GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on October 08, 2007, 01:08:54 PM

Title: Ulster Club Hurling Championships
Post by: Lecale2 on October 08, 2007, 01:08:54 PM
Results:
Sunday 7th October:
ULSTER JUNIOR HURLING CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP   
Armoy      2-10      Na Magha   1-07      Maghera
Setanta      4-16      Lisbellaw   1-12      Letterkenny
N Colmcille   4-16      Cmacross   1-06      Castleblayney   
Bredagh   2-10      Mullahoran   0-07      Kingscourt

ULSTER INTERMEDIATE HURLING CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP   
Liatroim         0-16                 Eoghan Rua   1-08   Newry
Eire Og           4-05                Castleblayney   1-08   Omagh     

Fixtures:

Sunday 14th October:

Ulster Senior Hurling Club Championship Semi Final:

Dunloy (Antrim) v Ballycran (Down) at Casement Park (3.30pm)
Referee: Martin Mulholland (Derry)

Dunloy will have far too much experience for a young Ballycran.

Ulster Intermediate Hurling Club Championship Semi Finals:
Cushendun (Antrim) v Liatroim (Down) at Casement Park (1.45pm)
Referee: Tiernach Mahon (Fermanagh)

Cushendun should be too strong for Liatroim.

Keady (Armagh) v Eire Og Carrickmore(Tyrone) at Maghera (2.00pm)
Referee: Tommy Mc Intyre (Antrim)

Haven't seen these two so I've no idea.

Ulster Junior Hurling Club Championship Semi Finals:
Naomh Colmcille (Tyrone) v Armoy (Antrim) at Maghera (12.15pm)
Referee: Brendan Sweeney (Cavan)

Armoy were a better team than Naomh Colmcille when we played them in the Ulster league so i'd expect them to get through to the final
Title: Re: Ulster Club Hurling Championships
Post by: SimpleSimon on October 08, 2007, 03:36:28 PM
Why are an Armagh and Tyrone team being taken to derry for a game? Is this not a home fixture for the Armagh team? Though carrickmore/Woody may have more away with the Ulster council!
Post by: nrico2006 on October 09, 2007, 12:35:24 PM
I predicted initially that either Armoy or Setanta would win the whole thing.  The junior this year seems weaker than previous.  Colmcille would be the dark horses, they could run Armoy or Setanta close!
Post by: Balboa on October 09, 2007, 01:31:24 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 09, 2007, 12:35:24 PM
I predicted initially that either Armoy or Setanta would win the whole thing.  The junior this year seems weaker than previous.  Colmcille would be the dark horses, they could run Armoy or Setanta close!

I dont think it is, it was weaker the year Strabane were in the final.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 09, 2007, 02:37:52 PM
Ha ha.  What year, 2005 or 2006? 
Post by: Balboa on October 09, 2007, 02:45:40 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 09, 2007, 02:37:52 PM
Ha ha.  What year, 2005 or 2006? 

The year Dork was in the stand with a disguise on.
Post by: Guillem2 on October 10, 2007, 01:27:50 PM
Dunloy will have no bother with Ballycran on Sunday. I was at the Down final and I wasn't impressed. Ballygalget didn't play anywhere near their potential and the young Crans loved the big pitch. They not get it as handy against Dunloy. I also heard that Ballycran were on the p*ss for a week and that there were a few rows in the camp. All understandable when you've just won your first championship in 12 years but hardly good preparation for an Ulster Semi Final.

I reckon Dunloy are aiming to be in Croke Park next March whereas Ballycran have fullfilled all of their ambitions. Dunloy win have it won by half time if they want it enough.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 10, 2007, 01:32:11 PM
QuoteHa ha.  What year, 2005 or 2006? 

The year Dork was in the stand with a disguise on.

Good one!  2006 then!

An even better laugh is his Bebo site!
Post by: Blacksheep on October 11, 2007, 12:06:31 AM
Don't write Kevin Lynch's off in the final! They beat Portaferry and nearly took Cushendall last year.
Post by: Whitehair on October 11, 2007, 09:28:30 AM
The ballycran boys werent on the the drink THAT much, out drinkin the first few days, a few of the student lads went to training on the tuesday night but all the boys went home for training on the thursday night after they won The student lads have been off the drink for over a week.
Post by: johnneycool on October 12, 2007, 01:18:15 PM
Quote from: Whitehair on October 11, 2007, 09:28:30 AM
The student lads have been off the drink for over a week.

Fuckin hell, that was big of them.

As much as I'd like the Crans to kick on after winning Down they are up against a very seasoned Dunloy who won't relent and I'm afraid the Crans have won their final this year and are happy with their lot. The same happened us 3, maybe 4 years ago when we won the Down with a lot of young lads who'd won their first senior Down title and were on the lash for the better part of the week. Dunloy hammered us off the park and I'd be mindfull that the same could happen again this sunday.
Post by: Colonel Cool on October 13, 2007, 08:55:02 AM
There was far too much celebrating done around the place for my liking and I fear it will show on Sunday. It's hard to hold young lads back when they've just won the first SHC in a dozen years. Ballygalget and Portafery probably would have been better prepared for a lash at Ulster but sure we'll do our best. This is a very young senior squad and if they stay focused hopefully we'll be competitive for a few years.

Well done to Bredagh & Liatroim for reaching the Ulster semi finals. Liatroim are lucky to be involved since Ballycran won the Down Intermediate title and they went out at the semi final stage but I'm sure they'll make the most of the opportunity especially now that the football's over.

From BBC
Ballycran ready for Dunloy clash 

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44172000/jpg/_44172261_gregoryokanedunloy203.jpg)
Gregory O'Kane in action in the 2004 All-Ireland Club Final

Ballycran manager Dermot O'Prey says his players "have nothing to lose" in Sunday's AIB Ulster Club Hurling semi-final against favourites Dunloy.
The Antrim champions will be back at Casement Park (1530 BST) a week after edging out Loughgiel by three points in the Saffron county decider.

"Dunloy are very worthy favourites but we have nothing to fear," said O'Prey.

"We'll give them the respect they deserve but at the same time, we'll be looking to go and try and win."

Ballycran are playing in the Ulster Championship for the first time in 12 years, after ending their barren spell in the Down Championship and O'Prey acknowledges that Sunday's game will be a big occasion for the Ards Peninsula outfit.

"It means everything to the club. We've been too long in the doldrums and playing third fiddle to Ballygalget and Portaferry.

"To get to an Ulster semi-final is a bonus for us. To be playing Dunloy, who have been the standard bearers in Ulster for 10 or 12 years, is unbelievable."

We know they are going to put in a tremendous effort again on Sunday

Ballycran manager Dermot O'Prey on his players

Ballycran went into the Down final against Ballygalget as underdogs but they went on to claim a comprehensive 1-13 to 0-9 success.

"Nobody gave us a chance against Ballygalget but the lads put in a tremendous effort that day.

"We know they are going to put in a tremendous effort again on Sunday. Hopefully, it's good enough on the day."

O'Prey says he was not surprised that Dunloy beat Cushendall and Loughgiel to claim the club's 10th Antrim title.

"They have a good mixture of old hands with Gregory O'Kane, Ally Elliott and the Richmonds and that bit of young talent as well.

"They have the ideal mixture for winning championships. I knew the motivation was there for them to win a 10th Antrim title.

"People wrote them off a year or two ago but you never write Dunloy off."

Dunloy forward O'Kane insists that he has just as much admiration for the Ballycran team.

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44162000/jpg/_44162284_alistairelliott_203.jpg)

Alistair Elliott hit a vital 1-4 for Dunloy in the Antrim final

"Dunloy will be installed as favourites - I don't know why - because Ballycran will certainly be coming with all guns blazing.

"A team can come of age during a champinoship and it sounds as if this Ballycran team has fully made that breakthrough."

However, while O'Kane professes huge admiration for Ballycran, Dunloy will go in as strong favourites after their impressive win over luckless Loughgiel last Sunday.

There will have been celebrations in the North Antrim village after last weekend's sweet success over their bitter rivals but the real prize for Dunloy this season is getting another crack at the All-Ireland stage.

The prospects of the likes of Gregory O'Kane and Alistair Elliott winning All-Ireland Club medals seemed over when the club suffered a fourth heartbreaking defeat in the All-Ireland decider in 2004 against Newtownshandrum.

But after seeing Cushendall claim the Antrim titles over the last two years, the Dunloy veterans, spurred by their young team-mates, summoned up one more push to keep the dream alive.

Like O'Kane and Elliott, Colm McGuckian is in the mid-30s while Sean Mullan is a year short of his 40th birthday but is playing better than ever.

Dunloy should set up a decider against Kevin Lynchs.

Post by: Balboa on October 13, 2007, 09:04:38 AM
Colonel Cool, what do you put Ballycrans success in Down championship to? Youse have struggled in the league with only one win.
Post by: Bacon on October 14, 2007, 01:32:35 PM
Heading for caement now and I'm probably alone on this board in thinking that Ballycran have a chance. Their young forwards will love the open space at Casement and I can actually see them winning. We'll all know by 4.45.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 14, 2007, 05:21:29 PM
The senior semi final finished in a draw. Ballycran 3-12 2-15 Dunloy. Excellent game that Ballycran could have and probably should won. Instead they needed a point in injury time to equalise. The young Ballycram forwards threaten the Dunloy goal throughout the game and they should have scored more than 3 over the 60 minutes. The first Dunloy goal was from a very soft penalty but they took some great points from play when they found their ranage.
One of the McMullans from Dunloy suffered a bad looking injury right at death. It seemed be a clash of heads with one of his own players. I hope he's ok.

Liatroim beat Cushendun in the Intermediate Semi Final by 3 points.
Post by: Balboa on October 14, 2007, 05:42:30 PM
I think it was one of the Martins that got injured, was impressed with Ballycran, they should have won it. Brendan Mc Gourty had enough chances to win two games. Ballycran were not overawed by Dunloy at all and got tore into them, a few of Dunloys elder statesmen were not at the races today. Has Conor Cunning had a falling out? Started last week but was not introduced today.
Post by: theskull1 on October 14, 2007, 08:00:16 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 14, 2007, 05:42:30 PM
I think it was one of the Martins that got injured, was impressed with Ballycran, they should have won it. Brendan Mc Gourty had enough chances to win two games. Ballycran were not overawed by Dunloy at all and got tore into them, a few of Dunloys elder statesmen were not at the races today. Has Conor Cunning had a falling out? Started last week but was not introduced today.

Yeah....Ballycran should have won today and Dunloy will feel very lucky to have gotten out of jail. Thought Ballycran were excellent and pulled us all over the park today. Credit must be given to our fight back though but we'll need to stop allowing them the space we gave their forward line today. Their young lads really made good use of it. No falling out Rocky. Just didn't have a good day the last day.....its a panel of 29 you know, so you have to use it from time to time.
Post by: Balboa on October 14, 2007, 09:48:05 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 14, 2007, 08:00:16 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 14, 2007, 05:42:30 PM

Yeah....Ballycran should have won today and Dunloy will feel very lucky to have gotten out of jail. Thought Ballycran were excellent and pulled us all over the park today. Credit must be given to our fight back though but we'll need to stop allowing them the space we gave their forward line today. Their young lads really made good use of it. No falling out Rocky. Just didn't have a good day the last day.....its a panel of 29 you know, so you have to use it from time to time.

I know its a panel of 29 but its strange for a player who would be one of your main players to start one day and not be called upon at all the next day, especially in such a tight game. My honest opinion is he is twice the player of his brother that came on.
Post by: theskull1 on October 14, 2007, 11:56:00 PM
In fairness "his brother" scored 2-1 against loughgiel in the last group game and wasn't introduced in the next game against cushendall, so it's swings and roundabouts. Whenever you have options theres going to be good men on the line disappointed. Hopefully Conor will respond in the best way possible as he is on his day a class act. Sounds like your looking for a smoking gun which just isn't there.
Post by: Balboa on October 15, 2007, 09:13:56 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 14, 2007, 11:56:00 PM
In fairness "his brother" scored 2-1 against loughgiel in the last group game and wasn't introduced in the next game against cushendall, so it's swings and roundabouts. Whenever you have options theres going to be good men on the line disappointed. Hopefully Conor will respond in the best way possible as he is on his day a class act. Sounds like your looking for a smoking gun which just isn't there.

Im not, i think its a fair enough question to ask, you dont have to be so defensive about Dunloy all the time. Is the replay this weekend?
Post by: Lecale2 on October 15, 2007, 09:50:52 AM
Replay is this Sunday 3.00pm @ Casement.
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 09:57:50 AM
Quote from: Balboa on October 15, 2007, 09:13:56 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 14, 2007, 11:56:00 PM

Im not, i think its a fair enough question to ask, you dont have to be so defensive about Dunloy all the time. Is the replay this weekend?

:D Rocky you're a laugh

You start your questioning about why Conor didn't play a part yesterday by asking "Has Conor Cunning had a falling out?"  :D :D

There are 3 reasons why someone who started the last day doesn't start the next before you start looking at a "fall out" as the reasonable question to ask
1. He picks up an injury either during the game or at training
2. He doesn't perform well enough the first day and there are other options that need to be looked at
3. He loses his place to give the team better balance (say more pace inside as opposed to more strength) through no fault of his own performances

The above three factors will provide the explaination in 99% of these instances, but you go straight for the 1% chance

Can you not see why anybody would eventually get defensive about your line of questioning?

Yes the replay is this Sunday I believe
Post by: Balboa on October 15, 2007, 10:02:38 AM
Sent you a PM Skull
Post by: maxpower on October 15, 2007, 10:15:07 AM
I would imagine with all the errors Dunloy made and with the pace of the Ballycran forwards it would have been a very entertaining game of hurling yesterday, fiar play to Ballycran they should certainly have won the game but also credit must go to Dunloy as well for getting a draw out of a game they never go on top off (maybe in the last 5 mins)

Ballycran have pace up front, but they used it wisely yesterday drawing men all over the field and leaving the space to run into when facing the goal, and has been said poor finishing cost them the win.  That said, i think Dunloy allow teams to inflict their strategy onto them too easily, it happened against Cushendall, Loughgiel and Ballycran.  DUnloy for 15 years knew if they went man for man against any team in Ulster they had a fair chance of success and so that is the way they hurl.

But hurling has changed, tactics are much more important and Dunloy allow the opposition to crowd out the dunloy half forwards and leave loads of space in defence.  Perhaps we need to be cuter for the reply

Dunloy were poor no doubt, but immense credit must go to Gregory O'Kane, the number of times he has grabbed a game by the scruff of the neck like that over the years has been countless.  If and when Dick retires they will have lost a terrific hurler and a terrific leader
Post by: nrico2006 on October 15, 2007, 11:59:39 AM
Anybody know the other Ulster Club results from yesterday?
Post by: Lecale2 on October 15, 2007, 12:38:49 PM
JHC semi final result Armoy 1-18 1-06 Naomh Colmcille

The other Junior Semi Final - Bredagh (Down) v Setanta (Donegal) is at Casement on Sunday before the Senior replay. 1.15pm throw in.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 15, 2007, 12:53:45 PM
QuoteThe other Junior Semi Final - Bredagh (Down) v Setanta (Donegal) is at Casement on Sunday before the Senior replay. 1.15pm throw in.

Is that a home game for Bredagh then?  Be some jaunt from Killygordan to Belfast for a 1.15 throw in.
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 01:22:09 PM
I'm sure Setanta won't mind playing in the home of ulster hurling. Cue Johnnycool  ;)
Post by: Lecale2 on October 15, 2007, 02:54:30 PM
  IHC Semi Finals     
  14th Oct 
Cushendun (Antrim) 1-13 v 3-10 Liatroim (Down) at Casement Park 
Keady (Armagh) 0-12 v 0-09 Eire Og Carrickmore (Tyrone) at Maghera 

Post by: milltown row on October 15, 2007, 02:57:30 PM
all joking aside Skull, but why should the reply be at Casement for a semi final?  i can understand the final having the same venue but not a semi final
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 03:15:42 PM
I was only messing milltown. I can see the principle in the argument for moving it to another venue but can you see Ballycran looking to change venues after they way the played yesterday in Casement? I don't think so.
Post by: bredaghgael on October 15, 2007, 03:17:34 PM
 Bredagh's JHC Semi-final is now in Maghera at 3.30pm
Post by: johnneycool on October 15, 2007, 03:40:32 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 03:15:42 PM
I was only messing milltown. I can see the principle in the argument for moving it to another venue but can you see Ballycran looking to change venues after they way the played yesterday in Casement? I don't think so.

If they (Ballycran) requested a move to Portaferry which is a horse of a pitch as well, would Dunloy object?

Colonel,
          Have you requested a different pitch yet?
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 04:02:54 PM
A pretty poor horse of a pitch (in the summer anyway). Hard as the road and not a great surface either

In all honesty I think they would object....similar to setanta (if they had to travel to corrigan for example). 10-15 minutes down the road for ballycran men against nearly two (on a coach) for Dunloy. I know its a bit like the dubs playing in croke park but casement has the reputation from an ulster hurling perspective of being "thee" venue. It's a half way house and anybody who couldn't play hurling on casement shouldn't hurl at all. I can see both sides
Post by: johnneycool on October 15, 2007, 04:32:23 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 04:02:54 PM
A pretty poor horse of a pitch (in the summer anyway). Hard as the road and not a great surface either

In all honesty I think they would object....similar to setanta (if they had to travel to corrigan for example). 10-15 minutes down the road for ballycran men against nearly two (on a coach) for Dunloy. I know its a bit like the dubs playing in croke park but casement has the reputation from an ulster hurling perspective of being "thee" venue. It's a half way house and anybody who couldn't play hurling on casement shouldn't hurl at all. I can see both sides

Christ you'd go a fair way around the country to get a better surface than Portaferry's pitch. Granted that Casement is a good surface most of the time but to be honest the surface isn't the reason the Ulster council goes with Casement as I've played on it many's a time when it's either in gutters or a good few inches of sand on it and even one year when Casement was unavailable we played in Corrigan and it was a bog against Antrim opposition. As for your travelling argument I could suggest that Rossa had a huge advantage when they were able to walk to Casement as opposed to us travelling for an hour plus on a coach. Sure didn't Portaferry end up playing Dunloy up in Loughgeile once was Casement was unplayable.

As for Casement being 'thee' venue it used to be the case up to and including 1989 that the final was on a home and away type basis and all of a sudden Casement was the defacto home of Ulster hurling.

I just think it's a huge advantage to Antrim teams, club and county to have Ulster finals there all the time and you'll not convince me otherwise not matter how hard you try.
Post by: slow corner back on October 15, 2007, 04:43:27 PM
It depends on the antrim team in question Johnny, I know some of our players, Armoy, were surprised at the bounce and the speed of the ball at Casement a couple of weeks back, it was the first time we have played there in seven years.
Post by: johnneycool on October 15, 2007, 04:45:18 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on October 15, 2007, 04:43:27 PM
It depends on the antrim team in question Johnny, I know some of our players, Armoy, were surprised at the bounce and the speed of the ball at Casement a couple of weeks back, it was the first time we have played there in seven years.

I'm sure for a lot of the Ballycran lads it was their first time too.
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 06:53:33 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 15, 2007, 04:32:23 PM

Christ you'd go a fair way around the country to get a better surface than Portaferry's pitch.

I just think it's a huge advantage to Antrim teams, club and county to have Ulster finals there all the time and you'll not convince me otherwise not matter how hard you try.

I can't remember it being a good surface. Hard and bumpy in the dry summer months (what year was that again?)  ;). I bow to your greater knowledge though

You have a fair point so I'll not try and convince you, but I still say that Ballycran would take more convincing than me at the minute and will be happy enough with Casement this Sunday
Post by: Colonel Cool on October 15, 2007, 10:01:53 PM
We are happy enough with Casement. The only alternative would probably be Newry. That's the way the Ulster Council work. Newry is a good pitch but if we are to take on the best Ulster club side of the last 15 years I'd be happy to play them in Casement. We had it for the taking on Sunday, no doubt about it. I hope we can perform as well again.
Post by: theskull1 on October 15, 2007, 11:08:03 PM
"Happy enough"  :D

You wouldn't want it anywhere else in Ireland Colonel after the way youse played last Sunday. It's alright...... you don't have to tell me. Just PM Johnny
Post by: milltown row on October 16, 2007, 02:11:19 PM
having played at casement this year in the mighty south antrim competition, i found it was in great condition.

but i'd still feel pissed off at having to go back. is McKenna park not the county ground for Down in hurling? Crossmaglen have been playing the county Championship finals at their own ground for the last few years, again i find this unfair. wont be at the match this sunday again as we have been fixed with a game against Cushendall in the league.

can't see them turning up with all the internal problems they are having ;)
Post by: Whitehair on October 16, 2007, 03:18:30 PM
Lecale did Danny Hughes break his collarbone last week in training?
Post by: Hurling addict on October 17, 2007, 09:13:00 PM
Ballycran set for a golden period of dominance
Atlast it is coming true the golden period of Ballycran is beginning.They outplayed Dunloy, will beat them in the replay and give the all-ireland a real go.
There is nothing surprising about this they are a bunch of committed skilful players who just live and breath for hurling.They have the material in Ballycran , a very well organised youth policy from Paddy Dorrian at the early stages right up to Dermot O'Prey and the rest.Hurling is everything to these people .
The players taking a few examples are just hurling mad Sean O Aonghuis ,Conor Woods (possibly the best hurler in Ulster and son of the great Dermot), James Coyle ( what a pedigree) ,Colm Mc MANUS , Gary Savage( need we tell anyone of him)Paddy Hughes( from the great hurling family) , his cousin Gregory , Brendan Mc Gourty and all of them i could list.It is no surprise to anyone in the Ards that these players took Casement by storm.They live for it and that is why we could be looking at a very long period of dominance.
So don't be surprised anymore the secret is out Ballycran are back better than they ever were.
So get to Casement and watch these guys they are going to put the pride back in Ulster hurling.Everyone of them are a credit to their families and their club.So go watch them and you'll see what i mean - these are warriors (manly disciplined men) who never give up and work , work, hook , block, run, and more...
BAILE CRANN ABU!!
Post by: NAG on October 18, 2007, 09:35:23 AM
Hurling Addict?

Saw this posted on the Hoganstand Down page.

Are you seriously thinking that you will give the All Ireland a good go?

My friend I think you need to take a closer look at Dunloy before you start booking hotels in febuary. Firstly my point is that you played very well in the first game and Dunloy were dreadful. Secondly Dunloy will have learned your team and your tactics from the first game and will adjust their team and tactics accordingly.

IMO you were a suprise package to not only Down hurling but to the whole of Ulster uncluding Dunloy. I would say if you asked most of the Dunloy team to name five of your players before sunday they would have struggled were most of your lads could have picked the Dunloy team.

Im not saying that you wont beat them on sunday, but if I was you I wouldnt be mouthing off like that just yet. If you back someone into a corner for long enough the only way they are going to come out is fighting and that is what I expect from Dunloy this sunday, so I hope you are prepared.

They might need to be warriors!
Post by: Jiriki on October 18, 2007, 02:44:35 PM
I'd love to see Ballycran win... but I think hurling addict is overcooking it there. Dunloy are a damn fine side. And to ignore Kevin Lynch's is silly. Dungiven have a side full of big men that hit hard and hurl well. Whoever gets through to the final won't get it easy.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on October 20, 2007, 10:23:48 PM
Good luck to Down's representatives on Sunday, Ballycran & Bredagh. Do the business lads!
Title: Dunloy bt Ballycran
Post by: glens73 on October 21, 2007, 04:38:49 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7055350.stm

Dunloy too strong for Ballycran
Dunloy's Gregory O'Kane
Gregory O'Kane hit eight points for Dunloy at Casement Park
Dunloy progressed to next Sunday's AIB Ulster Club Hurling final against Kevin Lynchs by beating Ballycran 1-19 to 1-12 in Sunday's semi-final replay.

The Antrim side led 1-10 to 0-7 at half-time - helped by Liam Richmond's goal midway through the first half.

Richmond notched 1-5 for Dunloy while Gregory O'Kane hit eight points and sub Conor Cunning notched four scores.

James Coyle's 53rd-minute goal reduced Dunloy's lead to six points but the Antrim side had already done enough.

Post by: Lecale2 on October 21, 2007, 05:35:43 PM
Junior Semi Final Result: Bredagh 0-12 2-06 Setanta.
Replay next Sunday in Maghera.
Post by: slow corner back on October 21, 2007, 07:38:09 PM
Who will feel they missed the boat Lecale? Bredagh had 12 scores against the 8 of Setanta does this signify that Bredagh were the better team?
Post by: Lecale2 on October 21, 2007, 08:57:13 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on October 21, 2007, 07:38:09 PM
Who will feel they missed the boat Lecale? Bredagh had 12 scores against the 8 of Setanta does this signify that Bredagh were the better team?

I reckon Bredagh will think they missed the boat. They were leading with 3 minutes left, Setanta got a late goal to go 2 up. But Bredagh fought back to get the 2 pts they needed for the draw. Setanta were the better team in the first half and would have been 10 pts up were it not for the Bredagh keeper Lorenzo McMullan. Man of the match performance IMO. Second half Bredagh dominated but couldn't get goals that would have won it.
Who knows the next day? Two evenly matched teams. Looking forward to the replay.
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2007, 09:27:22 PM
Quote from: From the Hoganstand
Just tucking into a big helping of humble pie, re. the stoker.Doesn't taste great but I know it will be good for me. The splinters in his ase and the doubters like me obviously set the fire in his belly again. Well done to the lad, came good at the right time for Dunloy.
Last Man , Uptown Ireland , 21/10/2007 at 19:50

Fair play to you Last Man. Got your speak in early. With Paddy R, Cookie & Liam in the 3/4 line I couldn't see a position for stoker either and don't think you were that off the mark with your comments. Delighted for him today though. Showed his true class today and really got himself into the game. For a boy who in all honesty is not as lively on the feet as he used to be, he did an amazing amount of intelligent work and bagged himself  4 beautiful scores inside 25 minutes. Thought our forwards did an amazing amount of work today and the score taking in the first half especially was sublime. Am I being biased in saying that the ref kept BC in the game especially in the last 15 minutes? Gave them 4 very soft frees whilst letting a lot go up in our forward line IMO. Great to see big Damian back out again. Thought he played very well. Thoughts to young Kevin McKeague.  The man lives the game. Hope it's not as bad an injury as it looked

Oh..... if you don't want to finish the humble pie, there might be someone else who is prepared to take the rest of it  ;) ;)
Post by: Balboa on October 21, 2007, 09:29:54 PM
Skull wasnt at the game today, we were busy dismantling Rossa in Belfast  ;) Is the final next week? Does Paudie Mc Mullan not hurl anymore?
Post by: theskull1 on October 21, 2007, 10:17:12 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 21, 2007, 09:29:54 PM
Skull wasnt at the game today, we were busy dismantling Rossa in Belfast  ;) Is the final next week? Does Paudie Mc Mullan not hurl anymore?

Could youse not have got out of your beds a bit earlier and played the game earlier or did the mariners make that a bit difficult to achieve?  :) What was the score btw?

No...he didn't come out this year. He's a hard worker (joiner) plus I think he struggled with a bad back for a few years there and could never really get to the right level of fitness to be at his best. Probably made his mind up for him.
Post by: Balboa on October 21, 2007, 10:26:02 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 21, 2007, 10:17:12 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 21, 2007, 09:29:54 PM

Could youse not have got out of your beds a bit earlier and played the game earlier or did the mariners make that a bit difficult to achieve?  :) What was the score btw?

No...he didn't come out this year. He's a hard worker (joiner) plus I think he struggled with a bad back for a few years there and could never really get to the right level of fitness to be at his best. Probably made his mind up for him.

The match was at 1.15pm so we could go to the Dunloy v Ballycran game but i had to go home and get fed and babysit as the missus was going out, i was fcuked after the match anyway  :P. We beat them 2-17 to 0-10, we played pretty well for a meaningless end of season game but have to say Rossa were brutal. It was 2-4 to 0-7 at half time.
Post by: Last Man on October 22, 2007, 09:49:54 AM
Sorry Skull, made sure I finished every last bit of it, had to suck it up after the stir I caused on the HS last week. Good to see the whole team back on form again. On your point about the ref, I get the impression having watched a good few Ulster league games this year that there is a bit of resentment from the other counties in Ulster about the Antrim dominance. Their standard is improving and they probably feel that Antrim is holding them back from a breakthrough at senior level. This must rub off on the odd referee. Or what is more likely, is that  a faceless sinister element at the core of the Ulster council is trying to surreptitiously manipulate the outcome of the Ulster Championship, strange antennae have been noticed on the roof at premises in Market St, Armagh which it is believed may be emitting some kind of mind control rays. I could be wrong but they were pointing towards Belfast yesterday. I'm taking no chances anyway and have lined the inside if my helmet with lead. You heard it here first!
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2007, 09:58:13 AM
Quote from: Last Man on October 22, 2007, 09:49:54 AM
I'm taking no chances anyway and have lined the inside if my helmet with lead. You heard it here first!

Rumour has it that Dunloy heard the same conspiracy theory and did exactly what you suggest last week in the drawn match :)
Post by: johnneycool on October 22, 2007, 01:09:33 PM
Who was the ref yesterday?

P.S. maybe its just me and my persecution complex but I never had any time for Gerry Devlin refereeing as he never seemed to give us anything and ditto Tommy McIntyre who all but give the Lynches a semi-final against us a few years back. I think one of the Dungiven lads give him a thump after that game and he deserved it but not for the reason he got it. Is that Karma?
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2007, 01:16:06 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 22, 2007, 01:09:33 PM

P.S. maybe its just me and my persecution complex but I never had any time for Gerry Devlin refereeing as he never seemed to give us anything and ditto Tommy McIntyre who all but give the Lynches a semi-final against us a few years back. I think one of the Dungiven lads give him a thump after that game and he deserved it but not for the reason he got it. Is that Karma?

Ger Devlin was in charge. In fairness to him I thought he did well in the first half, but late in the second half I thought he kept BC in the game with frees whilst giving our forwards very little at that stage. I've been fairly critical of some of the other refereeing performances in matches involving ourselves, so it could just be me  :-\
Post by: Ruairi Og exile on October 22, 2007, 01:29:19 PM
Skull wasnt at the match....but hearing you criticise the ref then hear the ref was Mr Devlin isnt a suprise...think he's very poor imo. Never lets the game flow at all. And dont start me on Tommy either.
Post by: podge on October 22, 2007, 01:37:58 PM
Having seen a few ulster club matches over the last few weeks, in a strange way it makes you appreciate the relative higher quality of hurling refs in Antrim.  Both refs last Sunday, Dunloy v crans and Liatroim v Cushendun and yesterdays replay were whistle happy.  almost a non contact sport when these guys get in.  if this is the way matches outside antrim are reffed, it explains a lot..

Post by: Balboa on October 22, 2007, 01:40:12 PM
Youse can talk about bad refs all you want but when we played Rossa yesterday and i saw the ref it sent a shiver down my spine.........Lads i give you County Down's own Deccy Magee  :o
Post by: Owenbeg on October 22, 2007, 01:41:13 PM

JC, what crap are you talking. when was this that we were handed a game by a ref. We were done out of the 2004 Ulster semi by tommy mcintyre, the man hates the site of us and definetly wouldnt do us any favours. And nobody hit him, our manager was suspended for a year for slagging him off in the paper and calling it a lottery and tommy mc intyre show. Refs in Ulster are just bad. Try comin to derry and see what we have to put up wit week in week out!!
Post by: johnneycool on October 22, 2007, 04:57:30 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on October 22, 2007, 01:41:13 PM

JC, what crap are you talking. when was this that we were handed a game by a ref. We were done out of the 2004 Ulster semi by tommy mcintyre, the man hates the site of us and definetly wouldnt do us any favours. And nobody hit him, our manager was suspended for a year for slagging him off in the paper and calling it a lottery and tommy mc intyre show. Refs in Ulster are just bad. Try comin to derry and see what we have to put up wit week in week out!!

Obviously we are poles apart on our estimation of Tommy on that given day but some of the frees he gave that day were soft in the extreme and I can give you plenty of examples of it and I'm sure you can return the compliment, so we'll agree to disagree and just say Tommy had one of his worst performances that day.
Post by: Owenbeg on October 22, 2007, 05:36:43 PM
Fair enough johnneycool!! Refs in ulster aint good- what ur take on sundays final
Post by: Guillem2 on October 22, 2007, 11:05:22 PM
I think Lynches will give Dunloy a hell of a game but the country boys will win. They have the experience and the hurling to beat Dungiven handy.  10 points in it for me.

On the refs - too many Ulster refs also ref football. Football has become a game where virtually any contact is a free. Refs who cover football, referee hurling poorly IMO. The better refs let things go but step in when they get out of hand. Matthews, Duffy, Elliott are excellent refs IMO. Outside of Antrim there are few so its always going to be tough getting a good ref when an Antrim team plays a Down team. Torney, Coulter and Quinn are the best in Down now. Magee is shocking. 
Post by: theskull1 on October 22, 2007, 11:35:24 PM
Quote from: Guillem2 on October 22, 2007, 11:05:22 PM
I think Lynches will give Dunloy a hell of a game but the country boys will win. They have the experience and the hurling to beat Dungiven handy.  10 points in it for me.

On the refs - too many Ulster refs also ref football. Football has become a game where virtually any contact is a free. Refs who cover football, referee hurling poorly IMO. The better refs let things go but step in when they get out of hand. Matthews, Duffy, Elliott are excellent refs IMO. Outside of Antrim there are few so its always going to be tough getting a good ref when an Antrim team plays a Down team. Torney, Coulter and Quinn are the best in Down now. Magee is shocking. 

Heard he was refereeing the Final  :-\
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 09:14:22 AM
The thing i cant understand is he seems to be one of the main men about, i dont think i have been involved or watched a match he has been officiating in that hasnt almost spilled over into a riot. The Ballycran players had particular praise for him this year when we played them, i suppose they know him better than us.
Post by: NAG on October 23, 2007, 12:01:45 PM
IMO the refereeing outside of antrim is seriosuly bad.

Sundays performance was a case in point I think there is deliberate policy in  ulster for the ref's to favour the under dog and try to keep matches close onthe score board. There can be no other explanation for some of the decisions I witnessed on sunday.

Have always said until we bring the standard of reffing up then the hurling will struggle.
Post by: theskull1 on October 23, 2007, 12:04:13 PM
Quote from: NAG on October 23, 2007, 12:01:45 PM
ISundays performance was a case in point I think there is deliberate policy in  ulster for the ref's to favour the under dog and try to keep matches close onthe score board. There can be no other explanation for some of the decisions I witnessed on sunday.

So it's not just me then....phew. Anyone else at the game? What was your take?
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 23, 2007, 12:07:36 PM
Dungiven will push Dunloy a lot closer than 10 points. You can except them to drag Dunloy into a dogfight. By this stage they are a very seasoned team. The Hinpheys are playing the hurling of their lives and Cathal McKeever is a quality addition.

A shock is on the cards
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 12:10:23 PM
I would not be surprised if Dungiven beat them, the Banagher manager was telling a friend that they have improved out of all recognition from last year when they almost beat the Dall.
Post by: Ruairi Og exile on October 23, 2007, 12:40:32 PM
Think it should be a good match. Dungiven will hit Dunloy hard & they have some good hurlers. If they can get the right type of ball into Big Geoff(ie edge of the square) he'll cause problems. If Dunloy keep it wide, spread the play & dont let it be bunched they'll win as they have the better hurlers but it'll be close enough.
Post by: johnneycool on October 23, 2007, 01:39:06 PM
The Lynches were going well against Cushendall last year but once Liam Hinphey went off injured they lost their way and Cushendall had the players to get scores when the Lynches couldn't at the other end. If its a shitty wet and windy day, it'll suit the Lynches as they are physically a big team but need that bit more time and space on the ball to get their stroke away especially their forwards.

The Lynches are strong up the middle and have two good corner backs who like to get up close and personal but with Deccy on the whistle Sundays game could almost be not contact and free takers may have a huge bearing on the outcome. Dunloy have the better options on the wings and bench to see them through but not by the cricket scores they used to rattle up in their prime.

I still can't understand the Lynches decision not to play in the Ulster league even with a weakened side as it'd give those lads more hurling at a better standard that'll need it on Sunday.
Post by: Owenbeg on October 23, 2007, 01:46:46 PM
Lads please lets get one thing straight- it Kevin Lynch's not just Dungiven. It really annoys me when we r refered to as just dungiven.

As for sunday i think i will just wait and see!!

P.s thanks for the support wiskey setve ;)

Quote from: johnneycool on October 23, 2007, 01:39:06 PM
I still can't understand the Lynches decision not to play in the Ulster league even with a weakened side as it'd give those lads more hurling at a better standard that'll need it on Sunday.

Neither can i johnney neither can i!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Balboa on October 23, 2007, 01:59:37 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on October 23, 2007, 01:46:46 PM
Lads please lets get one thing straight- it Kevin Lynch's not just Dungiven. It really annoys me when we r refered to as just dungiven.

As for sunday i think i will just wait and see!!

P.s thanks for the support wiskey setve ;)

Dungiven should also have a capital D, lets get a few things straight Owenbeg.

Post by: whiskeysteve on October 23, 2007, 02:16:00 PM
no bother owenbeg, yous just need sean leo in there and then youre talkin all-irelands ;)
Post by: Last Man on October 25, 2007, 08:44:28 AM
What way do we see the tactics going on Sunday? Are we going to see a conventional game at last this championship. Surely the 2 man f forward line wouldn't suit big Geoff. He's a great ball winner both catching and off the deck( he hardly has to bend over). Raining balls in on top of him is the Lynch's MO I take it. Haven't seen them play for a while.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2007, 10:45:33 AM
think KL's have changed their style slightly - even from last season.
I hope they can surprise a lot of people on Sunday.
Will see you in the stands Owenbeg!
Post by: NAG on October 25, 2007, 11:27:47 AM
Not sure it will matter tactically is Dunloy bring the A game the lynches wont be in it and thats being honest!

Lynches are a big strong physical team and could over power dunloy in the tackle area but if dunloy are able to move the ball faster this physicallity wont count.

Just wonder if the past few weeks wont have taken something away from dunloys sharper game.
Post by: theskull1 on October 25, 2007, 11:57:31 AM
Don't know how anybody in Antrim knows so much about Kevin Lynches when they didn't compete in the Ulster League. After running the dall close last year, I would know that they have been preparing for this date all year. I would expect a very close hard fought encounter.
Post by: Last Man on October 25, 2007, 11:58:59 AM
The extra tight games might be in Dunloys favour if they have concentrated on their recovery during the week and not like like some clubs who unless they are sprinting up hills wouldn't think they are focused enough. I agree Dunloy should edge it but some of the soft goals conceded must give the Lynch's a sniff of hope.
Post by: maxpower on October 25, 2007, 12:18:40 PM
I think its just a case because we its Antrim champions versus Derry Champions then we should win handy, i certainly don't concede to that opinion, Kevin Lynchs are a good team.  Dunloy will need to be at their best to win.

whats the craic with the Junior final, when is it too be played, spoke to an armoy man who was far from happy about the change as he was heading away this week
Post by: Owenbeg on October 25, 2007, 12:27:49 PM
u will be seeing none of me in the stands Lynchs bhoy, u know where i will be!!! and if (after!!!) we win you will see plenty of me in the arcade for most of next week!!! U up for it!!! U still on same email.

Post by: Lecale2 on October 25, 2007, 02:37:52 PM
Quote from: maxpower on October 25, 2007, 12:18:40 PM

whats the craic with the Junior final, when is it too be played, spoke to an armoy man who was far from happy about the change as he was heading away this week
Junior final was postponed for a week because Bredagh and Setanta drew last Sunday in the other final. He'll just have to get over it.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 25, 2007, 02:51:54 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on October 25, 2007, 12:27:49 PM
u will be seeing none of me in the stands Lynchs bhoy, u know where i will be!!! and if (after!!!) we win you will see plenty of me in the arcade for most of next week!!! U up for it!!! U still on same email.
apologies, I forgot where you will be !
I am indeed still on same email.
Post by: Square Ball on October 27, 2007, 08:37:12 PM
Good luck to Bredagh in the replay tomorrow!!
Post by: Whitehair on October 27, 2007, 09:44:54 PM
Aye good luck to Liatroim as well as Bredagh tomorrow!
I'l go for a Kevin Lynch's win, its the 1 match they'v probably been gearing themslves up for all year and they were impressive against C/dall last year.
I hope Declan Magee lets the game flow and we get a good game (he and his umpires were on the receiving end of strong criticism this evening in the Railway cup final)  but then according to Ger Loughnane we Notherners dont really understand the game, so we probably couldnt appreciate good hurling anyway!
Post by: gaagaa on October 28, 2007, 12:35:47 AM
come on the lynch's from all your north derry neighbours
Post by: Aerlik on October 28, 2007, 02:25:25 AM
Aye good luck to Dungiven KLHC from this side of the world too.  My mam's a Dungiven woman and likes to remind me of the fact...on a regular basis.  Never stopped me enjoying beating the hoors when I hurled.  Please, please, please hammer those tramps from the Coo Hallions.  I bet you every club in Antrim is shouting for the Derry club today, especially Loughgiel. ;)
Post by: theskull1 on October 28, 2007, 11:01:22 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 28, 2007, 02:25:25 AM
Aye good luck to Dungiven KLHC from this side of the world too.  My mam's a Dungiven woman and likes to remind me of the fact...on a regular basis.  Never stopped me enjoying beating the hoors when I hurled.  Please, please, please hammer those tramps from the Coo Hallions.  I bet you every club in Antrim is shouting for the Derry club today, especially Loughgiel. ;)
:o
Why Aerlik? Please elaborate. I would suspect that there would be some rivals nearby who wouldn't wish us well yes, but beyond that...you'd really need to explain what the f**k you are talking about.

Expecting silence
Post by: gaagaa on October 28, 2007, 02:12:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 28, 2007, 02:28:54 AM
Dunloy will hopefully show them why no Derry hoors were on the Ulster panel.

well the ulster management certainly showed us why they couldnt pick their a%Se when they managed antrim >:(
Post by: Aerlik on October 28, 2007, 02:35:16 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 28, 2007, 11:01:22 AM
Why Aerlik? Please elaborate. I would suspect that there would be some rivals nearby who wouldn't wish us well yes, but beyond that...you'd really need to explain what the f**k you are talking about.

Expecting silence

Post by: gaagaa on October 28, 2007, 04:15:37 PM
just heard dungiven were beaten
Post by: Glensman on October 28, 2007, 06:18:02 PM
Interesting game. Dungiven on top in last 20 mins of first half but never capitalised. Wasn't sure what was going on...about 5 balls were pumped high into Geoffrey when scores should have been taken - a few by the Hinpheys. Now at the the time I wasn't sure whether this was a tactic or whether they thought they couldn't reach the points but when the same boys banged over a couple in the 2nd half it was clear it was a tactic that went wrong.

If Dungiven were a few up at half time and had got a couple of early scores 2nd half their heads would have been up and they might have won.

As it was there was a general feel (I thought) that we were waiting for a Dunloy goal. It came from Paddy Richmond and then there was a sealing goal from Shorty. Around that time when Dunloy were beginning to turn the screw Dick o Kane had a couple of great catches. Dunloy had a good few chances near the end and shoould have been out of sight sooner but they did the job and did it well.

Thought McGhee did well in nets (won the battle of the cousins - the press were loving this). His puck outs are huge and he caught a ball above the bar which for a wee man is some going. The back line was solid from Dunloy I thought with McKeague handling big Geoff well. Martin Curry worked hard, Dick battled away and Paddy Richmond having been anonymous scored the goal and a nice point late on...I wish I could bloody do that. The big man seems to always come up trumps.

So what is the view then from the Dunloy camp or just outside it. Is there a push in this team for the All Ireland. I think there could be...good balance of youth and experience. A well earned break for a few weeks and then go for it.
Why not? Nerves wouldn't come into play I wouldn't think,
Who knows the monkey could be off the back by St Patricks Day...here's hoping.
Post by: Whitehair on October 28, 2007, 06:53:48 PM
I thought a main turning point was when Paddy Mc Closkey? ran through and kicked it wide, a bit like the 1st day against Ballycran, you felt Dunloy could pull a goal out of the bag at the end and KL would need to take all their chances. I thought the two Hinpheys were the standout players on the park today and Dunloy'l need to improve around the middle against better opposition.
Post by: Square Ball on October 28, 2007, 07:06:29 PM
Setanta beat Bredagh by 4 this afternoon.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 28, 2007, 07:40:27 PM
What were the scores at Casement? I heard that Keady beat Latroim and Dunloy beat Lynch's.

Setanta beat Bredagh 0-12 to 1-05 in the Junior semi final replay.
Title: Re: Just home from Casement.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 28, 2007, 08:21:12 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 28, 2007, 07:57:48 PM

Ten points from today, in no particular order;
1. Bredagh men, where to fcuk do you get your names from?

What??
Post by: theskull1 on October 29, 2007, 01:06:37 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 28, 2007, 02:35:16 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 28, 2007, 11:01:22 AM

Expecting silence

Hic  :)

Why do I feel so superior? Is it because we won or because you cannot back up what you say? Hopefully you can find the intelligence somewhere to answer my original question. :-\

Anyway..to the game

5 Championships in 6 weeks looked to have taken its toll on Dunloy today. Weren't at the races for most of the game yet still pulled it out of the fire. Thought the No 9 for Dungiven and the No 6 were immense for them and would grace any team. Plenty of other KL players contributed. Somewhere out of nowhere we found form and 5 minutes hurling killed the game. I'm sure the sirs are gutted but by all reports your manners on the pitch lead me to have no sympthay for your loss. By all accounts there was shocking "sledging" taking place.  Takes a good team to hurl bad and still win which is something Dunloy did today.
Post by: NAG on October 29, 2007, 09:59:55 AM
Have to say well done to dunloy

They have been the team that has showed all the hunger and all the class throughout 2007.

To the sirs, was chatting to a few of the dunloy lads after the game and they were saying about some of the things the lynches were sledging about during the game, pretty out of order stuff maybe if they had of concentrated on the hurling they might have got over the line, but then again I doubt it.

I think the last few weeks showed in the legs of the dunloy men thye couldnt get away from the football tackling of the sirs and that slowed the game down to dungiven's level.

As soon as the tempo got raised for 5 minutes towards the end they were left wondering whats was going on and dunloy bagged two goals.

Fair play to dunloy and good luck to them in febuary.

Hardstation

Kevin Martin should have put geoffs teeth down his throat from what I heard in the club after the game and McGhee has been the best keeper in antrim now for 3-4 years.
Title: Re: Just home from Casement.
Post by: maxpower on October 29, 2007, 10:08:06 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 28, 2007, 07:57:48 PM
Well done Dunloy!!!!!
2. Kevin Lynch's were unlucky. Dunloy still have the ability to get a goal or a couple of points in the last few minutes.
3. Declan Magee is a shite referee (to both teams today).
4. Cushendun must be shite if they were beaten by Liatroim because Liatroim are crap!
5. Geoffry should have kicked seven shades of shite out of Kevin Martin who did nothing other than act the complete bollox.
6. Dunloy are not a great team and I doubt that they will go any further (although I would like them to).
7. Dungiven had a bus "Banjos on tour" and about ten 16 year olds jumped off it and found it difficult to walk.
8. Kevin Lynch's have some fine hurlers and will get an Ulster title soon.
9. Some Dunloy hurlers are gone after this year. It's sad to see but the young blood that they have should provide some excitement.
10. Gareth Magee is a complete and utter wan*er!

WTF is that all about, go and catch yourself on will ye
Post by: maxpower on October 29, 2007, 10:26:06 AM
I shouldn't even be replying to a glupin like yourself.  I'd be against coming onto a website and anonymously calling someone a bollix or a cnut or w*nker anyhow, but how in the name of sweet jaysus you manage to pick out 2 Dunloy to criticise for there bahaviour after what when on all over the field yesterday from the sirs.

As for goading, who was it stood pointing the finger in james McKeague face after the penalty shouting thats your goal, it a testament to the character of James that he didn't react.  Oh the finger pointer reacted when he was goaded, what goes around comes around i say and after some of the abuse they dished out during the game i have no sympathy for them.
Post by: maxpower on October 29, 2007, 10:42:58 AM
thats the point, you commented, and slandered two personal friends of mine when you hadn't a clue what they were reacting too.
Post by: maxpower on October 29, 2007, 10:58:16 AM
he was reacting to the goading of James after the penalty, he also was goaded on the first goal.  forgetting about you now.

As for the game itself, i think the fact that Dunloy don't seem to win these man of the match awards is actually testament to their team play.  This year, more than any other i can remember, Dunloy have a panel of players where they can pick a team to play the opposition.  It not just about the best 15 players. 

Kevin Lynchs played well, particulary in midfield and defence where they subdued Dunloy's main threat, but in that lies Dunloy strength, Paul shields offered an option, Darren Quinn looked sharp and when needed most Paddy Richmond delivered.  What about the score of the match from Damien McMullan, must have been 100 yards out

I'd say there will be a break for a month then hard at it again for a clash against the leinster champions (could well be Birr again)
Post by: Aerlik on October 29, 2007, 11:10:05 AM
 Hopefully you can find the intelligence somewhere to answer my original question. :-\

When I hurled, Dunloy didn't know the meaning of the word sportsmanship and were deadset against a Derry team playing in the Antrim minor league.  As it happened every other team in the league was all for it, in fact Loughgiel and Cushendall were our biggest supporters.  And just to laugh even more, we actually won the league dropping a single point on the way.  Then we were invited to play in the Antrim Championship and guess what, Dunloy objected.  The coat-trailing supporters that drag their knuckles after the club are another reason why the club is disliked especially in Derry.  there you go, please tell me the neanderthals have evolved and the callouses on the knuckles are healed.   ;)
Post by: Owenbeg on October 29, 2007, 11:20:12 AM
Firstly before i start the rant well done to dunloy, so fair play to them and at the end of the day there name is on the cup!!

declan magee is a tr**p. how the f**k this man ever gets invovled in refereeing games. are there ref monitors at these games, he made a compete idiot of himself in the railway cup then pulls y'day performance out. he would put you off hurling. He definetly favoured dunloy,we didnt get one free within 45 metres of goal, everytime we scored he then give dunloy a soft free. I think it was number 14 who should defintely get then line for a dirty slap on emmet mc keever in the first half when he connected with emmetts face with a hurl with no attempt for the ball made. on the stand side on the in the second half the linesman took his cue from a dunloy man and gave two clear kl sidelines to dunloy.

But we can blame the referee all we want but at the same time all u want is a fair crack at it. after so much effort and trainig from the players it is just sickin!! we had also enough chances to bury dunloy yesterday but that life

Best of luck to dunloy in the all ireland series and we will see unes again next year!!!!

Posted on: October 28, 2007, 08:57:48 PMPosted by: hardstation  
Insert Quote
Well done Dunloy!!!!!
2. Kevin Lynch's were unlucky. Dunloy still have the ability to get a goal or a couple of points in the last few minutes.
3. Declan Magee is a shite referee (to both teams today).
4. Cushendun must be shite if they were beaten by Liatroim because Liatroim are crap!
5. Geoffry should have kicked seven shades of shite out of Kevin Martin who did nothing other than act the complete bollox.
6. Dunloy are not a great team and I doubt that they will go any further (although I would like them to).
7. Dungiven had a bus "Banjos on tour" and about ten 16 year olds jumped off it and found it difficult to walk.
8. Kevin Lynch's have some fine hurlers and will get an Ulster title soon.
9. Some Dunloy hurlers are gone after this year. It's sad to see but the young blood that they have should provide some excitement.
10. Gareth Magee is a complete and utter wan*er!

Hardstation u are an idiot. Kevin lynchs and nothing to do wit that bus yesterday!!
And if ur a real dunloy club man then you should be backing your club and ALL the players up to the hilt and not slagging them off on the board, bet ur nice as pie to ther face. grow a backbone!!!
Post by: NAG on October 29, 2007, 12:02:07 PM
Owenbeg

I think a reality check is needed here big time. I have to say dungiven hurled well but when it came to the nitty gritty of the match when it was going full pace Dunloy outhurled you in every sector of the field.

They could have run out easier winners than they did with some poor shooting.

Aerlick

Dont come on here spouting rubbish. Dunloy have had the best record discipline wise in the whole of antrim for fews year no men on the line. After hearing some of the antics of the dungiven men im suprised they were able to hold back on sunday.
Secondly as an Antrim man I dont want any derry teams competing in the antrim leagues, sort your own house out and dont be looking to us to do it for you.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 12:08:13 PM
Quote from: NAG on October 29, 2007, 12:02:07 PM
Secondly as an Antrim man I dont want any derry teams competing in the antrim leagues, sort your own house out and dont be looking to us to do it for you.

If you don't want to see Derry develop as a competitive hurling county thats very small minded and only serves to weaken Ulster and consequently Antrim hurling down the line. More false dawns for many years to come...
Post by: theskull1 on October 29, 2007, 12:17:18 PM
Quote from: Owenbeg on October 29, 2007, 11:20:12 AM
declan magee is a tr**p.
The most commonly used word around Dungiven. I believe it got plenty of usage yesterday anyway. Everybody seemed to be one in the sirs eyes. Are you proud of that behavior? I think it is a disgusting trait and one that will certainly win you no friends. It's the main reason why I have no sympathy for youse today. 

Not totally au fait with the rule book on these things but what Dick O'Kane was a yellow card for sure, but would you mind putting what he done into context. If you looked at his eye last night you could see where the dungiven defender hand gouged him through his visor face guard prior to him reacting (stupidly). Also....nobody is a fan of Deccy Magees refereeing style but for you to blame him for that defeat is unbelievable.

Quote from: Aerlik on October 29, 2007, 11:10:05 AM
Hopefully you can find the intelligence somewhere to answer my original question. :-\

When I hurled, Dunloy didn't know the meaning of the word sportsmanship and were deadset against a Derry team playing in the Antrim minor league.  As it happened every other team in the league was all for it, in fact Loughgiel and Cushendall were our biggest supporters.  And just to laugh even more, we actually won the league dropping a single point on the way.  Then we were invited to play in the Antrim Championship and guess what, Dunloy objected.  The coat-trailing supporters that drag their knuckles after the club are another reason why the club is disliked especially in Derry.  there you go, please tell me the neanderthals have evolved and the callouses on the knuckles are healed.   ;)

No No No .....I didn't ask you to tell me about your own prejudices towards Dunloy. Now would you read the question before you answer the next time? I'll ask again shall I?

You said...."I bet you every club in Antrim is shouting for the Derry club today, especially Loughgiel. "
I asked you to elaborate on this and explain to us how you reckon that that would be the case.

Please tell us?

Just on what you have written above, I assume that happened probably 25-30 years ago so I'm sure Dungivens actions in the 1982 fiele most likely made it impossible for Dunloy to offer the hand of friendship to your club at that time. Would you blame us, or are youse still in denial about that one?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 29, 2007, 12:19:51 PM
Isn't Declean O'Connor from Dungiven...now theres a ref who made sure bellaghy weren't going to win the c'ship....sound familiar owenbeg
Post by: Ruairi Og exile on October 29, 2007, 12:21:15 PM
Now wasnt at the match yesterday but if Dungiven were 'sledging' I'm not suprised one bit. After the two matches we had against them that's one of the comments our players said they had never listened to such verbal abuse.There's no ned for it at all. It obviously comes from the managers!!! Glad Dunloy won..congrats to them
Post by: theskull1 on October 29, 2007, 12:22:50 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 12:08:13 PM

If you don't want to see Derry develop as a competitive hurling county thats very small minded and only serves to weaken Ulster and consequently Antrim hurling down the line. More false dawns for many years to come...

Steve, the structures in Derry for hurling are woeful and its getting worse this year. Hasn't the hurling board been dissolved recently? Is it not time hurling men started to fight for their game inside their own county structures rather than focus on what other counties are not doing to help youse?
Post by: Last Man on October 29, 2007, 12:35:41 PM
To the Derry lads, yous want to cop yourselves on, Dungiven and Lavey to have always had a reputation of sinking to whatever depths they needed to in an attempt to get a result and yes I to remember the 82 feile final, how KLs got away with that I'll never know. Sportsmanship is substituted with arrogance. You'll have to get your house in order before you come back looking for favours from Antrim.
You need us more than we need you don't forget.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 12:53:16 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 29, 2007, 12:22:50 PM

Steve, the structures in Derry for hurling are woeful and its getting worse this year. Hasn't the hurling board been dissolved recently? Is it not time hurling men started to fight for their game inside their own county structures rather than focus on what other counties are not doing to help youse?

yes they should. but the simple fact of the matter is that there are not enough hurling men about in the county, as a consequence the underage teams are not as plentiful and you have a very small pool of teams that are of good quality (esp. at underage). But they need to compete against other quality teams or all the good work goes stagnant.

Competition breeds success. Our young players benefit by playing antrim sides, more talent comes through, derry teams provide competition for Antrim teams, and we're all better off for it.

I agree with you and nothing I have said has indicated otherwise. Do you agree with me? Should we see Derry sides in the Antrim minor league?

Its not as if yous are 'sorting our house out' as stew so arrogantly put it. We train our teams. We provide gear. Yous just show up for a few underage fixtures FFS.

Last man, where are Antrim in the scheme of things in hurling throughout the country? Nowhere. Worse now than ever. You would have been glad of the Derry teams that won Ulster years back to give the Antrim set up a kick up the arse. How did the U-21's fare this year?

You need competition from your neighbours. All GAA counties need it and those verging on success certainly have it

Post by: Glensman on October 29, 2007, 12:58:37 PM
Some pretty controversial stuff being said boys.

If you're looking at specific incidents which have been raised yes Dick O'Kane reacted foolishly but after severe provocation.
The bullshit about it being a man's game is said over and over again - men don't hit each other with sticks and they certainly don't hit each other in the face with sticks.
What I think was your No.9 Hinphey, who was a class act when he hurled, as the tide was turning in Dunloy's favour swung his stick at a Dunloy player's head in frustration missing by inches. Looking forward to seeing if that one makes the footage tonight.

I enjoyed the game from a slightly biased Antrim supporting perspective. I thought it was a good sign that Dungiven could and should have won the game...that there is fight in Derry hurling yet.
But today a bad taste is being left in my mouth. With the sledging, the cries that Antrim have abandoned you boys and the moaning about the referee (who was not as bad as has been made out) doesn't do you any favours.

Aerlik I was surrounded at the game by folk from other clubs in Antrim (both country and city) who were ALL shouting for Dunloy.

And I would agree with NAG that you could probably count on one hand how many Dunloy players have been sent off in this past 15 years of tough championship hurling.
Post by: theskull1 on October 29, 2007, 01:57:08 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 12:53:16 PM

yes they should. but the simple fact of the matter is that there are not enough hurling men about in the county, as a consequence the underage teams are not as plentiful and you have a very small pool of teams that are of good quality (esp. at underage). But they need to compete against other quality teams or all the good work goes stagnant.

Competition breeds success. Our young players benefit by playing antrim sides, more talent comes through, derry teams provide competition for Antrim teams, and we're all better off for it.

I agree with you and nothing I have said has indicated otherwise. Do you agree with me? Should we see Derry sides in the Antrim minor league?

Its not as if yous are 'sorting our house out' as stew so arrogantly put it. We train our teams. We provide gear. Yous just show up for a few underage fixtures FFS.

Last man, where are Antrim in the scheme of things in hurling throughout the country? Nowhere. Worse now than ever. You would have been glad of the Derry teams that won Ulster years back to give the Antrim set up a kick up the arse. How did the U-21's fare this year?

You need competition from your neighbours. All GAA counties need it and those verging on success certainly have it

My point is that you should focus on getting your own structures in place first. Then and only then, you should have a bit more manners before you come on here looking for Antrim to hand you an olive branch and help with the development of the game in your county because with that arrogance you can stay where you are at.
Post by: podge on October 29, 2007, 02:41:57 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 12:53:16 PM

Is it not true to say that Dungiven KL's and some other Derry clubs did not enter or withdrew from the Ulster Hurling League?? I am no fan of that league but if the Derry clubs want to come in to the Antrim hurling leagues i think we should expect them to show a certain level of commitment to the game first??  We don;t want them calling games of at the drop of a hat becuase of some poxy big ball game.

The ards clubs are welcome in the Antrim leagues and I know most Antim clubs enjot the challenge they put up.  Good games without petty rivalries.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on October 29, 2007, 02:46:48 PM
If this reported "verbals" is true then Dungiven should be ashamed of themselves, this type of sh*te is all too common now in football and it appears is starting to creep into hurling.

I was not surprised that Dungiven made the game very competitive as they did the same against Cushendall last year and made the game a battle - hurling at this time of the year also lends itself to games becoming battles which I thought suited Dungiven.

The abuse being hurled from the stand was totally out of order but I was wasn't surprised given it was a similar "exhibition" last year at the Ulster final. Fair play to Dunloy were able to grind out a victory after hurling for thier foruth week in a row which wouldn't have been easy given their age profile.

As for the should derry clubs be allowed in the Antrim league debate, I think Loughane's comments about hurling knowledge on Saturday night summed it up for me, collectively hurling people in Ulster need to work together in whatever way possible to improve our standards as that shower down south don't give a sh*t about us bar there usual patronising "keep it going lads" speech.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 02:48:38 PM
You didnt answer the question I put to you skull.

I have already said that yes, I agree, we should look to our own structures first. But there is a fundamental problem with hurling in our county.

I don't know how familiar you are hurling in Derry. I suppose by the tone of your posts that you care very little. We have 6 senior clubs, 1 intermediate club and 1 junior club, the junior club being the single club that is not a dual one. Maybe we should flick our magic wands and start another several clubs to make a satisfactory structure.

We have to work with what we've got, as do Down.

Now, I'll go over what I said at the outset. We should have Derry minor teams competing in the Antrim leagues. Just show up and play us. Are we looking a cut of your county budget? Are we looking gear provided? Are we looking for your coaches to come manager us?

No. Your remark about us looking an 'olive branch' is just flippant horseshit. Our teams would be coming to play in YOUR league. Do you think that makes you martyrs for Derry hurling? Catch yourself on.

I'd rather think of it as two counties working together for the betterment of the game in Ulster. If the hurling counties work together, optimistically, pooling our underage talents together in meaningful competition, we might get the sport going with a bit of momentum in this province.

Derry would be stronger for it. Down would be stronger for it. Antrim would be stronger for it
Post by: Last Man on October 29, 2007, 02:50:50 PM
U21s!!!, one swallow and all that, show me a trend an I'll listen to you. The the county set up is not where it should be and coaching standards have drifted over the last 10 years but that is being addressed. My point is that we in Antrim favour playing the game over gamesmanship, concentrate on the skills and take it from there.
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 03:07:55 PM
Quote from: Last Man on October 29, 2007, 02:50:50 PM
U21s!!!, one swallow and all that, show me a trend an I'll listen to you. The the county set up is not where it should be and coaching standards have drifted over the last 10 years but that is being addressed. My point is that we in Antrim favour playing the game over gamesmanship, concentrate on the skills and take it from there.

Good for you in Antrim. Yous are the kings of Ulster no doubt. I mentioned the U-21's to illustrate the existence, and possible value of, competition from other counties in the province
Post by: podge on October 29, 2007, 03:26:36 PM
P.S  what happened at the feile in 1982 that was so bad?
Post by: johnneycool on October 29, 2007, 04:23:26 PM
Christ, Is big Geoffrey still at the yapping? You'd think he'd learn after giving our fullback an earful a few years back about looking at scoreboard when they were seven points up with 15 minutes to go. Needless to say the big lad couldn't see the scoreboard at the end when he was on all fours with his head in his hands.

What did happen in the 82 feile? I'm all interested now!!
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 12:25:19 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 02:48:38 PM

I have already said that yes, I agree, we should look to our own structures first. But there is a fundamental problem with hurling in our county.

I don't know how familiar you are hurling in Derry. I suppose by the tone of your posts that you care very little. We have 6 senior clubs, 1 intermediate club and 1 junior club, the junior club being the single club that is not a dual one. Maybe we should flick our magic wands and start another several clubs to make a satisfactory structure.

Now, I'll go over what I said at the outset. We should have Derry minor teams competing in the Antrim leagues. Just show up and play us. Are we looking a cut of your county budget? Are we looking gear provided? Are we looking for your coaches to come manager us?

No. Your remark about us looking an 'olive branch' is just flippant horseshit. Our teams would be coming to play in YOUR league. Do you think that makes you martyrs for Derry hurling? Catch yourself on.

I'd rather think of it as two counties working together for the betterment of the game in Ulster. If the hurling counties work together, optimistically, pooling our underage talents together in meaningful competition, we might get the sport going with a bit of momentum in this province.

Derry would be stronger for it. Down would be stronger for it. Antrim would be stronger for it
Steve hic

I'll answer that question whenever you get those structures in place ok? Until then stop attacking Antrim for your own misfortunes. Your attitude quite frankly stinks. Do N Antrim not help Derry by inviting them entry into the indoor U8 & U10 leagues for instance? Have the Ulster leagues not created an opportunity for Derry clubs to compete with their arrogant neighbors in the UHL? I'm guessing you are probably too young to understand the level of arrogance you are showing in regard to this discussion steve, but surely you must see that people in Derry's position, where little or no leadership seems to be shown within your own county, should be a little more diplomatic with their use of language. Your not exactly endearing anybody with your attitude
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 12:31:19 AM
Quote from: podge on October 29, 2007, 03:26:36 PM
P.S  what happened at the feile in 1982 that was so bad?

Liam Hinphy (a Kilkenny man) the mentor of that team knows
Post by: Aerlik on October 30, 2007, 05:37:04 AM
Skull, my dislike of the Dunloy club is based on personal experience.  No need to elaborate.  Never had any grief with any other team we played against in Antrim.  We in Derry always have a wee sympathetic soft-spot for Antrim Gaelic sports (except when you're up against your more superior western neighbours).  I mean it's cute to see the wanes in the chapel on the Saturday before the big game with their yellow shirts on.  Hell, I even saw a young lad wearing an Antrim jersey in Bellaghy main street last year.  You would think your county board would change the colour.  I mean, yellow is not really a true reflection of Antrim.  True, you battle for the first 10 minutes, but wouldn't white be more appropriate? ;)

Any player who strikes out at another (especially towards the head) is a p***k!  How many people have been killed after falling and hitting their head on the ground after a punch outside a pub or a nightclub?  Now is there really much difference between the impact of a hurl and the impact on the ground? 

I, too,would love to know what happened at the 1982 Feile na Gael.  Don't tell me Dungiven were aggressive?

Post by: Blacksheep on October 30, 2007, 07:36:31 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 29, 2007, 04:23:26 PM

Kevin Lynch's won the Division 2 National Title in the Feile na nGael in 1982. They beat a fancied Dunloy side in the final which was played in Croke Park. Dunloy have never got over it. Every time they go to Croke Park they remember that defeat and they go to pieces.
Post by: NAG on October 30, 2007, 09:20:51 AM
AERLIK

If you have nothing constructive to say go back the hoganstand and spout your rubbish there.

The closest man to actually hitting someone on the head with a hurl was K.Hinphey when he swung wildly after a Dunloy man dispossesed him.

The 1982 feile final, Dungiven played 4 Kilkenny u14 lads in their side and beat Dunloy on the day, heard Hinphey senior was reminded of that fact in the social club after the match and wasnt best pleased. Disgraceful behaviour then and was the same again on sunday. Subs attacked the referee after he was jossled on the pitch by the Dungiven mentors. This is not made up because I saw it happen.
Post by: Guillem2 on October 30, 2007, 09:28:27 AM
Quote from: Blacksheep on October 30, 2007, 07:36:31 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 29, 2007, 04:23:26 PM

Kevin Lynch's won the Division 2 National Title in the Feile na nGael in 1982. They beat a fancied Dunloy side in the final which was played in Croke Park. Dunloy have never got over it. Every time they go to Croke Park they remember that defeat and they go to pieces.

I can't believe that Dunloy are still sore about losing an under 14 game 25 years ago!

FFS lads! It was an u14 game and it was 25 years ago. Get over it!
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 30, 2007, 10:01:51 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 12:25:19 AM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 02:48:38 PM

Steve hic

I'll answer that question whenever you get those structures in place ok? Until then stop attacking Antrim for your own misfortunes. Your attitude quite frankly stinks. Do N Antrim not help Derry by inviting them entry into the indoor U8 & U10 leagues for instance? Have the Ulster leagues not created an opportunity for Derry clubs to compete with their arrogant neighbors in the UHL? I'm guessing you are probably too young to understand the level of arrogance you are showing in regard to this discussion steve, but surely you must see that people in Derry's position, where little or no leadership seems to be shown within your own county, should be a little more diplomatic with their use of language. Your not exactly endearing anybody with your attitude

Whos attacking Antrim??? At no point did I 'attack Antrim for our own misfortunes'. I assume our 'arrogant neighbours' is a label of your own creation cos it certainly came from nothing I said. I HAVE advocated having Derry minor teams in Antrim leagues. Something you still won't comment on. Instead you tell me my 'attitude stinks' and suggest I am ignorant, when quite frankly, you have been the one to fling mud and act ignorantly. Our structures ARE in place for our minors to play, what dream structures do you want (give the breakdown of our clubs) for us to be ready?

I have advocated 'pooling our underage talents together in meaningful competition'. You tell me I am not 'endearing anyone with my attitude' and that I lack diplomacy??? ???

I fear theres little point talking to someone with such an immature and snide attitude, though I would welcome discussion from anybody with something constructive to say
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 10:03:06 AM
Good man Aerlik. I thought I had you sussed from your first post but that last one just confirmed things for me.

You take your own bitter twisted view of Dunloy and then tell us all that the rest of Antrim feel the same.  Definitely no need to elaborate. You have said enough ...cheers  :D
Post by: maxpower on October 30, 2007, 10:07:21 AM
Surely the fact it was an u14 game made the act all the more reprehensible
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 10:31:42 AM
What I have been trying to say to you steve is that from the outset your discussions on developing hurling in Derry within this thread have focused on Antrim allowing Derry teams to play in their minor league. And if Antrim want hurling to thrive in ulster we should be trying to accommodate the likes of the Derry teams when we can? Meanwhile the Derry county board take hurling development into the dark ages. Probably fix football matches to clash with the Antrim fixtures (like they did with the ulster hurling leagues).  If you get hurling matches in Antrim Leagues, then your county board will reduce the number of games you play within your own county leagues (Like they did with ulster hurling league). So effectively Antrim will take on the bulk of administration effort away from the derry county board when it comes to orginising hurling in your own county at minor level.

So the point I have been trying to make is that UNTIL you get your own structures sorted and get the county to buy into a hurling development plan that involves Derry taking ownership and playing an active role in its implementation then demanding that youse should been allowed to play in Antrims minor league is not going to be a solution to your woes.

Post by: owenbeg01 on October 30, 2007, 10:34:26 AM
Ur are a complete twat NAG. i remember this u14 craic. Do you want me to bring u photos of the game to u!! Just because a derry team beat unes u have a fuckin problem wit it, and still 25 years latter. A few weeks after the game an article appeared in the paper, steaming from the dunloy camp, claiming that KL fielding 4 kilkenny players which was f**king ridiculous. It is assholes like you who give dunloy and antrim a bad name. when the vast majority are good decent folk. Are u the arse behind the antrim website as well, with all there we snided comments.
Post by: Blacksheep on October 30, 2007, 10:37:34 AM
Quote from: maxpower on October 30, 2007, 10:07:21 AM
Surely the fact it was an u14 game made the act all the more reprehensible

What act? The story about Kilkenny lads playing for Lynch's was a complete lie. Catch a gripe would ye? How could you pull of that sort of stroke?

Dunloy couldn't take a beating. That was the story of the 1982 Feile.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 30, 2007, 10:43:43 AM
Well its good to see Kevin Lynchs beat Dunloy once even if it was u14s twenty five years ago :D ;)
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 10:56:20 AM
Look I brought up the 1982 fiele because it may have been a reason for Dunloy to object to Dungiven minors entering Antrim leagues all those years ago (I could be wrong about it) so lets keep a context of where that discussion started. It is a matter of opinion as to whether you believe the story or not. I believe it to be true but won't be getting into any slagging match with anyone over it. As others have said...its history
Post by: NAG on October 30, 2007, 11:12:25 AM
Well said skull

I have been told by Dunloy people who played that day and managed that day that this is fact and Hinphey didnt like it when he was told it by Dunloy people in casement on sunday and he didnt deny it.

So I believe to be true and if you dont then its fine.

As for Derry hurling, I hope you can get yourselves up to a standard where the tactics i witnessed on sunday wont be needed. I repeat it again if you concentrate on the skills of the game and play it properly then you maybe would have more support for coming over to the Antrim leagues.
Post by: Aerlik on October 30, 2007, 01:38:06 PM
Skull and Nag, I hope for a minute you don't assume I'm a former Dungiven hurler.  I said my mam's from there.  Why Dunloy should object to a Derry club playing in the Centenary year Antrim League is still beyond me.

Quote from: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 10:03:06 AM
Good man Aerlik. I thought I had you sussed from your first post but that last one just confirmed things for me.

You take your own bitter twisted view of Dunloy and then tell us all that the rest of Antrim feel the same.  Definitely no need to elaborate. You have said enough ...cheers  :D

Like I said, the depth of dislike (putting it mildly) between Dunloy and the Glens teams I saw play them was quite startling.  I doubt if things have changed much.  Success and contempt etc.

Quote from: NAG on October 30, 2007, 09:20:51 AM
AERLIK

If you have nothing constructive to say go back the hoganstand and spout your rubbish there.

Que?

The closest man to actually hitting someone on the head with a hurl was K.Hinphey when he swung wildly after a Dunloy man dispossesed him.

Right, I don't dispute that and if you read carefully I quite unambiguously state that whoever does so is a p***k.

The 1982 feile final, Dungiven played 4 Kilkenny u14 lads in their side and beat Dunloy on the day, heard Hinphey senior was reminded of that fact in the social club after the match and wasnt best pleased.

I can only take your word for that as I don't know.  Wouldn't have been the first time Hinphey played ringers, believe me.

Disgraceful behaviour then and was the same again on sunday. Subs attacked the referee after he was jossled on the pitch by the Dungiven mentors. This is not made up because I saw it happen.

I'll take your word for that too.  I wasn't there but there seems to have been plenty there to qualify your statement.

Jayzus and I thought Lavey and Dunloy had bad blood between them; seems the KLs have even more.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 30, 2007, 03:52:55 PM
jeez boys
I dont know what kind of sihte talk and whinging is going on here, but dunloy won the game fair and square.
While some say the ref wasnt great to KL's, the fact is, KL's had the chances to win the game and what the ref did or didnt do matters not.
KL's only can have themselves to blame.
If KL's were trash talking, I didnt hear it, though Geoff talks to himself, umpires,ref, team mates, opponents and by times supporters.
Geoff is stone mad, end of story. We all know that.
If anything I thought Dunloy set the scene with a few 'rough' hits on Cathal mckeever in the opening minutes of the game.
Now it most likely was getting their retaliation in first, as the hoor will give as much as he gets, if not more. But at that stage he couldnt have done much.
I hate this trash talking sihte in football, and am surprised to hear that hurlers are at it.
Even if KL's were at it, sure are we not taught to ignore it?
I had the case of one of my midfielders getting involved with his opponent last night in the minor final, calling him a fat cnut etc - at half time I told him to shut up and concentrate on playing football only. Thats prob why he played a storming game of football in the second half- because he concentrated on his game, not on verbals.
Similar for dunloy or even KL's - who gives a stuff about what people say on the field, the best answer is to win the ball, score and win the game. There is no answer to that!
Id prefer dirty play to sihte talk. Dunloy or KL's should have ignored it if it went on. Hopefully teams will eradicate this rubbish from our games in the near future, but as it is , it means feck all - and anyone who is influenced by someone calling them names isnt fit for adult senior hurling or football.

I think Kevin Hinphey came in for a lot more stick than he game out, with some of the pulls on his body during the game. He's no angel, but to think someone would take an opponents head off ....well I doubt it - anyhow ....he didnt hit the guy.,...so what are yez talking about ? ? ? ?
aunt, uncle , balls and all that....

as for the craic about kilkenny players playing for Dungiven in 1982 etc, Big Liam H not answering to the accusations?
Get a grip boys.....whats there to answer. Even if they did - Antrim clubs are hardly worried that KL's will be importing Kilkenny lads on a weekly basis to play for them these days.
Such nonsense.
KL could and arguable should have won - with a hurling style completely unlike the more physical style they played with last year.
However Dunloy won, and proved themselves to still be a great hurling powerhouse in Antrim and ulster - and fair play to them.

the wee silly squabbles on here regarding some things just dont make sense.
Cop on boys.

Congratulations Dunloy - best of luck in the AI Semi final
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 30, 2007, 03:54:33 PM
one other thing
Kevin Hinphey last sunday gave one of the greatest individual performances I have ever seen
maybe more should be discussed about that rather than 1982's team selection etc
Post by: NAG on October 30, 2007, 04:27:54 PM
Lynchboy

I have to say fair play to you for your comments there, well said.

But you have to calm down in the K.Hinphey thing, he was or actually wasnt being marked by anyone, Dunloys Paul shields carried a knock into the game and couldnt cover the ground to keep up with him.

He played well granted yeah, but I think he should have been looking to pick out his forwards more than he did, too many long hopeful balls into the forward line which were eventually cleared by Dunloy.

The game was a tight affair which suited Dungiven as soon as Dunloy got some space the game was up for them as was seen in the last 10mins.
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 05:01:53 PM
Agh get over your hatred Aerlik you old sore hole  ;) You're acting like a schoolboy

Decent post Lynchboy, I'm all for that.
For the record there were plenty more than Geoffrey at the mouthing. I brought it up because, it's very rare in Antrim and our boys were genuinely shocked at the level of it. I don't think it would have phased them, but just think it's the lowest of the low. There is certainly no sportsmanship in the people who do such things and if it were my club I'd be up in arms about this behavior as it brings disrespect to your club. How do you shake hands with a man at the end of end who has called you a gay bastard, a tr**p bastard, useless **** for an hour. A slap in the mouth is what a boy like that needs.

As I said in my first post after the match Kevin (The No 9) was immense and would grace any team but would agree that he wasn't marked well enough in a lot of occasions but I'm sure his fitness would make it difficult for someone to get close to him. He's a great player. His reaction however to the referee at the end of the game and also the reaction of the subs (allegedly) will land KL's in very hot water. My guess is youse will not play a part in the ulster championship next year for those indiscretions. Speaking from experience of course  :-[
Post by: Aerlik on October 31, 2007, 03:25:07 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 05:01:53 PM
My guess is youse will not play a part in the ulster championship next year for those indiscretions. Speaking from experience of course  :-[

I rest my case, your honour! ;) ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 31, 2007, 09:48:50 AM
as I was in the lower terrace beside the KL subs for the game, I saw them roaring at the ref but couldnt see anyone actually accosting him.
They possibly were venting and ranting at him.
Whether there was more - well I didnt see anything.
If there was then KL's will get a grilling from the ulster council.
I didnt think the ref was THAT bad - he was better than he was in last years replay....which cushendall would have won based on actual play anyhow - but it wasnt the ref that cost KL's the game - it was poor finishing mostly and as mentioned, speculative ball in on top of the FF line rather then accurate passes (though the above average ball winning ability of Geoff, Pheilm and Paddy in there makes it a lesser risk option).

Kevin Hinphey might not have been marked well, but if you look at the speed he played at, the speed at which he ran and the amount of ground covered on sun , theres not too many would have lived with that kind of virtuoso perf.
His dad thought Liam had a better game, but thats because he's the favourite. :o

we were taught never to speak to an opponent. If they spoke or hit, the next thing you had to do was to 'do them' or at least go in hard to let them know your were not afraid - even if you were !
I cant stand this new mouthy rubbish. Make allowances for the likes of Geoff as he is a complete nutcase.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 31, 2007, 10:01:51 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 31, 2007, 09:48:50 AM
as I was in the lower terrace beside the KL subs for the game, I saw them roaring at the ref but couldnt see anyone actually accosting him.
They possibly were venting and ranting at him.
Whether there was more - well I didnt see anything.
If there was then KL's will get a grilling from the ulster council.
I didnt think the ref was THAT bad - he was better than he was in last years replay....which cushendall would have won based on actual play anyhow - but it wasnt the ref that cost KL's the game - it was poor finishing mostly and as mentioned, speculative ball in on top of the FF line rather then accurate passes (though the above average ball winning ability of Geoff, Pheilm and Paddy in there makes it a lesser risk option).

Kevin Hinphey might not have been marked well, but if you look at the speed he played at, the speed at which he ran and the amount of ground covered on sun , theres not too many would have lived with that kind of virtuoso perf.
His dad thought Liam had a better game, but thats because he's the favourite. :o

we were taught never to speak to an opponent. If they spoke or hit, the next thing you had to do was to 'do them' or at least go in hard to let them know your were not afraid - even if you were !
I cant stand this new mouthy rubbish. Make allowances for the likes of Geoff as he is a complete nutcase.

More like one of the biggest assholes you'll ever meet also. Still doesn't excuse him
Post by: maxpower on October 31, 2007, 10:02:39 AM
I never saw anything to do with the referee but the administrator on the Antrim website made a very strong accusation, if true there will be consequences.

Lads i have heard all this talk about how bad the referee was to Dungiven, but no one seems to be mentioning incidents he got wrong.  Except for Liam Hinphey who claimed the time he blew the man up for dropping his hurl and handpassing, now i haven't seen the DVD yet but at the time i thought that was a certain free
Post by: NAG on October 31, 2007, 10:28:43 AM
One of the men on the line manager seriously did shoulder charge the referee in the chest as he came off.
Post by: johnneycool on October 31, 2007, 11:32:00 AM
I know the Lynches are getting some slating on this thread for a lot of things and I'm not saying they're guilty or innocent but are we tarring all these lads with a big brush. I've known a few Lynches lads from my university days and they are the salt of the earth, both on and off the field. I've had my battles against the Lynches on field as well and apart from the spoilt brat Geoffrey all will shake hands after the game and leave it like that.

At the same time Da Hinphey is an utter gobshite but I think it's unfair that he is deemed to represent all that is the Lynches. Maybe his persona is rubbing off on teams that he manages, I don't know!
The gobbiness may be a recent phenomonen but most teams have some shit stirrer in their midst's who ends up starting the row and is nowhere to be seen when it's in full flow.
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 31, 2007, 12:31:25 PM
maxpower - I think I have said that I dont hold the ref responsible for the result.
Its a knee jerk reaction for a lot of folk to blame a ref when they lose. Human nature I supose.

max - you have issues with geoff - did he eat your burger , drink your pint or steal yer missus ?

Also lads, I'll stand up for Liam Hinphey senior here. Whatever you  may think about him being a gobsihte etc etc etc
I'll tell you that he is a good man, a nice chap, a true Gael who has devoted most of his last 35 odd years developing , coaching, managing hurling in Dungiven and Derry.
He was the mentor for Kevin Lynch himself and Liam sr was one of the main drivers for the proper establishment of hurling in county Derry.

I will admit, he is a bit odd by times and has his own idiosyncracies etc (who doesnt) but take my word for it boys - if you know him, he is one decent fellow (though he would embarrass you with some of the quare things he says).
So please dont denegrate the name of a man who has done so much for hurling in Dungiven,Derry and by default Ulster.
He def doesnt deserve that - no matter peoples personal issues or gripes about him.
thanks.
Post by: slow corner back on November 04, 2007, 06:20:56 PM
Ulster Junior Hurling Final:
Glen Rovers 1-09 Setanta 0-11.
A tight game throughout with Setanta on top in the first half but missing chances from frees and play, the ref was very sore on armoy in the first half the free count was 12 to 2 in favour of setanta but by half time the score was Setanta 0-05 Glen Rovers 0-04. In the second half Armoy played the better combined hurling but could not overhaul Setanta who started to take a few good scores from play allied to a few soft frees. Armoy had a goal disallowed for a reason only known to the ref with about 15 mins to go. Armoy finally got the goal with about five minutes left to make it 1-09 to 0-10. Setanta got one back to leave the minimum in it with three minutes left but Armoy held on with both sides missing late chances. Great tight game of hurling with a real good atmosphere, game was tough but no dirt in it. Great to see the boys come from behind against physically stronger opponents.
Post by: Last Man on November 04, 2007, 07:08:11 PM
Well done Armoy against setanta, again the Antrim team has had to struggle with strange refereeing decisions but sure isn't the victory the sweeter for it. I'd say this is where you planned to be when yous set your goals at the start of the season and a shrewd c'ship campaign was played ,given your league form a few of the other contenders would have been confident of progressing at your expense.
As a player i have always enjoyed sporting games and generous hospitality at Armoy and wish them the best of luck in the next round.
Post by: slow corner back on November 04, 2007, 07:57:43 PM
Thanks for that last man much appreciated. It is fair to say the season did not go as planned but what has been very heartening since we started the championship run is the fact that we have rediscovered the ability to win tight matches, something which had been badly missing for a couple of years. Another very heartening thing has been seeing some of our younger players stepping up to the mark and hurling like men, it bodes well for the future.
Post by: Lecale2 on November 04, 2007, 08:09:10 PM
Well done Glen Rovers. All the best in the All Ireland Semi Final. Setanta are a really good side and you did well to beat them.
Post by: Fairhead on November 04, 2007, 08:38:58 PM
slow corner back your typing is very coherent and your quite understandable. Should you not be out celebrating? Congratulations to Armoy.
Post by: podge on November 04, 2007, 10:24:27 PM
well done armoy, great to see.

armoy may not have won a league match in Div 2 this year but if you look at their results they weren;t far away in a lot of their encounters.  i hope to see them in Div 2 next year where they can compete.  Div 3 would do them pr the teams in Div 3, no good whatsoever.

good luck in the all ireland series
Title: Armoy Lads
Post by: maddog on November 05, 2007, 09:30:21 AM
I think (but could be wrong) that Ulster junior champions would be scheduled to play the winners of the all-britain championship. I was at that replayed match yesterday between John Mitchells Bimringham v Bros Pearse at Ruislip, and Mitchells won through by a point in an entertaining match. Any idea if it is Mitchells you play next, if the fixture is home or away, and when it is?
Post by: Glensman on November 05, 2007, 11:18:09 AM
Slow Corner Back - big time congratulations. From all the reports Setanta were a very strong side and you did Antrim proud.
Good luck for the All Ireland series.

Maddog - I completely disagree with you about the league.
Armoy as I said have done Antrim proud in the championship arena but did not win a game in Div 2 and thus deserve to be in Div 3 next year. Accommodations have been made for too long in Antrim. Divisions and league structures have been tinkered with for too long. We need consistency so that teams can build and plan for promotion efforts.

This is maybe a debate for the Antrim Hurling thread but anyhow.

Post by: maddog on November 05, 2007, 11:27:01 AM
Quote from: Glensman on November 05, 2007, 11:18:09 AM
Slow Corner Back - big time congratulations. From all the reports Setanta were a very strong side and you did Antrim proud.
Good luck for the All Ireland series.

Maddog - I completely disagree with you about the league.
Armoy as I said have done Antrim proud in the championship arena but did not win a game in Div 2 and thus deserve to be in Div 3 next year. Accommodations have been made for too long in Antrim. Divisions and league structures have been tinkered with for too long. We need consistency so that teams can build and plan for promotion efforts.

This is maybe a debate for the Antrim Hurling thread but anyhow.

What did i say about the league?
Post by: podge on November 05, 2007, 11:34:25 AM
Glensman, I take it that was aimed at myself rather than maddog.

In principle I agree entirely with you.  The tinkering of the leagues is shocking and I am all for an approach of agree changes now but implement it 1 year down the line.  Let everyone know the rules and stick by them rather than agreeing changes once we see who is in the relegation/promotion place!

the exception this year however is that McDermots were supposed to be in Div 2 but pulled out so technically they finished bottom rather than Armoy.  There is room for more matches in Div 2.
Post by: Glensman on November 05, 2007, 02:00:33 PM
Apologies Maddog - it was a long weekend and I was bleary eyed when typing earlier.

The discussion has moved to Antrim hurling,
Post by: maddog on November 05, 2007, 02:12:21 PM
Quote from: Glensman on November 05, 2007, 02:00:33 PM
Apologies Maddog - it was a long weekend and I was bleary eyed when typing earlier.

The discussion has moved to Antrim hurling,

No worries lad.
Post by: theskull1 on November 05, 2007, 03:36:46 PM
Many congratulations to Armoy for their fine win. I thought youse would be up against it as I believe Setanta have about half the Donegal County teams in their panel. A shot in the arm for a great club who appeared to have been struggling for a fair few years. Hopefully youse can build on the yesterdays success. Onwards and upwards
Post by: slow corner back on November 05, 2007, 04:26:37 PM
Quote from: Fairhead on November 04, 2007, 08:38:58 PM
slow corner back your typing is very coherent and your quite understandable. Should you not be out celebrating? Congratulations to Armoy.

Basking quietly in the glow of success while McClaffertys gets ripped to pieces
Title: Re: Armoy Lads
Post by: slow corner back on November 05, 2007, 04:31:26 PM
Quote from: maddog on November 05, 2007, 09:30:21 AM
I think (but could be wrong) that Ulster junior champions would be scheduled to play the winners of the all-britain championship. I was at that replayed match yesterday between John Mitchells Bimringham v Bros Pearse at Ruislip, and Mitchells won through by a point in an entertaining match. Any idea if it is Mitchells you play next, if the fixture is home or away, and when it is?

I heard that yesterday as well. To be honest we were not looking any further than Setanta so I do not know many details though I heard it was in London. I would have thought it would be in the new year as a trip to London would take a bit of organising
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on November 05, 2007, 04:34:07 PM
Fair play to Armoy on their victory - to be honest I expected Setenta to win having played both teams in the Ulster League.

We gave Armoy an awful hammering in the q final although in fairness I think it was one of those nights where everything goes right for one team and the opposite for their opponents. Setenta then beat us in the semi final although we were missing 2-3 of our best players due to holidays etc they looked a handy team and certainly better than what Armoy had displayed against us so the Armoy lads must have really turned their season round -fair play.

I assume the full forward who got the line against us was back in full swing, he would have missed the whole championship I'd say if we hadn't had a word with the ref after the game. Good to see and best of luck to Armoy in the All Ireland series.
Post by: theskull1 on November 05, 2007, 05:10:42 PM
They normally get those matches red up before christmas scb
Post by: slow corner back on November 05, 2007, 08:48:13 PM
Pull Hard, he was not playing yesterday but he was in the Antrim Final, you may be right skull I have not heard any details.
Title: Re: Armoy Lads
Post by: maddog on November 06, 2007, 04:55:45 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on November 05, 2007, 04:31:26 PM
Quote from: maddog on November 05, 2007, 09:30:21 AM

I heard that yesterday as well. To be honest we were not looking any further than Setanta so I do not know many details though I heard it was in London. I would have thought it would be in the new year as a trip to London would take a bit of organising

If you hear anything more let me know as there are various rumours flying around one of which is Mitchells travelling to Antrim on the first weekend of December for the match.
Post by: slow corner back on November 11, 2007, 10:07:41 PM
Maddog, heard today that the armoy V John Mitchells match is in Casement, Belfast on January 27th
Post by: maddog on November 12, 2007, 12:19:32 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on November 11, 2007, 10:07:41 PM
Maddog, heard today that the armoy V John Mitchells match is in Casement, Belfast on January 27th

Cheers for that, the lads seem to think thats the date alright but there is a feeling that they would like to get it shifted to the Saturday so they can stay saturday night and admire the Belfast skyline. ;)
Post by: maddog on November 12, 2007, 01:02:30 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 12, 2007, 12:22:05 PM
They'll love the Belfast Eye, maddog.

Hope its better than the Birmingham one. They moved this yoke over from France and they commentary as you went round on it was pointing out the Paris skyline. ::)
Post by: Plastic Paddy on November 14, 2007, 10:32:45 PM
All 1/4 finals are on the 20th on the masterplan.Mitchel's wanted to play it this year but I dont think Armoy did.Mitchel's have heard nothing of the 27th and we have tried to find out so we are assuming the 20th at an Antrim venue.
Title: Ulster Minor Hurling Club Championship
Post by: Whitehair on November 19, 2007, 05:03:47 PM
Middleton and Ballycran both had impressive wins yesterday, Middleton beat Carrickmore something like 26 points top 8. Only caught the end of the match.
Ballycran beat Ballinascreen 1.17 to 0.10 in the 2nd match, after starting slowly ballycran scored 1.05 on the bounce to lead 1.7 to 0.4 at halftime, Connor Dorrian got the goal along with a point.
2nd half ballycran completely dominated with Conor Woods & Paul Keith ruling midfield with James Coyle brilliant up front scoring 9points. Padraig Flynn had a good game at No.6 while 16 year old Michael Hughes had a great game at no.2 marking Ballinascreens captain.
Post by: SimpleSimon on November 20, 2007, 12:29:58 AM
What were those games in?
Post by: Lecale2 on November 20, 2007, 09:58:26 AM
Minor.
Title: Re: Ulster Minor Club Hurling Championships
Post by: Whitehair on November 25, 2007, 05:07:06 PM
Ive heard that Middleton beat Loughiel by 2 points on saturday to set up a final with Ballycran next weekend in Ballinascreen. An upset there!
Post by: slow corner back on November 25, 2007, 09:36:06 PM
Well played Middleton, Loughgiel were pretty good this year, them and c,Dall produced a great antrim final and replay
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2007, 01:27:53 PM
I assume we're talking about Middletown, Co. Armagh and not Middleton, Co. Cork?!
Post by: SeanSouth on November 26, 2007, 01:56:21 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 26, 2007, 01:27:53 PM
I assume we're talking about Middletown, Co. Armagh and not Middleton, Co. Cork?!

You have little to be at Tony
Post by: Colonel Cool on December 02, 2007, 12:53:58 PM
Today's Ulster Minor Hurling final, Ballycran v Middletown has been called off due to death in the Ballinascreen club.
Post by: johnneycool on December 17, 2007, 08:58:32 AM
Quote from: Colonel Cool on December 02, 2007, 12:53:58 PM
Today's Ulster Minor Hurling final, Ballycran v Middletown has been called off due to death in the Ballinascreen club.

The delay didn't stop the Crans from claiming their second title yesterday with a good win over Middletown. 3-14 to 1-3 is a good return in any man's language

Well done to all involved.
Post by: Guillem2 on December 17, 2007, 11:47:54 AM
Well done Ballycran in retaining the Ulster title. They have a good underage structure down there and the lads that played senior championship did very well.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on December 18, 2007, 02:42:28 PM
Congrats to the Crans on another fine win in the Minor Championship. I would have no hesitation in saying that the current group of Cran minors would have to be one of the strongest teams ever in that competition. Future looks very bright for the men from Mc Kenna Park over the next few years.
Post by: Bacon on December 18, 2007, 08:44:16 PM
That was a great Ballycran minor team this year. I think someone told me there was 5 of them on the Ballycran SHC winning team. Would that be right? I know Ennis the goalkeeper, Connor Woods and James Coyle were all minors. Who were the others?
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on December 18, 2007, 09:53:07 PM
Paul Keith is a minor and started in the county final as well, don't think there was anyone else who started although Paudie Flynn would probably have been close if he hadn't got injured earlier in the year and certainly played some league games for them while Sean Ennis is only out of minor having been the minor captain last year.
Post by: maddog on January 09, 2008, 04:20:34 PM
Quote from: Plastic Paddy on November 14, 2007, 10:32:45 PM
All 1/4 finals are on the 20th on the masterplan.Mitchel's wanted to play it this year but I dont think Armoy did.Mitchel's have heard nothing of the 27th and we have tried to find out so we are assuming the 20th at an Antrim venue.

confirmed as Casement Park 2pm 20th Jan.
Post by: Glensman on January 19, 2008, 08:57:08 PM
Superb testament to Cloughmills that their pitch is playable at this time of year.

Hope the rain stays off and (either way) a big crowd turns out to support the Glen Rovers.
Post by: slow corner back on January 20, 2008, 07:34:52 PM
Glen Rovers 1-11 John Mitchells 1-7
A good game given the time of year with Armoy having to come from behind again to claim the victory. John Mitchells settled the quicker and after 10 minutes lead 1-2 to 0-1. The goal by the big No14 who was dangerous all day. Both sides missed a few scoreable chances in the rest of the half and at half time John Mitchells lead by 1-4 to 0-3. As the second half progressed Armoy started to slowly take control moving the ball well and getting a good supply into the full forward line. With 10 minutes to go Armoy had pulled level at 1-6 to 0-9. Then Steven McBride managed to round his marker well and scored a good goal for Armoy. John Mitchells pushed hard to get back into the game scoring a 70 to narrow the gap but two late points brought Armoy home safely.
From an Armoy point of view I thought our full forward line looked quite sharp when they started to get a decent supply of ball. John Mitchells ran out of steam I thought, some big men just did not seem to have the legs in the second half. Overall very happy a good tight match to get us back in the swing of things, next up Conaghy Shamrocks next Sunday.
Post by: Lecale2 on January 20, 2008, 07:38:02 PM
A good day all round for Antrim hurling!
Post by: maddog on January 22, 2008, 09:42:50 AM
Quote from: slow corner back on January 20, 2008, 07:34:52 PM
Glen Rovers 1-11 John Mitchells 1-7
A good game given the time of year with Armoy having to come from behind again to claim the victory. John Mitchells settled the quicker and after 10 minutes lead 1-2 to 0-1. The goal by the big No14 who was dangerous all day. Both sides missed a few scoreable chances in the rest of the half and at half time John Mitchells lead by 1-4 to 0-3. As the second half progressed Armoy started to slowly take control moving the ball well and getting a good supply into the full forward line. With 10 minutes to go Armoy had pulled level at 1-6 to 0-9. Then Steven McBride managed to round his marker well and scored a good goal for Armoy. John Mitchells pushed hard to get back into the game scoring a 70 to narrow the gap but two late points brought Armoy home safely.
From an Armoy point of view I thought our full forward line looked quite sharp when they started to get a decent supply of ball. John Mitchells ran out of steam I thought, some big men just did not seem to have the legs in the second half. Overall very happy a good tight match to get us back in the swing of things, next up Conaghy Shamrocks next Sunday.

The centre half forward for Mitchellls Stephen Ahern (cork) got the goal, or so he's been telling everyone since. 100% correct in the Mitchells ran out of steam. They struggle to get competitive games over here and it showed in the second half. Fair play to the lads they tried their guts out but it wasnt to be. Thought the ref was fair enough overall. Cloughmills asking for £7 into a junior hurling match was taking the piss.
Post by: clootfromthe21 on January 22, 2008, 03:07:21 PM
Your ire is misdirected Maddog. It wasn't Cloughmills that set the £7 price (of which only a small fraction went to the host club) but rather an edict from on high.
Post by: maddog on January 22, 2008, 04:17:16 PM
Quote from: clootfromthe21 on January 22, 2008, 03:07:21 PM
Your ire is misdirected Maddog. It wasn't Cloughmills that set the £7 price (of which only a small fraction went to the host club) but rather an edict from on high.

Who's decision was it to move the match, surely there was a ground playable in the Belfast area?
Post by: Plastic Paddy on January 26, 2008, 03:18:16 PM
John Mitchel's Hurling Club,Warwickshire would like to wish Armoy the very best in tomorrows semi .We also thank them for their hospitality after the match and hope to meet up with them soon.
Also we would like to thank everyone that travelled from England to support us and also family members and ex players who travelled from all over Ireland.They all helped to make it a great atmosphere at the match and it was a pity we could not pull it off.
Post by: Blacksheep on January 26, 2008, 10:13:11 PM
Slaughtneil win Costcutters Indoor League
26 January 2008

Slaughtneil Emmets took the Costcutters North Antrim Under 12 Indoor Hurling League Division 1 title out of the county for the first time when they beat Rossa in Saturday's final at the Seven Towers Leisure Centre in Ballymena.
Two goals from Proinsisa Burke and one from Cormac O'Doherty saw the Derry side overcome the Belfast boys by 3 goals to 1.
On a day when the titles were spread far and wide throughout the province Burt of Donegal collected the Division 2 crown when they beat St Enda's by 5 goals to 1, four of the goals coming from man of the match Georgie Kelly.
Tir na nOg, Randalstown got the better of Armoy (Glenshesk A) in an all Antrim Division 3 decider with 2 goals from Emmett Martin and one from team captain Thomas Devlin.
Glenarm were the only North Antrim team to taste success when they beat Buncrana by 2 goals to 0 in the Division 4 final, the goals coming from Shane Magill and Brendan McQuillan, though it took a few outstanding saves from goalkeeper Declan McDermott to keep the Donegal boys at bay.
In Division 5 St Enda's A were victors over Carey (Glenshesk B) by 4 goals to 2 while the Division 6 title went to Starbane Shamrocks.
Post by: slow corner back on January 27, 2008, 09:33:27 PM
Conaghy Shamrocks 4-15 Glen Rovers 1-10
Armoys run over the winter came to an end against a very impressive Conaghy Shamrocks. The game was tight enough for the first ten minutes but two Conaghy goals in the next five minutes opened up a 2-3 to 0-2 lead which they never looked like relinquishing. Playing with the breeze in the first half Conaghys full forward line got a lot of possesion and used it well notching some fine scores. Conaghy were also well on top in their full back line meaning that when Armoy did manage to clear the ball it was coming back into them almost as quick. By half time the score was Conaghy 2-8 Armoy 0-5. Armoy continued to compete well around the middle of the field in the second half but struggled against a good full back line. Allied to this when Conaghy did go forward the two corner forwards were superb, taking scores at will. armoy battled away, none more so than Martin McErlain who contributed four points from play from midfield but it was not enough as Conaghy finished a game they never looked like losing with a goal in the last minute. Despite the gap in the scoreline, which was a little harsh, the Armoy players were applauded off the pitch for giving us all a great run over the winter and doing all they could today against a superior side.
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 27, 2008, 10:59:55 PM
I heard Keady were beaten by 4 points.
Post by: Whitehair on October 11, 2009, 08:52:21 PM
Ulster Club Senior Hurling Championship
  Kevin Lynchs (Derry)  2-13 2-16 Ballycran (Down)  Casement Park Belfast Antrim

Ulster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship
  Middletown (Armagh)  2-13 1-11 Liatroim (Down)  Casement Park Belfast Antrim   

Ulster Club Junior Hurling Championship
   St Marys Rasharkin (Antrim)  1-10 1-8 Burt (Donegal)  Dungannon   
Lisnaskea (Fermanagh)  1-4 4-12 Naomh Colum Cille (Tyrone)  Dungannon

Many down at Casement today? Fair play to Ballycran, I thought KL's played the better hurling in the first half against the wind even though they trailed at half time. Defensive switch 20min in shored Ballycran up a bit after KL's missed a bagfull. Ballycran with James Coyle getting 2.5 or so from play and Aidan Clarke winning 4-5 pointed frees were a threat up front. KL's miss a scoring forward or two, Paddy Mc Closkey caught some great ball though. Michael Ennis, Michael Hughes, and the two cornermen were the Cran pick of the bunch, while Hinpheys, Herron and Mark Craig are class hurlers, they could have down with switching there corner backs before they did. Finals on the 25th.

In the Intermediate, Middletown came from 1.8 to 4 down at half time to finish strongly with the wind at their backs 2nd half
Post by: ha ha derry on October 12, 2009, 08:31:21 AM
ray matthews best ref in ulster. pity there isn,t more like him.
Post by: milltown row on October 21, 2009, 08:48:58 PM
Ulster Council Preview of Hurling finals

This weekend's Ulster Club Senior Hurling Final brings together Dunloy of Antrim and Ballycran of Down for the first time in the Provincial decider since 1995 when the Antrim champions ran out winners on a 2-18 to 0-09 score line.

Ballycran have won the title twice, in 1976 and 1993, but have been beaten finalists on five occasions.  Dunloy won their first title in 1990 and since then they have never been beaten in an Ulster final, winning nine titles to date, including four in a row between 2000 and 2003.

Today's meeting will see Dunloy starting as slight favourites having defeated last year's champions Ruairi Og Cushendall in the Antrim Final.  Few would have anticipated that victory as Dunloy struggled to overcome challenges from Glenariffe and Ballycastle en route to the Antrim final.  However a dominant performance, particularly from goalkeeper Gareth McGhee and some of the more experienced members of the team, led to a comfortable 3-14 to 1-13 victory.  McGhee scored a penalty and pulled off several excellent saves while Liam and Paddy Richmond, Gregory O'Kane and Malachy Molloy turned in superb performances to oust the reigning Antrim and Ulster champions.

Ballycran on the other hand had to put in a mighty performance to overthrow Ballygalget in the Down final.  Ballycran have been rebuilding over the past number of years after a highly successful run at underage level.  Team manager Eamonn Blaney has developed a very young panel, which is complimented by the experience of Simon Wilson, Gary Savage and Mick Braniff.  However, this may be a year or two too early for this squad who will surely have a bright future if they continue to make progress at the rate they have done so far.

A close encounter can be expected with Dunloy probably continuing their winning ways in Ulster Club Championship finals.

The Intermediate final which takes place in Pairc Esler, Newry brings together two teams that will be contesting their first ever Provincial Hurling final.  Although better known for their football exploits St Galls will be no pushover and can boast three Antrim County stars in Karl Stewart, Kieran McGourty and Conor McGourty.  Armagh champions, Middletown will look to Cathal Carville, Ryan Gaffney and Kieran McKernan for inspiration.  A tough one to call but the Armagh men may just claim their first Provincial title at Intermediate level.

The curtain raiser to the senior decider in Casement Park sees the Junior final between two new finalists with Naomh Colum Cille from Tyrone facing St Mary's, Rasharkin from Antrim.  Ironically both teams were beaten at the semi final stage of Division 3 of the Ulster Senior Club Hurling League but have now battled on to win their county titles and now contest their first Provincial final.  This will be a close encounter with the Antrim men starting as slight favourites.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 22, 2009, 10:31:04 AM
I expect Dunloy to have too much experince for Ballycran on Sunday. I won't be easy so I'll go for them to win by 3.

I've seen both Rasharkin and Naomh Colum Cille in the championship this year and Rasharkin are by far the better hurling team. If they can settle and control their nerves I'd expect them to win by 7/8.

Middletown did very well beating a strong Keady in the Armagh championship but St Gall's will be a step too far for them this year. St Gall's to win by 2.
Post by: Colonel Cool on October 23, 2009, 02:50:57 PM
Ballycran are avery young team with a couple of older heads. Dunloy have all the experience of years at the top in Antrim, Ulster and the All Ireland series and must be short priced favorites.

Ah sure we'll go along and give it our best shot. We'll maybe keep her tight till half time and you never know on the day how it will go.
Post by: theskull1 on October 23, 2009, 05:16:17 PM
 :)

Post by: milltown row on October 23, 2009, 05:45:27 PM
Skull i think you'se have a better subs bench than Ballycran. watched them v Dungiven and they didn't have much on the bench that came on and changed the game.

should be a tight enough game but Dunloy will come through.
Post by: Whitehair on October 24, 2009, 03:13:13 PM
Quote from: milltown row on October 23, 2009, 05:45:27 PM
Skull i think you'se have a better subs bench than Ballycran. watched them v Dungiven and they didn't have much on the bench that came on and changed the game.

should be a tight enough game but Dunloy will come through.

Ballycran having Conor Woods back for the final should be a big boost and good to see my mate Benny Ennis back playing after doing his Cruciate last January, maybe get a run out.
Post by: Lecale2 on October 25, 2009, 11:52:17 AM
Good luck Ballycran. Hope you can do it.
Post by: orangeman on October 25, 2009, 06:04:41 PM
Great win for Colmcille.
Post by: Last Man on October 26, 2009, 09:22:26 AM
Great result for Colmcille but thought Sharkin really did leave it behind them. Where  was their usual system of support play, not trying to clear under pressure then getting blocked/hooked. The lay off option was frequently there but the player in possession mostly chose not to use it. They fought back to level it from 6 down at one point though so maybe deserved a draw. A fairly toothless inside forward line which they have managed to cover up all year didn't help either.
Thought Dunloy were very assured against the Crans, performed well to a man, especially the Cunning bros., Mickey McClemments, Sean Dowds. Dick and Nancy's decision making was second to none, 2 cute hoors.
Post by: maxpower on October 26, 2009, 02:44:13 PM
Delighted with the result, think its an incredible achievement to win an Ulster title without 5 key players (4 of whom have represented Ulster in recent years)

Great for Sean Dowds to get MotM, he was very close to it in Antrim final
Post by: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 03:00:30 PM
I thought we had some really solid performances yesterday. Sean's touch was sublime yesterday and was steady as rock on the dead balls but thought skinny, cathoir and mickey also had great hours. Also thought woodie was solid throughout without standing out but knew that he'd a job to do and done it brilliantly. Many more stood out with no one below standard.
Post by: johnneycool on October 26, 2009, 04:18:38 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 03:00:30 PM
I thought we had some really solid performances yesterday. Sean's touch was sublime yesterday and was steady as rock on the dead balls but thought skinny, cathoir and mickey also had great hours. Also thought woodie was solid throughout without standing out but knew that he'd a job to do and done it brilliantly. Many more stood out with no one below standard.

Is Paudie McMullan injured?
Post by: theskull1 on October 26, 2009, 05:54:57 PM
Paudie came back last year after a year or two out but old injurys reoccured and he struggled to get his fitness levels back to the right level. Has a very young family as well so that along with the injuries maybe made his decision for him to not commit this year.

Post by: maxpower on October 27, 2009, 08:24:57 AM
Paudie has fierce bother with injuries, its a pity he couldn't continue, excellent groundstroke and a great lad.

We lost him and Martin Curry from last years team, really tested the depths our of panel this year.

Watched the highlights of the game last night, and while I mind thinnking it was a poor enough game, some of the scores where excellent. Paddy Richmond is a terrific targetman and and that seemed to be a gameplan of Dunloy, get as much high ball in as possible and exploit the caching ability of paddy, horse, skinny and doc.
Post by: Minder on October 27, 2009, 08:52:04 AM
What happened Curry, he would only be about 31.
Post by: Nemo on October 27, 2009, 08:59:41 AM
well done Dunloy - totally deserved to win Antrim & Ulster

Dont know any of the players personally, but they all seem to have a great attitude which accounts for a lot

Paddy Richmond is a great Hurler and as you say Max a great target man

PS - not taking anything away  - i have mentioned the standard of antrim (& Ulster) hurling -  IMO this emphasises (sp) it - that IMO has to be the worst Dunloy team i have seen win Antrim & Ulster.   (disclaimer - im not saying they are bad-just the worst of the 10/11)
Post by: Glensman on October 27, 2009, 09:10:12 AM
Conrgats to Dunloy.

As has been said before both Mickey McC and Cathoir Cunning had great games, were solid and didn't give their men much, as was suggested on here they might. Skinny had a great game as did Horse. Thought the man of the match should have come from 1 of those 4 but Sean did well.

Paddy Richmond is simply a class act.

Was a solid team performance without setting the world on fire. Will have a few months now to get players back from injury and give it a real rattle. Will be going in as underdogs against whoever they play but might suit them.

Nemo - arguably this is as good a squad as Dunloy have had, when you think they were missing Malachy Molloy, Damien McMullan, Paudie Shivers and Connor Cunning...not bad. Not to mention Shorty! Will be some competition for places where maybe in the past there were 16/17 potentials. Should keep them on their toes over the winter I'd say.

And well done to St Galls as well (and of coruse to MR), some year for the club.
Post by: theskull1 on October 27, 2009, 10:38:37 AM
My belief is that the standrad of hurling "in Antrim" has improved over the last 10-20 years. It's just that we haven't improved to the same degree as our southern counterparts.

I thought we played excellent this year, certainly as good as years gone by
Post by: maxpower on October 27, 2009, 10:50:40 AM
Nemo you may be making a fair point, not a particularly gracious accusation to make to a winning team, but in comparision to the great teams of the past we perhaps should look at County representatives, in 1990 we had one player on the panel, in 2009 we had 2, with only Paddy Richmond starting.

In the intervenning years we had on most occassions at least half a dozen. Now the 1990 team went on to great things but were exceptionally young at the time.

As a dunloy man, where this team ranks in comparision to other Dunloy teams doesn't really bother me, how it ranks in comparision to the opposition, now thats important, and thankfully this year we have come out on top
Post by: Nemo on October 27, 2009, 10:59:12 AM
Quote from: maxpower on October 27, 2009, 10:50:40 AM
Nemo you may be making a fair point, not a particularly gracious accusation to make to a winning team, but in comparision to the great teams of the past we perhaps should look at County representatives, in 1990 we had one player on the panel, in 2009 we had 2, with only Paddy Richmond starting.

In the intervenning years we had on most occassions at least half a dozen. Now the 1990 team went on to great things but were exceptionally young at the time.

As a dunloy man, where this team ranks in comparision to other Dunloy teams doesn't really bother me, how it ranks in comparision to the opposition, now thats important, and thankfully this year we have come out on top

yep, i agree with you here and apologise, wrong time to bring such point up.

again well done Dunloy and thoroughly deserved - (i did tip them from early on btw)

Skull - i do disagree with your good self though.
Post by: theskull1 on October 27, 2009, 11:38:36 AM
Take a look at the old matches on TG4 nemo and you'll see what I'm getting at. A top club team today could have beat most of those early 90's county teams. Their touch was no where near as good club hurlers have now. On that basis the standard has improved in Antrim. I also think we're starting to tackle and scrap for breaking ball with a bit more intensity as well as having a bit more tactical nonce. Of course there were stand out hurlers in that era (cloot, brian dessie & eddie donnelly, gary okane (bit young maybe) etc etc) who possessed sublime stickwork and ball winning capabilities that would grace any era, but I'm talking generally about the hurling population in Antrim (and that includes the Dunloy team). I think we have improved in may ways and it would be better for the game if we recognised that (whilst at the same time admitting that we still need to catch up) rather than constantly being negative about the way we play the game up here.

No?
Post by: The Doire Geal on October 30, 2009, 06:38:34 PM
whatch our for kevin lynch's next year ... ;) the younger players this year only gettin first taste of championship in derry and ulster ... be more ready nexy year watch out ;)