Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: the destroyer on October 11, 2007, 09:28:15 PM

Title: Are jokers ruining this gaa board
Post by: the destroyer on October 11, 2007, 09:28:15 PM
too many people r jokers on this gaa board
Title: Re: Are jokers ruining this gaa board
Post by: heurebag on October 11, 2007, 09:29:11 PM
totally agree too many people think there funny
Post by: thedestroyer on October 11, 2007, 09:31:18 PM
yep totally agree , while amount of bull shiters on this gaa board
Post by: Orior on October 11, 2007, 09:32:22 PM
Are you guys serious, or having a laugh?
Post by: orangeman on October 11, 2007, 09:35:41 PM
It's only a bit of crack ! LOL
Post by: ExiledGael on October 11, 2007, 09:41:25 PM
Sitting beside eachother giggling I'd say
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 11, 2007, 09:43:27 PM
What on Earth has this got to do with GAA? God help the teachers if this is the spelling that we have to put up with. Either that, or they don't give spelling tests.
Post by: The Police on October 11, 2007, 10:50:34 PM
This is The Police.

The grammar on here is despicable. I may have to nick a few. There should be a question mark in the title for starters.

I want no trouble here. 
Post by: heurebag on October 11, 2007, 11:44:36 PM
i dont go to school, i was born in th jungle
Post by: muppet on October 12, 2007, 12:27:23 AM
Quote from: heurebag on October 11, 2007, 11:44:36 PM
i dont go to school, i was born in th jungle

Not another nordie!  ::)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2007, 12:44:51 AM
Perhaps not so much the jokers, but the one-liner post-click merchants... hmmm... and just not to be sure I'm not being pro-County here: orangeman, ziggy, hardstation: you lads are amongst the worst offenders. It's supposed to be a discussion board, not a competition to see who's rate of posting is the greatest; or whose overall total surpasses all others. A little bit of substance to what's posted now and again won't go amiss.
Post by: stephenite on October 12, 2007, 01:56:00 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2007, 01:10:26 AM
but merely added a bit of craic and humour

A quick read through your most recent posts certainly disprove that assertion in my opinion, however people are in general free to post what they want. In Hardstations case, I just don't bother reading any of it these days, if he makes a comment on a thread I simply don't read it.
Post by: Puckoon on October 12, 2007, 02:04:00 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2007, 12:44:51 AM
Perhaps not so much the jokers, but the one-liner post-click merchants... hmmm... and just not to be sure I'm not being pro-County here: orangeman, ziggy, hardstation: you lads are amongst the worst offenders. It's supposed to be a discussion board, not a competition to see who's rate of posting is the greatest; or whose overall total surpasses all others. A little bit of substance to what's posted now and again won't go amiss.

Fear, of almost all the posters here, I have the greatest respect for yours. That said, I think you are being a little harsh on the boys above.
Think of it as a pub/community/discussion board,  whatever you want - and add in all the cliches you can think of:
Familiarity breeds contempt
Variety is the spice of life
One mans meat is another mans poison
so on and so forth.
It takes all shapes and sizes to make this board work. I for one would rather read a million posts of ziggys or scrawl through 100 smart emoticons than read for example ANY of the really serious threads that become stagnant (the Denationalisation of the irish rugby thread particularly gets me), especially those where the poor horse is dead after the first 20 posts, and then continues to be flogged for months and months by the same lads. Some of these posters cant even wait for a response to their initial post, and so they post and post and post after themselves. Yet, I dont start a thread asking if they are ruining the board, nor do I name them.
I realise Im highlighting the two extremes - but I think you can get my drift. Each of the named and shamed members you highlighted do contribute solid substance to the discussions of interest to them. In the interim, they entertain themselves, and many of the rest of us.  Its harmless and its fun, and when it steps out of line, the moderators are here to regulate. It really is one of the less wasteful/dangerous/offensive discussion board crimes to post a little fun now and then. Its easy enough to not read it, so Id expect a man of your calibre to be able to pick and choose, and move on to greener pastures (in terms of threads, dont leave the board) if things arent to your taste.

A more dissapointing note is that a thread of this nature goes unregulated, and trawls posters like yourself into a net where no one wins and regular posters could potentially end up bickering among themselves instead of ignoring such tripe.
Post by: new devil on October 12, 2007, 02:25:46 AM
Isn't hardstation the c**k who was giving updates from match of the day?? think some people just don't have much else going on in there life's so they just hang out here...we should feel sorry for them not frown upon them
Post by: new devil on October 12, 2007, 02:36:06 AM
 :-[ :-[ got stuck on match...but spell check helped me out
What part of the world are you in hardstation?
Post by: stephenite on October 12, 2007, 02:38:07 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2007, 02:00:01 AM
I saw you doing that and knew you were going to say that so as you were posting I had a look through your recent posts. Not overly interesting.
By the way, did you see the titles on my recent posts? Mainly Would You/Wouldn't you? So what else do you say on that thread but yes or no. I don't read your posts with great interest. Do I think you should or shouldn't be here? I couldn't give a monkeys!

I couldn't give a monkeys either son,  I have never stated that I think anyone should or shouldn't be here, so why on earth would you ask me that question?

If people don't like what others have to say, or find their comments childish/stupid/inane etc. - than I'm just suggesting to ignore them

If my posts aren't overly interesting to you than I suggest you ignore them, as I do yours.
Post by: new devil on October 12, 2007, 02:49:44 AM
Ok I'll take a guess....its 2:45am and your lying in your we house(caravan) around coalisland on your laptop...which proves my point about people like you who spend most of there spare time on here because they don't have much else to do
Post by: new devil on October 12, 2007, 02:58:27 AM
Ok got the place wrong but i would say the rest isn't to far wrong

Its 9:58 in new york and i am heading out..... c ya  :-*
Post by: new devil on October 12, 2007, 03:02:43 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2007, 02:57:55 AM
By the way, the spell checker has failed you in a few cases in you post. It only checks words not contexts!
Their not there and wee not we are two examples.
Oh and you're not your.

Giving someone on the other side of the world grammer lessons at 3 O'Clock in the morning ::) ::)
*shakes head*
Post by: stephenite on October 12, 2007, 03:32:23 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2007, 02:42:24 AM
If my posts aren't overly interesting to you than I suggest you ignore them, as I do yours
So you ignore my posts but still feel the need to have a look at my recent posts and bring them up? That is strange........

It's not really that strange - I realised you were a pain in the hole a number of weeks back, and started to ignore any of your pointless ramblings (pointless, in my opinion of course) when this realisation hit me.

This thread came up, and I merely had a look at your recent postings to prove that they weren't funny, which is what you appeared to be suggesting.

Is that clear to you or would you like me to beak it down for you some more?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2007, 10:12:43 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 12, 2007, 02:04:00 AM
Fear, of almost all the posters here, I have the greatest respect for yours. That said, I think you are being a little harsh on the boys above.
Think of it as a pub/community/discussion board,  whatever you want - and add in all the cliches you can think of:
Familiarity breeds contempt
Variety is the spice of life
One mans meat is another mans poison
so on and so forth.
It takes all shapes and sizes to make this board work. I for one would rather read a million posts of ziggys or scrawl through 100 smart emoticons than read for example ANY of the really serious threads that become stagnant (the Denationalisation of the irish rugby thread particularly gets me), especially those where the poor horse is dead after the first 20 posts, and then continues to be flogged for months and months by the same lads. Some of these posters cant even wait for a response to their initial post, and so they post and post and post after themselves. Yet, I dont start a thread asking if they are ruining the board, nor do I name them.
I realise Im highlighting the two extremes - but I think you can get my drift. Each of the named and shamed members you highlighted do contribute solid substance to the discussions of interest to them. In the interim, they entertain themselves, and many of the rest of us.  Its harmless and its fun, and when it steps out of line, the moderators are here to regulate. It really is one of the less wasteful/dangerous/offensive discussion board crimes to post a little fun now and then. Its easy enough to not read it, so Id expect a man of your calibre to be able to pick and choose, and move on to greener pastures (in terms of threads, dont leave the board) if things arent to your taste.

A more dissapointing note is that a thread of this nature goes unregulated, and trawls posters like yourself into a net where no one wins and regular posters could potentially end up bickering among themselves instead of ignoring such tripe.

Thanks Puckoon, and perhaps I was a bit harsh on those lads, sorry guys, one and all. Put it down to my frustration with the time of year (well, it's only once a year, could be worse  ;))... no county and stuck in a dogfight to stay in Div 2! I've nothing against one-liners, they have their place, just in moderation.
Post by: Bensars on October 12, 2007, 10:16:49 AM
Do you have the tables for Div2 Fear ?

Strabane were in Div 3 for years, so you shouldnt feel to unfamilar with it !  Its not a bad place ;D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2007, 10:26:38 AM
Quote from: Bensars on October 12, 2007, 10:16:49 AM
Do you have the tables for Div2 Fear ?

Strabane were in Div 3 for years, so you shouldnt feel to unfamilar with it !  Its not a bad place ;D

We were also in Div 1 too Bensars, a much more becoming place, and we're far better suited to that!  ;)

Already have the table in the local section:

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12.4185
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 12, 2007, 10:39:29 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2007, 12:44:51 AM

Bit hard on ziggy Fear, and orangeman does offer something interesting from time to time. Hardstation however (and you can add in the two ejiots who started this thread), well empty vessels make most noise, hopefully there's exams before xmas...
Post by: WankStation on October 12, 2007, 12:11:30 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 12, 2007, 01:10:26 AM
Hold on a wee second, I am subject to some amount of abuse here. What exactly is wrong with my posts? I am interested in most topics discussed on this board but the way I see it is that most of them just turn into slanging matches between posters who don't get on. No matter of what my opinion is on any given topic, there will always be posters of a different opinion and it will be argued to death by both sides until it comes down to "you're not right, I am", and that's fair enough but it gets boring. I try to bring a bit of humour to the arguments. This thing about "you're trying to get your post count up" is pure and utter bollox. I have written on two occasions "I'm catching you ziggy" at the end of my posts when I have reached a new milestone i.e 1000 posts or 2000 posts but it was a joke. Get over it. I couldn't give a flying fcuk who has the most posts! Now, one line posts may not interest you but would you prefer to read one line or 20 lines of bollox. Back and forth, back and forth with the same aul shite day in, day out. Lads, all I can say is lighten up a bit, what is said on the board is not the be all and end all. I don't think that any of my posts have affected the discussions that have taken place but merely added a bit of craic and humour. Stop taking everything and especially yourselves so seriously

who did ye get to write that for ye  ::)
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on October 12, 2007, 12:19:41 PM
Obviously only on to mess about with hardstation. I've banned this user permanently.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2007, 01:33:23 PM
I have to say if it's a choice between
Hardstation
A person so insecure he has to tell everyone when he's  gonig out, so they'll think he's cool or something
A person who calls people (of a similar age or older than him) "son" - I assume to make him feel important

I know who I'd be going for a pint with!
Post by: heurebag on October 12, 2007, 04:09:51 PM
i think one liners are geat
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 12, 2007, 05:02:08 PM
I find Hardstation quiet funny at times, he keeps us on this side of the Atlantic laughing during the early evening hours. The Match of the Day updates must have been hilarious...depends on your sense of humour I suppose.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 12, 2007, 05:33:53 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 12, 2007, 02:58:27 AM

Congratulations you live in New York, does that make you any better than us that you feel the need to broadcast it?  dont think people should be bitching about other people on here because really lads most of us dont know anything about each other as regards to personal lives.  Everybody has different lives & different situations and some of us may not have the 'freedom' to go out at 9.58 in New York  ::).  Lighten up its only a f**king message board.
Post by: Gnevin on October 12, 2007, 07:46:24 PM
The constant is x ruining the board is ruining the board i think I'll start a Are all the threads about ruining the board ruining the board :D
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2007, 08:11:58 PM
All boards need a variety of posters who post in their own inimitable way. As with real life you deal with it, not try to extinguish them. Hardstation, Ziggy et al have their place as much as anyone else.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 12, 2007, 08:31:33 PM
Thanks for the lecture on life there ONeill, but I think one apology to all already covers it. And it's hardstation not Hardstation, get it right FFS! ;)
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2007, 09:08:51 PM
Sorry, FoSB, I actually hadn't read your post.

A couple of weeks ago, i also was a wee bit pissed off at the route HS and Ziggy were going and was on the verge of doing a Bud having lambasted all criticism of the board beforehand. But then I thought sure it just adds to the character of the board. HS can be a very funny laddie.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 12, 2007, 09:16:01 PM
Going to the dogs.
Post by: ONeill on October 12, 2007, 09:24:39 PM
There's nothing at all wrong with one liners. Brevity/wit and all that. It's more the chatroom-style 1-on-1s for pages that irritated but as I said, who has the authority to comment with finality on that? Live and let bes.

I remember a lecturer in Coleraine berating the way Tyronnies spoke...I be, we bes, they bes. He was gay though.
Post by: Balboa on October 13, 2007, 08:48:05 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 12, 2007, 05:33:53 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 12, 2007, 02:58:27 AM

Congratulations you live in New York, does that make you any better than us that you feel the need to broadcast it?  dont think people should be bitching about other people on here because really lads most of us dont know anything about each other as regards to personal lives.  Everybody has different lives & different situations and some of us may not have the 'freedom' to go out at 9.58 in New York  ::).  Lighten up its only a f**king message board.

DirtyDozen, please do not be too hard on New Devil, he seems to have some sort of mental retardation and it seems at a fairly advanced stage. Hopefully the fact that he is in New York he can seek the best mental health care it has to offer.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 13, 2007, 01:35:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2007, 01:33:23 PM
Hardstation
A person so insecure he has to tell everyone when he's  gonig out, so they'll think he's cool or something
A person who calls people (of a similar age or older than him) "son" - I assume to make him feel important

i hope that you can park close to the door when you go for that pint pog ;)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 13, 2007, 01:40:33 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 13, 2007, 01:35:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2007, 01:33:23 PM
Hardstation

i hope that you can park close to the door when you go for that pint pog ;)
Well there'd be no parent toddler spaces at the pub - selfish parents aren't so keen on the children when the pubs involved.