GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on July 25, 2007, 08:14:34 AM

Title: Brolly Feels the Wrath
Post by: Barney on July 25, 2007, 08:14:34 AM
QuoteBrolly fails to cover himself in glory again

Michael Commins

SUNDAY Game panellist Joe Brolly may well have hot ears this week. Mayo supporters are up in arms over a blistering attack launched by Brolly on Mayo All-Star player Conor Mortimer. The Derry man described Mortimer as being "no good anyway", and that Michael McGoldrick had put him "in his pocket and fed him on farts".
The comments that have raised the ire of many genuine Mayo supporters are contained in the current issue of the acclaimed Ulster GAA weekly publication, Gaelic Life. In an article reflecting on the recent Mayo v Derry match, Brolly wrote: "Bellaghy's Michael McGoldrick was easily the best player on the field, and does everything right. He put Conor Mortimer in his pocket and fed him on farts, as we used to say in primary school. Conor is no good anyway, the sort of boy Adrian McGuckin had in mind when he said he distrusted boys with 'dyed hair and trendy clothes that scored 2-5 in friendlies'."
While Conor did not enjoy one of his better days in Celtic Park last Saturday week, Mayo followers are proud of his achievement in winning an All Star award in 2006 and also being the top scorer in the '06 championship, something that could hardly be achieved by a player who was "no good anyway". He is the holder of three Connacht senior medals with Mayo and a Sigerson Cup medal with DCU, and along with Ciaran McDonald, is Mayo's most recognisable player nationwide.
Mayo GAA secretary Sean Feeney said yesterday (Monday) that the criticism was "way over the top". He said there was no substance to a lot of comments and it was a pity that sections of the media were heading that way. "Unless you're controversial, they don't want you on The Sunday Game. Sometimes you just wonder what depths people will descend to in order to become controversial and stir it up. Conor's best way to answer Joe Brolly is to return to top form again."
Former Mayo senior player and current Mayo junior football manager, Billy Fitzpatrick, who is the chief gaelic games match analyst with Mid West Radio, has also sprung to the defence of Conor Mortimer.
"Joe Brolly has no right to talk about any player in that way. It's not right to go pulling people apart like that. Conor had a great year last year and you can't argue with that. Any player can have a downturn in form and come back very much again.
"People can easily forget his great days, you can be king of the palace one day and come under fire the next. That kind of personalised criticism is very unfair. People have a life to live outside of football too and those comments can hurt. It's an amateur sport and you don't become a bad footballer overnight."
Referring to Enda Muldoon's 'lobbed' goal over the head of Mayo goalie David Clarke, Brolly said it was "a hilarious delight that genuinely had us laughing in the aisles".

Title: Re: Brolly Feels the Wrath
Post by: Gnevin on July 25, 2007, 08:21:31 AM
Quote from: Barney on July 25, 2007, 08:14:34 AM
QuoteBrolly fails to cover himself in glory again

Michael Commins

SUNDAY Game panellist Joe Brolly may well have hot ears this week. Mayo supporters are up in arms over a blistering attack launched by Brolly on Mayo All-Star player Conor Mortimer. The Derry man described Mortimer as being "no good anyway", and that Michael McGoldrick had put him "in his pocket and fed him on farts".
"
Jesus Joe really let fly , ffs I've heard worse from the lot of them , hardly worthy of national news
Post by: mannix on July 25, 2007, 08:55:07 AM
brolly is a poor pundit if thats the level he stoops to.Along with not having anything constructive or factual to ever say about any game i ever heard him on about he is now laughing at others misfortune.Mayo are gone for the year, how soon will dery follow and will joe be rolling around if kerry lob the derry keeper for a goal?
Justice comes to all and joe is no exception.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2007, 08:58:22 AM
I think Brolly is excellent when he has his research done and has put a bit of work into his analysis. Often times though I think he wings it and makes outlandish statements to cove over the gaps in his knowledge. He seems to have a penchant for annoying Mayo folk!
Post by: Black and white on July 25, 2007, 09:10:34 AM
Mortimer is over rated, but i suppose thats another debate. Brolly isnt trying to be controversial, that is just him, he says whatever he he is thinking and isnt worried what anybody else thinks about it but he does like to wined people up the best thing to do with brolly is not give him the attention he craves Dungiven people have known this for a long time.
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2007, 09:48:18 AM
Brolly tells it as he sees it. Whether he's right or wrong is a different question. A newspaper column is an opinion piece. TV punditry is likewise opinion based and not the delivery of holy writ and for me Brolly gets the formula fairly right - much more interesting anyway than the bland "game of two halves" droning of the bores who will never make the Mayo papers. The appropriatre reaction is either to agree or disagree, not to whinge in the papers.

On this occasion, I happen to think he's right (that Conor Mortimer is no good) and the reaction he provoked is even funnier than his phrasing of his opinion. The Mayo people here and the Mayo News or whatever parochial "newspaper" published that extended whinge may feel free to disagree with me.
Post by: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 10:04:40 AM
Hardy, while you are certainly correct in that it is only one mans opinion - you were fairly quick to have a go at McStay for calling Geraghty lousy and sneaky earlier in the summer, but seeing as he was only giving his opinion regarding Geraghty can I take it you strongly disagree with Geraghty whinging about McStays comments in the Sunday papers??

My own view is that Brolly courts controversy with comments like this, he'll say anything to provoke a reaction and this includes some fairly close to the bone remarks about amateur players that have to face workmates, family etc after the game is over - to have comments like this aired on national airwaves is over the top in my view and unfair on players wherever they're from or whatever they've done.

Post by: Moose on July 25, 2007, 10:05:34 AM
I don't see what the problem is, brolly was right McGoldrick had him in his pocket the whole match, i can't remember any solid contribution Conor Mortimer made to the game, he was completely absent. I personally think Brolly is very good, he's funny which certainly can't be said for that fool Spillane. He's also saying what a lot of people are saying in the pub, sitting rooms. When they see somebody get lobbed after messing around with the ball as Derry did, passing it around without having a problem, sure you're going to have a laugh. He's just been honest. I was at the match and I was groaning at the way the Mayo forwards were playing. He's wrong to say that Mortimer is no good as he's clearly county standard alright but he's not at the level of the Coopers, O'Neill , Donaghys of the world.
And on another point, Mortimer should ignore any talk about haircuts, hairstyles, i'd say he'd be more worried if Brolly actually liked his haircut, it dosen't make a shred of difference. As a friend said I love the way once a player gets rid of dye in his hair or gets a short back and sides, he's suddenly "matured", such rubbish.
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2007, 10:13:01 AM
Ok it was a wee bit over the top but overall you can't really argue with Brolly - he was telling the truth but in his own inimitable style.
Post by: ildanach on July 25, 2007, 10:16:10 AM
does anyone have brollys championship scoring record to hand. I know he has 2 ulster championships and 1 all ireland and 2 all stars.
With pat spillane, although you dont have to agree with everything he says, you have to respect him with the haul of all irelands and all stars he has in his pocket.
But with Brolly, for someone who loves to be controvertial "not the first cousin of an inter county player etc..." , i would be interested in his record.
Although Conor Mortimer did not have a good season, i don't think it justified to classify him as useless. No intercounty footballer deserves that, They go out to play the game and don't get paid for it. Mortimer likes to play to the crowd but no more so than brolly when he was blowing kisses when he used to score. Maybe he sees something of himself in mortimer?
In 04 Brolly was on about swedish maids when mayo played tyrone,then last year against dublin he couldn't praise mcdonald enough. Next year iif mortimer was to have a couple of good games he would be all over him like.
Post by: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 10:21:59 AM
Quote from: Moose on July 25, 2007, 10:05:34 AM
I don't see what the problem is, brolly was right McGoldrick had him in his pocket the whole match, i can't remember any solid contribution Conor Mortimer made to the game, he was completely absent. I personally think Brolly is very good, he's funny which certainly can't be said for that fool Spillane. He's also saying what a lot of people are saying in the pub, sitting rooms. When they see somebody get lobbed after messing around with the ball as Derry did, passing it around without having a problem, sure you're going to have a laugh. He's just been honest. I was at the match and I was groaning at the way the Mayo forwards were playing. He's wrong to say that Mortimer is no good as he's clearly county standard alright but he's not at the level of the Coopers, O'Neill , Donaghys of the world.
And on another point, Mortimer should ignore any talk about haircuts, hairstyles, i'd say he'd be more worried if Brolly actually liked his haircut, it dosen't make a shred of difference. As a friend said I love the way once a player gets rid of dye in his hair or gets a short back and sides, he's suddenly "matured", such rubbish.

I don't think anyone has an issue with the general sentiment - my own view is that he goes out of his way to be controversial/funny (depending on whcih way you look at it), and sometimes what he says can be over the top, amateur players don't need to hear wise cracks from former players on the National Airwaves after the game, how many people are going to bring this up in front of Conor Mortimer for the rest of the year ?

Could Brolly not have said that Conor Mortimer was cleaned out of it, that it's his view that he was never quite up to the highest standard and it's a mystery how he won an All Star as opposed to phrasing it in the language he did?
Of course Brolly could have but as has been said he does it on purpose, in my view to use humour as a mask that he's a poor analyst.

I blame his parents to be honest - poor Joe never did get a proper up bringing
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 25, 2007, 10:26:13 AM
Quote from: ildanach on July 25, 2007, 10:16:10 AM
In 04 Brolly was on about swedish maids when mayo played tyrone,then last year against dublin he couldn't praise mcdonald enough. Next year iif mortimer was to have a couple of good games he would be all over him like.

Correction, it was at half-time in the Connacht Final against Galway, when Mayo were under the cosh somewhat (perhaps that's what turned it around at half-time?  ;)).

Regarding Mortimer, definitely overrated -- great when the lads around him are firing on all cylinders, but totally incapable of turning a game and being the difference between success and failure, as truly great players can be.  As for Brolly, delighted I'm sure with all the publicity (not to mention Gaelic Life), but perhaps bigger fools to take him that seriously!
Post by: trig on July 25, 2007, 10:39:44 AM
how can anyone agree brolly was right.
while it is obvious Brolly is only trying to me controversial he makes an ass of himself and shows himself up to be ill informed and a poor analysist.
He contends that McGolderick is the best player on the field because he kept Conor Mortimer is his pocket, yet if Mortimer is "no good anyway" then it is hardly a man of the match feat to keep him quiet.
I was at the match and I didn't see anyone laughing at Muldoon's goal, argue the skill of the scorer versus goalkeeping/defensive mistakes all you like but a comment like brolly's is just nasty.

Mortimer comes in for a good deal of criticism some justified, some not so for the very reason that he is a good player(though not top notch IMHO) but can be fustrating at times but if your going to judge him don't do it on a game in wet/greasy conditions that clearly dont suit the type of player he is
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2007, 10:40:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 10:04:40 AM
Hardy, while you are certainly correct in that it is only one mans opinion - you were fairly quick to have a go at McStay for calling Geraghty lousy and sneaky earlier in the summer, but seeing as he was only giving his opinion regarding Geraghty can I take it you strongly disagree with Geraghty whinging about McStays comments in the Sunday papers??

Nice one Stephenite – I didn't see you in the long grass there.

Let's see if I can wriggle out.

Certainly I had a go at McStay, as I was entitled to. As was Geraghty. I'd have a go at Brolly as well if he said something like McStay said. I expressed my opinion that McStay is smarmy and I said it was an abuse of his privileged position to describe anyone as "sneaky and lousy". I think there's a question of degree here. I don't see much wrong in a football pundit expressing his opinion of a particular player's footballing ability. That's what he's there for. Is he supposed to keep that opinion to himself or lie and say he thinks he's great?

Saying somebody is "sneaky and lousy" is in a different league to saying they're not a good footballer. And as for Geraghty's response, I think you're just being provocative in describing it as whinging. He was quoted in the paper giving his opinion in  response to a question and he gave a straight opinion more or less calling McStay a gobshite. My previous post was suggesting that the appropriate response to an opinion you disagree with is to disagree and express your own opinion – as Geraghty (and I) did – not writing a newspaper article about how a county is outraged because Joe Brolly doesn't think Conor Mortimer is a good footballer.

How did I do?
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 25, 2007, 10:46:53 AM
6 out of 10 for effort hardy
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2007, 10:47:50 AM
That's better than I expected. An honours mark.
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2007, 10:56:34 AM
Of course. But, if we did, and if we wrote about them in the paper, what do you think Joe's reaction would be?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2007, 10:57:17 AM
QuoteHow did I do?

Underplaying your hand seems to be the new Meath (well certainly Hardy) way!

There is a huge difference between saying a guy is not a good footballer and making remarks about a guys character.
Post by: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 11:22:53 AM
As I've said above - if Brolly only said he wasn't a good footballer I don't think we'd be having this discussion - it was the language he used and the way he used it. THere is a difference between Brolly saying " Conor Mortimer is not a good footballer " and " he fed him on farts "

Maybe I'm being a bit precious - but I'm trying to look at it from the point of view of Conor having every clown in the street laughing at him and making comments about who's farts he had for dinner for the rest of the year. From that point of view alone I don't know that there is a huge difference in terms of the effects that pundits comments can have on players - an amateur ones at that.

But at this stage Joe has got exactly he wanted - a two page thread on Gaaboard.com - the **** ;)

Post by: rrhf on July 25, 2007, 12:31:59 PM
Brollys comments are hilarious.  Everyone can now have a dig at Conor Mortimer..Unfairly possibly its always a matter of opinion..
I watched Mortimer in the all Ireland final against Kerry,, I believe he opted out... stayed out of the game and I believe  he was my numero one of a number of players who showed they werent good players that day, who were prepared to abdicate their reponsibilities who were not prepared to give it al or take it on for their county,  I read an interview one time where he had an almost arrogant level of belief in his own ability.  Last September as he ran backwards from the scoring zone soloing the ball  I realised that it was misplaced and illusionary self belief.  Like a bad singer on pop idol who always believed they were star quality.  Do Mayo not now realise that it was the players not the managers who lose them all Irelands. (ask M Moran) As for Mortimer - do Leopards change spots.  I gave him age that day but 1 year later he's still at it.  Brollys flair for language is amusing and unkind, but the underlying message is the same and its laced with truth.
The statement to feed a player farts is very funny though as well.   
Post by: Tubberman on July 25, 2007, 12:41:36 PM
QuoteBrollys comments are hilarious.  Everyone can now have a dig at Conor Mortimer..Unfairly possibly its always a matter of opinion..
I watched Mortimer in the all Ireland final against Kerry,, I believe he opted out... stayed out of the game and I believe  he was my numero one of a number of players who showed they werent good players that day, who were prepared to abdicate their reponsibilities who were not prepared to give it al or take it on for their county,  I read an interview one time where he had an almost arrogant level of belief in his own ability.  Last September as he ran backwards from the scoring zone soloing the ball  I realised that it was misplaced and illusionary self belief.  Like a bad singer on pop idol who always believed they were star quality.  Do Mayo not now realise that it was the players not the managers who lose them all Irelands. (ask M Moran) As for Mortimer - do Leopards change spots.  I gave him age that day but 1 year later he's still at it.  Brollys flair for language is amusing and unkind, but the underlying message is the same and its laced with truth.
The statement to feed a player farts is very funny though as well.

Pat Spillane's opinion of Tyrone's style of football in 2003 was that it was 'puke football'.
4 years later, Tyrone (and most of Ulster) are still whingeing about it - Pat is such a p***k and has a vendetta against Ulster etc etc (yawn)
Yet, when Brolly makes insulting remarks about an individual amateur (not a team) it's fair enough, even 'hilarious' according to some.

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 25, 2007, 12:41:57 PM
has Joe Brolly emerged from Gerry Sheridan back pocket where he was lodged in the Ulster Final in 1997 yet?  :-*

Joe should know a fair bit about being put in a back pockets  ;)
Post by: rrhf on July 25, 2007, 12:58:59 PM
right Ive had enough of this.  I have attended the 97; 2004 and 2006 all Ireland finals featureing Mayo.  Missing the the 96 final because of erm.. injury.   My experience is this Mayo phenomenon of complete collapse in finals is both mental and physical.  Men who put their shoulders wide in semi finals look half their normal size in the finals.  I have already said on this board Im not for another final with Mayo in it.  What annoyed me most was that their fans dont blame the players.. they blame the managers.  Mayo could have bounced back this year - they have the talent, but they are always abdicating responsibility and last years AIF defeat was deeemd to be a management problem.    Its time the players were deemed culpable for their end of the bargain. 
Whilst Brollys comments were rude and wrong they would be more appropriate for a pub arguement than a paper, thats what Brolly does and it is funny.  In a round about way i believe hes sticking up for Mickey Moran.       
Post by: trig on July 25, 2007, 01:52:33 PM
The issue is not about criticising Conor Mortimer, it is the manner in which it is done, as I said earlier if he wasn't a decent player in the first place people wont have high expectations of him
I think Mayo GAA secretary Sean Feeney summed it up best when he said "Unless you're controversial, they don't want you on The Sunday Game. Sometimes you just wonder what depths people will descend to in order to become controversial and stir it up"
when Brolly came on the scene first as a analysed he brought a refreshing change with his flair for language etc. However, as others has aludded to any reasoned analysis he may once have had has now given way to cheap comments in attempts to be funnny or stir up controversy or both.
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2007, 02:11:34 PM
As I said in the full back proble thread, there's more wrong with Mayo than a full back problem, and there's more wrong with Mayo last week than Mortimer having a poor game.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2007, 02:37:47 PM
QuoteWhat annoyed me most was that their fans dont blame the players.. they blame the managers.

Contrast that with this year where they abjectly fail but the supporters are happy cos the great messiah is "building a new team". Horse. Counties like Mayo have loads of talent and shouldn't be getting hammered by anyone.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 25, 2007, 02:48:45 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 25, 2007, 12:58:59 PM
In a round about way i believe hes sticking up for Mickey Moran.       

Brolly isn't sticking up for Mickey Moran. You are. Which is fair enough, of course.

As for what Brolly said about Conor Mortimer and his marker, isn't he completely correct? Isn't that exactly what happened?

Storm in a teacup. Michael Commins looking for a handy column for himself in the Mayo News. This sort of stuff has passed most people by in Mayo - in other years, after so few All-Star nominations in 2004, the wailing would have been long and loud. I don't remember anybody at home complaining at the time though, as we all realised that performance counts, and Mayo didn't perform.

It's interesting that it's Joe Brolly, of all people, having his little cut at C-Mort. You might remember some Cavan posters taking a cut at Conor for gesturing to the crowd in the Mayo v Cavan game at Castlebar. When I read it, I immediately thought of Brolly in his blowing kisses days. Brolly backed up the showboating, as another thread here testifies. Conor doesn't. That's the difference. If people want to Brolly to stop picking on Conor, tell him to put McGoldrick in his pocket and feed him on farts next time Mayo play Derry in the Championship. Otherwise, you have to take your licking.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 25, 2007, 02:56:18 PM
Slightly off topic, but seeing as some of the comments are relating to Mayo in AIF's thought I'd comment on that. 97 was hardly a collapse.
2004 and 2006 certainly were and the players have to take 75% of the responsibility for both performances. however, I know for a fact that tactically nothing was done to attempt to counteract Kerry's big threat before the final in 2006. The tactic was the Heaney was to try and break the ball away from Doheny down to Nallen. Genius. While that was the most obvious failing on the day there were plenty more all over the pitch. The obvious answer to me before the game was to put McGarrity on him, and start Brady. The thing Mayo have to avoid that day was a good start from Kerry and even if Brady hadnt lasted a full game, which he probably wouldnt have, he would have given a solid enough first half where Mayo might have been competitive.
There were similar failings in 2004 but I dont think they were all down to the players. The biggest thing, besides tactics, in my humble opinion, that wasnt addressed for 2006 was the collapse of 2004. If that chapter hadnt been succesfully closed off in the players heads as in, THIS is why that happened and here is how we make sure it cant happen again, they would have gone out there with the thought in the back of their heads that we dont know why this happened, so it can happen again. Then Kerry started running riot again and it was, as they say, deja vue all over again. The 2006 final was like someone added 70 odd minutes to the 2004 final as Kerry were having exactly the same successes in exactly the same places.
The Mayo players were entirely responsible for not taking the game by the scruff of the neck in the first 10 mins of the second half, they were only 5 point down despite the debacle of the first half and for that 10 mins Kerry almost paused to see what would happen. If mayo had managed two or three quck scores, or at least had shaken things up a bit then Kerry might have started to wonder. Anyway, thats like saying if me aunt had balls she'd be me uncle. Must go back to sleep now.
Post by: Romeo on July 25, 2007, 03:05:39 PM
These 2 pages just prove what Brolly is all about. He's using the Eamonn Dunphy method of being controversial for controversy sake, doesn't matter what he's saying as long as he's winding people up. It get's the ratings/reading no.s up and that works for his employers and keeps his paychecks coming in.
Post by: red hander on July 25, 2007, 04:02:58 PM
'Pat Spillane's opinion of Tyrone's style of football in 2003 was that it was 'puke football'.
4 years later, Tyrone (and most of Ulster) are still whingeing about it -'

No we're not ... we shoved his words right down his big gob in 2005 when we again made wee men of his beloved Kerry in Croke Park.
And yes, Brolly is a complete w**ker...
Post by: Louper on July 25, 2007, 06:08:18 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 25, 2007, 04:02:58 PM
And yes, Brolly is a complete w**ker...

hes obviously pissed u off over the years perhaps more with his goals and points than his opinions as a pundit. get over it, dont see too many tyrone hallions bein pundits!
Post by: Bensars on July 25, 2007, 06:31:19 PM
its not ajust a tyrone thing. I like him.

Put it this way if your in the pub watching a game and it comes to the half time analysis people will say "hold on a minute to hear what brollys saying", other analysists they couldnt care less about.

I think its taken a bit of time to get his humour. Initially i hated him, but thats before he was on the wind up and he had a lot more stories on tyrone than others. He would often say he was chatting to someone who said x y or z

If you dont like his comments, dont watch his analysis or read his column
Post by: ExiledGael on July 25, 2007, 06:40:09 PM
Agree, don't know why some people are getting so upset.
Some of the things I've heard Conor Mortimer say on a football pitch he obviously doesn't give a toss what people think of him, he's a 'big lad', he can take it!
Brolly is there to voice his opinions and tales from the business over the years, says what he thinks, fair enough.
Make a point of reading his stuff every week, it's his opinion nothing more or less, good to read or listen to.

By the way I'd say if Brolly was on here and seen the criticism of his apparently cowardly attitude, he'd probably laugh and agree, and recount some tale where he started a brawl then watched from the sideline as all his teammates took a hammering in the middle of the field
Post by: Denn Forever on July 25, 2007, 07:38:03 PM
I have to admit that I enjoy brolly's rants  And I think he is qualified to say these things.  Mayo people seem to be very defensive (paranoid?) about criitisms of their players.  Mortimer is ok, but would he turn a game in Mayo's favour? 
Post by: johnpower on July 25, 2007, 08:02:46 PM
I am all for free speach so I will not complain about analysts . If they tip toed around issues no use having them there . Brolly and Spillane can push it to the limit at times . As someone pointed out this was highlighted in a local Newspaper whoes coverage of GAA when it comes to the inter county scene is usually piss poor almost every where ?.
Post by: Elias on July 25, 2007, 08:50:23 PM
I like Joe Brolly, he always speaks his mind, is never fazed by the endless silly comments he has to put up with from his RTE collegues, and will fly the Ulster flag whenever possible.

So he pissed a few Conner M fans from Mayo off with one remark. Get over it I say, it is but one mans opinion  ;)
Post by: blast05 on July 25, 2007, 10:14:13 PM
QuoteRegarding Mortimer, definitely overrated

Everybody here seems to be in agreement on one thing - that Conor Mort is overrated. So who is it exactly that gives him this high rating in the first place ?? I don't ever recall having a discussion with a Mayo supporter who has claimed Mort is the Messiah and is capable of single handedly changing a game. I don't ever recall reading an article in a paper suggesting the same either. Is it not simply a case that his show boating pisses people off and that his arrogant tone in interview causes people to take a dislike and that somehow a mixture of these 2 things results in people presuming he is in the group of the top 4 or 5 forwards in the country ?

Lets be clear, despite his All-Star ((which was well deserved despite the All-Ireland final flop .... he after all destroyed Joe Higgins and Paul Casey among others)) i don't know of anybody who thinks he is in the absolute top drawer of inter county forwards but to describe him as "no good" is disingenuous ... or at least if he is, then what does that make Casey and Higgins ?

QuoteYou might remember some Cavan posters taking a cut at Conor for gesturing to the crowd in the Mayo v Cavan game at Castlebar.
As i saw it he was gesturing (hands out wide) at a Cavan player who was giving him verbals as he lined up to take a free

QuoteAs for what Brolly said about Conor Mortimer and his marker, isn't he completely correct?
Aggh, no. He wasn't fed on farts etc. but Conor Mort is going to have to put up with this type of jibe from every opponent he comes up against over the next year and no doubt from the odd drunken idjiot that he encounters ... but i'd have to blame the Mayo News for that as much as Brolly

Contrast that with this year where they abjectly fail but the supporters are happy cos the great messiah is "building a new team". Horse.

I think An Spailpin covers this point better than i ever could .... http://spailpin.blogspot.com/2007/07/championship-rolls-on-minus-mayo.html (http://spailpin.blogspot.com/2007/07/championship-rolls-on-minus-mayo.html)  ...  to summarise "It could be that the county now realises we have a limited cache of Messiahs, and need to make the current one last as long as we can."

QuoteBrolly isnt trying to be controversial, that is just him, he says whatever he he is thinking
Yes, but this is a written article so unless he got someone to type for him as quickly as he was talking

I think Trigs comment on Brollys piece is the most telling .....  how can McGoldrick have been the best player on the pitch if Conor Mort is no good anyway

Post by: townof12 on July 25, 2007, 10:37:50 PM
the sort of boy Adrian McGuckin had in mind when he said he distrusted boys with 'dyed hair and trendy clothes that scored 2-5 in friendlies'."

Brolly has a short memory about boys attracting attention to themselves; does he not remember blowing kisses to the crowd when he scored the odd goal? a prat then and a prat now!  As for Mortimor being no good due to yer man having a good game on him, does this mean brolly was no good after paul higgins made acquaintances with him in celtic park in 94?
Post by: Bensars on July 25, 2007, 11:19:37 PM
Quote from: townof12 on July 25, 2007, 10:37:50 PM
the sort of boy Adrian McGuckin had in mind when he said he distrusted boys with ‘dyed hair and trendy clothes that scored 2-5 in friendlies’.”

Brolly has a short memory about boys attracting attention to themselves; does he not remember blowing kisses to the crowd when he scored the odd goal? a prat then and a prat now!  As for Mortimor being no good due to yer man having a good game on him, does this mean brolly was no good after paul higgins made acquaintances with him in celtic park in 94?

Insightful first post.
Im always weary of first posts in topics a few pages deep.

Me thinks someone has used a pseudoname ::)
Post by: mick999 on July 26, 2007, 01:29:54 AM

In the same article Brolly said this about himself blowing kisses after scoring a goal in Celtic Park:

To the best of my knowledge it is the first lobbed goal in Celtic Park since I hoodwinked the Meath goalie in a league play-off in 1998.
"F...k!" he shouted, as the ball looped over his fingertips. It had been a bad tempered contest and the goal won it for us with a few minutes to go. I turned and ran out the field, blowing kisses and pointing at the foot. BBC showed footage of the incident recently and even I cringed!
Anyway, the antics came to an end when Colm Coyle (now Meath manager) put his boot in my leg and left me needing stitches. As I was coming into the dressing room afterwards, Brian Mullins said to me: "You deserved that you little bollocks!"
Memories, memories

He knows he was acting the bollix with his blowing kisses and Colm Coyle and even his manager Mullins let him know that  :)

Post by: Tubberman on July 26, 2007, 05:47:09 AM
Mortimer has replied to Brolly's article. Fair enough comments from Conor. He didn't feel the need to stoop to Brolly's level  ;)

MAYO ace Conor Mortimer has described scathing personal criticism from TV pundit and former Derry star Joe Brolly as "disrespectful."

Brolly lambasted Mortimer following Mayo's qualifier defeat against Derry in a 'Gaelic Life' magazine article.

Brolly said that 2006 All-Star Mortimer, who finished as his county's top championship scorer again this year, is "no good anyway" and that his Derry marker in the recent qualifier, Michael McGoldrick, had put him in his pocket "and fed him on farts."

Brolly's criticism has enraged football fans in Mayo and county board secretary Seán Feeney described the comments as "way over the top."

Mortimer, who scored 0-14 in three championship outings this summer, was made aware of Brolly's criticism by friends.

And he said: "It's disrespectful, especially coming from a so-called GAA person. But the only opinions that really matter to me are from people close to me and genuine Mayo football supporters. Joe Brolly's opinions don't register with me to be honest.

"I accept that he's there to do a job, but he hasn't annoyed me personally. Other people have commented on what he said to me and that's how I became aware of what he said."

DCU student Mortimer landed 0-6 against Galway in the Connacht SFC, 0-7 against Cavan in the qualifiers and a point in the Derry defeat.

And he vowed that Mayo will regroup and bounce back strongly from this year's disappointing campaign.

He added: "The break will do us good. We'll come back fresh again and we'll be contenders, with renewed enthusiasm."
Post by: Barney on July 26, 2007, 08:10:36 AM
Ok, it was pretty sensationalist journalism from the Mayo News. There is no real "outrage" in Mayo, nobody knew of the comments until they read the Mayo News!

Brolly is entitled to his opinion but its a bit too personal. Nobody will lose much sleep over it though. It does annoy me that all pundits on RTE are negative about every aspect of the game.

To see Conor is just "no good" is a bit ridiculous. In two games last year he scored 6 points off Joe Higgins, against Dublin it was 4 off Paul Griffin. Two players widely respected on here. He is not top drawer, but considering his size he is making the very best of his talents. I'm sure plenty of counties would be happy to have him on board.

On that AI issue any Mayo fan will tell you that '96 was the one that got away. In '97 we did not play well after the Galway game, and in 2004 and 2006 while the performances were gutless we met a far superior team. I don't blame any neutral supporter for hoping that Mayo don't get to the big day again. We have ruined the showpiece for neutrals on two of the last three years. But there is an extreme reaction to Mayo football - when we lose a big game you would swear we were of a similar standard to London or New York!
Post by: blast05 on July 26, 2007, 08:16:58 AM
QuoteIn '97 we did not play well after the Galway game

Barney, short memory. I would put the Offaly performance in the semi final as the most complete performance under Maughan.
Post by: spiritof91and94 on July 26, 2007, 09:18:12 AM
the sort of boy Adrian McGuckin had in mind when he said he distrusted boys with 'dyed hair and trendy clothes that scored 2-5 in friendlies'."

Just what I had in mind as I read this thread... Higgins ate him or gassed him on FARTS!!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2007, 09:35:48 AM
Fair dues to him (Conor Mortimer), he's risen above it all with not a little dignity. Maith sé. 
Post by: smelly fairy on July 26, 2007, 09:45:21 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 26, 2007, 08:16:58 AM
QuoteIn '97 we did not play well after the Galway game

Barney, short memory. I would put the Offaly performance in the semi final as the most complete performance under Maughan.

Feck Blast, don't agree with that at all.. Did we not have something like 17 wides that day, poor game of football, conditions atrocious.. Was the mayo v Kerry semi final the year before not a better option..?
And utterly agree with Magpie Seanie's sentiments, I don't get the stand by the man who has made some pretty out-there decisions with team selections this year... Why the criticism last year, but none this year.. It's like my father puts it.. If you've a name for getting up early, you can stay in bed all day....
Post by: prewtna on July 28, 2007, 05:02:38 PM
that might shut him up for a while!!

(http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f214/mayofan/LiamstranglesBrolly.jpg)
Post by: orangeman on July 28, 2007, 06:00:05 PM
With all this talk and discussion - Brolly wins again !