GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: bennydorano on October 04, 2007, 09:27:00 AM

Title: Armagh v Louth @ 'Bridge
Post by: bennydorano on October 04, 2007, 09:27:00 AM
What's the story here, is Mcdonnell going to have the services of any county regulars?  Wouldn't mind going up for a nosey if it was worthwhile.  Maybe I've missed it but has McD named his backroom team yet ???
Title: Re: Armagh v Louth @ 'Bridge
Post by: RICH TEA on October 04, 2007, 10:02:22 AM
Hi, I think the county are bringing all the available players on sunday, 3 of the bridge are getting to play with armagh just becouse of the day that it is. i hear mc keever wont play on sunday because its for the opening of the bridge i hope he swallows his pride and turns up to represent his county
Post by: DMarsden on October 04, 2007, 10:14:05 AM

No senior players i hear... this years u21 team as far as i know
Post by: Armagh Exile on October 04, 2007, 10:42:26 AM
QuoteNo senior players i hear... this years u21 team as far as i know

Let's hope that Armagh has all their players, including the Crossmaglen players, available for Sunday's game against Louth.
It would show support and respect to the Silverbridge club who are opening their magnificient new playing pitches.  This club is a credit to the Association and they have the best workers of any other club I know.
Let us supporters go to Silverbridge and show our support for the club's endevours.
The game between Armagh and Louth has a 5.00pm throw-in.
Post by: DMarsden on October 04, 2007, 10:51:47 AM

there's a full round of club fixtures on sunday so that'll take a fair few bodies out i'd imagine.

october is a funny time to have a pitch opening. normally its prechampionship to get decent teams?
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 04, 2007, 12:23:27 PM
Quote from: RICH TEA on October 04, 2007, 10:02:22 AM
Hi, I think the county are bringing all the available players on sunday, 3 of the bridge are getting to play with armagh just becouse of the day that it is. i hear mc keever wont play on sunday because its for the opening of the bridge i hope he swallows his pride and turns up to represent his county

which mc keever are you talking about rich tea?
i thought it was at 3.45 lads?
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 04, 2007, 12:26:37 PM
im guessing it's ciaran due to the big falling out a couple of years ago between the clubs
Post by: Armagh Exile on October 04, 2007, 12:26:59 PM
Quotethought it was at 3.45 lads?

According to the advertisement in today's Irish News the throw-in is 5.00pm.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 04, 2007, 12:44:12 PM
Pints, would you be glad to see ciaran mc keever tog out, given the history of the row a couple of years ago?

Will the crazy local farmer be opening his fields this time to let people park?  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 12:48:38 PM
everyone will be welcome at the bridge sunday. i doubt there'll be fields to park in.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 04, 2007, 03:49:35 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 12:48:38 PM
everyone will be welcome at the bridge sunday. i doubt there'll be fields to park in.

Even ciaran conlon if he was lining out for louth?
or maybe lining out for the 'bridge as one of their 3 representatives on the armagh team?

Post by: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 05:30:03 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on October 04, 2007, 03:49:35 PM

or maybe lining out for the 'bridge as one of their 3 representatives on the armagh team?

Why would Conlon be a bridge representative?  He's not a 'Bridge player.
There would be no ill feeling at all towards him and I wouldn't hesitate to wish him all the best and every success with his new club.
Post by: tyroneman on October 04, 2007, 06:52:14 PM
Oisin McConville was up last night at the Clann Eireann prize giving and was very vague about  meeting the new manager saying he thought there would be some sort of get together towards the end of the month - doesn't sound like he's ready for a game on Sunday...........
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 08:20:35 PM
hmmm
Post by: asitis on October 04, 2007, 10:44:41 PM
Exile a lot of their development work is down to their chairman or so i'am told. which is strange when some members tried to shaft him at their last agm. at least that the story i'am hearing.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 11:18:57 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 04, 2007, 09:27:00 AM
What's the story here, is Mcdonnell going to have the services of any county regulars?  Wouldn't mind going up for a nosey if it was worthwhile.  Maybe I've missed it but has McD named his backroom team yet ???
Benny it's looking like it'll be the u21s.
Post by: corn02 on October 05, 2007, 09:34:26 AM
Dontcare if you read the Armagh thread you will see that it wasd not who was the second best team but rather how would other Armagh teams fare in Ulster, there is a difference.

Regarding Sunday I hear a few club men from around the County will also be given a run, don't know how reliable it is.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 05, 2007, 10:20:33 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 05:30:03 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on October 04, 2007, 03:49:35 PM

Why would Conlon be a bridge representative?  He's not a 'Bridge player.
There would be no ill feeling at all towards him and I wouldn't hesitate to wish him all the best and every success with his new club.

Nostalgia
Post by: altovito on October 05, 2007, 11:53:32 AM
The pitch is looking great in Silverbridge. I hope the County send a good team up to mark the opening. Its just a pity the club couldnt have swallowed their pride on the Ciaran Conlon issue as he would have been an asset to them in the future
Post by: DMarsden on October 05, 2007, 11:57:34 AM

I don't know anythig about this conlon thing but from reading on here i'm way bored with it. move on
Post by: altovito on October 05, 2007, 12:01:29 PM
Sorry for bringing it up marsden. I just think a great player like Conlon would have graced the new field. It does get boring reading the same stuff over again. Have the under 21 team from last year been contacted about Sundays game yet?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 05, 2007, 12:31:50 PM
Quote from: altovito on October 05, 2007, 11:53:32 AM
The pitch is looking great in Silverbridge. I hope the County send a good team up to mark the opening. Its just a pity the club couldnt have swallowed their pride on the Ciaran Conlon issue as he would have been an asset to them in the future

Two people in the last two days have joined the board to have a wee dig at the 'bridge and try to start rumours or something.   :D

You'll have to tell me what the club done wrong altovito.
Post by: altovito on October 05, 2007, 12:36:37 PM
What rumour have I tried to start pintsofguinness? I am just calling it as I see it on the Conlon issue. Maybe you are paranoid or is it you giving the club a bad image?
Post by: full back on October 05, 2007, 12:38:18 PM
Anyone bored with this sh1t?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 05, 2007, 12:40:37 PM
Quote from: full back on October 05, 2007, 12:38:18 PM

It's been going on 4 months now.  a wee bit alright
Post by: full back on October 05, 2007, 12:42:49 PM
Are you lot still on the drink after Sunday el_cuervo?
Is your game on at the weekend?
What about Clarke?
(fcuk, I sound like a cop with all the questions)
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 05, 2007, 12:44:25 PM
altovito, you're trying to start the rumour that the club is at fault. 

I'll tell you what, you or anyone else (if you're not all the one person  ::)) that think you know something or think the club is at fault then say on here why  he left (don't expect me to discuss it in public though) or better still, PM me and we'll have a craic about it. 

If you're not prepared to do either of those two things, leave it. 

I'd bet my house that not one of you will PM me, it's very easy to suggest the club was at fault, a little harder to talk and argue your case to someone who knows what happened! 

Yes, bored to tears with it!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 05, 2007, 12:48:18 PM
Quote from: full back on October 05, 2007, 12:42:49 PM
Are you lot still on the drink after Sunday el_cuervo?
Is your game on at the weekend?
What about Clarke?
(fcuk, I sound like a cop with all the questions)

I only went out sunday and monday. 

We're back training tonight and as far as I know our match is on on sunday against Cullaville.

haven't been talking to Ronan in a few days but we'll find out any knocks tonight
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 05, 2007, 02:35:51 PM
Maybe the whole conlon saga has been drawn out enough Pints. It has clearly hit a raw nerve so maybe we should move on and wish him and his auld boy good luck in dundalk.

Anyway, the set-up at the bridge is a credit and i am hoping to be in attendance on sunday.
out of interest, who is ref in the game?

el cuervo, will your lads be suffering from championship hangover you think? outside chance of cullaville causing an upset and salvaging some priceless league points? Doubtful still i'd say
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 05, 2007, 03:24:28 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on October 05, 2007, 02:35:51 PM
Maybe the whole conlon saga has been drawn out enough Pints. It has clearly hit a raw nerve so maybe we should move on and wish him and his auld boy good luck in dundalk.

Anyway, the set-up at the bridge is a credit and i am hoping to be in attendance on sunday.

el cuervo, will your lads be suffering from championship hangover you think? outside chance of cullaville causing an upset and salvaging some priceless league points? Doubtful still i'd say

Cullaville have already beaten us earlier in the year, think it was by about 5 points.  Training tonight will tell the tale although I would think we would have more or less a full panel for Sunday

Quote from: hardstation on October 05, 2007, 02:40:56 PM

JJ was in some shape on Tuesday night. He and two other lads from Ogs got a taxi home to Armagh from Renshaws.
Martin Clarke (no relation) was also in some shape that night!

Thank God I wasn't there, Cant handle 3 day hangovers any more
Post by: Louth Exile on October 05, 2007, 05:20:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 04, 2007, 12:30:03 PM
i thought it was at 3.45 lads?
The throw in has been put back to accomodate Louth - 12 months notice isn't enough for them! 

It was moved back so as those wanting to go to the Louth intermediate final and also this game could do so!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 05, 2007, 05:54:27 PM
I know!
Post by: Louth Exile on October 05, 2007, 06:02:14 PM
Well thats alright then
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 05, 2007, 09:39:34 PM
KB
QuoteAnyway, the set-up at the bridge is a credit and i am hoping to be in attendance on sunday.
Pat McEneaney is the ref.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 06, 2007, 05:05:56 PM
Quotei hear mc keever wont play on sunday because its for the opening of the bridge i hope he swallows his pride and turns up to represent his county

For feck's sake, the fella has a hugely important league match for his club a few hours before throw in. Do you not think that might have a lot more to do with his appearance or non-appearance (and I've no idea whether he's going to play or not) than your paranoid bullshit story.

Post by: joebloggs on October 07, 2007, 08:00:48 PM
Armagh beat Louth today 2-15  to 1-15. Good game and some good performances by the Armagh boys.
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 07, 2007, 08:42:44 PM
Quote from: joebloggs on October 07, 2007, 08:00:48 PM
Armagh beat Louth today 2-15  to 1-15. Good game and some good performances by the Armagh boys.

Could you tell us who the "Armagh boys" were?
Post by: orangeman on October 07, 2007, 08:54:18 PM
Any report on the game and does anybody have the line ups ? Thanks
Post by: joebloggs on October 07, 2007, 08:58:17 PM
goal was from the bridge miechal reel, then full back was quinn from mullaghbawn, dont know who the corner backs were but number four was good. araon kernan was half back was very good. charlie vernon and paul keenan, keenan in particular played well. thik there was another bridge man mcevoy around that area too he played well. brian mallon center half forward was good. Loughran from carrickcruppen played well and mccann from the bridge got a few points too. Kieran toner got stuck in and the number seven was pretty good too. Stephen kernan also played. o rourke from dromintee came on a sub late on as did the substitue goalie but i dont know the names of the rest sorry. They played pretty decently and looked a good physical side although im sure louth were probably missin a few players too.
Post by: orangeman on October 07, 2007, 09:00:11 PM
thanks Bloggs
Post by: Armagh Exile on October 07, 2007, 09:05:59 PM
At todays game at Silverbridge Peter McDonnell had two assistants namely Denis Hollywood (St Michael's) and Benny O'Kane (Armagh Harps).  Enda McNulty was also on the line but I can't say in what capacity.
McDonnell seemed to be very quiet with Hollywood and O'Kane being more vocal.
Post by: orangeman on October 07, 2007, 09:11:36 PM
Would Mc Nulty be part of the backroom team now or is he just taking it easy ?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 09:13:30 PM
Very successful day for the 'Bridge.  It was nice to see so many come out to support us, hopefully everyone enjoyed themselves. 

Post by: Against the Breeze on October 07, 2007, 09:18:29 PM
Was at the game in the bridge today.  It was a low enough key match but there  was some very good performances. 

The Armagh Team Lined out as follows (I think)

Micheal Reel
Gareth Smyth
Martin Gill
Kevin Morris
Aaron Kernan
Mark Quinn
Brendan McKeown
Paul Keenan
Charlie Vernon
Stephen Kernan
Brian Mallon
Cormac McAvoy
Damien McCann
Ronan Austin
Peter Loughran

Louth were very poor though you cant take it away from Armagh today.  Going through the team I think Aaron Kernan and Brain Mallon were the so called more "experienced" players on the Armagh team..   Good performances all around the pitch.  Thought Smyth and Morris were tenacious in defence while Aaron covered a lot of ground but was looking after himself naturally enough I suppose.   Thought Paul Keenan played well.. He set up a lot of the play and popped the ball around rightly.  There were a few times his passing was wayward and he could have being guilty in terms of his workrate but all in all I thought he was one of Armaghs best players on show today along with Smyth and Loughran.  Thought Peter Loughran showed glimpses of class today and IMO I wouldn't mind seeing him with the more seasoned players around him.   Great to see Brian Mallon back and he took some wonderful scores..

Fair play to the bridge for their facilities, they really are second to none and the pitch today and everything else that went with it was first class! 
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 09:21:35 PM
Quote from: joebloggs on October 07, 2007, 08:58:17 PM
goal was from the bridge miechal reel, then full back was quinn from mullaghbawn, dont know who the corner backs were but number four was good. araon kernan was half back was very good. charlie vernon and paul keenan, keenan in particular played well. thik there was another bridge man mcevoy around that area too he played well. brian mallon center half forward was good. Loughran from carrickcruppen played well and mccann from the bridge got a few points too. Kieran toner got stuck in and the number seven was pretty good too. Stephen kernan also played. o rourke from dromintee came on a sub late on as did the substitue goalie but i dont know the names of the rest sorry. They played pretty decently and looked a good physical side although im sure louth were probably missin a few players too.
According to the programme (how did the young lads at the gate miss you?) number four was Kevin Morris (Harps).  Number 2 was Gareth Smyth (Mullaghbawn).  Our Cormac McAvoy was 12.
I only seen about 10 minutes of the game but in those ten our Damien McCann took two fine points. 
I heard Keenan was about armagh's best. 
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on October 07, 2007, 09:29:10 PM
I thought Cormac McAvoy had an excellent match and looked county material. Damian McCann took a while to settle and while he scored a couple of fine pints he is just a bit small when it comes to that level. Great turn out, the new fields look brilliant and in particular the ball net looks to be a marvellous feat of engineering. POG can you PM me sometime about the Conlon saga. Interestingly enough his da fell out with the club when he was U14 or U16 and joined Cullyhanna for at least a season.
Post by: diesel-smuggler on October 07, 2007, 09:30:18 PM
armagh team that started was:-

miceal reel (silverbridge), gareth smyth (mullaghbawn), martin gill (harps), kevin morris (harps), aaron kernan (crossmaglen), mark quinn (mullaghbawn), brendan mckeown (crossmaglen), paul keenan (carrickcruppen), charlie vernon (harps), stephen kernan (crossmaglen), brian mallon (tir na nog), cormac mcevoy (silverbridge), damian mccann (silverbridge), ronan austin (clan na gael), peter loughran (carrickcruppen)

subs was gareth oneill (dromintee), paudi rodgers (lissumon), paul courtney (ballyhegan), miceal o'rourke (dromintee), kieran toner (granemore), tony mcclelland (granemore), gerard mccreesh (mullaghbawn),
Post by: corn02 on October 07, 2007, 09:34:08 PM
Young Austin must love the football having played a whole game for Clanns earlier in the day.
Post by: diesel-smuggler on October 07, 2007, 09:35:50 PM
funniest thing happened before the match started!

gareth oneill (a sub) marched around the field at the start behind the band with the 15 starters, only for him to realise half way round that the rest of the subs was on the bench!

they gave hime some stick when he walked across the field! good laugh!
Post by: Donagh on October 07, 2007, 09:39:16 PM
Great to see Brian Mallon back in an Armagh jersey. Himself and A Kernan were the touch of class that seperated the teams.
Post by: Donagh on October 07, 2007, 09:44:32 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 09:21:35 PM

I only seen about 10 minutes of the game but in those ten our Damien McCann took two fine points. 

Was wondering why he was captain/lasted the whole game - he was rank in the second half. May have picked up a knock though.
Post by: joebloggs on October 07, 2007, 09:47:17 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 07, 2007, 09:39:16 PM
Great to see Brian Mallon back in an Armagh jersey. Himself and A Kernan were the touch of class that seperated the teams.

Have to agree there. Also thought that Stephen Kernan made some clever decisions too. Was that him that took the fifty for the goal? Also think that if Keenan could time his jumping a bit better he woulda caught a lot more ball but been told he hasnt had much football in recent years and is getting the benefit of armagh being out early and playing for his club.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 09:56:46 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on October 07, 2007, 09:29:10 PM
I thought Cormac McAvoy had an excellent match and looked county material. Damian McCann took a while to settle and while he scored a couple of fine pints he is just a bit small when it comes to that level. Great turn out, the new fields look brilliant and in particular the ball net looks to be a marvellous feat of engineering. POG can you PM me sometime about the Conlon saga. Interestingly enough his da fell out with the club when he was U14 or U16 and joined Cullyhanna for at least a season.

On Cormac McAvoy - Cormac has been playing great stuff for us for the last number of years.  I think he turns 25 now in a few months, he's never got his chance.  (Ask the Harps men about the goal he scored in Abbey Park a few years ago)
In the ten/fifteen minutes I saw  I thought he was actually very quiet.  That tells you what we're use to seeing from him in the blue and yellow.

On Damien McCann - Anyone would look at Damien and say he's too small for county football and you'd probably have your doubts about him with club football.  I've seen Damien knock men twice his size with a shoulder, run through the tackles of men twice his size etc  his size doesn't seem to be a factor.  Of course county football is totally different. 

QuoteWas wondering why he was captain/lasted the whole game - he was rank in the second half. May have picked up a knock though.
I'm guessing a bridge player was given the role as captain because of the day that was in it.  I seen the first 10/15 minutes of the second half and he scored two excellent points - particularly one where he began the move on the half way line and finished it off. 

The three bridge players were elected by their team mates.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on October 07, 2007, 10:16:49 PM
Hugh Morgan seems to have a big involvement in the Armagh set up. Is it really appropriate for a sponsor to be standing along the sideline with the management team and carrying the footballs off at the end of the match?
Post by: diesel-smuggler on October 07, 2007, 10:23:25 PM
thats hugh morgan for ya! if he had his own way he would be picking the team!
Post by: diesel-smuggler on October 07, 2007, 10:24:49 PM
what was the story with the louth subs tracksuits? are they being sponsored by retrogaa.com or are the county board too miserable to fork out for a new set of tracksuits?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 10:29:21 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on October 07, 2007, 10:16:49 PM
Hugh Morgan seems to have a big involvement in the Armagh set up. Is it really appropriate for a sponsor to be standing along the sideline with the management team and carrying the footballs off at the end of the match?
well he put the management there he might as well give them a hand! 

Quotewhat was the story with the louth subs tracksuits? are they being sponsored by retrogaa.com or are the county board too miserable to fork out for a new set of tracksuits?
Well if they can't manage a bus they're not going to get them tracksuits.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 10:55:04 PM
hang on till I get my programme...
Louth
1. S Reynolds
2. Dara Greene
3. David Mackin
4. Keith Whyte
5. John O'Brien
6. Conor McGuinness
7. JJ Quigley
8.  Brian Donnelly
9.  Brenda Nordone
10. Adrian reid
11. Jimmy Murray
12.  Chris Smyth
13.  Francis McCullough
14. Pat Matthews
15.  Brian Whyte

subs
brendan nash
mark stanfield  (Im saying nothing)
darren clarke
bernard osbourne
john neary
aaron hoey
aidan o'brien
cormac malone
alan page cooley

I've no idea if that's how the lined out or what.

I think the bridge can consider the day a success, we'd a great crowd and as I said above I hope everyone enjoyed it. 
I think that most 'bridge men and women's thoughts would have been of Peter Keeley today (the park is named in his honour) and he shouldn't be forgotten in all this.  Hopefully we done him proud. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 07, 2007, 11:11:42 PM
Dirty, diving bollocks.
Post by: armaghniac on October 08, 2007, 12:51:22 AM
Keenan showed up well at times today, but his passing was wayward. Three successive times in the 2nd half the forward went on one side of the defender and Keenan planted a pass, exactly the right distance but on the other side of the back! Something to work on. Loughran would be worth a further trial. Not quite sure why Aaron was playing, the other players typically hadn't a secured place in the team last year or were coming back from injury like Mallon. No doubt conspiracy theorists will have a view on this one. It might have been worth trying Aaron at half forward.

Well done to Silverbridge.
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 08, 2007, 10:17:39 AM
Quote from: diesel-smuggler on October 07, 2007, 10:23:25 PM
thats hugh morgan for ya! if he had his own way he would be picking the team! ......................
............................. and playing on it!

Was there any sign of Martin McQuillan on the line today; I'd heard that he was part of the management setup.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 08, 2007, 10:20:19 AM

don't think he is sandy.

is that really the best collection of club footballers that could be mustered for the game?
Post by: full back on October 08, 2007, 01:08:47 PM
I know there were other club games on yesterday, but I thought it would have been a stronger team yesterday.
Decent enough game although the Louth team seems to have been just thrown together.
BTW, a great set up now at the Bridge
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 08, 2007, 01:39:38 PM
Orchard County is some craic

http://www.orchardcounty.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=36242#36242 (http://www.orchardcounty.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=36242#36242)

QuoteThis has always been a problem when it comes to gaelic games. How much does a scoreboard cost? I'm sure they're not cheap but they are such a necessity. Every time i go to a club match it's the same. I come away thinking I know what the score was only to hear several variations of it from others. Its bad enough at club level but its the same thing at county level in the McKenna cup etc. Davitt Park's a prime example.

A potentially high scoring sport should always have a scoreboard. Surely some of the sponsors could afford this, and with their name on the top of it, it excellent adverising.

:D There's no pleasing some people

QuoteWas there any sign of Martin McQuillan on the line today; I'd heard that he was part of the management setup.
He was there yesterday but not with the management.
Post by: armaghniac on October 08, 2007, 02:53:42 PM
QuoteHow much does a scoreboard cost? I'm sure they're not cheap but they are such a necessity.

Fair comment. A scoreboard would have been easy enough to arrange and convenient for the large crowd.
Post by: twotwocharlie on October 08, 2007, 04:48:40 PM
talking too some of the bridge lads this morning and they were saying they clean forgot about the scoreboard. i think they are playing cruppen under lights this week . fine setup there. they sure are investing a lot of time and money in their club.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 08, 2007, 05:37:35 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 08, 2007, 02:53:42 PM
QuoteHow much does a scoreboard cost? I'm sure they're not cheap but they are such a necessity.

Fair comment. A scoreboard would have been easy enough to arrange and convenient for the large crowd.

I know I'm  biased but I think it's more than harsh to turn up at fields that cost over half a million and countless hours of voluntary work and complain about a lack of a scoreboard.
I've no doubt there'll be one soon enough but give us a break!
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on October 08, 2007, 05:43:29 PM
Well done to all concerned at Silverbridge. A well run club that are an example to all within the county and further afield. I wasn't at the official opening but I'll be down past it in the next week or so.
Post by: armaghniac on October 08, 2007, 06:21:17 PM
Quotetalking too some of the bridge lads this morning and they were saying they clean forgot about the scoreboard

I'd say twotwocharlie is right, the scoreboard was an oversight. But scoreboard or no scoreboard everyone agrees the 'Bridge is a fine setup and a credit to those involved, who have put in a lot of work and who are are often busy people without much time on their hands.

It a bit like saying so and so had a great game, but its a pity he missed that point, discussion boards are like that.
Post by: twotwocharlie on October 08, 2007, 07:02:34 PM
by the way fair play to the cross lads for turning out yesterday as they have some big games coming up. they could easily have stayed at home and no one could fault them.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 08, 2007, 07:16:33 PM
Quote from: twotwocharlie on October 08, 2007, 07:02:34 PM
by the way fair play to the cross lads for turning out yesterday as they have some big games coming up. they could easily have stayed at home and no one could fault them.
hear hear
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on October 08, 2007, 09:14:36 PM
Yeah I agree with that
Post by: Lecale2 on October 08, 2007, 09:28:51 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on October 08, 2007, 09:14:36 PM
Yeah I agree with that
What?
Post by: Over the Bar on October 08, 2007, 11:15:30 PM
Heard a rumour from my cousin that Kieran McKeever wasn't playing cos of an altercation involving Silverbridge underage players the week previous.   Any substance to it?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 08, 2007, 11:49:25 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on October 08, 2007, 11:15:30 PM
Heard a rumour from my cousin that Kieran McKeever wasn't playing cos of an altercation involving Silverbridge underage players the week previous.   Any substance to it?
I think it was Rich Tea that mentioned something on the armagh thread about a Cullyhanna player being involved in something with kids from the 'bridge a week or so ago, I haven't heard anything further (forgot about it until now actually) but the two clubs wouldn't have a great relationship. 
Silverbridge, however, did not dictate who played for the county.
Post by: Smokin Joe on October 09, 2007, 08:35:35 AM
I wasn't at the game on Sunday, but I presume that the pitch that was used was the old pitch - is that right?

If so (as the 2 new pitches look to be better pitches, but they don't have a stand) is the intention that in time one of the new pitches will be used as the official field, and a stand erected, or will the old pitch be dug up and relaid?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 09, 2007, 08:38:47 AM
QuotePosted by: pintsofguinness  
Insert Quote

hear hear

*Chokes on coffee*

Maith thu pints and all at the Bridge.  I have to say that of all the clubs in Armagh the Bridge have the best set of volunteers of any of the clubs.  They have built the foundations of a great club set up, and I genuinely mean it when I say that I hope they have more success on the field.  I have too much respect for them and too many friends within the club to wish them anything but good luck!
Post by: Over the Bar on October 09, 2007, 10:09:17 AM
QuoteI wasn't at the game on Sunday, but I presume that the pitch that was used was the old pitch - is that right?

From the pics it looked like the new one. 
Post by: corn02 on October 09, 2007, 10:16:05 AM
Was not able to get out to the game but ti was indeed the new pitch. I believe the old pitch is beling closed for a year but POG could confirm that?

With regards the scoreboard, such a trivial complaint for obviously such a successful day.
Post by: Smokin Joe on October 09, 2007, 10:31:07 AM
Quote from: corn02 on October 09, 2007, 10:16:05 AM
Was not able to get out to the game but ti was indeed the new pitch. I believe the old pitch is beling closed for a year but POG could confirm that?

So was there a stand erected for the day, or was everyone standing at ground level?
Post by: corn02 on October 09, 2007, 10:38:01 AM
Ground level I believe also if you can picture this description, the area to the left and right of the old stand is raised above the new fields so the fence was full there too. Poor description I know.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2007, 01:44:42 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 09, 2007, 08:38:47 AM
QuotePosted by: pintsofguinness 
Insert Quote

hear hear

*Chokes on coffee*

Maith thu pints and all at the Bridge.  I have to say that of all the clubs in Armagh the Bridge have the best set of volunteers of any of the clubs.  They have built the foundations of a great club set up, and I genuinely mean it when I say that I hope they have more success on the field.  I have too much respect for them and too many friends within the club to wish them anything but good luck!
Thanks Bc
Hard to believe we (well I wasn't about) bought the old field in 1966 - it took us five years to develop (excuse us if it's not perfect!)
The changing rooms and social club were only opened in 1982 - 25 years ago. 
We've come along way and certainly aren't finished yet - work's ongoing on the social club. 
I've heard no plans about the old field btw.

Hopefully success on the field will come - there's been massive emphasis on the youth in recent years, it was the lack of room for the youngsters that made the fields an absolute priority. Most times the place is packed with children, if there's justice at all it'll pay off.   

I don't know what it is about the 'bridge but there's no shortage of volunteers.  I suppose when Keeley sold the pigs to buy jerseys he set the standard and it's something that has been passed down through the years. 
Post by: altovito on October 09, 2007, 01:51:04 PM
Although not from the 'Bridge I would like to say well done to the club for a great day on Sunday.special praise as well for the chairman,who kept working at it despit the trial and tribulations.
Post by: aidanmcg33 on October 09, 2007, 02:51:32 PM
Hope these pictures work. Some photos of the opening of the new fields.

(http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/9994/bridge1gh8.jpg)

(http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/6239/bridge2yk3.jpg)

(http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/8906/bridge3ac1.jpg)
Post by: aidanmcg33 on October 09, 2007, 02:54:24 PM
another two:

(http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/9476/bridge4td4.jpg)

(http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/7346/bridge5bm7.jpg)
Post by: Over the Bar on October 09, 2007, 03:07:58 PM
Indeed congrats are due to Silverbridge for being way ahead of the rest of the county in their vision for the future in terms of ground development.  Unfortunately for them their biggest handicap is population so they'd best get bredding if they ever hope to sitat the top table on a consistent basis.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 09, 2007, 08:23:56 PM
altovito, you talking more nonsense? 
I'll take the same stance I've taken with Conlon - post up what you're talking about or PM me (though as I expected I got none from you about Conlon).

Great pics aidan, have you anymore?

QuoteUnfortunately for them their biggest handicap is population so they'd best get bredding if they ever hope to sitat the top table on a consistent basis.
Hmm...I wonder would that one work in Donnelly's...
Post by: Over the Bar on October 09, 2007, 09:37:17 PM
QuoteHmm...I wonder would that one work in Donnelly's...

The last time I was in Donnelly's was about 1995 when at 4am or so it was announced to the bar that there was a Tyrone man on the premises which brought a momenatary silence and then someone roared "So long as he's not from Down he's welcome here anytime".  Mighty craic.
Post by: aidanmcg33 on October 10, 2007, 12:34:09 AM
yea got a few more they were mainly the best ones. PM me your email if you want the rest.have some of the development work that took place on the field from the start.
Post by: aidanmcg33 on October 10, 2007, 12:45:46 AM
We actually have some very accurate forwards ;) but that net has to be that size for health and safety and it also has to go the full way round from the resource centre to the end of the field at the crossmaglen corner again for health and safety.
Post by: Over the Bar on October 10, 2007, 10:04:24 PM
QuoteJaysis, look at the length of thon catch net in the 4th photo! You must have some useless forwards down in the 'Bridge.

Funny you mention it cos thats actually the shorter side!  I was driving past just after they were put up and at the other side of the posts it runs a good 3 or 4 metres beyond the width of the pitch!
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 10, 2007, 10:07:20 PM
You can't have a ball bouncing out in front of a car on that road. 

Post by: stew on October 11, 2007, 11:38:19 PM
Brilliant photos altogether. Pog the set up looks great, it is good to see progressive clubs like the bridge setting themselves up for the future.  :)