Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on December 10, 2007, 10:04:34 PM

Title: Cocaine!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 10, 2007, 10:04:34 PM
All over the shop these days according to Prime Time. They are even hoovering it up in glamourous Portarlington.

Traces found in 92% of bars tested nationwide and at Croker, RDS, RTE, Galway Races, Rose of Tralee big top, etc.
Title: Re: Cocaine!
Post by: Square Ball on December 10, 2007, 10:15:30 PM
Bars are now taking to putting petroleum jelly on the top of cisterns to absorb the stuff, well thats if your stupid enough to put in on the top of it without first of all making sure its not wet
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 10, 2007, 10:45:21 PM
This was shocking stuff.

Mentalists taking it in the open at 9 in the morning  :o
Another clown spent 150k in one year  :o

And the customs fella showing the 150 cocktail sausage type pellets that the mules smuggle in at at the one time - more or less smugly saying "lads, straight from his arse up your nose".
Post by: Gold on December 10, 2007, 11:50:12 PM
Who here has taken Coke??

I havnt--if it is so widespread then many on this board should have taken it
Post by: Puckoon on December 10, 2007, 11:53:13 PM
When I first came to america, I took a fair bit on a regular basis for about a year. I took it in the privacy of my own home, with friends, and any time I went out (rarely) under the influence of the drug, I didnt enjoy myself. We just sat around and talked alot of shite, played music and enjoyed ourselves. Never any bother out of anyone, although I think its the company you keep that makes it that way as Ive seen plenty of people taking drugs who become complete arseholes.

EDIT: Not a glorification, or an endorsement, just an honest answer to a question. These things arent called recreational drugs for no reason. People try them and more often than not, enjoy them. Thankfully, I got over the thrill very quick and just moved onto living a quiet life.
Post by: new devil on December 11, 2007, 01:31:03 AM
I haven't.... or any drug for that matter!! have noting against any one who does just no interest in it!
Post by: stew on December 11, 2007, 01:33:50 AM
Quote from: new devil on December 11, 2007, 01:31:03 AM
I haven't.... or any drug for that matter!! have noting against any one who does just no interest in it!

I never so much as smoked a cigarette and never would, I think that it is idiocy to do so and I have no time for those that distribute them and not much more for those that take them. Drink is the only thing I ever did that would be addictive and that is more than enough for me.
Post by: ziggysego on December 11, 2007, 01:48:21 AM
I'm with stew on that one.
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 11, 2007, 02:11:07 AM
I had two friends that got hooked on it in about 20 years ago. They eventually got of it but have never been the same since, never had any ambition afterwards and never lived up to the promise that they showed in their younger days.
Post by: imtommygunn on December 11, 2007, 02:20:50 AM
I would go out and get p***ed like the next man and enjoy it but anyone who I have ever seen on this - well I think they behave like nothing short of assholes. I don't understand why people would take it to behave like what they then proceed to behave like.

Your woman in Dublin's story is an awfully sad story - such a waste of life. She sounded like a girl with looks and to be honest living a life with a load of hangers on about her with her "habit" looking like just an escape for her. A lot of businessmen etc in Dublin will likely get exposed and banged up for this. Once the phone records are retrieved whoever supplied her is f**ked.

It really is an awful habit. I don't give a crap if people take drugs - it's up to themselves - but they're not something I'm interested in. If it makes you behave like an absolute asshole though why bother. Cocaine makes people behave like absolute assholes.
Post by: Fishbat on December 11, 2007, 03:14:24 AM
I've saw many more folk acting the bollox drunk - and a lot more violence and accidents through drink too.  Drinkers can't throw stones..They're all drugs...and its hypocrisy

Is it morally any different to feed and get a child hooked on burgers, sweets or soft drink as it is to flog them cigarettes/booze down the local shop? None of them are good

Plenty of people hooked on legal derivitives of the cocoa plant too.

Plenty of addicts for almost anything you can think off - human nature
Post by: J70 on December 11, 2007, 03:34:32 AM
Quote from: Gold on December 10, 2007, 11:50:12 PM

I havnt--if it is so widespread then many on this board should have taken it

I haven't, but a few of my mates have, as well as a close relative who ended up in rehab (I've had a few relatives in rehab for drink too). My drug use amounts to the very occasional drag of a spliff back in college and a little bit of speed once on a stag weekend in eastern Europe. I've never smoked, so even a drag of cannabis wasn't easy to take!
Post by: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 04:41:48 AM

Never took it, nor never had an awful lot of time for those that do,
or especially supply it!
Post by: stephenite on December 11, 2007, 04:45:07 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 04:41:48 AM

or especially supply it!

Are you based in the States?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:43:01 AM

Left coast..
Post by: stephenite on December 11, 2007, 05:54:50 AM
Are you able to vote?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:59:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 11, 2007, 05:54:50 AM
Are you able to vote?

Where are you headed with this one?
Very simple single questions :-\
Post by: muppet on December 11, 2007, 08:15:05 AM
Are you able to vote?

;D That works on a number of levels.

Quote from: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 04:41:48 AM

or especially supply it!

I am of a similiar opinion. Coke heads are victims to a large extent, but they are particularly stupid ones.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on December 11, 2007, 08:45:34 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 10, 2007, 11:28:00 PM
Is the drugs problem as bad as it is being portrayed in the media or is everyone just jumping on the bandwagon because some "it girl" died?
92% of bars tested may have been found to have shown traces of coke, but that doesnt mean everyone in the bar is taking it, or am I being too simplistic? Yes I know people that take coke, but I know a hell of a lot more that dont. In fact one friend of mine that takes it is an absolute knob when he does take it, when he is not fighting he is still very aggressive and not a nice person to be around. If thats enjoyment thank God I am getting too old for pubs and clubs.
A lof of sence in what you have said there five times. Everybody has free will and if they chose to go down that road,well then the consequences can be lethal. Its all about choice at the end of the day. The media will have moved on to some other story next week and all of this hype will blow over.( no pun intended)
Post by: his holiness nb on December 11, 2007, 08:53:51 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on December 11, 2007, 12:04:06 AM
Quote from: Gold on December 10, 2007, 11:50:12 PM

The Dubs  :D

Not me, seen too many people fucked up from it.
A young lad I used to know well died a few weeks back from an overdose (think it was heroin though). Was a nice guy years back, hadnt seen him in the past few years.

Its reasons like this that upset me when the "coke takers" label is thrown at Dubs fans. A lot of peoples lives have been adversely affected by it, even if they never took it.
I know its mostly in jest, but some go a wee bit too far.
Post by: ludermor on December 11, 2007, 09:18:53 AM
Coke would be very common in dublin and getting common countrywide. Some of my extended friends would take it regularlyish ( every couple of months) and in my post college days i took it myself for a wee while. To be honest the way it affects people is much the same as drink, it just doesnt suit some people and it fucks up some people. I wouldnt demonise people because they have taken it , its a personal choice. I have seen drink f**k up a lot more people than drugs.
Post by: nifan on December 11, 2007, 09:22:03 AM
Like stew, ive never even tried a cigarette never mind anything harder.
Alcohol is the only drug i would have at all.
Post by: J70 on December 11, 2007, 03:14:48 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:43:01 AM

Left coast..

You need to lay off the rabid right-wing talk radio Tyrone's Own! ;)
Post by: thejuice on December 11, 2007, 05:21:59 PM
Never done it myslef though I've been around people who do, and also met some dealers more often than I'd like to. Some are very dangerous others are surprisingly normal people. I dont touch illegal drugs, had enough alcohol related problems and I dont wish to risk getting wound-up addicted to anything else.
Post by: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:45:37 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 11, 2007, 03:14:48 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:43:01 AM

Left coast..

You need to lay off the rabid right-wing talk radio Tyrone's Own! ;)

Sure it's my Cocaine J70 :P Maybe you should take a spin out to San Fran sometime
for a bit of a look see :o
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 11, 2007, 06:05:11 PM
QuoteI've saw many more folk acting the bollox drunk - and a lot more violence and accidents through drink too.  Drinkers can't throw stones..They're all drugs...and its hypocrisy

Is it morally any different to feed and get a child hooked on burgers, sweets or soft drink as it is to flog them cigarettes/booze down the local shop? None of them are good

Plenty of people hooked on legal derivitives of the cocoa plant too.

Plenty of addicts for almost anything you can think off - human nature

I think there's a big different in coke and a burger!
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 11, 2007, 06:10:02 PM
I'm also like stew. Never have touched cigarettes, never intend to touch them either. I only drink a couple of pints when I'm out. I don't really care if people smoke cigarettes or not, but they are only doing damage in the long run.
Post by: The Iceman on December 11, 2007, 06:48:03 PM
lads don't kid yourselves that it isn't absolutely everywhere, about 3 years ago there was a bus going from the benburb, blackwatertown, tullysaran area to Donegal for a send off for one of the lads. All country lads mostly on the bus with a huge bag of coke.  There was about 40 out of 45 doing it back then from reports I have heard.

Armagh is full of it. 

Sad to see.
Post by: Fishbat on December 11, 2007, 09:39:42 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on December 11, 2007, 06:48:03 PM
lads don't kid yourselves that it isn't absolutely everywhere, about 3 years ago there was a bus going from the benburb, blackwatertown, tullysaran area to Donegal for a send off for one of the lads. All country lads mostly on the bus with a huge bag of coke.  There was about 40 out of 45 doing it back then from reports I have heard.

Armagh is full of it. 

Sad to see.

True, Its everywhere - plus mixed with a pile of drink is where the trouble begins.

Any big match day too most of the buses heading off are full of young ones wiped out long before they even get to the stadium
Post by: stephenite on December 11, 2007, 10:11:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:59:15 AM
Are you able to vote?

OK, you don't have a lot of time for people who do coke - and considering your somewhat right wing stance on many issues I just wondered if you ever voted for someone who has used cocaine, (ie) George W. Bush?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 12, 2007, 04:09:57 AM
Quote from: stephenite on December 11, 2007, 10:11:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 11, 2007, 05:59:15 AM
Are you able to vote?

OK, you don't have a lot of time for people who do coke - and considering your somewhat right wing stance on many issues I just wondered if you ever voted for someone who has used cocaine, (ie) George W. Bush?

Think I'll start a thread like his holiness about Internet bullying, me and my buddy George do seem 
to get a lot of attention around here :P maybe even start my own message board as there are a few ;) of ye here
that seem to have a serious infatuation with me for my honest views. ;D
Post by: stephenite on December 12, 2007, 04:19:27 AM
Ah I'd have no problem with what I'd consider to be your right wing views. I'd agree with some of them and disagree with others, I was just wondering if you'd voted for him, considering his history of substance abuse and how you marry that with your comments regarding abusers of cocaine?
Post by: Tyrones own on December 12, 2007, 05:04:45 AM

I'm not sold on that thought at all, that in order to be anti left that one must be labeled a right winger :-\
not that there's anything wrong with that :P
Yes i did vote for him, he was the lesser of the two evils at the time imho! should i go stand in the corner?

Post by: stephenite on December 12, 2007, 05:22:41 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 12, 2007, 05:04:45 AM
I'm not sold on that thought at all, that in order to be anti left that one must be labeled a right winger :-\

Neither am I, like I said, I'd agree with some and disagree with others, not sure anyone could try and sell that to someone with half a wit!

Yes i did vote for him, he was the lesser of the two evils at the time imho

Fair enough, not looking for justifiaction as to why you voted for him in terms of his policies per se more trying to find out if his cocaine abuse entered into your decision making at the time you cast your vote, and if it did does that not make your views on cocaine users a tad hypocritical? I mean you say you have no time for them (cocaine users) but are willing to vote to put one of them into the most powerful job in the world, just can't really see the rationale behind it.

should i go stand in the corner?

Errrm - yeah, go for it!
Post by: his holiness nb on December 12, 2007, 09:06:48 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on December 12, 2007, 04:09:57 AM
Think I'll start a thread like his holiness about Internet bullying, me and my buddy George do seem 
to get a lot of attention around here :P maybe even start my own message board as there are a few ;) of ye here
that seem to have a serious infatuation with me for my honest views. ;D

Stealing my ideas would be no better than bullying, I wont be happy  ;)

But didnt you hear, love has caught on and I have made peace with my little fan club.