GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Main Street on August 26, 2007, 05:39:29 PM

Title: Derry Laois AI Minor SF
Post by: Main Street on August 26, 2007, 05:39:29 PM
A shame that tens of thousands of ticket holders did not take their seats for this game and provide that extra athmosphere that these teams deserved.
A thoroughly entertaining flowing game with some outstanding skills. It reached a climax with a class goal by a class player, Laois nr 7 Zack?. Well done to Laois for getting the replay.

Title: Re: Derry Laois AI Minor SF
Post by: SuperSub on August 26, 2007, 05:59:51 PM
Twas some goal by Zac Touhy alright without a doubt goal of year in any level
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 26, 2007, 06:03:51 PM
Derry the better team, but allowed their thoughts to wander to the final against Galway, and paid the price. Great Laois 2nd goal though.
Post by: orangeman on August 26, 2007, 08:19:36 PM
Derry were lucky to get a draw in the end !
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 26, 2007, 08:37:42 PM
Derry seemed to switch off at the end when they had a 5 point lead heading into injury time. Thought they were the better team overall but might end up regretting taking their foot off the gas.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 26, 2007, 08:44:02 PM
Delighted to get the draw as I know that Laois minor team is far better than they showed today...
Everyone is always talking about Kingston and Meridith being stars of the future which im sure they will but i think Zach Touhy is going to be the real star for Laois in years to come
Post by: cavanmaniac on August 26, 2007, 08:45:48 PM
This was a smashing game. Some of the high fielding was brilliant, especially the Laois no. 9 O'Loughlin and the big 15 who got the equaliser. A good few Derry lads plucked a few high ones down as well. Laois 15 showed some strength to get through for that last score.

The goal from Tuohy was something else.

Derry way better team in first half and responded well to Laois in second and looked to have seen them off until they took the eye off the ball in the last 10. Derry no. 8 Kielt is a smashing young player even if he was kept very quiet in the second half, saw him in Ulster a few times this year and every time he's excellent.

Derry and Laois are fair counties for churning out the underage sides, good work being done there obviously.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 26, 2007, 08:49:11 PM
QuoteDerry and Laois are fair counties for churning out the underage sides, good work being done there obviously.

Will it ever transfer to our senior team though :-\
Post by: Main Street on August 26, 2007, 08:58:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 26, 2007, 08:44:02 PM
Everyone is always talking about Kingston and Meridith being stars of the future which im sure they will but i think Zach Touhy is going to be the real star for Laois in years to come
If he keeps it up then the chances are very good, he a talented footballer as well as a free kick specialist. He more than anyone else refused to give up the ghost, he was everywhere on the pitch in the last 10 - 15 minutes winning the ball.
Post by: Bud Wiser on August 26, 2007, 09:31:06 PM
Did anyone notice the ref at the start of the second half. First he did a little toe to hand with the ball and then in the same flowing movement he threw the ball in. After it broke and a player was heading up the field with it he blew the whistle for the throw in waving for them to play on !

Great game. Pity nobody came out to watch it.
Post by: Pangurban on August 26, 2007, 09:56:47 PM
This game was a real treat, glad it ended in a draw, want to see more of these two excellent teams
Post by: johnpower on August 26, 2007, 10:32:44 PM
Zacs the man . Loais lucky to have another day out . The Derry Fullback is some player
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2007, 01:18:38 AM
Quote from: johnpower on August 26, 2007, 10:32:44 PM
Zacs the man . Loais lucky to have another day out . The Derry Fullback is some player

Yeah Zach is a great player isn't he.Laois were lucky but we were 1-15 to 1-07 down with 6 mins to go and ended up drawing so credit where credit is due
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2007, 10:07:41 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 26, 2007, 06:03:51 PM
Derry the better team, but allowed their thoughts to wander to the final against Galway, and paid the price. Great Laois 2nd goal though.
thought Laois were the better side, but they refused to take their points and tried running the ball into the net - prob because they were on average far bigger than the derry players.

Entertaining, and frustrating that Derry gave up such a huge lead. A strong wind meant that Derry in the first half could notch up some easy scores. Laois should have done likewise in the second.

Derry could still win this, but the bigger side Laois would be my favourites to win the replay.
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 10:43:36 AM
I thought Derry's forwards were outstanding y'day - a team for the future no doubt.
Post by: Main Street on August 27, 2007, 10:54:02 AM
Yer man McGeehan carries a fair few pounds of extra flesh on him. I smiled when the TV camera zoomed in on the sight of his love cheeks for about 10 seconds after he took off his shirt at the end of the game.
Post by: neutral on August 27, 2007, 10:56:06 AM
Holy ghost what names: Kingston Meridith and Zachariah may well be giving the Derry management sleepless nights before the replay.  How do ye spell them never mind mark them? 
Post by: Billys Boots on August 27, 2007, 11:03:25 AM
Quotethought Laois were the better side, but they refused to take their points and tried running the ball into the net - prob because they were on average far bigger than the derry players.

I thought Laois were better too Lynchbhoy, but Derry played them well in the first half - Laois missed a lot of their chances too.  Some comeback in fairness, especially when they'd been playing so badly to that point.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2007, 11:19:23 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 27, 2007, 11:03:25 AM
Quotethought Laois were the better side, but they refused to take their points and tried running the ball into the net - prob because they were on average far bigger than the derry players.

I thought Laois were better too Lynchbhoy, but Derry played them well in the first half - Laois missed a lot of their chances too.  Some comeback in fairness, especially when they'd been playing so badly to that point.
Laois were not even trying to take points when they were within easy scoring range- assisted by a strong enough breeze.
If they did, Derry would have not drawn the game. It would have been Laois by 5 or 6.

Some fantastic high fielding by both sides.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2007, 02:13:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 27, 2007, 10:07:41 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 26, 2007, 06:03:51 PM
thought Laois were the better side, but they refused to take their points and tried running the ball into the net - prob because they were on average far bigger than the derry players.

Entertaining, and frustrating that Derry gave up such a huge lead. A strong wind meant that Derry in the first half could notch up some easy scores. Laois should have done likewise in the second.

Derry could still win this, but the bigger side Laois would be my favourites to win the replay.

Now there is something you don't see to often :o
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 27, 2007, 02:22:36 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 26, 2007, 08:44:02 PMDelighted to get the draw as I know that Laois minor team is far better than they showed today...

Is Meridith the no.10 who was blustering with the big red head in the pre match huddle? Missed some chances, doubt he'll have as poor a game the next day. Strange your county is in a minor semi and u on here with that stupid avatar  ???

Some goal from Zach, reminded me of Karl Mannions for St. Brigids last year for timing and importance, never mind finish. O'Loughlin and Kingston will be some edition to the senior side but they've got an AI Minor Final to win first (yes, they'll beat Derry in the replay).
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2007, 02:40:33 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 27, 2007, 02:22:36 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 26, 2007, 08:44:02 PMDelighted to get the draw as I know that Laois minor team is far better than they showed today...

Is Meridith the no.10 who was blustering with the big red head in the pre match huddle? Missed some chances, doubt he'll have as poor a game the next day. Strange your county is in a minor semi and u on here with that stupid avatar   ???

Some goal from Zach, reminded me of Karl Mannions for St. Brigids last year for timing and importance, never mind finish. O'Loughlin and Kingston will be some edition to the senior side but they've got an AI Minor Final to win first (yes, they'll beat Derry in the replay).

Get over it,and worry yourself about lifes real issues ::)
Post by: screenexile on August 27, 2007, 02:42:26 PM
I'm confused... are you from Liverpool and support Laois, or the other way around... u really should change that avatar lad it's trés confusing for the rest of us... ;) ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2007, 02:48:37 PM
QuoteO'Loughlin and Kingston will be some edition to the senior side

They won't be if the AFL get their way,they are being earmarked for Aussie Rules along with Meridith
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 02:49:04 PM
That was some second goal for Laois - was just thinking those leeches from Australia will be knocking on Laois doors shortly - they seem to have some players who will fit their bill.
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 02:50:17 PM
Oops - the Aussies seem to be ahead of the pack - jesus lads I hope Laois can hold on to them - it would be horrible for Laois and their respective clubs to lose them.
Post by: Jinxy on August 27, 2007, 03:40:54 PM
I was watching Kingston yesterday thinking to myself "Somewhere there is an AFL scout watching this hoping to God no one else in Oz is." An absolute horse of a man with skill and pace and a great pair of hands. It'd be terrible to see him go, but if he did I'd imagine he would do very well.
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 04:46:58 PM
Is there any way clubs could be compensated for the "loss" of their player - if there a fee say £ 100k it would make the Aussies think tiwice - or would it ?
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 27, 2007, 10:50:41 PM
The game is being replayed on Setanta tomorrow night at half 8. Big night on the piss Sat nite so was in bed by the time The Sunday Game started and missed the highlights.

As everybody has already said, what a comeback that was. Reminded me of Offaly/Limerick in '94 for the sheer drama and probably even topped it. Robbie Kehoe is some gem of a player, he took an awful knock right in front of us at the end of the first half but got back up and played even better in the second. Latest in a long line of great O'Ds players to line out for Laois, just like the blondey fella on the sideline  ;)

Rest of defence did their best but Derry cut through too easily. O'Loughlin was very tightly marked but kept ploughing away. Kingston has amazing ability with the ball in his hand and is easily one of the most stylish/athletic players I've ever seen. Let's hope he picks Barrowhouse over Brisbane!

Well done to Tuohy for a VITAL contribution -- all 7 points of it. What a goal. Brian Carthy reporting on Radio 1 on he way home said it was the best goal he's EVER seen at Croke Park. Talks a lot of shite at times does Brian but it's definitely up there.

Roll on the replay, can't get enough of seeing this team. Saw both squads at their buses after the senior game finished and the difference in body language told a tale. The finish has to give us an advantage but they do need to knuckle down and plug the holes in defence for the next day.
Post by: The Forfeit Point on August 27, 2007, 10:58:01 PM
kingston is some player alright, i heard hes a carlow native though??
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 27, 2007, 11:13:06 PM
Replay in Navan saturday evening
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:39:36 PM
Laoislad - are the Aussies looking for Kingston etc ?
Post by: Jinxy on August 28, 2007, 12:00:24 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 27, 2007, 11:45:34 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:39:36 PM
Laoislad - are the Aussies looking for Kingston etc ?
Why is everyone talking about this? He's a strong lad but is limited in terms of mobility. There have been a lot better footballers that haven't had the Aussie thing surrounding them. Even in this year's minor championship, Tyrone, Galway, Kerry and Derry have had better all round footballers. Keilt from Derry would be a better signing for the Aussies. I also thought Aidan Heron was class yesterday.

Are you serious? At one stage in the 2nd half he gave a lad half his side a 5 yard head start and went past to him to win a ball out by the cusack sideline. He is an obvious candidate for centre half forward or full forward in aussie rules. Lads his size with his skills don't grow on trees you know. The Derry backs didn't know what to do with him in the 2nd half.
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2007, 12:09:46 AM
Mc Geehan is certainly well built and can play a bit as well.
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 28, 2007, 07:51:50 AM
Quote from: The Forfeit Point on August 27, 2007, 10:58:01 PM
kingston is some player alright, i heard hes a carlow native though??

Lies! Yeah he was brought up on the wrong side of the border alright but his father's a Laois man and it's said he only ever wanted to play for the good side.

Navan 6pm Saturday. Slightly handier for the Laois contingent I'd think.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 28, 2007, 09:13:03 AM
Isn't Kingston pretty young yet? Minor again next year?
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 28, 2007, 09:39:28 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 28, 2007, 09:13:03 AM
Isn't Kingston pretty young yet? Minor again next year?

Yeah only turns (turned?) 17 this year. Lots of time yet for the Aussie vultures to swoop
Post by: the procastenator on August 28, 2007, 09:49:31 PM
i  hear mc geehan is geffory mc gonigles brother
Post by: southderry on August 28, 2007, 11:23:52 PM
What are the Laois peoples thoughts on the replay. I expect it will go down to the wire again. Laois should have learned from the last day and Derry need to produce another performance like the one in the 1st half. cant understand why the game is in navan.Absolute disgrace.
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 29, 2007, 12:01:14 AM
Should be very close again. As people have pointed out on this board before (and Darragh O'Cinnéide mentioned the same point on the Sunday Game), with Minors you just never know. My hopes are that we learned a lesson from it and that the players who didn't perform will have a better day out next time.

But these are two good teams and should be worth seeing again. BTW Cavan is probably nearer to the GAA heartlands of south Derry than it is to north/east Laois so Navan is probably the best compromise.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 29, 2007, 12:08:45 AM
Replay should be in Portlaoise in my opinion ;)  Only joking
Hope Laois can show what they are capable of saturday as they are far better than they showed on  sunday...We have being saying since 1996 now that our minors are gonna make a great team when they hit senior and we are still waiting but i think this minor team is different and coupled with our U/21's i really believe we have the makings of a great Senior team..Thats if the Aussies don't rob them all on us >:(
Post by: Louth Exile on September 01, 2007, 05:19:28 PM
Glad its on in Navan myself, I think I'll tip up the town and watch it myself
Post by: HowdyDoody on September 01, 2007, 07:01:58 PM
Any Scores
Post by: ONeill on September 01, 2007, 07:08:54 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 01, 2007, 07:06:25 PM
Coilin is a big feckin eejit.

Going by his list of scorers in the IN on a Monday, accuracy wouldn't be a strong point.....
Post by: The Forfeit Point on September 01, 2007, 07:20:25 PM
^^^^^
final score is it?
Post by: The Forfeit Point on September 01, 2007, 07:27:16 PM
cheers drici (for letting me knpw the winner anyway ;)), out of the country at the moment hope to be back home for the hurling tomorrow
Post by: jodyb on September 01, 2007, 09:19:17 PM
Just back. Fantastic result!! Flittery skittery goals and fantastic goals, but they all count. Cuda had a couple more too!! Not a wil' pretty game and a lot tighter than the score suggests. Hard hitting all the way. When we hadn't scored in 15 mins of the second half and Laois had put over a succession of scores, I thought we were gonna blow it again, but up stepped Aidan Heron for his 2nd goal and Derry's 4th. Laois to be fair to them never lay down , scoring one themselves about, but Derry's tails were up and they tacked on 2 or 3 crucias points at that stage.

I didn't see the kick that young Lillis was supposed to have thrown (red card) although I was close to it, but Frank Flynn in general had a negative effect on the game. He was fussy, picky and made some bewildering decisions for both sides. In saying that, I think all of Derry's scores bar one was from play, while Laois had at least 5 from frees.

The second sending off was a bit more clear cut, 2 yellows and a tick and he had given plenty in addition.

I couldn't decide on a man of the match, there were so many lads stepped up. Possibly Aidan Heron, but I could list 7 or 8 names. Only negative i thought was, apart from an otherwise solid performance, that Kielt took the wrong option for several frees about 50 metres out in 3rd qtr, when we really needed a score. Additionally, they probably did a fair bit of time wasting towards the end, but they're not the first ones ever to do that.

Anyway, fantastic result, delighted!! Now begins the hunt for that elusive AI Ticket.
Post by: Louth Exile on September 01, 2007, 10:21:52 PM
Quote from: jodyb on September 01, 2007, 09:19:17 PM
Just back. Fantastic result!! Flittery skittery goals and fantastic goals, but they all count. Cuda had a couple more too!! Not a wil' pretty game and a lot tighter than the score suggests. Hard hitting all the way. When we hadn't scored in 15 mins of the second half and Laois had put over a succession of scores, I thought we were gonna blow it again, but up stepped Aidan Heron for his 2nd goal and Derry's 4th. Laois to be fair to them never lay down , scoring one themselves about, but Derry's tails were up and they tacked on 2 or 3 crucias points at that stage.

I didn't see the kick that young Lillis was supposed to have thrown (red card) although I was close to it, but Frank Flynn in general had a negative effect on the game. He was fussy, picky and made some bewildering decisions for both sides. In saying that, I think all of Derry's scores bar one was from play, while Laois had at least 5 from frees.

The second sending off was a bit more clear cut, 2 yellows and a tick and he had given plenty in addition.

I couldn't decide on a man of the match, there were so many lads stepped up. Possibly Aidan Heron, but I could list 7 or 8 names. Only negative i thought was, apart from an otherwise solid performance, that Kielt took the wrong option for several frees about 50 metres out in 3rd qtr, when we really needed a score. Additionally, they probably did a fair bit of time wasting towards the end, but they're not the first ones ever to do that.

Anyway, fantastic result, delighted!! Now begins the hunt for that elusive AI Ticket.

I agree with a  lot of what you say. Very entertaining game, was actually surprised at just how much niggle there was in it. The old saying that goals win games was never more true. Derry pumped in a lot of long ball which the Laois full back line frequently couldn't deal with it and goals came. The second goal in particular will give members of the Laois team nightmares, keeper didn't deal with it and then corner back had a chance to clear from the line and instead of pulling on it he picked it up and was bundled over the line by one of the Derry forwards (other than that he did a lot of good work)

The ref was desperate, wanted to be at the centre of the game as all poor refs do, frequently slowed up play when he should have let it flow. I personally thought that in the first ten minutes the second half he did Laois no favours, denied them what looked like a legitimate penalty claim. I was also near the sending off incident and I have to admit I didn't see any kick!! (there may have been, but nobody around me saw it) In this period he seemed to give most decisions against Laois and despite this they clawed there way back into the game.

Although Laois battled all the way and their supporters gave them some backing the fourth goal in the 15 minute followed by three points shortly after this effectively made the mountain to big to climb, they were down to 14 men playing against the wind and 8 points down. They did keep fighting but there was too much to do.

Derry overall probably did deserve the victory, but as mentioned in the previous post they persistenly tried to kick frees from around 50 yards over the bar and this just resulted in a succesion of wides. Also on the counterattack Derry had plenty of space and men over given that Laois were chasing the game and again frequently choose the wrong options. They will need a bit more composure in front of goal if they are to win the final.
Post by: ziggysego on September 01, 2007, 10:24:16 PM
Congratulations to Derry. Delighted that youse have made it to the All-Ireland Final. I only hope that youses go on to win it now. Deserved nothing less, especially after the unfair result in the Ulster Final and that's coming from a Tyrone man.
Post by: onlyonefut on September 01, 2007, 10:39:15 PM
Great result for Derry; just did enough to keep ahead. Agree with the last posters that Derry will need to sort out their free kicks as in the second half they wasted chance after chance with the attempted scores from long free kicks.
Saw the sending off offence; it was a kick on a Derry player who was on the ground. Mind you the Derry player was lucky to escape the referees attention as he clipped his opponents ankles as he went to ground. A few unsavory incidents with Laois officials/supporters manhandling the referee at the end of first half with the referee needing a Garda escort off the pitch.
Three of these Derry players have a championship match on Monday; have the Derry County Board no ambition.
Best of luck to Derry in the final from another Tyrone man.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on September 01, 2007, 10:42:58 PM
Great game and Derry are a very good team,and deserved their win,I wish them all the best in the Final
Post by: we are blue... etc on September 02, 2007, 12:06:18 AM
Disappointing for our lads. Everybody's talking about the referee, exactly how bad was he?
Post by: Jimbobjnr on September 02, 2007, 02:50:07 AM
i was at the match and agree with alot of what has been said, basically derry's goals were the difference in a tight encounter. i was close to the first sending off and the laois player clearly kicked our no.12 declan mullan in retaliation to a little trip. The referee had no choice in both of the red card incidents.

I thought derry just about deserved to win the game and it should make for a good final with Galway. both semi finals have been highly entertaining. i havent seen much of galway this year, any players to look out for?
Post by: bailestil on September 02, 2007, 03:06:40 AM
I don't think its fair to blame to ref. Laois tried to stir it up, they didn't need too. Derry's obsession with defending leads continues. Again i think mullan is derry's finest player. Kielt has much more potential than he shows, i feel He'll save his big game for the last. Roll on all ireland final!
Post by: bailestil on September 02, 2007, 03:23:44 AM
Regie was excellent again. In and out of the half and full forward lines he caused them lots of bother. He made a complete balls of a last minute 1on1 with the keeper but he had proved his worth throughout the game. It was him who hit the shoulder to cause the goal from what i remember. He had a great game.
Post by: down22 on September 02, 2007, 03:41:30 AM
Great game of football with derry doing (just) about enough to shade it. I thought the ref had a decent enough game. Sure he was fussy but that was one brutal match to referee. And at the end of the day it was Derry's 4 goals that made the difference. Bad luck to Laois though, they played some nice football.

Post by: magpie seanie on September 02, 2007, 05:47:52 AM
Coilin? He doesn't post here any more does he?
Post by: bailestil on September 02, 2007, 01:20:01 PM
haven't seen him post in ages.

Fully blown hack these days, can't be seen on here.

No GAA Journalist would ever use this board as basis for an article ;) :P
Post by: orangeman on September 02, 2007, 08:27:06 PM
Well done to Derry, Niall Conway and all the Ballinderry lads  - good luck in the final.
Post by: Orior on September 02, 2007, 09:56:17 PM
Congrats Derry hi and good luck in the final. Good to see Steelstown well represented - I like to see more GAA in the city.
Post by: fer fox ache on September 02, 2007, 10:36:42 PM
Baile Stil I have to say that I was highly impressed with wee forrester, outsanding throughout. As for the ref I he was crap but I don't know what Laois thought they were at Kieran Farrell should have been sent off in the first half for a clip on Bell. Their county chairman lost the plot and went for the ref at the break. The first sending off of Lillis was just plain stupid a daft kick right in front of the ref. laois seemed far to intent on third man tackles lates hits and dropping the elbow throughout, their management seemed to have them far too wound up. The second sending off was a second yellow card and probably the result of frustration but the game was lost by that stage and the Loais discipline had completely gone. If Laois had focused more on the ball I think they could well have won the game.
Post by: bailestil on September 02, 2007, 11:25:00 PM
Aye Laois were so fired up they could hardly play any football. The midfieldes who got sent off was ready to tear strips off the ref at the end of the game. As for wee forester. He is a flying machine and for guy his size he has a mighty leap. It would be your worst nightmare running after him for an hour!
Post by: fer fox ache on September 03, 2007, 12:04:21 AM
Aye, I was part of the management for our under 16s last year and he ran us ragged. If lads 20 years younger than me couldn't keep up with him I wouldn't fancy it. By the way what's crack with Emmett Green, I heard he's packed it in altogether, if so he's a massive loss for ye
Post by: bailestil on September 03, 2007, 08:07:33 AM
Dunno about packing it all in. He has had a bad run of it since breaking his leg. Hard not to think he would be one of derry minors best players if he was still there. He's a big loss for them. I'm sure It'll be hard watching them doing so well... But i'm sure He'll be back.
Post by: screenexile on September 03, 2007, 11:14:18 AM
Well done to Derry and the Screen lads in particular... great to see a good representation from our club and indeed their can be no complaints about the managements biased selection as there is a wide range of players from Senior to junior clubs both North and South Derry.

I think I might make the trip down to headquarters now for the final and I'd be fairly optimistic of us against Galway but it should also be a very entertaining game. Doire abú!
Post by: Will Hunting on September 03, 2007, 12:14:56 PM
Have to say it's one of the strangest matches I've been to in a while. There was a lot of niggle and tension, certainly not what you would usually expect from a minor game (very different in this sense to the drawn game), and Derry were able to win by basically scoring goals.

Derry were lucky enough to come out with a win I thought, especially when you consider that they really only played well for about 10 mins in the first half, and 5 mins in the 2nd half. A couple of the goals were lucky too (2nd and 3rd goals came from direct mistakes by the Laois defence). But Derry did the important things well i.e. get their noses in front, and more importantly, hold on to the lead. Although when Laois got back to within 4 points in the 2nd half I feared the worst. However, it was then that Heron broke away to score Derry's 4th and decisive goal.

Laois lost the run of themselves in the 2nd half. They must have got so worked up at half-time that their discipline just went. The ball stayed in the one area of the field for about 5 mins at one stage with the ref awarding free after free followed by a few hop-balls. It was at this stage that the first Laois man saw red. I saw the incident, he swiped the foot at Declan Mullan, nothing particularly malicious i thought, but the ref had no choice.

About the referee. It was the same guy that ruined the Derry Monaghan senior game earlier this year. He applies the rules to the absolute letter of the law, and creates problems for himself as he is incapable of blowing for a free without showing someone the black book. Laois tried to be too physical throughout the game though and it definitely worked to their disadvantage.

Derry will need a lot of improvement on this performance, but they continually looked like threatening up front. McGeehan is a handful, he's a very clever player that can find good positions for himself. The movement of the Derry forwards is excellent (at their best in the first half of the first game v Laois). Forrester is an excellent player, he's a great man to win loose possession, and isn't afraid to go in where it hurts (he took one particularly bad knock after fielding a great ball). Heron was impressive in the half-forwards, and Kielt may not have had his best game, but took a couple of important catches in the 2nd half.

All in all, Derry have learnt a lot about themselves over the past week, and I think this puts them in a great position going into the All-Ireland Final.