GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: MaroonAndWhite on July 21, 2007, 07:26:35 PM

Title: Where now for Galway?????
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on July 21, 2007, 07:26:35 PM
Its been two bad years for us football followers down Wesht..........the post mortem is inevitable. Where do we go now? Who's for the chop? Who should have been in the senior panel that wasnt??
Title: Re: Where now for Galway?????
Post by: Denn Forever on July 21, 2007, 07:57:37 PM
Don't know but some very wierd decisions?  Padraig Clancey not starting and when he came on, where did he play?  Lisstening to the radio, he seemed to be around the midfield.  Is Forde for the drop
Post by: Leo on July 21, 2007, 07:58:15 PM
I like Galway football and this team has some lovely footballers. Unfortunately that wins nothing these days and you need big mean men like Meath, Dublin, Tyrone etc., or at least a few of them in key positions. I watched the game today and Galway seemed tame, without urgency, some nice moves, great individual skills. If Carlsberg played football they'd probably play the nicest football in the world ...... but this game is for hardy porter drinkers these days.
Post by: Barney on July 21, 2007, 08:04:20 PM
Forde has to be a goner now. Galway need one of their own to steer them through a 3/4 year transition project. There is potential in the team but the style of play has to be changed to maximise their strengths up front. The first half today it was tough dour defensive stuff. They got caught out and when they reverted to playing football had Meath under pressure.

its a bad year for the west all in all. With due respect to Sligo the rest of the pack came back for them to get over the line. I don't think they'll be competitive in the quarters. Mayo were dire. Roscommon might even have been worse. Leitrim were honest but still well short. Up until last year in the minor the previous four or five years saw Connacht teams losing in the quarters of the minor championship. The standard in the province was low - maybe there are a few dark years ahead for all of us?
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2007, 09:17:08 PM
I thought Pagraig Joyce looked unfit - was he injured or is time catching up on him ?
Post by: Tyrones own on July 21, 2007, 09:59:57 PM

How did M. Meehan do?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 21, 2007, 10:21:55 PM
Well I'll give a longer more specific Galway post mortem maybe tomorrow but I have to say that I think football in Connacht is on a bit of a downward slope at present. I might get pelters for saying it but when the Sligos and Leitrims are winning Connacht titles it's a sure sign that the likes of Galway and Mayo are at a low ebb. This is just the reality of the situation and I think people know it deep down. No disrespect to Sligo who are as deserving as anyone of their success and I'll be cheering them on but the standard of football in Connacht is dreadfully low at present.

Galway, Mayo and Roscommon all have teams ranging from poor to middling right now and with the former two about to lose some big names to retirement I don't see it changing in the next year or two. I saw the Carlow minors playing Laois last weekend and I'm not even sure if the Connacht champions Galway will beat them in the quarters. For a Galway football fan to even entertain the notion of losing to Carlow in the past would have seen you committed to the nut house but not any more.

Yes Galway, Mayo and Roscommon have all won either U-21 or minor Al-Ireland's recently but as we all know underage success guarantees absolutely nothing. As you can tell I'm quite pessimistic about the immediate future of Connacht football. I feel we may be entering a bit of a slump for the next few years. However sometimes it gets darkest before the dawn.
Post by: mannix on July 21, 2007, 10:24:59 PM
They cannot go on forever,p joyce and co are near the end of the road and as it is in mayo new young lads are needed and they must be big,fast and tough with a will to fight, i reckon the fight is gone for most of the older lads except when they meet mayo.
Post by: dodo on July 21, 2007, 10:30:59 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on July 21, 2007, 09:59:57 PM

How did M. Meehan do?

Micheál Meehan had a decent game. Showed well for ball and took Fay for a point when you would of expected Fay to make the score more difficult for him. Won the penalty when there was no apparent foul commited, took the penalty and blasted it past Murphy in the Meath net.

Forde has to be finished now in Galway. A highly rated manager prior to taking over the Tribesmen, now his stock is greatly fallen. Was it that his management style was unsuited to Galway ? I don't rightly know. It will be very interesting who will take over from him as they seem rudderless and stale for the last few years. Only raising it for Mayo match in this years championship.
Post by: paulocon on July 21, 2007, 10:34:12 PM
GalwayBayBoy,

Exactly the conversation we had in the pub before the games today - I think Connaught football is at a low ebb and would be suprised to see Sligo make any impact in the QF's.. Have to say I nearly fell off the seat with some of the kicking by Sligo in the Connaught final but they still managed to win it despite themselves..

Stayed on for the first half of the Galway game today and there is a strange mix of old and young on the team. Watched the 2nd half in the pub and dragging on the battled-hardened veterans looked like a desperate throw of the dice. To me, it looks like Galway need to move on and rebuild. I think the GAA needs a strong Galway and Mayo team..
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 21, 2007, 10:51:01 PM
Well said GBB. Mayo are totally out of all grades including u-16 Ted Webb Cup now. Connacht needs Mayo and Galway to be strong. I think Connacht will be the weakest of the provinces for a few years now. I said that a few years back but Mayo came and beat the Dubs last year. Hopefully it will only be for a few years and not something like the 32 year famine..
Post by: darbyo on July 21, 2007, 11:37:41 PM
I feel a lot of ye Connaught lads are being overly pessimistic, I think Silgo will acquit themselves well in the QF. If both Mayo and Galway focus on their younger players and rebuild they'll both be challenging for major honours within two years.
Post by: Mitch Bucannon on July 21, 2007, 11:50:39 PM
Watched the game today and have to say Galway were a well beaten team - much more than the scoreline suggested.  The 'penalty,' which was extremely harsh to say the least only flattered to deceive.  The problem for a few years seems to have been in defence with no more major problems in attack.  Would any Galway people answer me a question.  What is the verdict on this Kieran Fitzgerald fella?  Always a lot of talk about him but he is roasted nearly every game I watch and never taken off.  Personally I think he's out of his depth at this level.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on July 22, 2007, 12:07:01 AM
I think theres the guts of a decent team there if they can get a bit more direction in their attacking play. Defensively we are relatively sound bar the calamitous five mins before half time when all and sundry fell asleep.
Midfield is still a major problem, no football in Cullinane at all. On another thread i heard him compared to O'Domhnaill which would be about right. He seems more concerned with niggling off the ball than anything else. Coleman is a wing forward....doesnt have aerial ability for midfield. Geraghty is not the answer either. I wonder has Kevin Walsh any sons???!
The forwards play as individuals and unfortunately, the ball going into them is terrible for this level of football. Hoofing aimless high ball in doesnt constitute quick ball. No support runners, and little teamwork by 10-15.
It should be a tempting job to an outside manager.....theres good players there but they need some structure, a game plan.......any plan really.
It would be a sad way for some lads to go out but its time to move on from 6 years ago......i think some of the lads havent. We're second tier now and the sooner we realise it the better  >:(
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 22, 2007, 02:07:50 AM
QuoteIt would be a sad way for some lads to go out but its time to move on from 6 years ago

It's very sad alright as not many counties have our tradition in the game. In itself that guarantees nothing but we expect to be dining at the top table even when we don't deserve to. We are a proud football county but we have to accept that we are building from the bottom floor again. It should be a fresh start next year with the last of the legendary old guard gone and a new coach. Probably a Galwayman who knows the young talent coming through. Don't ask me to name him though.

There is no hunger and very little spirit in the current team. Nobody wants to support a teammate and make a run for him. Too many individuals and no team ethic. No appetite for a battle. I expect more from players wearing the famous maroon and white but maybe I'm just naive like that.
Post by: Loup Bandit on July 22, 2007, 10:06:43 AM
Galway need to bring back Ray Silke, a great Irish speaker and gentleman.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 03:54:36 PM
Quote from: MaroonAndWhite on July 22, 2007, 12:07:01 AM
IIt should be a tempting job to an outside manager.....>:(

95% of Ross fans propose one John Maughan ;)
Post by: southderryman on July 22, 2007, 04:56:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 03:54:36 PM

[/quote

micky moran and john morrison  ::)
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 22, 2007, 05:10:34 PM

You're joking surely, only 95%?  ;D
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 05:32:48 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 22, 2007, 05:10:34 PM
[te]

I wish I was. Seems the Co Board "top table" want Maughan to stay.......they need locking up
Post by: dodo on July 22, 2007, 05:36:28 PM

The players want Maughan to stay also. Feckin' sheepstealers are never happy.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 05:42:07 PM
Quote from: Loup Bandit on July 22, 2007, 10:06:43 AM
Galway need to bring back Ray Silke, a great Irish speaker and gentleman.

When he was teacher in St.Geralds in Castlebar, the lads where rising the f**k out of him, sound man.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 05:54:17 PM
Quote from: dodo on July 22, 2007, 05:36:28 PM
The players want Maughan to stay also. 

Aww for **** sake !!!
Afraid a real manager might try to make them play football instead of going to Portugal  >:(
Post by: Duine Eile on July 22, 2007, 08:25:24 PM
Just listening to an interview with Peter Forde on Galway Bay FM there, he as good as said he's finished as manager and doesn't want another term.Changes are expected in the county board also so a lot will depend on who's at the top table when the time comes to pick a new manager. Starting without Padraic Joyce and Dec Meehan was a big mistake in my opinion, that left the team without any strong leaders on the field and was bound to have some impact on the players on the field. I had previously thought Pete Warren would be a fairly decent manager but I think I've changed my mind, no idea who is going to be in the reckoning for the job. It'll probably be a while before we hear of any retirement announcements but supposedly Ja is definitely finished, time will tell if Padraic, Deccy and Savo follow suit.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 08:40:14 PM
Quote from: dodo on July 22, 2007, 05:36:28 PM

The players want Maughan to stay also. Feckin' sheepstealers are never happy.  

Except when they stealing sheep  :D   :D   :D   :D   :D   :D Hey Leitrimfolk Lock up your sheep  :D
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 08:47:14 PM
Seeing your photo of Sean Flanagan reminds me that only ONE MAYO man ever got to collect Sam - in 1936. A Ros man collected it the other two times. ;)
So give us back Ballagh and we'll let ye have all the sheep ye want.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 08:51:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 08:47:14 PM
Seeing your photo of Sean Flanagan reminds me that only ONE MAYO man ever got to collect Sam - in 1936. A Ros man collected it the other two times. ;)

Seamus O'Malley from Balinrobe was indeed the first but Sean Flanagan was the second Ballagh is about as Rossie as Derry is British boy  :D
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on July 22, 2007, 09:59:25 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 08:51:05 PM

Seamus O'Malley from Balinrobe was indeed the first but Sean Flanagan was the second Ballagh is about as Rossie as Derry is British boy  :D

Shows how much you know about Ballaghaderreen. Of the 3 Ballaghaderreen players currently on the Mayo team, two grew up supporting Roscommon. The third would most certainly have grown up supporting Sligo. But Sean Flanagan was most certainly a Mayoman - given that he was not from Ballaghaderreen, but from Aughamore.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 11:24:37 PM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on July 22, 2007, 09:59:25 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 08:51:05 PM

Shows how much you know about Ballaghaderreen. Of the 3 Ballaghaderreen players currently on the Mayo team, two grew up supporting Roscommon. The third would most certainly have grown up supporting Sligo. But Sean Flanagan was most certainly a Mayoman - given that he was not from Ballaghaderreen, but from Aughamore.

Theres a handful of Brits in Derry too  :D
Post by: Jinxy on July 22, 2007, 11:36:36 PM
Galway have plenty of good footballers. If Meath have proven one thing this year, it is that organisation and spirit are just as important as footballing skill if a team are to progress. Galway have good players, but they don't have good spirit. Get that bit sorted and ye are back on the trolley. A new manager should freshen things up.
Post by: marty88 on July 22, 2007, 11:50:12 PM
The Pub
Post by: mouview on July 23, 2007, 10:26:54 AM
Don't lose heart completely. A friend of mine (and a person well known in Galway GAA circles) told me a story after the Connacht final about when he and another man returned home after seeing Galway lose to Longford in a league match some time back. Drowning their sorrows in the pub they speculated if they would ever see Galway win Sam in their lifetime again. The year? 1997.

The team as it stands needs major surgery, especially in midfield. Cullinane, Bergin, Coleman et al simply aren't good enough footballers to seize hold of a game the way the great Kevin Walsh could. The defense also needs shoring up where a more critical look at the Corofin backs must be done. The whole method of play needs to change too with proper delivery to the forwards a priority.
Post by: mannix on July 23, 2007, 10:34:13 AM
Rock and a hard place.
Need to be tough to beat the best teams,kerry etc but need to be able to play football to match them too and today galway are a shadow of the 2001 team and cannot do both the rough and football at the same time.Mayo are in the same boat, bleak times in store for the west.Sligo and co are not bad but will be killed by tyrone dublin or the like.
Post by: GallBoss on July 23, 2007, 11:01:06 AM
New faces given a chance to get to the same levels of fitness of the existing players it doesn't just happen over three FBD league games. There are club footballers there who I would like to get an extended run with Galway not the couple off weeks and then get discarded. Declan Meehan was not a regular until the 2000 campaign after being on the panel from 1996. Paul Clancy similar story. Sean Og similar story. So give some of the outstanding club players a real run at this level and not the token 1 or 2 FBD league games.

For example I'd be talking about
Michael Mitchell ----Killererin
Brian Kilroy ------Caltra
Paul Gately -----Caltra
Colm Colleran ----- Mountbellew Moylough
Cilin De Paor ----- Cheatar Rua
Brian Faherty ------Moycullen

Post by: Goin Down on July 23, 2007, 11:05:05 AM
Where now for Galway?????

Simple, Get rid of the old lads such as P Joyce, and spend the next 2 years with some new young players building a team, then Galway might have the tinest of chances of reaching 'an ok team' status again.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 23, 2007, 04:00:37 PM
Quote from: GallBoss on July 23, 2007, 11:01:06 AM

Cilin De Paor ----- Cheatar Rua
Brian Faherty ------Moycullen

If we're relying on those two lads we may as well not field next year. Christ almighty.

Lads, I wouldn't be to disheartened at all. I'm actually quite positive about the future. Our failings have been identified, and Forde is on his way out. Both good news. We are far too reliant on the older guys in the panel, and Forde's decision to axe Joyce I think was vindicated in that it allowed Meehan to finally step out of his  shadow. I was delighted to see Meehan perform so well after all he had to deal with earlier in the year.
We have the nucleus of a very good team. Despite Forde's faults, he has successfully replaced a lot of our so called irreplaceables. Doherty, Hanley, Blake, Nicky Joyce, and Armstrong have all come in and done quite well for McNamara, Fahy, Mannion, Donnellan, and Finnegan respectively.

Galway football isn't in such a bad state that it can't realistically aim to win a Connacht title next year, and a place in the quarter finals. That in itself would be progression.

After seeing Mattie Clancy's performance against Meath where I thought he got through a trojan amount of work, I think we are missing some scrappers, some guys to win the break, do the dirty stuff, around the half forward line. No team in the country starts six individual scoring forwards. It's unneccessary.

We also have absolutely no tactic in the forward line. It's been an awful long time since I've seen us engineer a score, like nearly every other county does. All our scores are off the cuff. It'll get you through the league, but come championship you'll find it a lot harder to progress. I'd love to know who our forwards coach is, he'd want to be shot.

Out with the old and in with the new. Now, hopefully will signal the retirement of Joyce and Fallon. While they're still very good footballers, they're halting the progress of those coming up. Meehan will no doubt take on Joyce's position as leader of the forward line. With him and Armstrong at 14 and 15, I don't think that there'll be many defences in the country that could hold them both.

What we also need is a bit of patience with some of the younger players. Just look at Nicky Joyce's transformation. From a half decent league player for the county, he now looks like a star of the Galway attack. As good as Meehan or Armstrong. While some of the young lads who have been around the panel are plainly not good enough, Cullinane for example, there are a lot of guys in there that could well come good in the near future.

What we are crying out for is a midfielder. Coleman is a wing forward, or maybe even a wing back. I' like to see him given a go at 7 to beef up our half back line. Coleman, Cullinane, and Geraghty are all not good enough to play midfield for a county like Galway. In fact, Cullinane and Geraghty should be dropped from the panel. Cullinane has absolutely no football in him. When he got the ball, Meath just let him have it, and doubled up elsewhere. They new as does everyone else he's half decent at winning it in the air, but after that, there's nothing.

Fitzgerald and the two Meehans have had a difficult year, and I think that next year we'll see a big improvement in their performances. I don't think Deccie will retire, and I wouldn't want him to either. Caltra will probably win Frank Fox, and sure he'll be captain.
I do agree that the Corofin bias in the defence has to stop too. It reminded me of the minor teams five-ten years ago where all there'd be is Corofin lads who were picked just because of who they played for, regardless of their standard. Comer and Sice are too light for intercounty football. Neither should be anywhere near the team. I'd stick with Damien Burke, and Fitzy though. Playing behind a beaten midfield and a light half back line including the likes of Comer and Sice was doing neither of them any good.

1. Doherty
2. Fitzgerald
3. Hanley
4. Burke
5. Meehan
6. Blake
7. Coleman
8. Bergin
10. Clancy
12. Joyce
14. Meehan
15. Armstrong

I'd make that three players we need to find in the league to go looking towards Croke park next year. A midfielder, and two scrappers in the laf forward line. Not a bad position for any incoming manager to be in.
Doom and gloom my arse, at least now all the talk of 2001 will be over.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2007, 04:32:32 PM
What a difference a couple of months makes. After beating Mayo convincingly Galway were on for a serious tilt at the AI and wondered who they would get in the quarters. After all they've just beaten the team that lost the previous AI final and won the U-21 AI last year.

FF to now. Leitrim give them their fill of it with an honest but limited side. Sligo outplay them but only struggle over the line as the weight of history takes its toll. This then means Connacht football is rubbish.

Sorry if I don't subscribe to this bullshit.
Post by: Deal_Me_In on July 23, 2007, 04:41:24 PM
Will Forde definately go? What do the tribesmen think of someone like Charlie Mulgrew taking over? He done reasonably well with a limited fermanagh side, had them well drilled and they played with a gameplan (most of the time)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2007, 04:42:49 PM
QuoteAfter beating Mayo convincingly Galway were on for a serious tilt at the AI

I don't know where this idea came from but it wasn't from any Galway fans. Even after the Mayo game I think we realised the limit of our ambitions was a Connacht title and hopefully maybe win a game in Croker.

Just cause the media got carried away with themselves doesn't make it reality unfortunately.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2007, 04:54:49 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 23, 2007, 04:32:32 PM
What a difference a couple of months makes. After beating Mayo convincingly Galway were on for a serious tilt at the AI and wondered who they would get in the quarters. After all they've just beaten the team that lost the previous AI final and won the U-21 AI last year.

FF to now. Leitrim give them their fill of it with an honest but limited side. Sligo outplay them but only struggle over the line as the weight of history takes its toll. This then means Connacht football is rubbish.

Sorry if I don't subscribe to this bullshit.

Go back and look at the posts from serious Galway contributors after the Mayo game. If you find one that tips us for an All Ireland I'd be surprised.

I think that you are taking the fact that Sligo won a Connacht title (well deserved and I was delighted for Sligo GAA folk) when Galway, Mayo and Roscommon all have poor to middling teams and the fact that some will say that Connacht football is weak at the moment because of this, as some sort of slight on that achievement, which you shouldn't.

The Sligo defence bottled up Micheal Meehan far better than one of the best full backs of the past decade could do last Saturday, I would give ye every chance against in the Q-finals regardless of the opposition, perhaps you're being a tad sensitive maybe seanie?

If I have mis-interpreted your post my apologies
Post by: belleaqua on July 23, 2007, 04:59:30 PM
I dont share the the view that Connacht football is set for a return to the bad old days. While there will be a transition period for both Galway and Mayo i feel they will be challenging within 3 years again. Both have lots of up and coming talent to work with.

Galway have a spine of a great team in Hanley, Blake, Bergin, Coleman, Joyce, Meehan and Armstrong. Joyce, Fallon and Savo have to be replaced with new blood and it will take time. this time next year we could find ourselves in a position similar to Meaths now.

I hope Warren doesnt get the job, maybe O'Donnellan will be a candidate. someone with fresh idea from within the county itself is needed and the burden of expectation dropping will also help.

I think Meehan showed saturday that for whatever reason, himself and Joyce could never gel together which was a pity. Meehan proved his worth as leader of the attack where everything went through him. was delighted to see him put in such a good performance especially after the difficult year he has endured personally.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 23, 2007, 05:07:29 PM
Saying that Connacht football is poor at the moment is (1) a slight on Sligo's achievement and (2) incorrect.

Did ye think Connacht football was poor when Galway beat Mayo? No-one did.

Quoteperhaps you're being a tad sensitive maybe seanie?

Maybe I am but it does grate that even when you DO win something you have folk from Galway and Mayo still looking down their noses at you telling you the stadard was poor cos they didn't win it. I knew after we won it that it was only a matter of time before that shit was trotted out.

Also -

QuoteGalway were on for a serious tilt at the AI and wondered who they would get in the quarters

is not the same as Galway will win the All-Ireland.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 23, 2007, 05:11:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 23, 2007, 05:07:29 PM
Saying that Connacht football is poor at the moment is (1) a slight on Sligo's achievement and (2) incorrect.

Maybe I am but it does grate that even when you DO win something you have folk from Galway and Mayo still looking down their noses at you telling you the stadard was poor cos they didn't win it. I knew after we won it that it was only a matter of time before that shit was trotted out.

Also -

QuoteGalway were on for a serious tilt at the AI and wondered who they would get in the quarters

Don't worry Magpie Seanie how is that much different from people saying is was a poor Championship when Mayo gets to the Final, we get that all the time.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 23, 2007, 05:27:29 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 23, 2007, 05:07:29 PM

Also -

You won't find anyone after the Mayo match who gave us even a prayer of winning the All Ireland.

Sligo's win was more than merited, best of luck to ye in the rest of the championship. The fact that you would let the preceived standard (or at least Mayo and Galway people's opinion of the standard) of football in Connacht detract from something that ye had waited on for 32 years is beyond me however and strikes me as very insecure. My uncle (a Mayoman) is fond of telling me that "ye only beat Kildare" to win in 1998, I be some eijit if I let that take away from what was my best day ever as a follower of Galway football.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2007, 05:34:22 PM
Connacht football is of a poor overall standard at present. How anyone can argue otherwise is beyond me. We have one team in the last eight and with greatest respect they are the team that everyone will want to draw.

Galway and Mayo have very average teams right now. Both knocked out of the championship and well beaten by relatively average teams in their own right. Things might change for both when the old wood is jettisoned and some young blood is introduced but it will take a little time. Roscommon have a downright poor team which I think even they would admit. Leitrim at least are playing somewhere near their best and maximising their resources but they are still a fairly limited outfit. Sligo are doing the same and even a bit more on top of that. They have been the best side in Connacht this year.

Compare that to a few years ago when over roughly the same period of time Galway were one of the best teams in the land, Mayo had a fine side capable of reaching the business end of the Summer and both Roscommon and Sligo were quarter final material. Nobody can tell me the standard in general hasn't slipped a lot. This isn't a slight on Sligo. This is just fact so there should be no need to sugarcoat the pill.

Now sometimes things can change quickly and maybe there will be a sudden improvement next year but I don't really see it.
Post by: Galway15 on July 23, 2007, 06:30:46 PM
Saw this written by a poster on hoganstand and it makes interesting reading:

Galway Team Selection
I for one was not surprised with Galway's defeat yesterday. After John O'Mahony came in and showed what Galway can do when the best players from all over the county are picked, it seems we have returned to the dark old days of Galway teams dominated by north board players (with a few Salthill players thrown in for good measure!). 4 of Galway's 6 backs yesterday were from Corofin. Now if the Corofin backs couldn't keep Milltown at bay last weekend then how on earth were they going to keep a county forward line out? I'm not finding fault with the players in question here - they train hard and play their best and of course want to do well. It is firmly a problem that lies with the management. As someone who follows club football in Galway very closely I have been amazed in the last few years with the players that have been brought in for trials games etc with Galway and, more importantly, the players who have not. Seeing Ja come out of retirement last year really took the biscuit for me personally. Ja is an absolute legend in Galway football but his day is gone (unfortunately). There are many fine footballers in the west board who never seem to get a chance with Galway. Add to this the laughable situation with club fixtures, whereby games are continually cancelled due to county commitments, and is it any wonder that:
A) The standard of football team being sent out by Galway is severely lacking
B) Club players are getting increasingly disillusioned with the GAA.

Firstly players aren't being given a chance with Galway - and then they are denied the opportunity to play matches where they might actually impress and force their way into the county managements plans.

Galway football is in need of a major overhaul, from the management to the county board. Of course nothing is going to happen at county board level so I will at the very least ask them this:
A)That they appoint a management team that will look fairly at every player in the county and not just at players from certain areas/clubs.
B) That when a new management team is appointed very strict rules are laid down about the provision of players to their clubs for matches and that club fixtures are given equal priority to the county team.

Maybe then we'll see some progress in Galway football.

By the way DJ Galiv Cillín de Paor would be a great choice by any new manager....You clearly havent seen him in club games in the last 3 years against the so called great county players! he's a fantastic player..i guarantee you ask any county player if he should be on the squad and you would get a positive reply....before u reply to me i aint from his club or know him but you my friend are clueless!!!!!!
Post by: Duine Eile on July 23, 2007, 07:05:25 PM
I saw Cillian de Paor in a club match not two weeks ago and the lad, god love him, couldn't kick shit off a stick. Young Keighrey (I think, he was Caltra no.12) from Caltra looked like a lad to keep an eye on though.I see someone mentioned Mike Mitchell for a shot on the panel, a couple of years ago maybe, but don't think he's really be up to it. If I was to pick anyone from the Killererin team it'd be Micheal Keane, about 6 foot 5 and can catch a ball over his head and can score.
Post by: Redgreenery on July 23, 2007, 07:20:44 PM
Galway are average now, they need to get rid of some of the older players with to many miles on their legs, bring in some new players with potential and talent, they need to scout around the county to find these guys, I'd agree with what was said at Galway needing a new Manager, I cant see P Forde bringing them much further than the quater finals at this stage of his own career.

As to Connaught Football, this year it is poor, 1 team in the quater finals is bad and even worse everyone wants to draw them, and the fact no Connaught team came out of the qualifiers, next year I'd expect more from Galway and Mayo, with a possible place for Sligo or Leitrim, but no miracles next year, but Connaught football will make its way back on the road again in the next 2 or 3 years.
Post by: Rossfan on July 23, 2007, 07:29:23 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on July 23, 2007, 07:20:44 PM
no Connaught team came out of the qualifiers, next year I'd expect more from Galway and Mayo, with a possible place for Sligo or Leitrim, .

There are FIVE Counties in Connacht ya ......... >:(
Jasus lad I hope you are left atin' your words next year.
Then again maybe you're Maughan   :(
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 23, 2007, 07:31:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 23, 2007, 07:29:23 PM
no Connaught team came out of the qualifiers, next year I'd expect more from Galway and Mayo, with a possible place for Sligo or Leitrim, .

Who the 5'th London or New York?  :D
Post by: Redgreenery on July 23, 2007, 08:20:55 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 23, 2007, 07:31:22 PM

:D :D :D Theres 6, hes wrong, London, New York, Galway, Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim. :D ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 23, 2007, 08:38:01 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on July 23, 2007, 08:20:55 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 23, 2007, 07:31:22 PM

:D :D :D Theres 6, hes wrong, London, New York, Galway, Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim. :D ;)

I think the introduction of Paris or Warikshire as the 7'th might be on the cards  :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2007, 09:27:15 PM
For what it's worth Jim Carney was on Newstalk this evening and he said he was talking to Padraig Joyce today and that Padraig has NO intention of retiring and indeed that he intends to play on for at least another two years if selected.
Post by: Galway15 on July 23, 2007, 09:37:27 PM
Duine eile...you clearly dont know your players ya smug idiot....I saw against caltra he wasnt at his best but jaysus he was lording it against Corofin in the first round.next thing you will want Wrapper and John Wilson on the Galway panel!!!!!!!! If the likes of De Paor doesnt deserve a crack Michael Keane certainly doesnt! not great god bless him...id agree Mike Mitchell is a good player..played against him..terrific player in fact...what about David warde, Robert Hughes, Paul Gately or Seamie crowe?
Post by: Duine Eile on July 23, 2007, 09:48:13 PM
Fair enough didn't see him against Corofin but I've seen plenty of club, school, college and under age games he's played in and he's never impressed me, but that's just my opinion, you obviously have your own. Don't be so defensive!David Warde and Seamie Crowe have been on the panel in the past, might be worth another look. And no, I don't want John Wilson and Wrapper on the Galway team, but yes, Micheal Keane is one for the future in my opinion. Sorry for daring to disagree with you. ::)
Don't think Padraic Joyce is finished yet either, a lot will depend on who takes over as manager I'd say.
Post by: johnpower on July 23, 2007, 09:49:54 PM
Galway fans who do you  think is the best man for the job and who will get it?
Post by: Duine Eile on July 23, 2007, 10:03:59 PM
Not a bloody clue and that's the honest truth. Changes are expected at the county board top table this autumn so that will probably have a baring on who's considered for the job.
Post by: ross matt on July 23, 2007, 10:35:54 PM
Seanie I dont think you should take the fact that people here are saying the standard of Connacht football has dropped to be an insult to Sligo. There is no getting away from the fact that our province is not in good shape at the minute. I actually think the Sligo side of 2001/2002 were a better side than the present one. In 2001 (unfortunately for them) they arrived at a time when Galway ended up AI champions, Mayo won the league and we won the Connacht championship. In fact if I recall correctly Sligo, Mayo, Galway and Ross were the 4 league semi finalists that year. That in itself shows you how much Connacht football has fallen back. But this year Sligo could only beat what was in front of them and indeed should have beaten ourselves and Galway by more. I've no doubt they'll keep the flag flying for Connacht in the qualifiers and I wish them the best of luck.
Post by: Galway15 on July 23, 2007, 10:55:49 PM
After o mahony and Forde (who is surely gone!!!) we will probably go in house...Eoin o Donnellan maybe? he seems to know his stuff and from my sources he's a great man manager..as regards players coming in ive been to loads of games over the last few years and will be interesting who gets a proper crack..or Duine eile You fancy Billy Joyce for manager? Ah now you know im codding with ya :P
By the way on a Killererin note i threw a few bob on them for the frank fox...wide open with corofin gone and i know Padraig joyce being the man he is will be mad to show everyone he'd not finished..plus Nicky who was sublime the last day wont be stopped..mike mitchell, Tommy J, Damien Fla, Jonathon keane...good players
Post by: Clarin Pearl on July 23, 2007, 11:08:05 PM
There was never a chance that Joyce was going to quit. It said loads about both men that it took joyce to give out about cullinane to Forde for the most obvious move of the match to happen. Bane in for cullinane. Padraig is a cocky fecker when he gets going but he was so right. He came on and sorted out the half forward line in a way that Fallon just wasn't doing.

I'd still be looking for John Devane to get a run again(i'm not the biggest club football watcher). It was a joy to see Mikie Meehan hitting frees from 50 yards. 2 beauties at either end of the field. The threat from the 40 has to return to drag out the oppositions bulk defence.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2007, 11:16:23 PM
I'm certainly not against Joyce staying on. His experience could still be vital considering that there will probably be a bunch of young lads introduced for next year. However I think we have to stick with Meehan at full-forward. It's his natural position and he was transformed once he was started there last Saturday and he gave Fay his fill of it. The corner just doesn't suit him.

Think Ja has already said he'll be packing it in. Savo and Deccie I'm not sure about. I think Deccie will hang on. Not sure about Savo.
Post by: Clarin Pearl on July 23, 2007, 11:25:07 PM
Dead Right GBB. Meehan has been pillaried by the national critics all year(brolly particularly). Forde has nearly destoyed him in the corner. There won't be room for Savo starting. Deccie meehan has lost a few yards. He is still as good as whats out there.

Before we can get to picking a team though, the back room team is as important. We have the bones of a great team here. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Getting them all organised to play together is going to be a tough job.  I have no idea who to get in.

There are still players who won't pass the ball to each other on that team. Both sides need their heads knocked together.
Post by: AhFeckRef on July 23, 2007, 11:36:30 PM
FFS. It's like 94 all over again!. Sligo or Leitrim make a breakthrough and suddenly Connacht football is in crises! Galway or Mayo make a breakthrough and the provence is on top of the world. Give me a break. That's a load of S**it.

Post by: blast05 on July 23, 2007, 11:44:23 PM
QuoteFFS. It's like 94 all over again!. Sligo or Leitrim make a breakthrough and suddenly Connacht football is in crises! Galway or Mayo make a breakthrough and the provence is on top of the world. Give me a break. That's a load of S**it.

I think the whole of Connacht were equally sh*te in the early 90's.
As for this year, its up to Sligo to put in a serious performance as a minimum in the QF's to prove wrong the septics who are insisting the standard was down this year and that this Sligo team are not as good as the team of a few years ago. Its harsh on them that they haven't got the credit they deserve yet but thats the reality ....  in my view, it has been a sort of a condescending credit being given from the national media in the same way as i recall Mayo getting credit for getting to the league semi finals in 1996.
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2007, 11:46:07 PM
QuoteFFS. It's like 94 all over again!. Sligo or Leitrim make a breakthrough and suddenly Connacht football is in crises! Galway or Mayo make a breakthrough and the provence is on top of the world. Give me a break. That's a load of S**it.

Unlike 94 there is now the backdoor. Neither of the "big" teams in Connacht have made any impact in the qualifiers, suggesting that things have slipped a bit.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 24, 2007, 12:25:59 AM
Quote from: Galway15 on July 23, 2007, 10:55:49 PM
Duine eile You fancy Billy Joyce for manager? Ah now you know im codding with ya :P

Oh very funny!Though he did get us to a semi final in 88(or 89?) which is more than Forde managed with probably a much better bunch of players. Anyway, that's neither here nor there, we'll probably see the usual few names being troted out, ie John Tobin, Frank Doherty and the likes. I think we should stay inside the county this time though, we need someone who's going to have an ear to the ground, knows who to look out for on the club scene etc.

I know people here agreed with the decision not to start Padraic Joyce, I'm not one of them.(Surprise, surprise.) Bar Mike Meehan and Nicky Joyce, the forwards had no shape or urgency about them until Padraic came on in the second half, he's not afraid to let a roar when it's needed and do a bit of rearranging, in short they had no leader. Think we're all agreed though, we do have the makings of a great team, still not convinced about Doherty but Finian Hanley is becoming a fine full back, he's only 22, Damien Burke beside him is a brilliant corner back when he's on his game, needs a few more games like the Mayo match to boost his confidence. We have Coyne and Blake battling for the no.6 shirt, again 2 lads the right side of 25. Mid field, is definitely a problem area and needs sorting. There has to be a couple of decent midfielders in this county somewhere, let's hope we find them for next years championship. Up front, Nicky Joyce and Mike Meehan are going to be our main threats for the next few years, again only 22 or 23 both of them. Add in guys like Padraic Joyce, and we have a formiddable looking line up, they just need that little bit of something to make them gel. Hopefully a competent management team is the little bit that's missing and will be put right before long.

Quote from: Galway15 on July 23, 2007, 10:55:49 PM
By the way on a Killererin note i threw a few bob on them for the frank fox...wide open with corofin gone and i know Padraig joyce being the man he is will be mad to show everyone he'd not finished..plus Nicky who was sublime the last day wont be stopped..mike mitchell, Tommy J, Damien Fla, Jonathon keane...good players
Wide open indeed, still very wary of Salthill though.Caltra are beatable from what I've seen of them so far this year, all in all, not a lot to choose between any of the teams left. Tom the Bomb had a great game at corner back against Dunmore actually, covered acres of ground. Johnny Keane, Declan Kelly and Micheal Keane are 3 to look out for the future though.
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on July 24, 2007, 07:25:02 AM
Quote from: Clarin Pearl on July 23, 2007, 11:08:05 PM
There was never a chance that Joyce was going to quit. It said loads about both men that it took joyce to give out about cullinane to Forde for the most obvious move of the match to happen. Bane in for cullinane. Padraig is a cocky fecker when he gets going but he was so right. He came on and sorted out the half forward line in a way that Fallon just wasn't doing.

I'd still be looking for John Devane to get a run again(i'm not the biggest club football watcher). It was a joy to see Mikie Meehan hitting frees from 50 yards. 2 beauties at either end of the field. The threat from the 40 has to return to drag out the oppositions bulk defence.

Clarin Pearl, you obviously dont know PJ.....theres nothing cocky about him, he just knows what hes about unlike Forde. He captained Ireland to compromise rules titles, been a selector with Ireland, won 3 all Irelands, two county titles, a couple of All Stars, Player of the Year etc etc etc....entitled to some degree of confidence I suspect!!! And a definite Galway manager in the future.......hopefully a bit away yet though - we can get more out of him.
Did anyone else see Cullinanes kick pass early in first half.....a 20 yard kick pass and he wellies it over sideline. He has no interest in anything other than niggling players from the opposition that foul a Galway man. If he applied himself as well to getting the high ball at midfield as he did to that shite hed be better served. That said, Doherty kept hoofing it down the middle even when we were not winning any clean possession.
God willing we wont go back to the days of Tobin anyway....or bring in someone like Paidi or Permatan Maughan (sorry Rossies!). Id like to see an insider again for the simple reason that in all the club matches Ive gone to in last 3 years (and thats alot), there was never a sign of Forde so even if there was better options out there, he never knew about them.
Roll on 2008, theres no way it can be as bad as last two years!
Post by: MaroonAndWhite on July 24, 2007, 07:26:29 AM
By the way, that should have read 2 All Irelands, I got a bit over excited!!!!
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2007, 10:47:16 AM
QuoteThe fact that you would let the preceived standard (or at least Mayo and Galway people's opinion of the standard) of football in Connacht detract from something that ye had waited on for 32 years is beyond me however and strikes me as very insecure.

Nothing is taking away from the win in my eyes. I don't really care a whole pile for what people who couldn't name 5 of our team a month ago think. That in itself shows what they know about football. If us fellas in Sligo listened to the like of this from Mayo and Galway over the years we'd have packed up playing ball and taken up cricket or something.

If teams are keen to draw us then that is great. I couldn't wish for more than a team who might think we're a soft touch.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 24, 2007, 10:48:09 AM
Quote from: Galway15 on July 23, 2007, 06:30:46 PM
Saw this written by a poster on hoganstand and it makes interesting reading:

By the way DJ Galiv Cillín de Paor would be a great choice by any new manager....You clearly havent seen him in club games in the last 3 years against the so called great county players! he's a fantastic player..i guarantee you ask any county player if he should be on the squad and you would get a positive reply....before u reply to me i aint from his club or know him but you my friend are clueless!!!!!!

I've seen enough of Cillín de Paor to know that he's not intercounty standard. I know him, very sound lad, played against him on numerous occasions and never had any trouble marking him. If the likes of him, Cullinane, Breathnach and Bradshaw are on the panel then we will struggle.

Quote from: Galway15 on May 30, 2007, 09:55:14 PM
Bíonn craic aisteach ag an gcomortas!!..An Cheathrú Rua abú!

I'm not for one minute saying you have any affinity for, or connection to An Cheathrú Rua.

I think you should stop calling people clueless, and smug idiots. Especially when you think that the likes of de Paor should be called up, and Doherty, Blake, and Mattie Clancy aren't county standard. If you want to start name calling head back to hoganstand, this place is for reasoned debate. Good lad.

Quote from: Galway15 on February 05, 2007, 06:55:58 PM
in my view as reagrds galway we just have guys who aint up to this level and no matter what they wont be...im talkin of Mullahy,Doherty,Blake even..these guys are below average..Breathnach,mike comer and Matt Clancy never are inter county either

As ye have said, according to Jim Carney, Joyce is staying on for at least one year, maybe two. Where is he supposed to fit in? Meehan is the main man now should lead the forwards from no. 14.
Could Joyce persuade Paul Clancy and Michael Donnellan back? Those two would be huge additions to our half forward line. Two creative workers alongside Nicky Joyce in the half forward line would be perfect. I'd say if we got a new high profile boss with a bit of sense about him the likes of Donnellan and Clancy could be enticed back. Colm O'Rourke would be my choice. He knows his football, is ruthless and commands instant respect. Eoin O'Donnellan or Pete Warren wouldn't be too bad either.
Post by: DJGaliv on July 24, 2007, 12:16:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2007, 10:47:16 AM
QuoteThe fact that you would let the preceived standard (or at least Mayo and Galway people's opinion of the standard) of football in Connacht detract from something that ye had waited on for 32 years is beyond me however and strikes me as very insecure.

Nothing is taking away from the win in my eyes. I don't really care a whole pile for what people who couldn't name 5 of our team a month ago think. That in itself shows what they know about football. 

If teams are keen to draw us then that is great. I couldn't wish for more than a team who might think we're a soft touch.

Ah will you stop your moaning Seanie. The topic of this thread is "Where now for Galway?" not "Why aren't everyone saying Connacht football is as good as ever contrary to all known evidence?"

Sligo have been given huge credit since they won the Connacht title. Galway supporters have been nothing but gracious. Nonetheless, the fact remains Sligo are not a top side. They lost half their games in Division 2B this year, and are due to play Division 3 football next year. The only county we have left, has only three provincial titles, and never won an All-Ireland. It is based on pure fact that Sligo would be everyones first choice in the quarters.

Respect isn't just given out, it's earned. It's up to Sligo now to go out and build on the success of one provincial title, and earn it. They have only made three provincial finals in thirty years. That's shockingly poor. I'd love to see Sligo win an All-Ireland, and will be supporting them for the rest of the year. I don't think any team left in the championship is a soft touch. However, any knowledgable football fan will see a Sligo team who have only beaten New York, a dreadful Roscommon, and a dying Galway team, as their favoured opposition.

It is entirely up to Sligo to show that the provincial title was not a flash in the pan, a la Clare, Westmeath, or Leitrim and add start putting in consistent performances in big games. If they start making quarter finals on a regular basis then people won't be so quick to presume Connacht football is on the way down, until then it's fair to say so. Mayo and Galway have both reached the end of the road with a few vital players, and both counties aren't nearly as good as they were over the last seven years. Obviously due to this Connacht football isn't as difficult to win as it was when Galway were getting to All-Ireland's in 2000 and 2001, or Mayo in 2004 or 2006.

The Connacht football championship this year has been of a poor standard. Every team that has gone out from it has been beaten almost immediately by teams from outside the province. Mayo beating a decimated Cavan being the exception. They subsequently were thrashed by Derry.

QuoteIf us fellas in Sligo listened to the like of this from Mayo and Galway over the years we'd have packed up playing ball and taken up cricket or something.

Well ye must have been listening to them since 1976 so.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 24, 2007, 12:20:11 PM
I don't think Mayo people would have been boasting too much in the late 70's or early 80's must have been Roscommon & Galway people in those days.
Post by: myball22 on July 24, 2007, 01:03:34 PM
I think it's a long road back for Galway really. We need at least two midfielders, two half backs, and two half forwards to be unearthed from somewhere. We're still waiting for a number of players to step up to the mark but they never really done so.

We've won a lot of Connacht minor titles in recent years yet never made in past the quarter final stage so not sure if the talent is there at underage. The only way to know this is to bring in a number of the young lads and see if they can compete at the higher level.

It's hard to see any big name taking over the Galway job now. A number of people thought in 97 that there was potential there but it's hard to see it at present. However can't think of anyone in the county I would have faith in to do the job. Anyone spring to mind?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 24, 2007, 01:12:54 PM
QuoteHowever can't think of anyone in the county I would have faith in to do the job. Anyone spring to mind?

The two that have won club All-Ireland's are Frank Doherty with Caltra and Eoin O'Donnellan with Salthill but I wouldn't exactly be convinced by either of them.

How about Bunty Boche? ;D
Post by: seanshunt on July 24, 2007, 01:26:55 PM
Will people please please please stop mentioning Pete Warren's name in the same sentence as Galway County senior manager, he was Forde's right hand man for god's sake, cut any links with this administration and get someone who know's how to put out a team with a plan 'A' not mind a plan 'B'. Be careful what ye wish for, ye just might get it.
For the westies, N. Galway will always have more players on any Galway football team, its the home of the sport in Galway, bar Carraroe in the mid 90's I cant remember any other western club winning a senior championship, De Paor is a decent footballer and a sound skin and is as good as Cullinane but lord help us over the next few years if we need to rely on these type of pllayers
Post by: Clarin Pearl on July 24, 2007, 09:17:03 PM
M&W,

I met PJ on numerous occasions a few years ago. Sound lad. I meant on the field. Cocky is probably a bit overboard. Just a bit overconfident so. Obviously you are not going to captain your team to honours and fulfill your goals without that touch of cocky,doin it my way,Keano style of player.