Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 23, 2007, 01:10:47 PM

Title: 'Belfast eye' / Ferris wheel then
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 23, 2007, 01:10:47 PM
Well, have any of yous seen the Belfast Eye that's just been erected in the grounds of the City Hall?

Very impressive when you first see it, though it'll probably be £30 to get on it just to see the lough and the black mountain.

I know there was a version of it in the 70s on the top of Unity Flats....
Title: Re: 'Belfast eye'
Post by: stpauls on October 23, 2007, 01:17:02 PM
i was in the city centre on saturday when thay had just put up the legs to it, and i must say it did look impressive!!
i will have to see what price they are going to charge before deciding whether to take a spin on it or not!!
Post by: Square Ball on October 23, 2007, 01:18:53 PM
Yip

seen it yesterday, mind you was standing nearly underneath it for 10 minutes before i noticed it, Monday mornings!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 23, 2007, 01:31:54 PM
Is it actually totally erected now?
Anyone have any idea when it opens and how much it will cost??

Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 23, 2007, 01:37:45 PM
It's up and all - people hanging around the square taking photos of it. I'll show ye mine next time I see ye, GDA.
Post by: ziggysego on October 23, 2007, 01:38:17 PM
Why can't they do something original for once?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 23, 2007, 01:39:35 PM
FAM thought you were in meetings all day?
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 01:40:51 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 23, 2007, 01:31:54 PM
Is it actually totally erected now?
Anyone have any idea when it opens and how much it will cost??

Not yet, i usually have to wait to the weekend when the missus is p*ssed......
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on October 23, 2007, 01:41:32 PM
I am - away to it now again. Even I have to have lunch!
Post by: Maguire01 on October 23, 2007, 01:42:04 PM
It's opening in November some time. Is only due to stay until March, although this may change.

Quote from: ziggysego on October 23, 2007, 01:38:17 PM

It's not unique to London though - loads of cities have had one. Manchester had one relatively recently. The wheels are not permanent and are moved around the place. It's a Dutch company installing this one.

Personally i'd like to see it as a permanent fixture, somewhere else in the city if not beside City Hall.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 23, 2007, 01:46:55 PM
QuoteBelfast eye to open for Christmas 

Work has begun on the construction of a "Belfast Eye" in the grounds of the City Hall.
A 60m wheel is scheduled to open on 25 October, giving passengers panoramic views 200ft above the city.

The 365 tonne structure has 42 fully enclosed capsules, each of which can carry six adults and two children for each 15 minute trip.

The council and Department of Social Development said the £3.5m project would be self-financing.

World Tourist Attractions, which will run the attraction, has already built big wheels in Manchester and Seville.

John Lowry, from the company, said it was delighted that the construction of the wheel was finally under way.

"We are due to stay until March, but we would like to stay longer," he told the Belfast Telegraph.

"We've got engineers from Holland and technicians from England putting the wheel together.

"It took a long time, but it is great to finally be over and to bring the wheel to Belfast.

He added: "I understand that there will be an official ceremony held around November 19."

The firm said that it would be operating the attraction in the city centre for the next five months.

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/07/uk_enl_1192613708/img/1.jpg)
(artists impression)
Post by: Orior on October 23, 2007, 01:50:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 23, 2007, 01:38:17 PM

Yes indeed. For years the unionist controlled council took nationists for a ride, and now they have to pay for the same privilege.
Post by: full back on October 23, 2007, 01:59:07 PM
Its a pity the artists impression wasnt on the correct side! It is on the side the is facing
They have a few of the pods connected to it now - nice enough idea, but whay set it slap bang in the middle of the city?
Post by: Rois on October 23, 2007, 02:06:35 PM
My problem with it is that for about a third of the rotation you'll either be looking at the Ulster Bank, the Bank of Ireland or in the side door of Marks and Spencer.  Unlike London, when you're down at the bottom of the wheel and you can look over to Westminster etc.

But they seem to be putting on a pod every couple of hours.  I can see it from my desk and they've put five on since about 9am.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 23, 2007, 02:09:08 PM
Rois your boss is just off the phone, he says stop looking out the window and do some work!!  ;)
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 02:19:33 PM
Ah well it will be something nice for the spides to vandalise, deface and shoot at with their bb guns.......
Title: FAO Drici
Post by: Orior on October 23, 2007, 02:42:34 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on October 23, 2007, 01:46:55 PM

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/07/uk_enl_1192613708/img/1.jpg)

Hey Drici,

That's me beside the bird in the white jacket :)
Post by: stpauls on October 23, 2007, 02:47:53 PM
picture taken from the BBC website of the eye in construction!!

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/07/uk_enl_1193141211/img/1.jpg)
Post by: Orior on October 23, 2007, 03:14:09 PM
It looks wheelie good.
Post by: ziggysego on October 23, 2007, 04:02:07 PM
I say it won't be long to more jokes start doing the rounds.
Post by: Orior on October 23, 2007, 04:13:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 23, 2007, 04:02:07 PM
I say it won't be long to more jokes start doing the rounds.

Does the Wheel have a Spokes person?
Post by: corn02 on October 23, 2007, 09:18:17 PM
Only £6 I believe.
Post by: dodo on October 23, 2007, 09:25:43 PM
Was on the one in Manchester a while back with the young lad. £9 each i think, he was bricking it as has a touch of vertigo. He soon got over it when he realised how much of an anti-climax it was.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 23, 2007, 09:27:47 PM
what would you go up to look at?  :-\
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 09:58:46 PM
How much is the London one? I am going over this weekend.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 23, 2007, 10:04:03 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 09:58:46 PM
You'll spend the weekend standing in the cue for it
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 10:36:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 23, 2007, 10:04:03 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 09:58:46 PM
You'll spend the weekend standing in the cue for it

I heard that, even at this time of the year?
Post by: Orior on October 23, 2007, 10:40:24 PM
£6? Bollix to that.

I'll walk ye up to Napoleons Nose on the Cavehill, where the view is 10 times better and I'll over charge you a fiver.
Post by: Maguire01 on October 23, 2007, 11:56:45 PM
Quote from: full back on October 23, 2007, 01:59:07 PM
Its a pity the artists impression wasnt on the correct side! It is on the side the is facing

eh? It is correct - it's on Donegall Square East is it not? That's the Ulster Bank beside the wheel.
Post by: full back on October 24, 2007, 10:08:02 AM
Apologies maguire, I thought the picture was taken from the Ulster Bank side! :-\
Post by: Square Ball on November 09, 2007, 08:13:12 PM
Anyone been on this? are there queues. prices and all that.
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2007, 10:57:35 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 23, 2007, 10:40:24 PM

I'll walk ye up to Napoleons Nose on the Cavehill, where the view is 10 times better and I'll over charge you a fiver.

It and Glencar Waterfall are my 1-2.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 10, 2007, 11:47:13 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 09, 2007, 08:13:12 PM
Anyone been on this? are there queues. prices and all that.

Not been on it but have been past it load of times over the last couple of days/weeks, queues very small, £6 each, you can hire a pod for £44, VIP pod £65, with champagne £80!
Looks like a bit of a let-down!
Post by: Square Ball on November 11, 2007, 11:24:19 AM
Cheers

gonna take one of the kids on it as he hasnt shut up about it, hope its not windy when we get on it
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 10, 2008, 03:15:14 PM
I see the mandarins have decided to keep thon big eye up in Belfast centre til December 2008.
Title: Re: 'Belfast eye' / Ferris wheel then
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2008, 07:51:24 PM
I went for a spin on it at Christmas. The girlies were all petrified, but I thought it was as exciting as going up an escalator.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 10, 2008, 07:54:52 PM
What exactly is there to see when you're up there?
The only building I can think of that you'd want to see in Belfast is City Hall.  It's hardly London!
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2008, 07:57:08 PM
My brother and his wife were on it. They found it boring. Like pints says, there's nothing of interest to look at.
Post by: Orior on January 10, 2008, 07:57:32 PM
No, you cannot see up women's skirts in the pod above you.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 11, 2008, 08:07:15 AM
Ach Jaysus, where's your sentimentality here. Have none of yous yet says 'I'll meet you at the eye".  A bit like the pillar for any out there who can remember that far back, before it was blew up.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 10:39:43 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 11, 2008, 08:07:15 AM
Ach Jaysus, where's your sentimentality here. Have none of yous yet says 'I'll meet you at the eye".  A bit like the pillar for any out there who can remember that far back, before it was blew up.

What pillar?
Post by: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 10:45:20 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 10:39:43 AM
What pillar?

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 11:01:03 AM
Quote from: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 10:45:20 AM
What pillar?

Not being as old as you Donagh  ;), my question still stands.
Now he's not talking about Nelson's column, is he?
Post by: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 11:09:19 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 11:01:03 AM
What pillar?

I was laughing because I thought you were being a smart arse,  :D. You obviously went for those pints last night then?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 11:11:53 AM
Quote from: Donagh on January 11, 2008, 11:09:19 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 11:01:03 AM
What pillar?

I was laughing because I thought you were being a smart arse,  :D. You obviously went for those pints last night then?

Aye, head on me like a busted sofa!  :-\
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 11, 2008, 02:09:43 PM
Sow, reap, GDA.

10 days into sobriety here.

For them that don't know:

The Nelson Pillar (Colún Nelson in Irish), known generally in Dublin as Nelson's Pillar or simply The Pillar, was a controversial large granite pillar topped by a statue of Horatio, Lord Nelson, located in the centre of O'Connell Street in Dublin. It was erected in 1808 by Dublin Corporation after consultation with the British Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, the Duke of Richmond, to honour Admiral Lord Nelson and the Battle of Trafalgar, three years after his death. Notably it was finished long before the similar Nelson's Column was erected in Trafalgar Square in London in 1849. The pillar became both a tram terminus and a common meeting place for Dubliners to sell drugs and offered the city's best public viewing platform, reached by spiral stairway inside the column. It was lovingly destroyed by an IRA bomb in 1966.

800 years - the Brits gave us Nelson's Pillar and Heuston Station. Well done.
Post by: Hardy on January 11, 2008, 02:16:20 PM
What about the roads. And the sanitation.

No aqueduct, though, or irrigation. I'll give you that. Or wine.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 11, 2008, 02:24:03 PM
Sounds like a Monty Python sketch.

Ok, so what have the brits ever done for us?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on January 11, 2008, 02:34:06 PM
Shortbread