Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: full back on August 24, 2007, 10:57:35 AM

Title: Top 10 Hotels
Post by: full back on August 24, 2007, 10:57:35 AM
This was on TV last night
Anyone got the list of 10?
Title: Re: Top 10 Hotels
Post by: tintin25 on August 24, 2007, 11:01:36 AM
Not sure. Have you tried the UTV website? Does anybody know how many of these episodes they are showing? They have done hotels and tourist attractions thus far haven't they? What else?
Post by: Long time dead on August 24, 2007, 11:18:45 AM
Surely they should be called top 10 in Belfast and its surrounding areas - Frank Mitchell is a f**king awful presenter too.
Post by: Smiler An Dun on August 24, 2007, 12:24:24 PM
Just caught the end of the programme.
The Top 3 were: 

3 - Bushmills
2 - Killyhevlin
1 - Slieve Donard

The others in the top 10 (can't remember what order they came in) are:
Merchant
Europa
Canal Court
Causeway Hotel
10 Square
Manor House
Culloden

Post by: charlie stubbs on August 24, 2007, 12:29:38 PM
renshaws hotel didnt make it then?interesting one that! ;D
Post by: full back on August 24, 2007, 12:49:06 PM
How were they judged?
Suprised the Europa & Ten Sq were in there
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2007, 12:51:34 PM
The judging criteria seems to be total bollox on these Ultimate Ulster programmes. People vote through the website I think - vote early and vote often seems to be the main criteria. Sure Bangor came top of the Top 10 Places to Live in NI episode followed by Portstewart I think in second place! Do me a favour...
Post by: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 01:09:31 PM
The killyhevlin , that has to be a piss take, went there recently to meet a guy in connection with a job we have on in Donegal, walkd in sat down and started to read the paper sitting on one of the lobby tables, the guy i was supposed to meet rang to say he was running late , decided to grab a bit of lunch so wandered on into carvery with paper in hand , was then accosted by the hotel jobsworth who told me very loudly that the paper had to stay in the lobby and to "put it back where you got it " right says I I'll pay you for it , not for sale says he, dick.

Then when getting lunch asked one of the staff for napkins was told in a surly voice " don't have any , we've ran out"

Number 2 my hole , would'nt even be 22 imho, a shithole that will never get the subbies money again.
Post by: Orior on August 24, 2007, 01:28:27 PM
I was also surprised by Bangor being number one place to live. Next time I meet Mitchell he's getting a kicking/.

Anyhow the place to live poll is stupid. If Bangor was so fecking good then why do people prefer to live elsewhere?
Post by: Balboa on August 24, 2007, 01:35:07 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 24, 2007, 01:28:27 PM
I was also surprised by Bangor being number one place to live. Next time I meet Mitchell he's getting a kicking/.

Anyhow the place to live poll is stupid. If Bangor was so fecking good then why do people prefer to live elsewhere?

Bangor is really nice but there are always people who are a bit picky, like not wanting UDA gangs fighting with each other........
Post by: Graham Garrity on August 24, 2007, 01:39:09 PM
It looks almost like they asked the golf club captain in each big town what was their favourite hang out, bundle of twats,   Wouldnt UTV be safer off wasting the license fee on Gaelic Games instead of this rubbish,  When eventually they decide to ditch their coverage of shitty hotels, pubs and restaurants, what will Frank Mitchell take on next.  UTV has become aload of bollix.  Get sky TV at least they are upfornt about the fact that they are purely a British broadcaster.  
Post by: charlie stubbs on August 24, 2007, 02:06:25 PM
pete snodden is from bangor enough said!!
Post by: never kickt a ball on August 24, 2007, 11:08:26 PM
Presenter Frank Mitchell said:
"Ultimate Ulster has something for everyone – thousands of viewers suggestions went into creating their Ultimate Ulster – an original guide to Northern Ireland which is taking me the length and breadth of the country in the series."

Seems like and Ultimate Belfast/Co Down to me. Take 

Your top ten park, garden or space:

1 Botanic Gardens, Belfast
2 Sir Thomas and Lady Dixon Park, Belfast
3 Mount Stewart, Co. Down
4 Castlewellan Forest Park, Co. Down
5 Tollymore Forest Park, Co. Down
6 Cavehill Country Park, Belfast
7 Carnfunnock Country Park, nr Larne, Co. Antrim
8 Crawfordsburn Country Park, Bangor, Co. Down
9 Oxford Island, Craigavon, Co. Armagh
10 Peoples Park, Ballymena, Antrim

Surely Donegal has places to rival these?

And what about

Your top ten most desirable places to live:

1 Bangor
2 Portstewart
3 Cultra
4 Belfast
5 Hillsborough
6 Holywood
7 Derry
8 Helen's Bay
9 Lisburn
10 Enniskillen

No mention of Bundoran  ???

Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:13:12 PM
QuoteYour top ten most desirable places to live:

1 Bangor
2 Portstewart
3 Cultra
4 Belfast
5 Hillsborough
6 Holywood
7 Derry
8 Helen's Bay
9 Lisburn
10 Enniskillen

In the name of Jesus what's that based on?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 24, 2007, 11:17:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:13:12 PM
QuoteYour top ten most desirable places to live:

1 Bangor
2 Portstewart
3 Cultra
4 Belfast
5 Hillsborough
6 Holywood
7 Derry
8 Helen's Bay
9 Lisburn
10 Enniskillen

In the name of Jesus what's that based on?

Excluding Derry and Enniskillen - property prices i'd say.

Lisburn - in the name of fcuk, who'd want to live there!
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:19:44 PM
Excluding Derry and maybe Enniskillen I wouldnt live in any of them.

Hillsborough ffs, it's a hole!
Post by: never kickt a ball on August 24, 2007, 11:25:21 PM
Have you ever ate out in any of these POG?:

Your top ten places to eat out:

1 Ramore Wine Bar, Portrush
2 Old Inn, Crawfordsburn, Bangor
3 The Stables, Groomsport
4 Bushmills Inn, Bushmills
5 Cayenne, Belfast
6 Deane's Restaurant, Belfast
7 Belfast Castle, Belfast
8 Nick's Warehouse, Belfast
9 Halfway House, Banbridge
10 Viscounts, Dungannon

Post by: Balboa on August 24, 2007, 11:25:50 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:19:44 PM
Excluding Derry and maybe Enniskillen I wouldnt live in any of them.

Hillsborough ffs, it's a hole!

I work in Lisburn and it apparentley has the highest average house price in the 6 counties, i wouldnt live in it if you paid me. Full of stuck up wankers that think they are a cut above.......Also full of some strange strange people.And its an orange hole
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:28:00 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on August 24, 2007, 11:25:21 PM

5 Cayenne, Belfast
10 Viscounts, Dungannon

Um no, why are you asking me that?  You saying I'm fat????
I wouldn't be a fan of eating out, Friar tucks and Cross chinese would beat the lot anyway.
Post by: Balboa on August 24, 2007, 11:29:59 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:28:00 PM

5 Cayenne, Belfast
10 Viscounts, Dungannon

I wouldn't be a fan of eating out, Friar tucks and Cross chinese would beat the lot anyway.

Those places are the kind of joints people go just to say they were there......
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:32:35 PM
Quote from: Balboa on August 24, 2007, 11:29:59 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2007, 11:28:00 PM

5 Cayenne, Belfast
10 Viscounts, Dungannon

Those places are the kind of joints people go just to say they were there......

Aye you'd need the dinner before you go!
There would be no asking for more spuds and gravy. 
Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2007, 11:33:35 PM
You have to understand that a high percentage of the Norn Iron population live in and around Belfast. They don't like to venture too far outside the big city. Sure look at the ruckus they are kicking up about the put a new multi-sports stadium a few mile down the road.
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 25, 2007, 12:01:21 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 01:09:31 PM
The killyhevlin , that has to be a piss take, went there recently to meet a guy in connection with a job we have on in Donegal, walkd in sat down and started to read the paper sitting on one of the lobby tables, the guy i was supposed to meet rang to say he was running late , decided to grab a bit of lunch so wandered on into carvery with paper in hand , was then accosted by the hotel jobsworth who told me very loudly that the paper had to stay in the lobby and to "put it back where you got it " right says I I'll pay you for it , not for sale says he, dick.

Then when getting lunch asked one of the staff for napkins was told in a surly voice " don't have any , we've ran out"

Number 2 my hole , would'nt even be 22 imho, a shithole that will never get the subbies money again.

Was up in the Killyhevlin for a wedding last year and could not complain with it. Three star at best probably but they had no problem with the headaballs from Belfast and the drinking till 6am so fine by me.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 12:01:53 AM

5 Cayenne, Belfast
10 Viscounts, Dungannon

Yes, The Ramore has been my number one since a student up there. An excellent, affordable joint. The Old Inn is fine too but no better than Tessies.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 12:27:18 AM
Tessies of the corner.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 12:29:19 AM
Eelish
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 12:53:25 AM
Falls is the surname. Falls' is the joint.
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 12:59:15 AM
You say Falls'
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 12:59:55 AM
I say Falls'
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 01:00:55 AM
Well grammatically, you're wrong! :P
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 01:01:13 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 01:00:29 AM
I don't. It's always been Falls's Corner to me.

No you don't.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 01:04:53 AM
Quote* If the word ends in an s but is singular, practice varies as to whether to add 's or only an apostrophe. In general, a good practice is to follow whichever spoken form is judged best: Boss's shoes, Mrs. Jones' hat (or Mrs. Jones's hat, if that spoken form is preferred). In many cases, both spoken and written forms will differ between people.

* Some people like to reflect standard spoken practice in special cases like these: for convenience' sake, for goodness' sake, for appearance' sake, etc. Others prefer to add 's in the standard way: for convenience's sake. [2] Still others prefer to omit the apostrophe when there is an s sound before sake: for morality's sake, but for convenience sake.
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 01:06:01 AM
I stand corrected. I apologise hardstation.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 01:11:40 AM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 01:08:52 AM
Ach I know that but in word of mouth that I've always heard and used.
Also, Washingbay/Aghamullan Road, where is the Clonoe - Derrylaughan border?
To me, Canavans'(not Canavans's) corner. To you, where?

It's something you feel. Aughamullen is a floating jurisdiction.
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 01:14:04 AM
All this educational talk has made me realise I should be in bed. Goodnight you two.
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2007, 01:14:28 AM
No Saints abu.
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 02:57:46 PM
How'd you know?
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 03:00:58 PM
Are you ever off this board?  :D
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 03:09:41 PM
I retract my previous statement hardstation  :D
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 03:15:27 PM
woo-hoo

(http://www.starstore.com/acatalog/homer-woo-hoo-statue-l.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2007, 03:16:42 PM
Hardstation,Ziggy     Get a room you two!!( in one of the Top 10 Hotels)
Post by: ziggysego on August 25, 2007, 03:20:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 03:16:34 PM
Where's his Greencastle jersey today?

In the wash
Title: Re: More Fr. Ted
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2007, 03:21:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 25, 2007, 03:18:03 PM
If you say that again, I'll put your head through the wall.

Harsh :o