GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Zulu on January 26, 2008, 12:42:45 AM

Title: The best score YOU ever scored
Post by: Zulu on January 26, 2008, 12:42:45 AM
There are numerous topics about fellas favourite score on this site, well how about lads  posting memories of their own favourite score. My own was a county minor final, I was only 16 and I hit a beaut with the outside of the boot from about 25m (though it's getting longer each year). I'll probably come baqck with others but man that was special. Anyone else willing to relive their glory years?
Title: Re: The best score YOU ever scored
Post by: ONeill on January 26, 2008, 12:49:02 AM
Mine, was in a game against (always was) Stewartstown in the minor semi-final. I got a bollocking at HT for being lazy. First min of second half, won a breaking ball on 21, turned marker and bottom of net, low and hard like a terrior's tool,  from 14. Within a minute knocked over point from distance. One of those periods when confidence was in abundance. Receive a clip soon after. Never recovered.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 26, 2008, 12:55:44 AM
We were 4 points down to our deadliest local rivals (Silverbridge) in an u16 championship semi final. Our midfielder had just caught the ball in midfield and ran 40 yards with the ball before scoring a goal. He was a verge of doing the same again but he was held up by defenders about 13 yards out. He slipped the ball to me and I hammered it home. Then I got another scrappier goal 2 minutes later and we won by 2 points. Was absolutely brilliant and no doubt was the highlight of my otherwise far from illustrious career.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on January 26, 2008, 12:59:57 AM
Mine was a Gary Lineker toe poke playing football (Real GAA football). Don't score goals too often.
Post by: Zulu on January 26, 2008, 01:08:18 AM
Sorry lads but I'll have to have another go, it was a schools match and about 5 minutes earlier a team-mate had missed a good goal scoring chance, now, from a similar position the chance fell to me and I hung it up, maybe it was my imagination or I'm adding legs to the story in my older years but I was sure my teacher/coach said 'that's how you you finish a goal chance' as I was wheeling away.
Post by: J70 on January 26, 2008, 01:14:24 AM
Scored plenty of beauts in soccer, but I think I've only two or three points to my name in gaelic (:-[), all from around 30 yards out in front in front of the posts (I was a corner back, and stopped playing gaelic once I went to college).
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2008, 02:32:20 AM
The best score I never scored was a storming run from our own 40 right up to the 21 where I was unceremoniously dumped on my ring by the fullback for St Pius Magherafelt as I was about to pull the trigger. Our wing half back knocked over the resulting free.
Post by: Tyrones own on January 26, 2008, 02:42:35 AM

Best score for me was up behind the club in Blackwatertown in the back of Sam Millers bus ;) ;D
actually not too many to note as i played corner back most of my playing days and didn't venture too far.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 26, 2008, 03:17:10 PM
Scored the winning point from the end line in a game at Gaelic Park New York years ago. The commentator at the time in Gaelic Park was Tommy Smith from ESPN he said "FL/Mayo scores a great point he can scarcely believe it himself", the fecker I did mean it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 26, 2008, 04:38:17 PM
A 21year old Swedish girl in Copper Face Jacks one night
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2008, 05:27:11 PM
Laoislad, didnt your girl get mad one day when you mentioned seeing a movie with another girl years before you met her? Youd better wipe that last comment off there before she comes on the board.
Post by: Hardy on January 26, 2008, 05:31:51 PM
Ah it's OK. You could believe the one about going to the pictures.
Post by: The Claw on January 26, 2008, 06:32:38 PM
Hurling - big high catch about 45 yards out, went on a solo run up to the 21, an opponent came in to dunt me in the back, another came to block from the front. Got the shot away , ended up face down on the turf, looked up just in time to see the sliotar fizz inside the left post.It doesnt have a happy ending though, we lost...
Football: (Note:I've a rep for not being able to hit a cow's arse with a banjo) Minor championship, out on the left, about 10 metres from the sideline, off the inside of my left foot (my good one, im not that lucky),sailed over, Sweeet
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 26, 2008, 06:59:40 PM
Dublin schools U18 semi-final running across the 22 when the ball played in and the full forward missed it - connected first time pull in the air and rocketed in off the post/crossbar.....total fluke
Football playing for Lux in Brussels - 7-a-side - hit a sideline ball with the outside of right foot straight over the bar from right hand side - ref cancelled score for being in own half (playing small pitch obviously)
Post by: youngfella on January 26, 2008, 07:57:46 PM
Best goal happened to be the best match too, I dip the ball at the side line out near the 21. I go round my man and then the big full back comes out to do me i sidestep the lad and drill the ball into the net by the near post. In the game I set-up three other goal's. We win. The next game I'm on the bench watching the mangers son get skinned... still hurts me to this day. 
Post by: Gold on January 26, 2008, 09:27:01 PM
in primary school as a 10yo high ball came in about 30 yards out, i stayed knowing the ball would bounce over the full back who went to it--ran onto bal 25 yards out with only the keeper to beat--(no better feeling in the world is there?!) keeper came flying out i toe-tapped it over keeper's head the fisted it in to empty net as it came down--have never 4got it and still tell the keeper about it who ended up going to my secondary school!

one more--championship debut for club-- ball came out to me 20 yards out out after being crashed against bar by a teammate--i wa running towards goal fast, collected ball--full-back and keeper in front of me--went to blast it--full back and keeper dived to block it-both landed on their holes as i toe tapped it back into my hand--calmly stroked it into net in the summer sun

wouldnt it be great if life was like that every day
Post by: bennydorano on January 27, 2008, 02:50:12 AM
funny as a football nazi my best memory is in hurling for st pats armagh v st michaels enniskillen, neither hurling srongholds, but in the first half(as CHB) I would have embarassed a munster man, cheeky bastard manger said he wished he'd never took me off at HT.
Post by: parttimeexile on January 28, 2008, 08:16:09 AM
The best score I ever got was a free kick from about 45 Yards out in an U16 match.It was a draw at the time and the referee came over and said it was the last kick of the game. Put it over the black spot. It was some feeling.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 28, 2008, 08:43:02 AM
My first game for the parish - 8 yrs old, making up the numbers on an U14 team playing the swamp critters.  We got hammered, and I got our only score, a fisted goal - I got ate by our midfielder, whose 'shot' I had helped into the net; he claimed it would have been a 'good goal' if I hadn't 'got in the way'.  When I started playing in earnest, I was the keeper, though I reckon I got a couple more scores over the years (though it might have been in me dreams).
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 28, 2008, 08:50:11 AM
1999 v Ballina, not known for my scoring I burst past a few Mayo stragglers and knocked it over from 35 yards out on the Cusack Stand side.  Easy enough for a normal player, legendary for me.  Helped kick start a poor display into a winning one.

2000, Parnell Park.  Long ball from midfield, John Mac I thinkkeeper and FB heitated,i didn't punched ball into the Ucc net while the two gombeens ran into each other.
Post by: CC1 on January 28, 2008, 08:55:47 AM
Best score I ever got was in a Junior B game. I got the ball on the left hand side at the very sideline on the 13 yard line, hit the ball with the outside of my left boot. One of the lads shouted at me as if to say I had fucked it up (the ball looked to be going ten yards wide) and that I should have passed to him. The ball curled all the way in and I pointed at the umpire, he turned around in disbelief and said "good point man!".  :D

Scored one at u12 level from a free at midfield against Killygarry. Wind was blowing right across the pitch so I had to take it into account too. Ball started out 10 yards wide of the left post and ended up going over the black spot. We beat them by nine points that day, I scored 2-1 and had a goal disallowed for heading the ball into the net (still not sure why that didn't count!)

Best goal I ever scored was against Paul O'Dowd (Ulster medal winning keeper in 97) from 25 yards out with the outside of my left boot. The ball dipped and swerved right into the top corner. All he could do was look at it and wave bye bye! He turned around to me and said "holy fcuk"! Take that PODman! :D (all be it that this was in training).
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2008, 09:37:05 AM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=w4rZW1Ht9Qs

maybe not the best but, the only one I have proof of  ;D
Post by: Hardy on January 28, 2008, 11:08:54 AM
Juice - I thought you played for the Vincents?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on January 28, 2008, 11:16:04 AM
Best score I had was with a wench in Antrim one night...well if truth be told it was that good I went back for five more nights before she figured that i had only dirty thoughts in my head with no long term plan :D :D :D :D :-*
Post by: stpauls on January 28, 2008, 11:40:38 AM
been a 'keeper all my footballing life so i have no memorable scores to my name!  :'(
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 28, 2008, 02:22:04 PM
jaysus Juice there was some loose defending their! ya had three men inside ya ;)

in football mine was in an U16 match eight years ago, nice connection to the roof of the net. great move all the way up the field after keeper collected a kick that fell short. the manager (an ex Kildare legend) was raving about it.

in hurling (and im not a hurler!) i scored a humdinger off the sod in a schools match v roscommon cbs. the ball broke to me about 21 yards out and i just let rip. it had a little curl on it right into the top corner. delighted with myself.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 28, 2008, 03:21:28 PM
Not many memorable ones – although there is one I scored back in 2005 that I remember well.

Injury time of the game – Toronto league semi-final, up by a point, got the ball at about midfield on the right wing.
Half back was over-lapping me – busting a gut down the wing, calling for it – but he couldn't shoot for shit.
Got to the 40 and thought – have a go – if it goes dead – the game will be over. If it goes over – all the better.
Hit her a belt – and from the minute it left the laces I knew it was going over – got clattered as I hit it – then I heard the crowd cheer – I knew it was over.
Post by: vengaboy on January 28, 2008, 11:52:06 PM
Best point I ever got was this year in the league, a match near the end to keep us going for promotion.  I was completely steamin the night before and arrived late for the match so didn't start.  Second half we are a point down I come on as a sub, corner forward picks up the ball on the right sideline on the 13, throws it back to me, I cant be bothered doing anything else so I have a lash at it, clips the inside of the near post and goes over, magic.
Post by: stew on January 29, 2008, 02:10:09 AM
I scored two points as a sub in the County Junior final, I was injured but managed to score a  decent point with the right boot from 40 yards out and then about thirty seconds later I hit the point of my life with the outside of the left boot from 25 yards from a really I was carrying an injury on that spot from the drawn game and that was that. I was on the field for about six minutes and that was my last ever game of gaelic football, we lost by a couple of points. :'(

Post by: thejuice on January 29, 2008, 11:19:56 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 28, 2008, 11:08:54 AM
Juice - I thought you played for the Vincents?

i always will be at heart, but im living over in England at the minute, so Im playing with Roger Casements.
Post by: Hardy on January 29, 2008, 11:35:23 AM
I knew you were in England, but I thought that was an Ardcath-type voice I heard shouting "have a go". I thought I was hallucinating that the Vincents had changed from the Galway colours to the Down ones.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 29, 2008, 11:36:23 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 29, 2008, 11:35:23 AM
I knew you were in England, but I thought that was an Ardcath-type voice I heard shouting "have a go".

He must have been talking to himself  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 29, 2008, 11:57:43 AM
got a 180 once had a few pints on board  ;)
Post by: thejuice on January 29, 2008, 12:07:11 PM
No I was the only Meath man there let alone Ardcath man. That voice was our trainer Damian from Fermanagh. We were over in Tyrone playing against Loughmacrory in a challenge game. We were meant to play a game against Ballybofey the next but didnt happen which wasnt a bad thing as we were dyin.

Funnily enough Deel Rover, I had a few pints in me before that game in the video.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 29, 2008, 12:15:02 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 29, 2008, 12:07:11 PM
No I was the only Meath man there let alone Ardcath man. That voice was our trainer Damian from Fermanagh. We were over in Tyrone playing against Loughmacrory in a challenge game. We were meant to play a game against Ballybofey the next but didnt happen which wasnt a bad thing as we were dyin.

Funnily enough Deel Rover, I had a few pints in me before that game in the video.

You can't bate the few pints before a match? I remember years ago going back to Belmullet to play a league match, now most of the boys were at a wedding the night before and we had a job to get a team together. Well i was a sick as a small hospital but went back anyway (thought there might be a spot on the bench for me to keep warm) anyway i was picked to play and i asked the manager for a drink of water he gave me a bottle i took a huge drink from it only to realise it was poitin, thing is i had a stormer scored 3 points that day and i don't think we got back to Cross till  the following Tuesday ;) 
Post by: lfdown2 on January 29, 2008, 12:21:13 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 26, 2008, 03:17:10 PM
Scored the winning point from the end line in a game at Gaelic Park New York years ago. The commentator at the time in Gaelic Park was Tommy Smith from ESPN he said "FL/Mayo scores a great point he can scarcely believe it himself", the fecker I did mean it.

wouldnt listen til thon tool anyway, christ he's god awful!!!!!!
Post by: Orior on January 29, 2008, 01:26:11 PM
I once fisted a point down at Mullaghbawn in '82. Tis the only score I can remember, partially because of my poor memory but mainly because I have two left feet. Indeed, I dont buy flip-flops, I have to buy flip-flips.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on January 29, 2008, 01:39:46 PM
i remeber back heeling a goal against newbridge u/14 way back in 79
Post by: Champ15 on January 30, 2008, 02:17:38 PM
Best goal ive scored would have to be last summer in the senior champ.i got the ball around the 45 played a 1-2 with our midfielder played another 1-2 with our fullforward and was running across the face of the goal and with my left foot smashed it into the far bottom corner from the corner of the penalty box.have it on dvd and cant get sick of watchin it ;D
Post by: Over the Bar on January 30, 2008, 07:54:30 PM
T'was the MacRory cup, injury time 3 points down on a bad wet day.  The ball fell to me á la Seamus Darby.   I went thru one on one with the keeper and belted it so hard than when it hoit the crossbar the ball split it's seams and the inside shot over while the leather outer went under.   The ref blew it as 4 points and we won the game!   
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 31, 2008, 01:23:07 AM
My most memorable score was against our parish rivals Loughmacrory, some of there supporters had been giving me a bit of stick when suddenly I received possesion around 30 yards out turned and took on my man, the Lough keeper had moved out from his line so with the outside of the right I placed the ball over his head and into the net! this was followed with a little bit of a brolly celebration which did nt go down to well with my friends in the crowd, thank God there was a high fence :D

Also scored six points in the Senior final one year but still ended up on the losing side :( 
Post by: Aerlik on January 31, 2008, 02:35:51 AM
1982 Ulster U-16 club hurling final v. the hallions

Our full-back takes the puck-out where it lands around the midfield and our big mean man there half volleys it out to the right corner flag.  The cornerforward wins the race to the ball, scoops it up and drills it at head height to the edge of the wee square where I am being pulled and nipped by the bigger Hallion fullback.  Manage to get away for a split second and just pull first time to volley the ball to the net.  Took me a couple of seconds to realise where the ball was but then the roar of the crowd said it all.  As the Mid Ulster stated: (Aerlik) pulled first time and rocketed it past the helpless (Hallion Goalkeeper).  Got it on video and had a wee reminisce with Mini-me when last home.  "Was that you, dad?"  "Aye."  "Not bad"  (from a then 5 year-old).

Post by: lynchbhoy on January 31, 2008, 09:27:30 AM
a point a yard out from the 45 metre line and a yard inside the left sideline with the left foot that boomed high over the middle of the crossbar in a first round intermediate championship match as an 18 year old just before I headed off for a summer in the states.
scored 1-3 that day and the local press report gave it and the kudos of the perf to the other forward (who was crap) with the same first name as myself. Obv destined for lifelong anonimity.

Other scores stick out in the mind, but one of the most enjoyable after the above was the point scored after taking the ball off Maurice Fitzgerald in the Fresher colleges Munster championship.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on January 31, 2008, 12:48:32 PM
Quote from: Drumanee 1 on January 29, 2008, 01:39:46 PM
i remeber back heeling a goal against newbridge u/14 way back in 79

ur telling a lie..come on Drum ;) :D
Post by: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 12:57:23 PM
a goal fisted against the Rock I believe near got the head taken off me from the goalkeeper who played the man not the ball.  As I lay writhing on the ground looking the goalie sent off  the manager ran on the field told me to get up ta fook as the goalkeeper was in fact an under 12 girl wearing a cap. 
Post by: nrico2006 on January 31, 2008, 01:11:17 PM
One of my favourite goals was when playing Middletown in hurling last year.  I was running through with the ball from the 45 and went by a few men and was left with the keeper to beat.  I was on or around the 21 and he had came off his line a bit, and was probably expecting power - I just shortened the grip and gave her a wee flick off the wrist and the ball went over the line, although barely as I hadn't realised the huge puddle in the square!
Post by: Leg End on February 03, 2008, 02:34:05 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2008, 02:32:20 AM
The best score I never scored was a storming run from our own 40 right up to the 21 where I was unceremoniously dumped on my ring by the fullback for St Pius Magherafelt as I was about to pull the trigger. Our wing half back knocked over the resulting free.

have one of those myself puck... got the ball about 50 yds outabout 10 mins into a down 2nd division relegation playoff match i took on 2 players could have (probably should have in heinsiight) shot for point but seen just one defender between me and the goal so went at him and dropped the shoudler to which he went for so when i went the other way he deliberately raised his elbow and knocked my teeth into next week which i never got back and had to have my christmas dinner in a cup which was maybe the most annoying part  ;D ;D ;D