GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on November 28, 2007, 12:32:08 PM

Title: O'Byrne Cup 2008
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 28, 2007, 12:32:08 PM
Fixtures

O'BYRNE CUP S.F.
1. Dublin v Wicklow 6.1.2008 Parnell Park
2. Westmeath v D.I.T. 6.1.2008 Mullingar
3. Wexford v Laois 6.1.2008 Wexford
4. Carlow v Kilkenny 6.1.2008 Carlow
5. Meath v UCD 6.1.2008 Navan
6. Kildare v Longford 6.1.2008 Newbridge
7. Offaly v AIT 6.1.2008 Tullamore
8. Louth v DCU 6.1.2008 T.B.A.
9. 1 v 2 13.1.2008 Parnell Park/Aughrim
10. 3 v 4 13.1.2008 Wexford/Portlaoise
11. 5 v 6 13.1.2008 Navan/TBA
12. 7 v 8 13.1.2008 Tullamore/TBA
13. 9 v 10 20.1.2008 Home Venue 9
14. 11 v 12 20.1.2008 Home Venue 11
Final 13 V 14 27.1.2008 HOME VENUE 13

O'BYRNE CUP S.F. SHIELD DATE VENUE
(i) Loser 1 v Loser 2 13.1.2008 Home Venue Loser 1
(ii) Loser 3 v Loser 4 13.1.2008 Home Venue Loser 3
(ii) Loser 5 v Loser 6 13.1.2008 Navan/Home Venue Loser 6
(iv) Loser 7 v Loser 8 13.1.2008 Tullamore/Dundalk/TBA
(v) (i) v (ii) 20.1.2008 Home Venue (i)
(vi) (iii) v (iv) 20.1.2008 Home Venue (iii)
Final (V) V (VI) 27.1.2007 HOME VENUE (V)

WALSH CUP S.H.
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2008
Post by: Tankie on November 28, 2007, 11:53:37 PM
Roll On 2 - in - a - Row   :D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 29, 2007, 12:10:09 AM
As my signature suggests we are looking forward to the tree-in-a-row (sic)
Post by: Gnevin on November 29, 2007, 01:50:59 PM
Should be fun 6th day of the new year and its inter county football time  :)
And shouldn't have to leave the pale if my reading of the fixtures is correct.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 30, 2007, 08:01:58 AM
Our clubman Conal Keaney won't be playing in the O'Byrne Cup because he is off to Australia.  The way things are going it seems like half the country are heading that way.
Post by: Gnevin on November 30, 2007, 08:25:09 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 30, 2007, 08:01:58 AM
Our clubman Conal Keaney won't be playing in the O'Byrne Cup because he is off to Australia.  The way things are going it seems like half the country are heading that way.
Yeah but he'll be back for the league and hopefully Boden's push for an All-Ireland
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 30, 2007, 07:49:57 PM
Ther's a huge crowd from Boden travelling down to Tullamore.  There is a great buzz around the place, cars going around Firhouse or any part of Dublin with flags flying out of them for a hurling match is a welcome sight.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 30, 2007, 01:16:23 PM
O'Byrne cup matches will be live on Setanta Sports in January
Post by: his holiness nb on December 31, 2007, 12:29:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 30, 2007, 01:16:23 PM

Same last year, I'll never forget the epic battle between Wicklow and Carlow last january.
Post by: thejuice on January 02, 2008, 03:28:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 30, 2007, 01:16:23 PM

Great stuff, any idea what games their showing this weekend
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 03:32:01 PM
Dublin v Wicklow on saturday is live on Setanta
Post by: INDIANA on January 02, 2008, 03:35:10 PM
I'D say if wicklow go all out they'll probably win- we're likely to be fairly ragball at the weekend.
Title: Dublin team named
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 04, 2008, 02:21:44 PM
Dublin team named
04 January 2008
Dublin boss Paul Caffrey has named half a dozen regulars in his team for Saturday's O'Byrne Cup clash with Wicklow at Parnell Park.
Team captain Colin Moran is named at centre back and he is joined in the side by Stephen Cluxton, Ross McConnell, Shane Ryan and the Brogan brothers, Bernard and Alan, who were all regulars last year. Under 21 star Philip McMahon from Ballymun Kickhams is a newcomer at right half back, while Niall O'Shea, Graham Norton and Stephen O'Shaughnessy have also been given the chance to impress in defence. The towering Declan O'Mahony starts at full forward where he will be flanked by Barry Kennedy, whose last gasp goal in last Saturday's Dubs Stars clash forced a penalty shoot-out. Among the notable absentees are Ciaran Whelan, Conal Keaney, Barry Cahill and Mark Vaughan, who will be on duty with DIT against Westmeath in the same competition on Sunday.

Dublin (SF v Wicklow): S Cluxton; N O'Shea, R McConnell, G Norton; P McMahon, C Moran, S O'Shaughnessy; S Ryan, E Fennell; B Brogan, P Burke, D Lally; B Kennedy, D O'Mahony, A Brogan.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=87356
Post by: Captain Scarlet on January 04, 2008, 02:36:41 PM
What will happen in Geezer's first game in charge. I'd say there will be a big crowd in Newbridge either way.
Nice to get some form of exposure.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2008, 08:15:54 PM
I am thinking of going to Newbridge on Sunday to cast a cold eye over an experimental Longford side.

Will arrive 5 mins late to ensure no late call up (if what I hear is true).

It's either that or lunch in The Merrion Hotel.

What would YOU do?
Post by: The Claw on January 04, 2008, 08:43:36 PM
Is this another year where Caffrey is going to pretend that Colin Moran is really in with a chance at centre back and then bump him up to half forward when Cullen comes back or his he really looking at him there instead of Cullen
Title: Re: Dublin team named
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2008, 01:39:16 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on January 04, 2008, 02:21:44 PM
Dublin team named
04 January 2008
Dublin boss Paul Caffrey has named half a dozen regulars in his team for Saturday's O'Byrne Cup clash with Wicklow at Parnell Park.
Team captain Colin Moran is named at centre back and he is joined in the side by Stephen Cluxton, Ross McConnell, Shane Ryan and the Brogan brothers, Bernard and Alan, who were all regulars last year. Under 21 star Philip McMahon from Ballymun Kickhams is a newcomer at right half back, while Niall O'Shea, Graham Norton and Stephen O'Shaughnessy have also been given the chance to impress in defence. The towering Declan O'Mahony starts at full forward where he will be flanked by Barry Kennedy, whose last gasp goal in last Saturday's Dubs Stars clash forced a penalty shoot-out. Among the notable absentees are Ciaran Whelan, Conal Keaney, Barry Cahill and Mark Vaughan, who will be on duty with DIT against Westmeath in the same competition on Sunday.

Dublin (SF v Wicklow): S Cluxton; N O'Shea, R McConnell, G Norton; P McMahon, C Moran, S O'Shaughnessy; S Ryan, E Fennell; B Brogan, P Burke, D Lally; B Kennedy, D O'Mahony, A Brogan.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=87356

What time is this game on?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 05, 2008, 02:08:10 PM
5pm LL
Post by: An Laoch on January 05, 2008, 02:46:27 PM
Just found out Dubs v Wicklow is live on Setanta Ireland at 5pm. Seems to have been kept quiet for some reason so I just thought I'd spread the word here.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 05, 2008, 03:30:24 PM
 Im guessing he wasnt satisfied with Thomas Walsh, whats with Micko "convincing"  Dublin players to play for Wicklow as well now?  ::)

Wicklow boss Mick O'Dwyer is expected to hand Kilmacud Crokes defender Brian McGrath his Wicklow debut against his native Dublin in Sunday's O'Byrne Cup clash at Parnell Park.

The half back has been training with Wicklow in recent weeks and should see action at some stage against the reigning Leinster champions. McGrath is a brother of Crokes defender Nickey, who has played underage football for Dublin, and a son of Nickey senior, who recently stepped down as manager of the club's senior team.

Wicklow will be without dual star Leighton Glynn, who could be sidelined until March with a Gilmore's groin problem, while regular corner back Ciaran Hyland has also been ruled out after undergoing microsurgery on his knee.

Dublin will be without a host of regulars, including Ciaran Whelan, Barry Cahill, Conal Keaney and Mossy Quinn. Whelan is being rested after being in action with his club Raheny up until two weeks ago, Cahill injured his knee in the recent Dub Stars challenge, Keaney is currently in Australia, while Quinn has been excused owing to St. Vincent's involvement in the All-Ireland club championship.

Post by: MacDiarmada on January 05, 2008, 06:17:09 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on January 05, 2008, 02:46:27 PM
Just found out Dubs v Wicklow is live on Setanta Ireland at 5pm. Seems to have been kept quiet for some reason so I just thought I'd spread the word here.

Probably thought that it would affect the attendance at the game, actually surprised that the game was not in Croke Park to cater for the fans.
Post by: Rossfan on January 05, 2008, 06:47:45 PM
I presume your comment should be taken with  ;D at the end MacD?  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2008, 07:08:00 PM
Quote from: MacDiarmada on January 05, 2008, 06:17:09 PM

Probably thought that it would affect the attendance at the game, actually surprised that the game was not in Croke Park to cater for the fans.

Was thinking that too.
Parnell Park was bursting at the seams tonight..  ;)
They really are the best fans in Ireland  ::)
Post by: INDIANA on January 05, 2008, 07:17:22 PM
better showing from dublin than i expected. Expected a bit more from Wicklow- Micko has some job on his hands there.
Post by: Zulu on January 05, 2008, 07:28:09 PM
Yeah I thought Dublin looked pretty good, but they kicked a good few wides and could have conceded 3 goals against a team they were well on top of. On the basis of tonight they still look like a team that will miss too many decent chances and concede too much to beat the very best in championship.
Post by: orangeman on January 05, 2008, 11:42:53 PM
Micko has bitten off more than he can chew here I fear !!  :D ;) ;) ??? ???
Post by: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 11:27:47 AM
Quote from: Zulu on January 05, 2008, 07:28:09 PM
Yeah I thought Dublin looked pretty good, but they kicked a good few wides and could have conceded 3 goals against a team they were well on top of. On the basis of tonight they still look like a team that will miss too many decent chances and concede too much to beat the very best in championship.

A lads, it was an experimental side with half the team playing their first games. How you can decide how they will fare in the championship based on that is beyond me. There were 4 or 5 lads there who wont get a sniff of a game in the league never mind the championship.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 11:55:40 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 05, 2008, 07:08:00 PM
Was thinking that too.

Lads its really reeking of desperation having a pop at the Dubs for not packing out Parnell Park for an O'Byrne first round game V Wicklow which is also on the telly!!

MacDiarmada / Laoislad, will ye be attending your own counties first round game?

I'd say half the lads who have a pop at the Dubs fans wont be attending any game this weekend.

So attendance wise, I dont thinks its fair to criticise.

That said, there were a gang of about 6 "dubs" in the top left of the stand sitting right behind us, drinking cans and smoking (one heavily pregnant) and roaring all kinds on filthy language, whilst surrounded by kids. One also roared at the top of his voice when Sherlock lost his footing "f**k you Jayo you black bastard". We actually moved to the seated area as the missus wasnt feeling well, being pregnant and all, and ended up sitting in a cloud of smoke with beer cans rolling underneath us.
I said to the missus on the way home that any of the Wicklow fans sitting nearby will go home saying the Dubs are knackers, and based on their experience last night it would be hard to argue.

Absolute f**king knackers, and didnt know any of the players bar Sherlock and Cluxton, not even the Brogans!! I'd like to think they were just filling in a void while the eircom league is on a break and will f**k off back to it come the summer. I hope to god thats the case.

Rant over, up the Dubs!  ;)
Post by: Zulu on January 06, 2008, 11:58:16 AM
Of course you are right hhnb, I was really just referring to the similarities between that Dublin team and the Dublin teams of the past few years, i.e. looked like a very good team with a lot going for them but with some crucial flaws. I think they will definitely be there or there abouts but last night they conceded good sgoal coring opportunities to a Wicklow team that were also understrength. In addition when on top as Dublin were for most of the game they failed to hammer the nails into the coffin so to speak. Granted they did in the last 10-15 minutes but at that stage Wicklow were streaming forward and leaving big gaps at the back that Dublin could exploit.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 12:04:10 PM
The defence was leaky but remembering there was only one defender from the championship team playing in position last night, I wouldnt worry too much about that.
I would have enough worries about the first choice defence without worrying about these lads.  :-[
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 12:05:54 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 11:55:40 AM

MacDiarmada / Laoislad, will ye be attending your own counties first round game?

Yes i am actually
Post by: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 12:10:12 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 12:05:54 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 11:55:40 AM

Yes i am actually

Good for you LL, but I would still be of the view that many who slag off the Dubs attendances at this time of year dont go to every game themselves.

One thing I would say is I couldnt give a f**k about those who arent there. I wouldnt claim Dublin have the best fans. The fans who do go the the games, even if 3-4000 of them last night, are good fans, except for the knackers I mentioned previously.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 12:20:03 PM
I agree the fans that braved the cold last night are great fans,And are genuine fans..
Too be honest the only reason i made those comments is because certain posters were on here during the year crowing that if Dublin had to play all their games outside of Dublin they would still get massive support for every game..
Last night was the first chance the fans got too see Dublin in competitive action this year and it wasn't a great turn out in terms of support..
Even the girlfriends Dad who is a true blue Dub was saying to me that he wondered were all the Hill boys were last night                                                                                           
Post by: An Laoch on January 06, 2008, 12:24:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 12:20:03 PM
Even the girlfriends Dad who is a true blue Dub was saying to me that he wondered were all the Hill boys were last night                                                                                           

If the players and management cant be arsed with the games you can hardly criticize the fans for picking and choosing their games.

There's no revelation that majority of people who scramble for Dublin tickets in the summer are there for the day out, the booze and a sing song. There'll also be very few of these lads posting on GAA forums in the winter so there's little point in ridiculing those who ARE taking an interest at the moment.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 12:26:22 PM
Quote from: An Laoch on January 06, 2008, 12:24:06 PM

If the players and management cant be arsed with the games you can hardly criticize the fans for picking and choosing their games.

There's no revelation that majority of people who scramble for Dublin tickets in the summer are there for the day out, the booze and a sing song. There'll also be very few of these lads posting on GAA forums in the winter so there's little point in ridiculing those who ARE taking an interest at the moment.

Ah sure we'd have no fun around here then  ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 06, 2008, 12:27:22 PM
Yeah and you and Gnevin would have nothing to talk about!  :D
Post by: tayto on January 06, 2008, 02:06:31 PM
Decent performance for the new lads, Setanta seemed convinced it was a very experienced Dublin team, not sure what they were talking about! didnt make it up to Dublin myself, smashed after Christmas, far more important matches around the corner.
Post by: heffo on January 06, 2008, 04:35:20 PM

Was thinking that too.

Bandwagon fans is clearly a Dublin-only phenomenon. I was at a championship game in 2000 in O'Connor park - A double header - Dubs v Laois in Hurling, Laois v Westmeath in football - I'd say there were 500 Laois fans in the ground. All the die-hards starting coming out as soon as you started paying managers...

Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2008, 04:41:38 PM
Jesus. Kildare must be shite altogether. McGeeney OUT

3 in a row ambitions now in tatters for Longford. Congrats to the lads on a decent win and btw lunch in The Merrion was scrum.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 06:52:28 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 06, 2008, 04:35:20 PM

Was thinking that too.

Bandwagon fans is clearly a Dublin-only phenomenon. I was at a championship game in 2000 in O'Connor park - A double header - Dubs v Laois in Hurling, Laois v Westmeath in football - I'd say there were 500 Laois fans in the ground. All the die-hards starting coming out as soon as you started paying managers...

Fair play to ya to go back  to a match eight years ago to make your point  that has nothing to do with why the Dubs didn't turn out last night ::)

Anyways back to more important matters,I was in Enniscorthy myself today and it was a highly entertaining encounter between Laois and Wexford.A Mattie Forde goal was the difference between the two sides but Laois had a lot of new faces in the team.Think we are playing Kilkenny  next week in the O'Byrne Shield where we hope to go on and take Longfords crown  :D
Final Score
Wexford 1-14 Laois 0-14

The Laois team today was

Laois - C Gorman , A Fennelly , D Hogan , R Stapleton , B Mccormack , C Ryan , P o Leary, D Miller,
K Meaney, S Conlon, M Tierney, B Sheahan, D Brennan, B Quigley, P Dunne

Subs Used- B Fitzgerald , S Conroy , P Lawlor

Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2008, 07:07:43 PM
QuoteThink we are playing Kilkenny  next week in the O'Byrne Shield where we hope to go on and take Longfords crown 

Best of luck to ye  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 06, 2008, 07:12:12 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 06, 2008, 07:07:43 PM
QuoteThink we are playing Kilkenny  next week in the O'Byrne Shield where we hope to go on and take Longfords crown 

Best of luck to ye  :D

Fingers crossed  :D
Post by: Gnevin on January 06, 2008, 09:34:06 PM
I agree the fans that braved the cold last night are great fans,And are genuine fans..
Too be honest the only reason i made those comments is because certain posters were on here during the year crowing that if Dublin had to play all their games outside of Dublin they would still get massive support for every game..
Last night was the first chance the fans got too see Dublin in competitive action this year and it wasn't a great turn out in terms of support..

In the Nell for 4.30  out at 6.30 and in warm car for 25 minutes to the RDS to see Leinster , 7.30 to 9.30 (ish) in the RDS no feeling anywhere .  Home at ten  a truly blue Gnevin :)  In shower at 10.10 out and 10.30 . I think it was the best shower I've ever had

p.s thought the crowd wasn't bad for the 5th of Jan with that cold
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 08:44:13 AM
Off topic, but for the crack ...

I was idly watching Setanta's re-run of the Leinster-Ospreys match last night. Near the end, Ospreys brought on a substitute prop. I don't remember his name - let's call him Gerald Jones. This man had the hugest belly I've ever seen on a sportsman, excluding Sumo wrestlers. The Setanta commentator said  "... and on comes Gerald Jones <pause> who has had a magnificent Christmas". Made me laugh, anyway.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 07, 2008, 09:11:59 AM
Anyone got crowd figures for the games not involving Dublin?
I'm sure they were all packed to capacity but just for the craic  ;)

Derry v Armagh was deffo a sellout from what I saw on TG4.

Us Dubs can only hang our heads in shame  :D :D

Post by: Gnevin on January 07, 2008, 09:14:39 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 07, 2008, 09:11:59 AM
Anyone got crowd figures for the games not involving Dublin?
I'm sure they were all packed to capacity but just for the craic  ;)

Derry v Armagh was deffo a sellout from what I saw on TG4.

Us Dubs can only hang our heads in shame  :D :D

13,000 odd turned up to see Leinster play  :P
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 07, 2008, 10:05:14 AM
Interesting start to 2008 for the Lakers. Loadsa new faces and some old ones reappearing for good measure. Highlight was without doubt the performance of Michael Green, excellent debut, showed well, beat his man most times and took some nice points. Great to see Tommy Cleary back in the maroon and white, looking a lot slimmer than his last appearances and if he stays fit could well have a big say in Westmeaths year, left peg is as sweet as ever. John Keane had Vaughan in his pocket in the first half to the delight of the locals and he was so rattled he even missed an open goal by somehow managing to fist a ball wide. The rest of the newcomers did ok without really impressing, was disappointed in TJ Genoud after watching him play for Tyrrellspass in their march to de Leinster Final but hopefully he'll improve once he settles into the side. Leavy and Kilmartin were poor enough and it took the introduction of Dessie into midfield to settle us down and to see out the game. The man really is a class act, could probably do a job in defence as well... Cian Ward did nothing for DIT except to hit a sweet point from a sideline kick and I'd be surprised to see him do anything for Eastmeath this year. DIT were hit by two early goals but fair play to them they didn't drop their heads. They closed it to the bare minimum with some lovely long range points in the latter stages something Westmeath need to address. The amount of balls that were dropped into the goalkeepers hands was shocking, Budda being the most guilty party. He had a shocking game in general and was lucky not to be pulled sooner.

Massive challenge awaits in Parnell Park next Sun, our first of two visits this year. Will prob need a few more familar faces in the team and hopefully we'll give them a close game. Tiz great to have the throat cleared and the vocal chords warmed up...
Post by: thejuice on January 07, 2008, 10:23:59 AM
Quote5. Meath v UCD 6.1.2008 Navan

What happened to this game, is it being played next week, or whats going on. didnt see any reports or anything
Post by: his holiness nb on January 07, 2008, 10:27:44 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 07, 2008, 10:23:59 AM
Quote5. Meath v UCD 6.1.2008 Navan

What happened to this game, is it being played next week, or whats going on. didnt see any reports or anything

Wednesday night Juice.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 07, 2008, 11:00:25 AM
Where are UCD going to get 15 sober students on a Wed eve?
Post by: Billys Boots on January 07, 2008, 12:41:24 PM
QuoteInteresting start to 2008 for the Lakers.

The Lakers? Go bhfóire Dia orainn.  Not 'the bottom of the lakers' or 'the pondweeders'?
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 12:44:04 PM
Holiness, Drici - How do you lads find out about these secret fixtures? Is there some sort of a special cyber-handshake or something, that I don't know about? Outsiders like me foolishly go looking on the GAA's own website for this kind of information, but it continues to insist that there are no fixtures this week. Why does it not want me to know about games that others know about? What am I doing wrong?
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 12:48:40 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 07, 2008, 12:41:24 PM

The Lakers? Go bhfóire Dia orainn.  Not 'the bottom of the lakers' or 'the pondweeders'?

Sorry, Croi, but "The Lakers" takes the lead as the most guffaw-inducing GAA-related comment this month (from Setanta's commentator on Dublin-Wicklow, who at one stage, as the mighty Wicklow machine swept upfield, announced "and now Wicklow cross that gain line").
Post by: his holiness nb on January 07, 2008, 01:08:07 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 12:44:04 PM
Holiness, Drici - How do you lads find out about these secret fixtures? Is there some sort of a special cyber-handshake or something, that I don't know about? Outsiders like me foolishly go looking on the GAA's own website for this kind of information, but it continues to insist that there are no fixtures this week. Why does it not want me to know about games that others know about? What am I doing wrong?

Meath Chronicle Hardy  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on January 07, 2008, 01:21:13 PM
hill16 website
Post by: dubinhell on January 07, 2008, 01:23:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 12:44:04 PM
Holiness, Drici - How do you lads find out about these secret fixtures?

http://leinster.gaa.ie/fixtures/obyrnecup.asp
Post by: his holiness nb on January 07, 2008, 01:23:42 PM
Basically everywhere but the gaa's own website Hardy  ;)
Post by: thejuice on January 07, 2008, 01:54:11 PM
Might explain the low attendences
Post by: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 02:08:00 PM
Thanks everybody. I'm a slow learner, but now I know to avoid the GAA's official website if I'm looking for GAA info and instead check up on Leinster GAA, Hill16 (for Meath fixtures!) or even Rathkenny GFC itself (I'm impressed, Drici). I'll file that alongside "don't believe the results on Aertel".

I'm off now to irfu.ie for the racing results.
Post by: Mentalman on January 07, 2008, 02:30:13 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 07, 2008, 10:05:14 AM
Interesting start to 2008 for the Lakers. Loadsa new faces and some old ones reappearing for good measure. Highlight was without doubt the performance of Michael Green, excellent debut, showed well, beat his man most times and took some nice points. Great to see Tommy Cleary back in the maroon and white, looking a lot slimmer than his last appearances and if he stays fit could well have a big say in Westmeaths year, left peg is as sweet as ever. John Keane had Vaughan in his pocket in the first half to the delight of the locals and he was so rattled he even missed an open goal by somehow managing to fist a ball wide. The rest of the newcomers did ok without really impressing, was disappointed in TJ Genoud after watching him play for Tyrrellspass in their march to de Leinster Final but hopefully he'll improve once he settles into the side. Leavy and Kilmartin were poor enough and it took the introduction of Dessie into midfield to settle us down and to see out the game. The man really is a class act, could probably do a job in defence as well... Cian Ward did nothing for DIT except to hit a sweet point from a sideline kick and I'd be surprised to see him do anything for Eastmeath this year. DIT were hit by two early goals but fair play to them they didn't drop their heads. They closed it to the bare minimum with some lovely long range points in the latter stages something Westmeath need to address. The amount of balls that were dropped into the goalkeepers hands was shocking, Budda being the most guilty party. He had a shocking game in general and was lucky not to be pulled sooner.

Massive challenge awaits in Parnell Park next Sun, our first of two visits this year. Will prob need a few more familar faces in the team and hopefully we'll give them a close game. Tiz great to have the throat cleared and the vocal chords warmed up...

Nice to have the first game of the year out of the way. I thought DIT, despite have next to nothing, and a very indifferent Vaughan, really could have won the game, except for a few great saves from Connaughton in goals, good performances from Keane & Gavin, and that terrible miss. It was definitely the day of the ducks for Westmeath, I'd doubt that very many of those on display will be in situ come the championship. Green showed well - strong and gamey, but can't see him as a frontline player. As for Tosh, I just can't see it. The guy must be 31 by now? If you haven't made it by then your not going to. He's devastating alright - if you put the ball in his hands and give him room - not likely to happen at the business end of the season. Personally I didn't agree with bringing in Dessie at all, and especially not a midfield. apart from the fact he hasn't trained and was chancing injury in a nothing game, and given that he is class, he holds the ball too much in the middle of the park, and takes short frees when the ball should be hitting the forward line. Also Flatherta pretty much cleared his bench...except for the 3 Loman's players? I thought that unusual, I would have liked to see them get a run out, if we are going to see ducks, let's see them all together and see which ones can swim. Still can't see, after3 years, any rhyme or reason to the managers teams, no tactics or gameplan - he can get a team fit no doubt but can he get them to play? Then again it is only January....
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 07, 2008, 05:48:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 12:48:40 PM

Sorry, Croi, but "The Lakers" takes the lead as the most guffaw-inducing GAA-related comment this month (from Setanta's commentator on Dublin-Wicklow, who at one stage, as the mighty Wicklow machine swept upfield, announced "and now Wicklow cross that gain line").

Just a term of endearment lads although its good to see that the return to the on field action is resurrecting up the off field rivalry...

Quote from: Mentalman on January 07, 2008, 02:30:13 PMNice to have the first game of the year out of the way. I thought DIT, despite have next to nothing, and a very indifferent Vaughan, really could have won the game, except for a few great saves from Connaughton in goals, good performances from Keane & Gavin, and that terrible miss. It was definitely the day of the ducks for Westmeath, I'd doubt that very many of those on display will be in situ come the championship. Green showed well - strong and gamey, but can't see him as a frontline player. As for Tosh, I just can't see it. The guy must be 31 by now? If you haven't made it by then your not going to. He's devastating alright - if you put the ball in his hands and give him room - not likely to happen at the business end of the season. Personally I didn't agree with bringing in Dessie at all, and especially not a midfield. apart from the fact he hasn't trained and was chancing injury in a nothing game, and given that he is class, he holds the ball too much in the middle of the park, and takes short frees when the ball should be hitting the forward line. Also Flatherta pretty much cleared his bench...except for the 3 Loman's players? I thought that unusual, I would have liked to see them get a run out, if we are going to see ducks, let's see them all together and see which ones can swim. Still can't see, after3 years, any rhyme or reason to the managers teams, no tactics or gameplan - he can get a team fit no doubt but can he get them to play? Then again it is only January....

I would agree with most of that although I think Gavin is far too loose when his oponent gets the ball. McManenam looked to have the beating of him most times. I'd be a bit more optimistic on Greene, certainly more chance of him being involved than Budda anyway. Tosh will be 31 sometime this year alright but hopefully he can build from here. He played some intelligent balls in when he was out at center half and we've been missing someone with that presence since Spanner. Needs to take his opportunities quicker alright. Didn't realise Dessie hasn't been training, injured recently??? I thought we needed ball retention around then and at one stage he was leading three a merry dance. Would agree on the lack of tactics and gameplan.
Post by: Mentalman on January 07, 2008, 06:27:36 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 07, 2008, 05:48:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 07, 2008, 12:48:40 PM

Just a term of endearment lads although its good to see that the return to the on field action is resurrecting up the off field rivalry...

Quote from: Mentalman on January 07, 2008, 02:30:13 PMNice to have the first game of the year out of the way. I thought DIT, despite have next to nothing, and a very indifferent Vaughan, really could have won the game, except for a few great saves from Connaughton in goals, good performances from Keane & Gavin, and that terrible miss. It was definitely the day of the ducks for Westmeath, I'd doubt that very many of those on display will be in situ come the championship. Green showed well - strong and gamey, but can't see him as a frontline player. As for Tosh, I just can't see it. The guy must be 31 by now? If you haven't made it by then your not going to. He's devastating alright - if you put the ball in his hands and give him room - not likely to happen at the business end of the season. Personally I didn't agree with bringing in Dessie at all, and especially not a midfield. apart from the fact he hasn't trained and was chancing injury in a nothing game, and given that he is class, he holds the ball too much in the middle of the park, and takes short frees when the ball should be hitting the forward line. Also Flatherta pretty much cleared his bench...except for the 3 Loman's players? I thought that unusual, I would have liked to see them get a run out, if we are going to see ducks, let's see them all together and see which ones can swim. Still can't see, after3 years, any rhyme or reason to the managers teams, no tactics or gameplan - he can get a team fit no doubt but can he get them to play? Then again it is only January....

I would agree with most of that although I think Gavin is far too loose when his oponent gets the ball. McManenam looked to have the beating of him most times. I'd be a bit more optimistic on Greene, certainly more chance of him being involved than Budda anyway. Tosh will be 31 sometime this year alright but hopefully he can build from here. He played some intelligent balls in when he was out at center half and we've been missing someone with that presence since Spanner. Needs to take his opportunities quicker alright. Didn't realise Dessie hasn't been training, injured recently??? I thought we needed ball retention around then and at one stage he was leading three a merry dance. Would agree on the lack of tactics and gameplan.

Not sure as to the reason for not training to be honest, I'll ask though, I'd assume injury alright, a good few laid up over Christmas. He's our best players by some distance, but I think Flatherta indulges him a little by playing him out the field. Maybe there is no harm in that, and maybe Flatherta feels he has to have that option given the state of the squad. Could be where he will find himself in a few years when the pace goes a bit more. I just would have liked to see one of the other newcomers given a chance with 20 minutes to go to show something. Maybe I'm being hard on Greene, on that showing he would be streets ahead of Buddha, but Alan was atrocious altogether. A game lad no doubt, and can take a hit, as witnessed by Vaughan's stupid challenge. I just felt he had chances to play men in quicker and didn't take them, but that wouldn't seperate him from any of the others, like I said it's January after all. You're probably right about Gavin, he's not a runner for the fullback spot when things hot up, but I thought he did alright. Kilmartin was a bit of a disappointment in the second half, but had the look of a lad who was exhausted at that point. I admire your optimisim on Cleary, and hope your right, but like me you've seen a few of his pheonix from the flames resurrections and it never quite comes off. Here's hoping, as he was some prospect in his day, and can still do a major job at club level. Very hard to pick anyone out of that game who would be a real good prospect, although I would suppose Greene would be the one. I'd fear fro them next week against the Dubs. The O'Byrne cup is a strange one, it's too early in the year, and yet you don't want to out completely or you have to look for challenge games before the league starts.
Post by: tayto on January 07, 2008, 07:17:52 PM
Dublin are very much trying out new faces as well so I wouldnt fear too much facing us. Wicklow could have been a lot closer but for some great saves by Cluxton, one at a time which would have brought it back to a one point game. The good news is Fennell played well in midfield and as did O'Mahoney when he was brought further back, the defense looked loose and I'd expect Westmeath to punish slack marking if it happens again this weekend. All in all should be a entertaining fixture but like you say, it's only january so I wouldn't read too much into it, and again like you say,these games are better then challenge matches. 
Post by: Jinxy on January 07, 2008, 07:28:03 PM
Meath (O'Byrne Cup) v UCD - Mark Mullally, Cormac McGuinness, Darren Fay, David Donegan, Caoimhin King, Colm O Mealoid, Niall McLoughlin, Eoin Reilly, Mark Ward, Noel Mooney, John Barry O'Reilly, Graham Reilly, Peter Curran, Jamie Queeney, Niall Farrell. Subs - Brendan Murphy, Stephen Sheridan, James Looby, Peader Byrne, Stephen Bray, Stephen Sheppard, Alan Nestor, David Morgan, Eoin Harrington, Micheál Brennan.

Good to see a lot of the u-21's and lads who did well in the club championship getting a chance to show what they are made of. Queeney is a great prospect if a bit light (no harm he's only young) and Graham Reilly (centre-back on last years minor team) is another one to watch.
Post by: INDIANA on January 07, 2008, 07:32:26 PM
was harrington not at no2 last year?
Post by: Jinxy on January 07, 2008, 08:03:01 PM
Till he got injured.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 07, 2008, 09:06:04 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on January 07, 2008, 06:27:36 PMNot sure as to the reason for not training to be honest, I'll ask though, I'd assume injury alright, a good few laid up over Christmas. He's our best players by some distance, but I think Flatherta indulges him a little by playing him out the field. Maybe there is no harm in that, and maybe Flatherta feels he has to have that option given the state of the squad. Could be where he will find himself in a few years when the pace goes a bit more. I just would have liked to see one of the other newcomers given a chance with 20 minutes to go to show something. Maybe I'm being hard on Greene, on that showing he would be streets ahead of Buddha, but Alan was atrocious altogether. A game lad no doubt, and can take a hit, as witnessed by Vaughan's stupid challenge. I just felt he had chances to play men in quicker and didn't take them, but that wouldn't seperate him from any of the others, like I said it's January after all. You're probably right about Gavin, he's not a runner for the fullback spot when things hot up, but I thought he did alright. Kilmartin was a bit of a disappointment in the second half, but had the look of a lad who was exhausted at that point. I admire your optimisim on Cleary, and hope your right, but like me you've seen a few of his pheonix from the flames resurrections and it never quite comes off. Here's hoping, as he was some prospect in his day, and can still do a major job at club level. Very hard to pick anyone out of that game who would be a real good prospect, although I would suppose Greene would be the one. I'd fear fro them next week against the Dubs. The O'Byrne cup is a strange one, it's too early in the year, and yet you don't want to out completely or you have to look for challenge games before the league starts.

I don't know, Dessie was superb out the field last year and was quite the playmaker, great workrate as well. Problem is who do u replace him with in the corner???

Gavin would prob be one of de last I'd consider for fullback, too small. Great replacement for JK or Francie though. Kilmartin faded in the second half alright, maybe it was just lack of fitness. Have a mate in Kinnegad who swears by him...

Cleary is like Flan in the regards that he's either hot or cold. Hopefully he's now more consistent and won't fade away like Wilson did last year. Speaking of last year, are there any confirmed retirements from the panel??? Have heard rumour and counter rumour about Heals and O'Donoghue...

Quote from: tayto on January 07, 2008, 07:17:52 PMDublin are very much trying out new faces as well so I wouldnt fear too much facing us. Wicklow could have been a lot closer but for some great saves by Cluxton, one at a time which would have brought it back to a one point game. The good news is Fennell played well in midfield and as did O'Mahoney when he was brought further back, the defense looked loose and I'd expect Westmeath to punish slack marking if it happens again this weekend. All in all should be a entertaining fixture but like you say, it's only january so I wouldn't read too much into it, and again like you say,these games are better then challenge matches.

Seen the Dublin game on Setanta and from what I seen in Mullingar we'll have to substantially up our game to trouble yous. Would be nice to win it and get another competitive game but I'm more interested in a better performance and a few lads putting down a few markers.
Post by: The Claw on January 07, 2008, 11:12:52 PM
Any students around to tell us the potential UCD team?
Post by: tayto on January 08, 2008, 12:14:11 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 07, 2008, 09:06:04 PM
Seen the Dublin game on Setanta and from what I seen in Mullingar we'll have to substantially up our game to trouble yous. Would be nice to win it and get another competitive game but I'm more interested in a better performance and a few lads putting down a few markers.

Delighted with some of the new faces and the effort shown by the more senior players but sher we'll see, I'd expect a good close game, hopefully not too scrappy.

So whats the ambition from a Westmeath perspective this year? apart from lifting Sam in September of course!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 08, 2008, 12:34:39 AM
Quote from: tayto on January 08, 2008, 12:14:11 AM

Delighted with some of the new faces and the effort shown by the more senior players but sher we'll see, I'd expect a good close game, hopefully not too scrappy.

So whats the ambition from a Westmeath perspective this year? apart from lifting Sam in September of course!

Tayto - What were Fennell, O'Mahony and McConnell like??? I hear Shocko had a good game also...
Post by: his holiness nb on January 08, 2008, 09:08:50 AM
Fennel was best of the newcomers imo, and the sub who came on, Flynn, looked very good.
The young lad Kennedy scored a goal but other than that had a bit of a nightmare.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 08, 2008, 09:10:53 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 07, 2008, 07:28:03 PM
Meath (O'Byrne Cup) v UCD - Mark Mullally, Cormac McGuinness, Darren Fay, David Donegan, Caoimhin King, Colm O Mealoid, Niall McLoughlin, Eoin Reilly, Mark Ward, Noel Mooney, John Barry O'Reilly, Graham Reilly, Peter Curran, Jamie Queeney, Niall Farrell. Subs - Brendan Murphy, Stephen Sheridan, James Looby, Peader Byrne, Stephen Bray, Stephen Sheppard, Alan Nestor, David Morgan, Eoin Harrington, Micheál Brennan.

Good to see a lot of the u-21's and lads who did well in the club championship getting a chance to show what they are made of. Queeney is a great prospect if a bit light (no harm he's only young) and Graham Reilly (centre-back on last years minor team) is another one to watch.

Whats the story with Mark Ward? Finished college?
He played in Leinster with UCD last year, thought you had to play with your college instead of your county in the O'Byrne.
Post by: Jinxy on January 08, 2008, 09:26:49 AM
I'd imagine age-wise he's definitely finished his primary degree and he's out of college unless he's been offered the Jimmy McGuinness perpetual scholarship.
Post by: heffo on January 08, 2008, 09:57:30 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 08, 2008, 12:34:39 AM

Tayto - What were Fennell, O'Mahony and McConnell like??? I hear Shocko had a good game also...

I thought Shocko struggled against Gill tbh..
Post by: heffo on January 08, 2008, 09:58:42 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 08, 2008, 09:26:49 AM
I'd imagine age-wise he's definitely finished his primary degree and he's out of college unless he's been offered the Jimmy McGuinness perpetual scholarship.

Can you play a year after graduating (like in the Sigerson)? I wouldn't have thought so..
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 10:00:24 AM
Quote from: tayto on January 08, 2008, 12:14:11 AMDelighted with some of the new faces and the effort shown by the more senior players but sher we'll see, I'd expect a good close game, hopefully not too scrappy.

A drastic improvement on the last few years, winning a game in Leinster for a start. Minimum has to be retaining our Division 2 status and reaching the Leinster semi-finals. Won't even mention reaching the promised land of an All-Ireland semi-final or beating the infidels to the East just yet...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 10:02:15 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 08, 2008, 09:10:53 AMWhats the story with Mark Ward? Finished college?
He played in Leinster with UCD last year, thought you had to play with your college instead of your county in the O'Byrne.

Paul Brogan from Oliver Plunkets (I presume there's only one) was down to start for DIT in the program, yet he turned out Sat night for yous. Think it may be down to the individual player.
Post by: tayto on January 08, 2008, 10:15:46 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 10:00:24 AM

A drastic improvement on the last few years, winning a game in Leinster for a start. Minimum has to be retaining our Division 2 status and reaching the Leinster semi-finals. Won't even mention reaching the promised land of an All-Ireland semi-final or beating the infidels to the East just yet...

Retaining Division Two would be the very minimum of your ambitions I would have thought.
With an improvement on last year I cant see why you couldn't go on a run in Leinster.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 10:23:52 AM
Quote from: tayto on January 08, 2008, 10:15:46 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 10:00:24 AM

Retaining Division Two would be the very minimum of your ambitions I would have thought.
With an improvement on last year I cant see why you couldn't go on a run in Leinster.

It is, Div 2 looking quite tough this year, not much to choose between it and Div 1, so while promotion would be great I'd settle for mid-table after giving the youngsters some serious game time.
Last year was shocking really, looked impressive at the start of the league but faded out towards the end. Championship consisted of 1 and 1/2 excellent games of football and 1 and a 1/2 shocking games where the heads really dropped. If we don't beat de Slashers and Awfully then O'Flaherta will be kicked the whole way back up the M4...
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2008, 10:38:03 AM
QuoteWith an improvement on last year I cant see why you couldn't go on a run in Leinster.

Now that's just plain mean tayto, don't be teasing the poor fellah.   ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 11:13:26 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 08, 2008, 10:38:03 AM
QuoteWith an improvement on last year I cant see why you couldn't go on a run in Leinster.

Now that's just plain mean tayto, don't be teasing the poor fellah.   ;)

We'll be finishing the job we started on yous last year anyway Billy, unconfirmed rumours that the panel will be heading out to Toulouse for training in Airbus's wind tunnells after the National League...  ;D
Post by: The Claw on January 08, 2008, 11:58:34 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 08, 2008, 09:58:42 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 08, 2008, 09:26:49 AM

Can you play a year after graduating (like in the Sigerson)? I wouldn't have thought so..
With Sigerson you can only play if you are in college. When UCD play in the Dublin championship, they can play the year they finish.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2008, 01:06:26 PM
Well Offaly have already had our highlight of the year, putting up 5-24 against Athlone IT. Sure we're great lads now.  ::)
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2008, 01:15:47 PM
Quotethe panel will be heading out to Toulouse for training in Airbus's wind tunnells

Why, have there been alterations to Cusack Park?  ::)  Focus lad, focus.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 08, 2008, 01:47:35 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 08, 2008, 01:15:47 PM
Quotethe panel will be heading out to Toulouse for training in Airbus's wind tunnells

Why, have there been alterations to Cusack Park?  ::)  Focus lad, focus.

Last I heard, LAD, was that the match has been fixed for de wind tunnel in Pearse Park as Westmeath County Board, in their generosity, agreed that the matches, that were DRAWN last year, were part of the home and away arrangement that exists between the two counties and that it was Pearse Parks turn. Now if u have information to the contrary LAD, that's news to me...
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2008, 03:18:44 PM
Sorry Croi, didn't know a dayle had been done.  Blow wind, blow.
Post by: thejuice on January 09, 2008, 03:31:32 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 08, 2008, 09:10:53 AMWhats the story with Mark Ward? Finished college?

He is working now in a bank in Dublin. The brother works with him. Is the Meath-UCD game on the radio tonight. is it across the interweb,
Post by: his holiness nb on January 09, 2008, 03:34:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 09, 2008, 03:31:32 PM

He is working now in a bank in Dublin. The brother works with him. Is the Meath-UCD game on the radio tonight. is it across the interweb,

Doesnt matter Juice, you will be there.
Apparantly its only the Dubs who dont go to these games  ;)
Post by: thejuice on January 09, 2008, 04:18:50 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 09, 2008, 03:34:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 09, 2008, 03:31:32 PM

Doesnt matter Juice, you will be there.
Apparantly its only the Dubs who dont go to these games  ;)

Well I dont think I can get to the airport in time after work and then make it to navan from dublin airport in time for the throw in, I supposes if I left now I might make the 2nd half. I suppose real fans are flying in from all sorts of places to watch O'Byrne Cup matches, shame on me.....
Post by: his holiness nb on January 09, 2008, 04:21:41 PM
Shame on you indeed.
Post by: thejuice on January 09, 2008, 04:48:19 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 09, 2008, 04:21:41 PM
Shame on you indeed.

But to answer mo ceist.

Is it on LMFM? RTE? RnaG?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2008, 10:32:07 PM
Meed 2-11
Drunk Students 0-15

So - the mighty clash agin in Navan on Sunday

Meath v Longford - throw in @ 2 pm
Post by: Hardy on January 09, 2008, 11:24:29 PM
James Joyce, Cardinal Newman, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Garret FitzGerald, (running out of UCD luminaries) ... your boys took a hell of a beating.

Meath undefeated in 2008. Bring on the Larries. The bigger they come, the harder they fall.
Post by: tayto on January 10, 2008, 02:21:10 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2008, 10:32:07 PM
Meath v Longford - throw in @ 2 pm

Go on longford, show 'em who's boss!  ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on January 10, 2008, 08:51:30 AM
Come on the mighty Larries.  ;D
Post by: Jinxy on January 10, 2008, 09:02:10 AM
Lads did anyone make it to Navan last night? Couldn't make it myself but I read in the Indo that the UCD midfielder scored 5 points! He better have been the freetaker. ???
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 10, 2008, 09:43:30 AM
Will they accept cash at the turnstiles on Sunday?
Post by: Gnevin on January 10, 2008, 10:18:45 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 10, 2008, 09:43:30 AM
Will they accept cash at the turnstiles on Sunday?
Naw tickets via a lottery , demand is sky high
Post by: laoisgaa on January 10, 2008, 11:14:38 PM
DCU 1-14 Louth 0-11 - Good performance by a very strong DCU side in Darver tonight. Have to admit all the fuss over Benny McArdle on this board failed to live up to its promise, but McArdle had to cope with a stunning DCU full-forward line, Seanie Johnston of Cavan and Mayo's Conor Mortimer were simply on fire - they have to be odds on for Sigerson on the back of a display like this and excellent league performances.

Brian White and Ronan Carroll were probably Louth's best to players in this game, but they really left themselves with a huge job to do at the end of a dissmal opening half. Good conditions in Darver and an excellent surface. Fair play to all involved in Louth GAA for having the willpower to stay with an idea like this and see it come to fruition, four excellent pitches but money still required to finished off a clubhouse facility etc. Certainly a blueprint for other counties to follow that's for sure.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 10, 2008, 11:37:20 PM
Surprised with that one to be honest.

Will Setanta be in Navan on Sunday. They should be. It will be a cracker.  :-*
Post by: laoisgaa on January 10, 2008, 11:39:54 PM
Setanta only have the rights to show Saturday games I think. So it will just be re-runs of Dublin/Westmeath all next week!! Meath aren't a bad force for this time of year and seem to be taking things pretty seriously from what I witnessed in Navan last night. UCD really pushed them to the pin of their collar.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2008, 12:04:16 AM
QuoteSo it will just be re-runs of Dublin/Westmeath all next week!!

Oh shite..................shoot me now, please, shoot me now  :'(
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 08:54:13 AM
Willl the game be on TG4 so if they have Sunday games?

Whatever game is on TG4 on sunday will also be repeated next week on setanta, Armagh v Derry has been on a few times.

Funny enough the Dublin game was only repeated once this week, as far as I know.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 11, 2008, 10:02:24 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2008, 12:04:16 AM

Getting sick of de Dubs already Shamrock??? Don't worry we'll do our best to knock them out and then u can watch the re-runs in peace...  ;D
Post by: tayto on January 11, 2008, 10:29:55 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2008, 12:04:16 AM

Jaze, I thought you liked things repeated over and over agian, yez never seem to get tired of moaning.  :P
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 11, 2008, 12:22:08 PM
Any chance someone could record the Dublin match for me and post it over? Can't get Setanta Ireland on Virgin!!!!! Will pay for it of course......
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 12:23:29 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 11, 2008, 12:22:08 PM
Any chance someone could record the Dublin match for me and post it over? Can't get Setanta Ireland on Virgin!!!!! Will pay for it of course......

Where are you Dubsforsam?
Post by: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 12:32:00 PM
Was at the second half of the Louth/DCU game last night, DCU are a good side and given the experimental side Louth had out, coupled with only being back from the States wouldn't be too worried about losing to a well organised and talented bunch like DCU. Any rumours of fallings out in the Louth camp are clearly wide of the mark, I saw with my own two eyes the alleged players involved passing the ball to each other  :D
Post by: pedro on January 11, 2008, 01:12:11 PM
Have to agree with you LE, no point in getting worked up about it, the lads were only home from a weeks booze up one day and now all of a sudden they haven't a hope of beating Dublin because of their performance last night. The Louth supporters are so melodramatic it would be funny if it wasn't true. Last year we beat Wiclow and then we were supposedly going to win the All-Ireland, we lose to Wexford and all of a sudden we were the worst team in the country, a couple of wins in the qualifiers and then our AI campaign is back on track! A bit of rationalisation would go a long way.

Quote from: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 12:32:00 PM
Any rumours of fallings out in the Louth camp are clearly wide of the mark, I saw with my own two eyes the alleged players involved passing the ball to each other  :D

One of these players wasn't playing last night LE, I'd imagine that you know by now who it is!  ;)
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 11, 2008, 01:53:21 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 12:23:29 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 11, 2008, 12:22:08 PM

Where are you Dubsforsam?

Edinburgh
Post by: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 01:55:19 PM
If I remember to tape it (seriously I always forget) I'll pm you.
DVD ok?
Post by: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 02:30:24 PM
Quote from: pedro on January 11, 2008, 01:12:11 PM
Have to agree with you LE, no point in getting worked up about it, the lads were only home from a weeks booze up one day and now all of a sudden they haven't a hope of beating Dublin because of their performance last night. The Louth supporters are so melodramatic it would be funny if it wasn't true. Last year we beat Wiclow and then we were supposedly going to win the All-Ireland, we lose to Wexford and all of a sudden we were the worst team in the country, a couple of wins in the qualifiers and then our AI campaign is back on track! A bit of rationalisation would go a long way.

Quote from: Louth Exile on January 11, 2008, 12:32:00 PM
Any rumours of fallings out in the Louth camp are clearly wide of the mark, I saw with my own two eyes the alleged players involved passing the ball to each other  :D

One of these players wasn't playing last night LE, I'd imagine that you know by now who it is!  ;)

Just had a look at Hoganstand to see what you are talking about, wouldn't be too worried about the crap that is posted up on that thing from lads who weren't even at the game.

Just looked at the subs who came on, you are right  :D Looked at the democrat, he is not even listed in the subs  :D
Them floodlit games sure you can't tell who is who. Who ever it was, it looked like him on the ball
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2008, 10:26:33 PM
Where do ye boys get the Homer Simpson Avatar with the county jerseys?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 12, 2008, 02:21:11 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 11, 2008, 01:55:19 PM
If I remember to tape it (seriously I always forget) I'll pm you.
DVD ok?

Holiness DVD ok - If you remember that would be great...
Post by: tayto on January 12, 2008, 12:43:55 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 11, 2008, 10:26:33 PM
Where do ye boys get the Homer Simpson Avatar with the county jerseys?

http://pride.ie/avatars.shtml
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2008, 05:40:09 PM
They are being ridden rock solid by an impressive Dubs. The only players for WH is Greene and Connaughton in goals.

Jayo, Ryano, Brogano and most of the resto impressing for Dublin.

Expect a 20 point deficit at the end unless the Dubs pull up early
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2008, 07:08:32 PM
That second half was pure muck.

Dubs came out a different outfit and let Westmeath get a small foothold on proceedings. Only a small one.

Can't see Setanta having the stomach to have this on repeat showings.
Post by: INDIANA on January 12, 2008, 07:30:16 PM
great first half by dublin- westmeath were so bad though dublin inevitably pulled up after introducing 4-5 subs. all in all a good showing from a pretty experimenatal team bar the 6 regulars. Wan't expecting muuch from westmath having seen the likes of Tyrellspass but i think if Wexford win tomorrow that will be quite a good game next week. Still reasonably encoraging from Dublin -1-16 is good on a dry day.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 12, 2008, 09:03:15 PM
 >:(
Post by: tayto on January 12, 2008, 10:16:20 PM
They showed all of wicklows matches last year, what are yiz whinging about, would you prefer they rerun some rugby match or show highlights of soccer goals from portugal?
Post by: orangeman on January 12, 2008, 11:40:30 PM
Another big win for the Dubs - who's going to stop them this year ?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 13, 2008, 12:55:07 AM
Jazes - don't be rating Dubs on foot of a ritual slaughtering of an experimental Westmeath side on a pissing wet evening in Donnycarney.

Nothing can be gleaned from the O'Byrne Cup. It's only a bit of craic to get us started for The League, which is only a bit of craic for The Championship.

Tayto - you are much too sensitive. But, honestly, hand on heart, would you suffer the second half ad nauseum?
Post by: Zulu on January 13, 2008, 01:18:42 AM
Your dead right SS, you can't talk about AI winners based on pre-season competitions or the league but Dublin aren't a million miles away anyway and if Fennel, Paul Brogan and O'Mahoney are as even half as good as they look they'll add to this Dublin squad. If they pick the right team they'll go really close this year IMO.
Post by: tayto on January 13, 2008, 01:46:27 AM
Of course you cant judge anything from O'Byrne matches, except get a glimpse of new players who might get a run in the league.

Very experimental Dublin team as well lets not forget.

A couple of prospects for the future for Dublin showing up which is good to see.

Fennel looks like an option for midfielder, won some good ball today in shocking conditions and offloaded well when in traffic, one to look at in the NFL. 

O'Mahoney was making waves a couple of years ago until he got a nasty injury, looks like he's finally getting back to the player he was, worth a run in the league.

Paul Brogan is a nice footballer but you'd have to wonder about his defensive qualities, i'd definitely give him games in the league as wel, just as an option.

For Westmeath I thought Greene looks an exciting prospect, bit of niggle to him which isn't a bad thing anyway, full of confidence. Wilson was very good as well, Dessie had an off day by his standards, whats the story with Glennon? With him back youse could have a dangerous forward line.

SS : get a bit sick of it, should just ignore it i know but it's relentless. We don't want to become another hogan stand do we, especially at this time of year when the fair weather fans aren't on line.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 13, 2008, 05:46:18 PM
Just back from Pairc Tailteann after watching an impressive Longford win:

Longford 0-14
Meath 1-06

Meath were very very poor and Longford should have won by at least 10-12 points. Had they done so there would have been few complaints from The Royals.

Longford scored first and then Meath hit a purple patch scoring 4 unanswered points. However this 10 minute period was the only time in the game Meath did anything of note. Longford clawed the lead back with about 5 mins to go before half time and towards the end Meath scored their 5th point. Their first score in 20 minutes of play.

Meath got out of the blocks quick with a jammy goal in the second half. A miskicked free was punched into the Longford net. That was as good as it got for Meath who only registered one more point in over 30 minutes of play.

Longford was able to slice through the Meath cover like a hot knife through butter and soon were rampant with newcomer Gary Murphy from Kayna impressing most. Brian Kavanagh was good for scores and Francis McGee showed well also.

Meath ended up shoving Joe Sheridan in the full forward position and started lamping the ball into him which resulted in some mad goalmouth scrambles and at least one superb save from Longford's Damien Sheridan.

All in all a good win to Longford who now face DCU in the semi final next weekend.

Excellent for Longford were basically all the 15 plus the subs Padraig Berry and Cathal Conefrey.

Meath supporters were dejected leaving the ground - not because they lost, it's only the O'Byrne Cup - but the manner of the defeat and the fact that no Meath player shone any sort of light on the proceedings.
Post by: Jinxy on January 13, 2008, 06:49:52 PM
Largely an exercise in giving lads a fair crack of the whip before they get the bullet. Still though, well done to Longford, should have won by more. Kavanagh is a class act.
Post by: cill_dara on January 13, 2008, 08:21:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 10, 2008, 09:02:10 AM
Lads did anyone make it to Navan last night? Couldn't make it myself but I read in the Indo that the UCD midfielder scored 5 points! He better have been the freetaker. ???

He was indeed the freetaker and one hell of a one too all from the hand left and right footed no bother. John o Loughlin is his name Leix minor midfielder last year. Scored the majority of UCD's scores today against us.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 14, 2008, 09:07:44 AM
So who plays who in the next round, and when?

Dubs game was odd, very impressive first half, went in 11 points up.
Second half was pure much.

Fennell again was most impressive newcomer for the Dubs.

And the announcer who didnt know the Dublin no 19 last week dropped another clanger.

Westmeaths first sub was announced as "the first subsitution for the Longford team" !!!

The crown didnt let him away with it!!
Post by: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 09:17:25 AM
QuoteWestmeaths first sub was announced as "the first subsitution for the Longford team" !!!

They wish.   :P
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2008, 11:12:40 AM
As feared, we too many newcomers not used to each other coupled with no sign of a gameplan lead to a shocking first half. Didn't have much between the 45s apart from Dessie, Willo and Heavin and even then they weren't at their best. Dessie in particular looked weary and withdrawn, reacting to the dragging and off the ball and 3rd man tackles. Certainly not like him and to me shows that there's something seriously wrong in the setup. Green again showed well despite been marked by one of de best corner backs in the game and getting fcuk all service. Tosh was poor but for the life of me I don't know why he was moved inside in the first half, has never looked comfortable in there. Of the other new lads Scally looked impressive when he came on and Genoud should have been given more game time, couldn't have fared much worse than what was out there. If we don't get most of the regulars back it'll be another very short year.

For Dublin Bernard Brogan and Fennel showed well, should be added to the panel. Still not convinced by McConnell at full back and I don't think Paul Brogan has the temperament to make it. Does he play wing back for Plunketts??? Far too hyped up and overly aggressive, possibly living in his brothers shadow for too long. One run in with Galvin or Martin O'Rourke would sort him out. The GAA is gonna have to look at this whole booking 2 lads who're having a bit of handbags and just go after the instigator. The biscuit was when the linesman had Willo booked even though the no 15 was just taking over from where Paul Brogan left off. Just about summed up the evening...

Quote from: tayto on January 13, 2008, 01:46:27 AMFor Westmeath I thought Greene looks an exciting prospect, bit of niggle to him which isn't a bad thing anyway, full of confidence. Wilson was very good as well, Dessie had an off day by his standards, whats the story with Glennon? With him back youse could have a dangerous forward line.

Glennons head is up his own arse but probably could do with a couple of months rest, hopefully he'll be back for the end of the league. Article on hoganstand where he's quoted as saying

"I am unhappy with a few things in there, but I am not going to go into that. I owe a lot of my career to Tomas (O Flatharta). I just feel like a need a break," he explained.

"They'll probably ring me when the league starts up again, but I kind of have my mind made up.

"You never know. Like all footballers, you might get the hunger back in a few months. My confidence is high and I'd love to bring that onto county level. Time will tell."

Take from that what u will but there's something not quite right with the training and/or management. Too many players not bothered to turn out...

Quote from: his holiness nb on January 14, 2008, 09:07:44 AMAnd the announcer who didnt know the Dublin no 19 last week dropped another clanger.

Westmeaths first sub was announced as "the first subsitution for the Longford team" !!!

The crown didnt let him away with it!!

Prob the highlight of the evening, believe last week he announced that the number nine for Dublin Eamonn Fennel is being replaced by number nine, Eamonn Fennel...  :D

Quote from: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 09:17:25 AM
QuoteWestmeaths first sub was announced as "the first subsitution for the Longford team" !!!

They wish.   :P

Jaysus lads, yous are obsessed with us, it's not healthy u know...
Post by: heffo on January 14, 2008, 11:42:33 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2008, 11:12:40 AM
The GAA is gonna have to look at this whole booking 2 lads who're having a bit of handbags and just go after the instigator. The biscuit was when the linesman had Willo booked even though the no 15 was just taking over from where Paul Brogan left off. Just about summed up the evening...

You're right. Fergal Wilson should have walked for the headbutt on Paul Brogan

What was the story with Westmeath doing pushups to warmup before the game? Seemed strange...

Dessie Dolan seemed to be far to deep for most of the game...
Post by: Gnevin on January 14, 2008, 11:50:27 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 14, 2008, 11:42:33 AM
The GAA is gonna have to look at this whole booking 2 lads who're having a bit of handbags and just go after the instigator. The biscuit was when the linesman had Willo booked even though the no 15 was just taking over from where Paul Brogan left off. Just about summed up the evening...

You're right. Fergal Wilson should have walked for the headbutt on Paul Brogan, and shouldn't have been on the pitch to throw the punch that concussed Collie Moran when he was on the ground.

What was the story with Westmeath doing pushups to warmup before the game? Seemed strange...

He wasn't getting any service up in the full forward line and had to drop back . The trouble is for Westmeath you put 2 men on Dolan and you've blunted most of the attack
Post by: heffo on January 14, 2008, 11:53:36 AM

You're right. Fergal Wilson should have walked for the headbutt on Paul Brogan, and shouldn't have been on the pitch to throw the punch that concussed Collie Moran when he was on the ground.

In fairness though, Paul Brogan was lucky to stay on...that 'tackle' under the stand where he lost the ball and jumped and took a guy down around the neck was crazy. You would have doubts about his temperament and whether he'd keep the head if a wind-up merchant (a la McMenamin) was marking him..
Post by: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 12:16:03 PM
QuoteJaysus lads, yous are obsessed with us

You wish.  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2008, 12:23:23 PM

Didn't see any headbutt at the game or on TG4 yesterday and as for punching Collie Moran  :D Wasn't in to see the warmups.

Quote from: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 12:16:03 PM
QuoteJaysus lads, yous are obsessed with us

You wish.  ::)

There's more comments from yous on our match than your own, says it all really...
Post by: Mentalman on January 14, 2008, 12:28:16 PM
Take from that what u will but there's something not quite right with the training and/or management. Too many players not bothered to turn out...

Ah it's very odd. I know another player, not one of the stalwarts, walked during the week, didn't take to the 21s being parachuted into the squad for the O'Byrne while players training over the winter were left to warm the bench. Hard to please everybody but apparently a couple of the senior players were unhappy about it. It's the usual, when things are going well, these things don't matter, but when they're not it's a different matter.
Post by: tayto on January 14, 2008, 12:28:29 PM
Have to give special mention to Jayo, he was top class on Saturday, great to see a player who's been around for so long show such enthusiasm for an O'Byrne cup match played in filthy conditions.
Post by: Gnevin on January 14, 2008, 12:36:26 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 14, 2008, 12:28:29 PM
Have to give special mention to Jayo, he was top class on Saturday, great to see a player who's been around for so long show such enthusiasm for an O'Byrne cup match played in filthy conditions.
Meaning the rain or the "tackling" in the second half?
Post by: tayto on January 14, 2008, 01:01:57 PM

A little from column A, A little from column B
Post by: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 01:23:26 PM
QuoteThere's more comments from yous on our match than your own, says it all really

I haven't even made one comment on 'your' match, I'm just sorry we can't get to meet ye in the final, for a reprise of 2000.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 14, 2008, 01:41:26 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 01:23:26 PM
QuoteThere's more comments from yous on our match than your own, says it all really

I haven't even made one comment on 'your' match

Ahem, http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=5714.msg227010#msg227010 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=5714.msg227010#msg227010)
Post by: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 06:03:21 PM
That's not a comment on the match - that's a comment about Westmeath, as an entity.
Post by: Hardy on January 14, 2008, 07:44:04 PM
And in all fairness I think they should be happy with their progress in becoming an entity, having languished as the alternative for a century or so.

(Just to be on the safe side -  :P)
Post by: Uladh on January 14, 2008, 07:52:41 PM

super super comedy.

aho
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2008, 10:59:22 PM
Good man Hardy - opening up a new front.

Was away today from dinternet so missed out on the bask of glory. I even feature in the Longford team pic on the official Longford website perched in the stand. Only regulars will recognise me.

Forgive the semi-gloating text yesterday Hardy - it was the first time I've seen Longford beat Meath in a 'competitive' or perhaps even 'any' match ever. I can't recall being there when we beat ye in the Leinster in 1981 which caused absolute consternation in Meath at the time.

What did the Meath County Board do after such a humiliation - they appointed some "hurling fella" to be the football manager. His name escapes me. Boylan or something.

Joe Sheridan wintered well it would seem. Even the Meath supporters behind me laughed at the 'snug' togs!

Is the Meath tactic to make Joe Sheridan into a Niall Sheridan?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 14, 2008, 11:10:15 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 14, 2008, 10:59:22 PM
Good man Hardy - opening up a new front.

Was away today from dinternet so missed out on the bask of glory. I even feature in the Longford team pic on the official Longford website perched in the stand. Only regulars will recognise me.

Forgive the semi-gloating text yesterday Hardy - it was the first time I've seen Longford beat Meath in a 'competitive' or perhaps even 'any' match ever. I can't recall being there when we beat ye in the Leinster in 1981 which caused absolute consternation in Meath at the time.

What did the Meath County Board do after such a humiliation - they appointed some "hurling fella" to be the football manager. His name escapes me. Boylan or something.

Joe Sheridan wintered well it would seem. Even the Meath supporters behind me laughed at the 'snug' togs!

Is the Meath tactic to make Joe Sheridan into a Niall Sheridan?

Where's Wally Shamrock Shore

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/000035_longford_meath_jan07.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on January 14, 2008, 11:30:50 PM
Not at all SS - I didn't take it as a gloat. I appreciated the result service. I was driving down from Portlaoise, listening to the sports programme on Radio 1 and you had the result a good 45 minutes before they announced it.

As long as I only hear that sort of a result once every 27 years I can live with it. In my version of heaven, every year it'll also be 27 years since the Dubs beat us.

Delighted that Joe is back though and more of him than ever it seems. You'd have to be looking forward to going into the championship with a forward line including himself, Brian Farrell, GG, Shane O'Rourke and Stephen Bray.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 15, 2008, 08:59:50 AM
QuoteWhere's Wally Shamrock Shore

I can't see him - I think he went to the Merrion for his lunch again.

It just goes to show that the Larries are capable of beating anyone - in January.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 11:39:03 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 14, 2008, 06:03:21 PM
That's not a comment on the match - that's a comment about Westmeath, as an entity.

Clutching at straws now Billy...

I think you'll find that Contae na hIarmhí provided 4 finalists in the 6 Leinster club competitions and maintained their 100% success record in the Christy Ring Cup in 2007. Remind me again what the Slashers contributed to GAA in 2007??? Not so much an entity but a backwater (and a windy one at that)...
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2008, 11:46:15 AM
QuoteRemind me again what the Slashers contributed to GAA in 2007???

Well, they knocked Westmeath out of the Leinster championship which was nice. :D

(The rematch didn't mean anything as neither team were going to do anything in the All Ireland proper. The Larries just wanted the summer off once they were out of Leinster. They are old school, just like Offaly. Sure we even took the qualifiers off completely :D)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 11:54:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 15, 2008, 11:46:15 AM

Well, they knocked Westmeath out of the Leinster championship which was nice. :D

(The rematch didn't mean anything as neither team were going to do anything in the All Ireland proper. The Larries just wanted the summer off once they were out of Leinster. They are old school, just like Offaly. Sure we even took the qualifiers off completely :D)

Au contraire, the rematch showed the difference between the teams in the absense of Hurricane Pearse and firmly showed the gap in quality. We hope to reinforce that this year and get u Biffos back to the bog as soon as possible...  :P
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2008, 11:56:35 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 11:54:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 15, 2008, 11:46:15 AM

Au contraire, the rematch showed the difference between the teams in the absense of Hurricane Pearse and firmly showed the gap in quality. We hope to reinforce that this year and get u Biffos back to the bog as soon as possible...  :P

We're concentrating on the league this year. Consolidating our place in Division 4 is the priority :D
Post by: Billys Boots on January 15, 2008, 01:56:03 PM
QuoteRemind me again what the Slashers contributed to GAA in 2007?

Slashers were beaten in the County Championship by Colmcille - I believe the final score was 1-14 to 1-9.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 03:13:27 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 15, 2008, 01:56:03 PM

Slashers were beaten in the County Championship by Colmcille - I believe the final score was 1-14 to 1-9.

(http://images.crateandbarrel.com/is/image/CrateandBarrel/HalloweenStrawsS6?$lg$)

Not many left now...  ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on January 15, 2008, 05:14:50 PM
You did ask.
Post by: LaurelEye on January 15, 2008, 06:01:37 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 03:13:27 PM

(http://images.crateandbarrel.com/is/image/CrateandBarrel/HalloweenStrawsS6?$lg$)

Not many left now...  ;D

Any bargains that we should know about in the upcoming Bankruptcy Sale? ;D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 06:05:55 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on January 15, 2008, 06:01:37 PM

Not many left now...  ;D

Have yous not had enough of our cast offs yet???  ;D
Post by: LaurelEye on January 15, 2008, 06:41:35 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2008, 06:05:55 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on January 15, 2008, 06:01:37 PM

Not many left now...  ;D

Have yous not had enough of our cast offs yet???  ;D

The one we have seems to be a bit fragile - can we swap him for Glennon?

Second thoughts: I think we're fine for forwards at the moment... we'll pass :)
Post by: tayto on January 16, 2008, 09:48:52 AM
Four changes for OByrne Cup semi-final

Dublin have made four changes to their team for Saturday's O'Byrne Cup semi-final in Parnell Park (5.0).

Shane Ryan is ruled out having picked up a hamstring injury in last Saturday's ten-point victory over WestM**th and is replaced at midfield by Paul Flynn, who moves out from corner-forward. 2008 team captain, Alan Brogan, comes in a No 15.

In the other switches Stephen Cluxton takes over again in goal from John Leonard while Philip McMahon replaces Derek Murray at right half-back.

McMahon was selected to start in last Saturday's game but as he had played for Ballymun Kickhams' under-21s in Championship action earlier that afternoon he was 'rested'.

The final alteration sees Round Towers, Clondalkin's John O'Brien lead the attack with Pat Burke being displaced to the bench.

DUBLIN (SF) - S Cluxton; N O'Shea, R McConnell, S O'Shaughnessy; P McMahon, C Moran, P Brogan; P Flynn, E Fennell; D Lally, J O'Brien, B Brogan; J Sherlock, D O'Mahony, A Brogan. Subs: J Leonard, P Casey, D Henry, D Murray, B Cullen, D Ryan, B Kennedy, P Burke.
Post by: Ga on January 16, 2008, 11:42:04 AM
Quote from: tayto on January 16, 2008, 09:48:52 AM

Dublin have made four changes to their team for Saturday's O'Byrne Cup semi-final in Parnell Park (5.0).

Shane Ryan is ruled out having picked up a hamstring injury in last Saturday's ten-point victory over WestM**th and is replaced at midfield by Paul Flynn, who moves out from corner-forward. 2008 team captain, Alan Brogan, comes in a No 15.

In the other switches Stephen Cluxton takes over again in goal from John Leonard while Philip McMahon replaces Derek Murray at right half-back.

McMahon was selected to start in last Saturday's game but as he had played for Ballymun Kickhams' under-21s in Championship action earlier that afternoon he was 'rested'.

The final alteration sees Round Towers, Clondalkin's John O'Brien lead the attack with Pat Burke being displaced to the bench.

DUBLIN (SF) - S Cluxton; N O'Shea, R McConnell, S O'Shaughnessy; P McMahon, C Moran, P Brogan; P Flynn, E Fennell; D Lally, J O'Brien, B Brogan; J Sherlock, D O'Mahony, A Brogan. Subs: J Leonard, P Casey, D Henry, D Murray, B Cullen, D Ryan, B Kennedy, P Burke.

Lads any truth in the rumour that J O'Brien is transfering away from Round Towers, Clondalkin??
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2008, 01:42:33 PM
Quote from: Ga on January 16, 2008, 11:42:04 AM
Quote from: tayto on January 16, 2008, 09:48:52 AM

Lads any truth in the rumour that J O'Brien is transfering away from Round Towers, Clondalkin??

A lot of truth, yes.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 02:00:26 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 14, 2008, 11:42:33 AMYou're right. Fergal Wilson should have walked for the headbutt on Paul Brogan, and shouldn't have been on the pitch to throw the punch that concussed Collie Moran when he was on the ground.

Kept a close eye on the Collie Moran incident on Setanta and as I suspected ur talking pure sh!te. Willo came in to shoulder, Moran got shoved/went to ground and caught Willos shoulder on de way down, totally accidental and to allege that someone was throwing punches at another individual on the ground (no matter where they come from) is disgraceful. Please remove that post. Also leads me to believe that your alleged headbutt is fantasy based, please remove that as well!!!
Post by: tayto on January 16, 2008, 02:01:24 PM
Looked like an accident to me as well.
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2008, 02:11:57 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 02:00:26 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 14, 2008, 11:42:33 AMYou're right. Fergal Wilson should have walked for the headbutt on Paul Brogan, and shouldn't have been on the pitch to throw the punch that concussed Collie Moran when he was on the ground.

Kept a close eye on the Collie Moran incident on Setanta and as I suspected ur talking pure sh!te. Willo came in to shoulder, Moran got shoved/went to ground and caught Willos shoulder on de way down, totally accidental and to allege that someone was throwing punches at another individual on the ground (no matter where they come from) is disgraceful. Please remove that post. Also leads me to believe that your alleged headbutt is fantasy based, please remove that as well!!!

It looked like a punch from Wilson from my seat. I'm surprised you missed Wilson's headbutt - were you at the game? Half the stand seen it..

I'll have a look at the tv, and if your version is true (which I doubt very much) then I'll edit my post.

So got concussion from falling onto the ground and 'catching' a Westmeath players shoulder on the way down?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 03:12:45 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 16, 2008, 02:11:57 PM

It looked like a punch from Wilson from my seat. I'm surprised you missed Wilson's headbutt - were you at the game? Half the stand seen it..

I'll have a look at the tv, and if your version is true (which I doubt very much) then I'll edit my post.

So got concussion from falling onto the ground and 'catching' a Westmeath players shoulder on the way down?

Yes I was at the game, from my seat (near the Dublin dugout) it just looked like he got sandwiched and the telly revealed de truth. He was carrying the ball in one direction with a Westmeath player up his arse and Willo came in from the other direction. Moran stumbled/was shoved, and ran into/caught Willos shoulder on de way down, looked innocuous enough but sure knocked Moran for six. Now if I was bothered there's a hell of a lot more "incidents" that merit discussion but better to let sleeping dogs lie. For u to state that Willo layed into Collie Moran when he was lying on the ground and was directly responsible for the concusion says more about yourself than I really wish to know. Please remove it today before I have to report it!!!
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2008, 03:22:30 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 03:12:45 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 16, 2008, 02:11:57 PM

Yes I was at the game, from my seat (near the Dublin dugout) it just looked like he got sandwiched and the telly revealed de truth. He was carrying the ball in one direction with a Westmeath player up his arse and Willo came in from the other direction. Moran stumbled/was shoved, and ran into/caught Willos shoulder on de way down, looked innocuous enough but sure knocked Moran for six. Now if I was bothered there's a hell of a lot more "incidents" that merit discussion but better to let sleeping dogs lie. For u to state that Willo layed into Collie Moran when he was lying on the ground and was directly responsible for the concusion says more about yourself than I really wish to know. Please remove it today before I have to report it!!!

Lets not be making idle threats now.

If you are correct, then I'll remove the post. As I said, it looked like a punch to me and those sitting with me and people I spoke to after who watched it on tv, said it was a punch - if it was an iinnocuous tackle then I'll retract it..
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 03:29:35 PM
No idle threat, if both comments aren't retracted by 4 I'll have to ask the mods to remove it. TV coverage shows one spurious comment to be completely false and offers no proof/backup/indication of the other. What with phantom posters using this board to reveal "breaking news" we have to watch our step and am not gonna stand by while u post allegations that evidence proves incorrect!!! U can either remove it urself or get a slap on de wrists (I imagine)!!!
Post by: heffo on January 16, 2008, 03:31:25 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 03:29:35 PM
No idle threat, if both comments aren't retracted by 4 I'll have to ask the mods to remove it. TV coverage shows one spurious comment to be completely false and offers no proof/backup/indication of the other. What with phantom posters using this board to reveal "breaking news" we have to watch our step and am not gonna stand by while u post allegations that evidence proves incorrect!!! U can either remove it urself or get a slap on de wrists (I imagine)!!!

Post a video link of the incident. Who appointed you on the tv evidence committee?

Your first post mentions Dessie reacting to "3rd man &off the ball tackles" - have you evidence to support this assertion?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 03:39:12 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 16, 2008, 03:31:25 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 16, 2008, 03:29:35 PM

Post a video link of the incident. Who appointed you on the tv evidence committee?

Your first post mentions Dessie reacting to "3rd man &off the ball tackles" - have you evidence to support this assertion?

WHATABOUT...........
Post by: Billys Boots on January 17, 2008, 09:38:56 AM
Jaysus, youse Eastlongford lads really need to attend some 'making friends' courses.  :P
Post by: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 10:26:32 AM
Heffo, if you cant prove that Collie was punched I'd remove that statement, its not up to anyone to prove it didnt happen, innocent until proven guilty and all that.

I dont know why you are both bitching at every little niggle in a scrappy game in atrocious conditions anyway.
Post by: tayto on January 17, 2008, 10:48:43 AM
Well said yer holiness! move on, i'm sure the players have.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2008, 11:11:10 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 10:26:32 AMI dont know why you are both bitching at every little niggle in a scrappy game in atrocious conditions anyway.

Jaysus, being lectured by his holiness for continued bitching...

(http://pediatriccardiology.uchicago.edu/PP/Images/syncope.gif)   :P
Post by: heffo on January 17, 2008, 11:32:16 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 10:26:32 AM
Heffo, if you cant prove that Collie was punched I'd remove that statement, its not up to anyone to prove it didnt happen, innocent until proven guilty and all that.

I dont know why you are both bitching at every little niggle in a scrappy game in atrocious conditions anyway.

Post about the alleged punch removed. I accept that I was wrong to post it.

It looked like a punch from where I was sitting, though if others have seen it on tv, I accept I was wrong.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 11:36:16 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2008, 11:11:10 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 10:26:32 AMI dont know why you are both bitching at every little niggle in a scrappy game in atrocious conditions anyway.

Indeed and at such I think I am best qualified to notice said bitching  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2008, 11:53:00 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2008, 11:32:16 AM

It looked like a punch from where I was sitting, though if others have seen it on tv, I accept I was wrong.

And the alleged headbutt???

On second thoughts, forget it, like I said earlier ur comments say more about yourself than the person ur trying to defame, I'm away to watch the grass growing championships on BBC2...

Quote from: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 11:36:16 AM

I bow to your greater experience, I am humbled master... :P
Post by: heffo on January 17, 2008, 11:54:34 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 17, 2008, 11:53:00 AM
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2008, 11:32:16 AM

And the alleged headbutt???

Quote from: his holiness nb on January 17, 2008, 11:36:16 AM

I bow to your greater experience, I am humbled master... :P

Me and about a 1,000 other people in the stand seen that clearly. I stand 100% over the headbutt on Paul Brogan.
Post by: tayto on January 17, 2008, 12:35:45 PM
I taut you were in the seated stand.  ;D
Post by: heffo on January 17, 2008, 12:44:49 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 17, 2008, 12:35:45 PM

I was in the seated stand...I'm not claiming everyone in the stand was looking at the halfway line when he headbutted him...
Post by: tayto on January 17, 2008, 12:54:54 PM
Quote from: heffo on January 17, 2008, 12:44:49 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 17, 2008, 12:35:45 PM

I was in the seated stand...I'm not claiming everyone in the stand was looking at the halfway line when he headbutted him...

Ah i was only joking, you stand by what you saw but you were siting down at the time ... never mind ... 
Post by: ExiledGael on January 18, 2008, 04:26:23 PM
Apparently the Dublin game tomorrow has been postponed until Tuesday, anyone hear anything about it?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:53:03 PM
Just got a text from a reliable source to confirm this, playing at 7.30pm tuesday instead.
Post by: ExiledGael on January 18, 2008, 04:54:37 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:53:03 PM
Just got a text from a reliable source to confirm this, playing at 7.30pm tuesday instead.

What's the reason for this? Where is the UCD v Dublin hurling game tomorrow?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 18, 2008, 04:56:50 PM
Pitch is in bits. Hurlers are due to play at Fingalians in Swords at 2pm sunday as far as I know.
Post by: Gnevin on January 18, 2008, 05:00:48 PM
http://www.hill16.ie/viewstoryhill16.asp?id=9389&mainheading=Word+on+The+Hill&viewstory=yes
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 02:45:26 PM
Half time

Longford 0-06
DCU 0-07
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 04:16:59 PM
Full time:

Longford 1-14
NIHE Dublin 0-10

Roll on the final agin The Dubs/Carla
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2008, 04:33:26 PM
Good win for Longford. I'd be interested to see the DCU team that lined out.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 04:40:47 PM
Thne only name that registered with me was Conor Mortimor.

Missed a last minute penalty - sent it wide - which is unusual for a Mayo man  ::)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 05:58:21 PM
OK - I see from www.leinstergaa.ie that our opponents next Sat eve/Sun have home advantage

Ergo - if it's the Dubs - then all of their O'Byrne Cup games will have been in Parnell Park.

Why is this?

Are Setanta Sports calling the shots now?

Post by: ExiledGael on January 20, 2008, 06:01:20 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 04:40:47 PM
Thne only name that registered with me was Conor Mortimor.

Missed a last minute penalty - sent it wide - which is unusual for a Mayo man  ::)

Dick Clerkin, Seanie Johnston, Paddy Andrews all on too
Post by: Gnevin on January 20, 2008, 07:29:38 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 05:58:21 PM
OK - I see from www.leinstergaa.ie that our opponents next Sat eve/Sun have home advantage

Ergo - if it's the Dubs - then all of their O'Byrne Cup games will have been in Parnell Park.

Why is this?

Are Setanta Sports calling the shots now?

Because all our games where away last year, All of Laois games where home last year or where meant to be. They had to play in Offaly but where the home team  if memory serves that or it's a huge conspiracy because its the Dub's
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 07:44:40 PM
Ara Gnevin I'm only pulling yer leg.

Last time we met in the O'Byrne Cup it was in Longford in 2000 so I am happy to hop across to Donncarney. I'll buy you a pint if we win!

(With apologies to Carlow folk who still may make the final)
Post by: Gnevin on January 20, 2008, 10:08:08 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 20, 2008, 07:44:40 PM
Ara Gnevin I'm only pulling yer leg.

Last time we met in the O'Byrne Cup it was in Longford in 2000 so I am happy to hop across to Donncarney. I'll buy you a pint if we win!

(With apologies to Carlow folk who still may make the final)
No were decent to drink around their any more the Parnell house is closed . :'(
Post by: Sky Blue on January 21, 2008, 09:28:05 AM
The semi final on Tuesday is live on Setanta.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 21, 2008, 09:38:42 AM
QuoteLast time we met in the O'Byrne Cup it was in Longford in 2000 so I am happy to hop across to Donncarney.

Hope it's the same result.  Come on the Larries.  Are we reduced to pints in The Happy Kn*cker?
Post by: Gnevin on January 21, 2008, 09:55:11 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 21, 2008, 09:38:42 AM
QuoteLast time we met in the O'Byrne Cup it was in Longford in 2000 so I am happy to hop across to Donncarney.

Hope it's the same result.  Come on the Larries.  Are we reduced to pints in The Happy Kn*cker?
It would appear so . Your holiness ,know are where else decent?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 21, 2008, 10:11:01 AM
Sorry Gnevin, always drive back from Parnell, keep the pints for championship games.

Pre season training and all that!
Post by: Billys Boots on January 21, 2008, 10:16:31 AM
I know a few good watering-holes in Carla - looks like we'll have to cheer for them on Tuesday night.  :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 21, 2008, 10:23:41 AM
Ha

If it's Carlow then I can imagine Setanta citing "technical reasons" as to why the game won't be shown live.

No decent pub in Fairview?
Post by: his holiness nb on January 21, 2008, 10:30:33 AM
I'm sure some of our dublin city posters can come up with a pub reccomendation.
Being a North county boy I wouldnt know  ;)
Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2008, 11:17:44 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 21, 2008, 10:23:41 AM
Ha

If it's Carlow then I can imagine Setanta citing "technical reasons" as to why the game won't be shown live.

Gaffney's. Used to be a great spot anyway. Haven't been there in a long time.
Post by: heffo on January 21, 2008, 11:19:48 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 21, 2008, 11:17:44 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 21, 2008, 10:23:41 AM
Ha

Gaffney's. Used to be a great spot anyway. Haven't been there in a long time.

Still a decent boozer. Kavanaghs at the bottom of the Malahide road is good for a pint too.
Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2008, 11:34:25 AM
Gaffney's used to have a "Men Only" sign on the bar door. Ah the good old days.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 21, 2008, 11:37:28 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 21, 2008, 11:34:25 AM
Gaffney's used to have a "Men Only" sign on the bar door. Ah the good old days.

Was it called "the blue oyster" back then?
:o
Post by: Hardy on January 21, 2008, 12:00:58 PM
Ooops
Post by: INDIANA on January 21, 2008, 01:09:07 PM
heard brian kavanagh is joining a dublin club- on a side issue.
Post by: North Longford on January 21, 2008, 01:17:46 PM
Been the rumour down this neck of the woods for a few months. Altho heard him still referred to as the Ardagh club man on our esteemed local radiop station last week. If he does he will make some club very happy. Once the Dirty Dubs keep their grubby hands off him I don't mind!!!!!!
Post by: heffo on January 21, 2008, 01:58:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 21, 2008, 01:09:07 PM
heard brian kavanagh is joining a dublin club- on a side issue.

It was supposed to be Crokes, but I've heard there is a last minute attempt from another club to get him..
Post by: Billys Boots on January 21, 2008, 02:03:49 PM
He's teaching in Dublin now, I believe.
Post by: LaurelEye on January 21, 2008, 04:10:18 PM
Quote from: North Longford on January 21, 2008, 01:17:46 PM
Been the rumour down this neck of the woods for a few months. Altho heard him still referred to as the Ardagh club man on our esteemed local radiop station last week. If he does he will make some club very happy. Once the Dirty Dubs keep their grubby hands off him I don't mind!!!!!!

Especially not if youse (or indeed, us) get Ardagh in the Senior Championship draw ;)
Post by: North Longford on January 21, 2008, 04:34:37 PM
We'll take every little advantage on offer. Although they were that poor when we played them last year even with him, I could understand his frustration to some extent and desire to move on. They were a complete 2 man team and with Enda Farrel giving Keenan all he could deal with and little Dec all over Kavanagh like a rash the 13 aside that went on around them was extremely one sided.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 21, 2008, 05:30:11 PM
What's the story with little Dec - is he not fit?
Post by: Gnevin on January 22, 2008, 10:23:12 PM
Well for a cold January,great game all things considered

Post by: North Longford on January 23, 2008, 09:05:28 AM
Any idea when the final is now. Whole weekends planing out the window.

Little Dec had a bit of an op on his knee but he's back training now. Nice rest for him  ;)
Post by: Gnevin on January 27, 2008, 08:53:47 PM
DUBLIN 1-15 CARLOW 1-7

Eight points from John O'Brien helped an experimental Dublin side to the final of the O'Byrne Cup following Sunday afternoon's semi-final replay victory in Dr Cullen Park, Carlow.

The Dubs will have home advantage for the defence of their title against Luke Dempsey's Longford in Parnell Park on Saturday, February 9 (5.0).

However, Dublin's victory came at a cost with midfielder Denis Bastick being red-carded in the 50th minute.

During the week Carlow were unlucky not to win in normal time as a Stephen O'Shaughnessy point in the dying moments forced extra-time but a much changed starting 15 shot out of the blocks to score the opening seven points of this encounter.

Dublin made eight changes to their team from the drawn semi-final and it had the desired effect as forwards Barry Kennedy and especially O'Brien impressed.

O'Brien kicked the first four points of the game and by the 22nd minute Dublin led 0-7 to 0-0. But before the interval the home side began to work their way back into the game and trailed 0-8 to 0-3 at the break.

Carlow made an encouraging restart with points from John Murphy and Eric McCormack (free) either side of a Conal Keaney effort for Dublin and would have expected to mount more of a challenge when Bastick was shown the red card with 20 minutes still to play.

It was not to be as Kennedy, O'Brien and Kennedy again put the finishing touches on some enterprising counter-attack play by Dublin to forge 0-12 to 0-5 clear with 15 minutes left on the clock.

Carlow corner-forward Eric McCormack did have a clear sight of goal but his angled drive flew outside Stephen Cluxton's left hand upright and further points from Dublin sub Declan Lally and wing-back Philip McMahon put Dublin out of sight.

A defensive mix up by David Henry presented John Murphy with a simple goal but the boys in blue responded quickly with a Conal Keaney '45' and fine McMahon goal.

SCORERS – Dublin: J O'Brien 0-8 (0-3f), P McMahon 1-1, B Kennedy 0-3, C Keaney 0-2 (0-1 '45'), D Lally 0-1. Carlow: J Murphy 1-3, E McCormack 0-3 (0-3f), R Walker 0-1.
DUBLIN – S Cluxton; D Henry, N O'Shea, S O'Shaughnessy; P McMahon, P Casey, D Murray; D Bastick, E Fennell; P Flynn, P Burke, D Ryan; J O'Brien, K Bonner, B Kennedy. Subs: B McManamon for Ryan (half-time), D Lally for Murray (39), C Keaney for Bonner (42), G Cullen for Burke (56), D Murray for O'Shea (59).
CARLOW – J Brennan; E Doyle, J Hayden, P Bambrick; A Curran, J Murphy, J Ryan; D Byrne, P Walsh; R Sinnott, R Walker, B Carberry; C Pender, K Doyle, E McCormack. Subs: S Gannon for Pender (22), JJ Smyth for Carberry (41), M Nolan for Curran (45), B Farrell for Doyle (61), J O'Connor for Doyle (67).
REF – J Bannon (Longford).

http://www.hill16.ie/viewstoryhill16.asp?id=9440&mainheading=Word+on+The+Hill&viewstory=yes

O'BYRNE CUP S.F. 2008

Sunday, 27th January 2008
Dr Cullen Park (2.00pm) - Dublin v Carlow (S/Final Replay)

Final
a) If Carlow v Longford - Venue: Carlow 24/2/08
b) If Dublin v Longford - Venue: Parnell Park 9/2/08

5.00 pm i believe
http://leinster.gaa.ie/fixtures/upcomingfixtures.asp

Have to say i've really enjoyed this years Cup . Some good football played and is great to see the young lads getting a run
Post by: his holiness nb on January 28, 2008, 09:36:29 AM
Bastick deserved to go, he threw a box, but barely caught the guy who went down like someone swung a bag of coal at him.

Comforable win for the Dubs, beautiful day too, any word of when the final is now?
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2008, 09:39:40 AM
That O'Brien lad looked comfortable taking scores, will be interesting to see if he can carry some of that form in to the NFL and Championship. It was a good game but Carlow were never in it really .
Post by: Gnevin on January 28, 2008, 09:47:42 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on January 28, 2008, 09:36:29 AM
Bastick deserved to go, he threw a box, but barely caught the guy who went down like someone swung a bag of coal at him.

Comforable win for the Dubs, beautiful day too, any word of when the final is now?
See above
5.00 on Saturday the 9th
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 28, 2008, 10:18:02 AM
You'd have to worry about de Dubs chances this year when a lad gets handshakes and pats on de back from the management for loosing his discipline and leaving his collegues a man short. Bastick should have gone before that anyway, as should de Carlow no 9. Anyways de Dubs had more than enough, need to find their first 15 now though, can't understand Lally not starting as he's what they need in de half forwards. Game nowhere near as good as de last day, pity...
Post by: heffo on January 28, 2008, 10:25:27 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 28, 2008, 10:18:02 AM
You'd have to worry about de Dubs chances this year when a lad gets handshakes and pats on de back from the management for loosing his discipline and leaving his collegues a man short. Bastick should have gone before that anyway, as should de Carlow no 9. Anyways de Dubs had more than enough, need to find their first 15 now though, can't understand Lally not starting as he's what they need in de half forwards. Game nowhere near as good as de last day, pity...

He's way too much of a loose cannon.

Got sent off twice in the NFL two years ago before he did his cruciate.

Lally has had more than enough chances at this stage and can't see him starting any championship game tbh..
Post by: Hound on January 29, 2008, 01:48:23 PM
The Final has been switched to Friday, February 8 (7.30) in Parnell Park.

Longford asked to have the game rescheduled as they have four GAA club dinner dances on the  Saturday night.

Also prevent a clash with the France-Ireland rugger match.