Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: magickingdom on August 25, 2007, 02:36:10 PM

Title: 100 Metre Final
Post by: magickingdom on August 25, 2007, 02:36:10 PM
If ye got 10 seconds to spare tomorrow at 14.20 dont miss this. tyson gay v asafa powell, two of the fastest men to ever live...
Title: Re: 100 Metre Final
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 02:44:52 PM
more like my drugs are better than your drugs kind of race
Post by: Barney on August 25, 2007, 02:45:04 PM
Great I've a splitting hangover and need panadol. These two lads can run down to the chemist for me and should know where to find it
Post by: Square Ball on August 25, 2007, 02:46:34 PM
why is everyone so sceptical?
Post by: nashville on August 25, 2007, 02:48:32 PM
100 metre final.... thats GAY..
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 02:49:30 PM
Quotewhy is everyone so sceptical?

Victor Conte and the Bay Area Laboratory Co-Operative
Post by: Square Ball on August 25, 2007, 02:51:23 PM
where any of these two clients of his?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 02:59:36 PM
Quotewhere any of these two clients of his?

Don't know don't care, athletics has a long way to go before it will interest me again....
Post by: SuperSub on August 25, 2007, 03:02:14 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 02:59:36 PM
Quotewhere any of these two clients of his?

Don't know don't care, athletics has a long way to go before it will interest me again....

Im sure the World of Athletics will be in mourning for the loss of your support ::)
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 03:11:31 PM
QuoteIm sure the World of Athletics will be in mourning for the loss of your support Roll Eyes

Think about that, Athletics needs sponsors, sponsors need punters to advertise to, I am a punter, a Joe soap with a high disposable income, sponsors would love me and my ilk to be interested in Athletics. However it is a tainted sport and until it cleans up and stays clean for a sustained period I'd have, and I'm sure the majority are like me as well, no interest,this is my opinion which you asked for by the way

So roll your eyes all you want but your being naive if you ask me...
Post by: Cloc Mor on August 25, 2007, 03:33:31 PM
Powell 'dandered' to a 10.01 time.  Gay had to work to get 10.06.  Should be a cracker
Post by: SuperSub on August 25, 2007, 03:48:03 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 03:11:31 PM
QuoteIm sure the World of Athletics will be in mourning for the loss of your support Roll Eyes

Think about that, Athletics needs sponsors, sponsors need punters to advertise to, I am a punter, a Joe soap with a high disposable income, sponsors would love me and my ilk to be interested in Athletics. However it is a tainted sport and until it cleans up and stays clean for a sustained period I'd have, and I'm sure the majority are like me as well, no interest,this is my opinion which you asked for by the way

So roll your eyes all you want but your being naive if you ask me...

Yeah your few cents is gonna make all the difference ::)  You don't half have a high opinion of yourself do you
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 03:55:44 PM
QuoteYeah your few cents is gonna make all the difference Roll Eyes  You don't half have a high opinion of yourself do you

So you obviously thought about the point I was making...  ???

Since you can't grasp the fundamentals of sponsorship I'll leave you to your delusion
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2007, 04:05:58 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 25, 2007, 03:49:45 PM
Drugs or not, the 100 metres final in any big event is always worth watching.
Are any of them clean?

Yeah i love watching the 100,200,400 races should be good
Post by: SuperSub on August 25, 2007, 04:46:18 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 25, 2007, 03:55:44 PM
QuoteYeah your few cents is gonna make all the difference Roll Eyes  You don't half have a high opinion of yourself do you

So you obviously thought about the point I was making...  ???

Since you can't grasp the fundamentals of sponsorship I'll leave you to your delusion

As i said im sure the WORLD of Athletics is going to miss you
Post by: mannix on August 25, 2007, 05:51:00 PM
Well supersub,
the guy was just letting you know his thoughts.I too have cannot shout for sportsmen of dubious distinction.Lance armstrong, barry bonds or mark maguire or any of the other overpaid steroid monsters in sport are cheats and not worth a second look.Barry bonds makes me feel sick when I see all the fans bowing to him, he is steroids out and out.
If everyone stopped being blind to the facts then bonds and co would have to walk away and leave it to the real sportsmen.alex rodrigeuz, jeter,michael jordan,beckham,mark messier and tom brady are real sportsmen that look like they train or did train hard without drugs as a platform.
Post by: mannix on August 25, 2007, 08:32:31 PM
Not a massive fan of beckham because he is overpaid and overrated, but you must admit he is a good sportsman.
Post by: Cloc Mor on August 26, 2007, 12:13:56 PM
Another easy run for Powell.  Eased off for last 40 metres and ended up second. 

Gay had a very impressive run after a poor start.  Much better than yesterday and looks good.

Cant wait for final
Post by: Square Ball on August 26, 2007, 02:22:33 PM
gay in 9.85........Phew  :o
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 26, 2007, 02:23:18 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on August 26, 2007, 02:22:33 PM
gay in 9.85........Phew  :o

...after a poor enough start!! Powell 3rd!
Post by: Cloc Mor on August 26, 2007, 02:23:49 PM
Win for Tyson Gay.  I honestly thought Powell would walk it.  Powell led at 60 metres but Gay put the boot down and pulled away.  Powell beaten into 3rd.  Great stuff.  Brit was crap.
Post by: magickingdom on August 26, 2007, 02:33:16 PM
how did gay win that, i thought he was dead and buried after the start. how they run with the chains hanging off some of their necks ill never know.. great race
Post by: mannix on August 26, 2007, 03:44:11 PM
The chains are for luck but they would annoy me when running.Howfast can you run 100 meters?
Post by: SuperSub on August 26, 2007, 03:47:02 PM
Quote from: mannix on August 26, 2007, 03:44:11 PM
The chains are for luck but they would annoy me when running.Howfast can you run 100 meters?

3 days :-[
Post by: The Forfeit Point on August 26, 2007, 06:40:34 PM
what time is the final at?

i see im a bit late :-[ :D
Post by: blast05 on August 26, 2007, 06:59:16 PM
Jeremy Wariner in the 400m will be a hell of a race to watch - don't think he'll match Michael Johnsons time of 43.18 but if not this year then definitely with the next year or 2. Will be the first man to break 43 seconds for 400m
Post by: hitzelsperger on August 26, 2007, 09:36:54 PM
blast that is a massive statement, i personally think johnsons 400m record will stay for a long long time, Wariner is good but he'll never do what MJ did.

was listening earlier to MJ talk on BBC and he said apparently theirs some kid in US called Walter Dix whos run 19.6 in the 200m yet he aint even running in the WC...MJ says hes the next big thing on the track...cant wait to see it!
Post by: tyroneboi on August 26, 2007, 10:01:48 PM
Quote from: mannix on August 25, 2007, 05:51:00 PM
Well supersub,
the guy was just letting you know his thoughts.I too have cannot shout for sportsmen of dubious distinction.Lance armstrong, barry bonds or mark maguire or any of the other overpaid steroid monsters in sport are cheats and not worth a second look.Barry bonds makes me feel sick when I see all the fans bowing to him, he is steroids out and out.
If everyone stopped being blind to the facts then bonds and co would have to walk away and leave it to the real sportsmen.alex rodrigeuz, jeter,michael jordan,beckham,mark messier and tom brady are real sportsmen that look like they train or did train hard without drugs as a platform.

Lance Armstrong? you my friend are very very wrong. tell ya what take a read at his books and the only drugs he did was the ones that cured him of the cancer. if u dont know the facts then keep your bullshitting to yourself!! p***k!
Post by: Windmill abu on August 26, 2007, 10:46:19 PM
QuoteIf everyone stopped being blind to the facts then bonds and co would have to walk away and leave it to the real sportsmen.alex rodrigeuz, jeter,michael jordan,beckham,mark messier and tom brady are real sportsmen that look like they train or did train hard without drugs as a platform.

Even if Beckham didn't take drugs, he had no problem playing along side Rio Ferdinand. Can you still consider your sucesses to be genuine if you are clean but your team mates aren't?
Post by: blast05 on August 26, 2007, 10:57:52 PM
Quoteblast that is a massive statement, i personally think johnsons 400m record will stay for a long long time, Wariner is good but he'll never do what MJ did.

Wariner ran 43.50 a couple of weeks ago. Breaking 43 seconds is his stated career goal while winning a pile of world and olympic titles along the way
Post by: Balboa on August 27, 2007, 11:26:10 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on August 26, 2007, 10:01:48 PM
Quote from: mannix on August 25, 2007, 05:51:00 PM
Well supersub,

Lance Armstrong? you my friend are very very wrong. tell ya what take a read at his books and the only drugs he did was the ones that cured him of the cancer. if u dont know the facts then keep your bullshitting to yourself!! p***k!

Do you think he is gonna f**king admit to taking drugs???
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2007, 12:28:37 PM
Balboa that's what I thought too. Armstrong is hardly gonna admit in his autobiography that he won everything whilst juiced up on EPO. Tyroneboi are you really that thick?!
Post by: ludermor on August 27, 2007, 12:36:48 PM
it has been proven that almost all of Armstrongs competitors were on the juice, i think it is incredibly naive to think that he could beat them for so long without been on it himself.
Post by: screenexile on August 27, 2007, 12:41:22 PM
Cynical crowd of hoors ye all are! Good to see the 'innocent until proven giulty' idea of a democracy is still in full flight here... sure maybe we should bring internment back to Northern Ireland... "sure all his neighbours are terrorists so he must be too!"... wise up!!!
Post by: ludermor on August 27, 2007, 12:58:50 PM
so are you not a bit sceptical that all of his main competitors have been either tested postitive or admitted to taking steriods. i just find it hard to believe that he could beat them all when they are juiced up and he is not.
Post by: screenexile on August 27, 2007, 01:11:24 PM
Having read his books and seen numerous interviews I find it extremely hard to believe that he would take drugs... even more than that I would say that given todays climate of papparazzi and gutter journalism considering the amount of fame and celebrity Lance Armstrong enjoys I think the press would have been able to find and exploit even the tiniest indiscretion... had it existed!
Post by: tyroneboi on August 27, 2007, 02:04:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2007, 12:28:37 PM
Balboa that's what I thought too. Armstrong is hardly gonna admit in his autobiography that he won everything whilst juiced up on EPO. Tyroneboi are you really that thick?!

never said that he would admit it in a book. wat i am saying is that if you read his books then you will get an appreciation of the kind of man and competitor he is. so because he won all those tour de france's means he is on drugs? if u think like that then u must think tiger woods, roger federer and all those other top sportsmen are on drugs as well. just because u are on top of your sport doesnt mean you are on drugs. every single test armstrong has taken has come back clean so maybe your the thick one baloney!!
Post by: Declan on August 27, 2007, 03:14:36 PM
Lance- The case against

Emma O'Reilly, formerly Armstrong's personal masseuse, makes the following points in LA Confidential the book David Walsh co-authored:

* Armstrong told O'Reilly his hematocrit was 41, nine percent below the permitted maximum, and that he was "going to do what the others do" to enhance it.

* In July 1999, Armstrong asked her for makeup to cover bruises on his arm from injections. The authors maintain that legal injections are generally injected in the buttocks.

* In May 1998, Armstrong asked her to dispose of syringes after the Tour of the Netherlands.

* In May 1999, she ferried 24 pills from Johan Bruyneel, the USPS team director, to Armstrong near his home in Nice.

* She provides details of Armstrong's 1999 positive test for steroids, claiming Armstrong told her he had used a steroid around the time of the Route du Sud that he thought would have cleared his system before the Tour. O'Reilly says doctors backdated a prescription for a legal cream containing the steroid, and organizers allowed it, even though the cream wasn't listed on Armstrong's mandatory medical form.

Doping is inseparable from bike racing. (If you're interested, check out The Crooked Path to Victory: Drugs and Cheating in Professional Bike Racing, by Les Woodland.) In 2004 alone, three current and former world champions were busted, one team was nearly disbanded, and several pro cyclists went public with detailed, harrowing stories of doping practices on their teams, including one who said he was given a substance designed for anemic dogs. What would people say about the GAA if O'Se, Fay, Bradley, Brogan etc tested positive in a single year? If a bunch of them died of heart attacks—as eight cyclists did in 2003-4?

Also after the 2004 season, Armstrong's former mechanic—Mike Anderson, alleged that he'd found a box of steroids in the bathroom of Armstrong's Girona apartment.
Post by: ludermor on August 27, 2007, 03:41:50 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on August 27, 2007, 02:04:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2007, 12:28:37 PM

never said that he would admit it in a book. wat i am saying is that if you read his books then you will get an appreciation of the kind of man and competitor he is. so because he won all those tour de france's means he is on drugs? if u think like that then u must think tiger woods, roger federer and all those other top sportsmen are on drugs as well. just because u are on top of your sport doesnt mean you are on drugs. every single test armstrong has taken has come back clean so maybe your the thick one baloney!!
but the have been feck all golfers/tennis players caught doping!!! cant you see the difference?And there is no need to insult people who dont agree with you Almost all of the top cyclist of the last 10 years have tested positive, if you cant feel just a little sceptical then you must be the purest of the pure. Think about it for a second , everyone else (exageration i know) were on drugs and they still couldnt beat him, it defies reason that he was clean
Post by: screenexile on August 27, 2007, 03:52:45 PM
QuoteLance- The case against

Emma O'Reilly, formerly Armstrong's personal masseuse, makes the following points in LA Confidential the book David Walsh co-authored:

* Armstrong told O'Reilly his hematocrit was 41, nine percent below the permitted maximum, and that he was "going to do what the others do" to enhance it.

* In July 1999, Armstrong asked her for makeup to cover bruises on his arm from injections. The authors maintain that legal injections are generally injected in the buttocks.

* In May 1998, Armstrong asked her to dispose of syringes after the Tour of the Netherlands.

* In May 1999, she ferried 24 pills from Johan Bruyneel, the USPS team director, to Armstrong near his home in Nice.

* She provides details of Armstrong's 1999 positive test for steroids, claiming Armstrong told her he had used a steroid around the time of the Route du Sud that he thought would have cleared his system before the Tour. O'Reilly says doctors backdated a prescription for a legal cream containing the steroid, and organizers allowed it, even though the cream wasn't listed on Armstrong's mandatory medical form.

QuoteAlso after the 2004 season, Armstrong's former mechanic—Mike Anderson, alleged that he'd found a box of steroids in the bathroom of Armstrong's Girona apartment.

This is all hearsay and opinion! Where are the facts? ANd if there are facts why haven't they been requested by investigative bodies or the governing body?

Doping is inseparable from bike racing. (If you're interested, check out The Crooked Path to Victory: Drugs and Cheating in Professional Bike Racing, by Les Woodland.) In 2004 alone, three current and former world champions were busted, one team was nearly disbanded, and several pro cyclists went public with detailed, harrowing stories of doping practices on their teams, including one who said he was given a substance designed for anemic dogs. What would people say about the GAA if O'Se, Fay, Bradley, Brogan etc tested positive in a single year? If a bunch of them died of heart attacks—as eight cyclists did in 2003-4?

I never said that cycling isn't rife with drugs... facts show that it quite clearly is. The only thing that gets me is the fact that people use Armstrong's success as a stick to beat him with and the fact that people assume oh well he's that good he must be cheating.

I can understand to a better degree people who reason it slightly by saying, well everyone else was on them and they still weren't able to beat him but the fact that there is no proof and that everyone goes on speculation and hearsay really p*sses me off!

Post by: Orior on August 27, 2007, 04:18:39 PM
The womens 100m was worth watching. You could set your pint on their bums and still have room to lean on it yourself.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 27, 2007, 04:28:17 PM
QuoteThe womens 100m was worth watching. You could set your pint on their bums and still have room to lean on it yourself.

Post of the day!
Post by: hitzelsperger on August 27, 2007, 06:15:51 PM
seen that lads, some of them bootys would take a fair bit of slappin! jaysus it was a tight race...glad to see the yank beat though
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 27, 2007, 08:48:52 PM
Anyone see the 10000m final, pure brilliance. Surely the long distance runners wouldnt be on drugs?
Post by: hitzelsperger on August 27, 2007, 10:17:37 PM
dreamer watched it, thought with lap and a half to go bekele was a goner but when he kicked with 200m to go he looked as if he was running 1500m, sheer brilliance just like Gabrisilasshi (sp) before him...to be honest i think he was toying with the 2 others when he let them get a few metres on him...totally unreal endurance to push it out for 9600m and then to sprint 400m flat out last lap...drugs i dont think so, them african boys could run before they could walk, simply a heart the size of a football and lungs like wheelie bins...genetically perfect for the sport!!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 28, 2007, 10:05:29 AM
Quoteseen that lads, some of them bootys would take a fair bit of slappin!

Aye, and your hand would defo be sorer than their asses. Fine specimens of lassies altogether!
Post by: Uladh on August 29, 2007, 05:32:35 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12040_2693130,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12040_2693130,00.html)

dare not mention what absolutely everyone, including Nicola Sanders, is thinking here then...
Post by: Balboa on August 29, 2007, 09:35:04 PM
Quote from: Uladh on August 29, 2007, 05:32:35 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12040_2693130,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12040_2693130,00.html)

dare not mention what absolutely everyone, including Nicola Sanders, is thinking here then...

Aye its funny how the Brits sweep any guilt under the carpet.......
Post by: magickingdom on September 01, 2007, 02:16:11 PM
4 x 100 metre final coming up at 14.20... should be good