Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: gerry on December 18, 2007, 09:31:32 PM

Title: Black eye Friday
Post by: gerry on December 18, 2007, 09:31:32 PM
Three days to go till A+E will be filled with people enjoying the christmas break to much, nursing a black eye or broken nuckle.
Title: Re: Black eye Friday
Post by: Square Ball on December 18, 2007, 09:32:35 PM
Gerry

people should heed your signature
Post by: gerry on December 18, 2007, 09:34:31 PM
easier said than done
Post by: Square Ball on December 18, 2007, 09:37:36 PM
Drink in wit out.

Mind you our works do was last Friday and there were a few red faces about on Monday, and they are gonna do it all again on Friday, well a few of them refuse to drink again, curse those mobile phone cameras!!!  :o :o
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 09:42:48 PM
yeah I have a session planned with a few old ex-colleagues on Fri night in Dublin city centre

prob should go reasonably early, but easier said than done

Dublin city centre is a dangerous place all year round , but with the people that dont normally booze out on the prowl this time of year it is a minefield....
Post by: The Gs Man on December 18, 2007, 10:24:02 PM
We're playing a gig in Lurgan on Black-eyed Friday.  Should be interesting!!!!!
Post by: Blacksheep on December 18, 2007, 10:29:11 PM
It's clean mad all over, not just Lurgan and Belfast. Down my way we call it Black Sheep friday though.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 18, 2007, 10:33:44 PM
Is it really that bad though?

In our office we've had the Christmas do 2 weekends ago and a sort of bonus do last Friday. Think by Friday people just want the half day and get straight away home.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 18, 2007, 10:43:06 PM
Good day for the lads.. the Pernod ladies will be out - as will the furry cheque books when they run out of money and need more drink!
Post by: Fishbat on December 19, 2007, 02:06:13 AM
When the boss lands to work on black eye friday morning with a boot full of buckfast and beer its hardly any wonder the lads are as full as a nuns teats by noon then its off to the bars for the real drinking - where the confrontations begin due to irregulars being out and about the same day not knowing pub ettiquette on black eye friday.

Rule of thumb is stick to your own bars and crowd, any lads with work clothes on...... leave them alone......y'hear

a glorious build up to the feast of the birth of the saviour of mankind........and it gives the priest a gap filler on christmas morning
Post by: Gnevin on December 19, 2007, 08:39:20 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 09:42:48 PM
yeah I have a session planned with a few old ex-colleagues on Fri night in Dublin city centre

prob should go reasonably early, but easier said than done

Dublin city centre is a dangerous place all year round , but with the people that dont normally booze out on the prowl this time of year it is a minefield....

Really strange i've never had a problem their  ::) Owe but i did once nearly get my head kick off in Kilkenny hence its safe to say its a dangerous place all year round

Whats the point of this thread
Post by: cavan4ever on December 19, 2007, 08:39:53 AM
Quote from: Fishbat on December 19, 2007, 02:06:13 AM
When the boss lands to work on black eye friday morning with a boot full of buckfast and beer its hardly any wonder the lads are as full as a nuns teats by noon then its off to the bars for the real drinking - where the confrontations begin due to irregulars being out and about the same day not knowing pub ettiquette on black eye friday.

Rule of thumb is stick to your own bars and crowd, any lads with work clothes on...... leave them alone......y'hear

a glorious build up to the feast of the birth of the saviour of mankind........and it gives the priest a gap filler on christmas morning

Thats so true  :D :D :D
Post by: Great Leap Forward on December 19, 2007, 10:22:43 AM
Anybody that has never seen trouble on black-eye Friday must live in the city. There is no way I would go anywhere near my local on Friday. It is ok until about 6 in the evening but after that anything can happen.

There are a few rare creatures that appear on black-eye Friday that make it a particulary annoying today to have a beer.

The first is the dirty hallion. This guy has done a half days work on the site and has hit the pub without going home to change. He can normally be indentified by a pool of mortar at his feet, half a bag of cement in his hair and the remains of a fiiled soda on his chin.

Then there is the 'I don't want to talk about work' guy. His good intentions last about an hour before he starts complaining about how the building trade is slowing up and naming joiners who aren't worth a f**k.

The next kind is the Christmas drinker. This guy is usually married (and the wife never lets him out of the house) or has never went with a woman in his life (and his ma never lets him out of the house). This guy is also easy to spot. He will most likely have a side parting and have his shirt rammed into his loose fit jeans. He will be sloshed after 2 beer and spends his time drooling over any woman that comes into the bar, telling everybody what he wouldn't mind doing to her. If he breaks into song it will likely be the last record he bought, Hillbilly rock by the Woolpackers. He won't see 11pm.

The final guy to watch out for is the Psycho. The reason it is known as black-eye Friday. A real bomb scare. He will drink out of town because he will be barred from his local. He will also be built like a tank but have very little between the ears. He will be drinking 5 half un's for verybody elses pint. Do not look near this specimen as it will make him extremely paranoid and you don't want that because this guy farts intimidation. He will most likely have plugged someone by 9pm and find himself barred from yet another pub.

It may be possible that one person ticks all these boxes. I have never met on and I have no intention of meeting one which is why Friday nights entertainment will be provided by Xtravsion.

Post by: illdecide on December 19, 2007, 11:11:22 AM
Lads i get the impression you lot are against the hard working guy with the cement boots and dirty cloths ::) I know 90% of the rows are with these guys but they are started with some shirt and tie p***k looking down their nose at them like they are a piece of dirt who then deserve a slap on the chaps.

If you go out on Friday and mind your own business and stay with your own crowd and don't insult anyone you will be fine ;)

And b4 you start i'm sitting with a shit and tie on ;)
Post by: Gnevin on December 19, 2007, 11:17:00 AM
Quote from: illdecide on December 19, 2007, 11:11:22 AM
Lads i get the impression you lot are against the hard working guy with the cement boots and dirty cloths ::) I know 90% of the rows are with these guys but they are started with some shirt and tie p***k looking down their nose at them like they are a piece of dirt who then deserve a slap on the chaps.

If you go out on Friday and mind your own business and stay with your own crowd and don't insult anyone you will be fine ;)

The tie i get but the shit ? ???
Post by: An Fear Rua on December 19, 2007, 11:17:21 AM

dirty necked weirdo  ;D ;)
Post by: Great Leap Forward on December 19, 2007, 11:22:19 AM

I have nothing against the tradesman getting a work do but surely some of the hoors could go home for a wash beforehand.

I think the problem stems from the fact that they are all-male affairs. The mixture of beer and testosterone doesn't mix.
Post by: illdecide on December 19, 2007, 11:57:08 AM
Sorry about the spelling there lads :D :D But you get my drift. Just don't be looking at them with their working gear on like they are tinkers and they will not bother you. ;)
Post by: Armagh CĂșchulainns on December 19, 2007, 11:58:04 AM
i forgot twas black eye friday, anyway its the end of exams for my mate at UCD so me and my other mate are heading down on the absolute rip. shud be grand craic.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 22, 2007, 10:28:10 AM
Did any body get in a fight? Tell us about it
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 22, 2007, 12:22:12 PM
QuoteLads i get the impression you lot are against the hard working guy with the cement boots and dirty cloths Roll Eyes I know 90% of the rows are with these guys but they are started with some shirt and tie p***k looking down their nose at them like they are a piece of dirt who then deserve a slap on the chaps.

Exactly.  .

QuoteI have nothing against the tradesman getting a work do but surely some of the hoors could go home for a wash beforehand.
Why?  To please the likes of you? What's it to you what someone wears to a pub?
Maybe they should go home and put on a shirt and tie and they can look like a ponce too.
Post by: Zapatista on December 22, 2007, 01:56:03 PM
Ah Gez lads. Black eye Friday is just a bit of criac.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 22, 2007, 03:09:08 PM
I got a couple of hammerings from Lecale on Wednesday does that count
Post by: Over the Bar on December 22, 2007, 09:58:24 PM
If things keep going the way they are it will soon be known as stab-eye friday.  Saw a bunch or retards in the Moy kicking shit out of each other. 
Post by: Windmill abu on December 23, 2007, 02:31:57 AM
If things keep going the way they are it will son be known as stab-eye friday.  Saw a buch or retards in the Moy kicking shit out of each other. 

Lets hope that your spelling doesn't qualify you as a RETARD
Post by: gerry on December 18, 2008, 07:59:23 PM
might not be as many rows this year with so many work men laid off
Post by: Minder on December 18, 2008, 09:07:23 PM
I will be in the Welly Park tomorrow trying to avoid a black eye. . . . .
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2008, 09:11:20 PM
That's a challenge. Might head there to bate the lugs clane off you.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 18, 2008, 09:18:42 PM
I'll be in Banbridge.  It already sounds like a bad idea
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 18, 2008, 09:36:44 PM
Quote from: Minder on December 18, 2008, 09:07:23 PM
I will be in the Welly Park tomorrow trying to avoid a black eye. . . . .

you don't pay in there you weigh in!!
Post by: T O Hare on December 19, 2008, 01:54:47 AM
Quote from: Great Leap Forward on December 19, 2007, 10:22:43 AM
Anybody that has never seen trouble on black-eye Friday must live in the city. There is no way I would go anywhere near my local on Friday. It is ok until about 6 in the evening but after that anything can happen.

There are a few rare creatures that appear on black-eye Friday that make it a particulary annoying today to have a beer.

The first is the dirty hallion. This guy has done a half days work on the site and has hit the pub without going home to change. He can normally be indentified by a pool of mortar at his feet, half a bag of cement in his hair and the remains of a fiiled soda on his chin.

Then there is the 'I don't want to talk about work' guy. His good intentions last about an hour before he starts complaining about how the building trade is slowing up and naming joiners who aren't worth a f**k.

The next kind is the Christmas drinker. This guy is usually married (and the wife never lets him out of the house) or has never went with a woman in his life (and his ma never lets him out of the house). This guy is also easy to spot. He will most likely have a side parting and have his shirt rammed into his loose fit jeans. He will be sloshed after 2 beer and spends his time drooling over any woman that comes into the bar, telling everybody what he wouldn't mind doing to her. If he breaks into song it will likely be the last record he bought, Hillbilly rock by the Woolpackers. He won't see 11pm.

The final guy to watch out for is the Psycho. The reason it is known as black-eye Friday. A real bomb scare. He will drink out of town because he will be barred from his local. He will also be built like a tank but have very little between the ears. He will be drinking 5 half un's for verybody elses pint. Do not look near this specimen as it will make him extremely paranoid and you don't want that because this guy farts intimidation. He will most likely have plugged someone by 9pm and find himself barred from yet another pub.

It may be possible that one person ticks all these boxes. I have never met on and I have no intention of meeting one which is why Friday nights entertainment will be provided by Xtravsion.

:D ;D :) :) :)
Post by: Lecale2 on December 19, 2008, 09:29:27 AM
That's a classic!
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2008, 09:42:36 AM
I could not have put that better myself, every village bar must be the same everywhere on black eye Friday. That will be the Mariners in Waterfoot later on today........
Post by: Minder on December 19, 2008, 09:43:51 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2008, 09:11:20 PM
That's a challenge. Might head there to bate the lugs clane off you.

I dont mind gettin the lugs bate off me as long as you dont give me a black eye..............About 6 o clock i would think a toddler could give me a hiding.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2008, 11:06:32 AM
Just about to head out on our Christmas do, will be a long day, with me by 6pm boring the tits of anyone who'll listen about how great Donegal and Celtic are and how much I now detest the Ginger one!
Post by: An Fear Rua on December 19, 2008, 11:26:43 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 19, 2008, 11:06:32 AM
Just about to head out on our Christmas do, will be a long day, with me by 6pm boring the tits of anyone who'll listen about how great Donegal and Celtic are and how much I now detest the Ginger one!

Thats a special kinda pissed
Post by: Guillem2 on December 20, 2008, 09:28:44 AM
Any casualties to report? I made it home around 11.00 (apparently). No scares or broken bones discovered yet.
Post by: Donagh on December 20, 2008, 10:59:35 AM
Ran into GDA and his sparkley santa hat at about 10pm last night. He was surviving the day alright - just...
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:37:11 AM
Why is it called black eye friday
Post by: the milkman on December 21, 2008, 11:43:57 AM
Quote from: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:37:11 AM
Why is it called black eye friday

after the black eyed peas. Everyone gets peas on the friday before christmas.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 11:46:55 AM
what?????  ???
Post by: Hardy on December 21, 2008, 12:28:36 PM
Quote from: the milkman on December 21, 2008, 11:43:57 AM
Everyone gets peas on the friday before christmas.
You mean everybody gets peased.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 23, 2011, 09:49:51 AM
happy black eye friday to everyone on the board and be carefull .
Post by: Mayo4Sam on December 23, 2011, 10:39:56 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 19, 2007, 02:33:05 AM
Never approach people with chalk on their trousers (although under the bar reckons that it's not chalk) as they will start asking you your times tables, spellings and the names of different parts of an atom. They carry leather straps too.

These are just the type of girls I'm looking for
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2011, 02:49:57 PM
I've part of a black eye that i got last week.

It's yellow'd eye Friday for me tonight
Post by: The Last Fifteen on December 19, 2014, 10:33:39 AM
It's that time of year again lads  :)
Post by: BenDover on December 19, 2014, 11:00:30 AM
Heading down to Belfast later with the OH where should we avoid?
Post by: The Last Fifteen on December 19, 2014, 11:07:48 AM
The east, the west, the north, parts of the south....
Post by: Orior on December 19, 2014, 11:26:24 AM
Quote from: The Last Fifteen on December 19, 2014, 11:07:48 AM
The east, the west, the north, parts of the south....

LOL
Post by: haveaharp on December 19, 2014, 11:36:47 AM
http://www.bbc.com/news/health-30500372 (http://www.bbc.com/news/health-30500372)

Anyone else heading for a night out in Minsk ?
Post by: illdecide on December 19, 2014, 01:24:14 PM
Quote from: BenDover on December 19, 2014, 11:00:30 AM

Where i'm pinting ;)...only messin. I'm heading out here shortly in Belfast but im not sure either where to go and where to stay well clear off...
Post by: The Bearded One on December 19, 2014, 02:13:09 PM
All of the main City Centre bars and hotels will be geared towards christmas parties and will be suitably staffed to cope with the crowds. My experience of Belfast on Black Eye Friday has always been positive, get yourself a good seat and enjoy your night!!
Post by: BenDover on December 19, 2014, 02:55:47 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 19, 2014, 01:24:14 PM
Quote from: BenDover on December 19, 2014, 11:00:30 AM

Where i'm pinting ;)...only messin. I'm heading out here shortly in Belfast but im not sure either where to go and where to stay well clear off...

If you're buying I'm there!
Post by: BennyCake on December 19, 2014, 06:22:49 PM
Is this the same idea as Orange Wednesdays?
Post by: ONeill on December 19, 2014, 06:50:10 PM
No black eyes yet in the West.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2014, 09:08:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 19, 2014, 06:50:10 PM
What about now? There must at least be a woman crying in the bogs.
Post by: ONeill on December 19, 2014, 09:27:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2014, 09:08:28 PM

sdfhh, fdsdjkhj fdsfure zus jjhllv !!?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2014, 09:45:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 19, 2014, 09:27:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 19, 2014, 09:08:28 PM

sdfhh, fdsdjkhj fdsfure zus jjhllv !!?

The missus will be removing gravy chips from your breast pocket in the morning.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 20, 2014, 12:42:32 AM
Home safe and sound from Newry. Brass Monkey is a top  place. Great grub, fine pints and I knew every hoor in the place. Great nights/afternoons fun....was there from 3pm.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 20, 2014, 12:56:53 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 20, 2014, 12:42:32 AM
Home safe and sound from Newry. Brass Monkey is a top  place. Great grub, fine pints and I knew every hoor in the place. Great nights/afternoons fun....was there from 3pm.
You appear in good shape.
I got the following text from the missus about 2 mins ago who is out on her do.

"Iwx iloj ok".

I could be in tonight!
Post by: 5 Sams on December 20, 2014, 01:02:21 AM
Ye horny hoor...have fun!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 20, 2014, 01:35:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 20, 2014, 12:56:53 AM

"Iwx iloj ok".

I could be in tonight!

possibly, but will you be first !!
Post by: Windmill abu on December 20, 2014, 01:47:44 AM
"Iwx iloj ok".

Translates as I won't swallow I'll enjoy. Boke.
Post by: charlieTully on December 20, 2014, 11:45:07 AM
Sweet Jesus I'm dying.
Post by: muppet on December 21, 2014, 01:13:52 AM

"Iwx iloj ok".

I could be in tonight!

Well?
Post by: charlieTully on December 21, 2014, 01:35:50 AM
Durty hoors you two.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 21, 2014, 11:07:10 AM
Quote from: muppet on December 21, 2014, 01:13:52 AM

"Iwx iloj ok".

I could be in tonight!

Well?
Ibwas asleep when she came in. Woke me at 2 to undo the zip on her dress and I went back to sleep. :-[
Post by: ONeill on December 21, 2014, 11:15:50 AM
What did you have for breakfast?