Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Loughers on July 12, 2007, 04:57:25 PM

Title: Father horrified to see dead son's name on banner at loyalist bonfire
Post by: Loughers on July 12, 2007, 04:57:25 PM
Father horrified to see dead son's name on banner at loyalist bonfire
12/07/2007 - 15:25:08

A Coleraine father has spoken out against loyalists who put his dead son's name on top of a bonfire in the town.

Catholic teenager Aaron Hill died two weeks ago of a heart condition. Neither he nor his family have any paramilitary or political involvement.

His father, Peter, said he was stunned and horrified to see his 16 year-old son's name written large on a banner at a loyalist bonfire with the question next to it, 'who's next?'

When he tried to remove it, loyalists threatened him.

He then complained to the police but they at first said they couldn't take any action although a later statement said they were investigating.

The SDLP assembly member for East Derry, John Dallat, said it was a shameful, vile, sectarian incident.
Title: Re: Father horrified to see dead son's name on banner at loyalist bonfire
Post by: maddog on July 12, 2007, 05:02:45 PM
Disgusting. Police will do nothing as usual.
Title: Re: Father horrified to see dead son's name on banner at loyalist bonfire
Post by: Square Ball on July 12, 2007, 05:05:28 PM
Words fail me on this one, scum, nothing but scum
Post by: cavan4ever on July 12, 2007, 05:06:27 PM
The lot of them should have been fuked into the fire when it was lit.
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 05:06:39 PM
It is quite simply disgusting.

No surprise at PSNI inaction - paperwork, surveys and PR gimmicks are more their thing it seems. Are they really an improvement on the RUC?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 12, 2007, 05:10:32 PM
Ya & if one of these idiot scum get burned or hurt by fumes they will blame the police, firebrigade, local authorities etc.
Post by: Mentalman on July 12, 2007, 05:14:31 PM
Stories like that would make you despair, and believe that some people are so low they are totally and utterly irredeemable.
Post by: stiffler on July 12, 2007, 05:17:53 PM
Sick scumbags.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2007, 05:19:17 PM
The sooner the Garda Síochána are policing these parades the better. For all their faults they are better than the joke "police service" up north.
Post by: Hereiam on July 12, 2007, 06:00:29 PM
Until this sort of thing is dealt with by the so called police force up here, I; and I'm sure alot of other people on the nationalist side will never trust them. Jesus how long would a banner like that be allowed to stay put if our side were to do it. Fuckin disgrace PSNI (RUC)
Post by: deiseach on July 12, 2007, 06:13:48 PM
Given the widespread tolerance - even encouragement - at governmental level of the Twelfth 'festivities', I don't see what the peelers can do. If they're going to intervene in every bonfire where people are engaging in a naked display of hatred, they'd be stretched to the limit and beyond. Rough on Mr Hill and his family, but they've got limited resources.
Post by: SammyG on July 12, 2007, 06:18:32 PM
Absolute scum and not the first time a similar banner has been put up. There are some sick fcukers about.  >:(
Post by: Evil Genius on July 12, 2007, 07:13:06 PM
Disgraceful - both the original offence and the PSNI's subsequent failure to act.  >:(
Post by: tyroneboi on July 12, 2007, 07:51:08 PM
i noticed that this story wasnt on any of the local news this evening. they were instead talking shit bout how great all the celebrations were!! it was a disgusting act and the fact that the police took no action makes them as bad as the thugs that put it there in the first place!!
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2007, 08:30:16 PM
On RTE news yesterday they had a report from Antrim Town about the annual Hatefest.
There were shots of a sixty foot high bonfire with a large Tricolour on it with the lettere KAT.
I believe this stands for "Kill all Taigs"
Has ANY SINGLE Unionist politician or Orange Order leader condemend or asked for this disgraceful shit to stop?
Answers on the head of a pin .........
Maybe those who organise the Rossnowlagh picnic might at least have the decency to condemn it.
Post by: Square Ball on July 12, 2007, 08:40:17 PM
Not a one Rossfan, not a one, hope they do mine you.
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 09:34:56 PM
The depravity and bigotry isn't all one way.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6896687.stm

Two sides of the same coin.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2007, 09:43:14 PM
Can you tell me how attacks on bigots is the same as what we are talking about?
Post by: Star Spangler on July 12, 2007, 09:45:04 PM
Unbelievable.  It's a sad reflection on a society that allows these guys free run of the place.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 12, 2007, 09:58:35 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/6294352.stm

QuoteFire crews received 200 emergency call outs to eleventh night bonfires, the Fire and Rescue Service has said.

Bonfires are lit on the night before the Twelfth of July as part of the loyalist celebration.

During the busiest hour just after midnight, an emergency call was received every 85 seconds the service said.

However, the total was down by almost 40% on last year. Most of the calls were in the greater Belfast area.

Crews were also sent to Banbridge and Portadown, where houses had to be cooled down. Crews were attacked at a number of locations but no-one was injured.
Post by: Rossfan on July 12, 2007, 11:02:12 PM
Gwaytahell will blame the Fire Brigade for having Catholics in their ranks provoking the Firemaking cultural enthusiasts.
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 11:06:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2007, 11:02:12 PM
Gwaytahell will blame the Fire Brigade for having Catholics in their ranks provoking the Firemaking cultural enthusiasts.

Silly boy.
Post by: Aerlik on July 13, 2007, 04:51:31 AM
Lads, lads, lads, how many times have been on here warning you about the sickfcuks that live in the Coleraine, Ballymoney, Portrush area?  It is a sewer of blatant sectarianism.  This doesn't surprise me.  Ironically Bushmills, another little dregs-hole, sponsors the Antrim GAA teams. 

How ironic that on the BBC NI website we have a reporter trying to convince a Japanese tourist that the 12th. is a cultural experience for all the family.  Where else in the western world is the parade by one branch of Christianity  highlighting its hate and loathing of all aspects of another branch of Christianity, accepted?  (China and Korea quite rightly kicks up  a stink when the Japanese PM visits the Yokosuna shrine the resting place of some of the most vicious people to ever occupy the planet. )

How dare the OO try to cover up the simple fact that it is TOTALLY anti-Catholic.  A fun day out for the family my backside.  It is naked sectarianism plain and simple.

Shame on the BBC.

I look forward to the condemnation from the DUP.
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 13, 2007, 09:01:36 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 09:34:56 PM

I was witness to these attacks, and I have to say I do condone this behaviour, but to say that a crowd of 14 year olds throwing stones puts them in the same bracket as the yobs who put up various banners about the country, (slagging of a dead youngster who died of heart disease is the lowest of the low) is you trying to hide the hatred that still exists within your side of the community. Its sickening that the PSNI stood back and watched this go on. As was said before it would not be tollerated anywhere else.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2007, 09:35:48 AM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on July 13, 2007, 09:01:36 AM

I was witness to these attacks, and I have to say I do condone this behaviour, but to say that a crowd of 14 year olds throwing stones puts them in the same bracket as the yobs who put up various banners about the country, (slagging of a dead youngster who died of heart disease is the lowest of the low) is you trying to hide the hatred that still exists within your side of the community. Its sickening that the PSNI stood back and watched this go on. As was said before it would not be tollerated anywhere else.

Such is the nature of their desperation to find any kind of equivocation in however horrific the circumstance, they will stoop as low as is humanly possible to salve their jaundiced consciences.
Post by: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 09:49:53 AM

What's the point really? I mean as long as you have clowns on both sides who say "two sides of the same sh!tty coin" or "what about..." you're going no where. That sort attitude is what has things the way they are. If something is wrong, it's wrong end of, no need for the moral equivalence arguements.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 13, 2007, 10:00:50 AM
Here, here mental man.  Whataboutery is one of the illnesses that seriously affect the way things are done in the north.  To say that one side is as hatefilled as the other completetly misses the point. 

In my mind, and I am sorry deiseach I have to take issue with you here, bigotry is one thing and you cannot expect much from people who have had nothing but sectarianism bred into them from they were able to throw stones at "themmuns".  You do expect more though from a so called impartial police force.  Can you imagine the outrage if a Guy Fawkes Bonfiore in England had a picture of for talk sake a Muslim Cleric.  There would be unholy war and mayhem for days.  Here it is brushed under the carpet by police, politicians and people in general alike by saying it is a few bad apples and what could we do. 

This action in my view is an incitement to hatred offence as are many of the bonfires and under current legislation are against the law.  It is time for the people to get their fingers out of their holes in Stormont and start enforcing the law as it should be.  And for you gowayandliedownyouidiot, this relates to both sides of the same shitty coin >:(
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on July 13, 2007, 10:03:39 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 12, 2007, 08:30:16 PM
On RTE news yesterday they had a report from Antrim Town about the annual Hatefest.
There were shots of a sixty foot high bonfire with a large Tricolour on it with the lettere KAT.
I believe this stands for "Kill all Taigs"

Interestingly enough RTE did not see fit to speculate on the meaning of K.A.T. preferring to dwell on the family aspects of the day.

It's hard to buy into the whole "family carnival" thing though when it seems to stoke up so much anti-Catholic feeling amongst loyalists.  

/Jim.
Post by: SammyG on July 13, 2007, 10:16:45 AM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on July 13, 2007, 10:03:39 AMIt's hard to buy into the whole "family carnival" thing though when it seems to stoke up so much anti-Catholic feeling amongst loyalists.  

Unfortunately the two things go hand in hand. The more progressive wing of the OO (progressive being relative obviously) have done a lot of good work and most of the 'country' events are now much more of a family day out. However the town and city events have actually got worse, with all sorts of paramilitary regalia, confrontations with police, offensive banners etc and loads of pissed up 15 year olds looking for a fight. And the leadership don't seem to be willing and/or have the balls to stand up and condemn the unsavoury elements.
Post by: nifan on July 13, 2007, 11:12:28 AM
I agree with those who complain that the police didnt do anything - i appreciate the argument some would have of concern that it would start more trouble, but in reality anyone who started trouble at the taking down of such filth deserves a bang round the head and locking up.
Post by: saffron on July 13, 2007, 11:41:45 AM
Quotemost of the 'country' events are now much more of a family day out.

Maybe we need to give it time and eventually it can all be a family day out (for them obviously). While the banner in question is an absolute disgrace its not as if the 11th/12th was gonna change over night.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 13, 2007, 12:26:16 PM
Quote from: saffron on July 13, 2007, 11:41:45 AM

Maybe we need to give it time and eventually it can all be a family day out (for them obviously).
What, like another 300 years?  ;)

Quote from: saffron on July 13, 2007, 11:41:45 AM

While the banner in question is an absolute disgrace its not as if the 11th/12th was gonna change over night.

Won't change much while Britain remains  :(
Post by: Deal_Me_In on July 13, 2007, 01:09:37 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on July 13, 2007, 04:51:31 AM
Lads, lads, lads, how many times have been on here warning you about the sickfcuks that live in the Coleraine, Ballymoney, Portrush area?  It is a sewer of blatant sectarianism.  This doesn't surprise me.  Ironically Bushmills, another little dregs-hole, sponsors the Antrim GAA teams. 

Actually Bushmillis is no longer the sponsor Creagh Concrete is, but thats because the GAA are trying to remove alcohol advertising in its games. I think the whole situation regarding the bonfire is a disgrace and it is even worse the police didn't do anything.
Post by: Loughers on July 13, 2007, 02:45:50 PM
I posted this originally from the Examiner's website, but it was nowhere to be seen on the BBC's.  Was it posted later?  If not, why not?
Post by: Fear Boirche on July 13, 2007, 06:27:50 PM
QuoteA Catholic man who has been threatened by loyalist paramilitaries after removing the name of his dead son from an Eleventh Night bonfire has barricaded his home and sent his children to safe houses.

Peter Neil was informed of the threat by police after he removed a large banner from a bonfire at Harpur's Hill in Coleraine, Co Derry.

It bore the name of his 13-year-old son Aaron, who died from heart disease two weeks ago. It also bore the name

of another Catholic youth, Paddy Brennan, who died last year, along with the question: "Who's next?"

Mr Neil said he saw the banner on Tuesday. He said he asked police to remove the offending message but was told this would involve liaison with community leaders.

"I didn't want the banner burned. I didn't want a couple of hundred people all standing around this bonfire all cheering over my son's death," he said.

Mr Neil said his son was not sectarian or political.

"Aaron's girlfriend was a Protestant from a loyalist area, Windyhall. The day be-fore Aaron died we played a football tournament in Windyhall," he said.

"I think they singled out Aaron just to shove one into the nationalist community."

When police indicated that the banner might not be re-moved immediately Mr Neil said he and some friends removed it themselves.

Known loyalists later began driving past his house and police informed him officially of a paramilitary threat.

"Police said: 'Loyalist paramilitaries said you took down items from a bonfire in Cole-raine and you are going to be subjected to some form of attack,'" he said.

Mr Neil said it was ridiculous that his dead son's name had been put on a bonfire and that he should be threatened for removing it.

"The loyalist threat is so unreal. They want to hurt me because I took down that disgusting thing from their bonfire. If they were any sort of people at all, if they were parents with children, I'm sure they would think that shouldn't have been up there in the first place."

Mr Neil said that on Tuesday night a large number of known paramilitaries had to be held back by police when they gathered close to his first-floor flat wielding sledge hammers and ladders.

"I am worried. I have all sorts of barricades up against my door. I've put my children away to different houses, to safe houses," he said.

Police last night said they were dismayed that anyone would use Aaron's death to raise community tensions.

A spokesman said police checked the Harpur's Hill site but nothing was found.

However, officers later re-moved "similar items" bearing Aaron's name from bonfires at Harpur's Hill and Ballysally.

Today's Irish News front page story says it all. The police either won't bother or don't want to stand up to the gangsters who infiltrate some of these 'celebrations'.

Post by: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 06:38:08 PM
Quote from: Fear Boirche on July 13, 2007, 06:27:50 PM
QuoteA Catholic man who has been threatened by loyalist paramilitaries after removing the name of his dead son from an Eleventh Night bonfire has barricaded his home and sent his children to safe houses.

Peter Neil was informed of the threat by police after he removed a large banner from a bonfire at Harpur's Hill in Coleraine, Co Derry.

It bore the name of his 13-year-old son Aaron, who died from heart disease two weeks ago. It also bore the name

of another Catholic youth, Paddy Brennan, who died last year, along with the question: "Who's next?"

Mr Neil said he saw the banner on Tuesday. He said he asked police to remove the offending message but was told this would involve liaison with community leaders.

"I didn't want the banner burned. I didn't want a couple of hundred people all standing around this bonfire all cheering over my son's death," he said.

Mr Neil said his son was not sectarian or political.

"Aaron's girlfriend was a Protestant from a loyalist area, Windyhall. The day be-fore Aaron died we played a football tournament in Windyhall," he said.

"I think they singled out Aaron just to shove one into the nationalist community."

When police indicated that the banner might not be re-moved immediately Mr Neil said he and some friends removed it themselves.

Known loyalists later began driving past his house and police informed him officially of a paramilitary threat.

"Police said: 'Loyalist paramilitaries said you took down items from a bonfire in Cole-raine and you are going to be subjected to some form of attack,'" he said.

Mr Neil said it was ridiculous that his dead son's name had been put on a bonfire and that he should be threatened for removing it.

"The loyalist threat is so unreal. They want to hurt me because I took down that disgusting thing from their bonfire. If they were any sort of people at all, if they were parents with children, I'm sure they would think that shouldn't have been up there in the first place."

Mr Neil said that on Tuesday night a large number of known paramilitaries had to be held back by police when they gathered close to his first-floor flat wielding sledge hammers and ladders.

"I am worried. I have all sorts of barricades up against my door. I've put my children away to different houses, to safe houses," he said.

Police last night said they were dismayed that anyone would use Aaron's death to raise community tensions.

A spokesman said police checked the Harpur's Hill site but nothing was found.

However, officers later re-moved "similar items" bearing Aaron's name from bonfires at Harpur's Hill and Ballysally.

Today's Irish News front page story says it all. The police either won't bother or don't want to stand up to the gangsters who infiltrate some of these 'celebrations'.

The father was some man to take the actions he did. As he said himself some of the people involved in both placing the name on the bonfire, and threatening him subsequent to his actions, must have children of their own. Are they so wrapped up in their hatred that they are devoid of even the most common humanity? Or are "themmuns" not seen as human? It beggars belief, it really does. Some of these people need to widen their world view.
Post by: nifan on July 13, 2007, 07:09:51 PM
Quote"Aaron's girlfriend was a Protestant from a loyalist area, Windyhall. The day be-fore Aaron died we played a football tournament in Windyhall," he said.

The c**ts could have learned a thing from the wee lad instead of disrespecting him and upsetting his family and many others
Post by: red hander on July 13, 2007, 08:11:00 PM
Added to the disgraceful happening in Coleraine, a banner extolling UFF mass killer Joe Bratty, the man behind the Ormeau Road bookies massacre, was carried in the Hunfest parades in Belfast yesterday.  That's certainly going to bring the tourists in, as are the closed and boarded up shops ... the f****** place was like a ghost town, the only bar open was Bittles.  Some of us Fenian bastards (that's for you Gweytahl) have to work for a living and take a pint at lunchtime.  I'm sorry, I take my holidays when I want, not when the orange order tells me to. Yet we have the ridiculous Lord Laird - in stupid tartan miniskirt of course - allowed to lie on Radio Ulster about the "thousands of tourists" who were watching the parade...
Post by: GweylTah on July 13, 2007, 08:30:16 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 13, 2007, 08:11:00 PM
Added to the disgraceful happening in Coleraine, a banner extolling UFF mass killer Joe Bratty, the man behind the Ormeau Road bookies massacre, was carried in the Hunfest parades in Belfast yesterday.  That's certainly going to bring the tourists in, as are the closed and boarded up shops ... the f****** place was like a ghost town, the only bar open was Bittles.  Some of us Fenian bastards (that's for you Gweytahl) have to work for a living and take a pint at lunchtime.  I'm sorry, I take my holidays when I want, not when the orange order tells me to. Yet we have the ridiculous Lord Laird - in stupid tartan miniskirt of course - allowed to lie on Radio Ulster about the "thousands of tourists" who were watching the parade...

Silly boy.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 13, 2007, 08:57:57 PM
This is a truly disgusting story.
Never in my lifetime will I have anything other than pure hate for the Orange Order (not that they had anything to do with the banner) and the twelfth, horrible bastards and always will be
Post by: Square Ball on July 13, 2007, 08:59:56 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 13, 2007, 08:30:16 PM

Silly boy.

who is the silly boy?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 13, 2007, 10:33:25 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 13, 2007, 08:30:16 PM

Silly boy.

Seriously is that your response, really quite sad.
Post by: GweylTah on July 13, 2007, 11:03:36 PM
I said yesterday that I thought those responsible for this disgusting behaviour were depraved and ignorant. What more to say?

The recent post was directed at a load of OTT whingeing from someone who is obviously expressing mock outrage about this incident, but who's words indicate a mindset every bit as bad as those at the bonfire in Coleraine.
Post by: oakleaf stateside on July 14, 2007, 03:05:50 AM
a bullet would be to good for them hun bastards
Post by: Aerlik on July 14, 2007, 05:22:59 AM
Any opinion on this issue from the intelligentsia on the 6-counties' soccer site? 

I have spread this story to all my contacts and the reaction has been astounding.  I suggest others do the same and let's show the world truly what the Orange Order really stands for, and what it has created...essentially a monster it can't control, Loyalist Bigotry.

Kudos to our non-nationalist countrymen from the northeast of the nation for taking a clearly unambiguous stance on this matter.  In fairness, Gweyoootatharoad has condemned it.

How strange - there is an article on the BBC NI website about someone in a state of shock after getting their car pelted with stones (wrong, wrong, wrong...see? no ambiguity) yet there is not a word about the savages in Coleraine.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2007, 08:51:08 AM
Post by: GweylTah on July 14, 2007, 11:07:22 AM
Well-said, Gabriel Hurl, it needed someone to bring us to our senses on this thread, no more from me on this issue.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 14, 2007, 12:22:27 PM
I don't understand your post Gab.  Another emigrant turned lecturer.  The fact that you're embarrassed about where you come from says more about you than anyone else.

Imagine the nerve of us to complain about a young fellas name put on a bonfire.

Only threads on food and water from now on...

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2007, 03:53:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 14, 2007, 12:22:27 PM
I don't understand your post Gab.  Another emigrant turned lecturer.  The fact that you're embarrassed about where you come from says more about you than anyone else.

Imagine the nerve of us to complain about a young fellas name put on a bonfire.

Only threads on food and water from now on...

What's the fact that I'm an "emigrant" have to do with anything? Does that my opinion any less worthwhile?

Take a look at the post topics in Non-GAA - on the first page alone

3 about the 12th / 4 if you include this one
The Maze/Windsor Park issue - jeez, that's never been discussed before  ::) ::) ::)
Flags on lamp-posts
Shoot to Kill

All with the same old bullshit being recycled in them - week after week

FWIW - I feel horrible for the man and family involved in this story - I really do
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 14, 2007, 04:08:20 PM
QuoteWhat's the fact that I'm an "emigrant" have to do with anything? Does that my opinion any less worthwhile?

No but it's not unusual for someone who's spent five minutes out of the country to come back with the type of nonsense you came out with. 
I haven't really commented on the threads you mention because the 12th has very little affect on me however it affects a lot of people and I can understand them talking about it.  Can't you? 
Post by: Tony hawks on July 16, 2007, 08:37:44 AM
As an aside i was reading irish league forums about this issue from someone who lives in the estate,there names being placed on the bonfire was an absolute disgrace,but you can understand a community which has been plagued with anto social elements will react this way,that doesnt make it right far from it,but at leat it gives you some understanding of the background of this affair.
Post by: stephenite on July 16, 2007, 09:35:07 AM
Quote from: Tony hawks on July 16, 2007, 08:37:44 AM
but you can understand a community which has been plagued with anto social elements will react this way,that doesnt make it right far from it,but at leat it gives you some understanding of the background of this affair.

No,I cannot understand it all. Absolutely nothing can justify this, least of all some socio-liberal bollocks like you've just spouted
Post by: nifan on July 16, 2007, 09:45:57 AM
Tony, burning some representation of the IRA or something would be in some way understandable, this was a teenage boy who had done nothing to annoy these people other  than be born a catholic.
There isnt always extenuating circumstances, some people are just scum.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 16, 2007, 10:12:31 AM
Quote from: nifan on July 16, 2007, 09:45:57 AM
...burning some representation of the IRA or something would be in some way understandable..

Don't know what the 'or something' refers to. Eye for an eye and all that makes us all blind. I don't believe in burning any flags.

But then again, would it not be better to have NO flag at the top of these 'structures' - and instead have the whole 11th 'event' (?), whatever it is supposed to commemorate, regulated - the venue, content, crowd control etc.

This particular action was despicable - no excuses, or half-thought out justifications for it.
Post by: nifan on July 16, 2007, 10:30:46 AM
my point was rather that you could perhaps understand, if not agree with, the burning of a representation of the IRA or some other paramilitary organisation etc.

I do not agree with burning of the tricolour in anyway, and I think there is no excuse for this particular action-  which was my point.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 16, 2007, 10:41:18 AM
I don't know if I can understand. What would the burning of a representation of the IRA, or any other organisation, actually achieve? What does it say?

To me, it's no different than the burning of effigies/flags/books/records/leaflets by any fascist gathering in the past. Plus the action of flag or effigy burning, in this part of the world, simply attempts to justify the continuation of division.

Post by: GweylTah on July 16, 2007, 10:44:45 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 16, 2007, 10:41:18 AM
I don't know if I can understand. What would the burning of a representation of the IRA, or any other organisation, actually achieve? What does it say?

To me, it's no different than the burning of effigies/flags/books/records/leaflets by any fascist gathering in the past. Plus the action of flag or effigy burning, in this part of the world, simply attempts to justify the continuation of division.

Hopefully the successful beacon at Stoneyford, a more hopeful symbol than a bonfire and safer and more environmentally friendly too, will have been noticed by other places and we will see a lot more of them next 11th Night.
Post by: nifan on July 16, 2007, 11:34:51 AM
FAM, I dont believe it achieves anything.
I am simply saying, the hatred of an organization such as the IRA can be understood, the hatred shown towards this boy cannot.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 16, 2007, 11:55:48 AM
nifan,

I guess in the same way that a hatred by some of the British army, UDR or the RUC can be understood.

Yet the (former?) political wing of the IRA have now entered government with loyalists so does this mean that those who erect tricolours on bonfires, with or without reference to the IRA, are completely out of step with the representatives they elect (if indeed they even vote) and therefore is the 11th night (and some aspects of the 12th) the last bastion of the dying breed of bigots who hate anything or anyone not of their own kind, regardless of political developments.
Post by: nifan on July 16, 2007, 01:55:11 PM
FAM, people attend the 11th night and the 12th for a variety of reasons- niot all of which are sinister.
I dont know if its the last bastion of a dying breed but some of the aspects surrounding it are pathetic and/or sick.
Post by: stew on July 16, 2007, 03:00:53 PM
It takes a special kind of sc**bag to poke fun at a dead child and in fairness the owc heads have condemned it. As for the stoning of the orangemen that to me is reprehensible also, I remember well the abuse we took coming back from croker in 2002 with knackers coming out of the balladeer in Armagh and stoning armagh supporters, it was disgusting ant this attack on them is every bit as bad.
The OO are a shower of isolationist bigots however they did not deserve to get stoned.

There a a few cowboys on here drone on about me watching CNN and getting all my info from there and spew crap about right wing political newcasting, how does the BBC'S coverage of the glorious twelfth coverage taste lads, all rosy inthe garden there then, all balanced coverage i take it?  ;)
Post by: red hander on July 16, 2007, 06:14:08 PM
'The recent post was directed at a load of OTT whingeing from someone who is obviously expressing mock outrage about this incident, but who's words indicate a mindset every bit as bad as those at the bonfire in Coleraine.'

Well, bugger me ... I've never had the pleasure of being psychoanalysed by a bigot before.  Was the outrage of the families of those butchered in Sean Graham's also mock at the weekend, Mr Freud?