GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: clarshack on January 06, 2008, 04:22:26 PM

Title: Laochra Gael Peter Canavan
Post by: clarshack on January 06, 2008, 04:22:26 PM
heard it's on this thursday night at 10pm. can anyone confirm?
Title: Re: Laochra Gael Peter Canavan
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 06, 2008, 04:38:09 PM
Correct:

TG4 Schedule for Thursday (http://www.tg4.ie/Scei/scei.php?date=2008-01-10)
Post by: clarshack on January 06, 2008, 04:39:22 PM
thanks fear, should be a good one!
Post by: orangeman on January 06, 2008, 07:55:00 PM
It should be a very good programme - all the footage should be fairly fresh in the memory.

We only truly appreciate the likes of him when they're quit playing.
Post by: ziggysego on January 06, 2008, 09:05:42 PM
Is it a repeat, or a new programme? I don't recall ever seeing it, but my Dad reckons he has.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 06, 2008, 09:54:33 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 06, 2008, 09:05:42 PM
Is it a repeat, or a new programme? I don't recall ever seeing it, but my Dad reckons he has.

According to the TG4 trailer, it's a new one Ziggy.
Post by: parttimeexile on January 07, 2008, 08:34:37 AM
I think I have seen one before but could be mistaken. Was there one done about Mickey Linden last year?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 09, 2008, 10:01:09 PM
Bomaite amháin a chairde!  ;)
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 10:05:35 PM
?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 09, 2008, 10:09:08 PM
Rewind, disregard that ONeill, t'is tomorrow evening @ 10pm, and that clanger without even a drop on board!  ;)

Though good documentary on Ernie O'Malley on at the minute.
Post by: jodyb on January 09, 2008, 10:14:40 PM
I have on autoview in the sky personal planner, since sunday last to make sure I dont miss it. Having said that my kids have a tendency to knock shows off the personal planner, so I need to go and check if its still there.
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 10:15:59 PM
Schools in Derry aren't commencing until 10am on Friday so the children can stay up late to watch it.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 09, 2008, 10:35:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 10:15:59 PM
Schools in Derry aren't commencing until 10am on Friday so the children can stay up late to watch it.

Are they really going to school?
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2008, 11:25:49 PM
There are schools in Derry?
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2008, 11:28:42 PM
Plenty of hedges though. I went out with a girl from Derry, Knockloughrim I think. She was so stupid that she put lipstick on her head just to make-up her mind.
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2008, 11:42:53 PM
I'm trying to close a deal with an organisation in Derry. The man I'm dealing with is called Samuel - not Sam or Sammy, but Samuel. I have to send him a quote, that he has to take to his board. Will I blow the deal if I address it "Derry, Co. Derry"? How should I proceed?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 09, 2008, 11:46:06 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 09, 2008, 11:42:53 PM
I'm trying to close a deal with an organisation in Derry. The man I'm dealing with is called Samuel - not Sam or Sammy, but Samuel. I have to send him a quote, that he has to take to his board. Will I blow the deal if I address it "Derry, Co. Derry"? How should I proceed?

Just Derry City I'd say Hardy, no need for the county, and that shouldn't offend sensitivities too much if he kicks with the other one, which is not guaranteed.
Post by: muppet on January 09, 2008, 11:54:23 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 09, 2008, 11:46:06 PM

Just Derry City I'd say Hardy, no need for the county, and that shouldn't offend sensitivities too much if he kicks with the other one, which is not guaranteed.

Hardy if you as a Meathman called it Londonderry I'd say he would be very suspicious of you. Regardless of his background he would expect a southerner to call it Derry, anything different will cast you in a very odd light.
Post by: Doire abú on January 10, 2008, 12:45:31 AM
Anywhere online where one could watch the TG4 show in Joe Brolly they did a while ago?
Post by: Hardy on January 10, 2008, 10:38:02 AM
Thanks lads. That was slightly tongue-in-cheek banter last night. I used "Derry", with the UK postcode.
Post by: feetofflames on January 10, 2008, 11:24:00 AM
I had heard that they are now calling it the walled city or even the maiden city.
I have a friend who sent a postcard back from holidays to the walled city and it got there sure enough.
Post by: Star Spangler on January 10, 2008, 12:03:42 PM
That's no good if you're on the Waterside though.
Post by: Minder on January 10, 2008, 12:11:42 PM

If you have had any correspondence/letters from him i think best practise is to call it what he has called it. If he is offended easily speaks volumes about him.
Post by: Leo on January 10, 2008, 12:21:10 PM
What has all this Derry talk to do with Tyrone's famous diving exponent?
Post by: feetofflames on January 10, 2008, 12:32:06 PM
Leo  - if Peter Canavan stood at the bar beside you to order a pint, yer knees would be knocking and ye'd be foaming at the mouth to get a simple hello from the diminutive little legend.
Post by: Star Spangler on January 10, 2008, 12:34:11 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on January 10, 2008, 12:32:06 PM
Leo  - if Peter Canavan stood at the bar beside you to order a pint, yer knees would be knocking and ye'd be foaming at the mouth to get a simple hello from the diminutive little legend.

Post by: Leo on January 10, 2008, 01:55:56 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on January 10, 2008, 12:34:11 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on January 10, 2008, 12:32:06 PM

Know him well - knew his father - knees never knock anyway - dont go into bars - might see him at the pool though.
Post by: red hander on January 10, 2008, 01:56:20 PM
See that new state-of-the-art double decker Ulsterbus that goes from Belfast via Dungiven has a flashing sign on the front that alternates between Londonderry and Derry every couple of seconds ... they're taking no chances
Post by: Leo on January 10, 2008, 02:03:50 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 10, 2008, 01:56:20 PM
See that new state-of-the-art double decker Ulsterbus that goes from Belfast via Dungiven has a flashing sign on the front that alternates between Londonderry and Derry every couple of seconds ... they're taking no chances

Might as well join in the fun.
Does anyone know who "the Londonderry Minor" is?
Heard a former Derry player introduced in these terms by the MC at a business jolly in Belfast.
Post by: feetofflames on January 10, 2008, 02:10:23 PM
 state-of-the-art double decker Ulsterbus that goes from Belfast via Dungiven has a flashing sign on the front that alternates between Londonderry and Derry every couple of seconds ... they're taking no chances

It takes more than a couple of seconds to get through Dungiven, there could be trouble so.  Whay dont they put up the walled city.....blah
Post by: Doire abú on January 10, 2008, 06:57:39 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on January 10, 2008, 12:03:42 PM

Most recent figures put the Waterside at 54% Catholic now which startled me slightly
Post by: Star Spangler on January 10, 2008, 08:02:59 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on January 10, 2008, 06:57:39 PM

Most recent figures put the Waterside at 54% Catholic now which startled me slightly

You missed the point.  I was referring to the comment that the dump could be called the Walled city.  The Waterside is outside the walls.
Post by: ONeill on January 10, 2008, 09:30:18 PM
By right the Gaaboard should shut down between 10 and 1030 in reverence.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2008, 09:31:26 PM
Up to you to lock it ONeill ;)
Post by: ONeill on January 10, 2008, 09:33:18 PM
Ok, anyone posting between the hours of 2200 and 2230 will be reprimanded severely. Bad karma.
Post by: orangeman on January 10, 2008, 09:35:17 PM
 Definite curfew tonight please. Get away from those keyboards.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2008, 09:36:20 PM
and mobile phones......
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 10, 2008, 09:59:38 PM
Bomaite amháin a chairde, go deimhin!  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on January 10, 2008, 10:15:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 10, 2008, 09:33:18 PM
Ok, anyone posting between the hours of 2200 and 2230 will be reprimanded severely. Bad karma.

What about the breaks?
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 10, 2008, 10:18:03 PM
Pedro - Le Petit Merde !!

But we have Sam back now and he's happy in the Kingdom.

f**k me its the Benny and Peter show now, lock up the childer fast.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 10, 2008, 10:36:09 PM
Understand your pain KM... and hope to administer a dose of the very same real soon!  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on January 10, 2008, 10:45:09 PM
Canavan is up there with Seamus Darby in me GAA nightmares. Thankfully ye wont have him if we ever meet again in the near future, but we will have God Óg ie The Gooch, assuming he dosent have someones fingers stuck in his eyes  ;)

The Unibrows spoke well.

T'was a good program and always sad to see a clip of McAnallen.
Post by: gerry on January 10, 2008, 10:49:24 PM
QuoteT'was a good program

bet you found that hard to say
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 10, 2008, 10:51:46 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on January 10, 2008, 10:45:09 PM
Canavan is up there with Seamus Darby in me GAA nightmares. Thankfully ye wont have him if we ever meet again in the near future, but we will have God Óg ie The Gooch, assuming he dosent have someones fingers stuck in his eyes  ;)

The Unibrows spoke well.

T'was a good program and always sad to see a clip of McAnallen.

Indeed, nice touch about Cormac.

The Unibrow mór is now God   ;)

And assuming the Gooch will be wearing a welder's visor the next time we cross paths.
Post by: ONeill on January 10, 2008, 10:58:01 PM
Very hard to include all that's needed in 25 mins. I'd liked to have seen more of his individual talent but tis a tough call.

To be honest though, he couldn't kick snow off a rope.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 10, 2008, 11:04:14 PM
You could see the gradual hair loss over the 15 years ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 10, 2008, 11:06:52 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 10, 2008, 11:04:14 PM
You could see the gradual hair loss over the 15 years ;)

Yeah, one microsecond in 1993!
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 11, 2008, 12:44:09 AM
The sight of him getting emptied against Meath, brought to mind Hardy's fascinating description of the same event.  I forget the exact words used, but it made me guffaw at the time! Any chance of a reminder Hardy?  ;D
Post by: Doire abú on January 11, 2008, 01:28:00 AM
Quote from: Star Spangler on January 10, 2008, 08:02:59 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on January 10, 2008, 06:57:39 PM

You missed the point.  I was referring to the comment that the dump could be called the Walled city.  The Waterside is outside the walls.

Yeah just got the point as I was writing out my reply, but decided to post it anyway.

Back on topic, I forgot about the show? Repeat at all?
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2008, 10:01:51 AM
The man was a genius - very elusive - he seemed to go in between Brian Mc Gilligan's legs once and score a point - class act.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 10:35:16 AM
I can't remember now Rufus.

Suffice it to say, though, that a good long detailed look at the video in slow motion will dispel a lot of myths. The next time the subject comes up for debate here I'm just going to draw a big square in the air with my two hands, like the refs in the rugby do.
Post by: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 12:25:26 PM
What is your take on the incident in question Hardy?

For those looking for the......
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 10:35:16 AM
big square in the air with my two hands, like the refs in the rugby do.
It can be viewed at www.tg4.tv, you will find it under sport (naturally) and move it on to about 12 minutes into the programme
Post by: bennydorano on January 11, 2008, 12:33:45 PM
Martin McConnell on Dooher was more cynical.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 01:06:34 PM
Benny I'm not going there again.

Louth Exile, I was just referring to the generally accepted suggestion that John McDermott took Peter Canavan out of that game. The facts of what happened, rather than my take on it, are to be seen from a viewing of the video in slow motion.

In summary, McDermott made no contact at all with Peter, other than to trip over him as he fell. Canavan's injury was a very nasty (ugly to look at on the video) twisted ankle, caused when he caught his foot under himself as he leaned back to take the shot (and avoid McDermott's lunge).

I've often used it as an example of where popular opinion and accepted versions of events are totally wrong and how most people don't even bother to check the facts before subscribing to such  myths and legends.

Two things:

1. I'm not claiming that McDermott didn't TRY to take out, maim, ore even murder Canavan. I'm not saying he did either, because (unlike Benny :P) I have no way of reading people's minds from a distance. I'm only stating the fact that, whatever he was trying to do, he failed and missed Canavan completely.

2. I'm not really on for another long debate on ancient history, but if anyone wants to challenge my statement on what happened, could I please ask them to check the video first.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 11, 2008, 01:54:36 PM
Just watched Laochra Gael on tg4.tv during my lunch break there and thoroughly enjoyed it - been a pleasure to grow up watching Peter at his best!!

With regard to the John McDermott incident, i dont think it was the McDermott challenge that injured Peter's ankle, but there is without shadow of a doubt blantant intent to take him out as you can actually see McDermott looking at Peter and dipping the shoulder just as he kicked the ball. This in my view is as cowardly and with injury intent as a tackle can get!
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:05:57 PM
Another mind reader!. I am in awe.
Post by: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:12:48 PM
I think that there is very little doubt that a serious injury would be caused by the way the tackle was attempted.  There was in the indo or press a  famous picture of the wild eyes of Mc dermott  from the far side as he moved in for the kill.  Canavan was vulnerable - he was on one leg concentraing on steering a ball over the bar.  Mc dermott knew what he was at.  Pter was lucky to have the career he did after that.  Did anyone see Cavlans point from the end line.  Wow and ultimately what a waste of talent.  Also Did anyone see Mc Gilligan knocking the scone outta Donaghy as the ball was throwin in Tyrone V Derry 91.  And Finally lest ye all forget Canavan was only one half of the terrible twins..
Post by: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 02:18:34 PM
I have to admit, you do have a case Hardy. Looking at the replay, Mc Dermotts actions do not appear to directly cause the injury in question. They do however show a very late and very dangerous lunge at him. But as you say, ancient history
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:22:02 PM
He had wild eyes, as well!
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:23:46 PM
Canavan was over rated, not a patch on Mossie Quinn.
Post by: EC Unique on January 11, 2008, 02:25:31 PM
When I try to play it on tg4.tv I can hear the words, music etc but the screen remains green with no picture at all. Do I have to download some software to be able to watch it?? ???
Post by: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:27:04 PM
Wild and insane and insatiable  - a bit like yer man Nicholson in the shining.  As for the "over raring" of Canavan, Are you saying that Mossie was under rared or even semi rared?
The GPA should be onto hi case and demanding more raring tout de suite!!!
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 02:28:51 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:27:04 PM
As for the "over raring" of Canavan, Are you saying that Mossie was under rared or even semi rared?

Edited before your post rrhf  ;)

The f**ker was definately rared too well, I'll give him that  :-X
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 11, 2008, 02:32:40 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 02:18:34 PM
I have to admit, you do have a case Hardy. Looking at the replay, Mc Dermotts actions do not appear to directly cause the injury in question. They do however show a very late and very dangerous lunge at him. But as you say, ancient history

I would agree with that. Also noticed McDermotts elbow come up at the end of the "shoulder". Would love to see the "go in with the shoulder and then raise the elbow" tackle classified as a red card. If executed properly, there is no reason for the elbow to leave the side of the body...

Back to the man in question, another quality production from TG4, only sickening part was Kellys speech before presenting Sam. Interesting setup Peter and Benny have out foreign, is it just a summer camp or does it run year round???
Post by: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:37:31 PM
EC Unique I thought you wouldnt get to see it so I watched it for you:  the footage shows
1) clips of Cush putting point after point on a plate for Canavan.
2) Canavan actually missing those 2 second half goals in The Tyrone championship V Donaghmore in 2000.
3) Errigal Ciaran actually staying split as Glencull and Ballygawley.
you'll surley not need to watch it now  :P
Post by: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 02:45:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:22:02 PM
He had wild eyes, as well!

Ah yeah, but that just something to do with the water out in Skyrne  :D
Post by: full back on January 11, 2008, 02:48:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:12:48 PM
Also Did anyone see Mc Gilligan knocking the scone outta Donaghy as the ball was throwin in Tyrone V Derry 91. 

I seen that alright, suprised no one mentioned it before now - what a f**king tackle
I think Donaghy done a triple axle sumersault before going to ground

As for PTG, a decent enough show but I think it would be difficult to fit it all into 25 mins as someone said. Some of his scores were unreal although a few of them had a case for over-carrying as well (mind you he was being hauled back on a lot of these occasions)
Post by: 5 Sams on January 11, 2008, 02:51:22 PM
Quoteback to the man in question, another quality production from TG4,

Excellent programme alright. If TG4 produced a box set of past programmes they would make a fortune.

Overall TG4 is execllent and would be the most watched channel in our house not alone for sport but all their programmes in general are very well made and they have some great documentaries.
Post by: BennyHarp on January 11, 2008, 02:53:05 PM
QuoteAnother mind reader!. I am in awe

Obviously easily impressed then Hardy, because a blind man on a galloping horse could see that McDermott had intent when he sized Peter up and lunged at him while he was about to kick the ball! Or maybe you were simply in awe that the ball went over the bar.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 02:57:29 PM
QuoteIf executed properly, there is no reason for the elbow to leave the side of the body...

Unless you miss the shoulder. Your momentum always makes you raise your arm then or else you would fall over with your arms stuck to your side like a Penguin. Having said that, I know what you are saying in that some lads definitely use the elbow under cover of 'it was shoulder to shoulder ref!!'.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:58:12 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on January 11, 2008, 02:53:05 PM
QuoteAnother mind reader!. I am in awe

Obviously easily impressed then Hardy, because a blind man on a galloping horse could see that McDermott had intent when he sized Peter up and lunged at him while he was about to kick the ball! Or maybe you were simply in awe that the ball went over the bar.

I was that as well. And highly impressed that Peter Canavan himself was one Bushman who never opened his mouth about the incident from that day to this. That's the way it should be done.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on January 11, 2008, 03:08:24 PM
Quote from: full back on January 11, 2008, 02:48:01 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:12:48 PM
Also Did anyone see Mc Gilligan knocking the scone outta Donaghy as the ball was throwin in Tyrone V Derry 91. 

I seen that alright, suprised no one mentioned it before now - what a f**king tackle
I think Donaghy done a triple axle sumersault before going to ground

As for PTG, a decent enough show but I think it would be difficult to fit it all into 25 mins as someone said. Some of his scores were unreal although a few of them had a case for over-carrying as well (mind you he was being hauled back on a lot of these occasions)

it was actually dermot mcnicholl that hit him
Post by: magpie seanie on January 11, 2008, 03:14:57 PM
QuoteUnless you miss the shoulder. Your momentum always makes you raise your arm then or else you would fall over

Yeah, agree 100%. A lot of missed shoulders look terribly vicious attempted elbows when in fact they would have been legitimate shoulder charges if timed correctly. I've even see lads lie down out of fright from them.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 11, 2008, 03:24:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2008, 02:57:29 PM
QuoteIf executed properly, there is no reason for the elbow to leave the side of the body...

Unless you miss the shoulder. Your momentum always makes you raise your arm then or else you would fall over with your arms stuck to your side like a Penguin. Having said that, I know what you are saying in that some lads definitely use the elbow under cover of 'it was shoulder to shoulder ref!!'.

Good point, never occured to me as us Lakers always land the shoulder (cough, cough, splutter...). Still though you should be on ur way past the person before your arm comes away from the body. Was trying to refer to "there's the shoulder and if I time it right a bloody lip" attempt of a shoulder...
Post by: EC Unique on January 11, 2008, 03:58:13 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 11, 2008, 02:37:31 PM
EC Unique I thought you wouldnt get to see it so I watched it for you:  the footage shows
1) clips of Cush putting point after point on a plate for Canavan.
2) Canavan actually missing those 2 second half goals in The Tyrone championship V Donaghmore in 2000.
3) Errigal Ciaran actually staying split as Glencull and Ballygawley.
you'll surley not need to watch it now  :P

Very good RRHF,, who is this man Cush you refer to?? Oh thats right I remember him, long time since he dawned a Tyrone shirt, which OAP home is he in anyway? :D :D

By the way I did see it. Want to show it to the old man on line.. ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on January 11, 2008, 03:58:30 PM
Some very interesting points made there alright lads
Must say when I watched the Meath incidents again last night after 11 years of calming down I still feel a lot of Meaths tactics we're pre-empted

If you were a coach as crafty as Boylan would you not tell yer players to try take their main man outta the game and what is the best time and way to do it.
When watching it last night though I did think how did that shoulder do so much damage to his ankle. It looked like he caught him on the head or neck but as someone said it must have been how he fell on his ankle.

I'm sure our Meath colleagues will roll their eyes to heaven AGAIN when I mention it but no matter what his past record was like, How any fair minded person can say that Martin McConnell didnt mean to stand on Doohers head just amazes me. I think it might have been the Boylan influence on him though.
That 1996 defeat certainly disgusted many of us Tyrone football purists and so maybe thats why today we have a very different style.

Remember the freak injuries Peter got v Kerry in the 2003 Semi. The Pony was nowhere near him when he went over on his ankle.
Is it the way he twists and turns so fast.

I know he was no angel himself but man he took some abuse over the years from local club football to that International game with that Alkermanis p***k.
There certainly was a reaction from most teams to get him either injured or to try to rise him into a response and sending off
Other county fans used to love seeing him getting sent off and there certainly was a period where players would Just grap his neck and not let go hoping he would re-taliate.

I was disgusted myself though with his lunge on Gooch at end of game in 2005 but I suppose he's received such treatment so often himself and he'd do anything to not let a 2nd AI slip. Imagine though if it had of been Ricey or Galvin from Kerry on Peter.

I was very impressed with Jarlath's Fair and kind words and his massive complements of Peter and I loved Benny's comment about his shiny head blinded him and so he couldn't see the ball properly.
Many of the other Armagh lads in recent squads would find it hard to be so honest and how most of their fans would admit to HATING the wee baldy S**TE.

It sure would be nice to get a collection of all his scores on one DVD
I believe once he headed a goal in a charity match in the USA.

I noticed at the end him playing with his son. Has he only one son then?
Have we any good Tyrone women out there willing to help him add to that tally?  :o
He's got a huge act to follow but if its anything like Brian McGuigan we should be grand in 20 years time
Post by: downredblack on January 11, 2008, 04:02:46 PM
Thon was never a penalty  :D
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on January 11, 2008, 04:06:50 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 01:06:34 PM

In summary, McDermott made no contact at all with Peter, other than to trip over him as he fell. Canavan's injury was a very nasty (ugly to look at on the video) twisted ankle, caused when he caught his foot under himself as he leaned back to take the shot (and avoid McDermott's lunge).

Can I run a hypothetical question by you Hardy for a minute, in the interest of some weekend banter?

Suppose you and I are up on top of a cliff somewhere, and I try to run you through with a sword (I'm very bad that way). Now, is it only murder if you stay still on the edge of the cliff and take the blade? If you fall off the cliff to your doom, in trying to avoid my lunge, just as Canavan tried to avoid McDermott's lunge, does that mean that I don't end up before the beak to answer for my crime? :)

And what the hell is Dessie Farrell doing up there as your pic? Are his plans for world domination not advancing fast enough as it is?
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2008, 04:17:57 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on January 11, 2008, 03:58:30 PM
Some very interesting points made there alright lads
Must say when I watched the Meath incidents again last night after 11 years of calming down I still feel a lot of Meaths tactics we're pre-empted

If you were a coach as crafty as Boylan would you not tell yer players to try take their main man outta the game and what is the best time and way to do it.
When watching it last night though I did think how did that shoulder do so much damage to his ankle. It looked like he caught him on the head or neck but as someone said it must have been how he fell on his ankle.

I'm sure our Meath colleagues will roll their eyes to heaven AGAIN when I mention it but no matter what his past record was like, How any fair minded person can say that Martin McConnell didnt mean to stand on Doohers head just amazes me. I think it might have been the Boylan influence on him though.
That 1996 defeat certainly disgusted many of us Tyrone football purists and so maybe thats why today we have a very different style.

Remember the freak injuries Peter got v Kerry in the 2003 Semi. The Pony was nowhere near him when he went over on his ankle.
Is it the way he twists and turns so fast.

I know he was no angel himself but man he took some abuse over the years from local club football to that International game with that Alkermanis p***k.
There certainly was a reaction from most teams to get him either injured or to try to rise him into a response and sending off
Other county fans used to love seeing him getting sent off and there certainly was a period where players would Just grap his neck and not let go hoping he would re-taliate.

I was disgusted myself though with his lunge on Gooch at end of game in 2005 but I suppose he's received such treatment so often himself and he'd do anything to not let a 2nd AI slip. Imagine though if it had of been Ricey or Galvin from Kerry on Peter.

I was very impressed with Jarlath's Fair and kind words and his massive complements of Peter and I loved Benny's comment about his shiny head blinded him and so he couldn't see the ball properly.
Many of the other Armagh lads in recent squads would find it hard to be so honest and how most of their fans would admit to HATING the wee baldy S**TE.

It sure would be nice to get a collection of all his scores on one DVD
I believe once he headed a goal in a charity match in the USA.

I noticed at the end him playing with his son. Has he only one son then?
Have we any good Tyrone women out there willing to help him add to that tally?  :o
He's got a huge act to follow but if its anything like Brian McGuigan we should be grand in 20 years time

He's on the team of the century so you could at least get his name right. As for the comments about John McDermotts wild eyes, angry hair and flaring nostrils, give me a break. Tyrone got a footballing lesson that day. You should be grateful to us. 8)
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 04:28:13 PM
Iolar I'm tired of all this to be honest. And of the mindreaders who can tell what was in Martin O'Connell's head, even though he clearly wasn't looking (wild-eyed or otherwise) at where he was putting his feet and was never even booked, as far as I remember in his inter-county career. Yet some people are not prepared to give even such an exemplary sportsman the benefit of the doubt and prefer to brand him as a violent thug based on what they "feel". (At least they are not as bad as the scum who terrorised his family with anonymous threatening phone calls). The same people, apparently were in the Meath dressingroom that day, as they are able to report to us on the playing instructions delivered by Sean Boylan.

Anyway, to answer your question, I can't add much to what I've said already. The popular myth is that McDermott injured Canavan. The FACT is he didn't make contact at all . Everything else is speculation, including McDermott's intent, the wildness of his eyes, whether he would have collided shoulder-to-shoulder if Peter hadn't leaned back, etc. Again, people are free to speculate away and even to believe that McDermott meant to kill him, if that's what they think from what they saw (though they might offer some evidence). I just thought I was doing the record a service by recording the facts, for a change.

As for my avatar – it's an (obviously failed) attempt at irony, lampooning Dessie and the GPA politburo, by turning one of Dessie's infamous sound bytes back on him.
Post by: Quarterback on January 11, 2008, 04:34:20 PM
I was fortunate enough to have been taught by the great man....One of my fondest memories of peter was at school.  It was after an u 16 training session...... session had ended and we were walking towards the changing room.  Peter had a pair of wellies on him, a ball in one hand, and a new pair off puma kings in the other.  We were walking on the sideline and a few of the guys challenged him to put the ball over the bar from the sideline on the 14 yard line....The deal was made that if he missed he would hand over the boots.....So he takes a step back, wellies, leggins and rain jacket intact and screws the ball over the bar with the outside of his boot....We were amazed....class stuff...
Post by: EC Unique on January 11, 2008, 04:34:57 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on January 11, 2008, 02:25:31 PM
When I try to play it on tg4.tv I can hear the words, music etc but the screen remains green with no picture at all. Do I have to download some software to be able to watch it?? ???

Anyone?????

By the way Hardy, he has 2 sons.. :) :)
Post by: magpie seanie on January 11, 2008, 05:04:55 PM
Worked for me ECUnique. Wouldn't have a clue what to do if it went wrong.

A good show considering the limited time available.
Post by: Minder on January 11, 2008, 05:10:30 PM
Was there not a thread before "Would you rather have Geezer or Peter the Great as your captain" and someone made reference to some of his less admitrable traits, something about going into the changing rooms after a University game and breaking some fellas jaw.
Post by: EC Unique on January 11, 2008, 05:23:53 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 11, 2008, 05:10:30 PM
Was there not a thread before "Would you rather have Geezer or Peter the Great as your captain" and someone made reference to some of his less admitrable traits, something about going into the changing rooms after a University game and breaking some fellas jaw.

Shame on Geezer for doing that >:( >:(
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2008, 05:41:00 PM
If you zoom in close, and slow down, on McDermott you can see him laughing and saying "take that ye baldy runt'. And he has wild eyes.
Post by: orangeman on January 11, 2008, 05:44:43 PM
That was the University of life - didn't Art say he was only a wee nippy handy forward - obviously he grew up after going to university ! 

The Meath boys were the professors in that university - Chancellor Lyons was head man ! Vice Chancellor Robbie O'Malley
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 11, 2008, 06:01:28 PM
Great show - just spent my lunch hour watching it

Had some dozy bird come over and ask me what language that was the people were speaking - she thought it sounded like something from Lord of the Rings
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 11, 2008, 07:22:52 PM
John "Crazy eyes" McDermott relives the 1996 AI semi-final

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:4BsdW-JkCDwWGM:http://washcycle.typepad.com/home/images/crazy_old_man.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2008, 07:26:20 PM
More like it:

(http://www.hp-lexicon.org/images/mk/moody.jpg)
Post by: Estimator on January 11, 2008, 07:57:11 PM
Thought they might have let us see Big Plunkett catch thin air in the National League final.

Strange the way they showed clips from Down 91 & 94 and Donegal in 92 but nothing of 93.
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2008, 08:18:50 PM
Quote from: Estimator on January 11, 2008, 07:57:11 PM
Thought they might have let us see Big Plunkett catch thin air in the National League final.

Strange the way they showed clips from Down 91 & 94 and Donegal in 92 but nothing of 93.

Yes, I thought that was very clever.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 11, 2008, 08:30:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 04:28:13 PM
... And of the mindreaders who can tell what was in Martin O'Connell's head, even though he clearly wasn't looking (wild-eyed or otherwise) at where he was putting his feet and was never even booked, as far as I remember in his inter-county career...

Hmmm... his hand's on Dooher's head, and then he puts his boot where his hand has just been... hardly mindreading Hardy! An exemplar of a sportsman perhaps, but that was the act of an out-and-out kn**ker (hid it well by looking straight ahead). It doesn't take a county player to put his boot where his hand's just been without looking!  :P
Post by: Jinxy on January 11, 2008, 10:01:48 PM
Apparently Sean Boylan asked this lad up to training to talk to the lads before the '96 semi. He had a big impact on Martin O'Connell who still reckons most Beatles songs are full of hidden messages about the apocalypse.

(http://www.rupturarecords.com/catalog/images/seriall%20killers%20charles%20manson.jpg)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 11, 2008, 10:11:19 PM
If it isn't Charles ManDermott himself!
Post by: stiffler on January 11, 2008, 10:20:48 PM
Does anyone know where i could get hold of that 1995 semi final on DVD? after seeing the clips from laochra gael it seemed to be quite a bruising tyrone received. Was it all one way?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 11, 2008, 10:32:52 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 11, 2008, 10:20:48 PM
Does anyone know where i could get hold of that 1995 semi final on DVD? after seeing the clips from laochra gael it seemed to be quite a bruising tyrone received. Was it all one way?

Oh yes, all one way, poor, poor ourselves, God preserve us, we're we just battered and kicked off the park, assaulted and battered we were, commonly, shall we ever recover from it I just couldn't possibly say  ;)  Was 1996, and not sure about a DVD of it, but the Meath lads would be your best bet -- there won't be too many in Tyrone, except for the management maybe!  ;D
Post by: time ticking away on January 11, 2008, 10:56:19 PM
IMO Peter's finest hour was v Derry in the Ulster semi final in 1995. He was unstoppable that day against a defence which included Scullion Mc Keever and Downey. Great memories
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2008, 11:16:30 PM
Peter's best performances in terms of individual performances were between 91-95. After Meath '96 he was never the same in that regard.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on January 12, 2008, 12:46:36 AM
I have the Tyrone v. Meath 96 semi on video somewhere actually but I wouldnt have a clue how to put it onto DVD. The first half was actually a fine game of football and they were tied 1-6 to 0-9 at the break. In the second half though the Tyrone forwards were pretty much all walking wounded :D. Also have the 95 semi on tape, the second half of that match must have been one of PtG's best performances, pulled Tyrone through when they looked to be a in bit of trouble. He got 1-8 of the 1-13 I think.
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 01:07:15 AM
This is prime caption competition material. ;D

(http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/images/2007/0804/thumb/1186123302533_1.jpg)

John Mc: "Slow down, I just want to fix your bandage."
Dooher: (in his head) "Kick it away quick!"
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 12, 2008, 01:23:16 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 01:07:15 AM
This is prime caption competition material. ;D

John Mc: "Slow down, I just want to fix your bandage."
Dooher: (in his head) "Kick it away quick!"

Or Boylan at half-time: "Feck it O'Connell, Mc Demott, and the rest of ye, I told you lot to take them out of it, not make martyrs of them! How the f**k... (pregnant pause)... is Canavan still alive!?"
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2008, 09:18:17 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 11, 2008, 08:30:54 PM
Hmmm... his hand's on Dooher's head, and then he puts his boot where his hand has just been... hardly mindreading Hardy! An exemplar of a sportsman perhaps, but that was the act of an out-and-out kn**ker (hid it well by looking straight ahead). It doesn't take a county player to put his boot where his hand's just been without looking!  :P

With all due respect Fear, that's even more cockeyed than the "wild eyes" evidence.

It's my sixth All-Ireland semi-final. Tyrone are attacking. I've just dispossessed Dooher. The ball has squirted away. Feck. The attack is still on. As someone about to be selected as one of the six best defenders of all time, I have a passing acquaintance with my primary duty as a back. Have to get to the ball before ... but first, let's have a little feel around here with my hand, for this lad's head. Injuring his head, just enough now to need a bandage, not enough to have him taken off or anything like that, will contribute more to the team effort (even though he's been anonymous in the game) than preventing a score. Ah there it is – I'm sure that's a head I can feel. Now, careful to look straight ahead. All we out-and-out knackers learn that trick of disguising our intentions. No, it's OK. I was looking that way anyway. Very clever of me, if I say so myself. OK - looking towards the Canal corner. Now, remove the hand, replace it with the boot (just a touch with the boot, now, to disguise my out-and-out knackership. An out-and-out kn**ker intent on kicking someone's head would make sure it was a right good kick, now, wouldn't he. Grand. That's that done. Now – where's that ball? Ah there it is. Right where I've been looking all along. On with the game. Jaysis I'm one clever out-and-out kn**ker. Two AI medals, five final appearances, playing championship football in Croke Park and on TV, slow motion replays and all, for twelve years and I'm still getting away with this stuff. Nobody has ever seen even one of the times I've done it. Never even been booked.

Yes. That's what happened. Because, let's be realistic, the alternative theory is much too short and unimaginative. It was an accident? Don't be ridiculous.  :P
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 09:48:59 AM
can't remember the incident with o' connell and dooher, but o'connell was one class Defender and a player who allways gave 100% seemed to be a great reader of the game in that no matter where he went he allways seemed to end up with the ball in his hand. I think any team in the country would have loved to have had him in their team in his prime. Is he involved with football now?
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2008, 09:55:03 AM
Not sure what he's doing locally now Rover.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 10:03:37 AM
By the way Hardy i hope your working on the tips for the grand national this year
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2008, 10:05:00 AM
Ah feck don't be expecting a repeat performance!
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 10:07:41 AM
Lat years tips were unreal i think you had 4 out of the first 5 finishers picked, i defiantly owe you a pint if your ever in Mayo
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2008, 10:15:11 AM
That's a slight exaggeration. It was only three out of the first four.  :)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 12, 2008, 02:30:56 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 12, 2008, 09:18:17 AM
Yes. That's what happened. Because, let's be realistic, the alternative theory is much too short and unimaginative. It was an accident? Don't be ridiculous.  :P

We'll agree to have opinions that are slightly at variance on that one then Hardy (I'll put it down to the pre-match team-talk, what a man Seán Boylan!)  ;)

In all honesty, I think were it not for that game we'd still be waiting on Sam No. 1, that was a battle we had to lose to win the war, eventually. It took us seven years, and Kerry were in the crucible for the rebirth in '03 (lucky them, and they've yourselves to thank), lessons having been duly learned . And I don't think we'd have beaten Mayo in the final in '96 either.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 02:33:39 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 12, 2008, 02:30:56 PM
Yes. That’s what happened. Because, let’s be realistic, the alternative theory is much too short and unimaginative. It was an accident? Don’t be ridiculous.  :P

We'll agree to have opinions that are slightly at variance on that one then Hardy (I'll put it down to the pre-match team-talk, what a man Seán Boylan!)  ;)

In all honesty, I think were it not for that game we'd still be waiting on Sam No. 1, that was a battle we had to lose to win the war, eventually. It took us seven years, and Kerry were in the crucible for the rebirth in '03 (lucky them, and they've yourselves to thank), lessons having been duly learned . And I don't think we'd have beaten Mayo in the final in '96 either.

ah don't be saying that Fosb
Post by: Puckoon on January 12, 2008, 02:35:57 PM
Christ fear Deel is right - dont be saying that kind of carry one!
Post by: feetofflames on January 12, 2008, 02:37:06 PM
Meath showed Tyrone this year that if yere not prepared to get down and if needs be dirty then dont expect the top marks.  The Kingdom have perfected this for decades but hide their dirt behind a self projected air of gentility and etiquette.  Anyone who believes the kerry men arent cynical, well yes the earth is also flat!.  
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 12, 2008, 02:56:21 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 02:33:39 PM
And I don't think we'd have beaten Mayo in the final in '96 either.

Apologies Deel, it was a rather reckless reflection indeed!  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 02:59:59 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 12, 2008, 02:56:21 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 02:33:39 PM
And I don't think we'd have beaten Mayo in the final in '96 either.

Apologies Deel, it was a rather reckless reflection indeed!  ;)

Twas that, jesus bad enought to have lost the Ai 12 Years ago without a Tyrone man saying that you reckon we would have beaten ye, ;)
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 04:36:33 PM

They were a rough shower alright. Always looking for a row.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 04:46:21 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 04:36:33 PM
Yes. That’s what happened. Because, let’s be realistic, the alternative theory is much too short and unimaginative. It was an accident? Don’t be ridiculous.  :P

They were a rough shower alright. Always looking for a row.

Go away out of that Jinxy i'm not going to take the bait ;)
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 05:06:40 PM
Once I pull the Mayo lads into this thread, I will go after the Cork lads (if there are any) and all of our enemies will be confronted in the final last man standing Battle Royale!! (see what I did there). Hmmmm, now who else claims to have been wronged by us in the past? Form an orderly line please. No Westmeath applicants because, as David Brent would say, this is big boy sh*t! :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 05:09:20 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 05:06:40 PM
Once I pull the Mayo lads into this thread, I will go after the Cork lads (if there are any) and all of our enemies will be confronted in the final last man standing Battle Royale!! (see what I did there). Hmmmm, now who else claims to have been wronged by us in the past? Form an orderly line please. No Westmeath applicants because, as David Brent would say, this is big boy sh*t! :D

:D :D :D  good man Jinxy
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 05:17:30 PM
At least nobody got hurt.
Post by: Hardy on January 12, 2008, 05:18:05 PM
How d'ya know Jinxy? Marian Finucane hasn't reported yet.
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 05:23:55 PM
Good man Hardy I forgot about the media too. God the whole world is agin us.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 12, 2008, 05:24:25 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 05:06:40 PM
Mick Lyons would be the last man standing
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 05:29:33 PM
You know it.
Post by: orangeman on January 12, 2008, 11:39:54 PM
Mick Lyons was a good un too - any chance of getting a Laochra programme on Mick ?
Post by: Jinxy on January 12, 2008, 11:55:02 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 12, 2008, 11:39:54 PM
Mick Lyons was a good un too - any chance of getting a Laochra programme on Mick ?

He features in the new series as far as I know.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 13, 2008, 01:16:47 AM
Yeah folks, Martin Storey's on next, and the bould Mick Lyons not too far after that.

TG4's Schedule on Next Thursday (http://www.tg4.ie/Scei/scei.php?date=2008-01-17)
Post by: jodyb on January 13, 2008, 11:53:23 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 11, 2008, 08:18:50 PM
Quote from: Estimator on January 11, 2008, 07:57:11 PM

Yes, I thought that was very clever.
The wee man probably had some editorial input there
Post by: jodyb on January 13, 2008, 11:56:50 AM
Quote from: time ticking away on January 11, 2008, 10:56:19 PM
IMO Peter's finest hour was v Derry in the Ulster semi final in 1995. He was unstoppable that day against a defence which included Scullion Mc Keever and Downey. Great memories
Wasn't that the same day he conned the ref into sending Rooster off with one of his earliest examples of the perfect dive??
Post by: orangeman on January 22, 2008, 10:06:11 AM
Was Canavan not sent off a couple of years later in retaliation ???????/ ;D :D :D :D ;) ;)