Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ExiledGael on January 09, 2008, 05:45:14 PM

Title: Big Sam sacked
Post by: ExiledGael on January 09, 2008, 05:45:14 PM
Sky Sports News just reporting Newcastle have sacked Sam Allardyce. Never liked the man, Shearer anyone?
Title: Re: Big Sam sacked
Post by: An Fear Rua on January 09, 2008, 05:50:16 PM
Oh Yes Please, Id love it, just love it, seeing that twat making a complete mess of it.
Post by: FermPundit on January 09, 2008, 05:54:36 PM
I didn't see this one coming  ;)

Big Sam's record from 24 games - 8 Wins, 10 Losses, 6 Draws

Newcastle are a shambles of a club. Everyone talks about Shearer yet he has no managerial experience but if Shearer doesn't take it who else will want it??
Post by: ExiledGael on January 09, 2008, 05:55:10 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on January 09, 2008, 05:50:16 PM
Oh Yes Please, Id love it, just love it, seeing that twat making a complete mess of it.

The most deluded club in the world, everything will end in tears. Could be career suicide for Shearer.
Post by: ildanach on January 09, 2008, 05:55:25 PM
give it to stan ;D
Post by: FermPundit on January 09, 2008, 05:58:46 PM
BBC Sport

Boss Allardyce leaves Newcastle 

Newcastle have parted company with manager Sam Allardyce.
The club, currently 11th in the Premier League, said the decision had been reached by "mutual agreement".

Allardyce, who was in charge for just eight months, said: "I am disappointed to be leaving Newcastle but I wish the club all the best for the future."

Former captain Alan Shearer has been strongly linked with the post but chairman Chris Mort said: "A new manager has not yet been appointed."

First team coach Nigel Pearson will take charge of the team for Saturday's Premier League meeting with Manchester United.

Post by: Leo on January 09, 2008, 05:58:58 PM
Put your money on a foreign appointment.
Post by: red hander on January 09, 2008, 05:59:29 PM
How can you expect success if you aren't willing to give a manager the time to get it right?

Newcastle should take a leaf out of Everton's book ... no doubt they'll be calling for Kevin Keegan's return, the Geordie idiots
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 09, 2008, 06:01:44 PM
I hope Shearer is put in place before Saturday if possible and for Utd to give them a right hiding.  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2008, 06:02:41 PM
Steve McClaren - Newcastle United
Sam Allardyce -  Republic of Ireland

You heard it off laoislad first  :)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 09, 2008, 06:07:12 PM
Big Sam for Ireland? Thats interesting. I'd take him ahead of Venables.

I hope Shearer gets it and fucks up.
Hate that guy.
Post by: Onlooker on January 09, 2008, 06:11:20 PM
I'd say that Sam is a shoo in for the FAI  job.  He should know the scene well as a former Manager of Limerick, and as he has been sacked by Newcastle, the FAI will avoid any compensation payment.
Post by: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 06:17:05 PM
Newcastle sacked Bobby Robson for finishing 3rd and 4th in successive seasons for under achieving as far as I remember. Sums them up really.
Post by: red hander on January 09, 2008, 06:39:38 PM
Merrion Square couldn't afford Allardyce and there's no way McClaren will get that job.

As for Shearer, I've always had a soft spot for him since he flattened that sc**bag Keith Gillespie in Dublin. 

Couple of mates met him at Cheltenham a few years back and he invited them into his tent to enjoy the hospitality.  They asked him about the Gillespie incident and he said the tr**p was out of order with two girls "who were young enough to be my daughter, and I never like the wee f***** anyway" .... he was, apparently, a gentleman...
Post by: Whitehair on January 09, 2008, 06:45:49 PM
Read the other day the new man would be getting 1m euro a year, would that be right? He would take that would he not plus a pay off from newcastle. His backroom team would be pretty expensive to employ though.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2008, 06:52:17 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 09, 2008, 06:39:38 PM
Merrion Square couldn't afford Allardyce and there's no way McClaren will get that job.

As for Shearer, I've always had a soft spot for him since he flattened that sc**bag Keith Gillespie in Dublin. 

Couple of mates met him at Cheltenham a few years back and he invited them into his tent to enjoy the hospitality.  They asked him about the Gillespie incident and he said the tr**p was out of order with two girls "who were young enough to be my daughter, and I never like the wee f***** anyway" .... he was, apparently, a gentleman...

I can't see Big Sam getting to many offers from any where else
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 09, 2008, 07:03:22 PM
He hardly got much of a chance did he? His 'star' players i.e. Duff and Owen are only back last week from injury. That chairman that Newcastle have is a bit of a clown me thinks.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2008, 07:07:23 PM
Martin Jol or Houllier might be interested in Newcastle job
Post by: Square Ball on January 09, 2008, 07:19:00 PM
Is it true that the sacking will cost Newcastle £50m if his backroom staff are sacked as well?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 09, 2008, 07:23:29 PM
He got a team over performing with the long ball up to Kevin Davies and he seemed to have some clout in the transfer market to get Djourkaeff, Anelka etc but I don't think he's a good manager. By all account Newcastle fans want to see entertaining football, almost more than winning, and he definitely wasn't the man for this.

Newcastle and Spurs must be the two most wasteful teams in the premier league / in football with money and Allardyce didn't help either. That left back he bought is rubbish. Not sure who else he bought but watching that Stoke game at the weekend anyone in the newcastle shirt at the minute isn't up to much!

Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2008, 07:27:17 PM
If thats true Square Ball i would imagine there might be a clear out of some of the bigger names Duff,Owen to make funds available..
I'd  have Owen back at Liverpool if he was to stay injury free..But thats not likely
Post by: Whitehair on January 09, 2008, 07:35:40 PM
Aye your man Jose Enrique £5m, Rozenhal, Cacapa and all pretty rubbish. Supposedly his backroom team has 20-30 people! I wonder what Given and Duff's opinions of the Allardyce were, was there dressing room discontent regarding them etc. Whether that would be considered in relation to his appointment or purely on the best CV.
Post by: INDIANA on January 09, 2008, 07:47:38 PM
Phonecall from sky sports to big sam : "I see  that you've been sacked by Newcastle, as per their website"

Sam " Well i suppose i'd better ring them then, it's the first i've heard of it"

Whatever about his merits as a manager that is a scandalous way to do business. Any manager with half a braincell wouldn't touch them with a bargepole.
Post by: gerry on January 09, 2008, 08:10:06 PM
footie managers do not get much of a chance now.  sam did not get much of a chance to make his mark.
Post by: Leo on January 09, 2008, 08:11:49 PM
You could hardly call Duff one of their star players. He has spent more time out with injury and has been most unimpressive when playing. We in Ireland tend to seriously over-rate Given (as we did with Bonner) and a look at Newcastle's goals against in every season is a bit frightening.
Having said that, Allardyce was a silly appointment. Shearer would be even sillier ( a la Roy Keane) so as I've said look out for a foreign candidate.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 09, 2008, 08:18:22 PM
Quote from: Leo on January 09, 2008, 08:11:49 PM
You could hardly call Duff one of their star players. He has spent more time out with injury and has been most unimpressive when playing. We in Ireland tend to seriously over-rate Given (as we did with Bonner) and a look at Newcastle's goals against in every season is a bit frightening.
Having said that, Allardyce was a silly appointment. Shearer would be even sillier ( a la Roy Keane) so as I've said look out for a foreign candidate.

Whatever about Duff not being a star player I'm willing to leave that open to debate..But to say Shay Given is over rated is one of the most ridiculous statements i have ever heard..
Do you not think Newcastle's goals against has something to do with their defense being shite..Jaysis the Goalie can't be expected to stop everything?
Shay Given has been on the PFA team of the year on numerous occasions over his career and he has saved Ireland on countless times with his saves..
The man is and has been one of the best goalkeepers in the Premiership if not Europe over the past 7 or 8 years
Post by: Whitehair on January 09, 2008, 08:27:15 PM
Agreed, brilliant keeper and if he was English(God forbid) he'd be their No.1 by a country mile.
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2008, 08:28:23 PM
Ant and Dec are 500/1. I think these two comedians should be employed for such a joke of a club.

Never call Duff a star player please, he is quite a distance off.
Post by: stiffler on January 09, 2008, 08:34:39 PM
Big Sam at 16/1 to be the next ireland manager seems like a good bet.
Post by: Minder on January 09, 2008, 08:41:29 PM
Ah yes the self appointed best fans in the world, the Geordies. They really do have delusions of grandeur, they were complaining the other day that Fat Sam did not understand the "true spirit and history" of Newcastle......what a history of not winning anything domestically for 50 years. You really could apply the "Where were you when you were shit" chant to Newcastle, no doubt they will have a good cry about it. As for Owen all he is worried about is keeping himself fit for England. As for Shearer, he will not jeopardise his Saint like status on Tyneside by taking and potentially making a balls of the job. He doesent need the money or hassle i would imagine.
Post by: FermPundit on January 09, 2008, 09:37:54 PM
Shearer rules out Newcastle job - BBC Sport

Sources close to Alan Shearer have confirmed to the BBC this evening that he is extremely unlikely to be the next manager of Newcastle.

Shearer says he is currently very happy with his job on Match of the Day.

The former England captain, who played for the Magpies for nearly 10 years and ended his career at St James' Park, had been strongly linked with the post.

Newcastle are beginning the hunt for their seventh manager in 11 years after the departure of Sam Allardyce.

Other names linked with the job include Martin Jol, Jose Mourinho, Jurgen Klinsmann, Marcello Lippi and former England boss Steve McClaren.
Post by: Canalman on January 09, 2008, 10:06:51 PM
Far too early to sack him on the basis of results (they are at least 11th in the table).I presume there is more to this than meets the eye.
On another point both Owen and Duff looked overweight on MOTD last weekend. Totally agree with previous poster about Damien Duff as I also think he is totally overrated.

Jol could be the replacement, although would love to see Shearer get it and screw it up.
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 09, 2008, 10:22:45 PM
Typical reaction by the geordies, as someone has stated they really do think they have a divine right to be a top team despite years of mediocrity.  In fairness to the Newcastle hierarchy they did not choose sam he was appointed by last board and they never seemed to click.  However he has bought some rubbish and i think when they saw he was going to offer £8m quid for Tal ben Haim they realised this guy Alderdice (was much better as Speaker in the assembly) must be a clown.
Would be great to see Shearer and Keane pit their wits in a Tyne/Wear derby though!
Think shearer is too canny (gettit) to take on the job at the moment, he wouldn't want to stain his image with the geordies.
Great city by the way, was there once for a stag do and the place was brilliant.
Post by: Tony hawks on January 09, 2008, 10:31:02 PM
Im afraid i have to disagree with most of the contributors here I feel he should have been sacked;

1 The players he signed were awful,the best example is Joey Barton a timebomb if there was everone,Allan Smith another good example

2 The players were played out of position Martins is an obvious example.

3 He never was the owners prefered choice

4 His style of football makes Jack Charlton seem progressive.

5 His refusal to appear on BBC programme Tv or radio,in a city dominated by the beeb to calm the restless natives.

6 Questions about his character.
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 10:36:53 PM
There is not one English manager capable of managing a big club to greatness. Their current generation of aged 35-55  managers are dire and appear to be 10-15 years behind their foreign counterparts in terms of tactics and knowledge of the game.  Fcukers spent the 80s boozing and stroking Peter Stringfellow's mullet.
Post by: Tony hawks on January 09, 2008, 10:40:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 10:36:53 PM
There is not one English manager capable of managing a big club to greatness. Their current generation of aged 35-55  managers are dire and appear to be 10-15 years behind their foreign counterparts in terms of tactics and knowledge of the game.  Fcukers spent the 80s boozing and stroking Peter Stringfellow's mullet.
Thats very true,i would be interested to know how many english managers coach in europe.

Just got a gut feeling Jurgen will the new manager.
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 10:43:16 PM
Yer man Coleman is managing Real Sociedad. He's coming on nicely......

QuoteColeman said he had been late arriving to that day's media briefing due to flooding at his flat caused by his washing machine, but Spanish media also reported he had been at a nightclub until the early hours of the morning.

He later admitted he had been out late "somewhere I shouldn't have been" on Thursday, and that he had apologised to his players prior to the game.
BBC
Post by: Bogball XV on January 09, 2008, 10:47:49 PM
I liked big sam, I think this is extremely harsh by Newcastle, he's played feck all games and not done too badly, although injuries have been rough on him - I'd take him for the ireland job any day of the week - unfortunately he'll hard go there for €1m p.a - he was on £2M wasn't he?
Post by: Minder on January 09, 2008, 10:48:50 PM
Colemans wife was bugging him for a while, and i dont mean "bugging" as in "dry the dishes Chris"......he likes a bit of "wine, women & song" by all accounts.
Post by: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 10:50:24 PM
I've no sympathy for big Sam. He was on fantastic money and knew the expectation levels of Geordies. All football clubs are either Ltds or Plcs these days and money is what it's all about and that means Europe of some sort at least.
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 09, 2008, 10:52:15 PM
She caught him by the short and curlies no doubt.  A mate spotted him in the Metro in Derry last summer on the lash said he was great craic and loved the sauce.
Post by: Rav67 on January 09, 2008, 10:53:28 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on January 09, 2008, 07:19:00 PM
Is it true that the sacking will cost Newcastle £50m if his backroom staff are sacked as well?

That was the headline in one of the tabloids but unsurprisingly it was well over-exaggerated.  It was taking into account paying all of Fat Sam's backroom staff's contracts up, as well as the value of a new contract at £2.5m a year for his successor, contracts for his backroom staff and also in the region of £20m spending money!

Quote from: Doogie Browser on January 09, 2008, 10:22:45 PM
Typical reaction by the geordies, as someone has stated they really do think they have a divine right to be a top team despite years of mediocrity.  In fairness to the Newcastle hierarchy they did not choose sam he was appointed by last board and they never seemed to click.  However he has bought some rubbish and i think when they saw he was going to offer £8m quid for Tal ben Haim they realised this guy Alderdice (was much better as Speaker in the assembly) must be a clown.
Would be great to see Shearer and Keane pit their wits in a Tyne/Wear derby though!
Think shearer is too canny (gettit) to take on the job at the moment, he wouldn't want to stain his image with the geordies.
Great city by the way, was there once for a stag do and the place was brilliant.

Living in Newcastle at the minute, the fans (particularly taxi drivers who all seem to be season-ticket holders) seem to expect they should be up in the European spots.  They never liked Big Sam from the very start due to the poor results, arrogance, insistence on playing wingers the wrong side, and the poor entertainment on show.
Post by: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 10:56:53 PM
I saw Newcastle play at Eastlands in October (was extremely bored in the flat) and I should have demanded my money back. City destroyed them.Their problem as always was defending. How hard can it be to find 4 decent defenders? Given turned round to us behind the goals and basically said what the hell was he supposed to do. The worse team I've ever seen live. I feel for their fans. The club seems to be unable of ever achieving success.
Post by: Minder on January 09, 2008, 10:59:46 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 10:56:53 PM
I saw Newcastle play at Eastlands in October (was extremely bored in the flat) and I should have demanded my money back. City destroyed them.There problem as always was defending. How hard can it be to find 4 decent defenders. Given turned round to us behind the goals and basically said what the hell was he supposed to do. The worse team I've ever seen live. I feel for their fans. The club seems to be unable of ever achieving success.

Their fans are a shower of whinging f**kers, they think they have some sort of divine right to be challenging and winning major honours. I remember Keegans first game in charge, there were 29000 at St James Park, i would hazard a guess that there wasnt half that the previous week.
Post by: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 11:03:47 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 09, 2008, 10:59:46 PM
I saw Newcastle play at Eastlands in October (was extremely bored in the flat) and I should have demanded my money back. City destroyed them.There problem as always was defending. How hard can it be to find 4 decent defenders. Given turned round to us behind the goals and basically said what the hell was he supposed to do. The worse team I've ever seen live. I feel for their fans. The club seems to be unable of ever achieving success.

Their fans are a shower of whinging f**kers, they think they have some sort of divine right to be challenging and winning major honours. I remember Keegans first game in charge, there were 29000 at St James Park, i would hazard a guess that there wasnt half that the previous week.

Bit harsh. I know a few Geordies and they're real football men.

Post by: Minder on January 09, 2008, 11:04:47 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 11:03:47 PM

Bit harsh. I know a few Geordies and they're reall football men.

I used to live with a Geordie girl at Uni and she had the biggest tits you ever saw.
Post by: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 11:06:04 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 09, 2008, 11:04:47 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on January 09, 2008, 11:03:47 PM

Bit harsh. I know a few Geordies and they're reall football men.

I used to live with a Geordie girl at Uni and she had the biggest tits you ever saw.

:D Geordie women are some craic as well. Love the sauce.
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 11:07:34 PM
Oh aye, and Coleman's not English.
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2008, 11:14:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 11:07:34 PM
Oh aye, and Coleman's not English.

Oh yes it is.

(http://images.etsy.com/all_images/8/851/a5c/il_430xN.11765415.jpg)
Post by: Rossfan on January 10, 2008, 08:04:24 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 09, 2008, 08:41:29 PM
Ah yes the self appointed best fans in the world, the Geordies. ....

Have the Irish lost their title ?? :o ;D
Post by: Canalman on January 11, 2008, 12:26:48 AM
Rossfan you surely must have forgotten about the Munster Rugby fans/ hooray henrys. Definitely up there with the self appointed best supporters in the World tribes.
Post by: qub la la la on January 11, 2008, 12:42:34 AM
newcastle would do well to realise they are not a big club. they came close to the premiership once and no matter how much any geordie would "love it if we beat them" they are shite. a team of rejects from the big clubs. might have a big fan base but that doesnt win games. Gave big sam the boot a but prematurely i think. he has been without viduka and duff and a defense. could have done a job if given the time.
Post by: Rossfan on January 11, 2008, 12:04:24 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on January 11, 2008, 12:42:34 AM
newcastle would do well to realise they are not a big club. .

I saw somewhere yesterday they are 12th biggest Soccer club in the world and 5th biggest in the YUK.

As for the best fans in the world title -
could this not be added to the olympics or would that spoil all the make believe? ;D ;D
Post by: Maximus Marillius on January 11, 2008, 12:13:35 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 11, 2008, 12:04:24 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on January 11, 2008, 12:42:34 AM
newcastle would do well to realise they are not a big club. .

I saw somewhere yesterday they are 12th biggest Soccer club in the world and 5th biggest in the YUK.

As for the best fans in the world title -
could this not be added to the olympics or would that spoil all the make believe? ;D ;D

WTF...how does a team that wins nothing yearly be 12thh biggest in the world..what was it called the Toon Daily Mail
Post by: Uladh on January 11, 2008, 02:54:25 PM

They reckon sam didn't buy into the ethos of the geordies: play attacking, flowing football and win f all.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 03:01:01 PM
No. Sam's idealogy is play putrid, negative football and win f..k all.
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 03:02:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 03:01:01 PM
No. Sam's idealogy is play putrid, negative football and win f..k all.

Well realistically what was he going to win at Bolton, he overachieved if anything with the Trotters.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 03:05:31 PM
In my opinion he will never win anything of note, other than possibly a cup, at any club. In my mind he is one of those managers destined to always manage either Championship winning teams like Reading, Watford, Wolves or whomever, or else Premiership teams that finish between 6th and 12th.

Nothing personal against him, don't know anything about him as a man, but he seems to be much more about stopping the opposition playing than actually making his own team play.

Having said all that, I wouldn't mind him as the next Ireland manager because those attributes can carry you a long way in international football.
Post by: Uladh on January 11, 2008, 03:21:51 PM

i disagree. given time and a competitive budget, sam's methods would have brought the magpies to at least the champions league. pretty pictures more often than not achieve v little at the highest level of sport. look at arsenal.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 03:23:41 PM
Quote from: Uladh on January 11, 2008, 03:21:51 PM
pretty pictures more often than not achieve v little at the highest level of sport. look at arsenal.

Top of the league playing the "prettiest" football in England at the moment!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 03:25:53 PM
Look at Arsenal? Jaysus Uladh, that's harsh. I would say that Arsenal and Man United have played the best football since the premier league started, and have been the most successful. In fact I would say that if you are organised and hard to beat, but lacking spark, then the best you can hope for is 3rd place. Quality and attacking play is always the difference.

Chelsea may have slightly rocked that boat, but even so their first championship saw some great football as well.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 11, 2008, 03:29:29 PM
Quote from Minder
QuoteI used to live with a Geordie girl at Uni and she had the biggest tits you ever saw.

As they say on Footbal 365 .....Rule 1....
Post by: Uladh on January 12, 2008, 11:36:10 AM

'arry turned the "lose with style" kings down this morning
Post by: inisceithleann on January 12, 2008, 01:35:06 PM
Football Focus reckon it'll be Kevin Keegan with Shearer as his assisant. I doubt it, but the Geordies would love it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 14, 2008, 05:02:47 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on January 12, 2008, 01:35:06 PM
Football Focus reckon it'll be Kevin Keegan with Shearer as his assisant. I doubt it, but the Geordies would love it.

Prices slashed from 50/1 to 9/2 on this happening
Post by: Uladh on January 14, 2008, 05:40:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 03:25:53 PM
Look at Arsenal? Jaysus Uladh, that's harsh. I would say that Arsenal and Man United have played the best football since the premier league started, and have been the most successful. In fact I would say that if you are organised and hard to beat, but lacking spark, then the best you can hope for is 3rd place. Quality and attacking play is always the difference.

Chelsea may have slightly rocked that boat, but even so their first championship saw some great football as well.

You need the bit of steel to win anything az. arsenal, for all their bluster would have won nothing without adams/keown etc and latterly viera.

they seriously lack middle in em.

Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 03:23:41 PM
Top of the league playing the "prettiest" football in England at the moment!

what have arsenal won recently your holiness?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 14, 2008, 05:48:23 PM
and what sort of backbone do united have at the moment? Vidic is formidable but Carrick and anderson would hardly make you wet yourself.
Post by: Uladh on January 14, 2008, 05:51:09 PM

The current champions and league leaders have piles of steel in vidic, brown, hargreaves and rooney my good man
Post by: his holiness nb on January 14, 2008, 05:52:53 PM
Quote from: Uladh on January 14, 2008, 05:40:17 PM
what have arsenal won recently your holiness?

Since Wenger took over they have played attractive football and won several trophies.

At the moment they play the most attractive football in the league, they are currently join top along with Man Utd who play they second most attractive football in the league.

They other two "contenders" who have more of a defensive style are in third and fourth place.

One of those two may well win the league, but my money is on Arsenal or United.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 14, 2008, 05:54:20 PM
Brown!!!  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 14, 2008, 06:30:23 PM
Quote from: Uladh on January 14, 2008, 05:51:09 PM

The current champions and league leaders have piles of steel in vidic, brown, hargreaves and rooney my good man

Brown  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
In fairness at least you didn't say Ferdinand
Post by: Uladh on January 14, 2008, 07:55:18 PM

i thought about it!  :D
Post by: full back on January 14, 2008, 07:58:57 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 14, 2008, 05:48:23 PM
anderson would hardly make you wet yourself.

Maybe not, but he would kick the sh1t out of you any day off the week - he is hard as nails ;)
Post by: Square Ball on January 16, 2008, 04:27:37 PM
Radio 5 reporting Keegan new manager of the Toons
Post by: whyarerefssobad on January 16, 2008, 04:31:23 PM
yes its on sky sports now . i think its a big mistake
Post by: slow corner back on January 16, 2008, 04:34:31 PM
O dear O dear, glad I am not a Toon fan. Still plenty of hype, attacking and rubbish defending, much as usual at St James then.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 16, 2008, 04:36:21 PM
It will keep the fat shirtless ones happy though so everything is great. I hope he gets She-ra in as his assistant.
Post by: Doogie Browser on January 16, 2008, 04:40:57 PM
he is a perennial cacker and when the going gets tough he will be out of there.
A terrible decision in my opinion.  This is a club where the fans dictate boardroom activity, great if you are a fan but no guarantee of success.
They are a big club in name & support only, no history of success to back it up. 

Post by: Lecale2 on January 16, 2008, 04:54:20 PM
They'd be better off with Ant and Dec.

Keegan is yesterday's man and will never bring them back to where they were in the 90s. What exactly has Keegan ever won as a manager? Very poor decision IMO but time will tell.

PS chnage the name of the thread?