovision Song Contest will take place in May.

'The Den' legend, who has been an RTÉ star since 1990, has outlasted his fellow puppets on the show, Zig and Zag, and four human co-hosts: Ian Dempsey, Ray D'Arcy, Damien McCaul and Francis Boylan Jr.

The entertainer has previously released six albums and dueted with a number of singers including Bob Geldof, Chris De Burgh, Ronnie Drew, Dervla Kirwan and the late Joe Dolan.

Ireland still holds the record as the country with the biggest number of Eurovision wins, with seven awards.

After a disappointing last place result in 2007, RTÉ assembled a committee of music and media professionals, including 1992 Eurovision winner Linda Martin, to review the broadcaster's strategy for selecting the 2008 entry.

RTÉ received some 150 submissions and the committee will select six entries that will compete in Eurosong, which RTÉ will broadcast from Limerick in February.

Title: Re: Dustin set for Eurovision
Post by: Puckoon on January 29, 2008, 05:30:15 PM
Dustin, classic.

Cant find any on youtube, but that song he did with Joe Dolan was cracker. He gets my vote.

Post by: full back on January 29, 2008, 05:33:17 PM
He couldnt do any worse than the rest of the muppets that are on it
Post by: Rav67 on January 29, 2008, 05:33:59 PM
I loved "32 counties and 40 shades of green"- video was hilarious.  I remember around that time a fella in my class actually had the Dustin album, it was called "Poultry in Motion"!  Gets my vote too.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 29, 2008, 05:37:23 PM
Joking aside, thats the sort of gimmicky shite that does very well in the Eurovision these days.
Post by: Square Ball on January 29, 2008, 05:56:06 PM
is Dustin not some sort of vulture, Oh he would get my vote, a legend indeed
Post by: Darndale Anto on January 29, 2008, 05:59:20 PM
Alrigh buds i think it be bleedin rapid if dustin da turkey done de eurvision...or maybe Sprial the deadly rapper from big brother straight out of Finglas shud be da man to do it he is bleedin deadly man im tellin yeez
Post by: AZOffaly on January 29, 2008, 06:01:53 PM
Ah Jaysus.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 29, 2008, 06:03:28 PM
Story bud

Post by: Darndale Anto on January 29, 2008, 06:07:14 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 29, 2008, 06:03:28 PM
Story bud

alrigh bud wats da bleedin story
Post by: qub la la la on January 29, 2008, 06:18:19 PM
dustin da torkey is bleedin great.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 29, 2008, 06:25:10 PM
He'll do better than John Walters and Dervish, no matter how bad he is.

Lord above that was awful shite last year.
Post by: Puckoon on January 29, 2008, 09:26:36 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on January 29, 2008, 05:33:59 PM
I loved "32 counties and 40 shades of green"- video was hilarious.  I remember around that time a fella in my class actually had the Dustin album, it was called "Poultry in Motion"!  Gets my vote too.

I have his faith of our feathers album. Quality tunes

"Catriona will ye stop it, yer like a red setter breadin down me neck"
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 07, 2008, 08:55:38 AM
The countdown continues to Ireland making a turkey of itself.

'Irelande Douze Pointe', sung by Dustin, a fowl-mouthed turkey puppet with a thick north Dublin accent, is now hot favourite with the bookies to win Ireland's national song contest, as the country's entry for Eurovision in Belgrade in May.

Dustin has been a star of RTÉ's The Den since 1990, and hosts his own show, Dustin's Daily News.

He has a keen interest in politics and despite never officially standing, his name has appeared on Irish election ballot papers as a protest vote.

Dustin has already released 14 singles and six albums.

His last album - Bling When You're Minging - was released in 2005 and featured the duet with Chris De Burgh, Patricia The Stripper.

His entry draws strongly on the campness of the Eurovision, featuring the lyrics: "Shake your feathers and pop your beak, shake it to the west and to the east/wave Eurohands and Euro-feet, wave them in the air to the turkey beat."

Lads, it's a Saturday night, albeit in Lent, half the country's gonna be voting for Dustin after a few beers and bottles of vino in them.  Jaysus, Mary and Joseph.
Post by: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 09:42:58 AM
Great, hope he does win it, the Eurovision is a joke anyway. We must be about the only ones who still take it seriously.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 07, 2008, 10:56:58 AM
fair play to the bird thats what i say, hope he wins the fecking thing it will be the only bleeding time you will hear me cheering on a dub ;)
Post by: red hander on February 07, 2008, 12:40:08 PM
'is Dustin not some sort of vulture, Oh he would get my vote, a legend indeed'

He's a vulture who thinks he's a turkey.  He got me through a nine-month-period of unemployment in the Nineties, would have went up the wall but for The Den on RTE...

The laugh of it is, Phil Coulter - writer of the Puppet On A String (the most misogynist song ever) and Ireland's Call (universally despised dreadful dirge) - was on this morning on radio whingeing how this would damage Eurovision and no-one would take it seriously ever again ... what an eejit!

Post by: pintsofguinness on February 07, 2008, 07:26:47 PM
Dustin is probably one of the most talented personalities in Irish television.

I liked Zig and Zag and socky (arent he and Dustin brothers - in real life?) too.
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 07:28:20 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 07, 2008, 07:26:47 PM
Dustin is probably one of the most talented personalities in Irish television.

He's brilliant.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 07, 2008, 07:26:47 PM
I liked Zig and Zag

Like a lot of Irish celebrities, they cleared off to England.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 07, 2008, 07:32:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 09:42:58 AM
Great, hope he does win it, the Eurovision is a joke anyway. We must be about the only ones who still take it seriously.

I think you'll find that Ireland haven't taken it seriously in years, and it shows.  It is however, taken deadly serious in other parts of Europe.
As for Dustin's entry, it's not up to his usual standard. It is actually quite cringeworthy. It's here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTYnk3vneI0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTYnk3vneI0)
Post by: Evil Genius on February 07, 2008, 07:45:05 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 07, 2008, 12:40:08 PM
Phil Coulter - writer of the Puppet On A String (the most misogynist song ever)

I know that this is a bit of a deviation, but this intrigued me sufficiently to google the lyrics:

I wonder if one day that, you'll say that, you care
If you say you love me madly, I'll gladly, be there
Like a puppet on a string

Love is just like a merry-go-round
With all the fun in the air
One day I'm feeling down on the ground
Then I'm up in the air
Are you leading me on?
Tomorrow will you be gone?

If you love me madly, I'll gladly, be there

I may win on the roundabout
Then I'll lose on the swings
In or out, there is never a doubt
Just who's pulling the strings
I'm all tied up to you
But where's it leading me to?

Like a puppet on a..... string

There isn't one single reference to the gender of the singer i.e. it could just as easily be sung by a man. And either way, it's hardly extreme of someone to say that he/she is so in love with someone that they're powerless to resist them.

Anyhow, off the top of my head, the song is nowhere near so bad as e.g. "Stand By Your Man",  or "So long as he needs me" (from "Oliver")

Sometimes its hard to be a woman
Giving all your love to just one man
You'll have bad times
And he'll have good times
Doing things that you don't understand
But if you love him you'll forgive him
Even though he's hard to understand
And if you love him
Oh be proud of him
'Cause after all he's just a man
Stand by your man
Give him two arms to cling to
And something warm to come to
When nights are cold and lonely
Stand by your man
And tell the world you love him
Keep giving all the love you can
Stand by your man
And show the world you love him
Keep giving all the love you can
Stand by your man

As long as he needs me...
Oh, yes, he does need me...
In spite of what you see...
...I'm sure that he needs me.

Who else would love him still
When they've been used so ill?
He knows I always will...
As long as he needs me.

I miss him so much when he is gone,
But when he's near me
I don't let on...

...The way I feel inside.
The love, I have to hide...
The hell! I've gone my pride
As long as he needs me.

He doesn't say the things he should.
He acts the way he thinks he should.
But all the same,
I'll play
This game
His way.

As long as he needs me...
I know where I must be.
I'll cling on steadfastly...
As long as he needs me.

As long as life is long...
I'll love him right or wrong,
And somehow, I'll be strong...
As long as he needs me.

If you are lonely
Then you will know...

When someone needs you,
You love them so.

I won't betray his trust...
Though people say I must.

I've got to stay true, just
As long as he needs me.

Note that Nancy, the singer of the above song, is eventually battered to death by the man she is singing about, Bill Sykes - one of the most vicious brutes in literature...

P.S. Eurovision = Loada Shite. Ireland certainly missed out formerly by not adopting "My Lovely Horse" as an entry, but it sounds like Dustin would be an equally appropriate comment on what is probably TV's biggest single waste of airtime, ever.
Post by: Square Ball on February 07, 2008, 09:15:30 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 07, 2008, 07:32:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 09:42:58 AM

I think you'll find that Ireland haven't taken it seriously in years, and it shows.  It is however, taken deadly serious in other parts of Europe.
As for Dustin's entry, it's not up to his usual standard. It is actually quite cringeworthy. It's here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTYnk3vneI0 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lTYnk3vneI0)

Please dont enter that song, its embarressing
Post by: balladmaker on February 08, 2008, 01:02:07 AM
Excuse my ignorance but who is the voice of Dustin anyway?  Sounds a bit like Joe Duffy.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:51:25 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on February 08, 2008, 01:02:07 AM
Excuse my ignorance but who is the voice of Dustin anyway?  Sounds a bit like Joe Duffy.

It aint Joe, they had good old chat about it on his show last week and he is most definately not in favour of the song being allowed.
Post by: red hander on February 08, 2008, 01:07:51 PM
'There isn't one single reference to the gender of the singer i.e. it could just as easily be sung by a man. And either way, it's hardly extreme of someone to say that he/she is so in love with someone that they're powerless to resist them.'

Technically correct, EG.  But I spose the fact it was sung at Eurovision by Sandie Shaw (who has subsequently disowned it because of its blatant sexism), was written by a man who, as far as I'm aware, isn't a friend of Dorothy, and there are no cover versions of it performed by male singers (though I stand to be corrected on this), I think it's fair to surmise what gender the song is aimed at.

I await your clinical deconstruction of the absolute pile of embarrassing steaming shite that is Ireland's Call with bated breath :-*
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 01:43:18 PM
Phil Coulter's a British turncoat anyhow.  He never wrote anything for Ireland but instead handed Congratulations over to Spliff Richard instead of giving it to Barry McGuigan's da.

At least Dana and Linda Martin know which side their bread is buttered on.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 08, 2008, 01:58:37 PM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 01:43:18 PM
Phil Coulter's a British turncoat anyhow.  He never wrote anything for Ireland but instead handed Congratulations over to Spliff Richard instead of giving it to Barry McGuigan's da.

At least Dana and Linda Martin know which side their bread is buttered on.

Cliff was welcome to it! And yes, Dana and Linda Martin, how great are they?  :D

As for never writing anything for Ireland, didn't Phil pen Ireland's Call? (*ducks for cover*)
Post by: ziggysego on February 08, 2008, 02:01:44 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 08, 2008, 01:58:37 PM
As for never writing anything for Ireland, didn't Phil pen Ireland's Call? (*ducks for cover*)

(http://mrzine.monthlyreview.org/frankenstein_villagers488.jpg)
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 02:04:10 PM
Well, I think Red Hurley or Twink would have done a better job on congrats anyday of the week.

I wouldn't kick either of them out of bed. Dana and Linda Martin that is.

Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 08, 2008, 02:05:43 PM
Didn't Phil write "The Town I loved So Well?" One of the best Irish ballads of the past 50 years.  Always brings a tear to my eye, that one.
Post by: Hardy on February 08, 2008, 02:23:45 PM
Did I not hear a Wolfe Tones cover of Puppet on a String? Warhol donned a mini-skirt and took off his shoes for it and all. But you couldn't see past the beard.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 02:28:39 PM
How short was his skirt, Hardy?
Post by: Hardy on February 08, 2008, 02:37:19 PM
You could see his banjo.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 02:38:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 08, 2008, 02:22:05 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on February 08, 2008, 02:05:43 PM
Didn't Phil write "The Town I loved So Well?" One of the best Irish ballads of the past 50 years.  Always brings a tear to my eye, that one.
A member of this board believes that Mr. Coulter may have had a hidden agenda when penning this song.

Indulge me Hardstation.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 02:42:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 08, 2008, 02:37:19 PM
You could see his banjo.

Was he playing Dixie on it, or just whistling?
Post by: Hardy on February 08, 2008, 02:44:13 PM
I know they're a bit of a freak show, but that's ridiculous.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 08, 2008, 03:02:35 PM
Was that song not Scorn not his simplicity? or Shang-a-lang?
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 03:07:33 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 08, 2008, 03:00:40 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 02:38:35 PM
A member of this board believes that Mr. Coulter may have had a hidden agenda when penning this song.

Indulge me Hardstation.

Quote from: ONeill on February 08, 2008, 12:10:29 AM
Phil Coulter wrote a song so romantic he knows he can ride any woman in Derry if he plays it.

:D :D :D :D

Wonderful theory!
Post by: thejuice on February 08, 2008, 03:27:54 PM
Maybe we should send Shane McGowen, he could fall around the stage, muttering incoherently and then urinate and vomit on himself. For sheer effect it would be brilliant, and another fantastic low for a redundant talent show, where the moniker "Song-contest" gets more ironic as the years pass.

Whats so funny is that for a contest thats meant to show-case songwriting talent, the lack of it is what marks the show. From the very begining to the most recent times there has been nothing but rubbish on the Eurovison, its relevence in musical terms is zero. Its in a world of its own, where genuine talents will not touch it for fear of it killing any credibility they have as artists. Sending a rubber turkey would be most fitting in the pantheon of Eurovision entrants.
Post by: Evil Genius on February 08, 2008, 05:30:54 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 08, 2008, 01:07:51 PM
'There isn't one single reference to the gender of the singer i.e. it could just as easily be sung by a man. And either way, it's hardly extreme of someone to say that he/she is so in love with someone that they're powerless to resist them.'

Technically correct, EG.  But I spose the fact it was sung at Eurovision by Sandie Shaw (who has subsequently disowned it because of its blatant sexism), was written by a man who, as far as I'm aware, isn't a friend of Dorothy, and there are no cover versions of it performed by male singers (though I stand to be corrected on this), I think it's fair to surmise what gender the song is aimed at.

I await your clinical deconstruction of the absolute pile of embarrassing steaming shite that is Ireland's Call with bated breath :-*

Actually, POAS was written jointly by Coulter and Bill Martin, so perhaps the latter was responsible (at least in part) for the lyrics?

Anyhow, remind me again, but where is the "blatant sexism" allegedly referred to again by Shaw? And how does this "blatant sexism" make it the "most misogynist song ever written" over e.g. the two examples I gave?

As for no male ever performing the song, I daresay you're right, but that's hardly surprising considering it was an enormous international hit, associated with one particular female star of the day. Anyhow, the 100-odd other artistes, presumably all women, who have covered the song must somehow have overlooked the "blatant sexism", too.

Very odd comment, I must say.  ???

P.S. No great fan of "Ireland's Call". It doesn't inspire me; then again, it doesn't offend me so much as it appears to do for you, either. Oh well. One man's bland musical effort is another's "absolute pile of embarrassing steaming shite", it seems...

Late Edit: Just found the following on Sandie Shaw's own website - "Puppets Got a Brand New String"
http://www.sandieshaw.com/shop/downloads/tracks/16/Puppets_Got_A_Brand_New_String
From the brief download (I prefer to save my £0.70), it seems she's done a new version to celebrate her 60th Birthday. It must have been her Svengali of a husband, fashion designer Jeff Banks, who made her do it... ::)
Post by: red hander on February 08, 2008, 06:08:07 PM
EG, you must be a statistician (I know you're an anal retentive, probably the biggest anal retenetive on the board), so you won't mind me asking for you to list the '100-odd other artistes, presumably women, who have covered the song',

thanks
Post by: Evil Genius on February 08, 2008, 07:15:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 08, 2008, 06:08:07 PM
EG, you must be a statistician (I know you're an anal retentive, probably the biggest anal retenetive on the board), so you won't mind me asking for you to list the '100-odd other artistes, presumably women, who have covered the song',

thanks

No, not a statistician, but I've got this amazing secret Computer Programme which gives me incredible knowledge and power. It's called "Google":
"In the late 1960s, he [Phil Coulter] formed a writing partnership with Bill Martin and from this union several memorable songs would emerge. They wrote Sandie Shaw's Eurovision Song Contest winning entry, "Puppet on a String" (1967), which went on to become an international hit with more than 100 cover versions."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phil_Coulter

As for Shaw hating POAS for it's "misogyny", I daresay she became sick at the sound of it, but at least she was honest enough to admit:
"It is a song which has been the source of much grief, hilarity, circumspection and I have to admit, financial reward for many years."
(And if the "financial reward" was the reason for her re-recording it on her 60th Birthday, then so much for her solidarity with the Sisterhhod, eh?)

Anyhow, can you enlighten me further on the extent of blatant sexism and misogyny of the lyrics, and how these make it so much worse than the two alternative examples I provided for you, indeed, the most misogynist song ever written?

Post by: red hander on February 08, 2008, 07:27:26 PM
Well, do you want engage your googletron and give me the 100-odd artistes who have covered the song, or are you just talking shite as usual?
Post by: ziggysego on February 08, 2008, 07:38:25 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on February 08, 2008, 07:15:09 PM
No, not a statistician, but I've got this amazing secret Computer Programme which gives me incredible knowledge and power. It's called "Google":

Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 09, 2008, 10:48:48 PM
When will the winner be announced?  By the way Hard Station; the innuendo about Phill Coulter is uncalled for.
Post by: balladmaker on February 10, 2008, 12:55:58 AM
Hardy.....I recommend counselling for that chip on your shoulder.  Can't be good for you.  :o
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on February 10, 2008, 08:35:52 AM

What was the hidden agenda? Trying to embarrass the f**k out of Derry people. I love to watch them cringe when someone starts sing it.
Post by: Hardy on February 10, 2008, 10:31:22 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on February 10, 2008, 12:55:58 AM
Hardy.....I recommend counselling for that chip on your shoulder.  Can't be good for you.  :o

It worked again!
Post by: mick999 on February 10, 2008, 11:39:31 AM
Red Hander, EG was wrong :-) but not about Google

There are 252 cover versions of "puppet on a string" and you'll find them all here

http://rapidshare.com/files/41482259/1967_PUPPET_ON_A_STRING_coverversions.doc (http://rapidshare.com/files/41482259/1967_PUPPET_ON_A_STRING_coverversions.doc)

1967   PUPPET ON A STRING - (252) COVERVERSIONS - any corrections and additions are welcome!

http://eurocovers.blogspot.com/search?q=puppet+on+a+string (http://eurocovers.blogspot.com/search?q=puppet+on+a+string)
Post by: Lecale2 on February 10, 2008, 12:21:48 PM
Luke Kelly

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55OBEs98Pj4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55OBEs98Pj4)
Post by: balladmaker on February 10, 2008, 02:12:07 PM
QuoteIt worked again!

Post by: Evil Genius on February 10, 2008, 02:58:00 PM
Quote from: mick999 on February 10, 2008, 11:39:31 AM
Red Hander, EG was wrong :-) but not about Google

There are 252 cover versions of "puppet on a string" and you'll find them all here

http://rapidshare.com/files/41482259/1967_PUPPET_ON_A_STRING_coverversions.doc (http://rapidshare.com/files/41482259/1967_PUPPET_ON_A_STRING_coverversions.doc)

1967   PUPPET ON A STRING - (252) COVERVERSIONS - any corrections and additions are welcome!

http://eurocovers.blogspot.com/search?q=puppet+on+a+string (http://eurocovers.blogspot.com/search?q=puppet+on+a+string)

Careful, Mick! I've already been accused by RH of being "anally retentive" - he'll be onto you for being the same, only with the computer skills to make a real go of it!

Anyhow, RH, if you're still out there, any chance of your playing the ball, instead of the man?

To refresh your memory, you were the person who claimed POAS to be the "most misogynist song ever written" and hated by Sandie Shaw. Whereas, my listing the lyrics indicates it at worst to be mildly sexist (though not especially so by the standards of the time) and provoking mixed feelings in Shaw, such that she has since re-recorded it.

And whilst you're on the subject, care to tell me how POAS is worse than either of the two examples I quoted. Or half the country songs ever written?

And also whether Coulter even wrote the lyrics?

And whether any of the 252 cover versions were sung by a man? (I can't open Mick's link). If they have, then it can hardly be misogynist and if they haven't, there are presumably 250-odd female singers who are happy enough to be misogynists.

No hurry, btw, in case you're too busy dispensing the contents of your own anus elsewhere... ::)
Post by: doire na raithe on February 23, 2008, 07:29:08 PM
Did anyone just see that? I was expecting something good but that was absolutely amazing. Definately the funniest thing iv'e seen on Irish television in a long time. Dustin totally turning the Irish aspect of the competition on its head and with a complete piss-take.

I didn't catch the numbers to vote? does anyone know them? I think he deserves all our support. From a competitive point of view, the way the eurovision is nowadays its probably the only sort of offering that would have any chance of actually winning.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2008, 07:43:25 PM
Ah f**k sake, did I miss Dustin?!

I really hope he gets it!
Post by: ONeill on February 23, 2008, 07:56:37 PM
This is hilarious - the whole show is a farce but brilliant.

Louis - 'She's not a man' .....
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 23, 2008, 09:52:13 PM
Dustin wins!

Now for the great Euro irony test  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2008, 09:59:06 PM
Dana's face  :D
Post by: LaurelEye on February 23, 2008, 10:13:19 PM
QuoteNow for the great Euro irony test   ::)

Well, it's promising that the Serbian one seemed to get the joke - unlike Louis Walsh and Dana.

QuoteDana's face :D

Like a bulldog licking p*ss off a nettle. Hope no-one had any milk in front of the television.

Thought it was bad form for some of the audience to continue to boo Dustin after he'd won. But maybe that's because I'm from a place where we've had plenty of practice in having to take a beating.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2008, 10:18:23 PM
I thought Walsh seemed ok about it.

Wtf where people booing at?  Where any of those people there tonight going to do any better than Dustin?!  I would doubt it.

Was Dana trying to be ironic when she said it was a "foul decision"  :D
Post by: FermGael on February 23, 2008, 10:25:49 PM
on turbidy now.
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2008, 11:35:23 PM
On wan ya gud thang!
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on February 23, 2008, 11:54:09 PM
it is all one big joke
Post by: LaurelEye on February 24, 2008, 12:14:22 AM
Quote from: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on February 23, 2008, 11:54:09 PM
the ones booing were either family members or friends of the other artists OR the big gay lobby that follows eurovision(they were supporting donal, one of their own)

The first guy? Yeah, he seemed to have a big following. God knows why, because he couldn't hold a note in a bucket.  ::)

Quotethe song is miles better than john waters turkey in 2007.

He's a better singer than yer wan too. Though that's not exactly high praise, is it?  ;D
Post by: Seany on February 24, 2008, 10:13:28 AM
Note how Ray Darcy(who did a very good job last night) did not mention Brian Kennedy in his lost of Irish Eurovision entries.  he just totally skipped 2006 when he was reading his roll of honour, if you want to call it that.  This is because Kennedy's career has been in total freefall since he sang in Eurovision and reckons it was total suicide to have done it.  Here we have a singer who was fairly on top of his game entring the eurovision and it giving him the complete kiss of death. 

Kennedy must have sent word to RTE not to mention him, just in case it reminds people of his alarming lapse in judgement.  Actually the song he sang 'Every song is a cry for love' not only being utter shite, was also a total lie.  eg How could 'High Voltage Rock and Roll' be a cry for love, or 'A;ternative Ulster'.  He shouldn't have been allowed to tell a lie on stage.  That's sinful.  We couldn't have luck after that.  God made Dustin win to pay us back for putting someone to Eurovision who was breaking a commandment. (though I can't think of a commandment that says 'Thou shalt not tell Lies')  Gettin confused now...

PS - Anyone elso notice how Plank kenny managed to take a show he was handed on a plate last Sat. night and make a complete balls of it.  ALl those stars on the show and the next thing he's interviewing a pack of monks and then some clapped out rugby player who writes kiddies books.

Jaysus
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on February 24, 2008, 11:17:17 AM
I always reckoned Kennedy was very over rated. A long haired Daniel O'Donnell
Post by: Billys Boots on February 24, 2008, 11:55:55 AM
If the Eurovision was a high-school movie, we are now officially Napoleon Dynamite - can't be all bad!!  ;D
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 24, 2008, 01:10:54 PM
It's on the main BBC news webpage now.
Post by: From the Bunker on February 24, 2008, 01:35:23 PM
Dustin song is pure Sh~te. Popularity vote! No one in Europe will get it, as he is a has been, local hero! This must be the third puppeteer at this stage doing Dustin. Dana and Louis deserved to be part of the total farce and the Serbian Chick looked totally bemused at the Duck!
Post by: Louth Exile on February 24, 2008, 02:00:24 PM
I never vote in these things (never even watch them), but watched last night and voted for Dustin. The members of the audience who booed him through out were pathetic, they may have ben family members of other contenders bu that is no excuse. They were beaten fair and square, the people have spoken. Go on ya gud thing
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 02:09:34 PM
QuoteDustin song is pure Sh~te. Popularity vote! No one in Europe will get it, as he is a has been, local hero! This must be the third puppeteer at this stage doing Dustin.

Who should we have sent instead?
The eurovision is a joke, sending Dustin means we're getting in on the joke.  The general public here don't take it seriously, I'd imagine a lot of countries are the same, as a result Dustin could do quite well. 
What do you mean it's the third puppeteer doing Dustin? No it's not.
Post by: ziggysego on February 24, 2008, 03:24:52 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 24, 2008, 01:10:54 PM
It's on the main BBC news webpage now.

hehe

Apparently the sing is being released as a single and it favourite to be number 1 across Europe.
Post by: ziggysego on February 24, 2008, 09:51:12 PM
Dustin on Sky News! Brilliant stuff  :D

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=lSGNdVmJHic&NR=1 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=lSGNdVmJHic&NR=1)
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2008, 10:00:24 PM
Thats great stuff ziggy.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 24, 2008, 10:04:10 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 24, 2008, 09:51:12 PM
Dustin on Sky News! Brilliant stuff  :D

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=lSGNdVmJHic&NR=1 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=lSGNdVmJHic&NR=1)
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on February 25, 2008, 07:57:16 AM
Just saw a news clip on Dustin's bid for eurovision glory on Channel 7 in australia!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 25, 2008, 09:50:19 AM
Sorry to yank Dustin's Euro-glory neck here but apparently the Eurocrats are investigating whether to put a hold on his entry because only humans can enter this competition to unite all sections of our peoples (in song).

There may be trouble ahead - and Dusty still has to get through the semi-finals too, don't forget.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 25, 2008, 10:17:47 AM
The Eurovision is a joke so Dustin is perfect for it.  Anyhow, our real songwriting talent are too busy winning Oscars to be bothered with the Eurovision.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 10:26:02 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 25, 2008, 09:50:19 AM
Sorry to yank Dustin's Euro-glory neck here but apparently the Eurocrats are investigating whether to put a hold on his entry because only humans can enter this competition to unite all sections of our peoples (in song).

There may be trouble ahead - and Dusty still has to get through the semi-finals too, don't forget.

Sure didn't Mr. Blobby enter for the UK back in the 90s?
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 25, 2008, 10:30:45 AM
Who? Michael ball?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 10:32:24 AM
No, the original Mr. Blobby. The pink lad with the yellow spots. The song was something ridiculous like 'Blobby Blobby Blobby'.

Pure muck altogether.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on February 25, 2008, 10:35:42 AM
'Pink lad with the yellow spots' sounds like a Darren Graham story again.

I can't mind yer blob in the Euro. Sure it is muck but isn't that the point of us being in it.
Post by: ziggysego on February 25, 2008, 10:36:03 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 10:32:24 AM
No, the original Mr. Blobby. The pink lad with the yellow spots. The song was something ridiculous like 'Blobby Blobby Blobby'.

Pure muck altogether.

No, that was just a single. Wasn't for Eurovision.
Post by: ziggysego on February 25, 2008, 04:42:28 PM
Dustin the turkey dished by Dana

Eurovision winner Dana has called for Ireland to pull out of the international song contest.

Her call followed the news that puppet Dustin the Turkey will be representing Ireland in the competition.

Dana's career began when she won the 1970 Eurovision with "All Kinds of Everything", but she thinks the contest is in danger of imploding.

"I just think it's making a mockery of the contest and if we think it's such a big joke then let's get out of it".

She added: "Certainly don't put a turkey in a trolley up against singers who are desperately trying to make a way in their career."

Dustin has been a star of RTE's The Den since 1990, and it's hoped his performance of "Irelande Douze Pointe" will ruffle some feathers across the continent.

The turkey certainly has some fans, including RTE's deputy commissioning editor, Julian Vignoles. He thinks the public just wanted something different this year.

"The contest has changed over the years, it's moved with the times, televoting has brought it to a different level.

"Something that makes an impact on the stage is as likely to win as a well-crafted song".

But it's the prospect of Dustin's success that Dana is worried by.

"The problem is they love puppets in Europe. If, God forbid he wins, we'll probably have more puppets than people in next year's Eurovision," she said.

Sourced BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7262604.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7262604.stm)

Up her own arse that one!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 04:46:02 PM
Quotetelevoting has brought it to a different level.

He doesn't say whether it's up a level, or down a level. :D

I love this line from Dana, it's kind of surreal ...
Quote"The problem is they love puppets in Europe.

Post by: Gnevin on February 25, 2008, 10:40:23 PM
Here's hoping he wears his Dublin Jersey while sing at the Eurovision
Post by: ziggysego on February 26, 2008, 01:28:55 AM
I know they're going for tacky Gnevin, but that's going over board.
Post by: Billys Boots on February 26, 2008, 10:07:48 AM
I loved whan Dustin was asked on Morning Ireland how he felt about Dana's comments - he replied 'meself and Dana have a lot in common; after all we both ran for the presidency as a joke'.  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 26, 2008, 01:24:49 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on February 26, 2008, 10:07:48 AM
I loved whan Dustin was asked on Morning Ireland how he felt about Dana's comments - he replied 'meself and Dana have a lot in common; after all we both ran for the presidency as a joke'.  :D

:D  :D  :D
Post by: ziggysego on February 29, 2008, 03:05:09 PM
Dustin is back on the main page of BBC News, as part of this week's 'Weird News'  :D