GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 11:58:55 AM

Title: Sligo are the CONNAGHT CHAMPIONS 2007
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 11:58:55 AM
Can you hear me SLIGO ARE THE CONNAGHT CHAMPIONS

All the hurt all the suffering all the heart break all the robberies the weight of history ALL BANISHED TO THE SCRAPHEAP where they belong.

Galway Mayo cant rely on tradition to win connaght anymore. This is a new young Sligo team and that feeling I had when final whistle went was in describable. The embrace I had with my Dad will never be forgotten tears of JOY. Huge Sligo crowd and some day.

Its mcnamara to kelly, kelly to oHARA, OHARA BURST THROUGH, 2 GALWAYMEN HANGING OFF HIM STILL OHARA BANG GOAL FOR SLIGO..THE SLIGO CROWD GO NUTS...................... :D :D :D.

Its fallon its wide Sligo are the champions.................

Mcguire "this is only the begining"

Our defence was unbelievable. Thank you Sligo players and tommy breheny.
Title: Re: Sligo are the CONNAGHT CHAMPIONS 2007
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 09, 2007, 12:03:01 PM
Congrats Sligonian
You and the rest of Sligo deserve it!!!!
Post by: rosnarun on July 09, 2007, 12:28:57 PM
well done sligo. but rember sligonian dont drink and type
Post by: Onlooker on July 09, 2007, 12:29:51 PM
Delighted for you Sligonian and for all the Sligo team and supporters.  That win yesterday has to an inspiration for all "weaker"counties.   It was great to see a team that played in Div. 2B of this year's National League winning a Provincial Championship.  Well done to all.
Post by: thebandit on July 09, 2007, 12:42:58 PM
Many congrats... McNamara, Quinn and the full back line were outstanding.

If youse can learn how to kick frees ....... ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on July 09, 2007, 12:45:19 PM
Hearty, hearty congratulations to Sligo. I am delighted for ye, and the scenes at Hyde Park were fantastic to see. Delighted for the Board members on here who have kept the flag flying for the past 10 years or so I've been on here, and other places. for lads like Eamon O'Hara, Sean Davey, etc etc it is brilliant, and a thought for lads likes Durcan and Paul Taylor who were not playing yesterday, they were instrumental in getting Sligo to the point where they could believe it was possible.

Coversations about what next and improvements needed can be held another time, but for now, Magpie Seanie, Sligonian, Paddypassedit, Owenmoresider and any other lads and ladies I may have missed, Congratulations, Well Done, and I am delighted for ye.

Sligeach Abú
Post by: ziggysego on July 09, 2007, 12:45:26 PM
Congratulations to Sligo. I was truly delighted to see them winning. Enjoy the win, youses deserved it!  ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 12:46:55 PM
This weaker counties rubbish is banished too ;D.... We are not inferior or weaker to anyone. Neither are Leitrim, monaghan , fermanagh etc... Time to show counties with tradition the respect they give us zero.......

We are no one man team either,, donovan, harrison, mcgure, quinn, mcnamara all outstanding yday.
Post by: full back on July 09, 2007, 12:48:45 PM
Great win yesterday
Was good to see the supporters - must have been some pints supped last night
Although as bandit says, them free kicks :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 01:02:14 PM
The shocking thing for most Sligo fans waking up this morning is how poor some of players played and we still won. Like the frees we missed on the left hand side were shocking. P Taylor if fit is our only hope in that respect but from play he slow and getting but maybe worth his place alone on free taking. Make no mistake this team still hasnt peaked and we know it. We were easily 8pts better than ros and 5or6 better than galway.

Hopefully Tommy will get that sorted for qtrs because we fear nobody now so we can win All Ireland. Our team is so fast so croke park will suit and plus we always play well there so I wont be suprised if we go all the way. We need to go to the next level ;).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2007, 01:04:20 PM
QuoteGalway Mayo cant rely on tradition to win connaght anymore

Don't worry. We haven't gone away you know. ;D

Congrats to Sligo. though. Great scenes at the end. The singing needs some work though. ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 01:14:08 PM
Congrats Sligo, but be carefull now SLIGONIAN, there was far too many handpasses out of defence, using too many players (a bit rich from a Mayoman I know) a small bit more kicking or the ball going through less hands out of defence and I reckon you shoud not have much fear of anyone. Also a little more work on the free taking, but otherwise a team that will not be a walkover for anyone.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 09, 2007, 01:17:19 PM
 For me,Theres no better sight in Gaelic Football than Eamon O Hara running with the ball at full speed.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 01:19:34 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 09, 2007, 01:17:19 PM
For me,Theres no better sight in Gaelic Football than Eamon O Hara running with the ball at full speed.

He nearly ended up playing for Mayo a few years back it seems, how the feck did we let him get away.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 01:23:53 PM
No doubt we have alot of work to do. I agree. But by golly isnt that a great thing after winning connaght. Average age of squad 24. Future is bright.

Ive just heard on Ocean FM that civic reception tonight is cancelled and players are back training tomorrrow to refocus for All Ireland qtrs. Right on. Croke park will lift us to levels unparralled before. The Sligo support will be worth seeing for any GAA fan on August bank holiday.

Post by: ziggysego on July 09, 2007, 01:25:34 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 01:23:53 PM
Croke park will lift us to levels unparralled before. 

If Tyrone make it that far, hopefully we won't get drawn against yas. Could be 2002 all over again ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 01:26:30 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 01:19:34 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on July 09, 2007, 01:17:19 PM

He nearly ended up playing for Mayo a few years back it seems, how the feck did we let him get away.

What????????? Explanation please?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 01:27:30 PM
I heard he nearly ended up playing for Knockmore.
Post by: MauriceMalpas on July 09, 2007, 01:42:30 PM
Sorry to piss in Sligo's cornflakes but while the game was, without doubt exciting the quality of football for a provinical final was shocking especially the 2nd half. Admittedly Sligo defended well and they may kick on from this but that cant hide the awful standard of football.
Post by: Orior on July 09, 2007, 01:42:58 PM
Congrats to all the Sligo posters here, old and new.
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2007, 01:48:44 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 01:02:14 PM
... we fear nobody now so we can win All Ireland. Our team is so fast so croke park will suit and plus we always play well there so I wont be suprised if we go all the way.

That's the stuff, Sligonian!
Post by: blast05 on July 09, 2007, 02:04:57 PM
Sligonian, were you not out until all hours in the morning celebrating ? Surely then you should have pulled a sicky like all of your other county colleagues after waking up this morning and then head down to the local around midday and be guaranteed to have one of the best days you could ever have in a pub - crack would be ninety.
Leave work now i tell ye, get to the pub.
And, congrats to all Sligo lads and lassies on here ....
Post by: Armamike on July 09, 2007, 02:06:45 PM
Great to see Sligo winning. Really pleased for the county and their supporters - must have been some feeling at the final whistle. Hopefully the team will push on from here for the rest of the summer.
Post by: Hound on July 09, 2007, 02:09:28 PM
Are all the football quarter-finals guaranteed to be in Croke Park?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 09, 2007, 02:15:55 PM
If there is ever an arguement for keeping the provincial titles then watching the joy on the Sligo players/supporters faces surely makes the point very clearly....also great beneficiaries of the backdoor system....
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 02:35:48 PM
Just collected €50 thanks to Sligo, thought I would have got €40 from my €10 bet, but the extra €10 made it even a nicer surprise.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 02:41:14 PM
In reply to maurce malpas..the intensity and pressure on Sligo in 2nd half and our free taking ensured scores would have to be nearly died for to score. It is very hard to describe or put into words what happened yday. The quality was obsorbed by the intensity and pressure. I think most football men would understand both teams are better than yday but occasion was huge.

In reply to blast- Im at home in SLIGO after the celebrations last night. But I must say Im one these people who can have fun without drink and I want to remember yday forever. Heading on the train to Dublin later and back at work tomorrow. Couldnt resist logging on, ;).

There is no doubt in Sligo we are back in croker and with Nicky Brennan there yday we will definitly be playing our qtr in croker.

Thanks to everyone on this site for yer goodwill messages especially the counties that we have shocked in the last few yrs. Thanks.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 03:36:28 PM
(http://dynimg.rte.ie/0000ef6b190r.jpg)

(http://dynimg.rte.ie/0000ef75190r.jpg)

both pictures thanks to the RTE site
Post by: Bogball XV on July 09, 2007, 04:08:02 PM
Delighted for ye lads - great to see - hopefully leitrim will take another one soon too!!
Post by: SuperMac on July 09, 2007, 04:34:04 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 09, 2007, 02:35:48 PM
Just collected €50 thanks to Sligo, thought I would have got €40 from my €10 bet, but the extra €10 made it even a nicer surprise.

I had them at 7/2 with Paddy Power. Still, doesn't matter. Gas that none of the Sligo team were born the last time Sligo won it, I was a nipper at the time and my cousin was playing for Sligo and boy, DO I REMEMBER IT !!!! Congrats again, it's more than deserved, Sligeach Abu

Post by: MauriceMalpas on July 09, 2007, 05:03:42 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 09, 2007, 02:41:14 PM
In reply to maurce malpas..the intensity and pressure on Sligo in 2nd half and our free taking ensured scores would have to be nearly died for to score. It is very hard to describe or put into words what happened yday. The quality was obsorbed by the intensity and pressure. I think most football men would understand both teams are better than yday but occasion was huge.

Fair point. I must admit I havent seen too much of Sligo or Connaught football for that matter over the past yr or 2, with the exception of Mayo but as a neutral I struggled to watch the second half despite the intensity.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 09, 2007, 05:13:54 PM
Great to see. Sligo had a decent team a few years ago but it looked like there chances of landing the title had passed. Thankfully not. Its always great to see a new team make the breakthrough and Im sure you's will have some support in Croker on Saturday the 4th. Hopefully we'll be joing you's there as Ulster champions. At this stage though a Monaghan Sligo semi final cant be ruled out. That would be a novel pairing! Sligo played some stuff in the 2nd half in 2002 to knock us out. I remember they ran straight throught the middle of our defence time and time again - think it was O'Hara who did most of the damage. Hopefully he'll be fully fit for the quarters.
Post by: amallon on July 09, 2007, 06:01:31 PM
Congrats to Sligo its great to see them do it.  No sign of Magpie Seanie today, I don't think we will see him for a few days. 
Post by: Mano on July 10, 2007, 01:21:39 PM
Quote from: amallon on July 09, 2007, 06:01:31 PM
I heard he nearly ended up playing for Knockmore.

Quote from: amallon on July 09, 2007, 06:01:31 PM
What??? Explanation please

Yes its true Sligonian. He was on the verge of joining Knockmore about 7 years ago. His uncle was manager of Knockmore-they were very good back then and contested an all-ireland club final around that time. His uncle has a business in Ballina and offered (been very diplomatic here) him the business if he joined Knockmore. Eamon of course thought about it and was on verge of agreeing but on eve of first league game of year against Drumcliffe he consulted senior players and management in Tourlestrane and changed his mind.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on July 10, 2007, 01:49:35 PM
Jeepers that would of destroyed me if that happened. Would he still have played for Sligo do you think?

Similiar to alan smith/cantona signing for man u for me. But obviously ohara leaving would of been 1000 times worse. Dont think I would recover from that hurt.

Didnt happen so forget about it. Talking to myself there.

O Hara = LEGEND.. :D
Post by: Blue06 on July 10, 2007, 01:57:25 PM
Congrats to Sligo especially to the long time board members here, OMS, Seanie, Sligoman2 & Sligonian.
Post by: MacDanger on July 10, 2007, 02:51:15 PM
Savage win for Sligo.

Fair play to ye lads..............

Hope they get off the beer before the Q/F though.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 02:52:34 PM
So who can we rob now? Declan Browne perhaps of Tipp perhaps  ;)

Tom Parsons is a name to watch out for in future years in the Green & Red a Bellaghy man who plays for Mayo, will be a massive loss to you, but not as much as much as a loss as Pierce Hanley will be to Roscommon if the Ballagh man was available to them rather than Mayo.
Post by: Mano on July 10, 2007, 10:09:23 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 02:52:34 PM

Tom Parsons is a name to watch out for in future years in the Green & Red a Bellaghy man who plays for Mayo, will be a massive loss to you.
Whats the story here Fishhead. I thought Bellaghy was part of the Curry club area?

A charlestown lad played for Sligo minors a few years back-Towey i think his name was
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 10, 2007, 01:49:35 PM
Jeepers that would of destroyed me if that happened. Would he still have played for Sligo do you think?

He would have been able to change county allegiance but i doubt he would have done that
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 11:24:40 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 10, 2007, 10:09:23 PM

Tom Parsons is a name to watch out for in future years in the Green & Red a Bellaghy man who plays for Mayo, will be a massive loss to you.
Whats the story here Fishhead. I thought Bellaghy was part of the Curry club area?

A charlestown lad played for Sligo minors a few years back-Towey i think his name was

He would have been able to change county allegiance but i doubt he would have done that

Not 100% sure but I think he may have gone to school in Charlestown (which as we all know is in reality the same town, just a County border runs down the middle of a street). I think because of this he can play for Mayo or Sligo.

Did he go to America for the Summer, Johnno might need him now.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 10, 2007, 11:46:11 PM
Congrats to Sligo!

There was a massive cheer at the game in Clones on Sunday when the result was announced over the PA.

Let's hope Monaghan can do the same on Sunday!
Post by: caraghtyrone on July 10, 2007, 11:55:30 PM
Hi,

Just like to add my congratulations from Tyrone on your triumph, delighted for you's and hopefully its only the start of things to come!  Also have to say delighted for Eamon O Hara, he gets his just rewards and wins his first provincial medal.  It would have been a travesty if O Hara had retired not having an honour in the game other than his All Star award in 02 (I Think?).

Well done and good Luck in the remainder of the Championship

Caragh Tyrone
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 11, 2007, 01:54:04 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 10, 2007, 11:24:40 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 10, 2007, 10:09:23 PM

Not 100% sure but I think he may have gone to school in Charlestown (which as we all know is in reality the same town, just a County border runs down the middle of a street). I think because of this he can play for Mayo or Sligo.

Did he go to America for the Summer, Johnno might need him now.
Doesn't make it right though. On that point, where does the Mayo/Ros border run through Ballaghaderreen?
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on July 11, 2007, 02:06:21 AM
Next time you Sligomen are driving home from Hyde Park (maybe after reclaiming the Nestor Cup next year) drive through Ballagh and go home via the Charlestown Road. You'll see a sign "Welcome to Mayo" about six miles outside Ballaghaderren, just before you enter the village of Carracastle.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 11, 2007, 02:15:28 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on July 11, 2007, 02:06:21 AM
Next time you Sligomen are driving home from Hyde Park (maybe after reclaiming the Nestor Cup next year) drive through Ballagh and go home via the Charlestown Road. You'll see a sign "Welcome to Mayo" about six miles outside Ballaghaderren, just before you enter the village of Carracastle.
That's the route the team took on the way home with Nestor FWIW. Indeed five/six miles inside Ros it is, never realised how far away it was from Mayo until last year, makes no sense at all.
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on July 11, 2007, 02:35:50 AM
a very well done to the yeatsmen...
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 11, 2007, 10:32:23 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 11, 2007, 02:15:28 AM
That's the route the team took on the way home with Nestor FWIW. Indeed five/six miles inside Ros it is, never realised how far away it was from Mayo until last year, makes no sense at all.

Makes perfect sense, the town was moved out of Mayo against the will of the people just to save some tax for a rich landlord. The club was one of the founding members of the Mayo GAA, however I do think there should be two clubs in the town, one alligened to Mayo & the other to Roscommon, then it would let but sides of that passionate divide in Ballagh play for the County they feal they are part of. The Mayo pople of Ballagh can allign with Mayo the Rossies with Roscommon.
Post by: Pietas on July 11, 2007, 10:36:12 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 11, 2007, 10:32:23 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on July 11, 2007, 02:15:28 AM

Makes perfect sense, the town was moved out of Mayo against the will of the people just to save some tax for a rich landlord. The club was one of the founding members of the Mayo GAA, however I do think there should be two clubs in the town, one alligened to Mayo & the other to Roscommon, then it would let but sides of that passionate divide in Ballagh play for the County they feal they are part of. The Mayo pople of Ballagh can allign with Mayo the Rossies with Roscommon.

Let's not get into all this again.  Congrats to Sligo.
Post by: furboot on July 11, 2007, 10:44:19 AM
Message from Sideline...
Last Sundays match will be available on DVD for anyone who missed it or would like a copy for future enjoyment.
RTE / the GAA and Sideline www.sideline.ie (http://www.sideline.ie) (who release GAA matches under licence from the GAA) have been inundated with requests for copies of the match since last Sunday - many requests coming from Sligo people overseas.
So much so that we decided to release it - it should be available this weekend.
It will be on sale online at www.dvdsales.ie (http://www.dvdsales.ie) and we are talking to some local Sligo shops who have declared an interest in stocking it. More info on it's availablity will be updated on www.sideline.ie (http://www.sideline.ie) over next few days.

This is not a blatent plug - just that we keep being asked and this forum might help to inform.

PS. well done Sligo on a great win (and I'm speaking as a Mayo man)
Post by: Armaghtothebone on July 11, 2007, 09:01:15 PM
Sincere congrats to Sligo. Delighted for all of you. :) :)
Post by: ExiledGael on July 11, 2007, 09:17:33 PM
Delighted for Sligo as well, great to see and fully deserved.
Great to see the provincial title meaning so much, only ourselves (Fermanagh) and Wicklow have never tasted it, but Jesus it looks good
Post by: Armaghtothebone on July 11, 2007, 09:22:35 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on July 11, 2007, 09:17:33 PM
Delighted for Sligo as well, great to see and fully deserved.
Great to see the provincial title meaning so much, only ourselves (Fermanagh) and Wicklow have never tasted it, but Jesus it looks good

Sorry to go off topic here lads >:(
I'd sell you 6 Ulster titles in the last 9 years for a victory over you in the Quarters in 04. That year will always be the one that got away
Post by: spectator on July 11, 2007, 10:13:47 PM
Re: Bellaghy \ Charlestown ... I know it's a GAA site, but some of ye might find this interesting.

Bellaghy existed aeons before Charlestown came about & was a thriving market town at the outer boundary of the Sligo Gore-Knox estate [if memory serves me right.] Taxes & tithes from the thriving fairs were paid to the G-K's.

Dillons, the neighbouring landlords, whose seat was ten miles away in Ballaghaderreen, set a beady eye on the lucrative tithes and applied to the King to set up a rival fair adjacent to the G-K boundary [where modern day Charlestown is]. 

G-K stood to lose a fortune in tithes, so objections were lodged with the King which were upheld. Dillons in response, moved their proposed fair site back a few yards, applied again & after several rounds of this eventually succeeded & were allowed to start their rival fair.

Dillons sent their agent Charles Strickland to design a town on their new fair site & it was named Charlestown, after Strickland.

Over time, given it's proximity to the Dillons i suppose, Charlestown thrived as a market town, while Bellaghy at the remote end of the G-K estate, lost out badly & declined steadily to its current relatively sleepy state.

Funnily enough, it was one of the parliamentary Dillons who sanctioned the movement of Ballaghaderreen into Roscommon under the Local Government Act 1898. This move was likely related to the costs associated with complying with The Poor Law Act, according to what an elderly neighbour used to tell me when i was a young lad. Ballagh was moved from the Swinford Workhouse Area - which was overrun with destitute people - to the less populated Castlerea Workhouse Area.

The Ballagh people of the time were outraged at this treachery & resented their town landlord putting his business before their sense of place. My old neighbour used to bristle with rage when telling this, it cut people deeply back then.

The refusal to acknowledge this disenfranchisement from their historic home county has lingered on since through the local GAA club, established around 1885, where the Mayo supporting Ballagh members at any rate still actively endorse maintaining the status-quo.

108 years on, GAA loyalties in the area remain divided. It's a little know fact that Ballagh parish encompasses part of Sligo - they are having a rare day in the sun now :)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2007, 12:43:46 AM
Brilliant result. Fair play Sligo. Always had a soft spot for Sligo and hopefully they'll go on to even greater things as the Summer wears on but, if not, there'll always be the memories of Sunday.
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 12, 2007, 11:05:47 AM
O'Hara, Quinn and Nestor will be on telly with Cahill tonight. Westmeath did this kind of stuff in 2004 when they would probably been better off containing themselves. Still, you can't really postpone celebrations.

Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2007, 11:13:28 AM
Don't worry about O'Hara nad Quinner. They'll be sound for the next day. The Cup is gone into cold storage from now.