Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 11:20:05 AM

Title: Poots the Gael
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 11:20:05 AM
Well done that man

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7190216.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7190216.stm)

Minister Poots at Newry GAA match 

Sports Minister Edwin Poots became the first DUP politician to attend a Gaelic football match in an official capacity at Pairc Esler, Newry, on Wednesday.
He was at the McKenna Cup game between Down and Donegal.

Mr Poots was welcomed by GAA president Nickey Brennan, director general Liam Mulvihill and Ulster Council president Tom Daly.

The invitation to attend a GAA fixture had been accepted when Mr Poots spoke at a GAA conference in October.

"This is a landmark occasion in the further development of community relations on the island of Ireland when a Unionist Minister is prepared to attend one of our games," said president Brennan.

"For me this highlights the good standing of the Ulster Council who I know have developed an exceptionally positive relationship with Mr Poots.

"I am absolutely enthused that the Minister has been so receptive to the role and relevance of the GAA in Ulster and the contribution it makes to sport and communities.

"I wish to acknowledge the genuine commitment and professionalism of Edwin Poots in assisting the GAA with our development programmes in Ulster.

"I look forward to him taking up my invitation to attend Croke Park for an event in the near future."

Title: Re: Poots the Gael
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 11:32:31 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 11:20:05 AM
Well done that man

You obviously didn't hear him on the radio this morning. "I never took my seat until after the ROI anthem", "I'd never attend a game in a stadium named after terrorists", "Orange Halls", "blah, blah, blah, I'm only here because I have to be"
Post by: 5 Sams on January 17, 2008, 11:34:57 AM
This was a Master stroke by the Ulster Council to take him to see Down playing....at least he knows now how the game should be played.....imagine the first impression he would have gone away with if they had taken him to see Armagh or Tyrone..... ;) ;)
Post by: ziggysego on January 17, 2008, 11:40:43 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 17, 2008, 11:34:57 AM
This was a Master stroke by the Ulster Council to take him to see Down playing....at least he knows now how the game should be played.....imagine the first impression he would have gone away with if they had taken him to see Armagh or Tyrone..... ;) ;)

Down should bring him to all their games. He broke their bad run.
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 11:42:41 AM
Quote from: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 11:32:31 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 11:20:05 AM
Well done that man

You obviously didn't hear him on the radio this morning. "I never took my seat until after the ROI anthem", "I'd never attend a game in a stadium named after terrorists", "Orange Halls", "blah, blah, blah, I'm only here because I have to be"

I was meant be ironic, anyways , those comments do him far more harm than good. No matter how he tried to cover his arse afterwards he still went, as he did to the GAA conf in West Belfast, and he took a big risk pending the anger within his own community.

Are he quote son line anywhere, wouldnt mind reading what he had  to say
Post by: nifan on January 17, 2008, 11:44:00 AM
What did he say about orange halls Donagh?
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 12:00:55 PM
After saying that the GAA was not a sporting organisation he started spouting about how the "nationalist and republican community" must give up those people who are attacking Orange Halls.
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 17, 2008, 12:01:57 PM
Dont know why the gaa go to such lengths to accomadate someone who is totally against the organisation. Gauranteed he will be offered an all ireland final ticket before long!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 17, 2008, 12:03:01 PM
It's symbolic Mickey. If there are at least cordial relationships between the DUPers and the GAA, then perhaps it will soften the hardline stance against the GAA which was propagated up there.
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 12:04:07 PM
"I was made welcome and everyone treated me very well," Mr Poots added.

"I said before the game that there were some issues with the GAA that the unionist and Protestant community would have difficulties with.

"But I recognise there`s been changes within the GAA and I would encourage them to make more changes so it becomes an organisation more exclusively used for sport."

Quotes from utv.

Donagh, as I cant see 6 county news etc , which tv radio bulliten was it on, Hopefully they will have it on line
Post by: nifan on January 17, 2008, 12:06:06 PM
well they should
did he mentin the attacks on gaa premises at all - he should have called on them to be given up as well
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 12:07:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 17, 2008, 12:03:01 PM
It's symbolic Mickey. If there are at least cordial relationships between the DUPers and the GAA, then perhaps it will soften the hardline stance against the GAA which was propagated up there.

I wonder did he go with Ian Mórs blessing? Or maybe he went so that Ian Mór wouldnt have to- taking one for the team.

Post by: Mickey Linden on January 17, 2008, 12:08:55 PM
I understand the sentiments behind it but after his comments on radio this morning claiming the gaa was not a sporting organisation the gaa should leave it at that instead of inviting him to croker. Surely his comments on the radio this morning will do nothing to enhance the relationship between the gaa and DUPer's
Post by: passedit on January 17, 2008, 12:11:41 PM
In fairness lads while there's a fair bit to go yet, a long road has been travelled. Credit where credit is due, people can say a lot things, better to judge them by what they do.
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 12:12:24 PM
which radio station, im itching to hear this now,

he changes from "so it becomes an organisation more exclusively used for sport" to not a sporting organisation in 24 hours??

More exclusively can be interpreted in many ways, not just the usual assumptions
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 17, 2008, 12:17:18 PM
Quote from: passedit on January 17, 2008, 12:11:41 PM
In fairness lads while there's a fair bit to go yet, a long road has been travelled. Credit where credit is due, people can say a lot things, better to judge them by what they do.

Point accepted passedit. I suppose like everything else these things take time
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 12:19:02 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 17, 2008, 12:06:06 PM
well they should
did he mentin the attacks on gaa premises at all - he should have called on them to be given up as well

Ahh away an feck would you... How in the name of fcuk can a "community" (sic) be held responsible for the actions of a few headbangers?

Besides the fact that the attacks on the halls could just as easily be a few disgruntled individuals the point is that Poots is linking the GAA to the Orange Order and clearly when Orange halls are being attacked it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that when that link is made someone is going to take it upon themselves to attack GAA halls.
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 12:19:52 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 12:12:24 PM

he changes from "so it becomes an organisation more exclusively used for sport" to not a sporting organisation in 24 hours??

More exclusively can be interpreted in many ways, not just the usual assumptions

The Fat Boy Show on Radio Ulster
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 12:25:45 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 12:19:52 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 12:12:24 PM

The Fat Boy Show on Radio Ulster

Cheers, its not up yet, but should be later.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/nolan/listenagain/ (http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/nolan/listenagain/)
Post by: Smiler An Dun on January 17, 2008, 12:41:49 PM
Seamus McKee interviewed him on Good Morning Ulster this morning as well.  Poots was trying to be a smart arse more than anything.  He was questioned about attending Croke Park in the future and said he 'll be there pretty soon but it is to watch Rugby.  It was good to see him in Newry last night, and the statement he made then was very welcome (but then that was probably to do with the surroundings he was in).  His interview this morning sounded like it came from his own home.
Post by: Orior on January 17, 2008, 01:11:35 PM
Fair play to Pootsie for going. You cant expect a complete mind set change overnight, so he will have to play to his own audience for a while yet.

Would I go into Windsor Pairc ten minutes late so as to miss the GSTQ? No way - the build up of tension before any match is a great. 
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 01:16:46 PM
Poots interview

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/networks/ulster/aod.shtml?ulster/gmu_thu (http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/networks/ulster/aod.shtml?ulster/gmu_thu)

56 mins is his comments on the game

1hr 48 mins - the interview
Post by: nifan on January 17, 2008, 01:51:35 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 12:19:02 PM
Ahh away an feck would you... How in the name of fcuk can a "community" (sic) be held responsible for the actions of a few headbangers?

Besides the fact that the attacks on the halls could just as easily be a few disgruntled individuals the point is that Poots is linking the GAA to the Orange Order and clearly when Orange halls are being attacked it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that when that link is made someone is going to take it upon themselves to attack GAA halls.

I simply agree that they should, though i dont agree with poots bringing it into this issue.
My point was that surely the attacks on GAA facilities would have been more relevent to highlight at that time.

As for "How in the name of fcuk can a "community" (sic) be held responsible for the actions of a few headbangers?" i dont believe i said that, i dont feel responsible for the people who come from my area, but if i knew they where going to attack the locall gaa facilities id certainly report it.
Post by: Gnevin on January 17, 2008, 02:56:17 PM
Talk about damned if you do and damned if you don't
Post by: Gnevin on January 17, 2008, 03:21:31 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 17, 2008, 12:06:06 PM
well they should
Yes said somelike like attacks on orange lodges and a gaa club , said nationalist should give up does doing the attacks and then when questioned by the interviewer he said both community's should be allowed to enjoy there cultures
Post by: 5 Sams on January 17, 2008, 03:22:07 PM
Poots and the Fat Boy....about 1hr 05mins into the show.....oh and ex Antrim midfielder Paul McErlean is on as well.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/mainframe.shtml?http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/ulster.shtml
Post by: Rav67 on January 17, 2008, 03:33:52 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on January 17, 2008, 12:08:55 PM
I understand the sentiments behind it but after his comments on radio this morning claiming the gaa was not a sporting organisation the gaa should leave it at that instead of inviting him to croker. Surely his comments on the radio this morning will do nothing to enhance the relationship between the gaa and DUPer's

We can hardly complain about him saying that it isn't just a sporting organisation when there is a debate on the GAA section of this board where most people, including myself, argue that GAA is more than just a sporting organisation and should remain so.
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 03:40:21 PM
Of course it is more than a sporting organisation, but it is not a "cultural" organisation in the manner of the Orange Order as Poots would have people believe i.e. no one is banned from the GAA on grounds of their religion or politics and they don't march around the streets thousands of times every year celebrating some ancient skirmish.
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 03:40:45 PM
The GAA is more than just a sporting organisation, always was, always will be. Unless for example the Irish language is a sport?

What Id like to ask mr Poots is why he feels that the GAA should be an exclusively sporting organisation, and drop all the rest of its pursuits?
Post by: passedit on January 17, 2008, 03:42:38 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 17, 2008, 03:22:07 PM
Poots and the Fat Boy....about 1hr 05mins into the show.....oh and ex Antrim midfielder Paul McErlean is on as well.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/mainframe.shtml?http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/ulster.shtml

Just listened to it there. Measured performance from Poots. Like I said lads, long road travelled a bit to go yet. Put yourselves in his shoes for a minute.
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 04:08:32 PM
I have to laugh the hypocrisy in congratulating Croke park and the GAA for the playing of Lizzies song and in the same breath stating that he deliberatley turned up late in order to miss Amhrán na bhFiann!!
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 05:00:32 PM
Poots is coming on the Matt Cooper show to tell us why Amhrán na bhFiann shouldn't be played at games in the north.
Post by: johnneycool on January 17, 2008, 05:06:27 PM
What frequency is that on?

I might get it on the car radion on the way home
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 17, 2008, 05:17:14 PM
Today FM 100- 102 fm, or round about there depending where you are
Post by: Solomon Kane on January 17, 2008, 05:28:11 PM
The man is an arse and the GAA are welcome to him. That said, I am happy to see Northern Ireland move more and more towards normality and Poots wouldn't have been doing his DCAL job properly without engaging directly with the GAA so he deserves recognition for that.
Post by: Silky on January 17, 2008, 05:30:40 PM
Donagh's is putting his usual SF spin on it. I never believe a word the man/woman types.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=nrs8CgpH980 (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=nrs8CgpH980)
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 05:34:25 PM
105.5 FM in the north.
Post by: give her dixie on January 17, 2008, 06:36:45 PM
Did he buy any hats or scarves?
Or maybe a dodgy burger?
Or a ticket for the half time draw?
Post by: Donagh on January 17, 2008, 06:44:02 PM
Quote from: Silky on January 17, 2008, 05:30:40 PM
Donagh's is putting his usual SF spin on it. I never believe a word the man/woman types.

Listen Silky I don't care anymore if you believe me or not but for the last time, I'm straight! For the man love you're after you'd be better of trying here:

Silky's smooth lovers
(http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/gay-casual-sex_1187_1.html)
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 17, 2008, 07:43:35 PM
At this stage one must compare Poots' attendance with the attitude of liberal owcer SBE Mac who has stated on gaaboard.com that he / she is not yet ready to attend a GAA event. Similarly, whilst Poots states that he will attend rugby games at Croke Park, the moderate individual, who goes under the moniker of All For Sport in the printed press, withdrew his / her support for the Irish rugby team at about the same time as the GAA opened up Croke Park to the IRFU.

This award-winning NI fan appears to be even more extreme than the extremists in the DUP.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
He went to the match as Sports Minister. So what? Ok, in the past the DUP wouldn't have done it but hey they're in a coalition with Sinn Fein now so what's the big deal?
Post by: Gnevin on January 17, 2008, 10:27:43 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
He went to the match as Sports Minister. So what? Ok, in the past the DUP wouldn't have done it but hey they're in a coalition with Sinn Fein now so what's the big deal?
First official visit by a DUP member not big deal ? So what would be a big deal in your book ? Big Ian to line out for Antrim ?
Post by: Orior on January 17, 2008, 10:52:54 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 17, 2008, 10:27:43 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
First official visit by a DUP member not big deal ? So what would be a big deal in your book ? Big Ian to line out for Antrim ?

I wouldnt bet against it. And Antrim need all the help they can get.
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2008, 11:00:03 PM
This was another one of those 'one small step....one giant leap' moments. Doesn't seem like much but I think it is pretty huge actually.

Norn Iron is changing, Paisley and McGuinness joined at the hip, Poots at a Gaa match.

I am waiting now for God save the queen to be sung as Gaeilge by Geoffey Donaldson while dancing Riverdance at the Ulster Final.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 11:05:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 17, 2008, 11:00:03 PM
This was another one of those 'one small step....one giant leap' moments. Doesn't seem like much but I think it is pretty huge actually.

Norn Iron is changing, Paisley and McGuinness joined at the hip, Poots at a Gaa match.

I am waiting now for God save the queen to be sung as Gaeilge by Geoffey Donaldson while dancing Riverdance at the Ulster Final.
Do you think that's amusing?

"Sports Minister attends sporting occasion!"

It's no big deal! Move on for goodness sake.
Post by: Gnevin on January 17, 2008, 11:09:19 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 11:05:25 PM

DUP Sports Minister attends GAA sporting occasion for first time in official capacity , puts a slightly different slant on it
Post by: Maguire01 on January 17, 2008, 11:11:46 PM
He turned up late to avoid the anthem - fair enough, that's up to him.  I was just wondering will he turn up late to the rugby in Croke Park to avoid the anthem there?

As for his attendance at Croke Park, his biggest issue seems to be that he doesn't work on a Sunday (being the god fearing type) and most GAA matches at Croke Park happen to be on a Sunday.
Post by: Gnevin on January 17, 2008, 11:13:07 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 17, 2008, 11:11:46 PM
He turned up late to avoid the anthem - fair enough, that's up to him.  I was just wondering will he turn up late to the rugby in Croke Park to avoid the anthem there?

As for his attendance at Croke Park, his biggest issue seems to be that he doesn't work on a Sunday (being the god fearing type) and most GAA matches at Croke Park happen to be on a Sunday.
Naw he's turn up late as he'll be supporting the Dubs :)
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2008, 11:39:48 PM
Quote from: Aristotle Flynn on January 17, 2008, 11:05:25 PM

Move on yourself.  ::)

Post by: Fishbat on January 18, 2008, 12:45:27 AM
Jeebus, you'd think he had walked into the pits of hell, about time these twits wised up,.... missing the anthem???  well done, nice exampe of parity of esteem from the minister for all the people.  More boring childish antics and total lack of respect as an invited guest, pure hallionry

I would like to think a Nationalist rep would have the manners to stand for GSTQ.
Post by: Donagh on January 18, 2008, 07:30:10 AM
And therein lies the problem. For all of his posturing, Poots still does not recognise the Irish identity of northern nationalists. By calling for an end to the anthem in the six counties, he is saying to northerners, and GAA people in particular, that they are different from those in the south and not entitled to the same sense of identity.
Post by: saffron on January 18, 2008, 09:04:40 AM
QuoteAnd therein lies the problem. For all of his posturing, Poots still does not recognise the Irish identity of northern nationalists. By calling for an end to the anthem in the six counties, he is saying to northerners, and GAA people in particular, that they are different from those in the south and not entitled to the same sense of identity.

Have to totally agree with that and its not the first time they've done that - seems to me they are against anything that makes links stronger between Northern nationalists and the South - speaking rights in the Dail was another. Although I think some of what he said was just a cover for the fact that he went to a GAA game - he has to cover himself with his constituents.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2008, 10:35:21 AM
Proposed Maze stadium is in Poots' consituency, he's Minister of Sport & has vested interests in getting the thing up & running, hence it's a purely political decision to suck up to the GAA. He's no friend of the GAA & never will be, it merely suits his purposes at the minute to be seen to have anything to do with the GAA.
Post by: Zapatista on January 18, 2008, 10:37:53 AM
The GAA should do the right thing now and invite Ian and Martin to Croke park in an equal capacity as they do for Mary and Bertie. After all the are equally repersentative of the Irish people.
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2008, 10:44:31 AM
That's right lads. The last thing you should dream of is interpreting anything in a positive light. Progress is dangerous. It would have been much better for all concerned if Poots had told Nicky Brennan to stuff his invitation. If we could only depend on things to keep on like that, we could be assured that in twenty, feckit sixty years' time everything will be EXACTLY the same as it is now. Much more comforting for everybody. What next? McGuinness and Paisley sharing office? Couldn't happen.
Post by: nifan on January 18, 2008, 10:45:40 AM
politician in politics shocker all round then?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 10:53:48 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 18, 2008, 10:44:31 AM
That's right lads. The last thing you should dream of is interpreting anything in a positive light. Progress is dangerous. It would have been much better for all concerned if Poots had told Nicky Brennan to stuff his invitation. If we could only depend on things to keep on like that, we could be assured that in twenty, feckit sixty years' time everything will be EXACTLY the same as it is now. Much more comforting for everybody. What next? McGuinness and Paisley sharing office? Couldn't happen.

I see your point Hardy, Poots going to the game is a good thing, its progress.

But I cant help feeling dissapointed at his comments afterwards. Saying he deliberately turned up late to avoid the anthem took a lot of the good out of it imo. Especially having congratulated the FAI and GAA for having GSTQ played in Croke Park. I know your views on anthems Hardy, but just think that by saying that he was throwing a sly dig while taking credit for going to the game.
Post by: saffron on January 18, 2008, 10:58:59 AM
Hardy nobody is arguing it was progress but the fact he qualified it in the way he did is indicative of wider attitudes to Northern Nationalists - maybe we are a little more sensitive to this but we have a right to be.
Post by: Hardy on January 18, 2008, 10:59:47 AM
Of course his comments are irritating, but he could have made those comments and NOT gone to the match. I'm happy to see the leopard's spots change one at a time. I don't expect him to become albino in an overnight miracle.
Post by: Declan on January 18, 2008, 12:22:15 PM
Listened to him on the Last word last night and he even said he was delighted that his county had won!!!
Walk before we can run.
Must say other than an All Ireland or Provincial final I don't see the relevance of the national anthem myself but each to their own.
Post by: Feckitt on January 18, 2008, 02:02:10 PM
Every time the gaa is discussed on the Nolan show, they spend most of their time talking about GAA clubs being named after terrorists and how there are no soccer clubs named after Lenny Murphy or Billy Wright.  They actually make it out like all GAA grounds are named after terrorists.
Now maybe I am blind, but I don't think I have ever seen a GAA ground or club named after a terrorist.  I live in South Armagh, I have been to dozens of gaa grounds and thousands of matches.
I am genuinely interested to know how widespread the naming of grounds after terrorists is.  Genuine answers please, no NIspeak.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 18, 2008, 02:03:54 PM
One man's terrorist is blah blah blah... A lot of unionists would classify Pearse Park, Casement Park and others as being named after terrorists.
Post by: Gnevin on January 18, 2008, 02:06:09 PM
Sam Maguire was in the IRB .As Az says one man's...
Post by: Feckitt on January 18, 2008, 03:54:27 PM
You have got to be joking me. 
You mean to say that there are no GAA clubs named after terrorists, yet the BBC promote these allegations, and no one from the GAA has the wit to counteract this?
I'm sick of this shit!
Post by: nifan on January 18, 2008, 03:56:48 PM
Well feckit, the main one often mentioned is the Kevin Lynch club of dungiven
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:00:25 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 18, 2008, 02:06:09 PM

This is the problem with how much we do to accomodate them.
Most Unionists see anyone involved in 1916 as terrorists full stop, nevermind more recent republicans.

Should we therefore rename Casement, Pearse park and the Sam Maguire?

Sounds dramatic but if you think removing the flags and anthems will bring the unionists in dont forget they will still point out theses examples as to why they wont join.

The only real way you will have a chance to entice them in is to scrap the flags, anthems, rewrite the consitution totally and rename any clubs, stadiums or trophies names after anyone in any way connected to the rebublican struggle.

Basically you will be left with an unrecognisable organisation and we can then sit back and hope they come, and forget the deeply bred contempt for the GAA within some sections of their community will be forgotten.

Basically what I am saying is that when you talk about making changes to entice Unionists in it had better be all or nothing, as an in between will not be accepted from their side. You would be very naive to beleive otherwise.

The other option is to leave it as it is, and enjoy the fantastic organisation we have.

I dont see why we are constantly discussing what we need to do to appeal to Unionists anyway, if they dont like it, they dont like it, its worked pretty well without them. Lets not be constantly worried about what others think of us and do our own thing!!

I'd like to see all communities getting involved, but not at any cost.
Post by: Feckitt on January 18, 2008, 04:02:19 PM
I assumed that maybe in places like West Belfast and East Tyrone that there were loads of clubs and grounds named after IRA men
Post by: downredblack on January 18, 2008, 04:10:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 18, 2008, 03:59:00 PM
Have you ever seen ears like that in your life?

Down our way we would of said  " did you see the FA cups on thon boy "
Post by: AZOffaly on January 18, 2008, 04:20:23 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:00:25 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 18, 2008, 02:06:09 PM

This is the problem with how much we do to accomodate them.
Most Unionists see anyone involved in 1916 as terrorists full stop, nevermind more recent republicans.

Should we therefore rename Casement, Pearse park and the Sam Maguire?

Sounds dramatic but if you think removing the flags and anthems will bring the unionists in dont forget they will still point out theses examples as to why they wont join.

The only real way you will have a chance to entice them in is to scrap the flags, anthems, rewrite the consitution totally and rename any clubs, stadiums or trophies names after anyone in any way connected to the rebublican struggle.

Basically you will be left with an unrecognisable organisation and we can then sit back and hope they come, and forget the deeply bred contempt for the GAA within some sections of their community will be forgotten.

Basically what I am saying is that when you talk about making changes to entice Unionists in it had better be all or nothing, as an in between will not be accepted from their side. You would be very naive to beleive otherwise.

The other option is to leave it as it is, and enjoy the fantastic organisation we have.

I dont see why we are constantly discussing what we need to do to appeal to Unionists anyway, if they dont like it, they dont like it, its worked pretty well without them. Lets not be constantly worried about what others think of us and do our own thing!!

I'd like to see all communities getting involved, but not at any cost.

I would broadly agree with that holiness. I think we have to recognise that Unionist people will always feel uncomfortable to a degree with some of the things that we take for granted in the GAA. I would certainly be against renaming anything like the Sam Maguire, Pearse Stadium or anything like that. They are historical figures, and like it or not, were deeply involved in Irish culture and are widely regarded as heroes in our country.

I'm sure the unionist people who come down from NI wouldn't be especially fond of James Connolly, but their trains pull into that station every day.

I think the important thing is that the GAA doesn't deliberately try to do anything which it knows will be offensive today. I would have reservations about the hunger strike commemoration in Casement Park for example. That, to me at least, was at best insensitive to Unionist opinion. At worst it was a calculated insult. That's the sort of thing I think we, as the GAA, have to be wary of if we do want people of the other persuasion to watch, play and enjoy our games.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:33:46 PM
Spot on, be sensitive in the future, while not erasing the past.

The hunger strike commemorations, whether you think were right or wrong, were bound to cause controversy.
Post by: Fluffy Che on January 18, 2008, 05:10:53 PM
I support the hunger strike commemoration in Casement and if Poots and co. don't like it well, they don't have to go. I'm sure they

support the Orange Order parade that passes by my steet, l don't but l live with it.

I welcome his presence at the game, its a small step forward just like all the rest. His comments afterwards were typical DUP speak

but he's only playing to his own crowd.

Post by: thejuice on January 18, 2008, 05:11:06 PM
The few times I've wandered past the houses of parlimant in London to see a statue of Oliver Cromwell sitting outside. It does get my back up that someone who caused such devastation and mass murder should get an honourary place, but I just accept it. I guess there are a lot of people who dont bat an eyelid at the statues presence, depends on your perspective I guess
Post by: Main Street on January 18, 2008, 05:11:51 PM
Revolutionary Oscar Traynor was the president of the FAI for about 15 years. Has a league and a trophy called after him.

Revisionists have more twists in their convoluted theories than the red cow roundabout.
Post by: Solomon Kane on January 18, 2008, 05:31:30 PM
For all the criticism of Poots and his attitude towards republican symbols, it should be remembered that like all other politicians, he is only an election away from losing his job, and like all other politicians he will always have an eye on his own electorate.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 18, 2008, 06:19:49 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 17, 2008, 11:11:46 PM
He turned up late to avoid the anthem

Maybe he was in McCoy's ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 06:23:52 PM
Perhaps he is secretly a Dublin fan?  8)