Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 12:21:36 PM

Title: Fave Films/Hated films
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 12:21:36 PM
Just thought id start a new area of conversation..... Your Fave Films and Most Hated films!!

My Top 5 (not in particular order)
1. Aliens
2. Shawshank Redemption
3. LOTR - The Return of the King
4. Saving Private Ryan
5. Gladiator

My Worst 5
1. Hulk
2. The Good Shepherd
3. Batman & Robin
4. Epic Movie
5. Gigli

Any other opinions welcome!!
Title: Re: Fave Films/Hated films
Post by: full back on October 17, 2007, 12:25:26 PM
I f**king hate any films with singing or dancing in them...
Post by: ziggysego on October 17, 2007, 12:27:27 PM
Top 5.

1. Clerks
2. Dogma
3. Back to the Future trilogy
4. Star Wars trilogy
5. My Cousin Vinny

Bottom 5.

1. Harry Potter
2. Executive Decision
3. Mars Attacks
4. Pearl Harbour
5. Mean Girls
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 12:30:36 PM
Dogma is a class show Ziggy, funny as fook!!!

Mars Attacks was terrible aswell!!
Post by: screenexile on October 17, 2007, 12:33:33 PM
Good.
1. Good Will Hutning
2. Me Myself and Irene
3. Fargo
4. The 6th Sense
5. Silence of the Lambs

Bad
1. Lost in Translation
2. Magnolias
3. Spanglish
4. When Harry Met Sally
5. Sleepless in Seattle (I do think Meg is a chassis though!)
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 17, 2007, 12:34:27 PM
Favourite Films
Lord of the Rings (All 3)
The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
A Fistful of Dollars
A Few Dollars More
Outlaw Josey Wales
12 Good Men
The Bridge on the River Kwai
Its a Wonderful Life
Gladiator
King Arthur
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Magnificent Seven
Godfather
Goodfellas

Hated Films
Titanic
Mission Impossible
New Star Wars
Anything with Meg Ryan
Daddy Day Care
Anything with Van Damme in it
Star Trek
Blazing Saddles

Post by: Bogball XV on October 17, 2007, 12:35:47 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 17, 2007, 12:33:33 PM
Bad
1. Lost in Translation
You just couldn't let it lie could you, for the record, you just beat me to it!!
Post by: stpauls on October 17, 2007, 12:40:45 PM
ok, in no particular order:

5 Favourite Films

1: Shawshank
2: Lord Of The Rings Trilogy
3: Monsters Inc.
4: The Matrix (not the trilogy, just the first one)
5: Transformers

5 Hated Films

1: Zoolander
2: Matrix Reloaded
3: Matrix Revisited

can't think of another 2 to go on my hated list, but will update later!!
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 12:41:20 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 17, 2007, 12:34:27 PM

Anything with Van Damme in it
Star Trek

Van Damme has to be 1 of the worst actors ever! He's a "straight to DVD" actor!!
1 of the worst films i've also see in Snakes on a Train, rip off of the proper 1 and went straight to DVD, PURE TRIPE!!!!!!!
Post by: Bensars on October 17, 2007, 12:41:56 PM
Blazing Saddles
A few Good Men
Rudy
Shawshank Redemption
Green Mile

Hated..........too many disappointments to mention

Post by: stpauls on October 17, 2007, 12:42:52 PM
Blazing Saddles

Blazing Saddles was a great movie, i could watch it over and over again!!
I may have to make additions/changes to my lists after reading some other peoples here, just couldn't think of any films at the minute to put on the list but the memory has been well and truly jogged!!
Post by: Bensars on October 17, 2007, 12:51:12 PM
Quote from: stpauls on October 17, 2007, 12:42:52 PM
Blazing Saddles

Blazing Saddles was a great movie, i could watch it over and over again!!
I may have to make additions/changes to my lists after reading some other peoples here, just couldn't think of any films at the minute to put on the list but the memory has been well and truly jogged!!

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=blazing+saddles (http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=blazing+saddles)
Post by: full back on October 17, 2007, 12:52:53 PM
Suprised nobody has Braveheart as a fave
Post by: screenexile on October 17, 2007, 12:58:57 PM
Very surprised at Blazing Saddles and Zoolander being listed as hated films. I like the 2 of them but wouldn't have them as my favourite.
Post by: theskull1 on October 17, 2007, 01:00:04 PM
again in no order

Favs
Delicatessen
Once upon a time in the west
Fist full of dynamite
Few dollars more (any sergio leone films that I've seen really)
Matrix (again the first one only)
Amadeus
The City of Lost Children
Monsters Inc
The Iron Giant
Starship Troopers  :-[

Hated (off the top of my head)
GI Jane...any thing with her in it
Titanic
Spiderman 3 (even the kids hated it)
Cars
Matrix 2&3
Anything with tom cruise in it
Same as Hardstation...far too many baduns

Post by: J70 on October 17, 2007, 01:14:41 PM
Quote from: full back on October 17, 2007, 12:25:26 PM
I f**king hate any films with singing or dancing in them...

Even "The Blues Brothers"? :o
Post by: J70 on October 17, 2007, 01:15:39 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 12:30:36 PM

Mars Attacks is a classic!
Post by: J70 on October 17, 2007, 01:21:49 PM
Great movies:

Deliverance
Leone/Eastwood Dollar Trilogy
Once Upon a Time in the West
Jaws
The Searchers
The Godfather trilogy
Fargo
The Big Lebowski
Josey Wales
Shawshank Redemption
Citizen Kane
In the Heat of the Night
Goodfellas
Casino
Mean Streets
etc. etc. etc.

Awful shite

Unbreakable
American Pie movies except first one
That Steve Zizou thing that Bill Murray did
Post by: stpauls on October 17, 2007, 01:22:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 17, 2007, 01:15:39 PM

Mars Attacks is a classic!

Mars Attacks was a shitty plot/storyline but f**k it was funny!!
everytime the aliens spoke i wet myself laughing!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 17, 2007, 01:31:34 PM
Most things with Will Ferrell are very watchable.
also the Gene Wilder/Richard Pryor axis yielded some very funny movies.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 17, 2007, 01:40:34 PM
Favourites
Terminator 1, 2 & 3
The Green Mile
Shawshank Redemption
Remember the Titans
Oldschool
A Clockwork Orange
Some Mothers Son
Bloody Sunday
American History X
Jay and Silent Bob strike back
The Football Factory
H3
The Passion
The Exercist

Hate
Datemovie
Killjoy (I think is the proper name)
Reno 911: Miami
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 01:52:59 PM
All Will Ferrel movies are class! Wedding Crashers has to be my fave comedy, "HEY MAA, the meatloaf, f**k"!!! LOL!

Blades of Glory, Old School, Elf, Talladega Nights - all funny!!!
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 17, 2007, 01:55:35 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 17, 2007, 01:00:04 PM
Anything with tom cruise in it

What!!!!  Tom Cruise is a brilliant actor and he usually does good movie..all be it he has turned into a bit of a space cadete but what about movies such as:

The Mission Impossibles,
Gerry Maguire,
Collateral,
Eyes Wide Shut

Quote from: hardstation on October 17, 2007, 01:26:20 PM
Not too many comedy film being listed lads. Any out there?

The 1st scary movie was hilarious
Post by: full back on October 17, 2007, 02:03:09 PM
Anyone care to admit to a favourite chick flick?  :-*
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 17, 2007, 02:04:51 PM
Quote from: full back on October 17, 2007, 02:03:09 PM

Music & Lyrics, a good chick flick film which a lad can enjoy
Post by: nrico2006 on October 17, 2007, 02:19:14 PM
Hard to pick 5, I honestly have about 20 that I couldn't really decide on.  Certain films were amazing the first time you watched them but now you have seen them so often you haven't the same view on the.

Favourite Films (No Particular order): 
 K-Pax
 Back to The Future Trilogy
 The Shawshank Redemption
 Rocky's
 Bloodsport
 Big Trouble in Little China
 Godfather 1 and 2
 Matrix 1
 The Gladiator
 Flight of the Navigator
 The Legend of Bagger Vance
 The Shyalmalan collection (6th Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, The Village)
 Good Will Hunting
 Legends of The Fall
 Michael Collins
 Goodfellas
 The Wind that Shakes the Barley
 Braveheart
 Heat
 Rounders
 Boyz N Da Hood
 Menace to Society
 Dances With Wolves
 Bourne Trilogy
 Manhunter/Red Dragon/Silence of the Lambs
 Green Street
 Jaws
 Terminator 2
 Fallen
 John Q
 Hardball ... The List goes on really!

As for worst 5, well harder to remember the really bad ones but ones that are pretty well know and mostly well received that should be down as crocks are:
 Hanniball
 Sunshine
 Aliens
 Scary Movie films (Spoofs in General)
 Oceans 12
 Die Hard 4
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 02:21:25 PM
Possible chick flick to like could be Just like Heaven or The Break Up!! The latter is pretty funny plus J Aniston turns up in the nip in it!!  :)
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 02:25:13 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 17, 2007, 02:19:14 PM
As for worst 5, well harder to remember the really bad ones but ones that are pretty well know and mostly well received that should be down as crocks are:
 Hanniball
 Sunshine
 Aliens

No way nrico, this is one of the best films ever! One of the only sequels to be better than the original!!
Title: Fave Films/Hated films
Post by: 5 Sams on October 17, 2007, 02:25:44 PM
Favourites

The Big Lebowski
Goodfellas
Saving Private Ryan
Fargo
Black Hawk Down

hated Films

Dunno...if I start to watch a film and it doesnt keep my attention staright away then I switch off (or over!)
Post by: screenexile on October 17, 2007, 02:29:16 PM
Sorry... wrong thread :( :(
Post by: stpauls on October 17, 2007, 02:31:34 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 17, 2007, 02:29:16 PM
I have heard that our game with Banagher is on at 4pm on Saturday at Banagher.

HOWEVER! There is no mention of it on the website or the Irish News and our Reserve Hurlers are down to play Swatragh at Lavey at 3.30pm... which is on the website. So who knows?????

??? ???
Post by: nrico2006 on October 17, 2007, 02:47:12 PM
Chick Flick - Mean Girls is good, and Dirty Dancing!
Post by: stpauls on October 17, 2007, 02:50:00 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 17, 2007, 02:48:31 PM
If you have to.........
The Notebook.

would agree with you there hardstation, really good movie in itself but very sad towards the end!!
Post by: full back on October 17, 2007, 02:50:22 PM
Chick flick - Pretty Woman
Post by: Declan on October 17, 2007, 03:08:33 PM
QuoteChick flick - Pretty Woman

Absolutely detest that movie. Disgusting piece of drivel

Too many fave movies to mention but ones I hate are easier - Anything with Arnie in it. Anything with Adam Sandler. Top Gun, Officer and a Gentleman, Ghost could go on but lest anyone think I'm not a romantic. Chick flick I liked - Serendipity
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 03:24:52 PM
Serendipity is a class film!! Kate Beckinsale is class in it and i mean looking!!!
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 03:53:44 PM
Top 5.
1. Braveheart
2. Clerks II
3. Pulp Fiction
4. Star wars originals
5. Michael Collins

Honourable mention: Robin Hood (Errol Flynn one & men in tights,)

Bottom 5.
1. Raising Helen
2. Star Trek
3. X-Men (any)
4. Super bad
5. Aliens (any)
Post by: downredblack on October 17, 2007, 04:06:27 PM
One flew over the cuckoo's nest is a great movie

Magnolia , Tom Cruise got the works after 5 mins.
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 04:10:59 PM
Quote from: full back on October 17, 2007, 02:03:09 PM

Love actually - tremendous flick.

Post by: ziggysego on October 17, 2007, 04:13:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 03:53:44 PM
Bottom 5.
1. Raising Helen

I liked Raising Helen
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 04:17:36 PM
Careful ziggy - Ill set that snowed under punter onto you. :D
Post by: ziggysego on October 17, 2007, 04:20:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 04:17:36 PM
Careful ziggy - Ill set that snowed under punter onto you. :D

I'm used to getting snowed under in Greencastle.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 17, 2007, 04:52:07 PM
Agreed, Love Actually, Ghost and Serendipity in particular are very good.  Most films with John Cusack are good!
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 04:53:50 PM
Serindipity yes - lord that Kate Beckinsale does things for me! :o
Post by: ziggysego on October 17, 2007, 04:54:27 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 17, 2007, 04:52:07 PM
Agreed, Love Actually, Ghost and Serendipity in particular are very good.  Most films with John Cusack are good!

Love Actually as rubbish.
Ghost was good.
Never seen Serendipity.

Would agree with you about John Cusack.
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 04:57:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 17, 2007, 04:54:27 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 17, 2007, 04:52:07 PM

Love Actually as rubbish.Ghost was good.
Never seen Serendipity.

Would agree with you about John Cusack.

:o :o :o :o :o :o :o ???
I know its only an opinion ziggy - BUT YOU ARE WRONG!
What was rubbish about it. It was smart, funny in the right places, thoughtful in the right places, and for once, Kiera Knightly looked alright.
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 05:28:21 PM
Puckoon Keira Knightley ALWAYS looks good! Fair enough she's got no diddy's but she is beautiful!!!
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 07:15:45 PM
Just for you Puckoon:

(http://imstars.aufeminin.com/stars/fan/D20060909/136_244056343_kate_beckinsale_21_H105523_L.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 07:17:25 PM
 ???
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 07:19:27 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 04:53:50 PM
Serindipity yes - lord that Kate Beckinsale does things for me! :o

You said this!! lol  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 07:22:59 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 07:15:45 PM
Just for you Puckoon:

(http://imstars.aufeminin.com/stars/fan/D20060909/136_244056343_kate_beckinsale_21_H105523_L.jpg)

your picture didnt load.
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 07:24:14 PM
I can see the picture just fine!! If you cant see it lets just say your eyes would come out of yer head lol  :o
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 17, 2007, 07:25:03 PM
I've gone with better.
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 07:27:37 PM
ah there it is now. aye, shes not bad at all! I remember that photograph now, we did that shot in my backyard.
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 07:29:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 17, 2007, 07:25:03 PM
I've gone with better.

:D  :D  :D  :D
Post by: ONeill on October 17, 2007, 07:35:57 PM
Best:

Lost in Translation
The Talented Mr Ripley
Cable Guy
All Eastwood's spaghetti westerns
The Truman Show
The Maltese Falcon
The Untouchables
Castaway
Fever Pitch
Love Actually
Brassed Off

Worst:

Orchard Harvest

Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 07:40:16 PM
Interesting list O'Neill. Untouchables is a great show. Goodfellas, true grit and the godfather part I could be added to mine if I could chose more than 5.
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 17, 2007, 07:49:11 PM
1. Shawshank
2. Sleepers
3. Lock stock and two smoking barrels
4. Trainspotting
5. Life of Brian

The movies I hated are to many to meantion, but my wife seems to have rented most of them.
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 07:52:13 PM
Jesus theres a couple more Id forgotten about FL/MAYO. Maybe this thread should have a poll.
Us married men seem to have watched alot of those shite movies.
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 17, 2007, 08:06:23 PM
Every time my wife and friend rent a movie its time for me to find something else to do, always the same soppy shite.
I always love those movies where the good guys come up trumps in the end, Shawshank and Sleepers are two such movies that are disturbing at times but have a great feel good finish to them.
Post by: Puckoon on October 17, 2007, 08:09:24 PM
Having read sleepers, I cant bring myself to watch it. Same with american history X.
Post by: The Corporal on October 17, 2007, 11:33:07 PM
Sleepers is fantastic, havent seen American History X!

Oh totally forgot about the Saw trilogy, love them movies!! 4th one is out next week!!
Post by: ziggysego on October 18, 2007, 01:32:24 AM
American History X is difficult viewing. A very powerful and though provoking film. I'd highly recommend it. Ed Norton at his best. Yes, even more so than Fight Club!
Post by: Puckoon on October 18, 2007, 02:18:12 AM
I think your coma is gratuitous.

I didnt enjoy the notebook. For me to sit through a chick flick, there must be some degree of erm, spunk to it. Sweet home alabama and about a boy come to mind.
I really struggle with flat out romance/hard luck stories.

Now theres a few movies have left me really bummed out:

Pay it forward.  :'(
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 18, 2007, 04:44:19 AM
Armageddon  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Fishbat on October 18, 2007, 05:00:00 AM
Most of the best shows have been listed,

Easy Rider is a good film and scarface. And of course anything with messers Laurel and Hardy,

Still love the tarzan films too - memories of summer holidays at 8 in the morning

Theres a really good jack nicholson film that ye don't see much, think its called "the last detail"

Always end up laughing at Deuce Bigalow "holy sheet its bigfoot!"

Something about Mary, frank or beans?

Blazing saddles - classic - "we don't want the irish"

Little Nicky - ket,

Borat - boring played out shite

the island of doctor moreau - diabollockle

congo - give ye the flu

last but not least - Joe/dog Dirt - excrement
Post by: The Corporal on October 18, 2007, 08:46:34 AM
Agree with Fishbat, island of dr moreau and congo were pure dog drivel!!

Few more good films you could add to yer list:
Layer Cake
Lost Boys - bit of a classic horror
The Departed
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 18, 2007, 09:46:06 AM
Hard Rock Zombies
Post by: Puckoon on October 18, 2007, 05:51:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 18, 2007, 01:32:24 AM
American History X is difficult viewing. A very powerful and though provoking film. I'd highly recommend it. Ed Norton at his best. Yes, even more so than Fight Club!

AHX was on the TV last night, I figured it would be well edited, so I watched it. Really good movie. strange pace, but great movie.
Post by: ziggysego on October 19, 2007, 02:59:15 PM

You gotta love Kevin Smith Corporal  :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QepgKVOVfZ8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QepgKVOVfZ8)
Post by: Canalman on October 19, 2007, 08:13:42 PM
FAVOURITES

1 Platoon
2 Goodfellas
3 Zulu
4 Glory
5 Guns of Navarone

DISLIKES(to name a few)

1 Braveheart( I just never liked it)
2 Pulp Fiction (massively overrated)
3 All Austin Powers movies
4 Zoolander
5 Zodiac

5 Movies to recommend that you propably havent seen.

1 There is only one Jimmy Grimble
2 Mike Bassett England Manager
3 State of Grace
4 Angels with Dirty Faces
5 Devils Own.
Post by: The Police on October 19, 2007, 11:40:47 PM
Quote from: Canalman on October 19, 2007, 08:13:42 PM

5 Movies to recommend that you propably havent seen.

1 There is only one Jimmy Grimble
2 Mike Bassett England Manager
3 State of Grace
4 Angels with Dirty Faces
5 Devils Own.

This is The Police. Do not move.

That is a sweeping assumption. Do you think we were born in a bubble, meandering down the River Maine? Did you know that it flows in the opposite direction, yet parallel to, the River Bann? It's 'probably' and 'haven't' as well.

Have you not got homes to go to?
Post by: CiKe on October 20, 2007, 09:22:31 AM
is the Devil's Own that Brad Pitt IRA yoke with Harrison Ford? Christ it's the biggest load of crap. His accent rivals Tom Cruise's for being up there with the worst Oirish accent ever on screen
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 20, 2007, 10:55:09 AM
some of my faves

The Burbs
Goodfellas
Assault on Precinct 13
Analyze That
Analyze This
American Pie
Ferris Bueller's Day Off
Enemy at the Gates
Full Metal Jacket
Hotel Rwanda
SHooting Dogs
Heat
Old School
Pear Harbour (battle scenes)
THe Perfect Storm
Remember the Titans
Cinderella Man
Miracle
Road Trip
Saving Private Ryan
Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby
Blades of Glory
Tears of the Sun
Twister
United 93
The Untouchables
The Usual Suspects
The Italian Job
Post by: red hander on October 20, 2007, 12:25:46 PM
The worst film ever committed to celluloid is without doubt Peter's Friends starring Stephen Fry and all those other 'luvvies' (you know them). 

The worst actor in the world by a huge margin is Hugh Grant.
Post by: red hander on October 20, 2007, 12:27:05 PM
... closely followed by Jude Law
Post by: ziggysego on October 20, 2007, 12:53:19 PM
Saw Rendition last night at the cinema. Excellent film. I've heard that this was happening, but seeing it on film was shocking. Shocking in thinking this actually happens. Great twist at the end.
Post by: Puckoon on October 20, 2007, 03:56:54 PM
Does anyone like stigmata with gabriel byrne? I think its a cracking movie.
Post by: slow corner back on October 20, 2007, 07:26:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 20, 2007, 03:56:54 PM
Does anyone like stigmata with gabriel byrne? I think its a cracking movie.
Good show alright, has gabriel byrne ever been in a bad movie? Coolest man ireland has ever produced, Millers crossing and the usual suspects are pure class
Post by: J70 on October 20, 2007, 09:14:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2007, 12:53:19 PM
Saw Rendition last night at the cinema. Excellent film. I've heard that this was happening, but seeing it on film was shocking. Shocking in thinking this actually happens. Great twist at the end.

The reviews in the states have been fairly bad for this film. I wasn't going to bother with it at any stage!
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 11:00:02 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 17, 2007, 12:39:21 PM
Idiocracy. Worst film ever!

Saw it last night on Sky Movies. Got to admit, I was laughing the whole way through. Nice wee film. :)
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 11:01:03 AM
Quote from: J70 on October 20, 2007, 09:14:54 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 20, 2007, 12:53:19 PM

The reviews in the states have been fairly bad for this film. I wasn't going to bother with it at any stage!

Could be the subject matter which gave it the bad reviews? Fox News?
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 07, 2008, 11:04:28 AM
QuoteSaw it last night on Sky Movies. Got to admit, I was laughing the whole way through. Nice wee film.

:o

I watched that Sat night, it was terrible I was laughing at the end only because it was so bad.......
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 11:09:15 AM
Doctor: Don't worry scrote. There are plenty of 'tards out there living really kick ass lives. My first wife was 'tarded. She's a pilot now.

Come on, it was funny  :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 07, 2008, 11:27:09 AM

Everyone to their own...... 8)
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2008, 01:33:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 07, 2008, 11:27:09 AM

Everyone to their own...... 8)

You mean you didn't giggle at the Time Meensheen, which showed they did that Charlie Chaplan was the leader of the Nazis and the UN (pronounced un) un-nazi'd the world?  :D
Post by: Onion Bag on February 07, 2008, 01:52:59 PM
My Favs no particular order

Shawshank
Dumb & Dumber
Goodfellas
Godfather trilogy
Braveheart

Worst

Any chick flick
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2008, 04:16:43 PM
Does anyone remember a film with Helen in the title where some guy kept Helen a prisoner in his house and every now and again would amputate one of her limbs.
I vaguely remember her minus her arms and legs.
Post by: nifan on February 07, 2008, 04:22:12 PM
boxing helena - shite
Post by: hitzelsperger on February 07, 2008, 05:36:11 PM
Favourites

Shawshank
Me Myself and Irene
Forest Gump
American Gangster
Dumb and Dumber

Worst

Jeepers Creepers - complete dung
too many others to mention
Post by: stew on February 07, 2008, 07:25:08 PM
Best

Cuckoos nest.
Shawshank.
Omen series..

Worst.
caddyshack 2.
Chuck norris movies, I feckin hate them.

Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2008, 08:02:27 PM
Quote from: nifan on February 07, 2008, 04:22:12 PM
boxing helena - shite
Thats it.
memorable for the leading ladies that were contracted to take the role but risked bankruptcy to run in the other direction as if it was the plague.
Post by: North Longford on February 08, 2008, 12:36:57 PM
Shawshank is the number 1 for me
Other really good.........
Green Mile
6th Sense
The Others
The Field
Buthcer Boy is diificult to watch but very good in a deep way
Forest Gump
The Truman Show

For some reason loved Kill Bill.......not sure if its Uma Thurman on the rampage or what

Oldies..........
Like a lot of John Wayne stuff particularly The Quiet Man
Loved It's a wonderful life and
Gone with the wind is good too

Something curious (I don't mean Tom Cruise) about Vanilla Sky that has made me watch it a couple of times

Funnies....
A lot of good ones
Think The whole 9 yards and the Whole 10 yards are very good....particularly Bruce Willis
Me Myself and Irene is brilliant
My best friends wedding and Something about Mary are good too
Dumb and Dumber is great too
What women want and Liar Liar are funny too

Like Serendipity too and Sleepy Hollow and Love actually.
Liked Notting Hill also...bit chicky maybe though
And Bend it Like Beckham.............the Kiera Knightly trend is showing now.........dare I mention Pirates of .........nah although J Depp is very good in this

Probably loads of others too..........must mention ET.......first film I saw in the cinema!!

Don't really hate any films becasue I generally  stop watching afer 15 mins if I'm not getting it.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:41:56 PM
Personally I think the most underated film of all time was "Ravenous".

One of my all time favourites.

"Pans Labrynth" was also excellent. Suprised its not acclaimed by more people.

Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:44:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 08, 2008, 06:23:01 AM
Anyone ever watch any Japanese anime films? I know a lot of people have preconceptions that they're either geeky or childish but if you have ever seen an anime feature film (not the crap children's tv series pokemon type stuff) you'd realise that this is far from the truth.

The Japanese have a completely different take on animation than us in the west. Here the vast majority of animations are either for kids or comedy shows like the simpsons etc., but in Japan they view animation as no different to live action films and most are made with an adult audience in mind.

I'd recommend everyone to give at least one film a chance and i'd be pretty sure that most would enjoy it a lot more than they'd expect to. The best ones are made by Studio Ghibli (the kind of Japanese version of Disney) with films like Spirited Away (which won an oscar a couple of years ago and is Jonathan Ross' favourite film i believe), Howl's Moving Castle or my favourite one which is Grave of the Fireflies (Roger Ebert, the most famous film critic in the states who does the thumbs up/ down stuff called this movie the most powerful anti-war movie ever made and its definitely moving stuff).

All of these films can be found on torrent sites if you can't be bothered go look for them elsewhere.

Just saw "spirited away" AFS, though it was excellent, really weird but fascinating.
Will keep an eye out for the others.
Post by: stpauls on February 08, 2008, 12:57:29 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 12:44:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 08, 2008, 06:23:01 AM
Anyone ever watch any Japanese anime films? I know a lot of people have preconceptions that they're either geeky or childish but if you have ever seen an anime feature film (not the crap children's tv series pokemon type stuff) you'd realise that this is far from the truth.

The Japanese have a completely different take on animation than us in the west. Here the vast majority of animations are either for kids or comedy shows like the simpsons etc., but in Japan they view animation as no different to live action films and most are made with an adult audience in mind.

I'd recommend everyone to give at least one film a chance and i'd be pretty sure that most would enjoy it a lot more than they'd expect to. The best ones are made by Studio Ghibli (the kind of Japanese version of Disney) with films like Spirited Away (which won an oscar a couple of years ago and is Jonathan Ross' favourite film i believe), Howl's Moving Castle or my favourite one which is Grave of the Fireflies (Roger Ebert, the most famous film critic in the states who does the thumbs up/ down stuff called this movie the most powerful anti-war movie ever made and its definitely moving stuff).

All of these films can be found on torrent sites if you can't be bothered go look for them elsewhere.

Just saw "spirited away" AFS, though it was excellent, really weird but fascinating.
Will keep an eye out for the others.

HH, if you can find it, watch Ghost In The Shell! it is the original Matrix, or at least the anime movie that the Wachowski Brothers (spl) based the Matrix story on! Brilliant!
Post by: Billys Boots on February 08, 2008, 12:58:53 PM
Quote"Pans Labyrinth" was also excellent.

I liked this a lot too Holiness.  Watched 'Zodiac' too recently and enjoyed it.
Post by: theskull1 on February 08, 2008, 02:08:01 PM
Also watched spirited away a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed it

Refreshingly different

Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2008, 10:25:23 AM
Taped Catch A Fire over the weekend on Sky Movies, and watched it last night.

Very good, I have to say. Similar in a way to Hotel Rwanda, but it deals with apartheid in South Africa, and is based on the true story of a young black father who is just trying to get by in 80's South Africa, and is wrongly accused of bombing the Oil company he works with. The treatment from Tim Robbins as the Anti Terrorism officer turns him into an ANC radical.

Really enjoyed it.
Post by: Main Street on February 28, 2008, 11:13:51 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 28, 2008, 10:25:23 AM
Taped Catch A Fire over the weekend on Sky Movies, and watched it last night.

Very good, I have to say. Similar in a way to Hotel Rwanda, but it deals with apartheid in South Africa, and is based on the true story of a young black father who is just trying to get by in 80's South Africa, and is wrongly accused of bombing the Oil company he works with. The treatment from Tim Robbins as the Anti Terrorism officer turns him into an ANC radical.

Really enjoyed it.
I thought it was interesting but didn't really gel as a film just after he was released from the interrogation. Tried to cover too much after that without having any thread and in the end tried to arrive at forgiveness. I would read the book though.
One of my favorite dramas about South Africa is Inside 1996
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116640/ (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0116640/)
Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2008, 11:15:06 AM
Yeah, they 'landed the plane' very quickly after he was released from Robin Island. Sounds like there's another whole movie there. 80 orphans!!!
Post by: Main Street on February 28, 2008, 11:37:51 AM
I was referring to his first release from interrogation.

I would have started the film with his life after he went to Mozambique but the best filming were in the scenes before he left.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2008, 12:00:33 PM
I see what you mean. I dunno though, I suppose they wanted to re-inforce the idea that it was the whole interrogation that turned him, and that needed a very quick turn to the 'dark side'. They skipped over the young lad he had by the other woman.

I still liked the film though, well worth a look. I'd imagine they could have made a film 3 times as long out of his life.
Post by: Main Street on February 28, 2008, 12:45:41 PM
A very sharp humorous satirical film on the develepment of the Bradley tank called The Pentagon Wars 1998 Kelsy Grammer.
How to spend $980m over 17 years and have nothing to show except a tank that isn't even bullet proof and tends to explode into flames at the least provocation

No wonder the invasion of Cuba was put on permanent hold.

Post by: pintsofguinness on March 01, 2008, 09:14:53 PM
"Miracle" on RTE2 now - great film.
Post by: trileacman on February 26, 2011, 07:17:33 PM
So how about your favourite films now? Have a strong liking for Sergio Leone's work esp. The Good, The Bad and the Ugly. Another one I could watch on end but is no work of art is Kelly's heroes, love it.

Have always hated the work of Tarantino. His films are completely over-rated IMO have no time for them at all. I just don't understand the mob of support he has.