GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Star Spangler on December 07, 2006, 09:43:13 AM

Title: No more Ulster finals in Croke Park?
Post by: Star Spangler on December 07, 2006, 09:43:13 AM

Clones in line to undergo a massive €30m facelift
Irish Independent, Thursday 7th December 2006

ST TIERNACH'S Park in Clones is set to undergo a €30m facelift which could transform the Monaghan venue into one of the country's top grounds.

All that is required for the go ahead for the ambitious project, which would increase the ground's capacity from 35,000 to approximately 50,000, is for the Ulster Council to provide an undertaking that, except in the case of exceptional circumstances, the provincial football final will take place at Clones.

If this agreement is secured, the government is set to provide a significant level of financial assistance to make the project a viable proposition.

"We would hope that the government would come up with funding in the region of €12 million, and that the bulk of the remaining outlay would be provided by grants from the GAA and Ulster Council," explained Monaghan chairman John Connolly.

The top Monaghan official and members of his county board have already discussed the issue with Ulster Council president Micheál Greenan and secretary Danny Murphy.

And last week Connolly wrote to the council requesting a further meeting with the management committee of the provincial body.

"We know people are busy coming up to Christmas, but we hope that a meeting will be set up shortly after that," pointed out Connolly.

Helpful

"We have already met with John O'Donoghue (Minister for Sport) and we have found him to be very helpful. But we fully understand that he doesn't want to fund a white elephant, which Clones would become if the Ulster final wasn't played there on a regular basis."

For the last three years, the Ulster Council opted to stage their annual show piece at Croke Park with the 2004 tie between Armagh and Donegal and the 2005 clash involving Armagh and Tyrone attracting attendances in excess of 60,000.

But for this year's fixture between Armagh and Donegal just over 50,000 passed through the turnstiles.

"We can fully understand the Ulster Council opting for Croke Park when they are guaranteed a huge crowd, but we feel that Clones would have been adequate for this year's final," said Connolly.

"Between the corporate box and premium level seats you are virtually guaranteed 10,000 people before you start in Croke Park.

"As well as the Ulster final, we would also hope to stage games like league semi-finals at Clones," added the Monaghan official, who is confidently anticipating a Saint Tiernach's Park setting for the 2007 final because big crowd-pullers Armagh, Tyrone and Donegal are all in the same half of the draw.

The Monaghan official went on: "We've got an engineer to do a sketching of the proposed ground improvements which would incorporate putting another deck on the covered stand and putting a double deck stand at the road end where there is now terracing.

"Fifteen years ago, Clones was a fine ground but the time has now come for it to be substantially upgraded. As well as the increase in the capacity for the ground, we would hope to considerably improve the catering facilities."

An indication of the enterprise and ambition of the Monaghan county board is that they recently opened a €2.2m new county team training ground facility at Cloghan near Annyalla, with five training pitches, two of which are floodlit.

Paddy Hickey
Title: Re: No more Ulster finals in Croke Park?
Post by: thewobbler on December 07, 2006, 09:47:11 AM
I'm 100% behind any move to get the Ulster Final back to Clones and keep it there. I'd also love to see money being ploughed in to put a cover over the terraced stands. But I really don't want another 15,000 people travelling in and out of this town on match days.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on December 07, 2006, 09:51:17 AM
I would also like to think that road planning and parking is a major consideration in this proposal, if not, why not, because it is one of the major negative points pertaining to Clones
Post by: Star Spangler on December 07, 2006, 10:02:41 AM
Road access is a major problem for Clones.  It's bad enough as it is - with 50,000 people it would be impossible.  The Ulster Council should take this opportunity to rethink its strategy for the location of Ulster finals.  Healy Park is the obvious choice due to its location in the centre of Ulster and also its road access.  Unfortunately though the Irish government isn't going to invest €12 million (although they paid for the floodlights via the Ulster Council!) into a sports facility in Northern Ireland and there's no chance the British government will make a significant contribution to the GAA.  Obviously Casement is another option but it's distance from a lot of Ulster counties doesn't help its case.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on December 07, 2006, 10:03:09 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on December 07, 2006, 09:47:11 AM
I'm 100% behind any move to get the Ulster Final back to Clones and keep it there. I'd also love to see money being ploughed in to put a cover over the terraced stands. But I really don't want another 15,000 people travelling in and out of this town on match days.

It'll hardly matter where it is for you Wobbler...for another few years anyways!   :o  :D

....Only jokin'  ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on December 07, 2006, 10:10:10 AM
I can't understand why they would spend all this money on Clones.
Nobody likes going there mainly due to traffic congestion and the whole out-dated feel of the place.

Also, Croker only gets a limited No of games per year where they get more than their so-called break even point so taking away the Ulster final would be another loss of income.

Teams & managers love playing in Croke park & fans like going there, even if it does take longer to get home from.
Post by: thewobbler on December 07, 2006, 10:10:35 AM
Star Spnagler - I wouldn't be so sure about your Omagh roads theory. One of the longest trips I've ever had home from a game was from Healy Park in 2005, and there was only 16k at that game. Clones gets a lot of stick for its roads, but it also holds crowds twice the size of anywhere else in Ulster bar Casement. This doesn't mean it could handle a 50% hike in attendance by any means though.
Post by: David McKeown on December 07, 2006, 10:22:36 AM
I never liked the idea of the Ulster final beeing moved but if there going to bring it back to Clones they should announce that now as otherwise it might be seen as a slight on the teams involved espically if neither of them are Armagh
Post by: Donagh on December 07, 2006, 10:37:11 AM
Never mind the facelift, sort the feckin roads out and provide some parking.
Post by: Blue06 on December 07, 2006, 10:54:16 AM
A new road from Monaghan to Clones is imperative if this is to go ahead.  It could also help with the hospital situation in Monaghan.
It would take people in Nth Monaghan about an hour to get to their 'local' hospital in Cavan. 
Post by: Bogball XV on December 07, 2006, 10:57:40 AM
clones is a shithole, i hate going there (and  not just cos the last time I saw Derry win there was 2001 (that was nice though!).  Casement is Ulster's best and most accessible ground.
Post by: guy crouchback on December 07, 2006, 11:02:55 AM
where does all this leave the new stadium at the maze. if the ulster council are promising x number of games a year to the new stadium whats the point of redevoloping Clones?
Post by: Fuzzman on December 07, 2006, 11:05:59 AM
Has there ever been a Ulster final in Casement?

What was the largest attendance at a match in casement?
How many of you would be happy to have the final held in Belfast?

Post by: snatter on December 07, 2006, 11:19:55 AM
Imho, a brand new fully covered stadium @ the Maze beats either Clones or Casement.

The simple truth is that it would cost us too much to bring Casement or Clones up to the level of what is proposed at the Maze.

The big problems with Clones are
1. location - it never made any sense to have Ulster's main stadium in in its far south west corner.
2. transport infrastructur is appalling. No matter how much it improves, it will never match having the M1 motorway at your front door.

The big problem with Casement is that it will never have the space to expand to be a fully covered, 2/3 rds seated stadium, which is what the GAA in Ulster are looking for.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on December 07, 2006, 11:26:51 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 07, 2006, 10:10:10 AM
Nobody likes going there mainly due to traffic congestion and the whole out-dated feel of the place.

I like going to Clones...I'd imagine most Cavan, Monaghan & Armagh people prefer Clones. Even South & East Tyronies would be happy enough with Clones!

Parking isn't a problem in Clones....not compared to Croke Park anyways!
Post by: Mid Mon on December 07, 2006, 11:35:14 AM
Fermanagh wouldn't have a problen with Clones either, its on their door step. that only leaves Donegal, Derry, Antrim and Down. Donegal will unfortunatly have to travel a longer distance regardless and the other 3 can play their Hurling final in Casement.
Post by: Donagh on December 07, 2006, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on December 07, 2006, 11:26:51 AM

Try it on a wet Sunday afternoon when you're parked a mile out the Monaghan Rd, on the grass verge, with no footpath and a load of kids in toe. Dublin has loads of multi-storey parking, footpaths, busses and even people who don't charge for the privilege of parking outside their houses.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 07, 2006, 12:34:14 PM
they'd want to get an equal investment put into the town - well more so the infrastructure as said.

I like Clones, but the parking and roads are a disaster
Post by: Goats Do Shave on December 07, 2006, 01:30:22 PM
Quote from: Donagh on December 07, 2006, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on December 07, 2006, 11:26:51 AM

Try it on a wet Sunday afternoon when you're parked a mile out the Monaghan Rd, on the grass verge, with no footpath and a load of kids in toe. Dublin has loads of multi-storey parking, footpaths, busses and even people who don't charge for the privilege of parking outside their houses.

Has Dublin got a roof on it from I was last there??  :-\

- Surely you can get yourself the GAA essentials of waterproofs...mine are always packed for such occasions...beats the umbrella brigade!!! (No need to start that argument again!!)  ;)

Didn't hear of anyone getting clamped in Clones either...
Post by: Donagh on December 07, 2006, 01:46:57 PM
I do have waterproofs, but I draw the line at having to wear wellies to a game.
Post by: armaghniac on December 07, 2006, 01:49:05 PM
A couple of issues here. The traffic problems in Clones are considerable, but a similar crowd at another venue wouldn't be any better and the completion of the Castleblayney and Monaghan bypasses may improve things. Casement has the M1, but you either filter through the Stockman's lane roundabout or head off on city streets to another junction, neither of these options will be exactly free flowing. Congestion is worst when most of traffic approaching from the same direction. Omagh would not meet the bill in this case, any combination of Armagh/Cavan/Down/Monaghan would have pretty much everyone trying to make their way from Ballygawley.

The question is what should be capacity be? This may depend on whether the Maze is ever to be built. Of Ulster final combinations any combination of Fermanagh/Cavan/Monaghan/Derry/Antrim would probably fit into the current capacity and would be facilitated by a modest increase in capacity to 40000 and a roof or two. Donegal people seem more willing to travel to Croke Pk than Clones. Tyrone/Armagh/Down could probably raise a crowd beyond the current capacity, especially if one or more of these teams are competitive at national level. With the improvement in the Dublin-Belfast road Armagh and Down people could almost get to Croke Pk as handy as anywhere, if the capacity was needed. It might be better to improve Clones to a 400000-42000 capacity and still play games every few years in Croke Pk if the demand is there.
Post by: hows she cutting on December 07, 2006, 01:50:19 PM
have to say i'm a fan of Clones myself, the 13 men win against Derry in 95 was the scene of one of Tyrones greatest triumphs. Still don't know why Pascal Canavan was sent off though!!

always good craic in the town before and after games

defo need to sort road and parking out though before increasing the capacity
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 07, 2006, 02:06:14 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 07, 2006, 11:05:59 AM
Has there ever been a Ulster final in Casement?

What was the largest attendance at a match in casement?
How many of you would be happy to have the final held in Belfast?

It was played there in the 1950s/1960s - the Ulster Final attendance record that lasted for many years was set in Casement - 41,000 for the 1961 Ulster Final between Armagh and Down.

The whole issue though raises many questions, not least of which is the Maze project. Prior to going to Croke Park, I always felt that Clones needed to be extended to about 50k - and there is the room to do that. As has also been stated though, Dublin is getting as handy as Clones with the improvement in the roads, so the need for a 50K stadium is diminishing.

By the way, outside of Croker, I would have to say Clones currently is as modern a GAA stadium as there is!
Post by: cavanmaniac on December 07, 2006, 02:31:12 PM
This thread came up in the summer and someone has already posted a thread about stadium planning in the GAA, and rightly so.

Basically, there's a culture of lunacy in the GAA when it comes to developing stadia. Everyone builds the shiny edifice first and then worries about the potential games to be played there later. Already we have county boards in a few counties bemoaning the lack of games being played at their expensive new grounds.

Kingspan Breffni Park is on a par with Clones at the moment, the town itself is nicer and more accessible but it gets damn all games. Not saying it should get Ulster finals as these need to be more central but the odd Ulster semi, if the geography of the pairing suits, wouldn't go astray.

The gaelic grounds in Limerick is a fine, fine stadium...how many major games does it get to justify the capacity?
Ditto with Wexford Park.
Ditto with Nowlan Park.
Ditto with O'Moore Park.
Salthill, Castlebar (also to be redeveloped), Hyde Park.
And that's just a few.

Pairc Ui Chaoimh and Thurles also in line for major makeovers. WHY? With Limerick's stadium and Fitzgerald Park in Killarney, just how many 40,000 plus stadia does the GAA in Munster need? Building massive vanity projects and then squabbling for the two/three big games every year will eventually just play into the hands of other codes who will press to use them on the basis that they're lying idle so often with big debts to service. I wasn't against opening Croker but other provincial grounds should be off-limits.

Clones going to 50,000 capacity is unwarranted. 40,000 at a push would do, spend the rest of the money putting rooves on what's there already and end the stupid practice of huge open bowl stadia in the GAA with everyone getting bloody soaked on a wet day. There are very few pairings in an Ulster final that would attract more than the current 35,000 capacity so why do it and it'll further cripple the exisiting 'infrastructure' such as it is.

There simply is not the games or the attendances to justify the massive outlay on stadia which will lie idle or seldom if ever be full to the capacity they so proudly trumpet about. Someone needs to gran hold of this so the money goes on more deserving needs.
Post by: Bogball XV on December 07, 2006, 02:41:07 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on December 07, 2006, 02:31:12 PM
Basically, there's a culture of lunacy in the GAA when it comes to developing...  Building massive vanity projects and then squabbling for the two/three big games every year will eventually just play into the hands of other codes who will press to use them on the basis that they're lying idle so often with big debts to service. Someone needs to gran hold of this so the money goes on more deserving needs.
Yeah, but if they didn't spend all the money them greedy players would be in a stronger position to demand some recompense for getting the privelege of playing for their county, the scoundrels......
Post by: HaHaHealyPark on December 07, 2006, 03:30:33 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on December 07, 2006, 10:02:41 AM
Road access is a major problem for Clones.  It's bad enough as it is - with 50,000 people it would be impossible.  The Ulster Council should take this opportunity to rethink its strategy for the location of Ulster finals.  Healy Park is the obvious choice due to its location in the centre of Ulster and also its road access.  Unfortunately though the Irish government isn't going to invest €12 million (although they paid for the floodlights via the Ulster Council!) into a sports facility in Northern Ireland and there's no chance the British government will make a significant contribution to the GAA.  Obviously Casement is another option but it's distance from a lot of Ulster counties doesn't help its case.

Healy Park is the obvious choice - it can hardly be accused of offering the home team an advantage hardly! I'm smiling again ;D
Post by: The Bottom Brick on December 07, 2006, 08:35:57 PM
QuoteDublin has loads of multi-storey parking,

not within an asses roar of Croker though
Post by: Onlooker on December 07, 2006, 08:59:22 PM
I live a long way from Clones, but always enjoyed Ulster Final day.  The atmosphere in the town was always something special and there was a great view from The Hill.  The traffic situation obviously depended on the teams playing, but coming into Clones from the Cavan side or through Newtownbutler it was usually not too bad.   No doubt it could be very bad coming from  Armagh or Down.  I think that Croke Park will always be an option, depending on the likely attendance, but that Clones would be a suitable venue more often than not.
Post by: J70 on December 07, 2006, 09:53:18 PM

Kingspan Breffni Park is on a par with Clones at the moment, the town itself is nicer and more accessible but it gets damn all games. Not saying it should get Ulster finals as these need to be more central but the odd Ulster semi, if the geography of the pairing suits, wouldn't go astray.

Its just about as central as Clones, and given the work done, it should get more games. Anyway, aside from seriously upgrading somewhere like Omagh, there is no location that is fairly central to everybody.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on December 07, 2006, 10:06:10 PM

The rest of your point though more or less hit the nail on the head. When Casement was done up a number of years ago, it was guaranteed one semi-final in Ulster each year, with Clones getting the other. Too many good stadiums and not enough big games. The likes of Cavan therefore gets squeezed out.

By the way, Breffni is a lovely ground since it was done up!
Post by: Elias on December 07, 2006, 10:26:14 PM
I've always enjoyed going to Clones, as long as I'm not driving that is. I really believe the best answer to this problem is to redevelop Casement. I know the infrastructure is not perfect, but it's a long long way better than the roads of Monaghan.

Yes the M1 can become blocked at the height of rush hour but it seldom comes to a standstill, and travelling to work via the M1 for 2 years before I moved here leaves me to believe it's the best possible solution.

Yes a crash on the motorway would stick two fingers up to my argument but that can happen on any road; and lets be honest usually will when you get a concentrated flow of traffic to one particular destination.

Anyway I would be happy as long as the UF moved back to Ulster, never really liked with having it in CP, but still attended because I'm not gonna be fool enough to stay away because of a slight gripe.

Plus because I now live in Belfast I have a meger 10 min taxi journey to get to Casement  ;D
Post by: Donagh on December 07, 2006, 10:47:54 PM
Quote from: The Bottom Brick on December 07, 2006, 08:35:57 PM
QuoteDublin has loads of multi-storey parking,

not within an asses roar of Croker though

Get a bus from Parnell Sq carpark or 20 minute walk. I've never had a problem parking in the College either...
Post by: Fionntamhnach on December 07, 2006, 11:29:13 PM
Apart from geography, one thing that would stop me supporting Casement Park from being a venue for Ulster finals is that any time I've been to it, the atmosphere has been dead even in a near packed house. Clones, for all its faults, when near capacity is electric.
Post by: Mid Mon on December 08, 2006, 08:45:13 AM
Did anyone have the experience of bricks been thrown of bridges at your bus on the way to Clones?
Post by: Donagh on December 08, 2006, 09:22:28 AM
Quote from: Mid Mon on December 08, 2006, 08:45:13 AM
Did anyone have the experience of bricks been thrown of bridges at your bus on the way to Clones?
Have had the windows put through on a few occassions passing Portadown.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 08, 2006, 09:26:14 AM
Quote from: Mid Mon on December 08, 2006, 08:45:13 AM

what part of Tyrone was that in? ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on December 08, 2006, 10:42:25 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 08, 2006, 09:26:14 AM
what part of Tyrone was that in? ;)
;D ;D
Probably Cookstown as usual ;)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on December 08, 2006, 11:36:22 AM
Being a Clones man (but living in Belfast for 13 years) I find it interesting to read the pros/cons about St Tiernachs Park on this thread. Of course I'm gonna be biased towards it but I duly take on board the problems with getting in and out out the place. In that rescpect I would say if 40/50K people descended on any small town in Ireland on any given day it would seriously stress the road network in that area! Parking is an issue but if the GAA are serious about this then either develop a car parking facilty or maybe a park/ride system on the Monaghan Rd route for example to ease the pressure. I amd not on the main Newtownbutler/Cavan/Monaghan side of the town and have never personally had much trouble getting in or out of the place.

In terms of economics, 15/20 years ago Clones was a prosperous border town (remember this is when the roads surrounding the town leading to NI were all closed and it was common to buy fuel/food/electrical goods 'across the border, paying you're VAT to the Irish Customs on the way back in of course...) but now for want of a better word 'is on it's knees' with very little small business or the prospect of existing in the town anymore. Why am I say this? Well the prospect of the Ulster Final returning to the town has massive implications for the people of the town and I personally think it would be great to see it back there. I know people are gonna have a go at me about the services/rip-off culture/parking in the town and I accept that alot of work needs to be done in this area. If the people of Clones get this oppotunity then they better not f**K it up as they will face the consequences, and rightly so.

As one poster said, when St Tiernachs in near capacity the atmosphere is electric, and I think it is, given the fact that it's not always Monaghan I'm goin to watch there!! I would say the main leveraging point about this issue is the potential funding from the Irish Sports Council and the age old adage that 'the GAA don't have to pay VAT on tickets sold in the Repbulic Of Ireland'. So for all the arguments surrouding Healy Park/Casement I think that Clones will get the go-ahead for this reason, be it the right decision or not I'm afriad!

I live in Belfast and really enjoy Casement for it's convenience and think the playing surface is first class, but there is zero atmosphere before/after big games there which let's face it, is part of the fabric of the GAA in IMHO.

Post by: snatter on December 08, 2006, 01:29:43 PM
I think that Clones/Monaghan have a damn nerve to try and dictate how the GAA spend €18 million of its own money.
The sole criteria should be what's good for Ulster GAA, not for the rip-off merchants of Clones.

Read carefully what Monaghan are saying:

"We would hope that the government would come up with funding in the region of €12 million, and that the bulk of the remaining outlay would be provided by grants from the GAA and Ulster Council," explained Monaghan chairman John Connolly.

Yep, sign away your right to play your finals where they make most sense, then spend €18 million on the wrong ground, in the wrong location.

And after spending €18 million of our own money, what do we get?
In their own words
"another deck on the covered stand and putting a double deck stand at the road end where there is now terracing."

That's right, a sub standard half stadium, where roughly two thirds of the capacity will be standing and uncovered.

As said before, casement doesn't have the room to expand.

If we go down the Maze route, however, we get a wholly covered, 80% seated proper stadium, in a far better location, for next to nowt.
As for atmosphere, its best when you've got a roof above you to catch the noise.
Post by: armaghniac on December 08, 2006, 01:49:29 PM
Monaghan are not "dictating" to the GAA, they are proposing a development and seeking support for it, as counties all over the country have done. The Maze stadium is something for nothing and that's a hard proposition to resist. But what's so good about its location?  Going to Clones you can stick the flag on your car and stop off en route for an ice cream, can you do that going to the Maze? The Maze location is extremely vulnerable to some future Drumcree type thing where somebody leaves a parcel under an M1 flyover. A roof on the Maze would be good for atmosphere, but when you come out, there is nothing outside the stadium.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on December 08, 2006, 02:07:00 PM
Here here Armaghniac, there are an awful lot of folk getting the wrong opinion of this whole medai hype. As you say there are proposals country wide so why shouldn't Clones try and as I said in my previous post, it needs it financially... I remember when the Maze Issue first raised it's ugly head the negativity that was relfected on this board. Now alot of folk are all for it?  ??? Some people have very short memories...
Post by: snatter on December 08, 2006, 02:34:47 PM
Armaghniac,

If Monaghan insist that all future finals are played in Clones, then they ARE dictating to the GAA.

If this development was good enough, it would be able to stand on its own two feet, and not try and force the GAA to sign away its right to stage finals whereever suits best.

If most of the fans had seats, a roof over their heads, and could get home relatively quickly, then there'd be no need to sign away anything.
It's better for the GAA not to get hooked into long term deals that seem attractive at the time. Look at the shite that the IFA will have to go through to break their similar agreement with Linfield.

Re
QuoteGoing to Clones you can stick the flag on your car and stop off en route for an ice cream, can you do that going to the Maze?

If this is your most important consideration about stadium location, then why not have it in Cork, there'd be plenty of ice cream shops on the way down  ???
Post by: OdoSkimodo on December 08, 2006, 02:50:33 PM
Where are you from snatter?

What is your pro maze argument? It's got a roof? Location?
Post by: Mid Mon on December 08, 2006, 03:02:02 PM
The main stand and the road-side terrace becoming 2 tier stands will result in 50% covered seating accommodation with approximately another 25% of the stadium of been seated. Based on the current capacity of around 36000, 26000 of that is in the two sides that are not on the initial plan for development which leads a 24000 capacity for the two new stands.
Post by: bennydorano on December 08, 2006, 03:06:41 PM
I'd take Clones anyday over Casement and Croke Park(for UF), the roads are a nightmare at times but to be honest I tend to miss most of it by staying for a few after the game or by haring it down to the motor straight after the game.

The Maze may offer a spanking new stadium but it will be a sterile environment in the middle of an area not overly fond of the GAA  ;)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on December 11, 2006, 04:35:49 PM
Quote from: snatter on December 08, 2006, 02:34:47 PM
If Monaghan insist that all future finals are played in Clones, then they ARE dictating to the GAA.
If this development was good enough, it would be able to stand on its own two feet, and not try and force the GAA to sign away its right to stage finals whereever suits best.

Again, this is part of the tendering process. I think they are correct to put clauses in place, not much point in developing a white elephant now is there? Anyways, you seem to be vehemently opposed to the idea of extending Clones yet you haven't really given us any insight into your alternatives?

Post by: Evil Genius on December 11, 2006, 08:26:25 PM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/breaking...icle2065253.ece

Brennan says GAA is committed to proposed Maze stadium
Monday, December 11, 2006

GAA president Nicky Brennan has said the association is fully committed to the sports stadium being proposed for the former site of the Maze Prison in the North.
In a statement today, Mr Brennan said recent speculation to the contrary was unfounded.

The sports stadium is being proposed as part of the redevelopment plans for the former Maze site.

AFAIK, the GAA originally agreed to be the main tenant, both in terms of matches played there and total rent paid. Today's brief statement (above) would appear to reiterate that.

Is there some sort of political (small "p") dispute going on somewhere within GAA circles, either within Ulster, or nationally?
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2006, 09:46:52 PM
In all the years of going to Clones I have to honestly say I've never had a problem with traffic/parking/crowds. A fine venue with lots of historical connotations.

Casement is fine but lacks any sense of pre and post match camaraderie.
Post by: Mid Mon on December 14, 2006, 10:27:23 AM
QuoteSt. Tiarnach's Park in the news
12 December 2006

St Tiarnach's Park, Clones has often featured in GAA headlines and the odd time maybe for not the best of reasons but as the venue for practically every Ulster final since 1944 it was never far from the GAA mindset.

The development of new stadia, particularly those with floodlighting systems is a major item on the GAA agenda at the moment. By the turn of the year four pitches, Ballybofey, Omagh, Casement Park and Breffni Park will have state-of-the-art floodlighting systems in operation with a couple of others to follow a such as Newry and Armagh in 2007. The revamped Brewster Park in Enniskillen where work is on-going will also have a system up to match standards which would leave Monaghan as the only county without a floodlit stadium.

There was much debate and indeed at times heated debate and comment in the public arena when the last three Ulster finals were switched to Croke Park, thereby prompting the powers that be at local level to look at a redevelopment of the long-standing premier venue in the province. To that end a special committee was set up locally in Monaghan with representatives from Monaghan County Board, the business interests of Clones and the wider business community in Monaghan as well as representatives of local political parties, to investigate the possibility of securing some funding for an upgrade to St. Tiarnach's Park.

What would be needed would be a scheme that would increase the capacity from just under 35,000 at the moment to somewhere between 45,000 and 50,000 and practically all seated, as well as a floodlighting system up to television standards. Costs in the region of 30 to 40 million euro have been suggested but central to any funding that might be forthcoming from government or lottery sources would be an undertaking from the Ulster Council that the Ulster finals, except in exceptional circumstances, would be back in Clones. Monaghan County Board chairman, John Connolly raised this matter at last year's county convention in Monaghan and subsequently with the Ulster Council and he is one of the people pushing hard to see this become a reality. "We would hope that the government would come up with funding in the region of 12 to 14 million euro and that the bulk of the remaining costs would be met from within the GAA at provincial and national level. We have already discussed this with representatives of the Ulster Council and we will be seeking another meeting with them very shortly. The Minister for Sport and Tourism, John O'Donoghue was in Monaghan recently to open the New Leisure Centre in Monaghan town and in a short meeting with him we broached the subject and he showed more than a passing interest to say the least.

However the condition about the return of the Ulster final would be central to that because without the final coming back the revamped stadium could be seen as something of a white elephant. The upgrading of Clones and getting the Ulster finals back there has been very high on my agenda since I became chairman of Monaghan County Board and it will continue to be there. I would be hopeful that next year's final could be staged there because all the teams that attract the biggest followings are on the one side of the draw but a redeveloped Clones could also stage many other matches and indeed other activities particularly if we had floodlights. The committee that I am on locally has investigated this to the extent that we have had sketches done of what we would propose as part of the development by increasing the seating capacity all around the ground. I would be the first to acknowledge that what was sufficient 10 years ago, maybe even five years ago is no longer adequate as far as what people attending our games want. People need to be comfortable, they need to be seated and we have to also allow for families who wish to attend our games. I realise it's an ambitious project but if everyone is committed I am very confident that we can make progress and that we will see the Ulster finals once again being staged in the province of Ulster".