Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 12:41:49 AM

Title: Petrol/Diesel prices in your area
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 12:41:49 AM
Just curious to know how much is being charged for petrol and diesel around the country, given the hike in prices last week. Up by about 7c around Sligo, an utter rip-off, but it could be the case that the Rally might give them an excuse to charge high for the week ahead.

From my travels, the following prices were noted (NB my interest is in diesel, so I'm not 100% certain of the petrol):

Sligo town - 121.9 for both, across the board. Didn't see the off-bypass ones though, but I suspect it's no different. Were generally 114 a week ago.
Collooney - 121.9, up from 112 last week.
Ballymote- a rare case, the diesel is dearer than petrol, 121.9 to 120.9. Up by 9c in diesel's case, a bit less for petrol.
Tubbercurry - Doohan's is 117-115 for P-D, the cheapest i've seen in SO, while the station on the Curry side is 2c dearer. Not sure how much that's up though. Didn't see McCarrick's.
Ballina - the station on the Cross road is 117-115 for P-D, while there's another one there nearer the town 2c higher. Others appear to be higher still.
Crossmolina - around 119-117 IIRC in the station on the Belmullet side.
Belmullet - 120-119 for P-D, that being the one on the Bangor road. One on that peninsula side not showing prices, like the station in Bangor.

Apparently Ballinamore is around 116 for petrol, while Carrick isn't much dearer. I'd expect the one in Castlebaldwin would be reasonable too, but one wonders about that.  :D

Prior to the increase, Galway city was around 116 for both, while Tuam was about 4-5c cheaper. Ballindine was dirt cheap for diesel - all three stations at 107, with the petrol not too much higher. Apparently Claremorris was around that figure too. But they will all be higher now of course.

Any other prices of note? NB for conversion purposes, £1 = €1.42 at present, or €1 = £0.70.
Title: Re: Petrol/Diesel prices in your area
Post by: Goats Do Shave on November 12, 2007, 08:10:58 AM
£1.04 On the Portydown Road this morning!!!  >:( >:(
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 12, 2007, 08:52:02 AM
Kildare Town - Diesel 1.13 Petrol 1.16
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 12, 2007, 08:54:15 AM
Mcanerneys in armagh was £1.07 On saturday
Post by: The Subbie on November 12, 2007, 09:07:15 AM
Monaghan town 120.6 for diesel  :( :(
Post by: Ryano on November 12, 2007, 09:19:38 AM
I was coming out of Dublin yesterday and needed Diesel so i pulled into a Statoil on the quays. Hopped out, opened the tank and reached for the pump. Then copped the price, 179.9 for both Petrol and Diesel. Are they taking the piss??? I'd sooner have pushed the f*ckin car to Galway rather then pay that. Hopped back into the car and hit off out the motorway. Filled up out the road for 117. What amazed me though was that there were people all around me filling up there cars @179.9. Muppets!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 12, 2007, 09:58:33 AM
Quote from: Ryano on November 12, 2007, 09:19:38 AM
I was coming out of Dublin yesterday and needed Diesel so i pulled into a Statoil on the quays. Hopped out, opened the tank and reached for the pump. Then copped the price, 179.9 for both Petrol and Diesel. Are they taking the piss??? I'd sooner have pushed the f*ckin car to Galway rather then pay that. Hopped back into the car and hit off out the motorway. Filled up out the road for 117. What amazed me though was that there were people all around me filling up there cars @179.9. Muppets!
Supposedly the reason for the ridiculous price is that this filling station has the garda contract and so it doesn't really matter what they charge, as they will have guaranteed revenue.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 12, 2007, 10:13:52 AM

the funny thing was that a few years ago, it was the cheapest place for petrol/diesel in dublin - and was for yonks before that.
Now as it has the cop deal, and is the only petrol station around for a fair bit - they can,and get a lot of custom.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 12, 2007, 11:14:56 AM
Filled up this morning in Statoil just north of Ashbourne on the N2, 119.8 for diesel, think petrol was the same.
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 11:16:07 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 12, 2007, 10:13:52 AM

the funny thing was that a few years ago, it was the cheapest place for petrol/diesel in dublin - and was for yonks before that.
Now as it has the cop deal, and is the only petrol station around for a fair bit - they can,and get a lot of custom.

Rumor has it Statoil are none too happy about this and will be pulling their franchise from this station soon.

Poor city planning really .If you don't know Dublin well and your rightly stuck your not going to risk driving around looking for the 1 other city centre garage i can think of.
Post by: An Fear Rua on November 12, 2007, 11:21:52 AM
statet prices seem very high, the shell near me was 99p a litre this morning
Post by: Orior on November 12, 2007, 12:53:45 PM
I never look at the price. Am I stinkin rich or what?

Life is too short to spend half the day driving around looking for the cheapest. And when you do find the cheapest, some bar stewart will be around the corner waiting to tell you he got his even cheaper.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 12, 2007, 01:11:26 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 12, 2007, 12:53:45 PM
I never look at the price. Am I stinkin rich or what?

Life is too short to spend half the day driving around looking for the cheapest. And when you do find the cheapest, some bar stewart will be around the corner waiting to tell you he got his even cheaper.
Maybe so, but we're getting a seriously bad deal around Sligo and its surrounds, the price here has become a rip-off, so anywhere that doesn't engage in that deserves to get business for doing so. Sligo and Tubber are the same distance to me either way, but there's 4-5c in the difference, so it's worth the journey.
Post by: muppet on November 12, 2007, 01:13:45 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 12, 2007, 09:58:33 AM
Supposedly the reason for the ridiculous price is that this filling station has the garda contract and so it doesn't really matter what they charge, as they will have guaranteed revenue.

Urban legend I'm afraid BnMM. The Gárdaí, like other huge fuel consumers, use fuel cards. They pay Statoil or whoever a set rate regardless of the price on the pump. You will see squad cars at that station but they don't pay that rate.

As for the price, consider that we are actually getting it quite cheap thanks to the weak dollar. Imagine if the Dollar and Euro were close to parity. We would have 30%-40% higher prices!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 12, 2007, 01:37:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 12, 2007, 01:13:45 PM

Urban legend I'm afraid BnMM. The Gárdaí, like other huge fuel consumers, use fuel cards. They pay Statoil or whoever a set rate regardless of the price on the pump. You will see squad cars at that station but they don't pay that rate.
It was in Sindo, so it must be true!  ;D

Garda fumes at petrol contract

NIAMH HORAN

ONE of the most expensive petrol stations in Ireland is being used by a steady stream of Garda and ambulance drivers contracted by the State to use its pumps.

As part of what is believed to be a deal between the Government and Statoil, gardai and ambulance drivers working within the city centre are being told to use the pricey Statoil station on Usher's Quay, opposite the Four Courts.

As a result, gardai and ambulance drivers are travelling large distances to fill up at the city-centre pumps.

The station - which is currently charging €1.35 per litre of petrol compared with the average of 99¢-€1.02 per litre - is being used to fill the tanks of patrol cars from a number of the city centre's main garda stations.

One garda estimated that it is costing the taxpayer up to €300 a week to fill his patrol car.

While filling his State vehicle at the gas pumps, the garda told the Sunday Independent that he thought the decision to use one of the most expensive petrol stations in the country was "ridiculous".

"I don't know of any other Statoil in the city centre; I would always use this one," he told us. "This car would use up about 35 litres a day because it's going 24 hours.

"It's not my call, though - it's a State car. They want me to come here because it's the main Statoil petrol station in the city centre.

"The next Statoil station is in Clondalkin, I think, so this is where all the guards have to come - be they from Kilmainham, Pearse Street, Kevin Street or Harcourt Terrace - to get their petrol. It's absolutely ridiculous - but that's the State for you . . . they're backward."

He continued: "I'd be happy to use somewhere else if I could. I use the Shell station for my own car and it's only around 99¢ a litre, so I'm happy with that. But this is a State car, so it doesn't really bother me."

An ambulance driver with the Health Service Executive who was also filling his vehicle at the pumps at €1.35 had the same attitude. "It's not my problem," he said. "I don't do the contracts. I just find the nearest Statoil petrol station and fill it."

Meanwhile, a spokesperson for the HSE said: "It's a value-for-money thing more than anything else." They then explained their reasoning. "Where on-site fuel is not available for Ambulance Emergency Responsive Vehicles, prior arrangements have been put in place at a local level with Statoil.

"This arrangement was made with Statoil in line with the required criteria to meet the specific needs of the Ambulance Emergency Responsive Vehicles and to run an efficient ambulance service."

She cited the need for 24-hour accessibility to a fuelling service all year round, the proximity of the fuelling stations to the areas in which ambulances operate and the need for a facility that provides a traceable service among the list of reasons why specific petrol stations were chosen.

When contacted, management at the Statoil station had no comment to make.

The Gardai said: "We have contracts with a number of fuel suppliers to supply fuel to the gardai.

"These contracts are awarded following a competitive tendering process which is undertaken by the Government Supplies Agency on behalf of the Garda Siochana," said the Gardai.
Post by: muppet on November 12, 2007, 03:42:12 PM
Ah yes Niamh Horan, the one who used every 'asset' she had to get into a Rap star's Hotel after show party and then was so shocked when he suggested something more than a dance that she had to write and tell the nation about it.

Sunday April 08 2007

NIAMH HORAN
I'LL let you in on a little secret; when a rapper says 'party', he doesn't exactly mean it in our innocent sense of the word.

Believe me, take my advice, or you'll find out like I did; the hard way.

It all started when a friend and I were invited back to join the godfathers of hip hop, P Diddy and Snoop Dogg, at their after-show party at plush Four Seasons Hotel last Sunday night.

The superstar duo were in town for the final night of the European tour and I've been a serious fan of their music since my early teens.

Naturally I was unhappy when we got stuck at the back of the concert arena.

What to do? I decided to chance my arm to secure a better view of my heroes. I toddled up to security personnel at the pit, flashed a winning smile and asked if there was any way I could get in to the front-of-stage trench filled with screaming fans.

"Not a hope," came the stern reply. But after laying on the charm a little bit more he pointed to a tall black guy wearing very snazzy pyjamas. This was the man, apparently, who could make my request come true.

Seconds later I got the OK and for the next two and a half hours my friend and I were neck deep among the hard-core sweaty fans getting down to lyrics like "Get my drink on, and my smoke on, then go home with, something to poke on (whassup bitch?)".

In hindsight it should have all been so clear. The lyrics told the story.

So, as the concert was finishing, I asked my friend if she wanted to beat the crowd. But just as we were leaving the pit I spotted Snoop Dogg himself on the other side of the steel barrier, making his way from the stage to his dressing room.

I grabbed his attention and next thing I know I was holding his hand and telling him how much I love him and his music. My fleeting rendezvous left me feeling all giddy and flustered and I was laughing at the sheer luck of it all when we spotted a group of girls being led in back stage.

"What's going on?" I asked the security guard. "These girls are going to the after-show party," came the reply.

My eyes lit up and thoughts of a Cristal cork-popping extravaganza start swirling in my head. Again I asked the security guard. Any chance? He shakes his head "no way".

Not being one to be easily deterred I persisted until I saw another guy giving orders who looked to be fairly high up the chain of command.

I put on my biggest puppy dog eyes, "Any chance of getting to that after-show party?" I smile. Bingo. He opened the steel barrier and waved my friend and I through.

So we're shown through a set of red doors and, along with a small group of girls, escorted out to a waiting bus. Standing next to it was my saviour in the pyjamas, who later claimed to be Snoop Dogg's uncle, holding two giant bottles of champagne.

So there we allwere, a group of giddy, giggling girls, unable to believe our luck, when we got a final word of warning in a deep south American drawl from our escort, "If you don't wanna party, don't get on the bus".

My friend and I looked at each other, "Of course we want to party with P Diddy and his crew, what kind of question is that?"

Once on the fully air-conditioned bus with blacked-out windows and tables, the excitement began to build up among the chosen girls. One by one we started applying our make-up in anticipation of the big bash.

Once in the hotel, however, things quickly began to go downhill as hotel management stopped us in our tracks on the way to the room saying that, for legal reasons, non-residents weren't allowed up to the suites.

So there we were, standing in the lobby with Snoop Dogg's uncle and some bottles of Cristal, trying to think of a way for him to get us up, when P Diddy strolled by. Don't get excited, I told myself, you'll be partying with him soon enough.

Ah, but that's when the penny began to drop and the reason we were so 'privileged' to be invited to the exclusive get-together suddenly became clear.

As a couple of the guys who were on stage with P Diddy strutted in, one of them pointed at me and said: "I want that one." I got all excited at what I thought was my ticket to the party and asked if my pal could come along too.

"I got two," he shouted to another member of the entourage, across the lobby.

Then he turned to me and asked straight out. "What are you going to do to me?"

"Sorry?" came my reply. "What do you mean?"

"Whisper in my ear what you gonna do to me, I want you to talk dirty," he demanded.

Dumbfounded, I look over at my friend for help. "Tell him in Irish, Niamh," she offered, hoping I could get away with murmuring 'Conas ata tu' in his ear.

"No, No," says the now increasingly frustrated musician. "Tell me in English."

He looked at the shocked, somewhat embarrassed expression on my face, and continued sharply: "There are a lot of girls who wanna come to this party you know. Now are you going to get naked with me. Yes or no?"

Still nothing but a blank expression on my face.

"Fine," he snapped. And stormed off before coming back when he saw another of the entourage talking to me.

"That sh*t ain't game," he shouted, pointing at me, obviously advising them not to bring me to the party because I wouldn't put out.

The dude claiming to be Snoop Dogg's uncle came over to ask what I had done to make him angry. I told him my story, hoping to get some sympathy but I was quickly put in my place.

"I told you, you don't want to party, don't get on the bus!"

Indeed. Hindsight's a wonderful thing. When these boys say party - they don't mean jelly and ice cream.

Post by: The Iceman on November 12, 2007, 03:46:31 PM
$2.83 per gallon at the minute  - not too bad at all - though it went up 50cents in 4 weeks :(
Post by: ludermor on November 12, 2007, 03:55:35 PM
I thought Snoop was a nice clean living type of guy, except for the blue movies.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 12, 2007, 05:27:53 PM
So that's what passes for journalism these days....
Post by: thebandit on November 12, 2007, 05:34:01 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 12, 2007, 09:58:33 AM

That is very true
Post by: bingobus on November 12, 2007, 06:00:39 PM
I heard a well known Filling station on the N2 outside Castleblayney ( Not a Statoil may I add  ;D) received a delivery of Diesel into their petrol tank at the weekend and the error wasn't noticed until after a number of cars had filled up. These cars later spluttered to a halt in various parts of the country.

Is it true that if you put diesel in a petrol tank and add in the same amount of petrol that they will mix and the car will run ok? Just something I heard when told about the above incident.
Post by: dodo on November 12, 2007, 06:21:56 PM
Texaco garage on Newtownpark Avenue, Blackrock, Dublin

Unleaded   €1.189
Diesel        €1.199
Post by: ONeill on November 12, 2007, 06:44:44 PM
Been running on cooking oil for almost a decade now.
Post by: ExiledGael on November 12, 2007, 06:49:19 PM
Heard an interesting radio programme lately that explained that. It's very possible and a lot more popular than you would think. Apparently leaves the car stinking of a chippy though. maybe that would be a plus point for some.
On another point I've been driving for a few years now and never ever been dipped, or even seen it happening and I travel an awful lot. Does it happen to normal cars often?
Starting to think the old farmers choice would be worthwhile if these increases keep up
Post by: ONeill on November 12, 2007, 06:51:41 PM
The chippy smell is a myth, or from someone who's bucking used chippy oil into it. A slight whiff if you have your nostril up against the exhaust. You also hear 'it ruins the engine'. Nonsense.
Post by: ExiledGael on November 12, 2007, 07:10:57 PM
Maybe they have the PSNI contract in the area!
Sure the lads couldn't cross the border to save on fuel now
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 13, 2007, 05:59:10 PM
That vegetable oil seems like a great idea. You could throw a few spuds and a couple of sausages into the carburettor leaving work and hey presto your dinner would be cooked for you by the time you got home
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2011, 09:57:32 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 15, 2011, 09:33:30 PM
I have just changed the car for a diesel one after four years in a 2.0L turbo and a hefty petrol bill.  What is the price of diesel across the border?  Is it worthwhile going to Emyvale for a fill up?

Do you work for Customs?
Post by: gawa316 on June 15, 2011, 10:06:47 PM
I have just changed the car for a diesel one after four years in a 2.0L turbo and a hefty petrol bill.  What is the price of diesel across the border?  Is it worthwhile going to Emyvale for a fill up?

Think it's around 1.44euro
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 15, 2011, 10:07:32 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on November 12, 2007, 08:54:15 AM

just picked this one out at random from the 1st page. Imagine if it was still 1.07, there would be some queue outside McAnearneys every day now !!
Post by: gawa316 on June 15, 2011, 10:11:19 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 15, 2011, 10:07:32 PM

just picked this one out at random from the 1st page. Imagine if it was still 1.07, there would be some queue outside McAnearneys every day now !!

There's a filling station near Belleek that has been shut for many's a year, price of petrol is 67.9stg :(
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 10:15:21 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on June 15, 2011, 10:07:32 PM

I pass it every day and it's 141.9 today!
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on June 15, 2011, 10:36:16 PM

It is.. But dont bother even going the length of Emyvale. Call in to Topaz on the main road after Moybridge..Diesel is £126.3.. We`ll even fill it for ya!..
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 10:40:57 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on June 15, 2011, 10:36:16 PM

It is.. But dont bother even going the length of Emyvale. Call in to Topaz on the main road after Moybridge..Diesel is £126.3.. We`ll even fill it for ya!..
For a straight fill of the car it depends on distance travelled. You'll save about 8 quid for a full tank without subtracting diesel and time to get there. I don't bother anymore and I live 3 miles from the border!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 15, 2011, 10:48:26 PM
£1.35 on the Newry road in Armagh. There's no staff.  Just paypoints and pumps
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on June 15, 2011, 10:52:44 PM

[/quote]For a straight fill of the car it depends on distance travelled. You'll save about 8 quid for a full tank without subtracting diesel and time to get there. I don't bother anymore and I live 3 miles from the border!

I`d drive 3 mile for 8 quid each time!.. Sure bring a few drums with ya too!..
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 11:08:52 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on June 15, 2011, 10:52:44 PM

[/quote]For a straight fill of the car it depends on distance travelled. You'll save about 8 quid for a full tank without subtracting diesel and time to get there. I don't bother anymore and I live 3 miles from the border!

[/quote]I would if I trusted what I was putting in the tank!
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on June 15, 2011, 11:28:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2011, 11:08:52 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on June 15, 2011, 10:52:44 PM

For a straight fill of the car it depends on distance travelled. You'll save about 8 quid for a full tank without subtracting diesel and time to get there. I don't bother anymore and I live 3 miles from the border!

[/quote]I would if I trusted what I was putting in the tank!

Oh our stuff is dead on!.. Its owned by Topaz itself so no middle man to do any tinkering!..
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 15, 2011, 11:48:00 PM
I filled up with petrol the other day at $3.92/gallon. I make that £0.64/litre or €0.73/litre.

The yanks are complaining about the high cost of "gas" at these prices. They're used to it being $1.10/gallon like it was about ten years ago.

Diesel is unavailable*.

*It is, but you have to know where to look for it because very few filling stations keep the stuff. Rather than switching to diesel they all seem to be obsessed with these hybrid contraptions.
Post by: BennyCake on September 29, 2011, 07:07:21 PM
What's the cheapest price these days? Or are you lot all on the red stuff?  :D
Post by: The Iceman on September 29, 2011, 07:12:44 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 15, 2011, 11:48:00 PM
I filled up with petrol the other day at $3.92/gallon. I make that £0.64/litre or €0.73/litre.

The yanks are complaining about the high cost of "gas" at these prices. They're used to it being $1.10/gallon like it was about ten years ago.

Diesel is unavailable*.

*It is, but you have to know where to look for it because very few filling stations keep the stuff. Rather than switching to diesel they all seem to be obsessed with these hybrid contraptions.

I think the prices level on in America Eamonn. I drove a Corolla in Ireland and got about 50-60 mpg. My woman's Corolla here in NJ would be lucky to get 30 mpg.
Diesel is every where here now and I would definitely consider switching to a manual diesel if i could get one in an SUV or Mini Van. VW have one but it isn't available outside of EU......
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2011, 08:17:36 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 29, 2011, 07:07:21 PM
Can't beat the border these days. Best I've seen in the north is 133.9 for diesel.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2011, 10:11:33 PM
Just back from Silverstream and it's 124.9stg
Post by: gawa316 on September 29, 2011, 10:21:41 PM
130.7stg at asda in enniskillen
Post by: Candyman on October 02, 2011, 01:41:13 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 29, 2011, 10:11:33 PM
Just back from Silverstream and it's 124.9stg
Quare good stuff  :D
Post by: men in black on October 02, 2011, 12:15:05 PM
Unleaded 95: 132.9 p/L
Diesel: 136.9 p/L

Down with the girl at craigavon shopping center yesterday and this is what it was at Tesco.

Can anybody confirm that the big Supermarkets like Tesco and Asda use the same stuff as say Texaco or BP.
Why I ask is, I would normally fill up at Tesco after doing the shopping on a Saturday and would get about 33mpg.
Was down south and needed a fill up so stopped at an ESSO computer on the car started to say 37-38mpg ?
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 02, 2011, 12:19:30 PM
http://www.petrolprices.com/

Log on 1 or 2 post codes and every week they e-mail out the cheapest petrol/diesel prices with a certain km radius. Found it handy enough. They also have an app if you have an IPhone.

Don't think its available for prices outside of the black 6
Post by: Candyman on October 02, 2011, 03:34:45 PM
Quote from: men in black on October 02, 2011, 12:15:05 PM
Unleaded 95: 132.9 p/L
Diesel: 136.9 p/L

Down with the girl at craigavon shopping center yesterday and this is what it was at Tesco.

Can anybody confirm that the big Supermarkets like Tesco and Asda use the same stuff as say Texaco or BP.
Why I ask is, I would normally fill up at Tesco after doing the shopping on a Saturday and would get about 33mpg.

I think the term is higher octane? BP ect burn "better" so more mpg
Was down south and needed a fill up so stopped at an ESSO computer on the car started to say 37-38mpg ?
Post by: gerry on October 02, 2011, 04:25:04 PM
Asda fuel comes from bp
Post by: sans pessimism on October 04, 2011, 11:15:47 AM
diesel in Monaghan quite cheap(when the colour is taken out of it!!)
Post by: gerry on October 08, 2011, 09:38:55 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on October 08, 2011, 08:30:04 PM
Petrol 129.9p and Diesel 134.9p at Glendale in Omagh out the Cookstown road. Cheaper than Asda at present.

leonard's diesel can be pink at times   ;)
Post by: ExcellentDriver on October 09, 2011, 04:11:01 PM
Burn Road 24-Hour Shop Cookstown: Petrol £ 1.319 per Litre.

Crossroads Ballinderry: Petrol £ 1.359 per Litre.

McGaw's Coagh: Petrol £ 1.369 per Litre.

Wright's Spar Derrykeevan (Heading towards Portadown): Petrol £ 1.379 per Litre.

Few of the places I go to. My Car's Petrol, so I only focus on Petrol Prices. ;)

I refuse to get Petrol at Asda (owned by BP) or at Topaz Stations (owned by Shell).
Post by: sans pessimism on October 09, 2011, 04:47:27 PM
Quote from: ExcellentDriver on October 09, 2011, 04:11:01 PM
Burn Road 24-Hour Shop Cookstown: Petrol £ 1.319 per Litre.

Crossroads Ballinderry: Petrol £ 1.359 per Litre.

McGaw's Coagh: Petrol £ 1.369 per Litre.

Wright's Spar Derrykeevan (Heading towards Portadown): Petrol £ 1.379 per Litre.

Few of the places I go to. My Car's Petrol, so I only focus on Petrol Prices. ;)

I refuse to get Petrol at Asda (owned by BP) or at Topaz Stations (owned by Shell).
Who owns the oil companies where you get your petrol
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 10, 2011, 10:59:45 AM
A29 Service Station Cookstown

Petrol   1.349
Diesel   1.389
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2012, 11:17:05 AM
DRIVERS face a bill of almost €100 every time they fill up their cars, as more petrol price hikes loom.

As the fuel price burdens continues to grow, the cost of filling a typical family saloon car with a 55-litre tank has soared to €93.50.

A litre of petrol is now past the €1.70 barrier, almost double the price of three years ago when it cost 94c.

The average driver will have to fork out more than €2,500 over 12 months for fuel compared with about €1,800 in 2010.

When insurance, motor tax, toll charges, NCT fees, and annual servicing are added, the weekly cost of running a family car is well past €100.

International oil prices, a weakened euro and tax increases have combined to push fuel costs to their highest levels ever.

And with another harsh Budget on the way, further hikes are likely over the coming months.

And home heating oil now costs €940 for a 1,000-litre fill, compared with €800 at the same time last year.

It has gone up €40 since the start of June -- and further increases are expected as demand increases and volatile oil prices continue.

The Government now takes a massive 72pc of the retail price of fuel -- shared between excise duty, VAT and the so-called carbon tax aimed at cutting use of fossil fuels.

But there is understood to be no prospect of a reprieve in December's Budget, with ministers already dampening down calls from groups representing motorists and hauliers.

Although the tax here is high, it is still lower than some other countries in Europe -- in Britain it is closer to 80pc.

The price hike at the pumps this week comes as fuel companies pass on increases in the cost of their long range orders. Petrol is 20c more expensive and diesel 18c more, on average, than in September 2011.

Consumers Association chief executive Dermot Jewell hit out at the increases, warning of the extra burden they will place on struggling consumers.

AA director of consumer affairs Conor Faughnan said: "It has been the year from hell for fuel prices." He called on the Government to cut fuel taxes in the next Budget
Post by: Seamroga in exile on August 23, 2012, 08:13:42 PM
White mountain filling station outside Lisburn on the way to Dundrod : £1.45 p/l diesel.  :o

They do great sausage/bacon/egg baps though.

Post by: BennyCake on September 06, 2012, 05:41:05 PM
Anyone know the price of diesel in the south, around the border, at the minute?
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on September 06, 2012, 06:06:22 PM
As of last Saturday, the Topaz on the main road the far side of Aughnacloy was £1.29 for diesel.. 
Post by: All of a Sludden on September 06, 2012, 07:51:00 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 06, 2012, 05:41:05 PM

€1.60, you can get it cheaper but I wouldn't recommend it.
Post by: BenDover on September 06, 2012, 08:46:02 PM
£.126.9 @ Middletown
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 06, 2012, 09:08:19 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 06, 2012, 05:41:05 PM
www.pumps.ie (http://www.pumps.ie)
you can download the app.
Post by: johnneycool on September 07, 2012, 10:57:27 AM
Diesel and petrol have increased by at least 5p a litre in the last few weeks, a penny here and a penny there it seems.

I suppose the hurricane in the gulf of Mexico was to blame, but it'll not come back down.

Hopefully John Ross's big oil find on Southfork ranch will help a bit if that darn Bobby would just piss off and have another shower again.
Post by: BennyCake on January 12, 2016, 07:03:01 PM
What's the diesel prices across the border these days?
Post by: Rossfan on January 12, 2016, 07:16:01 PM
Diesel -109.9 for me but I saw 107.9 in Cortober yesterday.
Post by: armaghniac on January 12, 2016, 07:40:29 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 07, 2012, 10:57:27 AM
Diesel and petrol have increased by at least 5p a litre in the last few weeks, a penny here and a penny there it seems.

I suppose the hurricane in the gulf of Mexico was to blame, but it'll not come back down.

Also Sterling is losing ground.
Post by: whitey on January 12, 2016, 08:40:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 12, 2016, 07:40:29 PM

Filled up a car/truck for $32 in suburban Boston this morning
Post by: StGallsGAA on January 12, 2016, 09:00:13 PM
99p a litre for diesel in Belfast (and elsewhere too if you have an Asda near u). 

Just need a few Asda fuel discount vouchers!! Anyone know if there's any on the go?
Post by: redzone on January 12, 2016, 09:25:15 PM
Quote from: whitey on January 12, 2016, 08:40:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 12, 2016, 07:40:29 PM

That's about £22. How much is the heating oil out there or is it gas

Filled up a car/truck for $32 in suburban Boston this morning
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 12, 2016, 09:41:47 PM
95.9c a litre here - about 47p your money
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 12, 2016, 10:10:59 PM
$1.90 a gallon last week when I filled up, I'm sure it's even less this week.
Post by: Puckoon on January 12, 2016, 11:52:47 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 12, 2016, 10:10:59 PM

You've the times of it. $2,45 here.
Post by: The Subbie on January 13, 2016, 09:31:55 AM
$1.18 Aus. Here in Sydney today.
$0.99 6 days ago, the pricks here have cyclical pricing and f**k the price of a barrel.
According to the radio today the last time there was oil at this price per barrel the cost at the pump aws 60-70 cent/litre.
Among the more ludicrous excuses delivered today by the vested interests  was that petrol stations are an all together more enjoyable customer experience than they were 10 years ago!
Post by: Rossfan on January 14, 2016, 08:35:41 AM
I see a 99.5 now for diesel.
Post by: Hardy on January 14, 2016, 10:52:46 AM
www.pumps.ie (http://www.pumps.ie)

www.petrolprices.com (http://www.petrolprices.com/)
Post by: Tubberman on January 14, 2016, 11:02:36 AM
How in the nameagod is Boyle blazing a trail on diesel prices?
Post by: armaghniac on January 14, 2016, 12:15:28 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on January 13, 2016, 09:31:55 AM
$0.99 6 days ago, the pricks here have cyclical pricing and f**k the price of a barrel.
According to the radio today the last time there was oil at this price per barrel the cost at the pump aws 60-70 cent/litre.

It is pretty pointless comparing the price of oil in dollars and the price of fuel in some other currency without information about the exchange rate.
Post by: The Subbie on January 14, 2016, 06:52:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 14, 2016, 12:15:28 PM

It is pretty pointless comparing the price of oil in dollars and the price of fuel in some other currency without information about the exchange rate.

Priced everything in $Aus in that post horse.
$Aus is approx €0.6405.
Now, blind me with knowledge on the world oil market.
Post by: armaghniac on January 14, 2016, 06:59:59 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on January 14, 2016, 06:52:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 14, 2016, 12:15:28 PM

Priced everything in $Aus in that post horse.
$Aus is approx €0.6405.
Now, blind me with knowledge on the world oil market.

Fair enough, but people often refer to the price of a barrel of oil being the same when they mean that the barrel is the same in USD, which oil is priced in, rather than the currency they are using for the petrol.
Post by: heganboy on January 14, 2016, 07:11:19 PM
In New Jersey today 1 us gallon (3.6litres) is $1.79

Thats the same as €0.45  a litre
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 14, 2016, 07:33:54 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 12, 2016, 11:52:47 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 12, 2016, 10:10:59 PM

You've the times of it. $2,45 here.

$1.83 a gallon last night  :)
Post by: BennyCake on January 15, 2016, 05:14:11 PM
Any truth that diesel is around €1 a litre, around the border areas?
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 15, 2016, 05:19:14 PM
Quote from: heganboy on January 14, 2016, 07:11:19 PM
In New Jersey today 1 us gallon (3.6litres) is $1.79

Thats the same as €0.45  a litre

Yeah but do you have a world class and free health care system out there?!

Post by: laoislad on January 15, 2016, 05:25:23 PM
99.9c at the station near McDonald's on the Kylemore Road today.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2016, 05:43:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 15, 2016, 05:25:23 PM
What did you get? Big Mac Meal?
Post by: armaghniac on January 15, 2016, 05:46:35 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 15, 2016, 05:14:11 PM

try Slab Murphy's yard.
Post by: laoislad on January 15, 2016, 05:49:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2016, 05:43:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 15, 2016, 05:25:23 PM
What did you get? Big Mac Meal?
Yup. And 6 nuggets with curry dip.
Post by: BennyCake on January 15, 2016, 06:03:47 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 15, 2016, 05:46:35 PM

try Slab Murphy's yard.

Will do  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2016, 06:16:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 15, 2016, 06:03:47 PM

try Slab Murphy's yard.

Will do  ;D
Not sure what the € price is at Silverstream but advertised as 81.9 of her majesty's pence.
Post by: armaghniac on January 15, 2016, 06:21:11 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 15, 2016, 06:16:53 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 15, 2016, 06:03:47 PM

try Slab Murphy's yard.

Will do  ;D
Not sure what the € price is at Silverstream but advertised as 81.9 of her majesty's pence.

Or 16 of the Queen's shillings and four of the her pence.