Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 09:51:43 AM

Title: World Darts Championship 2009
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 09:51:43 AM
Any Darts Fans out there? seems to be wide open this year especially with Barney knocked out last night and Phil Taylor not playing well. Would like to see Kevin Painter win it meself 
Title: Re: World Darts Championship 2008
Post by: Puckoon on December 29, 2007, 09:55:11 AM
I couldnt hit a cow on the arse with a banjo - but I do love a couple of pints and used to watch bullseye when I was a chisler.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 10:33:30 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 29, 2007, 09:55:11 AM
I couldnt hit a cow on the arse with a banjo - but I do love a couple of pints and used to watch bullseye when I was a chisler.

Ah bullseye puckoon "stay out of the black and into the red nothing in this game for 2 in a bed" the prizes the contestants won were fecking brutul
Post by: Puckoon on December 29, 2007, 10:36:38 AM
(http://russelldavies.typepad.com/planning/images/bullseye.jpg)
Post by: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 10:46:09 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 09:51:43 AM
Any Darts Fans out there? seems to be wide open this year especially with Barney knocked out last night and Phil Taylor not playing well. Would like to see Kevin Painter win it meself 

Taylor will win it. He's had tough games which will stand him in good stead and, most importantly of all, the other players (Painter, Manley included) don't really believe they can beat him. They'll all talk a good game before playing him, but come the game itself, they don't have the bottle to beat him.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 10:53:38 AM
Quote from: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 10:46:09 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 09:51:43 AM

Taylor will win it. He's had tough games which will stand him in good stead and, most importantly of all, the other players (Painter, Manley included) don't really believe they can beat him. They'll all talk a good game before playing him, but come the game itself, they don't have the bottle to beat him.

I would definately have said that about painter but last nights win over Barney will do his confidence the world of good and he had been throwing brilliant darts this tournament and in fairness he was very unlucky to loose to taylor in 2004. I know Taylor get better especially as the tournament gets on but he is not the taylor of old he has been missing loads of Doubles and his averages are way down i just think he is fairly beatable.
Post by: Minder on December 29, 2007, 11:00:23 AM
Adrian Lewis has a good chance but Taylor will be hard to beat. Taylor is as close as you will get to big Ern Mc Cracken from "Kingpin" as you will get. He is supposed to be a hateful hoor.
Post by: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 11:07:56 AM
Quote from: Minder on December 29, 2007, 11:00:23 AM
Adrian Lewis has a good chance but Taylor will be hard to beat. Taylor is as close as you will get to big Ern Mc Cracken from "Kingpin" as you will get. He is supposed to be a hateful hoor.

Taylor might be a hateful hoor, but we all know nice guys don't win anything. He has the game and he has the gamesmanship to win. There was one occasion when he farted his way to winning a game. On the other hand he does a lot of charity work away from the game.
Post by: Puckoon on December 29, 2007, 11:12:29 AM
Quote from: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 11:07:56 AM

Taylor might be a hateful hoor, but we all know nice guys don't win anything. He has the game and he has the gamesmanship to win. There was one occasion when he farted his way to winning a game. On the other hand he does a lot of charity work away from the game.

:o :o :o :o Surely, you are kidding?
Post by: Minder on December 29, 2007, 11:18:17 AM
He is a patronising **** though..........
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 29, 2007, 11:24:17 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 29, 2007, 11:12:29 AM
Quote from: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 11:07:56 AM

:o :o :o :o Surely, you are kidding?

no he farted on stage puckoon against manley i think  :D :D :D
Post by: Minder on December 29, 2007, 11:25:36 AM
I remember he said "the only smell was the sweet smell of my success "
Post by: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 11:29:29 AM
Why do you think Manley stormed off stage straight after the game? Another piece of gamesmanship from Taylor is the way he stands up close to the other player. All players are supposed to stand behind the throwing mat, but Taylor stands right on the edge of it and his opponent can feel his presence right behind him. Not a hateful hoor, a cute hoor if you ask me!!!
Post by: whyarerefssobad on December 29, 2007, 11:38:48 AM
i am going for James wade great young player
Post by: bennydorano on December 29, 2007, 12:59:02 PM
Wade has been excellent all year, in with a great shout of PDC player of the year, but he's been throwing poorly in this tourney, Taylor will probably win as the others will choke at the sight of him.  Bet of the quarters is Sheridan(7/4) to beat Manley(2/5).  Wade at 7/2 for the title isn't bad value, but Painter at 15/2 has to be good ew value.
Post by: carnaross on December 29, 2007, 09:23:55 PM
Shows what I know - Mardle certainly showed some bottle - fair play to him.
Post by: Rav67 on December 29, 2007, 10:52:04 PM
The darts has been phenomenal entertainment this week every match has just been fantastic. Painter is in form (what a 10-dart checkout against Barney last night) and is doing rightly against Lewis now and you'd expect Mardle to make the final now, but I've had a sneaking suspicion for John Part even before he knocked out Wade today. Its been a while since he last won it but he's been before and has the nerve.
Post by: Seany on December 30, 2007, 01:17:16 AM
For me, it's between Jocky WIlson, Bristow, John Lowe and Big Bill Werbenuik
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 30, 2007, 01:57:18 AM
Quote from: Seany on December 30, 2007, 01:17:16 AM
For me, it's between Jocky WIlson, Bristow, John Lowe and Big Bill Werbenuik

Bill Werbenuik was a snooker player
Post by: Carmen Stateside on December 30, 2007, 03:20:28 PM
Jocky was my favourite ;)
Just come across this article about him but :(
QuoteThe sad story of Jocky Wilson

In the 1980s he won two world titles, was watched by millions on TV, and even appeared on Top of the Pops. But then it all went wrong for darts legend Jocky Wilson.

Jamie Jackson
Sunday January 14, 2007
The Observer

When Jocky Wilson threw a double 10 at the Jollees Cabaret Club in Stoke 25 years ago this weekend to win the darts world title, he was cheered on in his home town of Kirkcaldy and by millions of television viewers who warmed to the portly man from Fife. The bounce with which he defeated John Lowe to win the first of his two world titles suggested this was a man who would be around forever in the beer-swilling, fag puffing world of professional darts.

Article continues

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yet by 1996 Wilson had withdrawn into a council flat aged 45 and had admitted: 'I'm all washed up and finished with darts.' Scotland's first world darts champion no longer plays. He suffers from depression, diabetes and arthritis. He never leaves his home. And he has refused all interview requests since his last public appearance at a world team tournament at Butlin's holiday camp in Ayr. That was 12 years ago. When Observer Sport visited Kirkcaldy to try to persuade him to tell his story, many people in the east-coast town needed reminding who he was and were unsure if he still lived locally.
In the decade before satellite TV, when darts drew viewing audiences of more than eight million and before Wilson's regular drink intake - lager chased by 'seven or eight vodkas to keep my nerves so that I can play my best' - had taken its grip, it was a very different story. The game that enjoyed its peak in 1988, when there were 11 televised tournaments, had Wilson as its undoubted star. In a world cluttered with double chins, receding hairlines and straining nylon shirts, John Thomas Wilson still managed to stand out.

The former Seafield coalminer's place in the national consciousness was confirmed when his picture famously featured on Top of the Pops in 1982 as a joke while Dexy's Midnight Runners performed 'Jackie Wilson Said'. His stout but diminutive build, crooked grin and ability to out drink all-comers while consistently winning the big titles made him riveting viewing. Eric Bristow might have been better, but everyone rooted for Jocky.

'I'm short and fat, so what? That's life! Anyway, TV makes you look fatter,' Wilson once said.

He grew up on a Kirkcaldy council estate. 'You could always rely on him,' says Jimmy Skirving, a former close friend who drank with him in the Lister Bar, the local where a 19-year-old Wilson first learned to play darts. 'But I can assure you Jocky was taken advantage of. Once he won a holiday and some suitcases. He got home with neither - he sold the holiday for 50 quid and the cases for a tenner.' Skirving was also in the Stoke nightclub when Wilson beat Lowe. 'Jocky came straight off the stage and gave me his darts - I've still got them. All he said was, "I've done it". He gave my son the dartboard.'

Wilson was also generous with his time for charity and had a neat line in self-deprecation. He was known as 'Gumsy' because his constant sweet-eating and refusal to brush his teeth - 'my Gran told me the English poison the water' - meant that he had lost his last tooth by the age of 28. Following the 1982 triumph, Wilson paid £1,200 for dentures. But he never took to them. They made him belch when drinking, he complained. And once, celebrating a victory, they flew out of his mouth and on to the oche. In the end, they were employed as a ball marker in pool games with Bristow.

'People might think that having no teeth snookers you when it comes to eating,' Wilson wrote in his 1983 autobiography, Jocky. 'But I can manage just about anything with my gums. I can chew a steak provided it's well done. I can even eat apples. Great Yarmouth rock and nuts are the only two things that defeat me.'

Other tales include the time he kicked Bristow's shin before they were due to play each other - the Crafty Cockney, who became Wilson's firm friend, was forced to shake hands on stage with a bleeding shin. And after one defeat he fell off the stage. 'I was commentating on his game with Dave Whitcombe in 1984 and wee Jocky was well in command,' recalls BBC commentator Tony Green. 'It was the World darts semi-final and Jocky looked set to go all the way. But then you could drink and smoke on the stage, which Jocky always took full advantage of. He kept downing the pints, his game got poorer and Dave eventually beat him 5-4. But when the cameras turned round he'd disappeared. Jocky was so drunk he'd fallen off the stage.'

Now, though, the pub-room antics and twinkling eyes have gone. Kirkcaldy has forgotten about darts - there is not even a local league any more - and forgotten Wilson. He suffers from ill health and spends his days in a poky one-bedroom flat back on the council estate where he grew up. He shuttles between bed and the living-room sofa, where he watches television underneath a giant picture of himself cradling his first world championship trophy. His only regular human contact is with his wife, Malvina, and the doctors who treat him.

On 1 January 1982, a fortnight before the first world title and after a season in which he was ranked four, won the inaugural British Professional Darts championship and retained the British Matchplay Championship, Wilson was interviewed while playing in a charity event at his local club. He was asked how long he would play for. 'Hopefully until I'm 50,' he said. His conversation was also peppered with references to his burgeoning wealth - he won £6,000 for the British title - and his potential future earnings.

Sadly, the money all disappeared. Wilson survives on disability allowance. His lifestyle caused diabetes and Wilson's descent into himself began at Christmas in 1995. Leaving the Wallsend home he had bought to cut down on travelling to tournaments, with an unpaid-for car in the drive, he boarded a bus to Kirkcaldy with Malvina and daughter Anne Marie (his two sons, John and William, stayed in the North-East). Back in Kirkcaldy he withdrew, walling off his friends. His family life was crumbling. Wilson's brother Tommy had already sold a story to a Scottish tabloid claiming he was cheating on Malvina, which Wilson denied. His sister, Yvonne, made efforts to coax him back into life, but failed. Now, Wilson's children no longer visit the flat and 35-year-old William admitted in 1999 to a heroin problem, saying: 'I've been on drugs for years.'

In 1996 Wilson said: 'I've been let down once or twice in my life, but I don't want anyone feeling sorry for me. There's only one person to blame for the situation I'm in, and that's me.' A year later he was declared bankrupt. His financial difficulties had begun more than a decade earlier when, in 1986, a dispute over earnings with his then manager, Ron Clover, ended when a court ordered him to pay around £80,000. Later, he was hit by a £27,000 tax bill.

Before the 1985 move to Wallsend, Wilson had bought a five-room detached bungalow in one of Kirkcaldy's most desirable areas. It cost £40,000 - a lot of money back then - but the family had to move out after three years. Linda Salmon, whose father then owned the Strathearn hotel next door, said: 'We had a dartboard but Jocky hardly drank in here. His father, John, did, and would boast about his son a lot. The neighbours complained a lot about Jocky for being drunk and disorderly. His children ran wild. His garden was full of empty bottles.'

Wilson now lives just around the corner from Lister's, though the place he once described as having 'a wee bit of the hustler atmosphere that Minnesota Fats and Paul Newman would have appreciated' is now being converted into a supermarket.

At Wilson's flat, a knock brings Malvina to the door. After introductions, the conversation goes like this.

Is it possible to have a few words with Jocky?

'Nah, he won't do it.'

Really? I've come from London to speak with him.

'I know and I'm sorry, but he won't do it. He never has since stopping and never will.'

Why?

'He thinks it's all in the past, it's over with.'

Malvina is Argentine and spent the first 12 years of her life in Buenos Aires before her father and Scottish mother moved to Kirkcaldy. Her 10 brothers and sisters, though, were all British and when the Falklands War broke out, in the year when Wilson beat Lowe, they were both abused because of the connection. Yet, despite what must have been a demanding life, she is friendly and seems happy to chat with a stranger.

Why did Jocky finish?

'He got diabetes and had to stop, because he would have continued drinking.'

Is he depressed?

'Oh yes, manic. He goes into himself now and then.'

It must be tough for you?

'Aye,' she says with a smile.

Does he have any visitors?

'No. No one.'

Does he ever go out - to the corner shop, maybe?

'No, never.'

The BDO world championship, the title Wilson won twice before the game was split into two, with rival governing bodies, finishes tonight. So the final question to Malvina is: does Jocky still watch the darts?

'Oh aye,' she says. 'That he does. It's just the bed and TV for him.'

Post by: carnaross on December 30, 2007, 05:28:39 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on December 30, 2007, 03:20:28 PM
Jocky was my favourite ;)
Just come across this article about him but :(
QuoteThe sad story of Jocky Wilson

In the 1980s he won two world titles, was watched by millions on TV, and even appeared on Top of the Pops. But then it all went wrong for darts legend Jocky Wilson.

Jamie Jackson
Sunday January 14, 2007
The Observer

When Jocky Wilson threw a double 10 at the Jollees Cabaret Club in Stoke 25 years ago this weekend to win the darts world title, he was cheered on in his home town of Kirkcaldy and by millions of television viewers who warmed to the portly man from Fife. The bounce with which he defeated John Lowe to win the first of his two world titles suggested this was a man who would be around forever in the beer-swilling, fag puffing world of professional darts.

Article continues

Yet by 1996 Wilson had withdrawn into a council flat aged 45 and had admitted: 'I'm all washed up and finished with darts.' Scotland's first world darts champion no longer plays. He suffers from depression, diabetes and arthritis. He never leaves his home. And he has refused all interview requests since his last public appearance at a world team tournament at Butlin's holiday camp in Ayr. That was 12 years ago. When Observer Sport visited Kirkcaldy to try to persuade him to tell his story, many people in the east-coast town needed reminding who he was and were unsure if he still lived locally.
In the decade before satellite TV, when darts drew viewing audiences of more than eight million and before Wilson's regular drink intake - lager chased by 'seven or eight vodkas to keep my nerves so that I can play my best' - had taken its grip, it was a very different story. The game that enjoyed its peak in 1988, when there were 11 televised tournaments, had Wilson as its undoubted star. In a world cluttered with double chins, receding hairlines and straining nylon shirts, John Thomas Wilson still managed to stand out.

The former Seafield coalminer's place in the national consciousness was confirmed when his picture famously featured on Top of the Pops in 1982 as a joke while Dexy's Midnight Runners performed 'Jackie Wilson Said'. His stout but diminutive build, crooked grin and ability to out drink all-comers while consistently winning the big titles made him riveting viewing. Eric Bristow might have been better, but everyone rooted for Jocky.

'I'm short and fat, so what? That's life! Anyway, TV makes you look fatter,' Wilson once said.

He grew up on a Kirkcaldy council estate. 'You could always rely on him,' says Jimmy Skirving, a former close friend who drank with him in the Lister Bar, the local where a 19-year-old Wilson first learned to play darts. 'But I can assure you Jocky was taken advantage of. Once he won a holiday and some suitcases. He got home with neither - he sold the holiday for 50 quid and the cases for a tenner.' Skirving was also in the Stoke nightclub when Wilson beat Lowe. 'Jocky came straight off the stage and gave me his darts - I've still got them. All he said was, "I've done it". He gave my son the dartboard.'

Wilson was also generous with his time for charity and had a neat line in self-deprecation. He was known as 'Gumsy' because his constant sweet-eating and refusal to brush his teeth - 'my Gran told me the English poison the water' - meant that he had lost his last tooth by the age of 28. Following the 1982 triumph, Wilson paid £1,200 for dentures. But he never took to them. They made him belch when drinking, he complained. And once, celebrating a victory, they flew out of his mouth and on to the oche. In the end, they were employed as a ball marker in pool games with Bristow.

'People might think that having no teeth snookers you when it comes to eating,' Wilson wrote in his 1983 autobiography, Jocky. 'But I can manage just about anything with my gums. I can chew a steak provided it's well done. I can even eat apples. Great Yarmouth rock and nuts are the only two things that defeat me.'

Other tales include the time he kicked Bristow's shin before they were due to play each other - the Crafty Cockney, who became Wilson's firm friend, was forced to shake hands on stage with a bleeding shin. And after one defeat he fell off the stage. 'I was commentating on his game with Dave Whitcombe in 1984 and wee Jocky was well in command,' recalls BBC commentator Tony Green. 'It was the World darts semi-final and Jocky looked set to go all the way. But then you could drink and smoke on the stage, which Jocky always took full advantage of. He kept downing the pints, his game got poorer and Dave eventually beat him 5-4. But when the cameras turned round he'd disappeared. Jocky was so drunk he'd fallen off the stage.'

Now, though, the pub-room antics and twinkling eyes have gone. Kirkcaldy has forgotten about darts - there is not even a local league any more - and forgotten Wilson. He suffers from ill health and spends his days in a poky one-bedroom flat back on the council estate where he grew up. He shuttles between bed and the living-room sofa, where he watches television underneath a giant picture of himself cradling his first world championship trophy. His only regular human contact is with his wife, Malvina, and the doctors who treat him.

On 1 January 1982, a fortnight before the first world title and after a season in which he was ranked four, won the inaugural British Professional Darts championship and retained the British Matchplay Championship, Wilson was interviewed while playing in a charity event at his local club. He was asked how long he would play for. 'Hopefully until I'm 50,' he said. His conversation was also peppered with references to his burgeoning wealth - he won £6,000 for the British title - and his potential future earnings.

Sadly, the money all disappeared. Wilson survives on disability allowance. His lifestyle caused diabetes and Wilson's descent into himself began at Christmas in 1995. Leaving the Wallsend home he had bought to cut down on travelling to tournaments, with an unpaid-for car in the drive, he boarded a bus to Kirkcaldy with Malvina and daughter Anne Marie (his two sons, John and William, stayed in the North-East). Back in Kirkcaldy he withdrew, walling off his friends. His family life was crumbling. Wilson's brother Tommy had already sold a story to a Scottish tabloid claiming he was cheating on Malvina, which Wilson denied. His sister, Yvonne, made efforts to coax him back into life, but failed. Now, Wilson's children no longer visit the flat and 35-year-old William admitted in 1999 to a heroin problem, saying: 'I've been on drugs for years.'

In 1996 Wilson said: 'I've been let down once or twice in my life, but I don't want anyone feeling sorry for me. There's only one person to blame for the situation I'm in, and that's me.' A year later he was declared bankrupt. His financial difficulties had begun more than a decade earlier when, in 1986, a dispute over earnings with his then manager, Ron Clover, ended when a court ordered him to pay around £80,000. Later, he was hit by a £27,000 tax bill.

Before the 1985 move to Wallsend, Wilson had bought a five-room detached bungalow in one of Kirkcaldy's most desirable areas. It cost £40,000 - a lot of money back then - but the family had to move out after three years. Linda Salmon, whose father then owned the Strathearn hotel next door, said: 'We had a dartboard but Jocky hardly drank in here. His father, John, did, and would boast about his son a lot. The neighbours complained a lot about Jocky for being drunk and disorderly. His children ran wild. His garden was full of empty bottles.'

Wilson now lives just around the corner from Lister's, though the place he once described as having 'a wee bit of the hustler atmosphere that Minnesota Fats and Paul Newman would have appreciated' is now being converted into a supermarket.

At Wilson's flat, a knock brings Malvina to the door. After introductions, the conversation goes like this.

Is it possible to have a few words with Jocky?

'Nah, he won't do it.'

Really? I've come from London to speak with him.

'I know and I'm sorry, but he won't do it. He never has since stopping and never will.'

Why?

'He thinks it's all in the past, it's over with.'

Malvina is Argentine and spent the first 12 years of her life in Buenos Aires before her father and Scottish mother moved to Kirkcaldy. Her 10 brothers and sisters, though, were all British and when the Falklands War broke out, in the year when Wilson beat Lowe, they were both abused because of the connection. Yet, despite what must have been a demanding life, she is friendly and seems happy to chat with a stranger.

Why did Jocky finish?

'He got diabetes and had to stop, because he would have continued drinking.'

Is he depressed?

'Oh yes, manic. He goes into himself now and then.'

It must be tough for you?

'Aye,' she says with a smile.

Does he have any visitors?

'No. No one.'

Does he ever go out - to the corner shop, maybe?

'No, never.'

The BDO world championship, the title Wilson won twice before the game was split into two, with rival governing bodies, finishes tonight. So the final question to Malvina is: does Jocky still watch the darts?

'Oh aye,' she says. 'That he does. It's just the bed and TV for him.'

That's such a sad article. Maybe it's time these big earners in the game gave something back to a man who pioneered their easy lifestyles.

Maybe a benefit exhibition, or a share of the profits from the Darts Premier League - the current players would hardly miss it. 
Post by: Tyrones own on December 30, 2007, 05:46:25 PM

QuoteThat's such a sad article. Maybe it's time these big earners in the game gave something back to a man who pioneered their easy lifestyles.

Maybe a benefit exhibition, or a share of the profits from the Darts Premier League - the current players would hardly miss it. 

Ah sure would it do the poor old bastard any good Carnaross, sad reading
alright for a man on top of the world at one time.
Is the hurricane in a similar type situation?
Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2007, 10:22:35 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 30, 2007, 05:46:25 PM

QuoteThat's such a sad article. Maybe it's time these big earners in the game gave something back to a man who pioneered their easy lifestyles.

Ah sure would it do the poor old bastard any good Carnaross, sad reading
alright for a man on top of the world at one time.
Is the hurricane in a similar type situation?
The PDC are creating a 'Seniors Tour', not sure if Jockey is one of the invitees though.

Meanwhile a Part v Sheppard final.  I'll not be cheering for the underdog this time, rather see Part win it.  £100k for the winner, changed times in the arra's!
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2008, 03:04:47 PM
Judst wondering, when Sky's Dave Clarke comes onstage after a match he always gets booed heartily by the crowd, i have noticed this in the last few years. Anyone know why? He has always seemed like a smarmy p***k though......
Post by: Rav67 on January 03, 2008, 04:56:37 PM
Yeah I noticed that too, think a few people took a dislike to him and now its almost a tradition to give him abuse!

Was glad to see John Part win it again, consummate professional. I imagine they'll still be dancing on the streets of Toronto after that victory.
Post by: red hander on January 03, 2008, 07:05:07 PM
'Is the hurricane in a similar type situation?'

Who cares if he is ... he's the hatefulest bastard you could ever wish to meet who now spends his time selling his autograph for a £5 to buy drink or tolerating the company of star-struck arseholes (usually english tourists) in Belfast city centre pubs as long as they buy all the drink...

Post by: carnaross on January 04, 2008, 09:27:23 AM
The proper World Darts Championship starts tomorrow at the Lakeside. Just spotted these comments from current BDO Champion Martin Adams on the BBC site

"What they do at the PDC tournament is sports entertainment but what we do at the Lakeside is sport," insisted the England captain.

"There's been a lot of interest in the PDC Championship over the last couple of weeks but that is mainly because people like watching darts. Don't be under any illusion it is better than Lakeside.

"The BDO has got a conveyer belt of talent around the world. We have replaced all those who have switched away and will continue to replace those who do."

Interesting comments  ;)

Especially the dubious meaning of the underlined comment in italics (mine).

I wonder how many of those attending the Lakeside were also at Ally Pally.

BTW What blatant advertising with those bloody pieces of paper with crap written on 'em and being waved in view of any and all cameras. How will the Beeb cope with it?

One good thing in favour of this Championship is the fact that there'll be no Sid Waddell (complete w**ker IMHO), he'lll be back in the Mason's in Pudsey (pissed as usual) pontificating to anyone who'll listen. Bet he watches tho'.

Post by: thewobbler on January 04, 2008, 09:40:34 AM
I've long held the theory that if you removed Phil Taylor (and latterly, Barney too) from the PDC tournament, there would be no difference in quality between the two.

I remember trying to find collated three-dart averages for both tournaments in the past. The BDO ones were easy found, the PDC ones weren't.
Post by: carnaross on January 04, 2008, 09:49:45 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 04, 2008, 09:40:34 AM
I've long held the theory that if you removed Phil Taylor (and latterly, Barney too) from the PDC tournament, there would be no difference in quality between the two.

I remember trying to find collated three-dart averages for both tournaments in the past. The BDO ones were easy found, the PDC ones weren't.

Agreed. I think the reason is that the PDC know full well that (apart from Taylor and Barney) the averages are lower - they are forced to be as the PDC always play amongst themselves, whereas the BDO have to qualify for the WC from all over the world making it a true Championship. It's not that many years ago that PDC were having a televised competition when only 31 PDC players were available. The PDC drew lots from among the first days crowd to find a 32nd player. Also around the same time, Sky only showed crowd shots where the "crowd" was most heavily congregated, so avoiding the wide open empty spaces, which were evident from the pinhole camera on the board.
Post by: Rav67 on January 04, 2008, 02:47:21 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 04, 2008, 09:40:34 AM

I stronly disagree.  Look at those who have moved over in the last year who were big players in the BDO- eg Merv King, Klaasen, van Gerwen- they dont make any real impact in the PDC.  Better standard at the Ally Pally, and also better presented.
Post by: turk on January 04, 2008, 03:06:09 PM
It's embarassing also to hear the scores announcer on the BDO trying to shout 41 or 26 in a funny voice. check it out
Post by: Niall Quinn on January 04, 2008, 03:15:52 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 03, 2008, 07:05:07 PM
'Is the hurricane in a similar type situation?'

Who cares if he is ... he's the hatefulest bastard you could ever wish to meet who now spends his time selling his autograph for a £5 to buy drink or tolerating the company of star-struck arseholes (usually english tourists) in Belfast city centre pubs as long as they buy all the drink...

For some reason I recently read "The Hurricane: The Turbulent Life & Times of Alex Higgins" and it was pretty stunning stuff. I used to follow Higgins as a youngster and kind of admired his 'feck it all' attitude, but reading about his life in painful detail was pretty distrubing. If the elements of consistency are what defines a being, then I think it's fair to say that Higgins was / is a complete ****. He seemed to run on a sort of Gatsby-esque pursuit of cheap thrills, one of which appeared to be in the making of life miserable for all around him. I think it was Ted Lowe who said it best: "the only people who like Alex Higgins are the people who've never met him".
Post by: thewobbler on January 04, 2008, 04:14:52 PM
QuoteI stronly disagree.  Look at those who have moved over in the last year who were big players in the BDO- eg Merv King, Klaasen, van Gerwen- they dont make any real impact in the PDC.  Better standard at the Ally Pally, and also better presented.
They make the same impact on the PDC as longstanding PDC players, i.e. second fiddle to Phil Taylor.

Every player who has won the PDC world title came from the BDO ranks.
Post by: carnaross on January 04, 2008, 04:56:51 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 04, 2008, 04:14:52 PM
QuoteI stronly disagree.  Look at those who have moved over in the last year who were big players in the BDO- eg Merv King, Klaasen, van Gerwen- they dont make any real impact in the PDC.  Better standard at the Ally Pally, and also better presented.
They make the same impact on the PDC as longstanding PDC players, i.e. second fiddle to Phil Taylor.

Every player who has won the PDC world title came from the BDO ranks.

Of course the PDC world title winners all came from the BDO - which other organisation would afford them the wherewithal to develop their skills. The BDO has always had the infrastructure, youth, pub leagues, super leagues, county and internationals, although the internationals are slowly going by the wayside as players are allowed to make their own living on the exhibition circuit. What infrastructure has the PDC? Without the likes of Sky and, more especially Ladbrokes, throwing a pile of money at the PDC, it would have died long ago. Even the Tote got in the act at Ally Pally - watch out for other bookmakers getting involved now they are allowed to advertise, which, incidentally, I thought they couldn't do prior to the 9pm watershed?
Post by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2008, 06:01:35 PM
There are ones that have won the BDO one that have had absolutely no impact on the PDC one though. e.g. ones like Burnett etc. Once you took Barneveld out of the BDO you could now say that if the best BDO player went into PDC they'd be about the 7th or 8th best player there.

Part and Barney in the last few years have made the impact.

PDC is just bankrolled by sky / mass advertising etc hence everyone wanting to go there. Everyone will come from BDO because it has, like people say here, the infrastructure in place. Unless they get similar advertising / TV deals to the PDC they'll not be able to compete. To do that they'd have to get to hell away from the BBC.

You could analogise the PDC to the premier league over the last 5/10 years. It's all about the here and now and not the future. While it has the BDO as a conveyor belt it will be alright though. The premier league will be alright too, the foreign countries will just keep providing the players...
Post by: red hander on January 04, 2008, 06:28:21 PM
'For some reason I recently read "The Hurricane: The Turbulent Life & Times of Alex Higgins" and it was pretty stunning stuff. I used to follow Higgins as a youngster and kind of admired his 'feck it all' attitude, but reading about his life in painful detail was pretty distrubing. If the elements of consistency are what defines a being, then I think it's fair to say that Higgins was / is a complete ****. He seemed to run on a sort of Gatsby-esque pursuit of cheap thrills, one of which appeared to be in the making of life miserable for all around him. I think it was Ted Lowe who said it best: "the only people who like Alex Higgins are the people who've never met him".'

NQ, even people who consider themselves 'friends' of Higgins will tell you he's a cuntbubble ... this is the man who had to hand over his winnings from his first world title by way of compensation to Dennis Taylor (a supreme arsehole BTW, according to Coalisland people) after threatening to have him shot by the UDA...  Higgins is an utter, utter sc**bag ... i've witnessed it
Post by: bennydorano on January 13, 2008, 08:15:48 PM
Mark Webster beat Simon whitlock in the BDO final tonight 6-4, I'd dare say their stats would be as good if not better than anything the PDC had to offer this year, the standard from the QF's on in the BDO tournament was excellent.
Post by: whyarerefssobad on January 13, 2008, 08:21:50 PM
the score was 7 5 very good match
Post by: Muzz on January 13, 2008, 09:01:23 PM
Websters average in the first 3 sets was 107.  This would have beaten anyone in the PDC this year.  Webster is an amazing player winning 3 tournaments this year.  He would easily make it in the PDC. 

Another reason why the PDC has the better darts throwers overall is becasue the players dont have to do part-time jobs.  Alot of the guys throwing with the BDO do not have the funds behind them to quit their full-time jobs.  Hence less practice. 

Its just a shame that Webster will be tied to the BDO for at least another year.  AFAIK the champion has it written in his contract he has to come back to defend the title? 
Post by: thewobbler on January 13, 2008, 09:08:28 PM
I don't see why "it's a shame that Webster will be tied to the BDO for another year". As BennyDorano pointed out, the standard from the quarter-finals onwards was at least as good in this tournament as it was in the PDC.
Post by: Muzz on January 13, 2008, 09:49:20 PM
Its a shame as I think Webster could be even better.  Yes the PDC was poor this year.  I will be the first to admit.  If Webster could quit his plumbing job and concentrate on his darts as well as playing overall better players week in week out in the Premier League of darts instead of playing exhibitions around the country he could be immense.

Its just my opinion.
Post by: Rav67 on January 13, 2008, 09:54:05 PM
The final was excellent and a better standard than the PDC final.  Webster is an excellent darts player, maybe not this year but he will eventually switch to the PDC.  Beacuse of Sky televising the events and packaging the sport better, there is more money and glamour in the PDC events and this will inevitably tempt him at some point.  He'll also want to test himself against Taylor before he is past it, and Barney.
Post by: Aerlik on January 14, 2008, 12:08:55 AM
Bring back Leighton Rees and Bobby George!!  What was the name of the County Antrim man who played a few times in the World Championship in the '80s.  He was from Dervock or Bushmills or Stranocum?
Post by: Muzz on January 14, 2008, 08:26:04 AM
Quote from: the onion bag on January 14, 2008, 12:22:08 AM
Quote from: Muzz on January 13, 2008, 09:01:23 PM

Its just a shame that Webster will be tied to the BDO for at least another year.  AFAIK the champion has it written in his contract he has to come back to defend the title? 

I don't think that's the case, because it was known that Barney was going to the PDC before the BDO World Championship when Klassen beat him in the final, and it was the same last year with Klassen, King and Van Gerwin - it was known they where PDC bound before the event.

In terms of the current BDO batch of players, Webster, Wolfie and Gary Anderson (despite his first round exit) would probably be in the top 16 in the PDC but after that it's thin enough. Whitlock's not bad, but there's the touch of the Kirk Shepard about him and I wouldn't be convinced of him making the Semis next year.

Wasnt there uproar though when Klassen won and then switched allegiance?  I would have to agree on Webster and Anderson but as for Wolfie I doubt he has the class.  Then again I really dont like the man.  Don't know why just cant stand him.
Post by: thewobbler on January 14, 2008, 08:31:59 AM
Woflie is a steady 85 to 88 average man. Wouldn't win him a PDC title, but realistically there aren't too many players in either version who are that consistent.

Whitlock averaged around 90 for the tournament Onion Bag. That would put him in the top 8 in PDC darts surely.

The biggest difference between the two tournaments (Taylor aside) is the first round. The Lakeside's first round is full of players who have no or next to no experience of throwing under that sort of pressure and a lot of them turn to quivering wrecks. Most of the PDC boys are used to Sky's cameras prodding around when they're throwing. Once you get into the last 16, things really start to level up.

Post by: Great Leap Forward on January 14, 2008, 08:50:12 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on January 14, 2008, 12:08:55 AM
Bring back Leighton Rees and Bobby George!!  What was the name of the County Antrim man who played a few times in the World Championship in the '80s.  He was from Dervock or Bushmills or Stranocum?

His name was Geoff Wylie. I think he was nicknamed the Wylie Cayote!
Post by: tyrone86 on December 20, 2008, 10:42:44 AM
Good luck to Felix McBrearty in the World Championship today, you never know, the Kirk Shepard of 08/09?

Part took a kicking last night, and Scholten out  :o
Post by: FermPundit on December 20, 2008, 12:43:39 PM
Good luck to Fermanagh man Brendan Dolan on Tuesday night when he plays James Wade in the first round.

It'll be interesting see how Anastasia Dobromyslova gets on tomorrow night.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 20, 2008, 04:49:52 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on December 20, 2008, 04:48:22 PM
Terry Jenkins out as well  :o  Lot of upsets so far, looks like Taylor's again  ;D

Interesting to see how the girl gets along tomorrow night.  Seen her being interviewed on sky sports.  Not bad looking, do for a poke.

Is that Trina Gulliver in the PDC this year then?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 24, 2008, 01:52:53 PM
Lads am trying to settle a bet here, anyone know what time the Wade match was off at last night??

Was due to start 9.15 but a fella I know has a bet placed at 9.27, hes hoping the match started late, I have checked Ladbrokes but they have the fof times for each match as the set off times... Anyone watching it?
Post by: FermPundit on December 24, 2008, 03:26:26 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on December 24, 2008, 01:52:53 PM
Lads am trying to settle a bet here, anyone know what time the Wade match was off at last night??

Was due to start 9.15 but a fella I know has a bet placed at 9.27, hes hoping the match started late, I have checked Ladbrokes but they have the fof times for each match as the set off times... Anyone watching it?

Yep, I watching it. The match started at about 9.05.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on December 24, 2008, 03:27:51 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on December 24, 2008, 03:26:26 PM

Cheers mate, aye I had gathered it went off on time because evry where I saw it didnt suggest a delay, non runner for the lad then
Post by: FermPundit on December 24, 2008, 03:30:19 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on December 24, 2008, 03:27:51 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on December 24, 2008, 03:26:26 PM

Cheers mate, aye I had gathered it went off on time because evry where I saw it didnt suggest a delay, non runner for the lad then

Disappointing result for Brendan Dolan. He could have won the first set but he couldn't hit his doubles
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on December 25, 2008, 10:39:01 PM
got tickets myself lads for the semi finals next saturday nite,cant wait!!was up at the premier league darts in odyssey last year but sadly got thrown out due to "our nails" behaviour!!i see taylor and barney are in separate half of draw,potential final on the cards there,would be brilliant!!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 27, 2008, 07:51:38 PM
Is 6/1 not a big price about Barney? What's his form been like since winning the 2007 PDC? Does he beat Taylor on a regular basis?
Post by: glens73 on December 27, 2008, 08:53:03 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 27, 2008, 07:51:38 PM
Is 6/1 not a big price about Barney? What's his form been like since winning the 2007 PDC? Does he beat Taylor on a regular basis?

6/1 is a fair price, Barney could lose to any one of 6/7 players on his day and has not been that consistent this past year. James Wade is a better bet, he is steadier.

I think Taylor is nailed on though, he has been playing exceptional this past 9 months or so. No-one can live with him at his very best.
Post by: Clown on December 31, 2008, 10:27:23 AM
i used to love the darts world championships just after xmas
but i hav no interest anymore, too many tournaments on sky hav killed it for me.
it was better in small doses!
Post by: corn02 on December 31, 2008, 10:31:02 AM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on December 25, 2008, 10:39:01 PM
got tickets myself lads for the semi finals next saturday nite,cant wait!!was up at the premier league darts in odyssey last year but sadly got thrown out due to "our nails" behaviour!!i see taylor and barney are in separate half of draw,potential final on the cards there,would be brilliant!!

I heard about his behaviour, disgrace was the word used most. Raging I missed it.
Post by: corn02 on December 31, 2008, 10:33:13 AM
Quote from: glens73 on December 27, 2008, 08:53:03 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 27, 2008, 07:51:38 PM

6/1 is a fair price, Barney could lose to any one of 6/7 players on his day and has not been that consistent this past year. James Wade is a better bet, he is steadier.

I think Taylor is nailed on though, he has been playing exceptional this past 9 months or so. No-one can live with him at his very best.

Watched Wade last night, the man gets too into it, Taylor would take him apart.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on December 31, 2008, 10:39:03 AM
Cant believe no one has mentioned Barney v Baxter last night. What a game! Would have loved to see Baxter won it, on 2 or 3 occasions it looked very likely.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 31, 2008, 01:56:26 PM
Quote from: corn02 on December 31, 2008, 10:31:02 AM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on December 25, 2008, 10:39:01 PM

I heard about his behaviour, disgrace was the word used most. Raging I missed it.

I think I speak on behalf of the rest of the board when I demand further details.
Post by: stiffler on December 31, 2008, 05:08:36 PM
What about James Wade darting Helen Chamberlain?

good work son.
Post by: Old Bill on December 31, 2008, 05:09:38 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on December 31, 2008, 10:39:03 AM
Cant believe no one has mentioned Barney v Baxter last night. What a game! Would have loved to see Baxter won it, on 2 or 3 occasions it looked very likely.
Class match in which Baxter very much lost it. His double takin was excellent but barney won it in sudden death at the end ala the barney taylor final of a few years ago. Best match this year for a cert. Dunno why there hasn been more word of it on here. My heart was in my mouth. Barney very emotional after it!
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 03, 2009, 09:41:13 AM
Barney seems to have gotten his confidence back after his near escape against baxter (which was a brilliant match) he was unreal last night against klassen and got the first ever 9 darter  in the word championships
Title: Re: World Darts Championship 2009
Post by: FermPundit on January 03, 2009, 02:53:59 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 03, 2009, 09:41:13 AM
Barney seems to have gotten his confidence back after his near escape against baxter (which was a brilliant match) he was unreal last night against klassen and got the first ever 9 darter  in the word championships

Barney was very impressive last night. I hope it's a Barney v Power final. I think its the final everyone wants.

The BDO world championships started today as well. Does anyone follow this one as well? Strong enough field this year. I fancy Gary Anderson or Simon Whitlock to go the whole way.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 03, 2009, 02:55:18 PM
Thought Taylor looked untouchable this year but Barney was brilliant last night. If he can keep that up he'll go very close.
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 03, 2009, 02:58:53 PM
what are Barneys odds to win it ? He will take wade tonight i think as wade has not been impressive at all
Post by: tyroneboi on January 03, 2009, 03:13:02 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 03, 2009, 02:58:53 PM
what are Barneys odds to win it ? He will take wade tonight i think as wade has not been impressive at all

Barney is 6/1 on to beat Wade tonight and is 5/2 to win the whole thing. The Power is 4/11 to win it all and 33/1 on to win tonight against King.
Post by: Rav67 on January 03, 2009, 05:39:18 PM
What a performance from Barney last night, 9 dart with an average of 107 or 108 and he checked out with 161.  Unbelievable the way he held his nerve with the noise coming from the crowd.  He never even flinched when he got it too, just strolled back cool as a cucumber for the next leg.  Him and the power should make it through for what would be a cracking final.

As for the BDO championship, it really is poor in the opening rounds but I do watch it a bit.  I fancy Anderson as well, he was quite impressive in the recent grand prix tournament where players from both sides of the divide compteted.
Post by: bennydorano on January 03, 2009, 06:31:13 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 03, 2009, 03:13:02 PM

Barney is 6/1 on to beat Wade tonight and is 5/2 to win the whole thing. The Power is 4/11 to win it all and 33/1 on to win tonight against King.
Barney at 1/6 to beat Wade is ridiculous odds.  Wade has been second only to Taylor this year, 50/50 match imo.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 03, 2009, 06:37:25 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 03, 2009, 06:31:13 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on January 03, 2009, 03:13:02 PM

Barney at 1/6 to beat Wade is ridiculous odds.  Wade has been second only to Taylor this year, 50/50 match imo.

Well Barney looked in top form in the last round. Wade was fairly unimpressive in a low quality match but yeah those odds are crazy in a two horse race.
Post by: tyrone86 on January 03, 2009, 06:53:44 PM
In fairness, Wade has been poor for the duration of the tournament and his 3 dart average, in each of his  games, only has been over 90 against Van der Voort, with an 81, 85 and 89 thrown in. On the other hand, he hasn't really been under any pressure yet,. To beat Barney on this form he'll need to bump his average to 98/99, which, given his throwing last night - 81 avg, is very hard to see.
Post by: FermPundit on January 03, 2009, 07:03:57 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on January 03, 2009, 06:53:44 PM
In fairness, Wade has been poor for the duration of the tournament and his 3 dart average, in each of his  games, only has been over 90 against Van der Voort, with an 81, 85 and 89 thrown in. On the other hand, he hasn't really been under any pressure yet,. To beat Barney on this form he'll need to bump his average to 98/99, which, given his throwing last night - 81 avg, is very hard to see.

Yeah, but he's under no pressure tonight. I expect this match to be very close!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 03, 2009, 07:59:57 PM
Wade v Barney is a cracker, the 5/2 for Wade seem foolishly long now, really a 50/50 game. Think Barney wud have a better chance in the final against Taylor though
Post by: tyroneboi on January 03, 2009, 08:54:17 PM
4-4 now. Would take a brave man to call it now. Dont know where Wade has pulled this performance from he was pretty poor the past few rounds.
Post by: Tankie on January 03, 2009, 09:01:41 PM
can someone give update per leg as i'm in work at the mo and i cant get live tv through the firewall and sky's website is shite for updates!

Cheers
Post by: stiffler on January 03, 2009, 09:04:30 PM
http://www.planetdarts.tv/page/DartsTV/LiveScoreBoardIntro/0,,10180,00.html (http://www.planetdarts.tv/page/DartsTV/LiveScoreBoardIntro/0,,10180,00.html)
Post by: Tankie on January 03, 2009, 09:07:42 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 03, 2009, 09:04:30 PM
http://www.planetdarts.tv/page/DartsTV/LiveScoreBoardIntro/0,,10180,00.html (http://www.planetdarts.tv/page/DartsTV/LiveScoreBoardIntro/0,,10180,00.html)

cheers
Post by: milltown row on January 04, 2009, 07:50:28 PM
any live streams out there?  taylor 2 up already
Post by: milltown row on January 04, 2009, 08:01:42 PM
got it on Justintv
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 04, 2009, 08:02:19 PM
you can see by the expression on Taylors face he is going for a 9 dart finish. Once he missis a T20 he winces. He more or less admitted it in an interview yesterday
Post by: oakleaf stateside on January 04, 2009, 08:23:48 PM
barny change darts he would need to change his boxers
Post by: magpie seanie on January 04, 2009, 09:20:31 PM
Incredible darts by Taylor. 109.75 average is ridiculous.
Post by: full back on January 04, 2009, 09:22:43 PM
Disappointing final
Barney couldnt sem to hit a double
Taylor was his usual self. He has the world record now for the highest average, think he finished on 109.75 for the final  ::)

BTW, does anyone know when the tickets go on sale for this event?
Post by: FermPundit on January 04, 2009, 10:19:38 PM
Quote from: full back on January 04, 2009, 09:22:43 PM
Disappointing final
Barney couldnt sem to hit a double
Taylor was his usual self. He has the world record now for the highest average, think he finished on 109.75 for the final  ::)

BTW, does anyone know when the tickets go on sale for this event?

A hugely disappointing final. Barney just didn't turn up. He has been blowing hot and cold all week in fairness. Although he was outstanding against Klassen on Thursday night, Ronnie Baxter should have beaten him mid week. Many commentators have been saying it for a while but the player best placed to challenge Taylor in the coming years is James Wade. Although he poor at times during this world championships he has the potential to best player in the world IMO. Barney's average was around 100 tonight but he's inability to hit the doubles when required was very frustrating.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 05, 2009, 12:35:44 AM
Barney is inconsistent but he is the only player at the minute capable of putting it up to Taylor. Wade might be down the line, but not yet. Very disappointing final. While you'd have to admire Taylor's excellence, he ain't half an arrogant so and so
Post by: full back on January 05, 2009, 08:34:05 AM
Obviously I dont know Wade personally, but he comes across as a hateful cnut, especially when he was playing Barney the other night
Post by: Clown on January 05, 2009, 09:05:01 AM
sky sure know how to hype these matches up, comments like -

the best 2 dart players ever to walk the earth

anyone been watching the BDO? yes its a worse standard but theres something i like about it!
Post by: cavan4ever on January 05, 2009, 10:34:12 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on January 05, 2009, 10:24:02 AM
Quote from: Clown on January 05, 2009, 09:05:01 AM
sky sure know how to hype these matches up, comments like -

the best 2 dart players ever to walk the earth

anyone been watching the BDO? yes its a worse standard but theres something i like about it!

Thats because they are...FACT.

BDO not nearly as high as standard but at least everyone is on a level playing field with regards to that there is no 1 or 2 outstanding individuals.  There was a very good match last night between Gary Robson & Stephen Bunting, two good throwers with 90+ averages.

If you took Taylor and Barney out of the PDC alot of the top ranked BDO players would hold their own with the others.  There were some awful player in the PDC first round this year, a chinese guy who  averaged about 45 and some other eastern European who wasn't much better. 
Post by: Clown on January 05, 2009, 10:37:31 AM
they all start off at the BDO , merv king made the semis in his 1st or 2nd year in the pdc, klaasen has done well since moving over, i think webster will do well if and when he moves to the PDC.

wud eric bristow or john lowe not hav been better players than barney??
Post by: cavan4ever on January 05, 2009, 12:14:26 PM
Quote from: Clown on January 05, 2009, 10:37:31 AM
they all start off at the BDO , merv king made the semis in his 1st or 2nd year in the pdc, klaasen has done well since moving over, i think webster will do well if and when he moves to the PDC.

wud eric bristow or john lowe not hav been better players than barney??

Going by averages that Barney was getting in finals that in played in at the BDO there would not have been much between him and Bristow but since then he has improved again.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BDO_World_Darts_Championship
Post by: FermPundit on January 05, 2009, 10:08:27 PM
Great performance by 22 year old Daryl Gurney from Derry at Lakeside tonight. He defeated 14th seed Garry Thompson 3-1. He now plays Martin Adams in the second half. From what I saw tonight he'll give Wolfie a good game!
Post by: Old Bill on January 06, 2009, 03:27:01 PM
Yea he played well! I think he is from Derry.
Post by: Clown on January 06, 2009, 03:36:32 PM
he's from Drumahoe to be precise
Post by: T O Hare on January 06, 2009, 04:20:58 PM
seen him on talking.. he just seems to be having the craic!!! says he practices a half an hour a day  ;D ;D
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 06, 2009, 05:22:21 PM
just had a look at that wikipedia link.going by those averages,if you go back as far as 1990 and actually further no one has won a bdo final with an average greater than 98.that would be just about good enough to win a quarter final in the pdc.mark webster won bdo last year with a 92 average.wouldnt have got him into quarter final this year at pdc.
i myself was over at the pdc semi finals in the alexandra palace last weekend and there is no comparison between the two brands.the atmospher inside the arena was something else,its absolutely brilliant at the end of a set and the music comes on and the crowd goes mad.the way the pdc market their product is fantastic,they always have the biggest venues and the biggest cash prizes.the atmosphere at the lakeside is very poor as is the standard.the only few who would be able to transfer over and do okay would be gary anderson and probably webster.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 06, 2009, 11:45:05 PM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on January 06, 2009, 05:22:21 PM
just had a look at that wikipedia link.going by those averages,if you go back as far as 1990 and actually further no one has won a bdo final with an average greater than 98.that would be just about good enough to win a quarter final in the pdc.mark webster won bdo last year with a 92 average.wouldnt have got him into quarter final this year at pdc.
i myself was over at the pdc semi finals in the alexandra palace last weekend and there is no comparison between the two brands.the atmospher inside the arena was something else,its absolutely brilliant at the end of a set and the music comes on and the crowd goes mad.the way the pdc market their product is fantastic,they always have the biggest venues and the biggest cash prizes.the atmosphere at the lakeside is very poor as is the standard.the only few who would be able to transfer over and do okay would be gary anderson and probably webster.

Then how do you explain Barney winning the PDC the first year he transferred?
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 07, 2009, 12:00:29 AM
what do you mean how do i explain?barneveld won the pdc the first year he transferred with an average of 101.he joined the pdc in january 2006 and won the tournament the following january.i believe he made the necessary improvement by playing against better players on a regular occurrence in bigger televised tournaments.he was in a comfort zone with the bdo because only eric bristow i think had won more lakeside tournaments than him whereas the likes of anderson has only got to the semi finals of the lakeside once however he has got to the semi finals of the grand slam of darts the last two years and was beaten by andy hamilton last year and taylor this year.webster if he ever went professional could perhaps make the neccessary improvements.the big problem with the bdo is that the majority of their top players are not full time pro's whereas the pdc is
Post by: tyrone86 on January 07, 2009, 01:07:34 AM
Quote from: Tommy Tight Lips on January 06, 2009, 05:22:21 PM

Wade didn't average 92 in any of his games in the last fortnight, I think he might have been around 90/91 at his peak v Barney and Van der Voort.
Post by: Old Bill on January 07, 2009, 09:33:25 AM
I see in the paper today that Anderson and Webster are being linked with moves to the PDC and could be offered places in the PRemier League as wildcards.
Post by: Hound on January 07, 2009, 02:52:01 PM
Yes, Anderson, Webster, Robson, Waites and Whitlock all very strongly linked with a move to the PDC.

Two Premier League wildcards available. I'd be surprised if both went to BDO transferrees, there'd be uproar in the PDC ranks. But one would be a strong possibility.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 07, 2009, 03:13:06 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 07, 2009, 02:52:01 PM
Yes, Anderson, Webster, Robson, Waites and Whitlock all very strongly linked with a move to the PDC.

At this rate Bobby George will have to make a comeback.
Post by: tyrone86 on January 07, 2009, 03:17:12 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 07, 2009, 02:52:01 PM

Two Premier League wildcards available. I'd be surprised if both went to BDO transferrees, there'd be uproar in the PDC ranks. But one would be a strong possibility.

You'd expect Lewis or Mardle will get one of the Wildcards - probably Lewis as he was in the top 4 of the PL last year. You'd expect also expect whomever wins the BDO World title to get the other if they're transferring.
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 07, 2009, 03:32:34 PM
perhaps mardle ahead of lewis as mardle seems to be a real crowd favourite and ull always see the crowd littered with hawaiin tops.anderson could do well in the premier league,would be interesting to see him there.if not him jelle klassen.hes starting to show his potential of couple of years ago and if not for his playing ability,even just to look at his woman  ;D ;D
Post by: T O Hare on January 07, 2009, 06:22:49 PM
Gurney is currently 2 sets each with Martin Adams!!! he is playing well enough !!!
Post by: cavan4ever on January 07, 2009, 06:38:02 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on January 07, 2009, 06:22:49 PM
Gurney is currently 2 sets each with Martin Adams!!! he is playing well enough !!!
[/quote
http://www.justin.tv/ted_wankey for anyone who wants watch it.
Post by: bigfrank on January 07, 2009, 07:46:09 PM
all the darts are live on the bbc website too,webster just got awful hiding there :P :P
Post by: cavan4ever on January 07, 2009, 08:04:21 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on January 07, 2009, 07:46:09 PM
all the darts are live on the bbc website too,webster just got awful hiding there :P :P

Only in UK
Post by: Rav67 on January 07, 2009, 08:21:53 PM
John "Bhoy" Walton back to his best there to whitewash Webster.

Tommy TL- how'd you enjoy the semis?  Did youse go in costume?
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 07, 2009, 11:00:43 PM
aye saw john boy giving webster a thrashing.the darts on bbc mite get a bit better nearer the weekend,now most of the horrible players are away.aw rav the ally pally was unreal,expensive but brilliant nites crack.when the music comes on at end of the set its mental,people jumping about mad everywhere!aye mick dressed up as "dart vader" and i went as "obi wan 80".pics are on bebo!
whos ur tip for the lakeside?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on January 08, 2009, 12:26:16 PM
Taylor should move to the bdo, he would win another 20 titles with the competition that is there
Post by: SidelineKick on January 08, 2009, 12:30:09 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on January 08, 2009, 12:26:16 PM
Taylor should move to the bdo, he would win another 20 titles with the competition that is there

Thats like saying Man Utd should play in the 3rd Divison. Not very lucrative.
Post by: carnaross on January 09, 2009, 07:54:59 AM
Anybody out there thought to compare the commentary styles on sky and the bbc? Sky with Sid Waddell is a joke what with his understaker and red bits and stupid puns - God, I hate that man. The way he talks about individual styles, you'd swear he was a star of the game and among the world's best players. He lives near Leeds and frequents one particular pub where nobody wants to go near him, a) when he comes in sober because of his arseholery and b) he's even worse when drunk, which is the normal outcome to his visits to the pub. The BBC through Tony Green seems much more professional.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 08:45:08 AM
Quote from: carnaross on January 09, 2009, 07:54:59 AM
Anybody out there thought to compare the commentary styles on sky and the bbc? Sky with Sid Waddell is a joke what with his understaker and red bits and stupid puns - God, I hate that man. The way he talks about individual styles, you'd swear he was a star of the game and among the world's best players. He lives near Leeds and frequents one particular pub where nobody wants to go near him, a) when he comes in sober because of his arseholery and b) he's even worse when drunk, which is the normal outcome to his visits to the pub. The BBC through Tony Green seems much more professional.

It's a pity you have to watch pure trash to get good commentary.  Can't even bring myself to watch BDO.

Though I had considered doing Martin Adams at 6/1 e/w only yesterday but now hes down to 7/2, rippin!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 09, 2009, 09:30:56 AM
lads as much as waddell does come out with a lot of stupid statements that make u think "what the fcuk" he and dave lanning have a great knowledge of the game.his particular use of the "understaker" is refering to a particular tactic that some players use.himself and dave lanning are always able to compare statistics from the current game to as far back as a similar game maybe a year before.whether or not that is their own knowledge or sky providing them with the stats its still good commentary because they provide the viewer with facts.waddell does come out with some silly sounding phrases but i believe hes a lot more exciting than Tony Green or Ted Hankey who quite often pops in to help.im convinced they will fall asleep in the commentary box before the week is out.

sideline what odds ted hankey or daryl fitton?
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 09:46:20 AM
BDO World Championship    Outright Betting 

Darryl Fitton  5 - 2 

Martin Adams  7 - 2 

Tony O'Shea  7 - 2 

Ted Hankey  9 - 2 

Gary Robson  15 - 2 

John Walton  8 - 1 

Hanky maybe wouldn't be a bad bet! I enjoy Waddell he's a good laugh, met him in the City West one year, said to one of the fellas with us "More meat on a jockeys whip!" was just his accent and way he says it had us in stitches!
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2009, 09:55:05 AM
Sid Waddell appreciation day?
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 09, 2009, 09:58:58 AM
now theres a thought!!!ill look into the t-shirt end of things over the weekend.need to decide on a venue tho!
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:04:45 AM
I still regret now getting the red t-shirts done the time Pauline Fowler died with Fowler on the back of them.  Ifs and buts eh?
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2009, 10:11:25 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:04:45 AM
I still regret now getting the red t-shirts done the time Pauline Fowler died with Fowler on the back of them.  Ifs and buts eh?

Very disappoointed with that too - so Wadell day - Shaws is out!
Post by: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:16:11 AM
Quote from: corn02 on January 09, 2009, 10:11:25 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 09, 2009, 10:04:45 AM

Very disappoointed with that too - so Wadell day - Shaws is out!

No point in doing it then. Twas the only viable venue!

Anyway I'm a respected member of society now I can't be involved in such shenanigans. I know I know, "respected".
Post by: Clown on January 09, 2009, 10:36:38 AM
i said the same the other day, at least on bbc u dont hav to put up with that mouth piece waddell. he thinks its all about him
dont get me wrong a few years ago i found him very funny but the joke has worn off, time for sky to axe him.

Post by: cavan4ever on January 09, 2009, 11:11:51 AM
Quote from: Clown on January 09, 2009, 10:36:38 AM
i said the same the other day, at least on bbc u dont hav to put up with that mouth piece waddell. he thinks its all about him
dont get me wrong a few years ago i found him very funny but the joke has worn off, time for sky to axe him.

He must go threw a few pairs of underpants every time taylor plays.
Post by: Hound on January 09, 2009, 11:22:11 AM
Waddell was brilliant in his day and did a lot for darts, but over the last few years he has become a caricature of himself. For those who only watch it now and again, he can make darts entertaining and interesting, and I can only think thats why he's still number 1 for Sky. For those like me, who'd watch every darts tournament on telly, he's become a bore, an embarrassment and an annoyance.

Tony Green on the BBC is just as bad. His knowledge is a lot lower, he makes far more mistakes, and he's just plain useless. Way past his sell by date. Waddell and Green also have in common the lowest regard for the other side.

Yer man Croft on the BBC is excellent. The rest of the Sky team is pretty good too.
Post by: Joxer on January 09, 2009, 11:48:10 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on January 09, 2009, 11:11:51 AM
Quote from: Clown on January 09, 2009, 10:36:38 AM

He must go threw a few pairs of underpants every time taylor plays.

My thoughts exactly!  ::)  Man is a pure bomb scare!!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 09, 2009, 06:23:24 PM
aye dave lanning and rod harrington wouldnt be 2 bad on sky.waddell reminds me a bit like jonathan pearce in the old channel 5 days,god he went mental nearly any time a team got a corner!!!pity ray stubbs hasnt got a better knowledge of darts,he'd be a likeable man on the bbc!!
Post by: tyrone86 on January 09, 2009, 07:52:38 PM
Ted Hankey, brilliant  :D

" I only had 3 pints before going on stage tonight. It's been 5 or 6 every other night this week"
Post by: cavan4ever on January 09, 2009, 10:50:56 PM
Quote from: tyrone86 on January 09, 2009, 07:52:38 PM
Ted Hankey, brilliant  :D

" I only had 3 pints before going on stage tonight. It's been 5 or 6 every other night this week"

:D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: gerry on January 11, 2009, 08:08:34 PM
hankey looks like he is going to do it
Post by: ExiledGael on January 11, 2009, 08:17:00 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 11, 2009, 08:08:34 PM
hankey looks like he is going to do it

Does he f**k, bottled it big time. Far better final than the Sky stuff anyway.
Post by: The GAA on January 11, 2009, 08:19:20 PM

Aye - in the same way a junior championship match can be more entertaining that an all ireland final
Post by: gerry on January 11, 2009, 08:23:51 PM
he will do it yet
Post by: mountainboii on January 11, 2009, 08:43:42 PM
Good final, enjoyable enough to watch. That guy Hankey takes himself way too seriously.
Post by: gerry on January 11, 2009, 08:48:00 PM
aye i though he was going to lose it at the start of the final
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 11, 2009, 08:57:27 PM
thot hankey was going to throw it away.was a very entertaining final though.  good weeks entertainment i would say the bookies laughing few would had him at the start of the week i would imagine and 9 years since he won it.anyone know what price he was at beginning?
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:06:42 PM
Anyone for the darts in belfast in february???Was lookin for tickets there and can get them for the south stand etc,anyone ever been before??Would u be better watchin it in the house as the upper tier??Atmosphere is down at the tables but they all sold out ages ago
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on January 14, 2009, 01:18:18 PM
Charlie

Ted Hankey was available at 40-1 proir to the start of the world championship (BDO).
There was a few on the dart's boards that had him-he also likes a punt himself so he may have had a few bob on himself   
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 01:19:55 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:06:42 PM
Anyone for the darts in belfast in february???Was lookin for tickets there and can get them for the south stand etc,anyone ever been before??Would u be better watchin it in the house as the upper tier??Atmosphere is down at the tables but they all sold out ages ago

Was there surely, can't tell you who was even playing. Myself and Charlie Stubbs got thrown out by about 9 o'clock for taking our tops off at the break (for the 15th time).  Bouncers were sound as f**k we had great craic with them on the way out.  The went to the Bot. Success!
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:22:51 PM
Never been to darts before but would love stuff like that.just worried bout the crap seats im goin to be in,i guess u make ur own craic when ur at these things,its on a thurs night so the bot will be nailed after no doubt!! Would love a table with 10 friends and someone carryin beer to us all night :P Lookin forward to the song that comes on during the breaks and stuff!!Place goes mad :P :P
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 14, 2009, 01:31:00 PM
ah darts at odyssey last year was a great nites crack,i was along with sideline and charlie.im heading again this year.ive tickets for the north stand lower tier.not matter where you have tickets for,theres big screens up so u wont have a problem seeing the darts!bot a nailed on cert after it surely!
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:34:08 PM
Happy days then,tickets not that expensive either!!Must get a few more lads rounded up and as they say"Lets Play Darts"  :P :P Thought the upper tier seats miet have been a waste of time but as long as u can drink and f$$k about,should be something different! See ya in the Bot sure  ;D ;D
Post by: bigfrank on January 29, 2009, 09:41:47 PM
Could someone who was maybe at premier league of darts last year in belfast answer the following questions?

what are the tier seats like in the west,south north stands??Are u miles from the atmosphere and can u drink in ur seats and stuff?? Do people actually sit in there seats to watch the darts,wouldnt have thought so?????
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on January 29, 2009, 10:56:15 PM
frank there was 20 of us last year in the tiered seats.ten in one row,ten in the other.the atmosphere in the tiers isnt bad,suppose it depends what crowd is along side you 2.aw aye you can drink away in ur seats,even sneak a carryout in with you  ::).obviously if you were on the floor at the tables,the atmosphere prob better but its still good enough cos couple of big screens up for ones seated.and when the breaks come and the music goes on everybody jumps about going mad!
Post by: girt_giggler on January 30, 2009, 10:11:04 AM
Was at the darts last year, was some craic. We were disappointed not to get a table on the floor, as we thought going by years of watching it on the tv it would be the best place to sit.
We were at the very back of the oddyssey on the tiered seating and to be honest I thought it was much better than the floor.  Big massive screens hanging from the roof which were at roughly eye level, whereas on the floor your neck i thought would have been very sore looking up constantly.

Never got tickets this year, were all sold out, but did someone say there was more available?  Would love to get back just for the atmosphere.

However, expect a long wait at the bar for s**t beer.  We ended up buying a box of bud in the place, was far handier, although was warm.  Expect lots of beer to get thrown round you with folk jumping up and down at every 180!
Post by: bigfrank on January 31, 2009, 12:28:25 PM
Can buy 8 tickets at a time now on ticketmaster!! ;D ;D Def not sold out
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 24, 2009, 09:13:54 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 24, 2009, 09:03:13 PM
Is anyone watching this masterclass of throwing by the Power against Adrian Lewis....the man is unreal, he is averging over 115 over 5 legs and is 5-0 up.  lewis average is about 105 whihc is brilliant also but he cant get near Taylor!!

Great darts!!

You are a scud DD12...

I have Taylor backed outright to win this thing at 1/2 in an accum with other things.

Hes unreal.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 24, 2009, 09:57:43 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 24, 2009, 09:36:00 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 24, 2009, 09:13:54 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 24, 2009, 09:03:13 PM
Is anyone watching this masterclass of throwing by the Power against Adrian Lewis....the man is unreal, he is averging over 115 over 5 legs and is 5-0 up.  lewis average is about 105 whihc is brilliant also but he cant get near Taylor!!

Great darts!!

You are a scud DD12...

I have Taylor backed outright to win this thing at 1/2 in an accum with other things.

Hes unreal.

Best man at his sport in the world?  better than Tiger is at Golf or Roger is at tennis?  The man is dominant.

What is a scud?? is that some type of Armagh lingo  ;D

A scud is someone who talks about another persons bet and then puts the jinx on them... Once you posted, Taylor lost the next two legs and I thought this is it!!

Taylor is totally ruthless though, Lewis had the look of a beaten man after the first five legs.

With Barney and Wade exiting today its hard to see anyone beating Phil now.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 08:37:02 PM
Taylor gave Jenkins some hammering in the final tonight. Beat him 18-4. Taylor says he's going to get better and better
Post by: Our Nail Loney on July 26, 2009, 11:03:26 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 08:37:02 PM
Taylor gave Jenkins some hammering in the final tonight. Beat him 18-4. Taylor says he's going to get better and better

The man is a machine. Noone else in the world has dominated their respective sports like he has. I am not saying darts is the same as other sports just admiring his achievements.

Leg one up of my summer antepost bet anyway...
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 26, 2009, 11:13:14 PM
He really is something else. It must be really demoralising when playing against him when he can put in performances like that.
Post by: gerry on November 19, 2010, 09:25:16 PM
not wanting to start another tread but anyone watching Grand Slam of Darts on itv this wek
Post by: Mid Down Gael on November 19, 2010, 10:27:05 PM
Quote from: gerry on November 19, 2010, 09:25:16 PM
not wanting to start another tread but anyone watching Grand Slam of Darts on itv this wek

Some win for Taylor tonight, without the glasses!!
Post by: gerry on November 19, 2010, 10:38:21 PM
taylor v baxter should be a good game