Great thread going on AFR.
Leaving aside Dublin and Limerick's many holes, I'd give the nod to either Clonmel or Cashel.
Scumbags evrywhere
Strabane must be up there.....
they are shitholes, i'd probraby stick Cork and longord in there aswell!
Athy
I'd say Dundalk.
Sligo town isnt great either, went for a night out there once and it was like a scene from a wild west film.
south belfast (minus the holylands of course) and yes that includes stranmillis....worst!!!
Lurgan?
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 26, 2007, 02:36:38 PM
I nominate Athy from Kildare....
a shithole near athy?
Mon - Clones
Arm - Lurgan
Down - Kilcoo
TY - Fintona
L'Derry - Limavady
Fermanagh - Belcoo
Donegal - Killybegs
Ky Auvin - Belturbet
Meath - Bettystown
Louth - Scumdalk
Longford - Granard
Kildare - Clane
ha ha
I'd say every one bar two or three of these came up on the AFR thread
Good call on Granard, total kip
Also New Ross, Taghmon and all the other Pikeytowns in Wexford, as well as Ballinasloe
Belturbet's grand, jaysus it isn't a patch on the likes of Granard, Clonmel or Dundalk
Its not the worst, but all the towns in Ky Auvin (bar 'the town') are pretty much the same
craigavon! hands down nothin in it but drug dealers and burnt out houses
granard, kilanaleck, dundawk, kells, rathangan, strabane, omagh, dungannon, cookstown, new buildings, coleraine, portrush, port stewat, larne, belfast, carlow, gorey, arklow, cahir, clonmel,
Clonmel
Good to see Granard at number one Lynchbhoy
Quoteall the towns in Ky Auvin (bar 'the town') are pretty much the same
That's true but jaysus have you been to any of these other towns, f**k me like Granard!
There's not a town in Cavan that bad. Lynchbhoy, Kilnaleck is dull fair enough, but there are 15 odd pubs and no scumbags like, say, Ballinasloe or Longford town or wherever... I mean Clonmel. Come on!
the beer gardens in clones when lurgan ones arrive, dont mind the buckfast but the wkd blue... losers!
Mooncat you're a disgrace
Larne
Quote from: thebandit on July 26, 2007, 02:40:10 PM
Mon - Clones
Arm - Lurgan
Down - Kilcoo
TY - Fintona
L'Derry - Limavady
Fermanagh - Belcoo
Donegal - Killybegs
Ky Auvin - Belturbet
Meath - Bettystown
Louth - Scumdalk
Longford - Granard
Kildare - Clane
I can't see why Belcoo has made the list. It's hardly that big a place for it be classed a shit hole. Sure it has no night life and most of they young people go out in Enniskillen or surrounding border towns. And before anyone from Fermanagh says it yes Enniskillen does have a few shitty areas with shitty people, but all towns are the same.
Oh I nearly forgot Laytown, its like the worst part of north inner city Dublin was airlifted out and banished to Meath!
newbridge!
townies fighting with blow-ins, fighting with culchies fightin with army lads fightin with horsey lads fightin with foreigners
Tuam, Ballyhaunis, Bundoran are dumps.
Granard.
keady
portadown
Wouldn't agree that it's a shithole but for jaysus sake what's with the inhabitants of Kilnaleck and their complete inability to park a car. It's a fcukin' maze everytime you go through it with abandoned cars.
QuoteI'd say Cootehill is the biggest shit-hole in Cavan. Granard is the biggest hole I know but Edgewortstown and areas of Longford town aren't far behind (sorry Longford).
Hit the nail on the head there Homer!
Keady, suppose the towns not too bad, just the people that live in it!!!
Quote from: Hollow Man on July 26, 2007, 02:57:14 PM
Good to see Granard at number one Lynchbhoy
Quoteall the towns in Ky Auvin (bar 'the town') are pretty much the same
That's true but jaysus have you been to any of these other towns, f**k me like Granard!
There's not a town in Cavan that bad. Lynchbhoy, Kilnaleck is dull fair enough, but there are 15 odd pubs and no scumbags like, say, Ballinasloe or Longford town or wherever... I mean Clonmel. Come on!
just you drive through Kilanaleck with your car window down and come back to me HM
Seriously
I've had to go to funerals and masses in that area, plus evn had to spend a few hours in one particular pub in the town.
Each time I was not far off boking.
Its vile.
What do you call that place that is the home of Shamrock Rovers? Oh yeah thats right they don't have a home
banbridge!
Newbuildings has my vote with Ballymena not far behind but the biggest shit hole award has to go to Larne, jesus couldn't wait to get out it.
castledawson,strabane,bundoran,antrim town,larne,clones,dungannon,magherafelt,newcastle,keady,
Jaysus, what's with the Strabane-beating?? It's not that bad ???
Cant believe it took Tuam so long to get a mention!!!
Crossmaglen.....while not necessarily a shithole has to be the most depression inducing town I have ever set foot in.......closely followed by gorgeous Granard!
Quote from: Rois on July 26, 2007, 05:09:45 PM
unles it changed rois,i worked in it about 10 years ago and jesus it was a dive
Lurgan
Larne
portrush
Bally fecking mena
Ballinasloe Co Galway.
AKA: Knackerville.
Oh yeah and Kerry.
I, too, would like to give Granard my number 1.
Is there a prize giving? Billy is abroad at the moment and I am sure he would like to vote Granard as well.
I'd also like to vote Granard.
Roscommon aswell.
**** **** ya ******** ya
Lisburn- a city without a decent night club! :D
Portlaoise is a bit of a kip..Sorry Laoislad :-[
Gotta agree with Clonmel, a complete dump
i know we're not really doing cities but Belfast has to get a mention. Pure spides...!!
Quote from: lurganblue on July 26, 2007, 08:48:18 PM
i know we're not really doing cities but Belfast has to get a mention. Pure spides...!!
not the holy holylands though
Quote from: qub la la la on July 26, 2007, 08:49:36 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on July 26, 2007, 08:48:18 PM
not the holy holylands though
well since the vast majority of the holylands population are blow ins we could probably excuse it. ach no fcuk it, i'll include that too! all day pyjama people...
Quote from: stiffler on July 26, 2007, 07:20:18 PM
Lisburn- a city without a decent night club! :D
Or a single hotel, mind you its not the kind of town that you would want to see, some weird weird people in it.
No contest - Ardboe: it's so bad, even the tumbleweed has abandoned it.
Now will one of you nice men tell me how do I claim my prize?
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on July 26, 2007, 07:30:35 PM
As for mine... T****reagh, Strabane, Bundoran (surprised it hasn't been mentioned), Portrush (OTOH Portstewart is quite nice), Clones, Athlone, Newcastle (Down).
Watch it Fionntamhnach, we'll be around to ye! ;)
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2007, 09:18:56 PM
As for mine... T****reagh, Strabane, Bundoran (surprised it hasn't been mentioned), Portrush (OTOH Portstewart is quite nice), Clones, Athlone, Newcastle (Down).
Watch it Fionntamhnach, we'll be around to ye! ;)
It is what it is, you cant polish a turd.
Quote from: Balboa on July 26, 2007, 09:20:54 PM
Chill out man, can't you decipher smilies? And where's your idyll?
Quote from: SuperSub on July 26, 2007, 08:17:30 PM
Portlaoise is a bit of a kip..Sorry Laoislad :-[
Thats ok Supersub im not from Portlaoise...So many Dubs in Portlaoise now maybe thats a reason behind it's kipness?
, Newcastle (Down).
I can't believe you have been there Fionntamhnach? I stayed ther before a NHL match in Portadown and the place is great! And I'm from Clare!!
Athleague, Athlone, well the Roscommon side anyways, what with all the knackers there.
Did I mention Kerry?
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2007, 09:29:45 PM
Quote from: Balboa on July 26, 2007, 09:20:54 PM
Chill out man, can't you decipher smilies? And where's your idyll?
North Antrim
athlone (not the roscommon side), ballinasloe, longford town, moate, roscommon town and navan
the holylands in belfast is a shithole
around derry city: ballymack/galliah, fountain, creggan, bogside, rossdowny, new buildings, gobnascale, bond street
The whple Coutry is a Shit-hole, devoid of self respect,morality or responsibility, where the least common thing to be found is sense
Granard for me
sorry Lonfordians but its a shithole.
I agree, you never see a car newer than an 02 in Granard either
Granard all the way, it truly is a dump. i was in Tipperary town once and thought it was one of the worst shit holes i had ever seen. that was about 15 years ago though so it might have improved.
Quote from: Rois on July 26, 2007, 05:09:45 PM
Agreed Rois, I would say that most of the posters slagging Strabane have probably never been there or only passed through heading for God's country.
The town has changed alot and it's mostly for the better!
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 26, 2007, 09:32:29 PM
Thats ok Supersub im not from Portlaoise...So many Dubs in Portlaoise now maybe thats a reason behind it's kipness?
Your are unstoppable Laoislad :o
Quote from: Pangurban on July 26, 2007, 11:54:52 PM
The whple Coutry is a Shit-hole, devoid of self respect,morality or responsibility, where the least common thing to be found is sense
Jesus Pangurban, lighen up ;)
1. Craigavon/Lurgan/Portadown (What's the difference with fecking places anyway).
2. Portrush
3. Coleraine
4. Ballyclare
5. Carrickfergus
6. Newbridge
7. Drogheda
8. Dundalk
9. Bundoran
10. Granard - never been, but sure may as well jump on the bandwagon.
Lurgan
Dundalk
Kilkeel
Lisburn
Most bits of Belfast
Does anyone have any views on the nicest places in the country?
I have a soft spot for Killarney. Also I was briefly in a wee spot in Limerick called Adare, thought it was lovely. Carlingford is a nice spot too.
Always wonder where the Longford town is a shithole thing comes from.
Living about half way between Cavan Town and Longford Town my youth was spent about 50 50 between the 2 and I always found very little difference between them.
Then having been ensnared by a good lady from Cavan town and spending a lot of time there including having inlaws in the bartrade I discovered that there were an inordinate amount of scumbags around Cavan town dangerous scumbags for that matter. That being said there are plenty of scumbags around Longford but i would honestly prefer to walk around Longford on my own late at night than Cavan...from knowing what I do.
Sumarasing then there aint much difference between them...........now granard.....thats a totally different kettle of fish but then Killeshandra doesn't do a whole lot for me either!
bogball theres around 5 or 6 mile betwen lurgan and portadown.thats like saying cross and silverbridge are the same place,burren ansd warrenpoint are the same place etc
Lurgan
Portadown
Craigavon
Banbridge
Lisburn
Glenavy (full of slabbers too)
Crumlin
Belfast (excluding holylands :D)
Antrim town
Ballymena
Dungannon
Jaysus, you have been about achadh ;)
Well all them places arent too far from here... an they are all shit holes!! Just thought id give my opinion aswell! :D
Whats everyones gripe with Dundalk?
I was just going to ask, in fairness and i think having being reared in the town i have the upper hand on this. Dundalk when i was growing up was a kip, a total dump, nothing to do, nowhere to go and most of the adult population were unemployed. Top that off with it being the first big town once you cross the border it was the first port of call for refugees fleeing the north.
And i would certainly agree that, in those days and well into the 90's Dundalk was a shithole, my home town but none the less a shithole.
However, huge investement from central and local governement has completly overhauled the town. Its now a vibrant booming town and if any of the posters slagging it off had visited Dundalk recently they would see that. But like every age old problem in Ireland give a dog a bad name...
I'm sick of all the bad mouthing of my home town on this thread, its a lovely place!
Quote from: anluabu2 on July 27, 2007, 02:31:12 PM
Whats everyones gripe with Dundalk?
I was just going to ask, in fairness and i think having being reared in the town i have the upper hand on this. Dundalk when i was growing up was a kip, a total dump, nothing to do, nowhere to go and most of the adult population were unemployed. Top that off with it being the first big town once you cross the border it was the first port of call for refugees fleeing the north.
And i would certainly agree that, in those days and well into the 90's Dundalk was a shithole, my home town but none the less a shithole.
However, huge investement from central and local governement has completly overhauled the town. Its now a vibrant booming town and if any of the posters slagging it off had visited Dundalk recently they would see that. But like every age old problem in Ireland give a dog a bad name...
I'm from not very far down the road, and I'd call it a shithole of the highest order - Its not a safe place to go out in, Ridleys is the only safe haven. The influx of 'refugees' from the north would not have helped, and there seems to be a lot of drugs about.
If anything I think it has got worse in recent times. I went out with a girl who worked in Vodafone, and there always seemed to be an abundance of strange behaviour
Quote from: thebandit on July 27, 2007, 03:08:25 PM
If anything I think it has got worse in recent times. I went out with a girl who worked in Vodafone, and there always seemed to be an abundance of strange behaviour
???
Bit confused - do tell more
I referred to it in the sentace before!!
D'oh :-[
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on July 27, 2007, 02:34:44 PM
I'm sick of all the bad mouthing of my home town on this thread, its a lovely place!
well it cant be a lovely place if everyone keeps bad mouthing it!! just says it all really!! :P
Its not a safe place to go out in, Ridleys is the only safe haven
i go out in dundalk very regularly (and never to ridleys,) and i have never had any kind of hassle, in fact ive been socailising in Dundalk at some stage or another all my life and have never had any hassle.
Dundalk like any large urban area has its social problems, high unemployement, low educational attainment, drugs etc etc, goes hand in hand with large urban areas.
Huge efforts have been made in the county to bring Dundalk to rid dundalk of its negative image. to provide facilities for children, educaiton for yound people and employment opportunities.
People like you insist who continue to judge a town by its history and a saturday night then its going to very much limit your opinion.
Achaidh your gettin too big for your boots!
Rathdrum , Co Wickila ,
ballymahon co longford,
kesh , co fermanagh,
Cookstown, tyrone,
keady,Armagh
Blaney (hi) Monaghan
Ardee , an lu ,
kells , trim , dunsaney, athboy etc etc meath.
Balbriggan , Co Dublin.
listowel co kerry.
Clonmel , carrick on suir total knackerville,
Atlone another total knackerville
granard co longford , longford itself.
gowna , mullahoran , belturbet , arva co caaaaavan.
Balbriggan????
Why???? :-\
Quote from: anluabu2 on July 27, 2007, 03:55:37 PM
Its not a safe place to go out in, Ridleys is the only safe haven
i go out in dundalk very regularly (and never to ridleys,) and i have never had any kind of hassle, in fact ive been socailising in Dundalk at some stage or another all my life and have never had any hassle.
Dundalk like any large urban area has its social problems, high unemployement, low educational attainment, drugs etc etc, goes hand in hand with large urban areas.
Huge efforts have been made in the county to bring Dundalk to rid dundalk of its negative image. to provide facilities for children, educaiton for yound people and employment opportunities.
People like you insist who continue to judge a town by its history and a saturday night then its going to very much limit your opinion.
You're right, its a large urban area, and is destined to have social problems as a result.
I'm not judging it just on Saturday nights or history, I would be in Dundalk a good bit during the week as well, and I said that I thought it had in fact gotten worse over the last few years.
I like Louth as a whole, Carlingford, Clogherhead etc have a lot going for them. I think Drawwwda isn't too bad considering the influx into it.
Even Blackrock (The Rawks) which would be fairly affluent has gone downhill recently
Banbridge is a decent town, few Co Down kips though Dromore, Bangor, Newtownards.
surely cullybackey, ahoghill and ballymoney have to be in the top ten, all complete shite holes which i wouldnt spend a penny in if they were the last place selling pan loafs in the country!!
Lynchboy u ****! Portstewart is lethal. Pisses on Dungiven from a considerable distance
Augher, clocker, fivemiletown
Ballymena
love the Glens of Antrim and the coast road.
Rathfriland, Baltinglass seem rather depressing to me.
just came across this on bebo...
http://www.bebo.com/FlashBox.jsp?FlashBoxId=1949375142
a wee picture of craigavon.. (this is why people keep bad mouthing your little hometown "our nail loney") :D
(c) Niall Tóibín
Mullingar is an awful kip;
Tullamore is twice as bad.
But the worst f****n dump I ever saw -
Oh jayses Kinnegad.
Seems as though nearly every spot in Cavan has got a mention at this stage, bar possibly Ballinagh, Virginia and Ballyjamesduff. Can't understand why.
Anyway the OMS list - Gort, Ballyhaunis, Ballaghaderreen, Tuam, Ballinasloe, Athlone, Granard (had to be), Bundoran, Kells, and our own county town, hard to defend it, certainly certain areas anyway. Not as travelled as others here so can't offer an opinion on many of the potential towns listed already.
Quote from: achadh gallain on July 27, 2007, 06:23:39 PM
just came across this on bebo...
http://www.bebo.com/FlashBox.jsp?FlashBoxId=1949375142
a wee picture of craigavon.. (this is why people keep bad mouthing your little hometown "our nail loney") :D
loney are you not from lurgan?
Cavan town- shit hole, worked there for a year....must of rained ever day, and its true what they say bout cavan one's.........
Quote from: new devil on July 27, 2007, 10:54:26 PM
Cavan town- shit hole, worked there for a year....must of rained ever day, and its true what they say bout cavan one's.........
what about us Cavan men all having big d*cks?
i wonder how you found that out. ::)
In no particular order:
Larne
Portadown
Lurgan
Newtownards
Newtownabbey
Carrickfergus
Dundalk
Craigavon (is it a place though?)
Downpatrick
Newry
Longford
Castlebar
Tullamore
Portlaoise
Letterkenny
Tralee
Nass
Omagh
Portrush
OK, having gone to school in Granard for five years, I suppose I have to defend it a bit.
I know it has a bad reputation, although I think that's partly based on memories of the Lovett affair, and there are some absolute kips there - The Terrace and the Trumra Road.
But most of the town actually looks OK and most people there other than the usual suspects are decent. The problems it has are problems that a lot of other towns have - I don't think Longford or Cavan towns are any better, and Kingscourt and Oldcastle, for example, have even worse reputations locally, but they're not on main national routes so they wouldn't be as widely seen by travellers as Granard would be.
And I can't understand why anyone would even nominate ScrabbyGowna or Mullahoran unless they're Gaels supporters.
If I was to nominate a town that looked absolutely bloody down-at-heel and depressing when I was driving through it, can I nominate Clara? Is there some by-law there against people painting their houses more than once every century?
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 27, 2007, 11:49:34 PM
OK, having gone to school in Granard for five years, I suppose I have to defend it a bit.
Forgot about Granard - add that to my list. :)
Quote from: Donagh on July 27, 2007, 11:22:39 PM
In no particular order:
Larne
Portadown
Lurgan
Newtownards
Newtownabbey
Carrickfergus
Dundalk
Downpatrick
Newry
Longford
Castlebar
Tullamore
Portlaoise
Letterkenny
Tralee
Nass
Omagh
Portrush
very disappointed that you have not mentioned Ballymena in you list, its like Larne in a different place
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 27, 2007, 11:08:15 PM
Quote from: new devil on July 27, 2007, 10:54:26 PM
what about us Cavan men all having big d*cks?
i wonder how you found that out. ::)
Naw being miserable c**ts, they are that miserable they put folks in there sugar bowls ;D
Was only ever in very Ballymena the once after I got on the wrong train from Lisburn to Coleraine and had to kill three hours in the place. Walked around the town for a while and it seemed, em, ..., very Presbyterian (in a good way), all neat and tidy, loads of the Prod equivalent of the Legion of Mary bookshops all over the place. not a shit-hole as such, more a surreal Stepford Wives thing going on.
theres an estate in craigavon that looks like its outta Beirut --LEGAHORY !! thats it! i was in there for work one time--8 outa every 9 houses are bricked up -but its like a winding maze--there is only one way in and out
the house numbers are not in order--i was lookin 4 a house drivin round(with a suit on) in circles when this 7 ft, one-eyed man that was the closest thing ive ever seen to Cyclops came over to the car with a big dog wavin at me--i put the window down half a centimetre with my foot ready to hit the accelerator--he says "what do u want, who u lookin 4" ---i was gonna stay about, knowing that he'd be afeared of me (due to my considerable build) but remembered that i'd left the iron on and sped on home!!
i off-time wonder how that conversation with Cyclops might have went, the craic we mite have had-i bet he had a heart of gold
Has anyone else ever sampled the delights of Legahory???
One other place is an area of Derry City above Steelstown GAC at the back end of Derry.--cant think of the name of the estate now but its another winding maze with one was in and out--was lucky to get outta that estate one day too!
In no particular order:
Larne
Portadown
Lurgan
Newtownards
Newtownabbey
Carrickfergus
Dundalk
Downpatrick
Newry
Longford
Castlebar
Tullamore
Portlaoise
Letterkenny
Tralee
Nass
Omagh
Portrush
How is Castlebar any worse than Ballina? Surprised it hasn't been mentioned yet. Some of the people in the town would spit at you. Then again there are lots of decent people in the town as well.
Quote from: Gold on July 28, 2007, 01:44:47 AM
theres an estate in craigavon that looks like its outta Beirut --LEGAHORY !! thats it! i was in there for work one time--8 outa every 9 houses are bricked up -but its like a winding maze--there is only one way in and out
the house numbers are not in order--i was lookin 4 a house drivin round(with a suit on) in circles when this 7 ft, one-eyed man that was the closest thing ive ever seen to Cyclops came over to the car with a big dog wavin at me--i put the window down half a centimetre with my foot ready to hit the accelerator--he says "what do u want, who u lookin 4" ---i was gonna stay about, knowing that he'd be afeared of me (due to my considerable build) but remembered that i'd left the iron on and sped on home!!
i off-time wonder how that conversation with Cyclops might have went, the craic we mite have had-i bet he had a heart of gold
Has anyone else ever sampled the delights of Legahory???
One other place is an area of Derry City above Steelstown GAC at the back end of Derry.--cant think of the name of the estate now but its another winding maze with one was in and out--was lucky to get outta that estate one day too!
Ahh, Legahory. T'is a wonderful estate right enough. If you need drugs, just head there. Rap on the door of one of the 6 houses that aren't boarded up and you'll surely have found a dealer.
Most, if not all, estates built in the six counties after the early seventies had only one entry/exit -- termed as '
Counter Insurgency Urban Planning', as far as I know. Fecking abomination.
QuoteHow is Castlebar any worse than Ballina?
Agreed. Ballina has a lot of catching up to do to be compared with Castlebar but would be very harsh to call Ballina a shithole .... although it would improve if Greenhills and the area around the hospital got washed away in the Moy !
Quoteathlone (not the roscommon side), ballinasloe, longford town, moate, roscommon town and navan
Elaborate on whats wrong with the east side of the Shannon in Athlone ?! The west side has a couple of rough estates alright and Monksland is very poorly planned (although hardly enough too call it a shithole) but whats the problem with the east side
QuoteAnyway the OMS list - Gort, Ballyhaunis, ....
Do the first 2 names on the list reflect some a racial attitude :P
How did I forget about Larne - easily, hands down, the biggest shithole in Ireland - it's such a depressing place.
Quote from: Square Ball on July 27, 2007, 06:21:22 PM
How can you diguish these 3 towns as shitholes?????The three of them together would not make up a tenth of the size of one of the major shitholes i.e. cookstown, portadown to name but a few!!! Someone from this area rattled ur cage lately square ball!!!!!!!!
Legahory is indeed known locally as Beirut. It's a place apart and like no other this side of Compton, LA. Run by the 'Hoods', and only a stones throw from Craigavon police station, none of our local paramilitaries ever dared venture near it. I'm old enough to remember when it was a fairly respectable place to live (as far as anywhere in Craigavon could be), but of a period of 15 years the 'Hoods' intimidated and burned out most of the owner occupiers until they were the only ones left. The estate now consist of row upon row of bricked up houses with the odd one still occupied where you can buy any illicit substance through the iron gates placed over the front doors (that's if you make it past the Snoop look-alikes with the bling milling about the squares). Like a mini Limerick it's had it's own gang war waging for the past few years between the Carlises and Anto Murray. Mad as...
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on July 28, 2007, 07:08:03 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 27, 2007, 06:21:22 PM
How can you diguish these 3 towns as shitholes?????The three of them together would not make up a tenth of the size of one of the major shitholes i.e. cookstown, portadown to name but a few!!! Someone from this area rattled ur cage lately square ball!!!!!!!!
No, just thought I would throw them in there for the craic, was in the bus station the other day and the announcer was going over this.
Still has to be ballymena and Larne for me, I went through Banbridge last night and it doesn't really seem to be the most pleasant of places
In one of the holding cells in Craigavon Court theres a scribble on the walls sayin 'Legahory Hoods' with a list of names under it, akin to a 'Roll of Honour'. The sooner the remaining houses are vacated and the place is flattened the better.
*I'd just like to state i wasnt in the cell as a prisoner*
Quote from: Whitehair on July 28, 2007, 08:23:54 PM
In one of the holding cells in Craigavon Court theres a scribble on the walls sayin 'Legahory Hoods' with a list of names under it, akin to a 'Roll of Honour'. The sooner the remaining houses are vacated and the place is flattened the better.
*I'd just like to state i wasnt in the cell as a prisoner*
as far as i've been told there are still some decent people live there. however they bought their houses years ago and now they cant leave. they cant sell their house's cos who would buy them and they cant just up and leave because they would be out a small fortune. fucked all round...
This thread could bring out the sectarian in all of us but I have to say that anywhere that is 'bedecked' for 2 months every summer in its town/village centre is not an appealing place for me.
Gun to my head, though, and I'd say Lisburn.
I still haven't convinced you all it is Ardboe? Go and see for yourselves and get back to me.
Whats so bad about arboe? were you from coagh?
Haven't read the whole thread but the answer is surely Larne.
Biggest shithole in ireland has to be windsor park.
it has to be paisley's wife...you ever see the size of her ass? :-[
While not really a SH, the village of Newtownmountkennedy in Wicklow is a bit of an eyesore. The rest of the County is lovely though.
Always found Aughnacloy very grim, never ever seems to be anyone on the street when I drive through.
Quote from: Donagh on July 28, 2007, 12:26:08 AM
Was only ever in very Ballymena the once after I got on the wrong train from Lisburn to Coleraine and had to kill three hours in the place. Walked around the town for a while and it seemed, em, ..., very Presbyterian (in a good way), all neat and tidy, loads of the Prod equivalent of the Legion of Mary bookshops all over the place. not a shit-hole as such, more a surreal Stepford Wives thing going on.
I have spent a fair bit of time in Ballymena and it isnt the knid of place you want to be after dark if you are a catholic, its a bad bad hole.
Quote from: Donagh on July 27, 2007, 11:55:20 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 27, 2007, 11:49:34 PM
Forgot about Granard - add that to my list. :)
Is there a cause and effect thing going on there, Donagh? :P
has to be draperstown wat a shithole full of hardmen and dickheads. nice chinese tho :P :P
Keady
Quotemullahoran
Hang on now. You can't seriously mention this place on a thread for biggest shithole in the country. It's only a rural prish with two tiny villages/hamlets, a handball alley and a GAA pitch. Like hundreds around the country.
A bit dull, fair enough, but Bundoran it is not!!!
Quote from: North Longford on July 27, 2007, 01:09:20 PM
Always wonder where the Longford town is a shithole thing comes from.
Living about half way between Cavan Town and Longford Town my youth was spent about 50 50 between the 2 and I always found very little difference between them.
Then having been ensnared by a good lady from Cavan town and spending a lot of time there including having inlaws in the bartrade I discovered that there were an inordinate amount of scumbags around Cavan town dangerous scumbags for that matter. That being said there are plenty of scumbags around Longford but i would honestly prefer to walk around Longford on my own late at night than Cavan...from knowing what I do.
Sumarasing then there aint much difference between them...........now granard.....thats a totally different kettle of fish but then Killeshandra doesn't do a whole lot for me either!
Too true North Longford,being from the Cavan Town surrounds myself I have to say you've hit the nail on the head.Cavan Town is full of dangerous scumbags who appear out late at night.You walk the streets at your peril.If anyone wants to dispute this all I can say is take a walk from the catherdral to breffni park late any night and you'll see them peeking out round corners all in groups together eyeing up their next target.Or alternatively head to a chipper(or even on the streets) after the Farnham or Imperial at the weekend there's no end of scumbags trying to rise rows or throw false punches just for the hell of it.Cavan may be one of the cleanest towns in the country,but it probably is one of the towns with the highest number of scumbags.
Oh by the way biggest kip in Ireland Granard!!!!!!!!
Quote from: GweylTah on July 29, 2007, 02:23:53 PM
I still haven't convinced you all it is Ardboe? Go and see for yourselves and get back to me.
try tellin this to a fella called Rory Lavery! if u live to tell the tale fair play to ya
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2007, 02:14:12 PM
In no particular order:
Larne
Portadown
Lurgan
Newtownards
Newtownabbey
Carrickfergus
Dundalk
Downpatrick
Newry
Longford
Castlebar
Tullamore
Portlaoise
Letterkenny
Tralee
Nass
Omagh
Portrush
How is Castlebar any worse than Ballina? Surprised it hasn't been mentioned yet. Some of the people in the town would spit at you. Then again there are lots of decent people in the town as well.
For the life of me I can't understand how Castlebar is on this list, it has to be one of the fastest developing towns in the Country, with one of the highest levels of Private Investment Infrastructure. Its kept to a relatively high standard for a town of its size (ie it can't expect to win tidy towns as often as a the likes of the Gem of Mayo Westport which is at most a quarter of Castlebars size). Castlebar is one of the most prominant shopping towns in Connacht, its has one of the best nightlifes in Connacht outside of Galway City(which is in a league of its own). Castlebar is also one of the major entertainment venues West of the Shannon.
There is no way Castlebar should be on this list.
I have to say Fishead, I went to Castlebar for the Dublin league game and found it not to be a very nice place at all.
Biggest shithole in the country it is not, but not a nice place in my personal experience.
If it makes you feel any better my homw town was selected too :-\
Where are you from, why dont you tell us so we can pass judgement just like you have on Ardboe?
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 12:26:35 PM
I have to say Fishead, I went to Castlebar for the Dublin league game and found it not to be a very nice place at all.
Biggest shithole in the country it is not, but not a nice place in my personal experience.
If it makes you feel any better my homw town was selected too :-\
I just wonder how much of it you saw? I acknowledge alot of towns mentioned might have been judged by people who only made a passing visit, I know loads of Castlebar people who reckon Dublin is a kip, because they only know O'Connell St. Dorset St. & Ballymun, now it may stil be a kip or not but thats not a great reason for judging Dublin so, thats just an example. Anyone I know that has spent time in Castlebar tend to think its a great town. I noticed women seem to like the town, because its a good shopping town. Castlebars major problem if it has one, is that its spread out all over the place & if you go to one part of the town you might never realise other parts are there @ all. Also when you talking about Mayo towns, based on attractivness I really only think Westport can push Castlebar into the shade(Im talking about proper size towns now, not villages) and when it comes to facilities & shops, no town in Mayo is within 100 country miles of it. This is going to sound very bad, but who cares, Castlebar people doesn't have many what the Dubs would call scobies on our streets, unlike some other unmentioned towns in the County & Province, I admit there are a few at night but I reckon they an element that arrive on buses from outlying areas also unmentioned.
Regarding how much I saw, well it was just a weekend, but enough for me to not like it.
Just think its not a nice looking town at all, but I will say again, not by any means the biggest shithole in Ireland.
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 12:56:18 PM
Regarding how much I saw, well it was just a weekend, but enough for me to not like it.
Just think its not a nice looking town at all, but I will say again, not by any means the biggest shithole in Ireland.
Well if you where looking for Architecture you should try Westport, Galway, or Kilkenny, if you looking for well kept, good craic, shopping & plenty of sports facilities you got Castlebar. The other 3 towns have at least the first two as well, but it seems Kilkenny has commited tourism suicide, by having all bars & clubs to stop seving by 1.30, I came across this with friends in Belfast & it has resulted in us all warning others not to go to Belfast (despite being good craic) because of the early serving hours, I fear for Kilkenny that it will be very sorry.
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 30, 2007, 11:30:22 AM
try tellin this to a fella called Rory Lavery! if u live to tell the tale fair play to ya
rory lavery, rory lavery, rory lavery from ardboe!
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 30, 2007, 01:07:07 PM
Cant believe no one has mentioned Camlough, surely one of the worst villages in Ireland, particularly the West Bank.
cant see that, its maybe the worst if you dont take a wee drink. but theres no harm in a drinker! Newry, newcastle even kilcoo could all be classed as worse than camlough.
Castlebar = Kip
Agree re Castlebar..Also add in Mullinagar,Tullamore and Newbridge
I'm getting the impression that nearly any town with a population of 10,000+ is on this list automaticaly (bar perhaps Kilkenny & Galway).
Kilkenny and Galway
After the adventures of Saturday night I nominate... Omagh
QuoteThis is going to sound very bad, but who cares, Castlebar people doesn't have many what the Dubs would call scobies on our streets, unlike some other unmentioned towns in the County & Province, I admit there are a few at night but I reckon they an element that arrive on buses from outlying areas also unmentioned.
now fishhead i will be the first to admit that Ballina is crawling with Knackers and always has been. until recently i always though the Castlebar was close to being Kancker free. On my last few visits there however i have noticed that the place is now full of knackers and scumbags of every kind.
I mentioned this to a mate of mine from the town and according to him the place has gone to shit in the last few years.
out from that Castelbar is quite a nice town and as you say booming.
newbridge yea. so grey dull and its full of dodgy hoors. someone had naas earlier, if anything its posh now.
cavan isnt too bad. i took the chipper challenge a few times in my usual drunken state and lived.
dont forget edenderry! awful place.
went to scholl in longford and yea it is a shiiitehole!
clonmel too total dump.
Bord Failte is crying lads :'(
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 30, 2007, 02:06:11 PM
Kilkenny and Galway
I know you where joking, but just like the whole you can't slag of places and say they crap because you only seen parts of them, if you where to visit the following parts of Galway and avoided the City Centre and just went to Rahoon, Tyrellen, Ballyban, & the Whessssside you would think Tallaght was Foxrock in comparrison to Galway.
Ah yeah but sure what about the slaggings Dublin as a whole gets?
Incidentally, I did say I didnt like Castlbar from what I saw, but didnt put it on this list.
th ebiggest problem with castlebar is the people who have moved there over the past couple of years, especially those who have lived in dublin and galway.
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 30, 2007, 03:34:57 PM
Kilkenny and Galway
I know you where joking, but just like the whole you can't slag of places and say they crap because you only seen parts of them, if you where to visit the following parts of Galway and avoided the City Centre and just went to Rahoon, Tyrellen, Ballyban, & the Whessssside you would think Tallaght was Foxrock in comparrison to Galway.
Rahoon is now quite a decent spot since they knocked the flats back in the early 90's. Lots of nice houses and apartments built up there in the last few years. Tyrellan was never that bad. Mainly lots of student houses.
Ever since Rahoon was yuppiefied even the neighbouring Westside isn't that bad these days.
Not that some of these places would be high among places to visit for tourists but they don't compare to some of the more dodgy estates surrounding the major cities.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 30, 2007, 03:50:34 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 30, 2007, 03:34:57 PM
Kilkenny and Galway
Rahoon is now quite a decent spot since they knocked the flats back in the early 90's. Lots of nice houses and apartments built up there in the last few years. Tyrellan was never that bad. Mainly lots of student houses.
Ever since Rahoon was yuppiefied even the neighbouring Westside isn't that bad these days.
Not that some of these places would be high among places to visit for tourists but they don't compare to some of the more dodgy estates surrounding the major cities.
My point was that everywhere is a shithole if people have so high standards, no part of Castlebar would be of a lower standard than any of these, even now, so how is Castlebar a shithole?
I think you only qualify as not being a shithole in this thread if everybuilding is historical, you have no suburbs, you have hanging baskets everywhere, you have zero crime rate, no drunk people-but a great night life, get real people, the whole Island is a shithole by the standards being thrown out here.
and the award for most over sensitive, protective poster goes to..............
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2007, 04:18:00 PM
Whats your problem?
I agree
absolutly nothing sam, but i dont see why you have to make such a strong defence of the town, a few people have said it can be a bit, just a little bit rough can you not accept that. Almost every other town in the county have been mentioned but your the only man crying and taking it personaly.
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2007, 04:39:11 PM
absolutly nothing sam, but i dont see why you have to make such a strong defence of the town, a few people have said it can be a bit, just a little bit rough can you not accept that. Almost every other town in the county have been mentioned but your the only man crying and taking it personaly.
The title is "Biggest Shithole in Ireland" not towns that can be a little rough the odd night some weekends, and there is one or two shops that could do with a paint. I'm making a strong defence, because in fact it is on the opposite side of the scale, its far from the best town in Ireland, but it is defo on the better half.
Castlebar does have a kn**ker element in the town late at night, teenagers just looking for aggro all along main street. But the thread is about the biggest shit hole in Ireland and Castlebar in my opinion is not one of the worst shit holes in the country.
Fishead you are a little sensitive about other peoples opinion of the town.
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 30, 2007, 04:47:16 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 30, 2007, 04:39:11 PM
The title is "Biggest Shithole in Ireland" not towns that can be a little rough the odd night some weekends, and there is one or two shops that could do with a paint. I'm making a strong defence, because in fact it is on the opposite side of the scale, its far from the best town in Ireland, but it is defo on the better half.
Get over yourself FFS ::)
I Don't see other posters getting upset
Donagh, was going to pull you on your inclusion of Letterkenny, but then the penny dropped. ;)
Biggest shithole in Ireland has to be New Buildings.
You cannot say that Castlebar is just behind Westport in the 'nicest' stakes when judging towns in Mayo - Ballina is streets ahead of Castlebar. Fine big river with a beautiful cathedral nestled on it's banks as well as some lovely buildings along the banks of the Moy.
As opposed to Castlebars natural beauty ? A thin trickle of raw sewage that stinks to high hell at all times of the year - the areas outside of Castlebar and the roads leading into the place are fine but Jesus wept, once you get into the built up areas it is full of new lego type buildings, houses built right on top of each other, parking and signage is a disgrace and it's full of gypos. You can barely walk down the street without some pikey spitting at ya
Ballina, indeed has it's fair share of knackers as Guy Crouchback pointed out (and he should know) and it's fair share of problems much like any other town - but to attempt to say it's behind the biggest Shithole, Godforesaken, racist capital of Ireland, excuse of a settlement that should have been burnt to the ground centuries ago is laughable.
This shopping you talk about? You're winding me up now ? Seriously, the choice is either the most over-priced shirt in Ireland, or the price blasters type of shite quality that costs you 4.99 but leaves with you a rash all over.
The area around the mall used to nice, full of racists and tramps now though
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 30, 2007, 04:21:15 PM
Whats your problem?
fishead sam is in the running for the key to castlebar! dont be crying sam jus because castlebar is a shithole :D its not coincidental that numerous peopel mention it on this thread
I think the biggest shitehole in Ireland definitely has to be Castlebar.
someone has to start a poll
Whats the town name in Hot Fuzz?
That was a nice place ;)
Quote from: stephenite on July 31, 2007, 04:44:39 AM
You cannot say that Castlebar is just behind Westport in the 'nicest' stakes when judging towns in Mayo - Ballina is streets ahead of Castlebar. Fine big river with a beautiful cathedral nestled on it's banks as well as some lovely buildings along the banks of the Moy.
As opposed to Castlebars natural beauty ? A thin trickle of raw sewage that stinks to high hell at all times of the year - the areas outside of Castlebar and the roads leading into the place are fine but Jesus wept, once you get into the built up areas it is full of new lego type buildings, houses built right on top of each other, parking and signage is a disgrace and it's full of gypos. You can barely walk down the street without some pikey spitting at ya
Ballina, indeed has it's fair share of knackers as Guy Crouchback pointed out (and he should know) and it's fair share of problems much like any other town - but to attempt to say it's behind the biggest Shithole, Godforesaken, racist capital of Ireland, excuse of a settlement that should have been burnt to the ground centuries ago is laughable.
This shopping you talk about? You're winding me up now ? Seriously, the choice is either the most over-priced shirt in Ireland, or the price blasters type of shite quality that costs you 4.99 but leaves with you a rash all over.
The area around the mall used to nice, full of racists and tramps now though
Now ya really are taking the piss Stephenite, You obviously have never been down to Lough Lannagh and its view of Croagh Patrick.
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 07:16:21 AM
Whats your problem?
fishead sam is in the running for the key to castlebar! dont be crying sam jus because castlebar is a shithole :D its not coincidental that numerous peopel mention it on this thread
Donagh mentioned it, then Farrandeelin not from Castlebar defended the town straight away
then I backed up its defence, ludermor had a go (I thought it was a personal jibe rather than about the town, which he later clarified), then the argument spiraled.
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 09:29:05 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 07:16:21 AM
Whats your problem?
One person mentioned it, then another person not from Castlebar defended the town straight away (not me) then I backed up its defence, someone else had a go, then the argument spiraled.
some1 needs a hug! :D one person mentioned it then u threw the dummy out of th pram and cried your lamps out ;D
bitter pill to swallow but castlebar is shithole.
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 09:34:42 AM
some1 needs a hug! :D one person mentioned it then u threw the dummy out of th pram and cried your lamps out ;D
bitter pill to swallow but castlebar is shithole.
:D Thank feck I'm off to S.E.A & OZ for the next 6 months, I think I need to take a few chill pills as opposed to those bitter ones.
This shouldnt categorize the place as a shithole but I also had my worst experience, opposing fans wise at an away game in Castlebar this year.
And before ye all go nuts, yes I have been embarrassed by the Dublin fans on more than one occasion also.
Maybe this subconsciously put me off the place too :-\
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 31, 2007, 02:02:30 AM
Donagh, was going to pull you on your inclusion of Letterkenny, but then the penny dropped. ;)
Not sure what you mean. Letterkenny has always been a dump, even Tír Conaill people and those inhabitants of the west Tyrone part of Donegal would admit that.
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 09:44:08 AM
This shouldnt categorize the place as a shithole but I also had my worst experience, opposing fans wise at an away game in Castlebar this year.
And before ye all go nuts, yes I have been embarrassed by the Dublin fans on more than one occasion also.
Maybe this subconsciously put me off the place too :-\
Fair enough hh nb but remember those fans came from all over Mayo not just Castlebar, Castlebar is just 10-15K off the Countie's 125K so there is a good chance those people you talk of where not even from Castlebar, they might not have been from within 50 miles of the town.
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 10:11:15 AM
Fair enough hh nb but remember those fans came from all over Mayo not just Castlebar, Castlebar is just 10-15K off the Countie's 125K so there is a good chance those people you talk of where not even from Castlebar, they might not have been from within 50 miles of the town.
Fair point, I'm still waiting on an explanation as to why Balbriggan was on this list though :-\
I share your puzzlement, Your Holiness. Balbriggan is actually quite small.
Quote from: Hardy on July 31, 2007, 10:36:05 AM
I share your puzzlement, Your Holiness. Balbriggan is actually quite small.
Jaysus Hardy, have you been there in the past few years?
Its getting massive.
QuoteNow ya really are taking the piss Stephenite, You obviously have never been down to Lough Lannagh and its view of Croagh Patrick.
i am not trying to wind you up fishhead but i was actually down by that lake back in June and the place was a disgrace. beer cans and bottles everywhere bags of rubbish that had been fly tipped used condoms the lot. to be honest it was one step away from a tinkers camp. considering some of the scenery on offer in mayo this was very much division 4.
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 10:47:10 AM
Jaysus Hardy, have you been there in the past few years?
Thankfully, no. That's what bypasses are for.
I thought that was what estate agents are for ;)
<left blank>
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 09:27:12 AM
Now ya really are taking the piss Stephenite, You obviously have never been down to Lough Lannagh and its view of Croagh Patrick.
That's your defence? :D
Now i haven't read this thread, but it occurs to me that it should have only been one post in length.
Ballymena is the biggest shithole in ireland. what is there to debate?
Quote from: stephenite on July 31, 2007, 11:17:47 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 09:27:12 AM
That's your defence? :D
That was a seriously edited versions (about 98% of the post deleted by myself and then added the bit after the comma), I am trying very hard not to retaliate against certain towns.
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 31, 2007, 11:40:29 AM
I am trying very hard not to retaliate against certain towns.
Chilling words
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 11:41:55 AM
Chilling words
Not that, I defend my town as I think a few above have & am trying not to have a go at other peoples towns, which I know for a fact are not great (last two words edited).
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 11:41:55 AM
Chilling words
we better close this thread......or else, he mite retaliate against a town near you :'(
;) ;)
castlebar on a friday night after the kids disco is an appaling place, 2 weeks ago those queing for harry potters book in easons someone in the q was attacked
Quote from: mooncatiii on July 31, 2007, 11:45:36 AM
we better close this thread......or else, he mite retaliate against a town near you :'(
;) ;)
Is Fishead Sam storing weapons of mass destruction in Castlebar in preparation for assaults on kips nationwide? :o
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 12:00:23 PM
;) ;)
Is Fishead Sam storing weapons of mass destruction in Castlebar in preparation for assaults on kips nationwide? :o
Glad to take the flack off Dublin for a few hours hh nb ;D
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 31, 2007, 12:00:23 PM
;) ;)
only thing stored in castlebar is knackers ;D
Quote from: Uladh on July 31, 2007, 11:21:11 AM
Now i haven't read this thread, but it occurs to me that it should have only been one post in length.
Ballymena is the biggest shithole in ireland. what is there to debate?
Isn't Ballymena Ulster-Scots for Castlebar?
south central ballina can be deadly with the bloods of knockmore and the crips from crossmolina at war over who will be mayo champions.I seen a fella called macdonald kick a ball from one end of the field to the other just because it was white.Another fella in the same game spat on the poor ould field.This was all topped by a goalkeeper that kicked a poor innocent goalpost that happened to be near him after he allowed a ball running away from macdonald to get by him.
Yes ballina south central is some spot alright.
Seriously though, any town is dangerous if you have too much sauce on board and listen or react to a provocation from another lad with too much on board.
Walk away and be a better man the day after.
Wise words Mannix.And there the discussion should end imo.
allwords.com (http://www.allwords.com/word-shithole.html) define Shithole as meaning:
Quote1. slang
A filthy, disgusting or delapidated place or establishment.
This can be an establishment as well as a place.
I nominate SlapperFaceJacks.
As for the latent beauty that Fishead reckons Castlebar is:
The nightlife is poor but has improved enormously with some decent pubs but crap clubs
There seem to be a growing amount of delinquent teenagers with nothing to do on the streets at night
Arguing for Castlebar on the basis of its scenery is like nominating Lough Conn for its surfing
Like anywhere it seems that every 14 year old has a Suzuki Swift with a hole drilled in the exhaust
Given the definition above it probably shouldn't be on the list but other than a few good pubs, the odd nice restaurant and good shopping with the associated traffic nightmare it is hard to see what it offers those passing through.
Reading about the two murders in Co Derry this weekend, a stabbing in Lurgan and a mini-riot in Banbridge, it would seem the north is getting increasingly violent all over and probably qualifies collectively.
At least it's now got a good road out of the place!
Finally he comes out of hiding - my C'bar comments were designed to provoke outrage, not agreement ::)
QuoteFinally he comes out of hiding - my C'bar comments were designed to provoke outrage, not agreement
I've been here too long for that. ;D
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on August 06, 2007, 08:41:18 AM
Reading about the two murders in Co Derry this weekend, a stabbing in Lurgan and a mini-riot in Banbridge, it would seem the north is getting increasingly violent all over and probably qualifies collectively.
At least it's now got a good road out of the place!
What was this mini-riot over, never heard anything about it and I would be local to Banbridge.
Banbridge, strabane, ballysally.
not sure if its in south central ballina or not but i happen to pass through 'the park' in ballina recently and I was shocked that such a place existed in mayo . it was all very Bronx zoo like most houses borded up dogs roaming the streets half alive walkiing around . Are they in the process of clearing it?
between itself and ardnaree/bunree it makes Ballina a strong contender.
though overall Edenderry gets my vote
yea the park is some shit hole alright. i think they are i the process of knocking part of it hence the boarded up houses. An Post wont deliver the post back there because of the amount of dog attacks.
its the same old story the majority of people are decent but a handful of scum families ruin it.I think the difference between castlebar and ballina is that you expected this from Ballina. ballina was sort of famous for its Knackers, Whereas going to Castlebar nowadays you sort of get a shock when you see the state of the place.
Quote from: rosnarun on August 07, 2007, 11:02:06 AM
not sure if its in south central ballina or not but i happen to pass through 'the park' in ballina recently and I was shocked that such a place existed in mayo . it was all very Bronx zoo like most houses borded up dogs roaming the streets half alive walkiing around . Are they in the process of clearing it?
between itself and ardnaree/bunree it makes Ballina a strong contender.
though overall Edenderry gets my vote
its known locally as "the bronx" some really sound people back there however a few wrong ones give the place a bad name.They are knocking down some of the older buidings.How long since you have been home rosnarun because its been like that the past 15 years at least.
not that long but in the last year or so they seem to have rerouted the road through there . all I ever knew about the place was not to go near it. . any where 'behind the font ' must have some of the cheappest house in the country i remember last year i saw one for sale a 4 bed semi for about 80K. would this not make Ballina Offically the biggest shithole in the country? (excluding ballycastle of course)
Quote from: Dutch on July 27, 2007, 06:10:39 PM
Lynchboy u ****! Portstewart is lethal. Pisses on Dungiven from a considerable distance
If I was also a junkie, I am sure I would agree with that...
Quote from: rosnarun on August 07, 2007, 03:13:37 PM
not that long but in the last year or so they seem to have rerouted the road through there . all I ever knew about the place was not to go near it. . any where 'behind the font ' must have some of the cheappest house in the country i remember last year i saw one for sale a 4 bed semi for about 80K. would this not make Ballina Offically the biggest shithole in the country? (excluding ballycastle of course)
Out the Crossmolina road was the only place the scum would settle for some reason - proximity to other inbreds possibly?
the park in ballina is a dangerous ould spot, nobody has any business going there unless they want trouble from a handful of dickheads.95% OF THE RESIDENTS ARE SOUND, its the handful you need to watch,i hae relations and a friend living there.My uncle gave one of the yokes a right beating when he caught him breaking into his shed, a common occurance hew says.Bunree estate is rapidly going under too,a few hundred houses and so much knackers it not even funny.The front area is fine but the back looks rough and has a bad feel to it.
Blanchardstown,ballyfermot and some other estate places in dublin are supposedly not too hot either.
Bronx in ny is quite a sight too, falling apart and lots of undesirables.
QuoteBilly is abroad at the moment and I am sure he would like to vote Granard as well.
Nice try Laureleye, but there's no disputing that Granard is the one!!
Is the Coach in Banbridge as rough as people say? Iv been told its pretty rough at the weekends. I wouldnt know, Im a country lad who only attends the Marine and the Canal Court
you don't have to get out of your car to get a feel for the real Granard. Just roll down the window and ask any passing local if they were the father of Anne Lovett's baby, to a man they react with a level of aggression and uncouthness that is shocking.
QuoteJust roll down the window and ask any passing local if they were the father of Anne Lovett's baby, to a man they react with a level of aggression and uncouthness that is shocking.
Would that reaction be as shocking, aggressive and uncouth as the question? ::)
more so
Were you very surprised guy?
shocked i told you
Grand so!
sound
Quote from: guy crouchback on August 14, 2007, 11:36:49 AM
you don't have to get out of your car to get a feel for the real Granard. Just roll down the window and ask any passing local if they were the father of Anne Lovett's baby, to a man they react with a level of aggression and uncouthness that is shocking.
thats pretty bad I have to say. Its a sad episode in the life of a troubled family.
You prob didnt know or mean that if you knew a bit more , but its not nice to be making such comments in jest.
:(
Quoteyou don't have to get out of your car to get a feel for the real Granard. Just roll down the window and ask any passing local if they were the father of Anne Lovett's baby, to a man they react with a level of aggression and uncouthness that is shocking.
thats pretty bad I have to say. Its a sad episode in the life of a troubled family.
You prob didnt know or mean that if you knew a bit more , but its not nice to be making such comments in jest.
you're right it was in bad taste and i apologise.
having said that a lot people in Granard have a lot to answer for in that case. at the time the whole town clamed up when it came to helping find out what happened . nobody wanted to know. There are people walking around granard today who could have helped and could still help those who cared for Anne and chose not to. A lot of people.
Quoteat the time the whole town clamed up when it came to helping find out what happened .
At the time, the town was descended upon by a rabid pack of urban journalists looking for someone to blame in nasty, backward rural Ireland.
Gotta say that along with Newbuildings, Drumahoe has to get a mention and Newtownstewart is up there top of the list of shitholes in Ireland.
Quote from: guy crouchback on August 14, 2007, 01:10:00 PM
Quoteyou don't have to get out of your car to get a feel for the real Granard. Just roll down the window and ask any passing local if they were the father of Anne Lovett's baby, to a man they react with a level of aggression and uncouthness that is shocking.
having said that a lot people in Granard have a lot to answer for in that case. at the time the whole town clamed up when it came to helping find out what happened . nobody wanted to know. There are people walking around granard today who could have helped and could still help those who cared for Anne and chose not to. A lot of people.
I know what I have heard , and why the family moved to Granard from Cavan. from what I hear not a lot of people knew much if anything. Also if its not all lies , people would be better off not asking for more details on this. A really sad episode.
View Profile Personal Message (Online)
Re: Biggest shit hole in Ireland
« Reply #237 on: Today at 01:32:25 PM »
Quote from: guy crouchback on Today at 01:10:00 PM
I know what I have heard , and why the family moved to Granard from Cavan. from what I hear not a lot of people knew much if anything. Also if its not all lies , people would be better off not asking for more details on this. A really sad episode.
fair enough, i heard there were people who knew plenty.
Quoterabid pack of urban journalists looking for someone to blame
You must have been listening to these folk, guy!
did you just quote yourself billy?
It looks like I did! :-*
Castlebar by a mile. This is the town that has convinced Marty Clarke to go back to Australia!!!
I love the positivity on this board - it warms the heart
Quote from: ludermor on July 26, 2007, 03:40:51 PM
newbridge!
townies fighting with blow-ins, fighting with culchies fightin with army lads fightin with horsey lads fightin with foreigners
Great post. It's so true!
I like Ballina. If think anywhere in the Midlands is worse. At least Ballina is close to the sea and the local accent is nice.
Athlone is a kip.
Portadown is the worst place I have been to in Ireland.
Dublin is a mess too. It was never planned properly.
(http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01726/angloirish_1726213c.jpg)
I think that is the picture of the biggest black hole in Ireland, into which money goes but never comes back.
(black hole in the celestial sense, not like Ballymena)
I nominate wherever PTSG is from. Must be some place full of bitter, begrudging folk. Tell us where it is Peter so we can avoid it, there's a good lad.
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2011, 06:33:17 PM
I nominate wherever PTSG is from. Must be some place full of bitter, begrudging folk. Tell us where it is Peter so we can avoid it, there's a good lad.
I'd say it moves around.
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2011, 06:35:41 PM
I'd say it moves around.
Is he seeking a seperate ethnic identity then or is he just a kn**ker?
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 09, 2011, 06:55:23 PM
I'd say it moves around.
Neither I would say, just a result of imbreeding in a biological disaster zone. If it wasn't bad enough, it seems the poor thing was repeatedly dropped as a child. I think he might be high aswell.
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 09, 2011, 06:55:23 PM
I'd say it moves around.
are you saying he is a t**ker because you think is a p***k and don't like him . or are you just taking the opportunity to cast a slur on our Travelling brethren by associating them with a gaaboard member who opinions are disliked generally and therefore an easy target?
Portydown has to be a clear winner here imo, followed closely by the likes of Craigavon ...even though I was born in it :-X
I think the Mayo lads need one of these, there gone fierce cranky.
(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQsej0i0ClmDIKXdS_FQtC2B-Wz90r2PHUxBvwWMVXblhFCTbHd)
You working for an agricultural contractor PSTG ??
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_afOpxIKiWXQ/SrDRs7Kps8I/AAAAAAAAAHY/p_YVAGf39d8/s400/slurry_spreader.jpg)
Ballina can be thuggish enough on a Saturday night, I am not sure it's alone in that regard though. I think that generally speaking there is a generation of young pricks with no respect for law or anyone and they are widespread in a lot of towns, the old drink and drugs bring it all out in them.limerick is I think the roughest town in the country, tracksuits and prams everywhere.
Well shams..... Whaaaaa ye saaayin bout Ballin-yeah hi???Anymore of this coinne from puddentjaws on this yoke and the greenhills boys will make more chips outa yer teeet than Barry McLoughlin sees in a week down in Cafollas. :D :D :D :D
Quote from: ballinaman on February 10, 2011, 06:49:59 AM
Well shams..... Whaaaaa ye saaayin bout Ballin-yeah hi???Anymore of this coinne from puddentjaws on this yoke and the greenhills boys will make more chips outa yer teeet than Barry McLoughlin sees in a week down in Cafollas. :D :D :D :D
Careful sham ya dont get lamped by the fooks
Wa-hu!
Oh dear, the animals have gotten loose again I see.
From driving through I always find Mountrath somewhat grim as I do Aughnacloy. Never stopped in either place so strictly a "drive through" observation.
Quote from: Canalman on February 10, 2011, 12:24:52 PM
From driving through I always find Mountrath somewhat grim as I do Aughnacloy. Never stopped in either place so strictly a "drive through" observation.
Aughnacloy has one of the best deli's in the land..and a few good spots for hearty fry ups on route to the games. Put on the blinker and feast up sir
Quote from: J OGorman on February 10, 2011, 12:52:44 PM
Aughnacloy has one of the best deli's in the land..and a few good spots for hearty fry ups on route to the games. Put on the blinker and feast up sir
+1 re Aughnacloy's deli.
Where's the deli lads???? Have to say that Sally's does a great feed after a match..
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 11, 2011, 01:56:38 PM
Where's the deli lads???? Have to say that Sally's does a great feed after a match..
Poundhill Super Valu..its on the left at the bottom of the hill leading into Aughnacloy if you're coming in from Ballygawley way
That's the one. I had Soda bread there for the first time. (I think that's what it's called). Jaysus it was deadly. Soda Bread down here is brown bread in a cake basically.
Quote from: J OGorman on February 11, 2011, 02:11:21 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 11, 2011, 01:56:38 PM
Poundhill Super Valu..its on the left at the bottom of the hill leading into Aughnacloy if you're coming in from Ballygawley way
I know it....good stuff alright...
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 11, 2011, 02:12:37 PM
That's the one. I had Soda bread there for the first time. (I think that's what it's called). Jaysus it was deadly. Soda Bread down here is brown bread in a cake basically.
f**k your breakfast roles, soda with 2 big lumps of bacon, 2 sausages, fried egg and HP sauce is the best hangover cure in the world without a shadow of a doubt :)
Portlaoise- self explanatory.
Moygashel in Co Tyrone was described by The Irish News yesterday as a place synonymous with Race Hate and Sectarian intolerance. Imagine if that is what your home village is known for?
The Irish News are correct by the way.
Quote from: Feckitt on September 03, 2024, 10:38:09 AMMoygashel in Co Tyrone was described by The Irish News yesterday as a place synonymous with Race Hate and Sectarian intolerance. Imagine if that is what your home village is known for?
I think the people of Moygashel will take that as a compliment to be honest.
Cycle through it regular, often wonder if it's just a few Loyalist hard men who do whatever they like in that village or is there a lot of dirtbags about.
Larne is stil the winner though isnt it. What a waste of a location.
Quote from: square_ball on September 03, 2024, 10:57:58 AMQuote from: Feckitt on September 03, 2024, 10:38:09 AMMoygashel in Co Tyrone was described by The Irish News yesterday as a place synonymous with Race Hate and Sectarian intolerance. Imagine if that is what your home village is known for?
Or to be more accurate - Maigh gCaisil (plain of the stone ring fort)
Quote from: square_ball on September 03, 2024, 10:57:58 AMQuote from: Feckitt on September 03, 2024, 10:38:09 AMMoygashel in Co Tyrone was described by The Irish News yesterday as a place synonymous with Race Hate and Sectarian intolerance. Imagine if that is what your home village is known for?
I'd say they'd be more annoyed at being accused of being in Ireland lol.
Some really backwards shitholes around Tyrone and Armagh, Markethill and Richhill another couple that would be similar.
Larne and Portadown. Larne is a port and is very unwelcoming .Portadown has Drumcree down the marching road and seems to have been left behind.
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 11:28:26 AMLarne and Portadown. Larne is a port and is very unwelcoming .Portadown has Drumcree down the marching road and seems to have been left behind.
Antrim town worse than both put together.
Quote from: bennydorano on September 03, 2024, 11:01:21 AMCycle through it regular, often wonder if it's just a few Loyalist hard men who do whatever they like in that village or is there a lot of dirtbags about.
I think geography is the thing.
Markethill close to south Armagh, moygashel east Tyrone, new buildings between Derry and strabane and the border. Been through Kesh a couple times and it looks another nasty sectarian hole.
But they probably feel besieged by the border and isolated so they have to bare the teeth and growl at anything Irish/nationalist to try and prove their Britishness (mostly to themselves) , otherwise they fear being absorbed by that ever-approaching border
Moygashel doesn't come across too well. You'd guess there are people there not comfortable with all that racist and sectarian sh*te and gloryifying the murderous Glenane Gang but would be intimidated if they spoke out.
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 03, 2024, 11:59:02 AMQuote from: bennydorano on September 03, 2024, 11:01:21 AMCycle through it regular, often wonder if it's just a few Loyalist hard men who do whatever they like in that village or is there a lot of dirtbags about.
I think geography is the thing.
Markethill close to south Armagh, moygashel east Tyrone, new buildings between Derry and strabane and the border. Been through Kesh a couple times and it looks another nasty sectarian hole.
But they probably feel besieged by the border and isolated so they have to bare the teeth and growl at anything Irish/nationalist to try and prove their Britishness (mostly to themselves) , otherwise they fear being absorbed by that ever-approaching border
same with Kilkeel in south Down, surrounded by nationalist/republican towns and villages on all sides and looking out at carlingford across the water they do all they can to prove their Britishness.
As a port/seaside town it should be bustling with visitors all summer, instead it's bedecked with flags all year round.
Always thought Mosside up by Ballymoney just oozed shit hole....
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 03, 2024, 01:32:05 PMAlways thought Mosside up by Ballymoney just oozed shit hole....
Fixed that for you BC1
But to be fair anything between Ballymoney and the Causeway is staunchly shitholey.
That part of antrim full of them. Dervock, ballymoney itself etc not great.
Funny I was thinking that we're probably skewed in our view here of shitholes as the flags etc would sway us more towards the loyalist places being shitholes.
Bound to be a few nationalist ones too...
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 03, 2024, 01:35:11 PMThat part of antrim full of them. Dervock, ballymoney itself etc not great.
Funny I was thinking that we're probably skewed in our view here of shitholes as the flags etc would sway us more towards the loyalist places being shitholes.
Bound to be a few nationalist ones too...
Would agree with that and often think of the idea of how people feel intimidated by flags subject to the colour.
The funny thing is that most 'nationalist' towns don't fly ragged flags all year round on every lamppost.
Yeah I hate seeing the tricolours flying round lamp posts etc. "Respect our flag" people say then they're as bedraggled as they come after a few months.
That said I can't think of loads of places with loads of tricolours in them.
There is a random wee place called Moneyslane near Katesbridge which I'd throw into the same category as the above. There is also a nasty looking wee spot called Tamlaght near Maghera. Definitely seems that these shitholes buy into the siege mentality when surrounded by "the enemy", when in reality nobody gives a shit about them.
Glenanne would probably fall into the same category. Bitter little village who would be the last orange strong hold before you go into Whitecross and South Armagh.
On a positive note, great to see mixed places like Poyntzpass and Newtown were able to have Union Jacks up one week for marching season then Armagh flags up the next!
Poyntzpass seems to be a model for the shared community these days. (Is that not where Brian Canavan is from - he said some interesting stuff in the GAA social podcast one week)
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 03, 2024, 03:53:06 PMPoyntzpass seems to be a model for the shared community these days. (Is that not where Brian Canavan is from - he said some interesting stuff in the GAA social podcast one week)
Yeah was a good listen, he was talking about when Armagh were in the final in '02 and all the well wishes from the other side of the house.
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 03, 2024, 03:53:06 PMPoyntzpass seems to be a model for the shared community these days. (Is that not where Brian Canavan is from - he said some interesting stuff in the GAA social podcast one week)
Surely Fearon must get some credit ;D
Quote from: lurganblue on September 03, 2024, 11:01:51 AMLarne is stil the winner though isnt it. What a waste of a location.
I suppose if it was nowadays Sean South of Garryowen could have chosen Larne for his police station attack given that it now qualifies as a border town
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 03, 2024, 04:08:48 PMQuote from: lurganblue on September 03, 2024, 11:01:51 AMLarne is stil the winner though isnt it. What a waste of a location.
I suppose if it was nowadays Sean South of Garryowen could have chosen Larne for his police station attack given that it now qualifies as a border town
An amphibious attack? Different considerations to Brookeborough alright.
John Rafferty is Pass man!
Orior is the resident Pass man, Joe Mahon's buddy
What's that place called just outside newry heading for Armagh. Just after old railway bridge. Always bedecked in usual loyalist paraphernalia. Just screams shithole.
Quote from: maddog on September 03, 2024, 06:07:23 PMWhat's that place called just outside newry heading for Armagh. Just after old railway bridge. Always bedecked in usual loyalist paraphernalia. Just screams shithole.
Mullaghglass.
In some of these places the people putting up the flags might not even live there at all. It is all a group think thing, in this case to make sure that people do not move from Newry.
I think if you go through a lot of places over the summer, with flags and buntings etc. you think that the town/village is a real loyalist area but in a lot of cases it's not.
It's just a few thick heads who bedeck the whole place in flags etc. but the actual population is mainly nationalist. Plus they seem to go up earlier and stay up later these days.
I can think of Maghera, Castledawson, Portglenone and Magherafelt etc. Villages/towns that could now be 70% nationalist in some cases, maybe more.
There are hundreds of places like this in the north. It's just the thick heads don't understand demographics. Maybe in a way, it's a soothing thing for them...but it's just holding back the demographic tide.
Nationalists wouldn't have the same 'grá' for flags but Dungiven is usually covered in them. Better to have a nice pole with flag on it in a memorial etc. and kept tidy.
This list is very north oriented.
Quote from: NAG1 on September 03, 2024, 01:34:13 PMQuote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 03, 2024, 01:32:05 PMAlways thought Mosside up by Ballymoney just oozed shit hole....
Fixed that for you BC1
But to be fair anything between Ballymoney and the Causeway is staunchly shitholey.
Finvoy is right up there with them.
Quote from: LC on September 03, 2024, 07:08:05 PMQuote from: NAG1 on September 03, 2024, 01:34:13 PMQuote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 03, 2024, 01:32:05 PMAlways thought Mosside up by Ballymoney just oozed shit hole....
Fixed that for you BC1
Finvoy is right up there with them.
That's all Jim Allister country up there so not surprising.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 03, 2024, 07:07:20 PMThis list is very north oriented.
The shithole competition is a bit like football, the cup winners are in the 6 counties.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 03, 2024, 07:07:20 PMThis list is very north oriented.
The motorways take you past all the shitholes in the South. From memory, there are any amount of them.
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 03, 2024, 12:13:16 PMMoygashel doesn't come across too well. You'd guess there are people there not comfortable with all that racist and sectarian sh*te and gloryifying the murderous Glenane Gang but would be intimidated if they spoke out.
I'm a Dungannon man. I'd doubt that very much. A cesspit of loyalist scumbags.
BSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Sh#tholes in England would be larger versions of what is here, was in Doncaster once, an absolute dive.
Also Scotland full of plenty of dumps, no wonder Johnny Adair relocated to Ayr, just like being in the Shankhill.
Parts of Dundalk absolute shitholes as well. And obviously like any city Dublin/Belfast/Limerick etc would have areas that you wouldn't like to walk around at night for sure!
Larne! Close the thread.
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Oldham and Stockport spring to mind
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2024, 09:23:07 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Blackpool. What a kip.
Quote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Stockport reminds me of Belfast ;D
Quote from: mackers on September 04, 2024, 10:28:36 AMQuote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2024, 09:23:07 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Blackpool. What a kip.
Blackpool looked a lot better over 120 years ago.
https://images-cdn.bridgemanimages.com/api/1.0/image/600wm.XXX.01130430.7055475/3399931.jpg
That Clacton place that elected Farage doesn't sound very promising, but I do not propose to visit.
Quote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Nominate Manchester - Stinks of piss
I'd like to forward my nominations for County Armagh.
Large town: Portadown.
Fighting off challenges from nearest rivals Craigavon and Lurgan, the Orange Citadel is well out in front. When the locals aren't spending the summer burning GAA flags they're trying to sneak down through Nationalist districts when the county team is busy winning the AI.
Large Village: Markethill. Countryfile meets The Hills Have Eyes. Basically a smaller version of Portadown except with farmers. Don't dare wear county colours in the local chip shop unless you fancy a beating or a bit of sectarian abuse. The TUV spokesbigot articulated the local troglodytes' feelings towards their Nationalist neighbours earlier this summer "...we would appeal for anyone who does not live in Markethill or district to keep their support for the GAA to their own areas..."
Small village: Quite a few contenders in this category. Scotch Street, Kilmore, Glenanne. Mullaghglass gets it on the inhabitants' insecurity of having to fly flegs all year round to ascertain how British they are.
Quote from: Mourne Red on September 04, 2024, 11:08:11 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Nominate Manchester - Stinks of piss
Not centrally but defo in the estates it wouldn't be the loveliest of areas
Quote from: red hander on September 03, 2024, 08:05:44 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on September 03, 2024, 12:13:16 PMMoygashel doesn't come across too well. You'd guess there are people there not comfortable with all that racist and sectarian sh*te and gloryifying the murderous Glenane Gang but would be intimidated if they spoke out.
Jeez! That's some reflection of the place (not saying your wrong). I see Deborah Armstrong DUP MLA condemned their latest racist stunt... not a word from local DUP councillor Cuthbertson a piece of work he is, knows he appeals to local voters.
Quote from: Truthsayer on September 04, 2024, 11:51:55 AMQuote from: red hander on September 03, 2024, 08:05:44 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on September 03, 2024, 12:13:16 PMMoygashel doesn't come across too well. You'd guess there are people there not comfortable with all that racist and sectarian sh*te and gloryifying the murderous Glenane Gang but would be intimidated if they spoke out.
Jeez! That's some reflection of the place (not saying your wrong). I see Deborah Armstrong DUP MLA condemned their latest racist stunt... not a word from local DUP councillor Cuthbertson a piece of work he is, knows his lack of condemnation appeals to local voters.
Where is Tullyally? No Taigs, No Migrants. That'll give Moygashel a run for its money.
https://x.com/Cathaoir96/status/1830605547273703796
Quote from: clarshack on September 04, 2024, 02:47:35 PMWhere is Tullyally? No Taigs, No Migrants. That'll give Moygashel a run for its money.
I think it's the New Buildings equivalent on the Glenshane side of Derry city.
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2024, 09:23:07 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Stoke
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 04, 2024, 03:12:37 PMQuote from: clarshack on September 04, 2024, 02:47:35 PMWhere is Tullyally? No Taigs, No Migrants. That'll give Moygashel a run for its money.
I think it's the New Buildings equivalent on the Glenshane side of Derry city.
But given its location near Altnagelvin Hospital it might suit Taigs and migrants rightly, even scumbags might find it convenient for that reason.
Nearby to Tullyalley in Drumahoe catholics have had cars burnt out etc in a new housing estate which was decked out with all sorts of Loyalist flags from before they were even built
I been in this place, sthing else, going up to a school stevenson park near it, the place decked out red,white,blue for 3/4 mile.lampost,kerb, nie meter. Literally everything,it like sthing out-of the circus.
Quote from: seafoid on September 04, 2024, 06:14:38 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2024, 09:23:07 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Stoke
Have you people ever been to any of these places? Luton, Birmingham and Stoke all have decent parts, and other not so nice areas. You could pretty list anywhere if that's the case.. I'll start, Leeds, Manchester, Liverpool, Newcastle, Sheffield.
Quote from: JoG2 on September 04, 2024, 11:15:40 PMQuote from: seafoid on September 04, 2024, 06:14:38 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2024, 09:23:07 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Stoke
Have you people ever been to any of these places? Luton, Birmingham and Stoke all have decent parts, and other not so nice areas. You could pretty list anywhere if that's the case.. I'll start, Leeds, Manchester, Liverpool, Newcastle, Sheffield.
A big city will always have nice areas and very rough areas.
Quote from: armaghniac on September 05, 2024, 12:00:27 AMQuote from: JoG2 on September 04, 2024, 11:15:40 PMQuote from: seafoid on September 04, 2024, 06:14:38 PMQuote from: Armagh18 on September 04, 2024, 09:23:07 AMQuote from: tonto1888 on September 04, 2024, 06:55:57 AMQuote from: seafoid on September 03, 2024, 08:19:26 PMBSHI winners wouldn't have a hope against BSH England winners. The North of England has been neglected for over 40 years.
Luton and Birmingham.
Stoke
A big city will always have nice areas and very rough areas.
Years ago I was listening to a guy called Adrian Durham on the radio in England and he said he had just been to a town called Hayes in west London, and aside from Luton, it was the biggest sh*those he'd ever been to. Three months earlier, I had just moved from Hayes to Luton. Says a lot about me I guess 🤔. However, there are some very affluent parts in Luton, large grand houses and there are the poorer areas that used to be the factory houses... typical two up, two down terraced houses, a lot of them are in and around the area where Luton FC are. The town centre isn't the greatest. It's not the best place in the world I must admit, but it's not the worst either.
I was in Middlesbrough back in the early 2000s and in a shopping centre one day there was a guy showing off the new Renault Laguna estate. I got chatting to him and asked the price and if memory serves me right the top of the range was in and around the high teens. The previous evening I'd been looking in estate agents windows and saw houses for sale for £20k in some parts of Middlesborough. I couldn't help but think that this guy was going to have some job trying to flog a 20 grand car in a town where you could buy a house for the same price. The north of England has been neglected for a long time. There are some crumby places in the south but you'll still pay handsomely to put a roof over your head in those places and people are more than happy to live in them. As the saying goes, location, location, location.
Keep it on topic or create your own Biggest shithole in England thread!
I was in Dungannon earlier. Very fleggy. Was that Billy Wright on NI flegs as you come into town? Couldn't really make it out. Flegs the length of the road into the town centre. Very welcoming.
Quote from: general_lee on September 09, 2024, 04:21:23 PMI was in Dungannon earlier. Very fleggy. Was that Billy Wright on NI flegs as you come into town? Couldn't really make it out. Flegs the length of the road into the town centre. Very welcoming.
Yep. These flags have gone up regularly over the last few years but neither PSNI or DFI have made any attempts to remove them despite it being raised numerous times. As someone who regularly uses Dungannon park, it's a complete eyesore
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 07, 2024, 05:19:46 PMKeep it on topic or create your own Biggest shithole in England thread!
It was an anecdote not a contribution, based on previous posts. It's how debates tend to ebb and flow. We are back in Dungannon now, so all good on the discussion front on hope. Lived there too mind you.
Quote from: general_lee on September 09, 2024, 04:21:23 PMI was in Dungannon earlier. Very fleggy. Was that Billy Wright on NI flegs as you come into town? Couldn't really make it out. Flegs the length of the road into the town centre. Very welcoming.
Small part of what is a nationalist town. We're very welcoming in Dungannon.
Dervock for a small place is very rough on it.
Quote from: red hander on September 09, 2024, 06:29:42 PMQuote from: general_lee on September 09, 2024, 04:21:23 PMI was in Dungannon earlier. Very fleggy. Was that Billy Wright on NI flegs as you come into town? Couldn't really make it out. Flegs the length of the road into the town centre. Very welcoming.
Small part of what is a nationalist town. We're very welcoming in Dungannon.
I was genuinely taken aback. Even the fleggers in Lurgan have taken down their butchers aprons.