Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 05:57:22 PM

Title: Golf Clubs
Post by: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 05:57:22 PM
Anyone know a good place to buy some new clubs, or what is a good set to get. My old ones are done and need something to replace them.
Title: Re: Golf Clubs
Post by: Square Ball on August 01, 2007, 06:09:04 PM
Quote from: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 05:57:22 PM
Anyone know a good place to buy some new clubs, or what is a good set to get. My old ones are done and need something to replace them.

apparently there is a sports shop in Yorkgate doing a clear out sale, mate of mine bought a driver reduced from £185 to £35 nd there were a lot of other clubs for sale, cant see the big fuss made over golf myself
Post by: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 06:12:44 PM
Thanks for that. Im not big into it just like playing a bit every now and again with a few mates. Joined a club and hated it; too many people complaining that everyone wasnt adhering to the dress code and the rules etc etc. I was just playing for a bita craic so didn't join any more clubs.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 01, 2007, 06:28:47 PM
Quote from: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 06:12:44 PM
Thanks for that. Im not big into it just like playing a bit every now and again with a few mates. Joined a club and hated it; too many people complaining that everyone wasnt adhering to the dress code and the rules etc etc. I was just playing for a bita craic so didn't join any more clubs.

You can get great deals on ebay from pro shops, or check out some of the golf magazine web sites, they usually have shops attached to them. I have previously used these shops and got great bargains.
Post by: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 06:44:25 PM
yea but the problem is i dont know what im lookin for in the first place
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 01, 2007, 08:24:37 PM
I have a set of Nike iorns that i bought in Mcguriks golf in Dublin cost me 600euro.But you can buy lovely complete sets  inc iorns and woods for around 300euro
I bought my driver and woods on internet
Post by: Orior on August 01, 2007, 09:55:44 PM
If you dont know what you are looking for then trot along to Nevada Bobs and have a swing with a number of sets in your price range. Buy the ones that feel good.
Post by: Balboa on August 01, 2007, 10:04:55 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 01, 2007, 09:55:44 PM
If you dont know what you are looking for then trot along to Nevada Bobs and have a swing with a number of sets in your price range. Buy the ones that feel good.

Nevada Bobs can be a bit on the steep side, there is a good site www.golfbidder.co.uk. Its like a golf clubs ebay with clubs all rated 1 - 10 by their condition, 10 being brand new, they have a huge range.
Post by: magickingdom on August 01, 2007, 11:02:29 PM
taylor made drivers are very popular these days, so have a look at them...
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 01, 2007, 11:04:04 PM
http://www.thesportshq.com/Products.asp?CategoryID=14//

Seems a decent place to start..

I recently bought a set of Palmer Bay Hill golf clubs. They seem grand to me. Won an auction on ebay £79.

EDIT: Full set, brand new by the way!!
Post by: Orior on August 01, 2007, 11:27:27 PM
Is there such a thing as a bad set of golf clubs?

If you consistently miss the wee white sphere, or hit the big green/blue sphere before you hit the wee white sphere, then £1000 set of clubs aint worth a fiddlers fart.
Post by: joebloggs on August 01, 2007, 11:28:35 PM
what would be the difference between the fake and real ones? apart from them being fake obviously
Post by: Lecale2 on August 02, 2007, 08:49:42 AM
What do you mean by fakes?
Is someone likely to send you a tennis racket instead of a golf club and hope you don't notice?
Post by: Deal_Me_In on August 02, 2007, 08:55:40 AM
there are companies that take the top renage of clubs such as Nike, Callaway, Tayloemade etc and copy them, and produce their own similar clubs at a fraction of the price. These are as good as most novice/intermediate golfers require. Low handicappers may perfer teh better club but you have to pay for these.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 02, 2007, 09:54:21 AM
got a taylormade driver for Christmas and tried it out thee a couple of weeks ago - certainly far better than the driver I had prev.
Post by: maddog on August 02, 2007, 10:04:23 AM
Answer me this lads, do any of you play kack handed? I do. I've tried the proper grip and it feels like im swinging a length of hose at a cat. I've been told that its impossible to play with a left handed grip with right handed clubs. Any views?
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 02, 2007, 10:12:30 AM
Quote from: maddog on August 02, 2007, 10:04:23 AM
Answer me this lads, do any of you play kack handed? I do. I've tried the proper grip and it feels like im swinging a length of hose at a cat. I've been told that its impossible to play with a left handed grip with right handed clubs. Any views?
I played my first round of golf many moons agoi like that- only at the end my golfing expert friend copped on what I was doing.
if you play reg or intend to, then get lessons and you will eventually get used to it.

But people adjust to whatever is most comfortable for themselves and what produces the best results for them.
If this is good for you then feck it. two fingers up to convention and you can always feel that you are a golfing rebel!
Post by: David McKeown on August 02, 2007, 01:20:47 PM
One of the guys I used to play with played kack handed and he played off 5 by the time we stopped playing, so it can be done.
Post by: corn02 on August 02, 2007, 01:24:19 PM
Newish golf shop down in Greenbank , Newry, quite dear though.
Post by: Orior on August 02, 2007, 01:41:59 PM

Maddog,

My best advice is to cut 2 inches from the top of each of your clubs.

That way they'll fit in the dustbin better!
Post by: maddog on August 02, 2007, 01:55:27 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on August 02, 2007, 01:20:47 PM
One of the guys I used to play with played kack handed and he played off 5 by the time we stopped playing, so it can be done.

Thats good enough for me and feck the conventionalists
Post by: maddog on August 02, 2007, 01:56:23 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 02, 2007, 01:41:59 PM

That way they'll fit in the dustbin better!

Take your joke books out of the bottom and they will go in fine. ;)
Post by: rosnarun on August 02, 2007, 05:05:09 PM
if your grip feels comfortable straight off its probably wrong. get someone to show you a proper grip and stick with it for a few rounds and your half way there. I played cack anded for the first two years but never saw any omprovement untill
I went Straight .
Now the Lord loves me
Post by: Hardy on August 02, 2007, 05:14:40 PM
Inspired by Orior:

What's the difference between a custom set of Taylor-Made woods and a Chinese fake set?

The real ones take longer to burn.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 02, 2007, 11:33:27 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on August 02, 2007, 08:49:42 AM
Is someone likely to send you a tennis racket instead of a golf club and hope you don't notice?

Brilliant!! - Giggling away to myself!!  :D
Post by: Orior on August 03, 2007, 12:01:19 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on August 02, 2007, 11:33:27 PM

Sorry, I missed that too. Classic!
Post by: Silky on August 03, 2007, 09:30:43 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on August 02, 2007, 11:33:27 PM

Excellent Lecale2!!
Post by: aidanmcg33 on August 03, 2007, 11:41:25 AM
Been lookin for clubs myself. Anyone know what these would be like?
http://www.nevadabobs.co.uk/Golf-Clubs/Irons/4scid/640prodid.asp
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 03, 2007, 11:44:51 AM
Their the same as mine they are very good.Them ones are left handed though
Post by: aidanmcg33 on August 03, 2007, 11:49:33 AM
 >:( They picture shows right handed clubs yet the clubs are left handed  >:( what sort of a crap website is that  :D
Post by: aidanmcg33 on August 04, 2007, 03:21:05 PM
Wheres a good place to get some lessons and advice on what clubs could suit you?