GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on August 28, 2007, 09:51:02 AM

Title: Armagh’s Dyas Headed for Oz
Post by: screenexile on August 28, 2007, 09:51:02 AM
From Irish News This Morning

By Paddy Heaney
ARMAGH'S rising star Kevin Dyas boarded a plane to Australia last night to begin a month-long trial with AFL club, Collingwood.

A representative from the
Melbourne club flew to Ireland last weekend to watch Dyas play for his club Dromintee against Crossmaglen Rangers in the Armagh
senior championship. Dyas was superb and the game ended in a draw.

Dyas will be met in Melbourne by Down's Martin Clarke who has proved to be a sensation since joining 'the Magpies'. Dyas and Clarke were opponents in last year's
MacRory Cup final. Clarke represented St Louis', Kilkeel while Dyas played for Abbey CBS.

The Dromintee lad spearheaded the Newry school to Hogan Cup glory when he scored 2-1 in the All-Ireland Colleges' final against St Pat's, Navan. Since leaving the Abbey,
Dyas began a course at the University of Ulster.

This year, he was on Jordanstown's Sigerson Cup panel, the Armagh U21 squad which won the Ulster title, and Joe Kernan's senior squad. Dyas also received an offer from
the Brisbane Lions, but Collingwood proved to be his first choice.
Title: Re: Armagh’s Dyas Headed for Oz
Post by: Bensars on August 28, 2007, 09:58:55 AM
I know Clarke made a big impression in his first game.

Any recent progress reports.
Post by: Candyman on August 28, 2007, 10:10:56 AM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=3366.0
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2007, 10:43:10 AM
Dyas will be some loss to Dromintee - and by the look of the scoreline against Cross, he'll be needed.
Post by: neutral on August 28, 2007, 10:52:00 AM
its tarra he wouldnt stay for the club replay. 
Post by: spiritof91and94 on August 28, 2007, 11:05:36 AM
Quote from: neutral on August 28, 2007, 10:52:00 AM
its tarra he wouldnt stay for the club replay. 

Crossmaglen beat Dromintee 0.10 - 0.02 on Saturday evening.
If Dyas is that good surly his team should return more than 0.02!!!!
Good job they didnt turn up to watch the replay!!!
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2007, 11:17:53 AM
Any Dromintee views on his departure ?
Post by: mackers on August 28, 2007, 12:36:33 PM
Spirit of 91 and 94, that's some sh1te to come out with!! An Riocht were really shooting the lights out in Down before Clarke left. I'm presuming you were at neither match. Dyas, for me, was the reason why Dromintee performed so well the first day as he basically run the 2nd half along with O'Neill.  Cross kept him quiet in the replay sure but it's expecting a lot from a 19/20 year old to dominate two games in a row against the best club team in Ireland. Can't comment on how Dromintee are going to miss him but there's little doubt that he was going to have a major impact on the county set-up before long. That said, good luck to the lad, and similar to Martin Clarke I hope he comes back to show off his talents in Ireland before long.
Post by: the milkman on August 28, 2007, 08:01:21 PM
i think he will get on fine over there, im sure marty clarke will look after him and give him all the advice he needs and help him get used to things over there! sad to see great players leave but who can blame them?

Should the gaa start to pay players in order stop them leaving?
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 28, 2007, 08:06:44 PM
QuoteShould the gaa start to pay players in order stop them leaving?
The GAA can't pay players.
Post by: heganboy on August 28, 2007, 08:10:07 PM
QuoteThe GAA can't pay players.

The man makes a good point
Post by: Uladh on August 28, 2007, 10:18:18 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 28, 2007, 09:54:43 PM
What's your view?

You should catch a grip o yourself.
Post by: redandblackjack on August 28, 2007, 10:27:49 PM
Quote from: Uladh on August 28, 2007, 10:18:18 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 28, 2007, 09:54:43 PM
What's your view?

You should catch a grip o yourself.

:D :D :D
Post by: ONeill on August 28, 2007, 11:01:07 PM
Great losses to Down and now Armagh. The best players in the 2005 and 2006 MacRory Cups have left the sport.
Post by: stew on August 28, 2007, 11:22:24 PM
has dyas actually signed professional forms yet????
Post by: orangeman on August 29, 2007, 10:30:15 AM
The gaa / club should be compensated ( especially the club ) for the loss of such a player.If he were from a soccer club they'd get compensated.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on August 30, 2007, 09:31:23 AM
i dont think hell stay
Post by: Aghdavoyle on August 30, 2007, 10:43:23 AM

Kevin will be a huge loss to the club and armagh by extension, but of course he goes with all of our best wishes. the bigger picture is that one of your own could make it in professional sport and dromintee would be delighted to have played some small part in his development if he does. Kevin has two contracts in front of him but has gone for a month to collingwood to see if he likes it and to help him make his decision.
Post by: orangeman on August 30, 2007, 10:51:26 AM
I listened to his interview y'day and by the sounds of things. he ain't coming back !!
Post by: Aghdavoyle on August 30, 2007, 10:56:35 AM

We don't expect him back except to pack they rest of his things and for a good sendoff!
Post by: orangeman on August 30, 2007, 01:21:46 PM
Aghdavloyle - are the club members happy that he is getting a chance in the AFL ? Were there any attempts to retain his services by offering him a job locally or anything like that ?
Post by: plain man on August 31, 2007, 02:39:36 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 30, 2007, 01:21:46 PM
Aghdavloyle - are the club members happy that he is getting a chance in the AFL ? Were there any attempts to retain his services by offering him a job locally or anything like that ?

Kevin would have no bother getting any type of job either thru Dromintee or off his own back, I don't think its about the money, but if he makes it he has a chance of getting at least 100,000 stg. The guy obviously wants to be a fulltime sportsman, in a professional environment. He obviously sick of training 3 or 4 times a week with maybe 2 or 3 matches a week and having to study/work in between (plus a drink ban for a good part of the year).

He'll now be able to train up to 4 time a day, and have coaches/trainers/mentors for every aspect of the game.

Dromintee just can't even come close to any of that....
Post by: stephenite on August 31, 2007, 02:44:20 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 29, 2007, 10:30:15 AM
The gaa / club should be compensated ( especially the club ) for the loss of such a player.If he were from a soccer club they'd get compensated.

Are you a member of the GPA? Do you want pay for play?

If not, stop talking shite. Nobody owns these players so nobody has to pay for them, it's a simple enough concept
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2007, 11:28:50 AM
Noody owns them - yuo're right - but the AFL are just stepping in and taking way the best athletes we have  - you don't have any problem with that ?

The club that these people come from have devoted a lot of time and energy towards their development and the AFL scouts come and lift them.

With respect Stephenite, it's not shite to use your own well chosen and very choice expression.
Post by: corn02 on August 31, 2007, 02:25:54 PM
Some crazy comments on here about him not wanting to train/drink ban and he is only getting a trail because Marty Clarke recommended him.

I think it is a great chance, show me any young player who could turn down a chance of Proffesional Sport in a Country like Australia and I will show you a fool. Kevin himself knows he is just on trial and knows he has not signed anything. In a months time he may not like it or they may not want him back. Knowing Kevin he will probably walk his way into the team.

Best of luck!
Post by: orangeman on August 31, 2007, 02:40:26 PM
Corn 02 - He must be some player ! Good luck to him by the way  -my irk is not with the players but with AFL who can just come in and walk away with Ireland's most talented and leave NOTHING behind.
Post by: corn02 on August 31, 2007, 03:00:43 PM
Totally agree Orangeman it is a situation which has to be looked at high up in the GAA.
Post by: zoyler on August 31, 2007, 03:28:17 PM
As I said earlier - the reason the GAA will support restarting IR games is to have some formal contact with the AFL in an effort to exert some control/regulation on the movement of young players to OZ.  While at the moment its all big clubs with proper training regimes etc. and career development outside sport for those who want/need it, all pro sport is prone to con men and shysters so young lads need protection through proper structures
Post by: hitzelsperger on September 01, 2007, 10:12:24 AM
cannot blame any lad for heading away, even if they dont succeed the experience of new training techniques and how to live as a pro cvan only benefit them for when they return to ireland!
Post by: orangeman on September 01, 2007, 10:24:46 AM
Yep - good luck to him - feel sorry for ther cllub who is losing such an obvious talent.
Post by: Spiritof98 on September 01, 2007, 11:13:59 AM
With the International rules still in place the Gaa had a bargaining tool to use with the AFL as regarding limiting recruitment of young players. Now that the GAA cut the series the AFL has said f**k ye boys, we're taking the cream of crop and theres not single thing you can do about it.

Its a sad situation in my eyes, Martin Clarke and Kevin no doubt would have been 10 year county players and served up some tremendous battles. But if im honest, if I was in the same situation I would do the exact same thing. Good luck to Kevin from all at the Harps.
Post by: Aerlik on September 02, 2007, 03:53:29 PM
Fremantle are in the hunt for a lump of a fella with speed to help strengthen the midfield so if any of you can think of recommending anyone, let's know.  I'll drop a line to them. ;)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on September 02, 2007, 05:06:33 PM
i think Aerlik is a fremantle scout on here reading up on our best young players,
quick admin close the Derry/Laois MFC Thread!!!

>:(  ;)  :D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 02, 2007, 06:11:04 PM
Would there be an arguement if the current trend continues that if a county had a really good underage player that they didnt want to lose that one course of action would be not to pick for county at under age level? This would ensure that the player wouldnt get the same exposure and is less likely to be spotted at a yong age by the scouts. The older the player gets the less chance there is of an aussie club taking a chance on him.
Post by: dublinfella on September 02, 2007, 06:29:28 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 31, 2007, 11:28:50 AM
Noody owns them - yuo're right - but the AFL are just stepping in and taking way the best athletes we have  - you don't have any problem with that ?

The club that these people come from have devoted a lot of time and energy towards their development and the AFL scouts come and lift them.

With respect Stephenite, it's not shite to use your own well chosen and very choice expression.

I never understand the attitude that would begrudge a youngfella the chance to make a great deal of money as a professional athlete in any sport. What possible right do you have to tell him he cannot move abroad and try his luck?

Post by: Tubberman on September 02, 2007, 06:30:09 PM
QuoteWould there be an arguement if the current trend continues that if a county had a really good underage player that they didnt want to lose that one course of action would be not to pick for county at under age level? This would ensure that the player wouldnt get the same exposure and is less likely to be spotted at a yong age by the scouts. The older the player gets the less chance there is of an aussie club taking a chance on him.

That idea just has so many things wrong with it I don't know where to start!
Seriously, how could that possibly be a good approach?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 02, 2007, 06:32:43 PM
I didnt say it was a good idea!
Post by: dublinfella on September 02, 2007, 07:00:55 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on September 02, 2007, 06:30:09 PM
QuoteWould there be an arguement if the current trend continues that if a county had a really good underage player that they didnt want to lose that one course of action would be not to pick for county at under age level? This would ensure that the player wouldnt get the same exposure and is less likely to be spotted at a yong age by the scouts. The older the player gets the less chance there is of an aussie club taking a chance on him.

That idea just has so many things wrong with it I don't know where to start!
Seriously, how could that possibly be a good approach?

i think whathe is trying to get at, is that it may become in the interest of clubs to 'play down' their stars in order to keep them. i can see the logic, but never going to happen
Post by: stephenite on September 03, 2007, 07:07:22 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 31, 2007, 11:28:50 AM

It is shite, also with respect. And I do have a problem with it, but the fact remains that nobody can ask for payment for something they don't own.

The question is what is the lesser evil? Compensation in the form of payment which will lead to, at the very least, some form of professionalism in the GAA or just let the young lads go.

Demanding payments now for lads like Dyas is a waste of time
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 28, 2007, 09:05:07 AM
Dyas is offered an AFL contract 

Kevin Dyas was part of Armagh's winning Under-21 squad
Young Armagh star Kevin Dyas looks set to switch codes after a successful four-week trial with Australian Rules side Collingwood.
Dyas has been offered a two-year contract with the Melbourne-based side and will link up with Down's Martin Clarke who is making waves Down Under.

The 19-year-old Dromintee player was impressed by the Collingwood set-up.

"They are very professional, a team that takes it seriously, and with a very professional game plan."

Dyas is expected to sit down with his family over the weekend to discuss the possibility of a move Down Under.

"I'm going to talk it out with my family and make a decision in the next week or two," said Dyas.

"It's a massive decision, and I don't want to rush into anything.

"I would be going out to give it my best shot, there would be no point wasting my time."

Clarke, who moved to Collingwood last year, has been a revelation since he was elevated into Magpies senior squad.

"He has been very impressive, and is playing really well," said Dyas.

"He was one of the best players when I was there."

Post by: stiffler on September 28, 2007, 10:27:16 AM
hope the lad makes it over there, seems to have the right attitude and determination from the off.
Post by: corn02 on September 28, 2007, 12:30:23 PM
Don't think anything is decided yet but best of luck to him if he goes.
Post by: kinghen on September 28, 2007, 12:39:21 PM
according to marty clarke, he told me that dyas has impressed all the right people over there and that the decision is basically in his hands now! i cant see him turnin it down especially with the success of marty, it would be a different story if marty wasnt doin so well! good luck to the lad!
Post by: orangeman on September 28, 2007, 12:54:58 PM
Fair play to Dyas - there's no decision to be made here - he'll be in Australia till he or they decide otherwise.