Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: theskull1 on September 02, 2007, 11:30:56 PM

Title: What did Anderson say about Jones?
Post by: theskull1 on September 02, 2007, 11:30:56 PM
I see George Jones is suing Gerry Anderson for comments he made about him recently on his radio programme. All the newsprint I've read tells nothing about what was said. Can anybody tell us what was said?.........allegedly ;)

Gerry's been sore on Jones for years and for good reason IMO. The guy just reeks of falseness to me and deserves what ever he gets.
Title: Re: What did Anderson say about Jones?
Post by: Orior on September 03, 2007, 12:07:38 AM
Jones is stadium announcer at Windsor Park apparently, but lets not hold that against him.
Post by: ONeill on September 03, 2007, 12:13:39 AM
Good on ye Anderson. Jones will receive zero support. If Nolan took that approach, Gerry'd never be out of court. Fortunately Nolan has a SOH.
Post by: ziggysego on September 03, 2007, 12:42:52 PM
Never liked George Jones, but my Mum used to enjoy listening to him on the radio. However, not in recent years.

What exactly did Gerry Anderson say about him?
Post by: thewobbler on September 03, 2007, 01:46:04 PM
If anyone knows what was said, let it loose. I'd be interested to know what it would take to offend poor little George so much.

From my time at the Beeb, one of those two came across as a friendly, outgoing person who knew that people looked up to him and responded as such, while the other was an angry, arrogant twat. I'll let you guess which one was which.
Post by: ziggysego on September 03, 2007, 10:02:32 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 03, 2007, 01:46:04 PM
From my time at the Beeb, one of those two came across as a friendly, outgoing person who knew that people looked up to him and responded as such, while the other was an angry, arrogant twat. I'll let you guess which one was which.

I met one of them, so I'd safely say it was the other.
Post by: Square Ball on September 03, 2007, 10:05:17 PM
met one of them myself when he played for Clubsound, he as a little p***k then too
Post by: Square Ball on September 03, 2007, 10:18:33 PM
maybe he referred to him as a talentless little arrogant little twat, oh so he is
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on September 03, 2007, 10:55:26 PM
maybe it will all come out in court or else Anderson will give him a fiver to go away
Post by: theskull1 on September 04, 2007, 09:43:23 AM
Maybes are no use. Surely someone heard what was actually/allegedly said  :-\
Post by: Square Ball on September 04, 2007, 12:21:39 PM
He is suing his former colleague over alleged defamatory comments made by Anderson during a Radio Ulster programme handover with Stephen Nolan earlier this month.

if it was during a handover was it on air? does anyone here listen to the Nolan show?
Post by: Donagh on September 04, 2007, 12:53:07 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on September 04, 2007, 12:21:39 PM
He is suing his former colleague over alleged defamatory comments made by Anderson during a Radio Ulster programme handover with Stephen Nolan earlier this month.

if it was during a handover was it on air? does anyone here listen to the Nolan show?

Given that gerry slags Hugo, Jones, Bennett and Nolan during pretty much every show and handover, it could have been one of a hundred items that Jones is suing over.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on September 04, 2007, 01:04:27 PM
There's a lot of pettiness and ego in radio.

Still, all good publicity for both - a bit like the sweet wrapper row between two prominent QCs here a few years ago.
Post by: red hander on September 04, 2007, 01:21:25 PM
'All the newsprint I've read tells nothing about what was said'

That's because they'd be repeating the alleged libel and opening themselves up to be also sued by Jones.

I despise the BBC but that googly-eyed f***wit has done nothing but whine since he was booted out by them after they (finally) recognised he was a talentless pile of steaming shite...
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on September 04, 2007, 04:09:54 PM
I heard from a well-informed friend that Anderson said something that was in real terms unrepeatable. Apparently he questioned Jones's ability to comprehend something in a manner that was hardly inappropriate. It seems that Jones took offence as he has been well-known not to partake in such things. The fact is that what was said was perceived to be offensive, in a non-offensive way. Whether Anderson said it in the first place; whether Jones heard it or whether Nolan was listening will all be revealed in court. At this stage though it is open to question whether what was said was actually said.
Post by: ziggysego on September 04, 2007, 04:10:50 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on September 04, 2007, 04:09:54 PM
I heard from a well-informed friend that Anderson said something that was in real terms unrepeatable. Apparently he questioned Jones's ability to comprehend something in a manner that was hardly inappropriate. It seems that Jones took offence as he has been well-known not to partake in such things. The fact is that what was said was perceived to be offensive, in a non-offensive way. Whether Anderson said it in the first place; whether Jones heard it or whether Nolan was listening will all be revealed in court. At this stage though it is open to question whether what was said was actually said.

Huh?
Post by: T Fearon on September 04, 2007, 04:13:09 PM
I always thought Anderson was a smarmy little twat, not Jones, and I can well understand how offence could be taken from his utterings, even though none was probably intended.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 04, 2007, 05:29:58 PM
Can't stand either of them though you'd imagine Anderson would be a **** and Jones, hamless enough, but bloody annoying. 
Post by: Yer Ma on September 04, 2007, 10:25:39 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 04, 2007, 05:29:58 PM
Can't stand either of them though you'd imagine Anderson would be a **** and Jones, hamless enough, but bloody annoying. 

That would have been my thoughts as well.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on September 05, 2007, 09:15:49 AM
Jones is a pain in the arse. Anderson is very witty but full of himself. I wouldn't care to spend much time in eithers company.
Post by: Donagh on September 05, 2007, 11:01:36 AM
IMO opinion Gerry Anderson is the best broadcaster ever to come out of BBCNI. In fact I might even join his cruise:

http://www.thepattclub.ie/viewtrip.cfm?tripId=124
Post by: theskull1 on September 05, 2007, 11:19:41 AM
Quote from: Donagh on September 05, 2007, 11:01:36 AM
IMO opinion Gerry Anderson is the best broadcaster ever to come out of BBCNI.

By a long shot. Can understand why people think that he's full of himself though, but when you're a meer mortal you're more likely to think that about people who possess serious talent. The same could not be said about Jones who like hugo d talents appeal to the less discerning listener. Anderson is a class act

Can't believe no one has the details of what took place
Post by: red hander on September 05, 2007, 12:30:05 PM
'Can't believe no one has the details of what took place'

If you're that interested Skull, message me and I'll fill you in
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2007, 01:43:42 PM
. You don't undertand why anyone hasn't the details? How many people have nothing better to do at 10.30am each morning other than listen to inane chatter between Stephen Nolan and Gerry Anderson (who was apparently a rock musician before entering broadcasting and famously looked down upon by the Bachelors, for which he has never forgiven them)
Post by: theskull1 on September 05, 2007, 03:29:07 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2007, 01:43:42 PM
How many people have nothing better to do at 10.30am each morning other than listen to inane chatter

Well thats a bit rich coming from your good self.
Post by: Doire abĂș on September 05, 2007, 04:05:01 PM
Gerry Anderson is a brilliant presenter, as is Nolan. Jones on the other hand....
Post by: ziggysego on September 05, 2007, 04:18:14 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on September 05, 2007, 03:29:07 PM
How many people have nothing better to do at 10.30am each morning other than listen to inane chatter

Well thats a bit rich coming from your good self.

Tony's busy writing letters
Post by: stew on November 19, 2007, 09:33:15 PM

Well that clears it up rightly. :-\
Post by: ziggysego on November 19, 2007, 09:33:51 PM
So now that everything has been dealt with in the courts, what the fook was the whole thing about anyway?
Post by: ONeill on November 19, 2007, 09:49:05 PM
The suspense had been bloody killing me for 2 months. Sometimes at night I wake up in a cold sweat wondering what was said.

Surely someone somewhere heard it.
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 09:52:49 PM
Just to on the safe side ...I PM'd both of you
Post by: ONeill on November 19, 2007, 09:55:52 PM
I can see why Jones needed to address it I suppose.
Post by: theskull1 on November 19, 2007, 10:02:19 PM
Hate that we silvikrened haired fecker

I have a life to lead, so if anybody else needs to know, please PM some of the udder ones above
Post by: Orior on November 19, 2007, 10:08:02 PM
Ah someone pm me with the answer pulllllllleeeeease.
Post by: Orior on November 19, 2007, 11:46:21 PM
Hmmm, yes, plausible. But I think calling him that, would be an insult to all the real weasle nosed wankers out there.
Post by: Hardy on November 20, 2007, 09:30:00 AM
Post by: Doogie Browser on November 20, 2007, 11:00:54 AM
The Newsletter reports today that the comments were to do with the Inland Revenue and irregularities of some sort.
I cannot stand George Jones, it is well reported he was not liked at the BBC anyway, when he used to do his handover between  Duncan there was zero banter everyday, compared to the slagging that goes on with Anderdson/Dunseith and Dunseith/Duncan.
As for his shows at the Waterfront 'Do ye come here often?'  No I don't you annoying little fcuker!   
Post by: MW on November 20, 2007, 11:34:21 AM
. You don't undertand why anyone hasn't the details? How many people have nothing better to do at 10.30am each morning other than listen to inane chatter between Stephen Nolan and Gerry Anderson (who was apparently a rock musician before entering broadcasting and famously looked down upon by the Bachelors, for which he has never forgiven them)

"Good morning, caller"...
Post by: ziggysego on November 20, 2007, 03:02:01 PM
The irony is, no-one would even have noticed or known if Jones didn't kick up a fuss.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 20, 2007, 03:06:26 PM
Quote from: stew on November 19, 2007, 09:33:15 PM

Well that clears it up rightly. :-\
Feckin Told Ye'as I knew what it was about!!!
Post by: ONeill on November 20, 2007, 04:46:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on November 19, 2007, 11:46:21 PM
Hmmm, yes, plausible. But I think calling him that, would be an insult to all the real weasle nosed wankers out there.

Only codding.
Post by: Hardy on November 20, 2007, 05:53:40 PM
 :D :D
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on November 20, 2007, 06:57:59 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on November 20, 2007, 11:00:54 AM
The Newsletter reports today that the comments were to do with the Inland Revenue and irregularities of some sort.
I cannot stand George Jones, it is well reported he was not liked at the BBC anyway, when he used to do his handover between  Duncan there was zero banter everyday, compared to the slagging that goes on with Anderdson/Dunseith and Dunseith/Duncan.
As for his shows at the Waterfront 'Do ye come here often?'  No I don't you annoying little fcuker!  

Whilst not wanting in any way tostick up for the little bollox was it not the case that the 3 pm news came between that talentless little tosser from Strabane and the weasle faced dick.
Post by: Gold on November 20, 2007, 09:44:03 PM
PM me what was said too!
Post by: ONeill on November 20, 2007, 10:34:11 PM
Quote"He is clearly delighted with the outcome, because it has been an especially difficult time for him and his family."

I'm sure he is. Wasn't he the one who said he'd be in financial dire straits if he lost his BBC job?

What do people see in this balax anyway?
Post by: Orior on November 20, 2007, 11:09:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 20, 2007, 10:34:11 PM
Quote"He is clearly delighted with the outcome, because it has been an especially difficult time for him and his family."

I'm sure he is. Wasn't he the one who said he'd be in financial dire straits if he lost his BBC job?

What do people see in this balax anyway?

1. He loves his nation/country/wee country/six counties
2. He does yorkshire accents on his show

I think thats about it.
Post by: Fishbat on November 21, 2007, 03:31:59 AM
I used to think those two were one and the same when i was younger - similar Fearghal Sharkeyesque type heads back in the 80's.

But whatever he said about Jones it'll tighten him for the spud pickin

One word sums him up - no need for effing or blinding or new fangled swear words, just plain old fashioned - "Creep"
Post by: spiritof91and94 on November 21, 2007, 02:15:02 PM
Some one PM me what it was said, please.
Post by: red hander on November 21, 2007, 02:33:54 PM
'Some one PM me what it was said, please. '

Check your messages...

Post by: Balboa on November 21, 2007, 02:37:00 PM
Quote from: red hander on November 21, 2007, 02:33:54 PM
'Some one PM me what it was said, please. '

Check your messages...

Be a good lad Red Hander and PM me what he said, Cheers
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 21, 2007, 02:57:07 PM
 :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: longball on November 22, 2007, 10:52:48 PM
let me clear this up. Jones is suing anderson as gerry announced on air one day that Jones had died! jones said this was defamation of character and is claiming off him
Post by: ziggysego on November 22, 2007, 11:06:03 PM
I heard Anderson claimed that Jones was a talented Radio Personality. Naturally Jones was outraged with that and demanded an apology. He got the apology and payment due to damages because he had a lot of people offering character witness for him.
Post by: Orior on November 23, 2007, 12:06:03 AM
Would it be cruel if we all started using "a George Jones" as slang for taking a back hander?

Harte "Well Mickey, how's Jordanstown playing these days?"

Moran "We just need a point from the Tyrone match to make the semis of the McKenna"

Harte "Well if you slip me a George Jones maybe I can do something about not stealing your players"

Disclaimer - I've typed this very slowly just in case G Jones Solicitors are about (they can't read too quick). The conversation above between mssrs Harte and Moran is purely fictional - Mssrs Harte would never ever use students on his team
Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2007, 12:23:57 AM
Federer has a great George Jones.
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2007, 12:48:07 AM
If I got an unsolicted, compromising contribution, should I Jones it George?
Post by: spiritof91and94 on November 23, 2007, 08:30:22 AM
Thanks redhander for the pm.
It clears it up for me - I always thought that the case had something to do with 'back's' friend Sadie and a jones on her crutch!
Post by: longball on January 28, 2008, 10:15:34 PM
anybody else missing gerry anderson? radio so boring during the day at the min.
was looking for his book surviving in stroke city there on amazon its wile dear!  :-\ :-\
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on January 28, 2008, 10:20:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 23, 2007, 12:26:04 AM
Some of these George Jones remarks are very funny.

Could that remark be termed a 'George Jonesed compliment'