Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: cville on November 29, 2007, 09:34:54 PM

Title: Should Wayne McCullough have called it a day...
Post by: cville on November 29, 2007, 09:34:54 PM
Don't know about you but I have a bad feeling for Wayne this Saturday. Almost 38 years old.. what has he to prove?  He should have got out years ago...Kiki is no mug and will probably prove it..
Title: Re: Should Wayne McCullough have called it a day...
Post by: SeanSouth on November 29, 2007, 09:39:34 PM
Another Evander Holyfield, just gonna keep going for the money but will probably end up irreparably damaged......
Post by: cville on November 29, 2007, 09:42:07 PM
True ...very poor accent -  somewhere between Nevada and Norn Iron .. the key about boxing is knowing when to get out, and get out with your health intact.
Post by: Fishbat on November 29, 2007, 09:46:35 PM
Hardstation - i know what you mean - especially "i'm a world chempion" in a belfast/vegas twang.

I like McCullough but he should not be getting in the ring again, whats the point apart from money
Post by: under the bar on November 29, 2007, 09:46:42 PM
Wayne promised so much and delivered so little and now he needs the money badly.  His injury problems didn't help his career however his biggest undoing was allowing that mill-bag of a missus of his out of the house.  No doubt she'll be running around in her pyjamas on fight-night giving interviews.
Post by: SeanSouth on November 29, 2007, 09:48:02 PM
I would get into the ring with the "packet racket" before her, Shankill Roads finest.
Post by: red hander on November 29, 2007, 09:49:27 PM
If I was married to that looper I'd rather be having the crap beaten out of me in the ring than be at home listening to that...
Post by: The Iceman on November 29, 2007, 09:55:36 PM
He should have retired a long time ago.  He had the chin and the stamina, just not the punch.  He definitely could have went a lot further and acheived a lot more if only he'd been blessed with a punch.

I would give his wife credit for messing up his finances so much that at 38 he has to return to the ring.  I think he appointed her as his manager maybe 10 years ago and its been downhill ever since.

I really hope he doesn't get hurt at the weekend, he doesn't deserve to go out like that.....
Post by: CiKe on November 29, 2007, 10:11:50 PM
McCullough has been in with some of the best little men of his era and whilst never threatening to beat the top dogs, he was at a level not that far below them. He has been in with some monster punchers in his time in Morales and Hamed and wasn't stopped and although Freddy Roach pulled him out last time around against Larios, he has demonstrated he has one of the best chins of any boxer over the last 20 years.

Didn't see Kiko against Dunne but by all accounts he is very powerful. That said unless he is freakish I don't see him stopping McCullough - which is only a bad thing, because being so much older, McCullough isn't likely to have the stamina and will likely take a sustained beating. I hope I'm wrong.
Post by: ziggysego on November 29, 2007, 10:36:17 PM
The accent bugs the shit out of me too.

He shouldn't be getting back into the ring. One bad knock.... well it wouldn't be good.
Post by: Square Ball on November 29, 2007, 10:48:10 PM
Feel for the guy, has taken a lot of punishment over his last few fights and as The Iceman points out if he had a punch he would have been a great fighter as opposed to a good one, mind you he did have 18 wins by KO. Hope he survives unscathed.
Post by: Gold on November 29, 2007, 11:25:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 09:41:04 PM
Does it bug the shite out of anyone else when he says the word "Chempianship"?

OMG--thats the only reason y i watch him when hes talkin on UTV/BBC--never fail to laugh! im gonna b world chempian again i now it just wait till i hav that chempianship fight!!
Post by: Evil Genius on November 29, 2007, 11:58:18 PM
Do we know for certain that he's only doing it for the money? I sincerely hope not, but the reason I ask is because a minority of fighters carry on way past their peak because they have the "bug" for boxing and it's almost as if they can't give up - at least until somebody beats them up really badly.  :(

The best example in recent times was Holyfield, who kept coming back even though he still had millions in the bank.

Anyway, I sincerely hope the Pocket Rocket survives with all his faculties intact, since he was a fine boxer and an even finer human being.
Post by: SeanSouth on November 30, 2007, 09:56:19 AM
Holyfield is still doing it for the money in my opinion, he may have millions but he has about seven different children to seven different woman,he probably needs to keep boxing to pay all his alimony payments, but hey he loves the lord so thats ok......
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 30, 2007, 10:43:50 AM
He was always a tidy boxer but never had much power which at that weight makes the big difference.  But have to agree his wife 'Chair-ill' as he pronounces it has to be the most annoying overbearing woman I have ever heard.  An absolute head wrecker of the highest degree, everytime they get interviewed poor Wayne can't get an effin word in, 'Oi love give it a rest'
Post by: Chrisowc on November 30, 2007, 11:37:01 AM
Quote from: hardstation on November 29, 2007, 09:41:04 PM
Does it bug the shite out of anyone else when he says the word "Chempianship"?

There is an ad on Talksport, probably other stations too, taking the piss out of his accent.

'Kiki! It's Packet Racket.  I'm gonna knack you out and I'm gonna be the Chempian'
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 30, 2007, 01:16:04 PM
Is this fight on TV?
Post by: red hander on November 30, 2007, 03:23:47 PM
'Anyway, I sincerely hope the Pocket Rocket survives with all his faculties intact, since he was a fine boxer and an even finer human being'

Never thought I'd agree with EG.  He also carried the tricolour in Bareclona.

BTW, it'll not matter, from what I've heard the fight has been cancelled anyway...
Post by: ziggysego on November 30, 2007, 03:29:49 PM
QuoteMcCullough's comeback bout is off

Wayne McCullough's comeback bout on Saturday has been called off because his opponent Kiko Martinez was one-and-a-half pounds over the weight.

There was chaos at Belfast's King's Hall as the European super-bantamweight champion Martinez failed to make the 8st 10lb mark.

It is unclear whether the rest of the bill will proceed.

McCullough had been hoping that a surprise win over Martinez would earn him a world title shot in 2008.

The scheduled 10-round contest was not a ttile bout because McCullough had not fought for two-and-a-half years.

Sourced BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/7121318.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/boxing/7121318.stm)

I guess he'll have to wait a bit longer to be Chempian.
Post by: ExiledGael on November 30, 2007, 06:05:25 PM
Some of it coming up on UTV news now I think, should be worth a watch.
How the hell did Kiko not make the weight?
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2007, 06:10:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 30, 2007, 06:01:51 PM
A wee row at the weigh in. The wife jumping in the middle of it. Someone should have chinned her.

no contest, the wife by a KO in the second
Post by: ExiledGael on November 30, 2007, 06:29:16 PM
Oh my God. Never seen her before, unbelievable
Post by: cville on November 30, 2007, 06:35:44 PM
Christ!!! What a sad end to a fabulous career .. He threatened to whack Jack Magowan (79) as he thought he touched Cheryll .... but she came into the press like a hure possessed.... feck me - what a witch!!!
Post by: ziggysego on November 30, 2007, 06:37:34 PM
I've seen youses talking about Cheryl on here for the last day or two, but woah... nothing prepared me for the woman herself!

I was in stitches laughing. Poor auld Wayne trying his best to get her to shut up!  :D

Did anyone else notice during that "melee", that Wayne's Nevada twang disappeared?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 30, 2007, 07:43:24 PM
Does she still wear them bleeding ear-rings?
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2007, 07:45:55 PM
waddi miss, waddi miss?
Post by: ExiledGael on November 30, 2007, 08:12:52 PM
Worst of all she was shouting, 'you'll never write another story in this town again'. Stupid bitch wouldn't even let her poor bastard of a husband talk. Why would any man want that as your wife.
Possibly an interesting one for the would you/wouldn't you thread!!
Post by: Chrisowc on November 30, 2007, 08:35:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 30, 2007, 06:37:34 PM
I've seen youses talking about Cheryl on here for the last day or two, but woah... nothing prepared me for the woman herself!

I was in stitches laughing. Poor auld Wayne trying his best to get her to shut up!  :D

Did anyone else notice during that "melee", that Wayne's Nevada twang disappeared?

All things considered Cheryl probably has more chance being Chempian than the Packet Racket.  Wouldn't mess with her :o

Once the twang went I was expecting - 'I know were you live big lad!'
Post by: Chrisowc on November 30, 2007, 08:42:42 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 30, 2007, 08:38:11 PM
QuotePossibly an interesting one for the would you/wouldn't you thread!!
Was thinking that myself.................................yeah! :-X

You'd better get the job done and get out quick!  He'd eat you for brekfest. 
Post by: Abble on November 30, 2007, 08:55:28 PM
what i cant figure out is why magowan was supposedly giving mccullagh a hard time, sure he was well inside the weight. Was his gripe that he was so far inside the weight ?

surely magowan should've been making more of an effort to attack kiko's team ?! instead he goes for one of his own !

there's something v dodgy about it all
Post by: Chrisowc on November 30, 2007, 08:56:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 30, 2007, 08:51:21 PM
QuoteShould Wayne McCullough have called it a day...?
Yes.

How do you do it?
Post by: Square Ball on November 30, 2007, 09:00:19 PM
Tis Wayne a Ulcer scots spaker?
Post by: Abble on November 30, 2007, 09:09:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 30, 2007, 08:58:26 PM
Aye, he said McCullagh was unprofessional for being so far under.
He said, "If you were my boxer, you wouldn't have been so far under."
Wayne: "I'm nat your baxer."

all mccullagh done was turn up prepared and ready to get it on....sure he had another day to beef up before the bell went. what in under jaysis is going on here...? am i startin to lose it ?! 
Post by: ONeill on November 30, 2007, 09:18:33 PM
I could only assume there was a history there and the Belfast Tele (spit) hack went for McCullagh for being, for that weight, too light.
Post by: Out in Front on November 30, 2007, 09:53:02 PM
See it all again and again...www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/bbcnewsline/

the see it again link is listed under recent programmes - click BBC Newsline 1829. When it pops up the Cheryl v Jack fight is about 9 minutes in - classic stuff.

Having watched it again it does look a bit odd. Why didn't anyone have a go at the Spanish bloke for not trying to lose the 1.5lbs. He'd an hour to steam if off. By all accounts it was far from a sell-out show too. 

Post by: ziggysego on November 30, 2007, 10:53:22 PM
UTV showed far more of Cheryl ranting and raving :lol:
Post by: Square Ball on December 01, 2007, 12:24:36 AM
Quote from: Out in Front on November 30, 2007, 09:53:02 PM
See it all again and again...www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/bbcnewsline/

the see it again link is listed under recent programmes - click BBC Newsline 1829. When it pops up the Cheryl v Jack fight is about 9 minutes in - classic stuff.

Having watched it again it does look a bit odd. Why didn't anyone have a go at the Spanish bloke for not trying to lose the 1.5lbs. He'd an hour to steam if off. By all accounts it was far from a sell-out show too. 
cant find it
Post by: Out in Front on December 01, 2007, 09:59:56 AM
This is the direct link - see how you go.

www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/bbcnewsline/newsline1830.ram
Post by: red hander on January 30, 2008, 02:45:22 PM
Heard a wee rumour there that McCullough is planning to sue Jack Magowan over events at the weigh-in ... betcha Cheryl the Peril is behind it, the ugly harpy
Post by: Sky Blue on January 30, 2008, 02:47:02 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 30, 2008, 02:45:22 PM
Heard a wee rumour there that McCullough is planning to sue Jack Magowan over events at the weigh-in ... betcha Cheryl the Peril is behind it, the ugly harpy

What about the new ruules! You can't say things like that any more.