GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on August 05, 2007, 11:08:44 AM

Title: Meath Fans Behaviour
Post by: thejuice on August 05, 2007, 11:08:44 AM
Ok I dont like having a go at our own fans but something has to be said.

After the game while everyone was walking down Clonliffe road, a gang of Meath fans about 20-30 had set about pulling down Dublin flags from sign posts. In isolation it wasnt very serious but can be provocative and could provoke the wrong type of reaction. They had lifted a bloke up so that he could force the flag of the sign and it was thrown about and torn by the Meath "fans".

They were then egged on by a bunch of other idiots to tear down the next flag that was met. Imagine grown adults being egged on by teenagers to misbehave and they actually did so. I think one Clonliffe resident had to go out and save his flag that was hanging in the garden from this mob. I dont like this kind of loutish behavior and it was sad to see. Theres no need for it and these idiots will give other Meath fans a bad name.

There was a Garda there but he was seriously out-numbered and i suppose there was not alot he could do except make sure that someone didnt get hurt or damage was done to public property. After what was a good game and the joy of Meath coming out the right side of the result to see that was really disappointing. Shame on them.
Title: Re: Meath Fans Behaviour
Post by: Blacksheep on August 05, 2007, 11:33:30 AM
They could use boys like this in Lurgan where there's a few flags need removing.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 05, 2007, 12:49:10 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 05, 2007, 11:08:44 AM
Ok I dont like having a go at our own fans but something has to be said.

After the game while everyone was walking down Clonliffe road, a gang of Meath fans about 20-30 had set about pulling down Dublin flags from sign posts. In isolation it wasnt very serious but can be provocative and could provoke the wrong type of reaction. They had lifted a bloke up so that he could force the flag of the sign and it was thrown about and torn by the Meath "fans".

They were then egged on by a bunch of other idiots to tear down the next flag that was met. Imagine grown adults being egged on by teenagers to misbehave and they actually did so. I think one Clonliffe resident had to go out and save his flag that was hanging in the garden from this mob. I dont like this kind of loutish behavior and it was sad to see. Theres no need for it and these idiots will give other Meath fans a bad name.

There was a Garda there but he was seriously out-numbered and i suppose there was not alot he could do except make sure that someone didnt get hurt or damage was done to public property. After what was a good game and the joy of Meath coming out the right side of the result to see that was really disappointing. Shame on them.
Maybe a few lightening up tablets required juice.  I remember coming home from a Meath v Dublin game a few years ago, halfway up the Navan Road this lad (who had the house bedecked in Dubs colours) was standing on the roof of his porch waving a giant Dubs flag with 'Cheerio' on it - I thought it was great myself, part of the craic.
Post by: rashCharacter on August 05, 2007, 01:01:05 PM
Catch a grip juice will you.
I was there as a neutal and witnessed the events on the clonliffe road.
It was only a bit of craic and was enjoyed as such by everyone in attendance.
Post by: Dont Matter on August 05, 2007, 01:23:19 PM
Dont worry juice, it's true Meath have some scummy fans but not as much as Dublin. They just riped up a few flags, imagine what the stinkin Dub's would do if they went down to Navan.
Post by: Canalman on August 05, 2007, 01:51:50 PM
Jeez if this was the behaviour of the Dublin fans we would have 6 pages already of indignation and vitriol.Just shows that every town and county in Ireland has a serious "underclass" of lowlifes.
My brother's mate drives a taxi and is usually a "Grab All Association/Bogball" type of soccer supporter but he is adamant that Dublin fans are not the worst fans after the games.
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2007, 02:22:36 PM
Quote from: Canalman on August 05, 2007, 01:51:50 PM
Jeez if this was the behaviour of the Dublin fans we would have 6 pages already of indignation and vitriol.Just shows that every town and county in Ireland has a serious "underclass" of lowlifes.
My brother's mate drives a taxi and is usually a "Grab All Association/Bogball" type of soccer supporter but he is adamant that Dublin fans are not the worst fans after the games.

Brilliant! If there's one section of Irish society that consistently give reasonable and well thought out opinions on all sorts of matters, it's our taxi drivers. :D
Post by: ziggysego on August 05, 2007, 03:18:38 PM
Must have been the ones that I was sitting behind. I right shower of See-You-Next-Tuesday. Still, I won't fault the supporters for the sake of a handful. Must of them were dead-on and where quite gracious in their victory.
Post by: Hound on August 05, 2007, 07:09:18 PM
Tearing down flags is definitely provocative, and its not great to see. The danger is that lads like these get braver, and attract more scumbags to their ranks, and suddenly they're down looking for a fight. And they'll have little problem finiding a shower of Dublin scumbags to accomodate them.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 05, 2007, 09:01:07 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 05, 2007, 07:09:18 PM
Tearing down flags is definitely provocative, and its not great to see. The danger is that lads like these get braver, and attract more scumbags to their ranks, and suddenly they're down looking for a fight. And they'll have little problem finiding a shower of Dublin scumbags to accomodate them.

Who'd win? Meath scumbags or Dublin scumbags
Post by: thejuice on August 05, 2007, 10:09:23 PM
Quote from: rashCharacter on August 05, 2007, 01:01:05 PM
Catch a grip juice will you.
I was there as a neutal and witnessed the events on the clonliffe road.
It was only a bit of craic and was enjoyed as such by everyone in attendance.

Well as long as everyone realises its just a bit of craic, bit of a laugh, but what if someone doesnt see it that way. I feel it crossed a line.
Post by: galla on August 05, 2007, 11:12:14 PM
Its on youtube now
Post by: Jinxy on August 05, 2007, 11:26:59 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=8DNfscY1Vg4 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=8DNfscY1Vg4)

The lads start hitting the flag with their slippers when they get it down.
Post by: Dont Matter on August 05, 2007, 11:29:35 PM
QuoteWho'd win? Meath scumbags or Dublin scumbags

I think Dublin because they have more scumbags.
Post by: galla on August 06, 2007, 01:11:42 AM
my friend started comparing it to when the americans pulled down the statue of sadam hussein
Post by: Windmill abu on August 06, 2007, 02:09:39 AM
Congratulations Meath on their win over Tyrone on Satuday. I sat with my family in the Cusack Stand, in what was a genarally mixed selection of Tyrone, Cork, Meath & Sligo fans.

During the game the Meath fans were vociferous in their support and magnanimous in their victory, as they were in 1996. 

I have also sat among Dublin fans on similar occasions, (1995 All Ireland Final & 2005 All Ireland Quarter Final) they were as magnanimous as their neighbours in both victory and defeat.

While I don't believe that either set of supporters are "Scumbags", I feel that a minority of the Meath supporters let themselves down by their taunting of the opposition supporters as they leave Croke Park & their displays of anti-Dublin feeling after the match.

Some of the chants I heard after the game, make me fear we are becoming more like soccer fans than gaelic fans
Post by: The Hill is Blue on August 06, 2007, 11:59:15 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 05, 2007, 11:26:59 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=8DNfscY1Vg4 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=8DNfscY1Vg4)

The lads start hitting the flag with their slippers when they get it down.

Isn't it interesting to see the low-key reaction to this piece of hooliganism? If Dublin fans had been involved in something like this we'd be up to about eighty pages of screaming indignation from all over the country.   

::) ::) ::) ::)
Post by: magickingdom on August 06, 2007, 12:13:45 PM
meath fans? anyone remember their ole ole ole against kerry a few years back? hopefully we can fix that next month..... ;D
Post by: john mcgill on August 06, 2007, 12:23:52 PM
I watched the 1977 All Ireland in an Irish Centre in the US.  A Dub fan told three of us Armagh fans to f**k off home when it when the game was over.  I'll not mention our reply physical and verbal!  However in 2002 after the semi final I had a 25 year itch that I was dying to get rid of.  However as we left the ground we met nothing but good wishes and charm from the Dubs and so it was up the road, Dub fans waving.  I must admit that I took the actions of one Dub and formed 25 years of prejudice on it.

I believe that all big games, which virtually are all the championship games, attract minorities from every county who are not healthy supporters.  During Armagh's national league games the only bad behaviour I witnessed from all there was that of a neighbouring county's management team.

Whatever team wins the All Ireland I will be glad for the genuine supporters of that county because whether it be Kerry or Monaghan etc, they will have had the bad days as well as the good.
Post by: ziggysego on August 06, 2007, 12:27:35 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 06, 2007, 12:13:45 PM
meath fans? anyone remember their ole ole ole against kerry a few years back? hopefully we can fix that next month..... ;D

Not just Tyrone that uses revenge as a motivator I see ;)
Post by: Jinxy on August 06, 2007, 12:38:29 PM
I dunno I must be fierce lucky. I never seem to encounter any bad apples from other counties at big champioship games.
Post by: Sandy Hill on August 06, 2007, 12:56:24 PM
QuoteHowever in 2002 after the semi final, as we left the ground we met nothing but good wishes and charm from the Dubs and so it was up the road, Dub fans waving.

Yes John, have to concur with this and it was the same in the following February when we hammered them in a League match in Croke Park. The worst supporters I met over the last years were from Laois!

QuoteDuring Armagh's national league games the only bad behaviour I witnessed from all there was that of a neighbouring county's management team.

I remember this as well; was he ever punished for this performance? Must say, I would have expected more from an AI winning captain!
Post by: The Claw on August 06, 2007, 02:33:07 PM
Wasnt there on Clonliffe when it happened so wont comment on that. Did not like though the fans behind the Hill booing and jeering at free kick takers, its the one thing that really irks me about the Dub fans. I hope next time it will again be confined to a minority and the rest of the fans wont continue this. Ill go mad if we start jeering an injury, or a 'bee baw' chant. That is the lowest of the low.
Post by: Tankie on August 06, 2007, 03:09:43 PM
I love the way a thread about Meath scumbags has turned into the general abuse of Dublin fans post! Should this thread not be in Dublin GAA as it is obviously another Dublin thread ::)
Post by: Jinxy on August 06, 2007, 03:16:36 PM
I'll be honest about something. The booing of freetakers doesn't really bother me. It isn't something that has just started in the last few years. It was going on back in the 70's during the Dublin/kerry games and was done as much by the Kerry fans as it was by the Dubs. It is usually just the younger crowd that do it and I probably use to do it myself in my salad days standing under the scoreboard on the canal end. SO WHAT! Look at every major sport out there. Any time there is a place kick or penalty or a free throw or whatever, the crowd try to put the player off. If he's worth his salt it won't affect him. I think we expect too much of ourselves sometimes and there is a streak of puritanism in some gaels, that while admirable is unrealistic. Booing a freetaker is pantomime stuff. Booing a player simply for getting the ball during open play is different and I intensely dislike players getting in each others faces and egging the crowd on etc. Booing during frees just isn't worth getting upset about. And the "bee baw" craic is going on for years but if anything is LESS common these days. Honestly lads, I think some of you have forgotten what it's like to be a young lad roaring your team on with your mates. No need to go all Joe Duffy about behaviour at games as long as it doesn't cross the line and become dangerous, i.e. throwing bottles etc. I've been going to Croke Park for big championship games since I was knee high to a grass hopper and I have never threatened anyone or felt threatened in return. People in general these days are good natured and there just to enjoy the game and support their county. Just like they always were.
Post by: magickingdom on August 06, 2007, 03:17:55 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on August 06, 2007, 12:23:52 PM
I watched the 1977 All Ireland in an Irish Centre in the US.  A Dub fan told three of us Armagh fans to f**k off home when it when the game was over.  I'll not mention our reply physical and verbal!  However in 2002 after the semi final I had a 25 year itch that I was dying to get rid of.  However as we left the ground we met nothing but good wishes and charm from the Dubs and so it was up the road, Dub fans waving.  I must admit that I took the actions of one Dub and formed 25 years of prejudice on it.

I believe that all big games, which virtually are all the championship games, attract minorities from every county who are not healthy supporters.  During Armagh's national league games the only bad behaviour I witnessed from all there was that of a neighbouring county's management team.

Whatever team wins the All Ireland I will be glad for the genuine supporters of that county because whether it be Kerry or Monaghan etc, they will have had the bad days as well as the good.

very good post. even that silly dub that made that comment might have regretted it the next day. things get said in the heat of the moment that on 'mature reflection' would not be said...
Post by: thejuice on August 06, 2007, 03:28:17 PM
Well Jinxy,

would you say tearing down the flags was just a bit of craic, maybe i am over-reacting but i felt it went beyond whats acceptable behaviour. I dont expect everyone to be a saint but I just felt to go out and destroy a rivals colours after the game might have cause an unpleasent reaction.
Post by: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 03:29:04 PM
So the tar all brush is only used for the Dubs then? This is total sc**bag behavior and if a bunch of Dub's rightly tried to stop that bunch of Meath scum it could of  ended bad. But of course when its not the dubs involved its just a bit of craic and and does no harm , and best of all ignored by the majority of people where is the likes of Laoislad now ?
Post by: neutral on August 06, 2007, 03:30:42 PM
I seen the lads coming out of the hill and they were loud but looked to be just having the craic, Id read nothing more into it. 
Post by: Tankie on August 06, 2007, 03:44:43 PM
Its great the way all dubs are scumbags for "showboating" on the pitch but a Meath fan rips down a Dublin flag and its a bit of "craic". Very Soccer'ish if i do say so myself!
Post by: Jinxy on August 06, 2007, 03:45:41 PM
Quote from: thejuice on August 06, 2007, 03:28:17 PM
Well Jinxy,

would you say tearing down the flags was just a bit of craic, maybe i am over-reacting but i felt it went beyond whats acceptable behaviour. I dont expect everyone to be a saint but I just felt to go out and destroy a rivals colours after the game might have cause an unpleasent reaction.

To them I'm sure it seemed like just a bit of craic. I wouldn't approve of that sort of behaviour but I honestly don't think it was malicious in nature. I woke up one morning after a night out and there was a traffic cone beside my bed. Like your man that climbed up after the flag, I'm sure it seemed like a good idea at the time!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 03:49:13 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 03:29:04 PM
So the tar all brush is only used for the Dubs then? This is total sc**bag behavior and if a bunch of Dub's rightly tried to stop that bunch of Meath scum it could of  ended bad. But of course when its not the dubs involved its just a bit of craic and and does no harm , and best of all ignored by the majority of people where is the likes of Laoislad now ?

Was at a wedding actually Gnevin but thanks for being concerned of my whereabouts i missed you too
Post by: neutral on August 06, 2007, 03:54:26 PM
If I left a Tyrone flag up at the gates of Croker, how long would it last?
Post by: paddypastit on August 06, 2007, 04:00:47 PM
Galla, your friend needs to get out more.
Post by: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 04:17:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 03:49:13 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 03:29:04 PM

Was at a wedding actually Gnevin but thanks for being concerned of my whereabouts i missed you too
So LL where's the disgust ? the outrage?  the moral offense ?
A bit of pointing and you where nearly a broken man surely you'll have a great deal of outrage here ?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 04:21:02 PM
Wasn't at the match so can't comment Gnevin.Plus i sponsor the Offical Meath GPA Football Calender so i can't speak out against them.Plus it was only a harmless bit of fun and the Meath fans as in Jinky etc don't get as wound up as you do so it wouldn't be any fun...
Post by: Dont Matter on August 06, 2007, 04:46:41 PM
It's interesting that a Meath man started this thread. You'd never see a Dub starting a thread complaining about their own supporters. I dont agree with what the Meath scumbags done and it was lucky the Dublin scumbags were away shooting up because there could of been a lot of trouble.  :P
Post by: Jinxy on August 06, 2007, 04:57:43 PM
It could have "gone off." :D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 06, 2007, 05:01:50 PM
The reason Dublin got so much abuse was that it wasnt a couple of drunk fans acting the eejit but instead members of the team who were supposed to be playing in an important match and who are looked up to by thousands of kids.
Post by: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 05:42:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 04:21:02 PM
Wasn't at the match so can't comment Gnevin.Plus i sponsor the Offical Meath GPA Football Calender so i can't speak out against them.Plus it was only a harmless bit of fun and the Meath fans as in Jinky etc don't get as wound up as you do so it wouldn't be any fun...
Well done  Neo, I mean Laoislad i love how you dodged that . Theirs a link on you tube so you can comment on that. What's sponsoring a calender go to do with anything? Your commenting on the issue not the team or the calender  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 05:47:27 PM
As i said it was a harmless bit of fun..I didn't see any of them throwing bottles at oppostion players or roaring abuse at kids coz they happenend to be wearing the wrong colour jersey..
What would you be saying if it was Dublin fans ripping down the flags i would lay my mortagage on it that you would defend them

Post by: SuperSub on August 06, 2007, 05:54:56 PM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 05, 2007, 11:29:35 PM
QuoteWho'd win? Meath scumbags or Dublin scumbags

I think Dublin because they have more scumbags.

Definatly the Dublin scumbags they wouldn't stop until someone was killed
Post by: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 05:57:18 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 05:47:27 PM
As i said it was a harmless bit of fun..I didn't see any of them throwing bottles at oppostion players or roaring abuse at kids coz they happenend to be wearing the wrong colour jersey..
What would you be saying if it was Dublin fans ripping down the flags i would lay my mortagage on it that you would defend them

Well you owe me one mortgage because I'm not so narrow-minded that i cant see beyond the blue , It was scum bag behaviour and potentially dangerous too. I've never defended scum bag behaviour here and never will .
Post by: SuperSub on August 06, 2007, 06:10:31 PM
I don't think it was sc**bag behaviour.Dangerous though as he would have had a serious drop to the ground if he fell
I think you would have defended them Gnevin.Yourself Tankie and that other fool INDIANA were the only posters not too think that the actions of the Dublin players as regards goading etc wasn't wrong or potentally dangerous as it could have caused a row in the stands
Post by: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 06:21:02 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on August 06, 2007, 06:10:31 PM
I don't think it was sc**bag behaviour.Dangerous though as he would have had a serious drop to the ground if he fell
I think you would have defended them Gnevin.Yourself Tankie and that other fool INDIANA were the only posters not too think that the actions of the Dublin players as regards goading etc wasn't wrong or potentally dangerous as it could have caused a row in the stands
Climbing up a poll and destoring a flag is not scum bag behaviour, catch a grip!
We weren't the only ones many others here  and in the media who said it was blow out of all proportion, I also said it was wrong but no worse than the veribal heard up and down the country  .You and LL are the one's who seem to think that you can say anything you want but never point which is total crap or maybe the Dublin players should of punched the Laois players ........... cue 20 thread
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 06, 2007, 07:28:46 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 06, 2007, 06:21:02 PM
Climbing up a poll and destoring a flag is not scum bag behaviour, catch a grip!
We weren't the only ones many others here  and in the media who said it was blow out of all proportion, I also said it was wrong but no worse than the veribal heard up and down the country  .You and LL are the one's who seem to think that you can say anything you want but never point which is total crap or maybe the Dublin players should of punched the Laois players ........... cue 20 thread

Maybe they should have it might have fired up the Laois players a bit,because we certainly needed something we were so bad in that second half
I was gonna say maybe they should of and we could have won if ye had a few players sent off for hitting a Laois player but we all know a Dublin player won't be sent off in Croke Park anytime soon :P
Post by: DB_An_Mhi on August 06, 2007, 11:36:12 PM
Saw two Dublin flags been taken down in the post match celebrations. I'm not one to condone oafish behaviour but it was just a spur of the moment thing amid all the excitement. Even the Tyrone fans saw the funny side and had a laugh about it. In fairness, I think one was mounted on a road traffic sign so no harm done. If it was in someones garden, their personal property well then it would be a different story altogether.
Post by: we are blue... etc on August 06, 2007, 11:48:48 PM
Call me alarmist but to me it's a sign of the way GAA is going. Used to be that you went to a game to support your own team, cheered your own points and had a chat with the fella from the other side who was sitting beside you. Now you also have to jeer/boo the opposing team, cheer their wides, and jump up and down in the face of the fella beside you. Which all counties are guilty of nowadays I should add.
Post by: stephenite on August 06, 2007, 11:56:13 PM
You're alarmist
Post by: his holiness nb on August 07, 2007, 09:52:38 AM
Talking of alarmist, I dont think they should have taken the flag down, but these threads of Meath Fans V Dubs fans V other counties fans are looking more and more like shamrock rovers fans v bohs fans threads.
If you are looking for a sign of how the GAA is going you only need to read a lot of the stuff on this site, very dissappoining.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 07, 2007, 11:33:48 AM
I'm certainly no fan of the Dubs fans or more correctly a section of them but IMO what these Meath "so called" fans did was dangerous and was the actions of scumbags. Nothing funny about it, to disrespect another counties flag in their own home town is inulting to the people of that county and is provocative. If they had caused a row who would have got the blame and more importantly what would that have said about the state of the GAA and the direction a section of our support is going. Media would have had a fiedl day and all because of a few gurriers.
The booing at matches is getting out of hand has now started to creep into hurling as well and some of the comments made by Cork and Waterford fans on Sunday were a disgrace, usually hurling fans can appreciate the skill of other players but that appears to be fast disappearing in that code as well - if people don't face up to reality about the "thuggish" element now attaching itself to all county teams then the days of segregated seating in Croker isn't far away.Thankfully it is still a minority but the minority seems to be growing.
Reality is that the guys that pulled down the Dublin flags and their "ike" are simply at the game for a day out on the beer and whether their county wins or not is almost incidental - sad state of affairs.  :(
Post by: Gnevin on August 07, 2007, 02:10:07 PM
Quote from: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 07, 2007, 11:33:48 AM
I'm certainly no fan of the Dubs fans or more correctly a section of them but IMO what these Meath "so called" fans did was dangerous and was the actions of scumbags. Nothing funny about it, to disrespect another counties flag in their own home town is inulting to the people of that county and is provocative. If they had caused a row who would have got the blame and more importantly what would that have said about the state of the GAA and the direction a section of our support is going. Media would have had a fiedl day and all because of a few gurriers.
The booing at matches is getting out of hand has now started to creep into hurling as well and some of the comments made by Cork and Waterford fans on Sunday were a disgrace, usually hurling fans can appreciate the skill of other players but that appears to be fast disappearing in that code as well - if people don't face up to reality about the "thuggish" element now attaching itself to all county teams then the days of segregated seating in Croker isn't far away.Thankfully it is still a minority but the minority seems to be growing.
Reality is that the guys that pulled down the Dublin flags and their "ike" are simply at the game for a day out on the beer and whether their county wins or not is almost incidental - sad state of affairs.  :(
Well said . I agree 100% that if this had of turned the soccer media would get miles out of the story
Post by: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 05:07:15 PM
I think the thing people are missing is that it wasnt too serious an issue and i would not be getting upset about it at all, but the surprising thing is that people seem to think that this is ok behavior. A one off incident like thi is grand but this type of stuff can then lead to flags been taken from peoples gardens and then onto peoples proporty is being damaged.
Post by: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 05:25:30 PM
Dangerous though as he would have had a serious drop to the ground if he fell

Pardon my French, f**k him if he did, if he was big enough to get up there to do that, then he was big enough to take the consequences, no?
Post by: Tankie on August 07, 2007, 06:30:00 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on August 07, 2007, 05:25:30 PM
Dangerous though as he would have had a serious drop to the ground if he fell

Pardon my French, f**k him if he did, if he was big enough to get up there to do that, then he was big enough to take the consequences, no?

I'm sure he would have tried to sue somebody as they did not stop him from getting up there!