GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: JBM on the 21 on August 01, 2007, 05:55:28 PM

Title: Gripe with the GAA
Post by: JBM on the 21 on August 01, 2007, 05:55:28 PM

After what has gone on this week with the rescheduling of the Cork - Waterford match, I have a few gripes to get of my chest

To me the GAA seems obsessed with the maximizing of profits:
Three issues stand out for me:

(1) Scheduling of Dublin matches on their own and in Croke Park.

Let's say Dublin play Kerry in the All-Ireland semi. Why should the game be played in Croke Park? Its not an All-Ireland final.

People will trot out the argument that Croke Park holds over 80000 and thus is the only stadium that could cater for this game - that's great but is it fair when you have 80000 Dubs and only 2000
from Kerry (who most set out from their homes at 6am that morning to catch the train up. Try telling a man down in Waterville who has two young lads onto him about going to the match in Dublin - that's a 7 hour trip to Dublin (not much change from 500 euro from the day out)

(2) Regarding the Cork -Waterford match next Sunday, the obvious choice would have been Thurles, but realizing that due to the recent history of Kilkenny - Wexford matches, they
would be lucky to get 30000 in the gates; put the Cork/Waterford game on after it, that will add 50000 more (and it is all pure profit, they get a nice tidy profit with the inflated ticket prices
at Croker without having to worry about opening Thurles as well.
(3)Does it really make sense to have a situation like last Sunday with 4 Munster counties converging on the Naas dual carriageway - it took me 7 hours to get back home to Cork.
  On top of that (here's the beauty), they are charging an extra 10 Euro (tickets are 45 Euro because it is a semi-final day) for the match next Sunday!.
I know a lad who took the wife and two kids to the match last Sunday (cost him well over 500 by the time the day was finished and now he is being asked by his kids to go again next Saturday to see the Sligo match, stay over night to attend the Waterford match the next day. Was it beyond them to maybe reschedule the matches (i.e move the Meath/Tyrone to Sunday or Kilkenny/Wexford to Saturday to allow a doubling up of the Cork games) and before anyone says anything about rescheduling, it has already happened this summer :
The Leinster Council also decided last night to put the Wexford v Kildare/Offaly football semi-final back by a week to Sunday, July 2 when it will be played as part of the doubleheader with the Kilkenny v
Wexford Leinster hurling final. That leaves the Dublin v Laois football semi-final as a stand-alone fixture on Sunday week. It will have a 2.0 throw-in which is good news for TV fans as it can now be shown
'live'.

The GAA should not forget where it has come from and  start realizing that the organization was built from the ground up by generations giving their free time to their communities to develop pitches and community halls and not asking for anything in return. When they start going down the road of catering for the corporate fan, then they deserve what they will get.

If the GAA had some vision, they would redevelop Thurles and move more of the matches there. Then again, they finished the redevelopment of the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick over 3 years ago
and it has yet to see a major final
Cork should get rid of Frank, he is obviously not doing his job!
Title: Re: Gripe with the GAA
Post by: armaghniac on August 01, 2007, 06:42:34 PM
Whatever you think of Dublin in general it makes sense to use a venue that accommodates the maximum proportion of people who want to attend to attend rather than giving games to venues just to say that you moved it around.

There may only be 2000 Kerry people there, but quite a few more Cork people found it possible it attend last week.

A lot of this has to do with long term and premium tickets in Croke Pk where there is an understanding, real or implied, that most big games will be held there. I think long term ticketing needs to looked at, as mentioned in another thread.
Post by: Gnevin on August 01, 2007, 06:47:40 PM
Are you finished crying ?
Your the type would come on here crying that you where being made played in the sticks and you have every right to in Croke Park.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 01, 2007, 06:56:18 PM
By maximising profits you maximise attendances. These guys are in charge of running the gaa and if they werent trying to maximise revenue and attendances then serious questions have to be asked of their ability to hold such positions. I see your point about playing it in Thurles but think both teams would rather have another go in Crole Park.
Post by: JBM on the 21 on August 01, 2007, 07:58:17 PM
What you are both saying regarding premium ticket holders and trying to maximize profits is fine but this is a replay, so it was never intended as part of the income projections for Croke Park at the start of the season.
Post by: Gnevin on August 01, 2007, 08:19:01 PM
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 01, 2007, 07:58:17 PM
What you are both saying regarding premium ticket holders and trying to maximize profits is fine but this is a replay, so it was never intended as part of the income projections for Croke Park at the start of the season.

Hense they have seen the chance to maximize income.
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2007, 09:20:56 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 01, 2007, 08:19:01 PM
[Hense they have seen the chance to maximize income.

And to hell with the ordinary fans of Cork/Waterford? ???
As the man said -come on GAA remember where we came from and who put us where we are now.
Post by: johnpower on August 01, 2007, 09:30:58 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 01, 2007, 08:19:01 PM
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 01, 2007, 07:58:17 PM

Hense they have seen the chance to maximize income.

Actuallly maximising profit is not a bad idea .Let Market forces take charge . The pricing of tickets could be based on Supply and demand .
Post by: blast05 on August 01, 2007, 09:47:01 PM
Quotegiving their free time to their communities to develop pitches and community halls and not asking for anything in return

They do ask for something - they ask for grants and they get them, they look for coaching camps and they get them ....... and of course the money comes from all of these 'additional' gate receipts.
All these gripes suggest the thing that wrecks my head .... that when people talk about the GAA in this context that its as if the GAA is some bloke trying to maximise his profits to have more money for a bigger yacht or another Ferrari.

Post by: Datsun Donaghy on August 01, 2007, 10:08:11 PM
QuotePeople will trot out the argument that Croke Park holds over 80000 and thus is the only stadium that could cater for this game - that's great but is it fair when you have 80000 Dubs and only 2000
from Kerry (who most set out from their homes at 6am that morning to catch the train up. Try telling a man down in Waterville who has two young lads onto him about going to the match in Dublin - that's a 7 hour trip to Dublin (not much change from 500 euro from the day out)

Do you really think you would get 2,000 Kerry fans for this game - after all it's not the final!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

500 euro ? - must be pretty spoilt in the first place - might be good to let them slum it on 400 euro! - don't you agree?
Post by: johnpower on August 01, 2007, 10:14:05 PM
What numbers will Tyrone bring on Saturday or given your recent success will you be waiting for the final Imagine the surprise when you meet the neighbours waiting for you
Post by: 2ams on August 01, 2007, 10:28:27 PM
Quote from: johnpower on August 01, 2007, 10:14:05 PM
What numbers will Tyrone bring on Saturday or given your recent success will you be waiting for the final Imagine the surprise when you meet the neighbours waiting for you
monaghan?
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2007, 10:35:53 PM
Have to agree with original poster, €45 for a replay is rip-off. No disrespect to Kilkenny/Wexford but it is a nothing game which will generate little or no interest in even the participating counties. Look you have to generate revenue, but is the GAA ethic of an Amateur organisation with family orientated values being lost. The biggest fear i always have with people paying big money to attend matches is that it heightens the weight of pressure on AMATEUR players. if you are paying PROFESSIONAL prices in a PROFESSIONAL stadium to see games, you expect more and the player is who it falls on. GAA is PROFESSIONAL in approach but really is amateur and this is the abuse when you look at entry prices!
Post by: blast05 on August 01, 2007, 10:44:48 PM
QuoteHave to agree with original poster, €45 for a replay is rip-off.

Precedent was set last year when Mayo v Laois replay was played as a curtain raiser to Kilkenny versus Clare i think. Not even the same sport so you had a large chunk of the Mayo following leaving cos they had zero interest in the hurling
Post by: magickingdom on August 01, 2007, 10:58:02 PM
E45 for an ai q-final and semi-final is hardly a rip off. some of the ticket prices for concerts during th summer were twice that price..
Post by: Gnevin on August 01, 2007, 10:58:51 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2007, 10:35:53 PM
Quote from: blast05 on August 01, 2007, 10:44:48 PM

Precedent was set last year when Mayo v Laois replay was played as a curtain raiser to Kilkenny versus Clare i think. Not even the same sport so you had a large chunk of the Mayo following leaving cos they had zero interest in the hurling
Precedent was set long before that , your the under card to an all -Ireland semi which was priced at 45 at the start of the year
Post by: Gnevin on August 01, 2007, 11:01:39 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 01, 2007, 10:58:02 PM
E45 for an ai q-final and semi-final is hardly a rip off. some of the ticket prices for concerts during th summer were twice that price..
I agree  magic , moaning **** the lot of them how much do they expect to pay for it a 5er ?
I mean 45 would  just about get you 2 LOI games and thats shite
Post by: Pangurban on August 02, 2007, 12:02:34 AM
Big Difference, LOI has pro or semi pro players, directors,shareholders who all have to be paid. It is a sad fact that in its pricing structure and fixture placement, the GAA has of late being neglecting the ordinary members and their families who are the backbone of the association. If this problem is not realised and addressed their will beconsequences for the association. Tis far from Corporate Boxes and entertainment we were all reared, and the same is true of the GAA
Post by: JBM on the 21 on August 02, 2007, 12:20:40 AM
The GAA have figured out that there are a lot of 1st and 2nd generational supporters living and working  (in professional jobs) in the Greater Dublin area who still maintain their ties with their county of birth and the are the ones that the GAA seems to be targeting. To hell with the fans back in the mother county that have to fork out for trains and hotel rooms and matches that don't start till 4pm, meaning that they won't get back home till near midnight.
Post by: David McKeown on August 02, 2007, 12:40:22 AM
To get back to the original point about 2000 Kerry fans to 80,000 dubs at the semi final.  Would the dubs still have all of the hill?  This still annoys me, surely its a neutral venue and tickets should be split the same way they would be were Dublin not involved
Post by: Gnevin on August 02, 2007, 12:44:40 AM
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 02, 2007, 12:20:40 AM
The GAA have figured out that there are a lot of 1st and 2nd generational supporters living and working  (in professional jobs) in the Greater Dublin area who still maintain their ties with their county of birth and the are the ones that the GAA seems to be targeting. To hell with the fans back in the mother county that have to fork out for trains and hotel rooms and matches that don't start till 4pm, meaning that they won't get back home till near midnight.
Stop moan for the love of god i mean if the game threw in at 2 you'd be home 2 hours earlier at 10 , big f**king deal . And then you no doubt be complaining about having to get up at 6 in the morning instead of 8 . No matter how you look at the GAA represents great value for what you get 45 euro each's you 2 top class games. show me where you can beat that!.

Let the GAA know when you invent your wormhole machine so everyone can get home in 10 minutes no matter where the game is.

Quote from: Pangurban on August 02, 2007, 12:02:34 AM
Big Difference, LOI has pro or semi pro players, directors,shareholders who all have to be paid. It is a sad fact that in its pricing structure and fixture placement, the GAA has of late being neglecting the ordinary members and their families who are the backbone of the association. If this problem is not realised and addressed their will beconsequences for the association. Tis far from Corporate Boxes and entertainment we were all reared, and the same is true of the GAA
No the big difference is your pay 20 ish for pure shite at LOI games your getting top class football and hurling here. Irieland is a dear place to live and the GAA needs to buy things at these inflated price . Sure the GAA could sell tickets for 5 euro and next year we'd have people moaning their funds where cut
Post by: Gnevin on August 02, 2007, 12:47:21 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on August 02, 2007, 12:40:22 AM
To get back to the original point about 2000 Kerry fans to 80,000 dubs at the semi final.  Would the dubs still have all of the hill?  This still annoys me, surely its a neutral venue and tickets should be split the same way they would be were Dublin not involved
Surely the last time people outside Dublin where offered tickets for  hill all that turn up was 5 naggin drink Meath fans  maybe we should not use the ticket when you's refuse them , Jesus Christ do you idiots even think about what your saying ?
Post by: Dont Matter on August 02, 2007, 12:56:39 AM
Why do other counties return their tickets for the Hill Gnevin?
Post by: Gnevin on August 02, 2007, 01:00:32 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 02, 2007, 12:56:39 AM
Why do other counties return their tickets for the Hill Gnevin?
How should i know ? But the fact they return is alot different to not being offered them
Post by: Dont Matter on August 02, 2007, 01:07:04 AM
They return them for health and safety reasons. That's the nicest way I can put it.
Post by: Gnevin on August 02, 2007, 01:17:39 AM
Quote from: Dont Matter on August 02, 2007, 01:07:04 AM
They return them for health and safety reasons. That's the nicest way I can put it.
Can you please provide a link to that stinking pile of bullshit ? Or is this "common knowledge" . Armagh and Tyrone fans where both on the hills with the Dubs and their was no problems and i respect them for not buying into this f**king horseshit.

Now show me proof or withdraw your lie!
Post by: JBM on the 21 on August 02, 2007, 01:35:56 AM

Stop moan for the love of god i mean if the game threw in at 2 you'd be home 2 hours earlier at 10 , big f**king deal . And then you no doubt be complaining about having to get up at 6 in the morning instead of 8 . No matter how you look at the GAA represents great value for what you get 45 euro each's you 2 top class games. show me where you can beat that!.

Right you are mate - 45 Euro for 2 top class matches - instead of forking out your 1.20 for the bus from your pad to Croker, try maybe contemplating the Dubs playing a championship match down in Limerick  and the logistics that go into it.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 08:43:00 AM
Regarding having the hurling in Thurles, what about the Cork fans hoping to attend both hurling and football this weekend?
Surely it would be more economical for them to have both games in Dublin??
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 02, 2007, 09:49:49 AM
I personally think the price of tickets are a bit steep.
One ticket is not too hard to pay off, but if you have a family and attend loads of games (if you are lucky to support a successful side)
then it all adds up.

Yous could all be more like us Derry fans - either too poor to afford the tickets or too mean to spend the money.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2007, 09:58:32 AM
Its amazing...if they don't get playing in Croke Park they complain...if they do play in Croke Park they complain!!!!

The team/managment want to play in Croke Park...the fans get a weekend in Dublin seeing their football/hurling teams play...

45 Euro for 3 matches is not that much money really....its less than a meal out or a night on teh beer or less than a Nintendo game etc...
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 02, 2007, 10:07:06 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2007, 09:58:32 AM
Its amazing...if they don't get playing in Croke Park they complain...if they do play in Croke Park they complain!!!!

The team/managment want to play in Croke Park...the fans get a weekend in Dublin seeing their football/hurling teams play...

45 Euro for 3 matches is not that much money really....its less than a meal out or a night on teh beer or less than a Nintendo game etc...
thats understandable, but you are thinking of this on your own terms.
Picture yourself with a mortgage (living in Cavan or portlaoise no doubt) shopaholic wife, three kids under the age of 8.
Your missus is football mad too and you have to go as a family to all the games Dublin play.

Those days there are no nights out on the beer, no time to watch or buy nintendo, and a meal out is a no no as you cant get a babysitter and if you could after what it costs, you can only afford a takeaway

no everyone in Ireland became flush with cash after the celtic tiger. Even those who did would still struggle to bring themselves , wife and kids up to Croker,clones, pairc ui caoimh etc etc numerous times in the summer without it putting a big dent in the finances - throw in the prospect of a sun holiday - something has to give..
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 02, 2007, 10:17:49 AM
Lynchboy

Thats why I don't go on the auld sun holiday....my disposable income is spent going to the football....
Stop the wife shopping and give the kids the choice of going to the matches or going on a sun holiday etc....the same way you don't spend 500 Euro on going to a match with the family...
Post by: 6th sam on August 02, 2007, 10:37:48 AM
As a neutral GAA fan,I can't understand this antagonism for the Dubs.
The atmosphere generated in Croke with the Dubs playing is the envy of every other sport in Ireland.The behaviour of Dubs fans and players isn't always perfect,but the same could be send of every other county.
Regarding paying for tickets-GAA tickets are competitive when compared to other sports and events.The fact that players aren't paid out of gate receipts is irrelevant,the GAA has chosen to spend it's money in other ways--primarily development of our games,while other sports have made a decision to pay their players.
Regarding the cost of tickets,I know  many Irish people who would be described as low income ,who purchase season tickets for cross-channel soccer clubs and regularly travel to watch their team.They manage to budget accordingly.Meanwhile we have so-called fans here who expect the GAA to bankroll their hobby of watching an occasional AISFC game[maximum 10 games/year].I took my kids to a number of county games this year NFL,USFC and Qualifiers,and they didn't have to pay in once!What other organisation provides such free access to kids ,and gets no credit for it.

Regarding complaints about going to Croke Park too often:as a Down fan I can't wait until we get a chance to make that particular complaint.

Post by: Msgr. Horan on August 02, 2007, 11:06:40 AM
Quote from: blast05 on August 01, 2007, 10:44:48 PM

I think alot of that was in the interests of getting home to be honest. I was at that game and would have loved to stay and watch it (although it was a bit one sided in the end), but with two young fellas with me it was too tempting to flake off early and get home at a reasonable time. We had been on the road since 6:30 allready that day, leaving then would have us home around 9, not midnight which it would probably having been waiting for that.. Waiting the extra 90 odd minutes would have meant alot more people leaving at the same time as well.
Post by: Gnevin on August 02, 2007, 11:12:16 AM
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 02, 2007, 01:35:56 AM

Right you are mate - 45 Euro for 2 top class matches - instead of forking out your 1.20 for the bus from your pad to Croker, try maybe contemplating the Dubs playing a championship match down in Limerick  and the logistics that go into it.
The stadium has to be some where now luckily  for me and other Dubs it's Dublin ,if the game was in Limerick , I'd go to Limerick , some people are never happy. The GAA tickets are v reasonable how do the FAI want for a friendly, 65 is it? For one game that if it was a challenge match in the GAA you'd get in for free!
Post by: jungle on August 02, 2007, 11:22:38 AM
totally agree with JBM on the 21.
Post by: magickingdom on August 02, 2007, 12:37:37 PM
Quote from: JBM on the 21 on August 01, 2007, 05:55:28 PM

After what has gone on this week with the rescheduling of the Cork - Waterford match, I have a few gripes to get of my chest

To me the GAA seems obsessed with the maximizing of profits:
Three issues stand out for me:

(1) Scheduling of Dublin matches on their own and in Croke Park.

Let's say Dublin play Kerry in the All-Ireland semi. Why should the game be played in Croke Park? Its not an All-Ireland final.

People will trot out the argument that Croke Park holds over 80000 and thus is the only stadium that could cater for this game - that's great but is it fair when you have 80000 Dubs and only 2000
from Kerry
(who most set out from their homes at 6am that morning to catch the train up. Try telling a man down in Waterville who has two young lads onto him about going to the match in Dublin - that's a 7 hour trip to Dublin (not much change from 500 euro from the day out)

this shit drived me nuts! when have kerry ever played dublin in front of 82,000 people and only 2000 were from kerry?
as for the comments on hill 16, let the dubs have it. look at the atmosphere they bring? a number of kerry players have said they loved scoring into the hill 16 end in front of the dubs!
Post by: orangeman on August 02, 2007, 01:35:02 PM
My take on this is that there only a few occasions when you get to go to Croke Park to support your team - what's the big deal if it's €10 extra - it's Croke Park - Some counties don't ever get to Croke Park - EVER - So stop crying !!!
Post by: orangeman on August 02, 2007, 01:38:07 PM
And by the way - somebody has to pay for all the wages that paid out to all those who work there on match day - The players get big expenses and big feeds - so that's where the money goes to after all - you should be grateful we have such a fine HQ !! And if you want, you can a wee bit extra in !!
Post by: magpie seanie on August 02, 2007, 03:04:34 PM
I feel genuinely sorry for the cork supporters and they can rest assured that Sligo and Waterford will do their level best this weekend to end their misery!
Post by: Romeo on August 02, 2007, 04:14:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 02, 2007, 03:04:34 PM
I feel genuinely sorry for the cork supporters and they can rest assured that Sligo and Waterford will do their level best this weekend to end their misery!

;D ;D Sure they'd whinge as well if they weren't there!