GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Louth Exile on August 23, 2007, 03:28:57 PM

Title: Name your top 15 Footballers of the last 15 years
Post by: Louth Exile on August 23, 2007, 03:28:57 PM
I had a quick scan and didn't see this up as a topic, if it is just redirect me to the thread...
Anyway, given the current competition being run by the Indo and BOI thought I'd put up what I went for. As you can imagine, not easy and sure some people will completely disagree with me. I used the allstars as a starting point for my selections and worked from there. Yes I have picked players out of position, I picked on the basis that these are the top 15 guys....
GK -
John O'Leary (an automatic in my book, didn't give this much deliberation)
Backs -
Paul Curran
Darren Fay
Seamus Moynihan
Graham Geraghty
Kieran Mc Geeney
Martin O'Connell
Middle -
John Mc Dermott
Dara O'Se
Forwards -
Anthony Tohill
Trevor Giles (Mc Guigan was my first choice, but over the course of the 15 years Giles probably deserves it)
Sean Cavanagh (class at midfield, I think he is even better at half forward)
Maurice Fitzgerald
Peter Canavan (Captain)
Stephen Mc Donnell

The county breakdown is as follows:
Meath - 5, Kerry - 3, Dublin, Tyrone & Armagh - 2, Derry 1

Subs - (ie those that were on the short list)
Keith Barr, Sean Marty Lockhart, Sean Og De Paor, Thomas O'Se, Brian Mc Guigan, Charlie Redmond, Mickey Linden, Michael Donnellan
Title: Re: Name your top 15 Footballers of the last 15 years
Post by: spiritof91and94 on August 23, 2007, 03:47:18 PM
Do you think McDonnell is better than Linden - wise up!
Post by: MauriceMalpas on August 23, 2007, 03:52:34 PM
While the 15 there are all great individually the team just doesnt "shape" up.

Sorry didnt fully read 1st post. Still Tohill as forward??
Post by: Over the Bar on August 23, 2007, 03:57:00 PM
QuoteTrevor Giles (Mc Guigan was my first choice, but over the course of the 15 years Giles probably deserves it)

By that reckoning a player would need to be in his early thirties to warrant inclusion.
Post by: King of Kilskerry on August 23, 2007, 03:58:24 PM
My top 15 in no particular

S Moynihan
M Fitzgerald
D Browne
M Forde
P Joyce
G Geraghty
S Cavanagh
C McGeeney
C Cooper
D O'Se
C McDonald
P Canavan
M Linden
A Tohill
G Blaney
Post by: mouview on August 23, 2007, 04:14:56 PM
For pure physical talent it has to be Michael Donnellan - unquestionably the most consummately gifted player of his era.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 23, 2007, 04:15:38 PM
I'd pick Stevie Mc over Linden any day, thats my preference and if the team is over the last 15 years defo.

Re Tohill in the forwards: Midfield I found to be the hardest to pick with Dara, Big John and Tohill...I couldn't drop one so pushed Anthony forward.

Probably didn't word the forty pick correctly: Mc Guigan to my mind is the best No. 11 around at the moment if he was playing, over the last 15 years there is only been one year where he got to show his talents to their full extent. Giles over this period put in a number of great years and would probably just deserve it.
Post by: thebandit on August 23, 2007, 05:23:11 PM

John O'Leary

Kieran McKeever
Darren Fay
Conor Gormley

Seamus Moynihan
Kieran Mc Geeney
Martin O'Connell

Anthony Tohill
Dara O'Se

Larry Tompkins
Martin McHugh
Oisín McConville
Maurice Fitzgerald
Peter Canavan (Captain)
Mickey Linden
Post by: donegal gael on August 23, 2007, 05:34:20 PM
John o'leary

mark o'reilly
darren fay
kirean mckeever

declean meehan
kirean mcgeeney
tomas o'se

dara o'se
anthony tohill

s cavanagh
d marsden
m fitzgerald
d browne
p canavan
p joyce
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 23, 2007, 05:50:23 PM
Will probably change som of these with more time to think:

1. J O'Leary

2. M O'Reilly
3. D Fay
4. SM Lockhart

5  M O'Se
6  S Moynihan
7. K Barr

8. D O'Se
9  A. Tohill

10. B Dooher
11. T Giles
12  G Blaney

13  M Linden
14  P Canavan
15  C Cooper
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2007, 06:05:25 PM
Quite amazed at the amount of people leaving out Padraig Joyce. Probably the best forward in the country for 3 or 4 years at the end of the 90's beginning of the 00's.

Would have thought he'd be a no-brainer selection.
Post by: ExiledGael on August 23, 2007, 07:08:25 PM
impossible to reach consensus on this

O'Leary
          McKeever                     Fay                     Moynihan
          O'Connell              McGeeney               Geraghty
                              Tohill                       O'Se
         Donnellan                   Giles                   Cavanagh
          Fitzgerald                Canavan                   Joyce

Hard to leave out Linden, McDonnell, Blayney, Gooch, McDermott, McGuigan , Marc and Tomas O'Se and Gormley, but who can you take out?   ???
Post by: inisceithleann on August 23, 2007, 07:16:49 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on August 23, 2007, 07:08:25 PM
impossible to reach consensus on this

O'Leary
          McKeever                     Fay                     Moynihan
          O'Connell              McGeeney               Geraghty
                              Tohill                       O'Se
         Donnellan                   Giles                   Cavanagh
          Fitzgerald                Canavan                   Joyce

Hard to leave out Linden, McDonnell, Blayney, Gooch, McDermott, McGuigan , Marc and Tomas O'Se and Gormley, but who can you take out?   ???

I'd have Brian McGuigan on at CHF ahead of Giles and O'Se on at half back ahead of Geraghty but aparts from that a very strong line up.
Post by: Leo on August 23, 2007, 10:01:06 PM
Giles, Cavanagh, Marsden, Oisin  or McHugh ahead of Blaney? - joke time.
Tohill ahead of McGilligan- yez are watching a different game lads.
Post by: thewobbler on August 23, 2007, 10:31:13 PM
My team, and players who I'd happily swap them for.

1. Mickey McVeigh (Stephen Cluxton)
2. Tony Scullion (Kieran McKeever)
3. Darren Fay (Cormac McAnallen)
4. Tomas Mannion (Sean Marty Lockhart)
5. Seamus Moynihan (Glen Ryan)
6. Kieran McGeeney (Barry Breen)
7. Conor Gormley (Paul Curran)
8. John McDermott (Dara Ó Sé)
9. Anthony Tohill (Dermot McCabe)
10. Greg Blaney (Oisin McConville)
11. Brian McGuigan (Trevor Giles)
12. Maurice Fitzgerald (Ja Fallon)
13. Mickey Linden (Padraig Joyce)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Tommy Dowd)
15. Peter Canavan (Stephen McDonnell)

Maybe not the best 15 individuals ever, but there is a proper balance to that team. No corner-forwards in the half forward line, no half-backs filling in closer to goal.

Only controversial choice there is the keeper. Personally, i thought John O'Leary was overrated. Cluxton is a magnificent all round keeper. But for 10 years I never saw a better keeper than McVeigh, anywhere in the country. Once I got past Fay, full-back was a struggle. There have been few genuinely eyecatching no.3's in the past decade or so. McAnallen got in on the bench because over the course of 4 games in 2003, he was utterly outstanding. Time might eventually have caught him out in that position, but I don't think it would have.

Some might argue with Kieran Donaghy, but he has been a complete revelation and is quite possibly the perfect player for that position.
Post by: ExiledGael on August 23, 2007, 10:48:17 PM
Surely Michael Donnellan has to be a cert for this??
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2007, 12:44:24 AM
Last 15 years = 1993-now

Shoo-ins =

ULSTER
Anthony Tohill
Peter Canavan
Kieran McGeeney
Tony Scullion
Kieran McKeever
Sean Cavanagh

MUNSTER
Maurice Fitzgerald
Colm Cooper
Dara O Se
Tomas O Se
Seamus Moynihan

Connaught
Joyce
Donnellan

Leinster
Fay
Giles
Geraghty
Cluxton
Post by: galla on August 24, 2007, 03:53:20 AM
Players with 3 All stars since 1992

John o'Leary
Tommy Dowd
Trevor Giles
Tony Scullion
Darren Fay
John McDermott
Seamus Moynihan
Sean Cavanagh
Padraic Joyce
Michael Donnelan
Peter Canavan
Colm Cooper
Steven McDonnell
Post by: North Longford on August 24, 2007, 09:00:35 AM
Bit off topic here lads but see Tony Scullion mention a few times there.
Saw him take a training session a few weeks ago and thought he was fantastic.
Serious passion for the game
Post by: Barney on August 24, 2007, 09:31:45 AM
Anyone ever hear of Kenneth Mortimer or James Nallen?

How did Mayo end up in four All Irelands in that period?
Post by: Hardy on August 24, 2007, 09:52:55 AM
It's one of life's mysteries alright.  :P
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 24, 2007, 09:56:34 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 24, 2007, 09:52:55 AM
It's one of life's mysteries alright.  :P

ah hardy no need to be like that  ;)
Post by: BlackhallGael on August 24, 2007, 09:56:54 AM
There was a poll on this board (or the old board) a couple of years ago choosing the best team of the last 20 years. 23 users picked teams with the team below the most popular:

John O'Leary

Robbie O'Malley
Darren Fay
Tony Scullion

Seamus Moynihan
Kieran McGeeney
Martin O'Connell

John McDermott
Anthony Tohill

Maurice Fitzgerald
Larry Tompkins
Trevor Giles

Colm O'Rourke
Peter Canavan
Mickey Linden

As the period in question is now 93->07 it could be argued that Robbie O'Malley, Larry Tompkins, Colm O'Rourke & Mickey Linden would drop off that team as their best football was past them by 93. In that case the next highest players up the list would be Kieran McKeever, Michael Donnelan, Steven McDonnell & Padraig Joyce. So the updated team would be:

John O'Leary    Dublin

Kieran McKeever   Derry
Darren Fay                   Meath
Tony Scullion   Derry

Seamus Moynihan   Kerry
Kieran McGeeney   Armagh
Martin O'Connell   Meath

John McDermott   Meath
Anthony Tohill   Derry

Maurice Fitzgerald   Kerry
Michael Donnelan   Galway
Trevor Giles   Meath

Steven McDonnell   Armagh
Peter Canavan   Tyrone
Padraig Joyce   Galway

Post by: the Deel Rover on August 24, 2007, 09:58:38 AM
Darragh o' Shea has to be a shoe in
Post by: donegal gael on August 24, 2007, 10:21:08 AM
ulster 1992-2007

mickey mc veigh down

kirean mc keever derry
tony scullion derry
barry mc gowan donegal

dj kane down
kirean mc geeney armagh
henry downey derry

anthony tohill derry
paul mcgrane armagh

oisin mc conville armagh
greg blaney down
brian dooher tyrone

perter canavan tyrone
mickey linden down
sean cavanagh tyrone
Post by: full back on August 24, 2007, 10:56:44 AM
Cluxton

K Mc Keever
D Fay
T Scullion

S Moynihan
K Mc Geeney
T O Se

A Tohill
D O Se

G Geraghty
P Joyce
M Donnelan

P Canavan
M Fitzgerald
M Linden
Post by: mouview on August 24, 2007, 11:20:50 AM
No mention of Ja at all at all! Giles' presence on any list is a joke!
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 24, 2007, 11:33:29 AM
i'd have Ciaran Mc before giles as well up there with Maurice Fitz as probably one of the most naturally gifted footballers in the game.I have been lucky to see him play all my life and his talent is unreal. 
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on August 24, 2007, 11:34:27 AM
QuoteNo mention of Ja at all at all! Giles' presence on any list is a joke!

Meath lads will be after ya now mouview for that comment, but I'd agree 100%
Post by: Boozehell on August 24, 2007, 11:38:22 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 23, 2007, 10:31:13 PM
My team, and players who I'd happily swap them for.

1. Mickey McVeigh (Stephen Cluxton)
2. Tony Scullion (Kieran McKeever)
3. Darren Fay (Cormac McAnallen)
4. Tomas Mannion (Sean Marty Lockhart)
5. Seamus Moynihan (Glen Ryan)
6. Kieran McGeeney (Barry Breen)
7. Conor Gormley (Paul Curran)
8. John McDermott (Dara Ó Sé)
9. Anthony Tohill (Dermot McCabe)
10. Greg Blaney (Oisin McConville)
11. Brian McGuigan (Trevor Giles)
12. Maurice Fitzgerald (Ja Fallon)
13. Mickey Linden (Padraig Joyce)
14. Kieran Donaghy (Tommy Dowd)
15. Peter Canavan (Stephen McDonnell)

Maybe not the best 15 individuals ever, but there is a proper balance to that team. No corner-forwards in the half forward line, no half-backs filling in closer to goal.

Only controversial choice there is the keeper. Personally, i thought John O'Leary was overrated. Cluxton is a magnificent all round keeper. But for 10 years I never saw a better keeper than McVeigh, anywhere in the country. Once I got past Fay, full-back was a struggle. There have been few genuinely eyecatching no.3's in the past decade or so. McAnallen got in on the bench because over the course of 4 games in 2003, he was utterly outstanding. Time might eventually have caught him out in that position, but I don't think it would have.

Some might argue with Kieran Donaghy, but he has been a complete revelation and is quite possibly the perfect player for that position.

Wobbler I'm surprised you picked Mc Donnell ahead of James Mc Cartan for the Corner position and Oisin Mc Conville ahead of the current Down team manager Ross Carr two men with two All Ireland medals and two who are lucky two get one medal.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2007, 11:39:33 AM
My recollection of the period 1992-1995 is fairly hazy as I was only beginning to follow GAA regularly back then so my team is more a team of the past 10 years than past 15.

S Cluxton

SM Lockhart
D Fay
M McCarthy

S Og de Paor
S Moynihan
K McGeeney

D O'Se
K Walsh or P McGrane

M Fitzgerald
B McGuigan
M Donnellan

P Canavan
P Joyce
C Cooper

Very difficult. So many good players left out that could easily be in there. McDonnell, Ja Fallon, McConville, Geraghty, McDonald, Giles, T O'Se, etc, etc.

Post by: thebandit on August 24, 2007, 11:46:18 AM
Quote from: North Longford on August 24, 2007, 09:00:35 AM

I have taken part in a few sessions he has been in charge of - He's absolutely excellent
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 24, 2007, 11:53:32 AM
Quote from: Boozehell on August 24, 2007, 11:38:22 AM

Wobbler I'm surprised you picked Mc Donnell ahead of James Mc Cartan for the Corner position and Oisin Mc Conville ahead of the current Down team manager Ross Carr two men with two All Ireland medals and two who are lucky two get one medal.

the question is to name the top 15 footballers of the last 15 years not the players with the most ai ,if that was the case it would be 15 Kerry Lads
Post by: behind the wire on August 24, 2007, 11:57:30 AM
how anyone picks their team without mentioning greg blaney is having a laugh. they can say all they like about mcguigan but blaney was the man.

in my opinion colm o rourke should definitely be in there too. does bernard flynn not deserve a mention?
Post by: Boozehell on August 24, 2007, 11:58:26 AM
You miss my point.  First of all picking a team from the last 10/15 yeasr without James Mc Cartan and Ross Carr two of the best forwards in Ulster for most of the 90s is nonsense.  Secondly Brian Stafford from Meath deserves to be a team from the best players from that era also.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 24, 2007, 12:03:26 PM
its impossible for everyone to agree on the top 15 Footballers but with all the names been listed we have been very lucky to see all these players in action, all of these players are top class footballers in their own right who have given us hours of entertainment all because of their love of the game ain't that what the gaa is all about.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2007, 12:32:51 PM
Quote from: Boozehell on August 24, 2007, 11:58:26 AM
You miss my point.  First of all picking a team from the last 10/15 yeasr without James Mc Cartan and Ross Carr two of the best forwards in Ulster for most of the 90s is nonsense.  Secondly Brian Stafford from Meath deserves to be a team from the best players from that era also.

Brian Stafford retired in 1994. Going back 15 years bring us back to 1992. I think even Stafford himself would agree that his best years were well past him by then.
Post by: Louth Exile on August 24, 2007, 01:14:32 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 24, 2007, 12:03:26 PM
its impossible for everyone to agree on the top 15 Footballers but with all the names been listed we have been very lucky to see all these players in action, all of these players are top class footballers in their own right who have given us hours of entertainment all because of their love of the game ain't that what the gaa is all about.

I'll second that
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on August 24, 2007, 01:41:19 PM
Im going to nominate Gary Fahy for full back spot.....i know the consensus on here is that Fay was the outstanding full back of last 15 years but if you look back i think you will find that there wasnt many, if any, full forwards that got the better of Fahy. As cute a hoor as youre likely to get in no 3........youd not see him and you could be sure youd not see his man either! Think the Galway folk on here would agree with me. You dont have to be blood and thunder and knockin lads on their arses (ala Francie!) to be very effective at full back. He soldiered with Galway in their less conspicuous years and was probably their best player pre '98.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2007, 01:47:02 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on August 24, 2007, 01:41:19 PM
Im going to nominate Gary Fahy for full back spot.....i know the consensus on here is that Fay was the outstanding full back of last 15 years but if you look back i think you will find that there wasnt many, if any, full forwards that got the better of Fahy. As cute a hoor as youre likely to get in no 3........youd not see him and you could be sure youd not see his man either! Think the Galway folk on here would agree with me. You dont have to be blood and thunder and knockin lads on their arses (ala Francie!) to be very effective at full back. He soldiered with Galway in their less conspicuous years and was probably their best player pre '98.

I agree that Fahy was grossly underrated but he still wasn't as good as Fay. Everyone kept waiting for Fahy to get roasted but it very rarely happened. He was just an unfashionable sort of player who never really caught the eye but he was a very clever full-back.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 24, 2007, 01:50:35 PM
Fahy was a great player but Fay is unquestionably the best full back of the era in question. There are so many class players who won't feature on this because lets face it - the competition is seriously hot!
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on August 24, 2007, 01:51:41 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2007, 01:47:02 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on August 24, 2007, 01:41:19 PM

I agree that Fahy was grossly underrated but he still wasn't as good as Fay. Everyone kept waiting for Fahy to get roasted but it very rarely happened. He was just an unfashionable sort of player who never really caught the eye but he was a very clever full-back.

Well he was similar to Francie in one way......he got through a career in the maroon and white without kicking a ball! The one time I saw him kick it it got us a free to draw against Rossies in 1998!
Post by: thewobbler on August 24, 2007, 01:53:12 PM
Boozehell, Ross and James were fantastic players. Carr was comfortable anywhere on the field and was a proper footballer. Wee James was a revelation for 3-4 seasons, a bonafide superstar when Gaelic Football was ascending in popularity again. But both McConville and McDonnell have been among the top scorers in the country for the best part of a decade. Both are big game players, and when both retire, Armagh will be a long time waiting for their like to appear again. Particularly so in McDonnell's case. Forwards of that all-round ability and that consistency rarely appear on the scene.

regarding my team earlier, I somehow overlooked Sean Cavanagh. Big Dermy just got the chop. Michael Donnellan would be no.32.
Post by: Graham Garrity on August 24, 2007, 02:02:37 PM
What about Graham Garrity
Post by: Newbridge Exile on August 24, 2007, 02:16:01 PM
1 John O'Leary     
2 Kieran McKeever
3 Darren Fay
4 Tony Scullion   
5 Thomas O'Se
6 Kieran McGeeney
7 Seamus Moynihan
8 Dara O'Se
9 Anthony Tohill
10 Trevor Giles
11 Michael Donnellan
12 Sean Cavangh
13 Maurice Fitzgerald
14 Pauric Joyce
15 Peter Canavan

Subs
16 Stephen Cluxton
17 Sean Marty Lockhart
18 Sean Og De Paor
19 Henry Downey
20 Greg Blaney
21 Keviin Walsh
22 Glen Ryan
23 Stephen McDonnell
24 Enda Gormley

Post by: thebandit on August 24, 2007, 05:45:46 PM
Enda Gormley ahead of Oisin?!!!
Post by: Muzz on August 24, 2007, 05:52:52 PM
Only a Derry man could mention Enda Gormley in the Top 15 Footballers in the last 15 years.  Get real!

Next we will have the mention of big Geoffrey!!!
Post by: galla on August 24, 2007, 06:55:41 PM
Am i the only one who thinks Tommy Dowd should be in
Post by: Onlooker on August 24, 2007, 07:09:05 PM
I would say you are.
Post by: Rav67 on August 24, 2007, 09:45:39 PM
           O'Leary

Scullion    Fay   O'Connell
Downey McGeeney Moynihan

Tohill O'Se

Donnellan Giles  Fitzgerald
McDonnell Corkery  Canavan
Post by: Balboa on August 24, 2007, 09:50:27 PM
Quote from: thebandit on August 24, 2007, 05:45:46 PM
Enda Gormley ahead of Oisin?!!!

The topic is Top 15 Footballers not freetakers......
Post by: J70 on August 24, 2007, 10:10:09 PM
Pointless exercise this, as you could list ten teams that would all be equally good.

But, for the sake of argument (and with a slight hometown bias... :P)

O'Leary
Scullion Fay McGowan
O'Malley McGeeney Moynihan
O'Se Tohill
Giles Donnellan Fitzgerald
Canavan T. Boyle Joyce
Post by: Mourne Rover on August 24, 2007, 11:33:30 PM
These exercises can be good fun, but many people tend to rate players on the basis of performances from the end of their careers rather than when they were in their prime. There is little point in comparing the Mickey Linden of 2003, who was so fit that he could still play county football as an impact sub at 40, with the 1994 version, who was simply unplayable.  Similarly, anyone who saw James McCartan or  Greg Blaney at the height of their powers would automatically include them. When age and injuries caught up with them, it might be a different story. Down fans know we had three forwards who turned the existing GAA order on its head in the early 90s. I don't think anyone has since matched their achievements, but I'm not neutral.
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2007, 11:46:02 PM
Quote from: galla on August 24, 2007, 06:55:41 PM
Am i the only one who thinks Tommy Dowd should be in

No, Tommy Dowd is up there. I'd even say Olly Murphy was one of the best for a period of time.
Post by: Balboa on August 25, 2007, 12:13:53 AM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on August 24, 2007, 11:33:30 PM
These exercises can be good fun, but many people tend to rate players on the basis of performances from the end of their careers rather than when they were in their prime. There is little point in comparing the Mickey Linden of 2003, who was so fit that he could still play county football as an impact sub at 40, with the 1994 version, who was simply unplayable.  Similarly, anyone who saw James McCartan or  Greg Blaney at the height of their powers would automatically include them. When age and injuries caught up with them, it might be a different story. Down fans know we had three forwards who turned the existing GAA order on its head in the early 90s. I don't think anyone has since matched their achievements, but I'm not neutral.

In fairness i heard that bollix Brolly talking about that Down forward line a few years ago and he was almost in awe of them. Hard to believe i know !
Title: Name your top 15 Footballers of the last 15 years
Post by: 5 Sams on August 25, 2007, 03:07:49 AM
Quote from Blackhall gael

QuoteAs the period in question is now 93->07 it could be argued that Robbie O'Malley, Larry Tompkins, Colm O'Rourke & Mickey Linden would drop off that team as their best football was past them by 93.

Mickey Linden cleaned out the entire Dublin defence in the AIF in 94 and got player of the year the same year...ye fcukin eejit
Post by: new devil on August 25, 2007, 05:41:48 AM
Quote from: thebandit on August 24, 2007, 11:46:18 AM

I have taken part in a few sessions he has been in charge of - He's absolutely excellent

He manage us for 3 years, took us from the jaws of division 3 till the top of division 1, Ive never meet a man who loves the game as much... and he's a gentleman
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2007, 10:27:40 AM
Scullion is a top man - full of enthusiasm - a tough clean player and Tyrone folk always admired him.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on August 25, 2007, 01:52:42 PM
Cluxton
Gromely
Fay
Scullion
Geratey
Mc Geeney
Moynihan
Tohill
O'Shea
Fitzgerald
Mc Guigan
Donnellan
Linden
Joyce
Canavan
Post by: Barney on August 25, 2007, 02:43:17 PM
John O'Leary

Kenneth Mortimer             Darren Fay                Tony Scullion

Tómas Ó Sé                     Kieran McGeeney       Seamus Moynihan

Dara Ó Sé                  Anthony Tohill

Oisin McConville            Maurice Fitzgerald          Padriag Joyce

Mickey Linden            Declan Browne          Peter Canavan

It is extremely hard though - you could pick 3 or 4 players for each position         
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 25, 2007, 03:09:08 PM
Quote from: Barney on August 25, 2007, 02:43:17 PM
John O'Leary

Kenneth Mortimer             Darren Fay                Tony Scullion

Tómas Ó Sé                     Kieran McGeeney       Seamus Moynihan

Ah Barney stick in a few more mayo lads, Jimmy Nallen ,Liam Mc, Ciaran Mc all the northern boys are giving their own counties fair support ;) ;) 
Post by: From the Bunker on August 25, 2007, 03:49:13 PM
Really, when you are picking a players in a cathegory like this there are rules to follow:

You can't pick some one who was at the tail end of their career......Mickey Linden
You can't pick some one who is at the begining of their career.......Ciaran Donaghy
You are looking for consistency over a period of 5 years or more......Anthony Tohill
You are looking for a player who did not go missing in big games.....Peter Canavan
You are looking at a player who was a managers dream, no injuries, no sendings off, no stupid press interviews........James Nallen
You are looking for a player who was maybe not on the best team, but always turned up......Declan Browne

Really you could have 3 teams one for every five years.

Post by: Farrandeelin on August 25, 2007, 09:41:06 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 25, 2007, 03:09:08 PM
Quote from: Barney on August 25, 2007, 02:43:17 PM
John O'Leary

Kenneth Mortimer             Darren Fay                Tony Scullion

Tómas Ó Sé                     Kieran McGeeney       Seamus Moynihan

Ah Barney stick in a few more mayo lads, Jimmy Nallen ,Liam Mc, Ciaran Mc all the northern boys are giving their own counties fair support ;) ;) 

They would, wouldn't they!
Post by: Puckoon on August 25, 2007, 09:48:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 25, 2007, 03:49:13 PM
Really, when you are picking a players in a cathegory like this there are rules to follow:

You can't pick some one who was at the tail end of their career......Mickey Linden
You can't pick some one who is at the begining of their career.......Ciaran Donaghy
You are looking for consistency over a period of 5 years or more......Anthony Tohill
You are looking for a player who did not go missing in big games.....Peter Canavan
You are looking at a player who was a managers dream, no injuries, no sendings off, no stupid press interviews........James Nallen
You are looking for a player who was maybe not on the best team, but always turned up......Declan Browne

Sweet jesus the standard of lunacy on this board just hit an all time high. Demonstrate one big game canavan went missing in, and ill come over and wash your car.
Post by: Puckoon on August 25, 2007, 09:50:33 PM
Maybe this should be a seperate thread, but how about naming two 15's, who you would like to play out, man to man.

Post by: Louth Exile on August 26, 2007, 09:13:58 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 25, 2007, 09:48:38 PM

Sweet jesus the standard of lunacy on this board just hit an all time high. Demonstrate one big game canavan went missing in, and ill come over and wash your car.

No point in laying all those rules down, the competition that inspired this thread doesn't have those rules. At the end of the day it is down to individuals opinions, some people won't play lads out of position (the way the all stars used to be done) and some will,(the way that they are now).

I also agree with Puckoon, you are well wide of the mark with your comments about Canavan, ask someone from Kerry, Armagh or Dublin (to think of just a few games off the top of the head)
Post by: From the Bunker on August 26, 2007, 12:33:57 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on August 26, 2007, 09:13:58 AM

You are looking for a player who was maybe not on the best team, but always turned up......Declan Browne[/b][/i]

No point in laying all those rules down, the competition that inspired this thread doesn't have those rules. At the end of the day it is down to individuals opinions, some people won't play lads out of position (the way the all stars used to be done) and some will,(the way that they are now).

I also agree with Puckoon, you are well wide of the mark with your comments about Canavan, ask someone from Kerry, Armagh or Dublin (to think of just a few games off the top of the head)

Feck Sake Louth Exile and Puckoon what part of NOT do you NOT understand. I gave Canavan as an example of some one who DID NOT go missing in big games. JESUS ???
Post by: Puckoon on August 26, 2007, 04:37:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 26, 2007, 12:33:57 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on August 26, 2007, 09:13:58 AM

You are looking for a player who was maybe not on the best team, but always turned up......Declan Browne[/b][/i]

Feck Sake Louth Exile and Puckoon what part of NOT do you NOT understand. I gave Canavan as an example of some one who DID NOT go missing in big games. JESUS ???

I guess its been a shorter summer than Id have liked. The hackles were quick to rise. I apologise fair sir. :-X

Post by: From the Bunker on August 26, 2007, 07:36:05 PM
Sound, Puckoon :)
Post by: Louth Exile on August 27, 2007, 12:47:44 PM
OK, misread your comments on Canavan.. apologies sir
Post by: neutral on August 27, 2007, 05:59:53 PM
Right just a wee word.  how many of those who said Declan Browne - seen him playing  more than 5 times?  Honest answers please.
Post by: Onlooker on August 27, 2007, 06:15:59 PM
I would certainly nominate Declan Browne and I saw him an awful lot more than 5 times.
Post by: donegal gael on August 27, 2007, 09:45:52 PM
declean o'keefe

kirean mc keever
darren fay
tony scullion

seamus moynihan
glen ryan
paul curran

anthony tohill
dara o'se

brian dooher
maurice fitzgerald
oisin mc conville

declean browne
peter canavan
padraig joyce
Post by: Louth Exile on October 09, 2007, 07:00:17 PM
Did anyone see this team named anywhere by BOI or the indo. Didn't see it myself and apparently it was named before the AI final. Will one of you please post it if you come across it. Curious to see how far out I was  :)
Post by: timmyot501 on October 10, 2007, 09:29:39 AM
J O'Leary
T Scullion
D Fay
M O'Connell
P Curran
G Ryan
S Moynihan
J McDermott
A Tohill
P Canavan
G Blaney
T Giles
C Cooper
P Joyce
M Fitzgearld

Impossible really - If asked again tomorrow I would probably end up with a different team. Declan Meehan, Michael Donnellan, Kieran McKeever, Kieran McGeaney, Stephen McDonnell, Brian Dooher, Sean Og DePaor, O'Sé's, James McCartan, Martin McHugh, Graham Gearaghty, Declan O'Keefe, Conor Gormley, Declan Browne  - all class players from the past 15 years to present
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 09:33:52 AM
Hard to name 15 players but I am surprised by the fact that Paul McGrane has been mentioned very few times (if any).  He has to be the most consistent midfielder in the last decade along with Darragh O'Se.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on October 10, 2007, 12:15:36 PM
1. John O'Leary
2. Kieran McKeever 3. Francie Bellew 4. Darren Fay
5. Paul Curran 6. Kieran McGeeney 7. Tomas O'Se
8. Dara O'Se 9. Anthony Tohill
10. Tommy Dowd 11. Greg Blaney 12. Graham Geraghty
13. Maurice Fitzgerald 14. Peter Canavan 15. Colm Cooper
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 02:46:29 PM
O'Leary

McNulty
D Fay
Scullion
Moynihan
McGeeney
O'Se

McGrane
O'Se

Donnellan
Tohill
Giles
Geraghty
Joyce
Fitzgerald

CLOSE CALLS: Stevie McD, Canavan, Gooch, Gormly, Dooher, McConville, O'Se, Cluxton, Lynch

Post by: whiskeysteve on October 10, 2007, 02:54:19 PM
Quote from: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 02:46:29 PM
O'Leary

McNulty
D Fay
Scullion
Moynihan
McGeeney
O'Se

McGrane
O'Se

Donnellan
Tohill
Giles
Geraghty
Joyce
Fitzgerald

CLOSE CALLS: Stevie McD, Canavan, Gooch, Gormly, Dooher, McConville, O'Se, Cluxton, Lynch

Bold choice puttin Geraghty in ahead of Canavan at corner forward - I don't think Graham comes close to Peter as a corner forward
Post by: imtommygunn on October 10, 2007, 02:56:12 PM
 O'Leary

Kieran McKeever
Darren Fay
Tony Scullion

Moynihan
McGeeney
O'Se

McDermott
O'Se

Donnellan
Blaney
Giles
Fitzgerald
Canavan
Linden

Marc O'Se will be in there in year or two and I'd say Donaghy would be too. They've only done it for a few seasons yet though.
Post by: rrhf on October 10, 2007, 03:20:13 PM
high catch.... any man who hast Peter Canavan on his team is only making a fool out of themselves.  Why do that?
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 03:23:17 PM
I just feel as though i'd rather have the other 6 forwards that i have mentioned.  Although as i said, Canavan would be very close to the team.  Is that ok with you RRHF?
Post by: Bensars on October 10, 2007, 03:26:51 PM
Here goes

1 J O Leary  
2 SM Lockhart
3 Darren Fay
4 T Mannion
5 P Curran
6 Mc Geeney
7 T o Se
8  Tohill
9  D O Se
10 Cavanagh
11 B Mc Guigan
12 G Blaney
13 D Brown
14 M Fitz
15 Canavan

No subs as if not good enough to get on tough. No second places here.
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 03:28:58 PM
BMcGuigan is a good call as there has not been too many outstanding natural CHF in the last decade or so.  Giles and McGuigan probably being the best of the bunch as natural CHF's.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on October 10, 2007, 03:49:18 PM
...Blaney!
Post by: rashCharacter on October 10, 2007, 04:00:51 PM
An awful lot of people with John O'Leary as keeper.

He was good enough but think he only played a year after the all ireland success.
Don't think he warrants being included as the best in the last 15 years.
Post by: mouview on October 10, 2007, 04:11:43 PM
CHF's? Ja Fallon, better than McGuigan IMHO and miles better than Giles.
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 04:17:50 PM
I wud have Giles on top of the tree, followed by McGuigan and Blayney.
IMHO Ja Fallon tarnished his memory as an outstanding player with his not so outstanding comeback.  He should have kept them hung.
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 04:25:41 PM
Canavan, Gormly, Dooher and McGuigan are all very close.  I suppose your county allegiance does sway your judgment in some decisions. I'd make room for Canavan in the first 15 but no other Tyrone player would be in my first 15 no matter what county i was from.
Post by: blasmere on October 10, 2007, 04:34:41 PM
J O'Leary

M O'Sé             
Fay
T Scullion

T O'Sé
K McGeeney
S Moynihan

D O'Sé
A Tohill

B Dooher
G Blaney
J McCartan

P Canavan
M Fitzgerald
C Cooper

Post by: AidyMac on October 10, 2007, 04:40:43 PM
J O Leary

K McKeever
D Fay
C Gormley

T O'Se
k McGeeney
A Rainbow

A Tohill
D O'Se

M Donnellan
B McGuigan
K McDonald

C Cooper
P Canavan
M Linden

Tough calls to make

I would say that no matter how long this runs, no 2 teams will be the same
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 10, 2007, 04:43:00 PM
Quote from: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 04:25:41 PM
Canavan, Gormly, Dooher and McGuigan are all very close.  I suppose your county allegiance does sway your judgment in some decisions. I'd make room for Canavan in the first 15 but no other Tyrone player would be in my first 15 no matter what county i was from.

Canavan walks onto the team no matter what way you cut it. no other forward touches him as an overall player
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 04:45:18 PM
Not in my view Whiskey.  But as AidyMac says, no 2 teams will be the same.
Post by: rrhf on October 10, 2007, 04:46:47 PM
High catch I think you are right to have Mc Conville warming the bench but Mc Grane over Cavanagh is like comparing a fine beaujolais to say a bottle of bucky. Its a brave team.  I wish you luck against your sub bench but a selector in the under 12s would obviously trouble you so fair play for trying.  I think its brave trying to swim against the tide but ultimately fruitless.  Canavan had his legend secured long before 1999.
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 04:49:56 PM
I would have McGrane over Cavanagh any day of the week.  Cavanagh is no doubt a top class footballer but not in McGranes class as a midfielder.  Ill back down on Canavan but not a chance with Cavanagh.
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 04:58:05 PM
My selection is getting awful scrutiny lads. I believe McNulty has been the best man marker in the game for the last decade.  Very limited skill wise but i would rather other corner backs up my hole when running out to take a ball.
Post by: blasmere on October 10, 2007, 05:00:39 PM
Personally, I think Marc O'Se is one of the best corner backs seen in years, would probably be a half-back on any other county team.
Post by: small white mayoman on October 10, 2007, 05:00:51 PM
Mine would be

Peter Bourke
Kenny Mortimer
Gary Fahy
Kieran Fitzgerald
Sean Og dE pAOR
Jimmy Nallen
Declan Meehan
Liam Mc Hale
Kevin WALSH
Michael Donnellan
Ciaran Mc Donald
Ja Fallon
Eamon O'hara
Padraig Joyce
Derek Savage

Just decided to pick an all connaught team since most of the teams are made up of Northern Boys with a few Kerry Meath and Dublin lads thrown in for good measure ;)
Post by: rrhf on October 10, 2007, 05:06:11 PM
High catch  John Lynch was finished after the early 90s and possibly dosent warrant a place on your bench. 
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 05:09:32 PM
Now I think you have your Tyrone blinkers on there RRHF. ;D Mine would be by the name of Anthony Lynch as I'm sure you are well aware.
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 05:14:45 PM
Please leave my team alone. Go pick on somebody else's team! :'(
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 05:20:18 PM
High Catch, we are all entitled to our opinion (including you you armagh hoor  ;)), but when this many people disagree with it, im afraid to say.....
You might have picked a bad team! ;)

Diarmuid Murphy

Marc O'Se
Darren Fay
Kieran McKeever

Conor Gormley
Geezer
Tomas O'Se

A. Tohill
D O'Se

Sean Cavanagh
B McGuigan
M Donnellan

PTG
Maurice Fitz
Gooch

Wing half backs and forwards are hardest to pick, the rest picked themselves.
Post by: longball on October 10, 2007, 05:20:36 PM
S Cluxton

F Bellew
D Fay
C Gormley

T O'Se
k McGeeney
S Moynihan

A Tohill
D O'Se

P Joyce
M Fitzgerald
M Lindan

C Cooper
P Canavan
D Browne

Post by: blasmere on October 10, 2007, 05:21:43 PM
Tony Scullion is a shoo-in surely
Post by: High Catch on October 10, 2007, 05:23:40 PM
Quote from: blasmere on October 10, 2007, 05:21:43 PM
Tony Scullion is a shoo-in surely

I certainly would not have Bellew in place of him.
Post by: longball on October 10, 2007, 05:27:47 PM
Anyone willing to give Jason Sherlock a game?
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 05:29:52 PM
In the top 15 of the last 15? No chance.
You could pick 3 teams and he wouldnt be in one of them IMHO.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 10, 2007, 06:01:26 PM
John O'Leary

McKeever
Fay
O'Se

Curran
Moynihan
Geraghty

Tohill
O'Se

Cavanagh
Giles
Browne
Fitzgerald
Canavan
Cooper
Post by: rrhf on October 10, 2007, 07:04:48 PM
 Mayo would take that team
Post by: Bensars on October 10, 2007, 08:17:06 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on October 10, 2007, 03:49:18 PM
...Blaney!

Absolutely.... IMO one of the best ever to come out of ulster, Its over the last 15 years and any chance i would have to have him in there, i will take it.

With Blaney and Brian Mc Guigan ( the two best play makers ive seen ) providing the ammo for canavan, maurice fitz and declan brown, they would be unstopable.

Am i the only one that rates Tomas Mannion ?
Post by: Armaghtothebone on October 10, 2007, 09:11:23 PM
Quote from: thebandit on August 24, 2007, 11:46:18 AM

And we turned down a management team with him and wee James as backup!!!!
Would every other couty please stop playing now,as our new management team must be something special!!!!!
Post by: irrelevance on October 14, 2007, 03:08:40 PM
Does anybody know what team was actually picked? As somebody who lives in Dublin but not of dublin descent my many friends will be amazed that Paddy Christie has not been mentioned. They used to be gushing about him up here. I thought he should have been shafted after Johnny Crowley roast him in a quarter final but many said Christie had his finger in the dyke. Whelan was also another high profile who nobody mentioned but I suppose he would be more 15 minutes than 15 years. The fella who mentioned jason sherlock was having a laugh. He got to be. Next they will talking about Dessie Farrell The Dubs you gotta love them.

Cluxton
McNulty        Fahy    Bellew
Curran          McGeeeney Gormley
O shea McDermott
fALLON mCGUIGAN   GILES
LINDEN  JOYCE        CANAVAN
Post by: rrhf on October 15, 2007, 09:09:27 AM
If it was based on first half performances alone, Whelan would be a shoe in.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 10:44:07 AM
Quote from: rrhf on October 15, 2007, 09:09:27 AM
If it was based on first half performances alone, Whelan would be a shoe in.

Name me a midfielder who dominates a game for 70 mins????
O'Se? No
Murphy? No
Cavanagh? No

It does not happen and yet Whelan is the one who constantly gets blamed for it??? If he is so dominant in the first half as you suggest it must be because his opponent is either being inconsistently poor or just that Whelan is so much better in the first half...
Post by: thebandit on October 15, 2007, 05:34:31 PM
Yes, but O'Se generally dominates the second half, or at least the last 10 minutes
Post by: DMarsden on October 16, 2007, 10:44:13 AM

OLeary

Scullion
faye
McKeever

Downey
Ryan
McGeeney

O'Se
McDermott

Donnellen
Blayney
MoFitz

Gooch
Boyle
Linden

Slight Ulster Bias as i suppose they're the players i've seen up close the most  :)

I'd love to see anyone carry the ball through that half back line
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 10:51:19 AM
Quote from: thebandit on October 15, 2007, 05:34:31 PM
Yes, but O'Se generally dominates the second half, or at least the last 10 minutes

Rewind to Semi final, Dublin V Kerry 2007, O'Shea returns to the field to huge ovation in SECOND HALF, Whelan cleans him out for the rest of the game  ;)

Dublin still lose  :(