GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on January 14, 2008, 08:05:15 AM

Title: Walsh Cup
Post by: Lecale2 on January 14, 2008, 08:05:15 AM
This week's fixtures:

Sunday 20th January 2008

Mullingar / Parnell Park                                            Iarmhi / UCD   v   Ath Cliath

Walsh Cup S.H.                                                       Reit:    A. Stapleton (Laois)

SUB REF:     M. Bartley                                          LINESMAN:  T. Anderson

Freshford (2.00p.m.)                                                  Cill Chainnigh  v  Aontroim

Walsh Cup S.H.                                                       Reit:    T. Carroll (Uibh Fhaili)

SUB REF:     D. Murphy                                         LINESMAN:  P. Kehoe

Tullamore (2.00)                                                         Uibh Fhaili   v   An Dun

Walsh Cup S.H.                                                       Reit:    F. Devereux (Cill Dara)

SUB REF:     J. McGrath                                         LINESMAN:  R. Cornally

Piercestown (2.00)                                                     Loch Garman   v   Laois

Walsh Cup S.H.                                                       Reit:    D. Connolly (Cill Chainnigh)

SUB REF:     D. O Donovan                                  LINESMAN:  D. Hughes

Extra time if necessary must be played if sides finish level.

Title: Re: Walsh Cup
Post by: johnneycool on January 14, 2008, 08:40:31 AM
UCD beat Westmeath yesterday, so that's UCD vrs Dublin in Parnell park this sunday then.

Post by: tayto on January 14, 2008, 12:29:59 PM
A fair few Dublin players available to UCD, should be an interesting match up.
Post by: Sky Blue on January 16, 2008, 06:52:09 PM
UCD v Dublin will be an interesting match if the weather holds out. Are ye header over Tayto?
Post by: tayto on January 17, 2008, 11:01:00 AM
I was hoping to head up to Dublin for both matches but I think I'll have to work now, as my avatar would say, DOH!
Post by: bottlethrower7 on January 17, 2008, 12:03:15 PM
this is in Blunden Drive I think. I heard that on the radio the other day and haven't heard anything different since
Post by: tayto on January 17, 2008, 12:42:31 PM
Correct, was originally set for Parnell Park but I think the weather has out pay to that, pitch was in a bad enough way last weekend.
Post by: Guillem2 on January 20, 2008, 03:53:47 PM
Got a txt message saying Antrim beat Kilkenny by a point. Is it true? Any other scores?
Post by: ExiledGael on January 20, 2008, 04:05:16 PM
Amazingly that's true, 2-15 to 1-17, according to Aertel that is.
Post by: clootfromthe21 on January 20, 2008, 04:14:48 PM
2-15 to 1-17.

It was 2-9 to 8 at half time.

2-13 to 1-13 with about 10 to go.

From the Radio Kilkenny report, Ryan McGarry pulled off a wonder save in injury time.

F***king fantastic!!!!!!!!!!! I know its only the Walsh Cup. I know Kilkenny have been on the piss for a couple of weeks. I know it will be a distant memory come the Summer. But still and all. I DONT CARE!!!!!!!!
Post by: Minder on January 20, 2008, 04:28:12 PM
i am booking a bus for croke park in september
Post by: FermPundit on January 20, 2008, 04:29:37 PM
Great result for the Saffrons. Let's hope this result instills a bit of confidence in the squad and that they can have a good run in the NHL and show the rest of the country that there are decent hurlers in Ulster!!
Post by: laoisgaa on January 20, 2008, 04:55:43 PM
Excellent win for Antrim this afternoon in a hard fought game in must be said. Anyone have any idea when the Saffrons last beat Kilkenny? I'm hearing around 1992 in the NHL
Post by: aontroim abu on January 20, 2008, 04:56:22 PM
What a result  - saw a pink pig flying past the window this morning, knew something was up.  This is a very young squad, who are flying fit and eager to play.

Is this the death knell for Kilkenny hurling????????????? ;D
Post by: Guillem2 on January 20, 2008, 07:06:22 PM
I fainted shortly after posting the story of Antrim's win. I've just come round. Great boost for the boys going into the NHL. Who do we play next?
Post by: pebble-dasher on January 20, 2008, 07:31:07 PM
It would be interesting to see both antrim and kilkenny's starting fifteen.  Even more astonishing with no dunloy players yet in the antrim set up
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 20, 2008, 07:54:04 PM
I think it was 1992 - October time in the league (that was of course in the days before the Cats, Clare, Cork and Waterford left the rest in their wake .)..before that it was 1943 at Corrigan AIQF ... still a wins a win and I am cracking a tin of beer open tonight..
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 20, 2008, 07:57:28 PM
Just a mention though that I heard the half-time score on RTE radio at 3.00 and the presenter Eames went something this..."Cats were in Dubai .. still jaded ... not training ... experimental team.... FECK SAKE ADRIAN! GIVE THE ANTRIM LADS SOME CREDIT!!!! I see Aertel IS NOT EVEN GIVING THE RESULT. and BBC NI -don't ask...
Post by: slow corner back on January 20, 2008, 08:05:25 PM
According to the leinster council website Antrim will now play the winners of UCD v Dublin in Dublin next sunday. How did this match finish it had a 3.30 throw in, presumably under lights, I cannot find the result on GAA.ie
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 20, 2008, 08:21:48 PM
Antrim v UCD don't wanna count chickens .... but ...... is that a semifinal...?
Post by: Lecale2 on January 20, 2008, 08:38:48 PM
Offaly v Down was postponed due to a water-logged pitch.
Post by: Minder on January 20, 2008, 08:42:36 PM
They will be asking for Codys head after this.......
Post by: Lecale2 on January 20, 2008, 08:44:32 PM
RESULTS- WALSH CUP:

Kilkenny 1-17 Antrim 2-15
Wexford 1-15 Laois 0-15

Post by: laoisgaa on January 20, 2008, 09:00:07 PM
I'd the fortune of attending the Antrim/Kilkenny game today and I have to say there was very little wrong with Antrim's style of play, physicality and general scoring and this game will certainly stand them well for the remainder of the year. It's a young Antrim team but something tells me that we may see them make there way to the final. They face a UCD side who offer plenty of youth and skill also and this should be a cracking semi-final wherever it is played next weekend

Here are the teams and scorers from Freshford today for the record.

Kilkenny: PJ Ryan; S Cummins, B Hogan, J Tyrrell; J Dalton, PJ Delaney (0-1, 1 '65'), J Ryall (0-1); R Mullally (0-1), W Dwyer; P Cleere, R Power (0-9, 0-8f), A Fogarty (0-2); E McCormack (1-0), E Brennan (0-2), R Hogan (0-1). Subs: E McGrath for Cleere (48 mins), D Fogarty for Dwyer (63).

Antrim: R McGarry (0-1); A Graffin, N McGarry, S Delargy; C Herron, M McCambridge, K Elliott (0-1); K McKeegan (1-1), D Hamill; N McManus (0-1), L Watson (1-8, 0-4f, 2 '65'), P McGill; S McCrory (0-1), C Donnelly, S McNaughton (0-1). Subs: M Kettle for N McGarry, K Stewart (0-1) for Donnelly (both half-time), C Duffin for McNaughton (64 mins).

Referee: Tony Carroll (Offaly)
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 20, 2008, 09:14:35 PM
Good result for Antrim alright! Well done.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on January 20, 2008, 10:12:17 PM
Well, that's it... the worm has turned ... first Sunday in September it is then. I would start sending email around the banks now looking for tickets. But seriously, no nonsense, well done lads. The fact is that Sambo and Woody must have kept the squad fit over the last few months -  but probably a false dawn. And I should know, for I have seen some false Saffron dawns in my time..
Post by: Minder on January 20, 2008, 11:08:49 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on January 20, 2008, 10:12:17 PM
Well, that's it... the worm has turned ... first Sunday in September it is then. I would start sending email around the banks now looking for tickets. But seriously, no nonsense, well done lads. The fact is that Sambo and Woody must have kept the squad fit over the last few months -  but probably a false dawn. And I should know, for I have seen some false Saffron dawns in my time..

Aye we will enjoy it while it lasts, i hope the players/management use th result in the right way and not think they have it made. There will probably be some heavy beatings in the league to look forward to and a thumping by Galway in the championship.
Post by: Glensman on January 21, 2008, 01:57:36 AM
Be off with you with your pessimism (realism) Minder.
Where exactly are you from?

I have been there for countless false dawns...too many to discuss and too painful (I have no doubt that others on here have seen way more than me)...but each and every time there is that little thing that says just maybe.

We will not win an All Ireland...we will arguably not get into an All Ireland Semi Final but for flip sake have a dream.

I hope my boss in the morning has the same dream dream.

Post by: Glensman on January 21, 2008, 02:06:06 AM
I did sing it at my Christmas party for him.  He wouldn't exactly have known all the words...

If that fails I'll dig out the scrap book from the build up to the 1989 final that me and the brother compiled.

It would make a grown man weep (it does now and again).
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 21, 2008, 10:48:51 AM
Minder leave the pessimism at the door. This a good result for Antrim and will be a morale booster for the team early in the year even though it is highly likely that they'll get tanked a few times over the next 6 months. Having said that I'm suprised Karl McKeegan had the energy to score a goal with all his media commitments over the past week  ;)
Post by: Glensman on January 21, 2008, 11:16:26 AM
Was chatting to a player - seemingly Cody came into the dressing room and was very complimentary of Antrim's style of hurling and their workrate at this time of year.

Also I believe the bus journey up home was a calm affair will no one getting carried away and generally there was a level headed approach to the win.

Both things good to hear.
Post by: sail_in on January 21, 2008, 11:40:02 AM
nothing much to add ...

Just a big Well Done to the Antrim Players and Managers!
Post by: tayto on January 21, 2008, 12:41:54 PM
Well done to Antrim. terrific result, cheered me up a bit after watching UCD bate Dublin. Hope you go onto win the thing now! 
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on January 21, 2008, 01:29:56 PM
Great stuff from the Saffrons. It would be brillant if they could use this to build a decent NHL campaign although they got a very tough draw. I know people are saying its only the Walsh cup but remember that Kilkenny have won this competition for the past 3-4 years so that in itself says something.

Hopefully the sign of things to come and a good omen perhaps for Dunloy as they face Leinster opposition on the 24th of Feb.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 21, 2008, 01:41:50 PM
Congratulations to Antrim - great result!
Post by: Lecale2 on January 23, 2008, 12:04:32 PM
Down play Offaly in the Walsh Cup on Thursday @ 8.15pm in Ballymun, Dublin.  The game is under floodlights on a synthetic pitch.

Has anyone any experience of this type of pitch?
Post by: INDIANA on January 24, 2008, 08:57:33 AM
played on it and managed teams that played on it- in my view its shite. the only good synthetic pitch in dublin is brigids.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 24, 2008, 10:14:19 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on January 23, 2008, 12:04:32 PM
Down play Offaly in the Walsh Cup on Thursday @ 8.15pm in Ballymun, Dublin.  The game is under floodlights on a synthetic pitch.
That game has now moved to Darver in Louth.
It's like a treasure hunt at this stage.
The fixture has been switched from Tullamore to Mount Bolus to Ballymun and now Darver.
Post by: tayto on January 24, 2008, 10:15:45 AM
A bit like the Dublin - UCD game last week.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 24, 2008, 11:06:13 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 24, 2008, 08:57:33 AM
played on it and managed teams that played on it- in my view its shite. the only good synthetic pitch in dublin is brigids.

What's de difference between it and de one in Judes say???
Post by: AZOffaly on January 24, 2008, 12:24:21 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on January 24, 2008, 10:14:19 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on January 23, 2008, 12:04:32 PM
That game has now moved to Darver in Louth.
It's like a treasure hunt at this stage.
The fixture has been switched from Tullamore to Mount Bolus to Ballymun and now Darver.

they should play it up in Down altogether. Are the pitches up there waterlogged? At least if it's in one of the competing counties you might get a bit of a crowd. Playing it in Dublin never made sense.
Post by: Lecale2 on January 24, 2008, 12:26:41 PM
down team

Graham Clarke; L Clarke, F Conway, P Hughes; S Wilson, K Courtney, Gabriel Clarke; A Savage, C Coulter; S Clarke, B McGourty (c), D Coffey; B Ennis, P Braniff, P Coulter
Post by: Minder on January 24, 2008, 09:33:10 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 24, 2008, 06:37:30 PM
Antrim county board say that they wouldn't mind another wee run to America.

Hopefully there wouldnt be the same machinations by the County chairman this time if they got to America.
Post by: Guillem2 on January 25, 2008, 12:28:44 AM
From BBC. Conditions were bad by the sounds of it:

Offaly claim Walsh win over Down 

Offaly claimed a 4-13 to 2-12 win over Down in the Walsh Cup at Darver on Thursday night despite a battling second-half effort by the Ulster side.
Goals from Daniel Currams and ex-Galway minor Francis Kerrigan helped Offaly lead 2-12 to 1-4 at half-time with Brendan Ennis scoring Down's goal.

Paddy Coulter hit Down's second-half goal while substitute Kevin McGarry and Stephen Clarke also impressed.

Francis Kerrigan and sub Joe Brady scored Offaly's second-half goals.

Jim McKernan's charges trailed by 2-12 to 1-4 at the interval but responded well on the restart and held the Midlanders to just 2-1 in the second half.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Offaly: D Kilmartin, C Hernon, K Brady, D Franks; D Horan, J Bergin (0-1, 1f), D Kenny, C Mahon, B Teehan (0-2), S Dooley (0-4, 3f), G Oakley (0-2), J Gorman, D Currams (1-1), D Molloy (0-1), F Kerrigan (2-2). Subs: D Murray for D Molloy (42); J Brady (1-0) for Gorman (54); J Rigney for Teehan (57).

Down: G Clarke, L Clarke, F Conway, P Hughes; S Wilson, C Courtney, G Clarke; A Savage, C Coulter (0-1, 1f), S Clarke (0-5, 3f), B McGourty, D Coffey; B Ennis (1-1), P Braniff (0-1), P Coulter (1-0) Subs: E Clarke for S Clare (BS 26-28); K McGarry (0-2) for Coffey (26); R McGrattan for C Coulter (43); M Ennis for G Clarke (50); C Woods for McGarry (54); J Coyle (0-1) for B Ennis (61).

Referee: Frank Devereaux (Kildare)

Post by: Bacon on January 25, 2008, 10:16:41 AM
Positive performance from the Down lads but games like this in January are just an opportunity for our new manger to try out his options.
Post by: Lecale2 on January 25, 2008, 10:24:17 AM
Match report from a guy who visits this site occasionally.

Walsh Cup quarter-final: Offaly 4-13 Down 2-11
By Coilin Duffy
25/01/08

Offaly withstood a late comeback by Down in last night's Walsh Cup quarter-final at Darver to ensure a place in the penultimate stage against Wexford.

Faithful boss Joe Dooley handed senior inter-county debuts to four players, including Diarmuid Horan, son of former All-Ireland medallist Padraig.

The Midlanders held a 2-12 to 1-4 interval lead after being assisted with the aid of a strong wind in the opening half.

It was first half goals from Daniel Currams and former Galway minor Francis Kerrigan which did most damage as Offaly dominated for most of the opening 35 minutes.

Down were far from a pushover and good work from Stephen Clarke and first half goalscorer Brendan Ennis ensured they kept in touch.

However, Jim McKernan's side really bounced back strongly in the second half thanks to good work by substitute Kevin McGarry, Clarke and Paddy Coulter, as Offaly were left stunned.

Down managed to hold Offaly to just 2-1 in

the second half, with the second goal of the

half the only score of the final quarter.

A resilient Down attack exerted huge pressure on the Offaly backs who struggled to cope with this renewed energy.

Down burst out of the blocks in the second half and were guilty of three wides inside the first four minutes after the interval, but suddenly settled thanks to a point from substitute Kevin McGarry.

Clarke built on this good work with a pointed free and, although Francis Kerrigan rattled the net for the second time for Offaly in the 47th minute, this failed to rattle a determined Down outfit.

Clarke and Paul Braniff took excellent points before Paddy Coulter cut the gap to seven points with a well-taken goal, after he flicked the ball to the net from a long puckout from Graham Clarke.

Down did manage to cut the gap to five points with 12 minutes remaining but Offaly managed to hold out for victory thanks to a late goal from substitute Joe Brady which sealed the issue.

MATCH STATS

Offaly: D Kilmartin; C Hernon, K Brady,

D Franks; D Horan, J Bergin (0-1, 1f), D Kenny; C Mahon, B Teehan (0-2); S Dooley (0-4, 3f),

G Oakley (0-2), J Gorman; D Currams (1-1),

D Molloy (0-1), F Kerrigan (2-2).

Subs: D Murray for D Molloy (42); J Brady (1-0) for Gorman (54); J Rigney for Teehan (57)

Down: G Clarke; L Clarke, F Conway, P Hughes; S Wilson, C Courtney, G Clarke; A Savage,

C Coulter (0-1, 1f), S Clarke (0-5, 3f),

B McGourty, D Coffey; B Ennis (1-1),

P Braniff (0-1), P Coulter (1-0)

Subs: E Clarke for S Clare (BS 26-28);

K McGarry (0-2) for Coffey (26);

R McGrattan for C Coulter (43);

M Ennis for G Clarke (50);

C Woods for McGarry (54); J Coyle (0-1) for B Ennis (61)

Referee: Frank Devereaux (Kildare).

Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on January 25, 2008, 12:20:40 PM
Arrived late to the game last night and missed the beginning of the Offaly onslaught although the pleasing aspect for me was the fightback in the second half. I know some people will say there was a gale force breeze, that certainly helped but there was also a gal force breeze in Birr last year in the NHL and we just rolled over in the 2nd half.

Some of the old fight seems to be back in the Down set-up which is good to see, very early days yet but let's hope the fighting spirit is the sign of the things to come for the remainder of the year and we get a good NHL under our belts in preparation for the Christy Ring.

My main concern is that we continue to leak goals, Offaly scored three times in the second half only compared to Down who scored 1-4 (five times when we were against the breeze) but its goals that win games or indeed the ability to stop goals and that is an area Jingo needs to work on with the lads.
Post by: Sky Blue on January 25, 2008, 01:01:11 PM
Hardly good conditions for hurling anywhere this month.

When do UCD play Antrim?
Post by: johnneycool on January 25, 2008, 03:40:56 PM
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on January 25, 2008, 12:20:40 PM

My main concern is that we continue to leak goals, Offaly scored three times in the second half only compared to Down who scored 1-4 (five times when we were against the breeze) but its goals that win games or indeed the ability to stop goals and that is an area Jingo needs to work on with the lads.

I wasn't there to see how the goals were conceeded but in general if your regularily leaking goals its down to a bit of organisation and not just necessarily down to no's 1 to 6. Give them time, I think Finty will do OK at fullback, wee Liam always needs a few games before his stickwork improves but I do think Stiffler is a better defender than Gabs who I'd like to see pushed into midfield where his lack of pace isn't as badly exposed. Gab's aerial ability and better distribution of the ball IMO should see him take cougies place, but I don't know who's putting the effort in at training and jingo may have selected accordingly.
Down have taken bigger tankings with better teams at this time of year, so I wouldn't be overly concerned.
Post by: FermPundit on January 25, 2008, 05:10:46 PM
I see Kevin McGarry came on as a sub for Down last night and scored 2 points. I played against Kevin at underage level and he's a very talented hurler. Am I right in saying he has transferred from Lisbellaw to Portaferry?
Post by: Lecale2 on January 26, 2008, 05:28:31 PM
Kevin McGarry plays for Portaferry. I saw him in action in the championship and I wasn't impressed. Maybe he just had an off day.
Post by: Minder on January 27, 2008, 02:06:25 PM
Any word of the score with the super saffrons?
Post by: Intifadah on January 27, 2008, 02:42:56 PM
Offaly leading Wexford 0-8 to 0-5, aertel

Aertel currently have sweet FA on the Antrim game...
Post by: podge on January 27, 2008, 02:52:42 PM
Antrim 3-14 UCD 1-16.  well done to a young team.  final in casement I believe
Post by: Intifadah on January 27, 2008, 03:05:41 PM
Quote from: podge on January 27, 2008, 02:52:42 PM
Antrim 3-14 UCD 1-16.  well done to a young team.  final in casement I believe

How'd you find out mate?
Post by: podge on January 27, 2008, 03:16:40 PM
heard the score from someone at it.  2 goals from paddy magill
Post by: Minder on January 27, 2008, 03:19:20 PM
couldnt find the score anywhere
Post by: tayto on January 27, 2008, 04:36:20 PM
Scores from setanta.com:

Walsh Cup SH semi-finals
Antrim    3-14    UCD    1-16
Offaly    1-12    Wexford    0-11

Good win for Antrim, anyone at it?
Post by: clootfromthe21 on January 27, 2008, 05:13:29 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 27, 2008, 04:36:20 PM
Scores from setanta.com:

Walsh Cup SH semi-finals
Antrim    3-14    UCD    1-16
Offaly    1-12    Wexford    0-11

Good win for Antrim, anyone at it?

Bit surreal with no fence to keep the small crowd off the pitch and various other games going on around Belfield.

Antrim started very well with a quick goal and a few points. Played with a strong wind in the first half and contrived to miss at least 3 easy goal chances. Antrim defence started well also, but as the half went on began to concede a lot of easy frees which kept UCD in touch. Of course I'm biased, but ref came up with a few strange ones. Certainly Antrim got more and more frustrated with him as the game went on.

Second half UCD had the strong wind and continued to benefit from frees. Big difference was while they didn't miss any in the first half they missed loads. UCD got a goal about 10 minutes in to bring them back to a point or two (no scoreboard so continuous discussion on the side line as to what the actual score was - amazing how lazy and reliant on a scoreboard you get!!). Antrim looked under pressure but two goals in as many minutes sealed the game. The first came from Michael Magill pulling on a breaking ball, the second from a Liam Watson penalty after the goalie had dragged him down to prevent a certain goal. It really is noteworthy how much pace he gets on a ball with no run up whatsoever. After that the game sort of fizzled out.

In terms of performance, McCambridge at full back had his hands full all game. The corners were good (very impressed with Graffin). Half back line of Herron, McKeegan and Elliott did okay. McManus at midfield did well in the first half and for spurts in the second. Thought the forwards were ropey enough -  as I said 3 good goal chances wasted in the first half and lots of ball dropped in on the keeper in the second.

Anyway, onwards and (hopefully) upwards - Offally in Casement next week. Would hope there'll be a good crowd for it.
Post by: orangeman on January 27, 2008, 06:50:54 PM
Well done to Antrim again - keep it up lads !
Post by: AZOffaly on January 28, 2008, 09:58:13 AM
Good win for Offaly too. Nice to get back to back victories so close together. I'd say Antrim will be favourites for the final, they seem to be going well this early in the year, but as long as Offaly keep progressing we'll be happy enough.
Post by: milltown row on January 28, 2008, 10:26:44 AM
good win alright, good to se magill back playing. 2.2 is a good return. will be hard for him to commit to both hurling and football for the county but i hope he does

as for antrim being favourites. well. i dont believe that. Offaly will be tough. last time we had a game at casement when we were doing well was against Limerick in the league a few years ago and w got destroyed.

the teams may be evenly matched with bot Birr and Dunloy boys getting ready with there up and coming game. but Offaly are a decent team. hope there is a good crowd at Casement to see the final.

will brennan be there to hand over the trophy?
Post by: johnneycool on January 28, 2008, 10:52:58 AM
Quote from: milltown row on January 28, 2008, 10:26:44 AM

will brennan be there to hand over the trophy?

No Edwin Poots is doing the formalities, haven't you heard?
Post by: Glensman on January 28, 2008, 11:11:21 AM
Poots will miss the first ten minutes when Antrim race into an unassilable lead...

Antrim favourites - I reject that out of hand. It doesn't suit us at all. Its all yours AZ.

Agree about Magill great to see him back. It'll be a tough year for him if he sticks with the both but why not give it a lash.
Also good to hear McKeegan was back in centre half...where he belongs in my opinion if we can get someone to fill the gap he leaves at midfield.

Anyone have the full team line up from yesterday?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 28, 2008, 11:15:18 AM
From the irish news - incidentally which is free online now...

Antrim senior hurlers sent out a clear warning to Offaly as they again turned in a magnificent performance in the Walsh Cup yesterday to reach the final after a four-point win over UCD.

From defence to attack, Antrim were again superb, with a goal in each half from Michael Magill the vital scores, although goalkeeper Ryan McGarry was again a hero after his crucial late save secured victory.

Antrim began this game in inspired fashion with the first of Magill's goals coming after just three minutes.

UCD could only manage a point from Michael McGarry within the opening 10 minutes as Antrim raced into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead.

Gradually, the students staged a comeback, but Antrim were always that step ahead and could afford eight wides in the opening half.

UCD kept in touch thanks to the free-taking of Michael McGarry and Wexford's Stephen Nolan, but the Saffrons were a lot stronger and were full value for a 1-10 to 0-10 interval lead.

The Wexford centre-half-back kept the students in touch for prolonged spells in this game and Nolan was their top-marksman with an impressive seven points.

Antrim were equally impressive, with Cushendall pair Michael McCambridge and Karl McKeegan forming a central partnership down the middle, and scooping away a lot of chances for the hosts.

UCD piled on pressure after the restart and Tipperary's Tommy Fitzgerald grabbed a 39th minute goal.

However, they were majorly guilty of missed chances and recorded 10 wides in the second half as Antrim capitalised.

Quick goals from Magill and a Liam Watson penalty strike midway through the half set Antrim on their way to victory.

UCD continued to press, but a superb save from McGarry five-and-a-half minutes from the end after a chance for a second goal fell the way of Tommy Fitzgerald, summed up this game for the losers.

Dominic 'Woody' McKinley believes that these games offer great preparation for his side ahead of the National League and that it's a continual learning process for all concerned.

"It was a good day for ourselves and a whole-hearted performance," said McKinley.

"Again it is a learning process for a lot of our players and you couldn't ask any more of them for this time of the year.

"I think after last week's win over Kilkenny it was important that we got our feet firmly back on the ground and I think today they did.

"The eight players who played well last week didn't play as well today and they will learn from that. That's sport."

Next weekend's decider is a home clash for the Saffrons and McKinley is hoping that a big Antrim support will turn up for the game.

"It's great to have a final in Casement Park," he said.

"People don't realise what this will do for Antrim hurling and having people talking about hurling in January certainly gives us a boost.

"Today will bring it on another step and hopefully a good crowd will come out for that game."

MATCH STATS

Antrim: R McGarry; A Graffin, M McCambridge, S Delargy; C Herron (0-1), K McKeegan, K Elliott; N McManus (0-1), E McCloskey (0-1); S McCrory (0-1), L Watson (1-5, 4f 1-0pen), P McGill (0-2), K Stewart; C Donnelly (0-1), M Magill (2-2). Subs: D Hamill for McCrory (62).

UCD: J Maher; P Ormond, T Brady, B Travers; E O'Shea, S Nolan (0-7, 5f, 1 65), D Fitzgerald; PJ Nolan, J Walsh (0-2); C McBride, N Curran, C King; E power, T Fitzgerald (1-1), M McGarry

(0-6, 4f). Subs: L Ryan for King (55); D Lyng for McBride (55); D Langton for T Fitzgerald (55); C King for O'Shea (inj) (73).

Ref: D O'Donovan (Dublin).
Post by: imtommygunn on January 28, 2008, 11:27:08 AM
It's good to see that it's not the same 15 too and that we have ~18 players or so getting game time against decent southern opposition.
Post by: tayto on January 29, 2008, 10:17:18 AM
Antrim's form has me slightly worried for the start of the league.
Post by: aontroim abu on January 29, 2008, 12:06:37 PM
WalshCup Final now BROUGHT FORWARD TO 1.30PM. Official
Looks lke it'll have to be 9.30 Mass on Sunday morning
Post by: tayto on January 30, 2008, 01:08:42 AM
I hear Offaly aren't too chuffed at having to travel up to Casement?
Post by: Glensman on January 30, 2008, 01:44:27 PM
It will tighten them.

The rules were there before they played the semi!

Fortress Casement.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2008, 01:47:21 PM
I've heard this alright, but I haven't seen anything official.

Talk about pointless though, as has been mentioned, the draw was known before the semi finals, so if they had a problem, they should have said it then.

But besides that, what the hell is wrong with going up to Casement for a good, tough away game in preparation for the League and Championship. A Walsh Cup will not a good year make, unless it's followed up with a good league and championship campaign anyway.

It sounds like an exercise in penny pinching and is really stupid.
Post by: Sky Blue on January 30, 2008, 02:42:22 PM
Typical Biffos!

No interest in promoting hurling anywhere other than offaly!
Post by: Colonel Cool on January 31, 2008, 11:19:40 AM
Anyone going to the Walsh Cup final could do worse than go along early for the minor match Ballycran v Gort Na Mona. Good luck Antrim.

A Chara
The Walsh Cup Final,Antrim V Offaly,  is now Scheduled for 1.30pm on Sunday @ Casement Pk,
Therefore the Div 1  Ulster Minor Final,  Ballycran v Gortnamona, will start at 11.45am.

Is Mise
Proinsias O Coinne
Title: Walsh Cup Final
Post by: clootfromthe21 on February 01, 2008, 03:29:27 PM
Come on lads, I know its only the Walsh Cup Final but surely some of us have a few views on it!!!!!!

Otherwise I'm actually going to have to apply myself to work and I've had enough of that!

Antrim to win by 5.
Title: Re: Walsh Cup Final
Post by: Minder on February 01, 2008, 03:33:45 PM
Antrim 6/4 Offaly 4/6 Odds by Eastwoods
Post by: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 03:38:22 PM
I'd be wary of this from an Offaly perspective. Offaly are going well, and the noises from the camp are fairly positive, but Antrim also seem to he hurling well, and may be a bit further on.

Offaly missing the Birr lads should be balanced out by the Dunloy absences from Antrim, but home venue may just see Antrim home.

The Offaly half back line is promising, with Padraig Horan's young fella, Joe Bergin and David Kenny. Bergin is being tried there after playing well for Sier Kieran in that position.

All in all, there is a (whisper it) bit of promise there for us, but obviously this will be a big test. Look out for how Kevin Brady goes at full back, Cathal Hernon in the Corner, the aforementioned half backs, and the latest great white hope up in the forwards, Daniel Currams, son of the bearded Dual All Ireland Medallist Liam. Also James Gorman at full forward and ex Galway minor Francis Kerrigan in the other corner.

If these young lads keep going, and we can bed in the best of the Birr lads (rather than 10 Birr lads en-masse), we might have a decent year this year. Hopefully continuing this sunday, but probably not.

Jaysus, Offaly hurling optimism??? I must take my tablets.
Post by: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 03:47:40 PM
I'll be over in Sunday optimistic that our lads will give it a good go. It's only January but their commitment so far has been good and maybe we'll sneak a win.
Post by: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 03:48:28 PM
Why is there two threads on this?  :(
Post by: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 03:48:53 PM
One is for the Final :D
Post by: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 04:21:40 PM
Will you be heading up AZ or will you watch it on TV?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 01, 2008, 04:26:25 PM
I'm living down in Newport in Tipp nowadays. I'm heading to UL for Andy Lee's fight tomorrow night, so the most travelling I'll be fit to do will be to Tullamore for the football against London, and even that is pushing it :D
Post by: Glensman on February 01, 2008, 04:46:50 PM
Hopefully a good match from two teams on the up. Good to hear there are postitive vibes coming from Offaly as well.

Praying that Antrim sneak a win (actually my prayers would ask for a trouncing but anyway).

Can't wait - hope the snow stays off and the sun peaks out for it.
Post by: tayto on February 01, 2008, 05:32:36 PM
Should be an interesting tie, Antrim seem to be motoring well, worryingly well from our point of view considering the big match next weekend.
Post by: tayto on February 01, 2008, 05:33:22 PM
Quote from: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 04:21:40 PM
Will you be heading up AZ or will you watch it on TV?

It's on TG4?
Post by: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 08:58:51 PM
Is it?
Post by: Lecale2 on February 01, 2008, 09:41:47 PM
If the weather's OK I'll be over to support our neighbours (and Ballycran in the minor).
Post by: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 09:49:05 PM
I'll be in the bar from half time in the minor match. What about a mini gathering?
Post by: Blacksheep on February 01, 2008, 11:25:08 PM
The game must be in doubt with the snow. If not I'll probably be down for it and see youse in the bar.
Post by: pebble-dasher on February 02, 2008, 01:44:59 AM
Quote from: Guillem2 on February 01, 2008, 03:47:40 PM
I'll be over in Sunday optimistic that our lads will give it a good go. It's only January but their commitment so far has been good and maybe we'll sneak a win.

correct me if im wrong but its february!

hope antrim produce the goods on sunday and build on their performances this year to date.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 02, 2008, 09:12:41 AM
Good luck to Antrim & Ballycran. It would be very nice to see an Ulster team winning this competition for the very first time.

I probably won't make it up to Casement but in case I do manage it can you watch the game from the bar area? I've never been in the bar. How do you get in?
Post by: Lecale2 on February 02, 2008, 10:26:56 AM
The Ballycran v Gorts is off. They weren't convinced the pitch could take 2 games on Sunday.
Post by: Sky Blue on February 02, 2008, 12:17:18 PM
It would be good for hurling if Antrim could win this but the sad truth is that neither team will count when the championship comes around. No matter; from little acorns mighty oaks grow!
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on February 02, 2008, 12:17:32 PM
Hi lads,

Following a request, I've just merged the two Walsh Cup threads.

Cheers
Post by: Kevin on February 03, 2008, 05:00:21 AM
COME ON OFFALY!!!!!!!
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on February 03, 2008, 10:17:59 AM
I was talking to a friend in Belfast and there is a very strong wind. Not good for hurling. He said he thought you need to get signed in to the clab at Casement.
Post by: Blacksheep on February 03, 2008, 10:44:22 AM
I have been in that club a few times and I've never been asked to sign in. You can't really watch the game from the bar but you can check the scoreboard.

Who else is heading up? Drici and Guillem are usually about the club at half time.
Post by: Glensman on February 03, 2008, 11:35:13 AM
I'm heading up after having going to bed about 2 hours ago.

There is no watching the game from the club if you actually want to watch hurling.

In this weather I'm not actually sure what's better for me.

Aontroim Abu.
Post by: glens73 on February 03, 2008, 02:55:31 PM
Antrim won 3-9 to 2-7 ;D
Post by: Saffron exile on February 03, 2008, 02:56:39 PM
Congrats to Sambo and Woody and the Antrim team defeating Offaly 3-9 to 2-7 in wet and windy casement. Couldn't get to the game but heard some sporadic commentary on Midlands radio via the web. Lets hope they can translate that form to NHL.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 03, 2008, 03:17:19 PM
I'l second that!!that was a great sting of results with consistency. Bating Kilkenny,UCD and Offaly. I can't help think that it will give Dunloy a little more mental srenghth. Once again credit where credit is more than due to management, officals and the players themselves. Thanks a million lads youse have put an extra inch to my step :)
Post by: Minder on February 03, 2008, 03:23:28 PM
soaked to the balls,i dont think i have ever watched a match in worse conditions so it is hard to read too much into either teams performance but its always good to win,i will withold judgement until we get into the national league,great to see the friendly r.u.c in andytown. . . .
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 03, 2008, 03:33:22 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 03, 2008, 03:23:28 PM
soaked to the balls,i dont think i have ever watched a match in worse conditions so it is hard to read too much into either teams performance but its always good to win,i will withold judgement until we get into the national league,great to see the friendly r.u.c in andytown. . . .

I guess you didnt get in the stand? Was there a decent crowd? What were the RUC up to?
Post by: milltown row on February 03, 2008, 04:33:54 PM
good enough skill shown by both teams considering the weather. thought mcmanus was outstanding, winker in the first half was the difference, fullbackline in the second half played well, we still have this part of the game where we turn off, it was a good thing that Offaly had there moment at the same time.

from a club point of view i thought Karl Stewart played really well. the fullforward line i dont think was the best, still expecting a lot from young donnelly, ithough he had an off day maybe more to come.

great to get the win and Dickie Murphy wooked like a drowned rat coming off the pitch.

fair play to the 3 Offaly lads that stayed on the pitch, would have been easy to head off like the rest considering the weather. i'm still trying to dry off....
Post by: Kevin on February 03, 2008, 06:47:38 PM
Congrats to Antrim.
Post by: ziggysego on February 03, 2008, 06:52:49 PM
Congratulations Antrim, great stuff.
Post by: PlayWithTheWind on February 03, 2008, 07:28:34 PM
Quote from: milltown row on February 03, 2008, 04:33:54 PM
from a club point of view i thought Karl Stewart played really well. the fullforward line i dont think was the best, still expecting a lot from young donnelly, ithough he had an off day maybe more to come.

thought karl stewart worked his socks off, especially in the first half and did a lot of dogged work for the team.
neil m garry was also very solid at full back

Post by: Minder on February 03, 2008, 07:53:56 PM
Quote from: PlayWithTheWind on February 03, 2008, 07:28:34 PM
Quote from: milltown row on February 03, 2008, 04:33:54 PM

thought karl stewart worked his socks off, especially in the first half and did a lot of dogged work for the team.
neil m garry was also very solid at full back

Stewart will have to bring more of a scoring threat though, he was out of the game for long periods, in fairness it wasnt a day for forwards though. I though we went to sleep for their two goals but Neal Mc Garry played himself into the game well, he gets involved in too much oul shite with his man in my opinion, not just today but also in club games for Loughuile but he could be a good addition.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 03, 2008, 07:58:16 PM
I was over at the game and Antrim deserved the win. Conditions were really bad in the last 10 minutes but other than that they weren't too bad. Well done - a well deserved win!
Post by: Square Ball on February 03, 2008, 08:57:20 PM
absolutely fantastic, at least I wont have to listen to those aul Down ballixes in silence tomorrow in work
Post by: Intifadah on February 04, 2008, 10:24:31 AM
Soaked to f**k yesterday, weather was brutal. good result though made the drinking session after that bit sweeter. Good crowd too considering its a 'pre-season' competition and the weather was the way it was.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 04, 2008, 11:56:09 AM
Fair play Antrim. Disappointing result for us, but we won't lose the head yet. Any word on specific Offaly players? Was Bergin #6?

Hope Antrim can keep it going now, and well done again.
Post by: milltown row on February 04, 2008, 01:15:00 PM
Minder, Karl Stewart was playing whole game from midfield, think mc manaus got a point, and Karl was in on goal before getting hacked down by an Offaly back, cert score only for this tackle.

think Sambo/woody like him in the midfield role. It's all for nothing if we dont win Sunday against Dublin
Post by: Glensman on February 04, 2008, 02:20:52 PM
Won't write a report on the match but generally agree with the views expressed here.
Fullback line very solid in the tackle and generally but at the same time McGarry was left exposed a couple of times, but did well on those occasions.
Half backs were solid as well. Stewart at midfield didn't set the world on fire but was grand.
McManus and Winker very good first half. If Winker had've taken his chances from frees it would have been more comfortable but he is a class act.
Magill looks a handful, took the wrong option a couple of times in second half but certainly looks like he could be the part.

If they get beat by Dublin they will have lost one match Milltown...it won't be all for nothing.
Antrim needed that Walsh Cup for a confidence boost. No doubt S&W and most of the players are too long in the tooth to be getting carried away.
First time in a long time that 3 wins on the trot.

Spring in my step as well Ballintoy.
Post by: Lecale2 on February 04, 2008, 03:52:58 PM
WALSH CUP S.H. SHIELD

Result
3rd February - Laois 2-18 Down 0-16.
Post by: Aerlik on February 05, 2008, 06:13:19 AM
I wish for it to be noted here that I formally tender my patronising "well done" to the infidels from the east on their win in that relatively insignificant competition on  Sunday.  I'm only doing so as I have nephews who aspire to hurl for them.  Oh Gawd. ??? ??? ???
Post by: theskull1 on February 05, 2008, 07:37:12 AM
Sure there was no Dunloy players involved Aerlik, so don't feel too ashamed  ;)
Post by: Aerlik on February 06, 2008, 01:18:26 PM
Ah feckit, in that case, WELL DONE, Antrim.  Good on ya.  Hmmph Dun-hallions me arse