GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Louper on July 17, 2007, 01:33:41 PM

Title: Pat Spillane a disgrace at the way he treated Tohill
Post by: Louper on July 17, 2007, 01:33:41 PM
Did anyone else not think it was disgraceful the way Spillane completely cut Tohill off when he tried to talk about Derry. i think derry would have to win an AI before they would be given any time. all spillane wanted to do was talk about "what now for mayo" personally i thought it was a disgrace and altho tohill asked him "am i not going to get a chance to talk about derry?" where spillane answred "there'll be plenty of time to talk about derry" i wouldnt have blamed tohill for getting up and walking out. what more do derry need to do to even get 2 minutes of talking time on the southern sunday game?
Title: Re: Pat Spillane a disgrace at the way he treated Tohill
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 17, 2007, 01:37:48 PM
Spillane is just a prat, himself and that tool Lyons are like two prebuscent boys slagging each other off down the back of class, constantly trying to get digs in at each other on national television, cringeworthy.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 17, 2007, 01:38:36 PM
To be fair to Pat even though he's chronic for interrupting the analysts I believe he said something like we'll be discussing the draw later on so we'll have time to talk about Derry then.

I don't know why he bothers asking questions though as he never lets anyone get a full answer out before he jumps in himself.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2007, 01:45:35 PM
Louper - you would have seen that the Derry Mayo match had been dealt with on the Saturday Game already and had been shown highlights of after the Dublin match...

There is obviously not too much interest even in Derry when you only bring about 750 to Clones to play Armagh...
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2007, 01:59:56 PM
Spillane does it to Tohill every week, but he took it to a new level on Sunday. >:(
Post by: orangeman on July 17, 2007, 02:06:44 PM
Tohill will be well fit for Spillane and as there's quite a few weeks left, I'd say Tohill will get him in the long grass !
Post by: bergo on July 17, 2007, 02:20:39 PM
At least you know what to expect from Spillane and in fairness he did do his best to give as much air time to Tohill as Lyons....

But Lyons... what an ill mannered prik!!  He butted in every time Spillane put a question to Anthony, he didn't have the courtesy to wait his turn and answer the questions Spillane put to him. Tohill is well mannered, makes sense in his arguments and in gerneral carries himself well and comes across very modest. Lyons is a bum - an arragant little prik!  Out with Lyons and in with an ex footballer; haven't seen much of Tony Davis, Paul Curran or Bernard Flynn this year - any of which would be better than Lyons.
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2007, 02:24:51 PM
They should get Paul Bealin on the panel.
Post by: Loup Bandit on July 17, 2007, 02:28:21 PM
There is obviously not too much interest even in Derry when you only bring about 750 to Clones to play Armagh...

Because all supporters do not vote with their feet, does this mean Derry are not entitled to a mention by Tohill on the Sunday game? It was a big result after all! Highlights may have been shown on sat but it was not analysed.
And yes before it pops up, i was part of the 750 at clones or whatever it was, been to all the games this year and hope to get a few more.
Post by: rrhf on July 17, 2007, 02:32:44 PM
If I was boss of RTE Tohill would be the host and Spillane wouldnt even get to carry the coffee in.  Tohill is and has always been a gentleman on the show ,when all around him are in a race to be controversial Tohill is articulate and balanced.
Post by: T Fearon on July 17, 2007, 02:47:33 PM
Read Tom Humphries excellent book on Dublin V Kerry rivalry in the 70s. Us Nordies are not alone in our dislike for Pat Spillane.Apparently half the Kerry team he played with don't speak to him (on account of what he has said about them in books etc )over the years. The Bomber says that he wouldn't go as far to say that lads would leave theirs pints and exit a bar if Spillane came in (as they are too fond of the pints ;D) but there's an awful lot have no time for him
Post by: Jinxy on July 17, 2007, 02:49:01 PM
Look, it's completely obvious that Darragh Maloney should be hosting the Sunday Game. Only man for the job.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 17, 2007, 02:58:37 PM
I think we should show Spillane and RTE that the Viewers rule

Spillane is trying to follow the lead of Dunphy and George Hook to a lesser extent and is Brolly now too in that they more controversial the are the more HYPE they make about themselves and so the more money they will make in the long run.

This may be true but it often comes at a price.
We should make Spillane's life hell by picketing outside RTE every Sunday night and have big Huge banners all around Croker from now on saying

SPILLANE TAKES IT UP THE .....
Or some humours little Limerick

Anyone got any suggestions.
Are we all gonna sit back and let Spillane dictate to RTE what wages he wants whilest the majority of Gaels can't stand the sight of the man.

Post by: thebandit on July 17, 2007, 03:14:55 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 17, 2007, 02:58:37 PM

Spillane is trying to follow the lead of Dunphy and George Hook to a lesser extent and is Brolly now too in that they more controversial the are the more HYPE they make about themselves and so the more money they will make in the long run.

but at least Brolly is intelligent enough to carry it off.

I agree- Darragh Moloney is the man for the job.
Post by: marty88 on July 17, 2007, 03:18:24 PM
Although i hate the ****, im very glad he did that.

When people start talking about us we lose.

So, Laois to hammer Derry and paddy Bradley is awful.

Tyrones all ireland to lose.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 17, 2007, 03:20:26 PM
Agree there Brolly can be a tool as well and courts controversy but brolly at least ahs a way with words and has some rare moments.
moloney all the way for host. best man in rte for gaa in that role
Post by: orangeman on July 17, 2007, 03:38:53 PM
Des Cahill is a good presenter as well - he'd get my vote.
Post by: Louper on July 17, 2007, 03:44:26 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2007, 01:45:35 PM
Louper - you would have seen that the Derry Mayo match had been dealt with on the Saturday Game already and had been shown highlights of after the Dublin match...

dub i was at that armagh game and the mayo one and had to run straight back out the door to trainin so i did not see the saturday game. ys ure rite they did show detailed highlights but i still think it was downright bad mannered and arrogant of spillane to do that on live tv.

theres no point in tryin sly digs at me about the derry support, ive been to all the matches so i can be happy and content with my contribution. do u fancy dublin this year? 6-1 before the laois match would have been worth a nice wee wager.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 17, 2007, 03:47:31 PM

I struggle to see the relevance of your comments above

if spillane was able to discuss mayo, surely Derry (esp having won the game) would have been allowed more than just a mention?

but what is your point regarding the amount of people who go watch Derry in action and any corrolation with the topics pat spillane allows/denies in the sunday game discussions

please clarify this , as unlike yourself I am obv missing the logic.... ::)
Post by: catchandkick on July 17, 2007, 03:54:05 PM
Quote from: rrhf on July 17, 2007, 02:32:44 PM
If I was boss of RTE Tohill would be the host and Spillane wouldnt even get to carry the coffee in.  Tohill is and has always been a gentleman on the show ,when all around him are in a race to be controversial Tohill is articulate and balanced.

Ah come on, that would show would be as bland as rice cakes!

Spillane isnt the worst lads, he's entertaining anyway ' thats a lovely suit you've got on Pete Finnerty', 'you've a lot of hair gel on tonight Bernard Flynn'. His presentation isnt perfect but he's improved a lot, think he's doing a very good job these days. Cant see any of the present analysts doing a better job as presenter- Anthony Daly perhaps?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 17, 2007, 03:58:03 PM
Quote from: Louper on July 17, 2007, 01:33:41 PM
Did anyone else not think it was disgraceful the way Spillane completely cut Tohill off when he tried to talk about Derry. i think derry would have to win an AI before they would be given any time. all spillane wanted to do was talk about "what now for mayo" personally i thought it was a disgrace and altho tohill asked him "am i not going to get a chance to talk about derry?" where spillane answred "there'll be plenty of time to talk about derry" i wouldnt have blamed tohill for getting up and walking out. what more do derry need to do to even get 2 minutes of talking time on the southern sunday game?

I don't think he was doing it to be rude to Tohill, he just loves having a go @ Mayo, so Derry beating us must have been a wet-dream for him, Mayo abuse time Yea.
Post by: catchandkick on July 17, 2007, 04:02:58 PM
If Derry beating Mayo was a wet dream what was Kerry annihilating them in 04 and 06 ? ;D
Post by: Red Nose Red Hand on July 17, 2007, 04:19:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 17, 2007, 02:49:01 PM
Look, it's completely obvious that Darragh Maloney should be hosting the Sunday Game. Only man for the job.

You're stuck with him until 2011 at least. Spillane has just signed a new three-year deal as host of the Sunday Game.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 17, 2007, 04:29:01 PM
...at least that will keep him away from the Kerry managers job until 2011 at least.
Post by: Louper on July 17, 2007, 04:32:05 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 17, 2007, 04:29:01 PM
...at least that will keep him away from the Kerry managers job until 2011 at least.

Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 17, 2007, 05:00:12 PM
Quote from: Louper on July 17, 2007, 04:32:05 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 17, 2007, 04:29:01 PM

I wonder will he play Puke Football as Kerry Manager  :)
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2007, 05:06:39 PM
Quote from: Louper on July 17, 2007, 03:44:26 PM

dub i was at that armagh game and the mayo one and had to run straight back out the door to trainin so i did not see the saturday game. ys ure rite they did show detailed highlights but i still think it was downright bad mannered and arrogant of spillane to do that on live tv.

theres no point in tryin sly digs at me about the derry support, ive been to all the matches so i can be happy and content with my contribution. do u fancy dublin this year? 6-1 before the laois match would have been worth a nice wee wager.

Louper - i was at the Antrim and Armagh games myself - missed Monaghan due to Dublin match and Mayo due to playing in Limerick at the weekend....off to Breffni next Sat for the match...a few nice pints in Cavan town are called for I think...

6-1 would have been good odds...still reckon we are third favourites based on we haven't won it in a long time and Kerry/Tyrone have but still seen enough this year in both teams to see they are beatable...in fact I would go so far as to say if Darragh O'Se gets injured or Ciaran Gormley does for Tyrone I would bet on us to beat either then...beating both as we are likely to have to do is going to be tough though....though would like to see Cork play Tyrone...

Lynchboy - There was supposed to be a smiley after the comment....My point was that in terms of a discussion point that Mayo being knocked out early after making the final last year and the effect it would have on them would be a more popular discussion point than talking about Derry again after Saturdays game...
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 17, 2007, 05:23:08 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2007, 05:06:39 PM
Lynchboy - There was supposed to be a smiley after the comment....My point was that in terms of a discussion point that Mayo being knocked out early after making the final last year and the effect it would have on them would be a more popular discussion point than talking about Derry again after Saturdays game...
while I'd agree that there was and will be more opportunity to discuss Derry for at least one more game,
I think smiley or no smiley it was a bit sad and a bit of a sly dig to incorporate a mention of Derry's rubbish number of supporters.
There was no need for it, and however embarrassing the lack of attendees we may have (quality more than quantity I like to think) - there was no justification or connection in bringing this into the discussion.
It bore no relevance in the contect of the point and even as a 'joke' was out of place.

I know you go to Derry games as you have the good fortune to be partnered up to a Derry lady - but even then I would not go along with your opinion and perception of games (as much as I know and expect you dont agree with mine).

But the forgiving folk that we are, we wont hold this against you ...
Post by: Fuzzman on July 17, 2007, 05:26:40 PM
Not if we burn him out of RTE first and drag his name thru the mud

I think if you make yer bed in the contoversial media field then you must be prepared to take the flak
And we are all making it far too easy for him

Remember in 2005 he wouldnt come down for his day out with leading Kerrymen or something when Tyrone were in the Final
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2007, 05:28:41 PM
Fair enough - if I offended anyone I apologise!!

You have to admit though Lynchboy since they started playing more direct forward orientated football against Armagh/Mayo they have looked a better team....
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 17, 2007, 05:31:12 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 17, 2007, 05:28:41 PM
Fair enough - if I offended anyone I apologise!!

You have to admit though Lynchboy since they started playing more direct forward orientated football against Armagh/Mayo they have looked a better team....

fully agree..
if you recall
its what I have been advocating for them to do in all my time on the board, and before that since 1992...
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 17, 2007, 07:33:39 PM
ffs, dont ye have the BBC, which takes a completely Ulster focus on the championship and ye are complaining about Pat Spillane being rude to poor wee Anthony !!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 17, 2007, 07:45:47 PM
Dubforsam - hand on heart I dont think it would matter one little bit to Tyrones season if Ciaran Gormley got injured.
Post by: ONeill on July 17, 2007, 07:46:20 PM
Go easy on Pat lads. RTE had to chose someone from the great Kerry team from 75-86. Spillane was the only one who could string a few words together in an audible fashion. Ever hear a Kerry man or woman talk? I used to play in a band with a Kerry man. When we toured England, the locals thought he was from Poland or Fiji.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on July 17, 2007, 08:46:01 PM
O'neill :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Louper on July 17, 2007, 08:56:01 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 17, 2007, 07:33:39 PM
ffs, dont ye have the BBC, which takes a completely Ulster focus on the championship and ye are complaining about Pat Spillane being rude to poor wee Anthony !!

u must be jokin! too much hard work as u hav to mute the tv and commentate ureself to avoid cringe-worthy commentary by the bbc contingent!
Post by: johnpower on July 17, 2007, 09:57:57 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 17, 2007, 02:58:37 PM

This may be true but it often comes at a price.
We should make Spillane's life hell by picketing outside RTE every Sunday night and have big Huge banners all around Croker from now on saying

SPILLANE TAKES IT UP THE .....
Or some humours little Limerick

What a saddo you are Fuzzman . other people are having a debate and you share your sicko fantasies with us
Anyone got any suggestions.
Are we all gonna sit back and let Spillane dictate to RTE what wages he wants whilest the majority of Gaels can't stand the sight of the man.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 18, 2007, 12:41:50 AM
QuoteGo easy on Pat lads. RTE had to chose someone from the great Kerry team from 75-86. Spillane was the only one who could string a few words together in an audible fashion. Ever hear a Kerry man or woman talk? I used to play in a band with a Kerry man. When we toured England, the locals thought he was from Poland or Fiji.

A band eh ? What were ye called

Post by: stew on July 18, 2007, 01:45:52 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 18, 2007, 12:41:50 AM
QuoteGo easy on Pat lads. RTE had to chose someone from the great Kerry team from 75-86. Spillane was the only one who could string a few words together in an audible fashion. Ever hear a Kerry man or woman talk? I used to play in a band with a Kerry man. When we toured England, the locals thought he was from Poland or Fiji.

Apparently they were called 'the bogtrotters'. Their heroes were the globetrotters but they knew they were shite hence the  name Bogtrotters.
Post by: Loup Bandit on July 18, 2007, 09:34:11 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on July 17, 2007, 07:45:47 PM
Dubforsam - hand on heart I dont think it would matter one little bit to Tyrones season if Ciaran Gormley got injured.

Ciaran gormley?  ???
Think you mean Connor Gormley  :D
Post by: ONeill on July 18, 2007, 09:47:13 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 18, 2007, 12:41:50 AM

The Birmingham Irish Pipes and Drums. Kerry man on the big drum. Baste of a man. The balax wanted to put a wheel onto the bottom of the drum so it'd save a bit of back-power. You can take them outta Kerry......
Post by: T Fearon on July 18, 2007, 01:28:34 PM
Shane did you wear a kilt in that band as well and was it the same one you wore during your membership of Derrytresk Turfcutters and spudpickers emerald isle flute band? ;D
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 18, 2007, 01:36:06 PM
That was the point I was making Loup Bandit if you read back.
Post by: Loup Bandit on July 18, 2007, 02:18:17 PM
yeah i know, i was merely making a joke about! hence the  :D at the end....
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 18, 2007, 02:42:33 PM
Gettting back to serious matters - who is making the decisions regarding the Sunday Game? Surely any one with half a brain wouldnt have Spillane as a presenter. He's just ok on the show at all but is a terrible presenter. Was it the same person who decided to get rid of the theme tune which everyone related to the Sunday Game as soon as they heard it. If I heard the current theme tune on the radio I dont even think Id catch on it was the Sunday Game's one. Dubsforsam - I really think this is Dublins year if they can keep Barry Cullen fit.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 18, 2007, 03:00:48 PM
Dont like to constantly criticse RTE but I think they have made 2 bad calls in relation to the qualifiers. Firstly theyre only showing the Meath Galway game on Saturday. The camera's are in the ground and it would have been nice for the double header to be on live. Maybe the GAA were afraid it would effect the attendance. The second one is the following Saturday theyre showing Derry Laois. I would have thought it would have been obvious to show Donegal Monaghan which looks like the better game on paper. It would also be guarenteed a big crowd even with TV coverage.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 18, 2007, 03:43:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 18, 2007, 03:06:51 PM
Maybe if Tohill could speak English, he would get more time to give his views. Someone should tell him that it is 'I saw' and 'I have seen'. He constantly gets it wrong and bugs the life out of me.
Tohill sounds like he has graduated from 'Finishing school' when compared to some of the rest of his family (complete knuckle draggers)

Post by: Loup Bandit on July 22, 2007, 10:39:29 AM
Tohill would give Spillane a good kicking. Far bigger.
Post by: Gold on July 22, 2007, 11:04:43 AM
No i think the most important players for the Dubs to keep fit if they are gonna win Sam are defo big Charles Whelan and Alex Brogan
Post by: darbyo on July 22, 2007, 11:55:14 AM
I'm watching the Aussie rules on Setanta at the moment and I always watch the American Football during the winter, the contrast with their commentators and ours is truly striking. I always get the impression that the commentators of those sports are men who are commenting on their sporting passion, not simply doing a job. Their guys give me the impression that if they were sitting at home flicking through the TV channels and they came across a game they would drop everything else and watch it, Ger Canning/Marty Morrissey sound like guys that would rather be anywhere else but at the game. When you watch a bad US or Aussie football game the commentators generally give you interesting nuggets of info. or some such which helps retain your interest, the RTE lads just moan ad nausea about how poor the game is. As for accuracy of information, don't get me started, Marty Morrissey got the players names wrong, the reason that frees were given etc. repeatedly yesterday, he almost ruined a good game for me. Daragh Moloney is the only fella worth his salt.
Post by: Barney on July 22, 2007, 12:05:51 PM
RTE switched to a double-header yesterday so that they could show the hurling QFs next Saturday. They will not be showing either Laois/Derry or Donegal/Monaghan.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 22, 2007, 12:08:23 PM
I have found that irish commentators are not neutral in their views. Marty Morrisey will give comments like "we are nearly home now" at the end of a match, where the underdog is winning!