Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 10:28:48 AM

Title: penny for the puka/pookie
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 10:28:48 AM
Did anyone else have this tradition in the good old days? Been replaced by Trick or Treat these days   :'(
Title: Re: penny for the puka/pookie
Post by: AZOffaly on October 31, 2007, 10:37:17 AM
We did. But it was fading out when I was a young lad. We used to go around singing at doors. None of this lazy American 'Trick or Treat' sh1te.
Post by: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 10:37:52 AM
What's a puka?

Looking forward to my curly cale tonight
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 10:39:43 AM
QuoteWhat's a puka?

Tut! Tut! Young Lads <shakes head>
Post by: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 10:40:48 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 10:39:43 AM
QuoteWhat's a puka?

Tut! Tut! Young Lads <shakes head>
Is it like Penny for the Guy? Maybe you where all west brits when you when kids   ;D
Post by: armaghniac on October 31, 2007, 11:17:49 AM
QuoteIs it like Penny for the Guy? Maybe you where all west brits when you when kids

Obviously you are a West Brit, or a member of their local branch the Jackeens, when you are suggesting this and haven't a clue about the Irish Halloween. It's not all about kn**ker drinking at bonfires.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 11:19:09 AM
Gnevin, you're looking for a clip on the ear. A Púca is a fairy, a shape shifter. I don't think they were evil but you never know with the Fairies....
Post by: supersarsfields on October 31, 2007, 11:35:46 AM
Does many on here get the auld Purdy pudding at Halloween. Used to love it with a bit lump of butter!!
Post by: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 11:45:14 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 31, 2007, 11:17:49 AM
QuoteIs it like Penny for the Guy? Maybe you where all west brits when you when kids

Obviously you are a West Brit, or a member of their local branch the Jackeens, when you are suggesting this and haven't a clue about the Irish Halloween. It's not all about kn**ker drinking at bonfires.
Good news armaghniac , they've found a donor your sense of humour transplant is ready.You will soon be able to recognise humour again,and if it goes well maybe even laugh.  ; ::)
Post by: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 11:47:49 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 11:19:09 AM
Gnevin, you're looking for a clip on the ear. A Púca is a fairy, a shape shifter. I don't think they were evil but you never know with the Fairies....
Awe i see , so Culchies kids where afraid of the wee people , Us up in the big smoke where grand for the fairies   ;D We asked people to help the Halloween party
Post by: his holiness nb on October 31, 2007, 12:14:44 PM
We called it "mumming" maybe a north county Dublin thing.
"Halloween is coming and the goose is getting fat, etc etc etc"
Post by: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 12:17:07 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 31, 2007, 12:14:44 PM
Is that not a Christmas song?
Post by: his holiness nb on October 31, 2007, 12:22:30 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 12:17:07 PM

yeah but it was changed to halloween for the "mumming".

Does nobody else remember this??
I heard before it was particular to my home town.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 31, 2007, 01:53:45 PM
Used to as well. More or less consisted of wearing old overalls, with a blanket thrown across the shoulder, some type of head gear, mask from Quinnsworth and played a couple of tunes on the tin whistle. Got a bit tiresome after a few houses but thinking back now the neighbourhood must have been really deprived of entertainment or else they were brilliant at feigning interest as u always got a request for another one... Like the Wren boys, it's with O'Leary...
Post by: Louth Exile on October 31, 2007, 02:07:09 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 10:28:48 AM
Did anyone else have this tradition in the good old days? Been replaced by Trick or Treat these days   :'(

You sound just like your fellow Kildare man 'Ray Darcy'
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 02:12:11 PM
QuoteYou sound just like your fellow Kildare man 'Ray Darcy'

Same town, same school and yes I do know him so highly insulted  >:(
Post by: Oraisteach on October 31, 2007, 02:15:13 PM
How and when, in the name of God, did trick or treat start in Ireland?  Was it by government edict or did one child in Inchicore go door to door on the chance that he might get lucky.

Think about it.  You show up to someon'e's house in disguise and tell them to give you something of value or you will harm them.  In Armagh, that's called a bank robbery or a stick up.

Boy, do I miss barmbrack.
Post by: Puckoon on October 31, 2007, 02:28:28 PM

Mumming is a big christmas thing up north.
Sarsfields, big fan of the purdy puddin with some butter!
Post by: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 02:33:13 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on October 31, 2007, 02:15:13 PM
How and when, in the name of God, did trick or treat start in Ireland?  Was it by government edict or did one child in Inchicore go door to door on the chance that he might get lucky.

Think about it.  You show up to someon'e's house in disguise and tell them to give you something of value or you will harm them.  In Armagh, that's called a bank robbery or a stick up.

Boy, do I miss barmbrack.
Say's the lads who use to go around demanding money for songs , Begging we call that up here ;)
Post by: hmmm on October 31, 2007, 02:36:32 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 31, 2007, 12:22:30 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 31, 2007, 12:17:07 PM

yeah but it was changed to halloween for the "mumming".

Does nobody else remember this??
I heard before it was particular to my home town.

We used to call it that down in Galway too. Also did the same song!
Post by: Louth Exile on October 31, 2007, 03:25:12 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 31, 2007, 02:12:11 PM
QuoteYou sound just like your fellow Kildare man 'Ray Darcy'

Same town, same school and yes I do know him so highly insulted  >:(

Ah don't be insulted, he's quite good  :)
Post by: Hardy on October 31, 2007, 03:54:41 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on October 31, 2007, 02:15:13 PM
How and when, in the name of God, did trick or treat start in Ireland? 

Roughly around the time we got television and ADults became adULTS, aeroplanes became airplanes, lads became guys and people began stepping up to plates and touching bases.
Post by: ziggysego on October 31, 2007, 04:50:31 PM
What about Potato Puddin?

I know it's only in selected areas of Ireland.

How many here have it at Halloween?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 31, 2007, 05:01:28 PM
Feckin barmbrack, was down in the womans homeplace recently, offered some, and of all the slices on the plate I had to choose the one with the f**king ring in it, where do u look, where do u look  ???
Post by: supersarsfields on October 31, 2007, 06:48:18 PM
Aye mentioned it earlier Ziggy. Great stuff. But I'm sure it's prob been outlawed as hazardous material now due to the amount of butter was put on it!!
Used to make about two or three big sausepans of it!!

Would love a bowl of it now!!  :(
Post by: his holiness nb on October 31, 2007, 07:03:00 PM
Did anyones ma's put money in the apple tart?  8)
Post by: deiseach on October 31, 2007, 08:05:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 31, 2007, 03:16:09 PM
We sang this song;
Halloween is coming and the goose is getting fat
Please put a penny in the old man's hat
If you haven't got a penny, a halfpenny will do
If you haven't got a halfpenny
WE'LL PUT YOUR WINDOWS THROUGH!

It's not a threat. It's a promise.
Post by: ludermor on October 31, 2007, 09:23:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 31, 2007, 04:50:31 PM
What about Potato Puddin?

I know it's only in selected areas of Ireland.

How many here have it at Halloween?

Are ya talking about boxty? Big in north mayo and absolutely feckin gorgeous!!
Post by: supersarsfields on November 01, 2007, 09:32:25 AM
Naw not boxty.
we would have that a bit of the time aswell tho. But it hasn't a patch on the purdy pudding!!
Post by: An Lark on November 01, 2007, 10:26:42 AM
Is the term 'pukas' at Halloween only a Kildare/Offaly/Laois thing?

I live in the Galway and from talking to Galway/Mayo people they seem to think it was always called 'trick or treat'. People have never heard of it being called the Pukas.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2007, 10:28:28 AM
Had a great big bowl of the potato pudding last night.. To me, that's what Halloween is about  ;D