Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 02:14:18 PM

Title: Is there a better quality of life living outside the pale
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 02:14:18 PM
as somebody who spent 7 years working in Dublin and then moved back west i wouldn't move back to dublin if you gave me a million squid (probably only buy a shoe box anyway)  not that i didn't like living in dublin i did make some good friends played the gaa and enjoyed me pints in the big smoke however the quality of life i feel  is completely different .I'm in to work in 10 minutes no traffic jams i don't spend 14 hours a week stuck on the m 50, not crippled  by a huge mortgage first time buyers can still afford to buy new houses at a reasonable price even with rising interest rates, nice environment to raise children and i don't have to pay a fortune on childcare and i still have a few yoyo's left over to enjoy a few pints at the weekend.Just wondering what would it take a true dub to make the move outside the pale and what are the benifits of living in Dublin.   
Title: Re: Is there a better quality of life living outside the pale
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2007, 02:17:05 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 02:14:18 PM
.Just wondering what would it take a true dub to make the move outside the pale and what are the benifits of living in Dublin.   

1 -A Job
2 -loadsa well paid jobs
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:18:24 PM
its a hard thing to put my finger on but i think for most Dubs i dont think it is dublin in particular that keeps them here, i think it is city life. I love city life, yes the traffic is crazy, prices are crazy but there is always something to do. I wcould never see myself moving out of dublin to another place in Ireland but I would always conside the likes of Boston, New York or most large cities.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 02:25:50 PM
I moved away and love the quiet life.
The hustle bustle is grand during the day but its nice to escape in the evenings too.
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2007, 02:29:44 PM
QuoteJust wondering what would it take a true dub to make the move outside the pale and what are the benifits of living in Dublin

I made the move to enemy territory 12 years ago and the principle reason was the property price at the time. We couldn't afford to buy a house in the areas in Dublin in which we wanted to live and bring up the kids. I actually moved from South County Dublin to ensure my kids wouldn't become mall rats and D4 wannabees. Another attraction was the need for a sense of community which I had growing up in Dublin but which I fet was missing in the estates we were looking at at the time. No regrets except when the auld enemy beat us in the championship.   

Still would class myself as a Dub though when asked where I'm from.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 02:48:08 PM
Damn straight you do Declan!

Great craic walking into the local with the oul jersey on coming back from Croke Park after a good win!
Post by: magpie seanie on July 18, 2007, 03:03:14 PM
Moved home over two years ago after almost 11 years in Dublin. Would have been home sooner but met a lass and she needed a good bit of convincing. Despite that she's delighted with the move. At present my drive to work is 10 minutes (hits a high of 18 in school months). The house we bought cost about 1/3 of what a similar house in Dublin would cost. Every time I get stuck in traffic when I go back to Dublin I wonder how people can stick it. I go mental. Literally cannot cope.

I enjoyed my early years in Dublin - no doubt about that. You just get sick of it and for me the move home has been fantastic. I always worried that it wouldn't live up to my expectations but thankfully it has.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 03:14:55 PM
Living in Dublin 7 years now Palmerstown for one and the last 6 in Lucan.
Don't mind it too much as i am working for myself and i have based all my work around Meath and Kildare so i don't really get stuck in too much traffic.
Would love to move out into the country though but herself is a Dub and will take a bit of presuading.
With the money i paid for my house in Lucan i could have bought two houses in Portlaoise,And i only live in a ordinary 3 bed semi
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 03:17:08 PM
Quality of life, and specifically traffic, was an issue even 26 years ago when I decided to move. I was living and working in Drogheda and the company I worked for was going to go down the tubes. In my line of business there were very few opportunities other than in the cities. So if I was staying it was work in Dublin and sit in traffic for (then) at least two hours a day. I thought about that for about eight seconds and then contacted the headhunters and asked them to look for opportunities in Galway, Limerick and Cork. I ended up in Limerick for 11 years (a fine place to live, despite the shite in the media) and then moved to Cork.

The major disadvantage is having your kids grow up with a Cork accent. Nothing prepares you for that! But I get my compensation every time I visit Dublin, sit in traffic for even fifteen minutes and reflect on what I could have been doing for the last quarter of a century.
Post by: bingobus on July 18, 2007, 03:17:52 PM
Moved home about 3 1/2 yrs ago from Dublin after about 9 years all together. Was dying to move home for the last year as everyone else was moving back home and other mates from elsewhere were settling out in the sticks round Dublin. Took away the social scene that I had really enjoyed in Dublin for a number of years.

Totally happy at home, married, bought house, first child on the way, heavily involved with local club again, got settled in job with really good potential, 15 min hike to work and have a good social life with a really good group of friends. Couldn't imagine it been this good if I had stayed in Dublin.

But I suppose its what you're brought up with. I have friends from Tipp, Cavan, Wexford who wouldn't dream of leaving Dublin and have bought property there. I always put it down to the fact that they didn't have many ties at home apart from family. No close friendships and had made more friends in Dublin through college and work than they had at home.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 03:21:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 03:17:08 PM
Quality of life, and specifically traffic, was an issue even 26 years ago when I decided to move. I was living and working in Drogheda and the company I worked for was going to go down the tubes. In my line of business there were very few opportunities other than in the cities. So if I was staying it was work in Dublin and sit in traffic for (then) at least two hours a day. I thought about that for about eight seconds and then contacted the headhunters and asked them to look for opportunities in Galway, Limerick and Cork. I ended up in Limerick for 11 years (a fine place to live, despite the shite in the media) and then moved to Cork.

The major disadvantage is having your kids grow up with a Cork accent. Nothing prepares you for that! But I get my compensation every time I visit Dublin, sit in traffic for even fifteen minutes and reflect on what I could have been doing for the last quarter of a century.

Thats nothing.If i stay in Dublin and have kids they'll have feckin Jackeen accents....Howyais Da and bleedin this and bleedin that  :-[
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 03:25:50 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 03:21:27 PM

Thats nothing.If i stay in Dublin and have kids they'll have feckin Jackeen accents....Howyais Da and bleedin this and bleedin that  :-[
think how proud you will be when you see them walking out onto croker with their dublin jerseys and you shouting come on the dubs from the hill Laoislad along with tankie,indiana and gnevin  ;)
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2007, 03:35:45 PM
QuoteThe major disadvantage is having your kids grow up with a Cork accen

I know the first time my young fella said can we go to Naavan I cried!!!!

Quoteherself is a Dub and will take a bit of presuading.

No chance Laios Lad - Dubs girls always want to stay close to the Ma

Post by: blast05 on July 18, 2007, 03:38:53 PM
QuoteWould have been home sooner but met a lass and she needed a good bit of convincing

Any tips on what the convincing was  :P   albeit that i would have more of a work commute at home than what i have now !
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 03:40:36 PM
4 years in Galway & 5 in Dublin, moved home to Mayo last September, glad of the move, did have lots of craic in Galway & Dublin but got tired of Dublin, sure still go up the very odd time for pints with the lads.

Of my friends living in Dublin the ones from Munster & Connaught & Donegal seem to want nothing more to leave Dublin and get back to the West or South, while the other Ulster & Leinster don't seem to mind Dublin much, just what I have noticed.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 03:44:06 PM
Quotethink how proud you will be when you see them walking out onto croker with their dublin jerseys and you shouting come on the dubs from the hill Laoislad along with tankie,indiana and gnevin

Oh Christ it be my worst Nightmare :'( :'(
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 03:54:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 03:44:06 PM
Quotethink how proud you will be when you see them walking out onto croker with their dublin jerseys and you shouting come on the dubs from the hill Laoislad along with tankie,indiana and gnevin

No your worst nightmare would that it would be against laois in the leinster final or god forbid all  ireland final with dublin and laois meeting by geting through the qualifers ;) ;) ;) i have a site for sale in laois if you want it  :P :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 04:02:38 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 03:54:15 PM

No your worst nightmare would that it would be against laois in the leinster final or god forbid all  ireland final with dublin and laois meeting by geting through the qualifers ;) ;) ;) i have a site for sale in laois if you want it  :P :P

Wherebouts?
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 04:04:13 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 04:02:38 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 03:54:15 PM

Wherebouts?

tongue in cheek laoislad, jesus you are getting worried
Post by: magpie seanie on July 18, 2007, 04:05:15 PM
QuoteQuote
herself is a Dub and will take a bit of presuading.

No chance Laios Lad - Dubs girls always want to stay close to the Ma

My intended is a Dub and no-one can believe that she actually moved out of Dublin. She loves it now. It wasn't easy persuading her but I'm fairly determined when I really want something.

QuoteAny tips on what the convincing was  

Convincing that her future lay outside the pale. Not sure what you're getting at...
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 04:22:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 03:21:27 PM

Sure you and your bird can't be upto much if your gonna let them talk like that :P
Post by: blast05 on July 18, 2007, 04:34:29 PM
QuoteNot sure what you're getting at...

Nothing really. It was more of a "i wish i could do the same convincing" to my Mrs  :(
Post by: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:01:18 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:18:24 PM
its a hard thing to put my finger on but i think for most Dubs i dont think it is dublin in particular that keeps them here, i think it is city life. I love city life, yes the traffic is crazy, prices are crazy but there is always something to do. I wcould never see myself moving out of dublin to another place in Ireland but I would always conside the likes of Boston, New York or most large cities.

Judging by your posts on another thread you should be living in Berlin in the early 1940s
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 05:03:35 PM
Judging by your lies on previous posts you should be living on button moon !  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on July 18, 2007, 05:11:54 PM
QuoteNothing really. It was more of a "i wish i could do the same convincing" to my Mrs 

Believe me I understand and feel your pain. Just hang in there and she may come round.
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 05:12:07 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:01:18 PM

Judging by your posts on another thread you should be living in Berlin in the early 1940s

you talk some bollox ::)
Post by: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:12:13 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 05:03:35 PM
Judging by your lies on previous posts you should be living on button moon !  ;)

What lies?  Are you seriously calling me a liar?  Fuckin prove it!
Post by: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:13:41 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 05:12:07 PM

maybe, but i'd rather talk bollox than be a racist, facist nasty right wing self centred git who is unable to conduct an intelligent arguement
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 06:13:48 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:13:41 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 05:12:07 PM

maybe, but i'd rather talk bollox than be a racist, facist nasty right wing self centred git who is unable to conduct an intelligent arguement

what are you talking about, if you read the thread you muppet i never even got into the Roma's living on the M50, when the lads wanted to have a rally against them i said i would rather see it against Unmarried mothers and long term unemployed who rip off the system, if your bird doesnt rip of the system she can still keep he unmarried mother benifits!

its just like them protesters in Mayo, Shell are willing to build an off shore oil refiner which the government have approved and they keep protesting and they say its not about money!
Post by: blast05 on July 18, 2007, 10:45:04 PM
Quoteits just like them protesters in Mayo, Shell are willing to build an off shore oil refiner which the government have approved and they keep protesting and they say its not about money!

What the fcuk ?

Lets be clear here  .... are you seriously suggesting Shell have offered to build an offshore refinery ??
If so then please provide links to your sources
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 08:52:35 AM
Quote from: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:12:13 PM

As per my last post to you which didnt respond to, you described Ciaran Whelans push on Graham Geraghty as an "elbow to the neck".
I watched the incident several times after reading the post and it is most definately A LIE!
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 09:47:13 AM
All this talk off traffic but what you lose on traffic you make up for with the fact also everything in Dublin is with in an hour max.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 19, 2007, 10:10:12 AM
Quoteeverything in Dublin is with in an hour max

Not at 9 a.m. or 5 p.m. it ain't.
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 11:00:15 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 19, 2007, 10:10:12 AM
Quoteeverything in Dublin is with in an hour max

Not at 9 a.m. or 5 p.m. it ain't.
The majoritiy of it is . I can get to town in 35 minutes and the majority of things i'd want would be their .
Post by: mannix on July 19, 2007, 11:05:48 AM
I lived in dublin for a good few years and thought it was ok.I also lived in a few major world cities and thought they were ok too, but I always think life in the west or south of ireland is hands down better than dublin.Sure, you have all the shopping and shows in dublin but prices and traffic is unreal and now they seem to want to make a mini nyc out of it.
Personally, i would love to live in mayo or sligo, lack of traffic, no hassle getting into jobs,relaxed way of life and beautiful countryside as well as sound people.Teachers, gardai,engineers of all sorts and the like can get work in a lot of places where life is vastly better than the roundabouts and mundane sameness of lucan and these places.You should have a look at the pictures of a poorly built 3 bed semi in lucan and look at the house that stands alone on a half acre outside castlebar withy a 2 car garage and 4 bedrooms, night and day quality of life as long as your job can be found or transferred inthat area.
There is a lot of brits and dubs living in mayo,they moved because of this rural repopulation scheme and most are believed to love it.
Ultimately its what you make of it.
Post by: blast05 on July 19, 2007, 02:17:17 PM
Quoteits just like them protesters in Mayo, Shell are willing to build an off shore oil refiner which the government have approved and they keep protesting and they say its not about money!

What the fcuk ?

Lets be clear here  .... are you seriously suggesting Shell have offered to build an offshore refinery ??
If so then please provide links to your sources

Tankie, whats the story ? Can you back this statement up or not ? If not then retract it
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 02:37:13 PM
Of course he can't back it up.

Shell have stated, more than once, that refining the gas off shore was never on their agenda.
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 03:03:39 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 08:52:35 AM
Quote from: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 05:12:13 PM

As per my last post to you which didnt respond to, you described Ciaran Whelans push on Graham Geraghty as an "elbow to the neck".
I watched the incident several times after reading the post and it is most definately A LIE!

May I burn in hell! Hey, Joe O'Reilly, get out of that dock!  I'll do the time for you.  I deserve it because I offended the sensibilities of his holiness!
Post by: blast05 on July 19, 2007, 03:05:13 PM
QuoteOf course he can't back it up.

I know that. .... but i am waiting for a retraction, particular re the inference as to the agenda of the protestors "down in Mayo"
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 03:08:15 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 03:03:39 PM
May I burn in hell! Hey, Joe O'Reilly, get out of that dock!  I'll do the time for you.  I deserve it because I offended the sensibilities of his holiness!

I wasnt offended at all, but when you start making stuff up its just pathetic.
Jesus its not like the Dubs dont give you enough factual stuff to whinge about.

Even now you were caught out for telling lies and repsond sarcastically.
So much for your high and mighty moral values you are preaching on another thread  ::)
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 03:10:30 PM
i have read through the thread and you made no actual comment in realtion to the thread itself only stating that tankie should be living in berlin in the 1940's judging by some of his previous posts,  methinks your a bit of a wum 
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 03:14:51 PM
And a liar  ;)
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 03:19:54 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 03:14:51 PM
And a liar  ;)
at least i'm not a prat
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 03:25:52 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 03:19:54 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 03:14:51 PM
And a liar  ;)
at least i'm not a prat

Who told you that?  :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 04:56:05 PM
Your're a great fella altogether, moping around this board acussing people of all sorts and looking for rows

Grow up.  To help you do so, here's a quick selection of some your more positive contributions to this board.

'you have reached the peak of cuntery'

'Evil Genius is a smart arse annoying **** of the highest order.'

'So much for your high and mighty moral values you are preaching on another thread'

'Before anyone rises to the bait of Boozehell I would recommend you read his previous posts.
He is clearly just here to try to start rows.
Seems very bitter.'

'So stop the f**king whingeing'

'Would you ever just f**k the f**k off EG.
Its not annoying any more, its boring'

'No offence Maddog, but f**k you!'

'Gweltyah was being a p***k'

Your comments smack of a foul mouthed person with a short attention span
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 05:00:00 PM
Jesus you went back months and through 500 posts to pick that little selection out.
You must like me!

p.s. its easy to pick a selection of quotes over the months to make me look bad, I notice you omitted the comments I was reacting to  ::)

and all I did to you was correct you for telling lies to deserve all this, touchy  :o
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 05:06:20 PM
I don't like being called a liar

Geraghty was struck by Whelan.

End of story.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2007, 05:07:08 PM
What has all this got to do with living outside of West Britain?
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 05:12:00 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 05:06:20 PM

End of story.

End of story my hole
"Struck" ??
He was pushed, he was not elbowed in the neck.
You know as well as I do that an elbow to the neck is a much more serious thing to do than to push someone and you LIED to try to incriminate Whelan. Jesus he gives you enough to whinge about as it is without you making stuff up  ::)

p.s.If you dont like being called a liar, stop telling lies  ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 05:13:46 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 05:12:00 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 05:06:20 PM

End of story.

End of story my hole
"Struck" ??
He was pushed, he was not elbowed in the neck.
You know as well as I do that an elbow to the neck is a much more serious thing to do than to push someone and you LIED to try to incriminate Whelan. Jesus he gives you enough to whinge about as it is without you making stuff up  ::)

p.s.If you dont like being called a liar, stop telling lies  ;)

I was there it was premeditated assination attempt, Whelan is to be extradited to Navan.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 05:14:27 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 05:13:46 PM
I was there it was premeditated assination attempt, Whelan is to be extradited to Navan.

Noooooo, anywhere but Naaaaavan !  :o
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 19, 2007, 11:59:23 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2007, 05:07:08 PM
What has all this got to do with living outside of West Britain?

Class....  :D ;D :D
Post by: J70 on July 20, 2007, 03:32:24 AM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 04:56:05 PM

;D ;D ;D
Post by: his holiness nb on July 20, 2007, 08:46:44 AM
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2007, 03:32:24 AM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 04:56:05 PM

;D ;D ;D

I think I had a very valid point there  ;)