GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2007, 09:33:59 AM

Title: Tony Davis
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2007, 09:33:59 AM
What a plank, Spillane pulled him up over saying that the any of the losing provincial finalists would love to draw the winners of Kildare v Louth. He squirmed and slithered and said that he said that in private Pat and then mumbled something about Kildare being good in Newbridge etc etc.

For Christ sake Davis grow a back-bone, everything you said is true, on form Kildare and Louth are the 2 of the worst teams left and would be the preferred draw for a beaten finalist, any one-eyed Kildare or Louth man can see that.

The Sunday game pundits are brutal, although I like him I had to laugh at Michael Duigan yesterday, he said the Eoin Kelly switch would favour Limerick, how wrong was he?
Title: Re: Tony Davis
Post by: Goats Do Shave on July 09, 2007, 09:52:55 AM
With Johhny Doyle in your team...Kildare have always a chance!

Soooper footballer!
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2007, 10:00:47 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2007, 09:33:59 AM
What a plank, Spillane pulled him up over saying that the any of the losing provincial finalists would love to draw the winners of Kildare v Louth. He squirmed and slithered and said that he said that in private Pat and then mumbled something about Kildare being good in Newbridge etc etc.

For Christ sake Davis grow a back-bone, everything you said is true, on form Kildare and Louth are the 2 of the worst teams left and would be the preferred draw for a beaten finalist, any one-eyed Kildare or Louth man can see that.

The Sunday game pundits are brutal, although I like him I had to laugh at Michael Duigan yesterday, he said the Eoin Kelly switch would favour Limerick, how wrong was he?

Did he not say that switching Kelly out the field would favour Limerick provided Mark Foley didn't follow him? Kelly got a point from midfield and then Foley moved out to pick him up leaving loads of space in the Limerick half which Waterford exploited by getting 2 goals in quick succession. I got the impression Duignan was saying that Foley would have been better off staying where he was and covering the full back line.
Post by: Tatler Jack on July 09, 2007, 10:03:13 AM
QuoteWhat a plank,

Was referred to a "Phony Tony" by the Cork U21 players when he was managing them a few years back.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2007, 10:07:49 AM
QuoteDid he not say that switching Kelly out the field would favour Limerick provided Mark Foley didn't follow him?

Not when the switch was made, in fairness it was good punditry to highlight the switch but he called it favouring Limerick just a tad too early imho.

QuoteWith Johhny Doyle in your team...Kildare have always a chance!

Too dependent unfortunately...
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 09, 2007, 10:09:17 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2007, 09:33:59 AM

The Sunday game pundits are brutal

I quite like Tohill as a pundit. Good old Spillane himself had a good one at the end of the programme, telling us about the forthcoming Tyrone - Donegal Ulster Final ;D
Post by: rosnarun on July 09, 2007, 10:27:11 AM
the standard Of GAA punditary  is awfuk but it was great to see the enthusiasm of antony daly on the SG last night calling it as it is with Ger loughnane. you too often get the idea most of the interesting stuff is said off air like tony Davis or charlie redmond with Cake last year talking about dublin mayo  . come on lads what have you got to lose  its not as though any one takes any heed of ye any way.
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on July 09, 2007, 11:41:31 AM
Davis lost any credibility he ever had when he said after the 2005 semi-final between Armagh and Tyrone that the Tommy Murphy Cup final on before it was a better game
Post by: thebandit on July 09, 2007, 11:49:10 AM
Spillane keeps cutting off the analysts when they are saying something - he is desperate!

Tohill has improved this year IMO, Davis is terrible. O Rourke and Brolly are good.

Post by: john mcgill on July 09, 2007, 11:54:29 AM
Davis the man who threw his jersey in the dressing room and refused to play for his club again.  I rest my case.  Or as Silky Sullivan used to say in front of the judge in San Francisco, when he was up on drunk and disorderly charges every second Monday, $5  next case!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 09, 2007, 12:58:32 PM
I thought Duignan was correct in the hurling game. He said that it would favour Limerick as they would be hoovering up balls in there with a spare man (my words). When Foley moved out, the dynamic changed completely, and he highlighted it again straight away. Of course Duignan is the only Offaly man left in the championship, so my views could be biased :D

(Unless Brian Gavin gets another game to ref after Babs' attack)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 09, 2007, 02:07:03 PM
QuoteHe said that it would favour Limerick as they would be hoovering up balls in there with a spare man (my words).

He called it wrong, it favoured Waterford and was a great tactical move, Duigan just back-tracked. Still a good pundit though
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 09, 2007, 02:40:47 PM
Tohill talks a lot of sense but does anyone else think he is not given as much air time as the other lads and they only really come to him to talk about Ulster?
Post by: thebandit on July 09, 2007, 03:01:21 PM
I'd agrre with that
Post by: The Bottom Brick on July 09, 2007, 03:06:47 PM
Davis and Tohill are obviously coached to say "Pat" at the end of every sentence. Drives me fuckin mental.

Post by: thebandit on July 09, 2007, 03:11:46 PM
Yeah, especially when they are answering someone else!!
Post by: Leo on July 09, 2007, 03:18:50 PM
The whole RTE presentation would put you to sleep. BBC (NI) do far better job. Marty Morrissey on TV, Brian Carty on radio, Jim carney anywhere - jezz give us a break! Tohill bores the socks off me as does Paul Curran. McStay can be interesteing but too serious about himself. Martin McHugh is good but I'd like to see some "fire in the belly" pundits who are not subjected to the dead hand that currently directs GAA production on RTE.
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2007, 03:22:34 PM
Martin McHugh is a bitter "Ulster is best so forget the rest" type of character. Himself and Jarlath look like they can't stand each other too.
Post by: Cromagh on July 09, 2007, 03:25:01 PM
Davis - doesnt even know the players names - when he is referring to players he is busying looking at his notes to get their names!!!! f**k i know there names and im just a gaa fan. he gets paid £400 a night to read players names off a sheet!!!! Brutal....he even said last nite that Kildarew had never won a qulifier until Saturday...bulshit they beat cavan last year!!!
Post by: full back on July 09, 2007, 03:29:36 PM
Seen him reading the names of players from the sheet last night - how the fcuk can RTE justify having that man on the panel?
Not only does he not know any of the players' names, but he obviously hasnt done any research before he goes on air - woeful
Post by: An_dun_abu on July 09, 2007, 03:56:16 PM
Do Antrim have any chance of qualifying for the Quarter Finals in the Hurling if they beat Galway. The Sunday Game never gave them a mention and it showed Kilkenny v Galway as the quarter final draw.
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 09, 2007, 03:59:12 PM
Davis: In Cork he'd be known as a Langer.
Post by: Onlooker on July 09, 2007, 04:13:08 PM
If Antrim beat Galway next week-end, they will be in the quarter finals aginst Kilkenny.  Unlikely but it would be great if it did happen. It might even shut Ger Loughnane up for a while!!.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2007, 05:45:04 PM
Did anyone see the Galway/Clare match. I missed the full coverage on Saturday evening, the highlights on Sunday afternoon and the highlights on the Sunday game. Did anyone see the 4 minutes devoted to Limerick and louth also! ;D
Post by: Louth Exile on July 09, 2007, 06:02:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2007, 05:45:04 PM
Did anyone see the Galway/Clare match. I missed the full coverage on Saturday evening, the highlights on Sunday afternoon and the highlights on the Sunday game. Did anyone see the 4 minutes devoted to Limerick and louth also! ;D

Just what we have come to expect at this stage, you forgot to mention that it was the very last action of the programme and they didn't even bother to discuss it, anyway....

I thought that Spillane landed him in last night with his typical negative shite, he was even trying to take away from the Sligo win (areshole) I like Tohill and Mc Stay, Curran is useless and Bernie Flynn is a little p***k
Post by: ONeill on July 09, 2007, 06:04:20 PM
Quote from: Craigyhill Terror on July 09, 2007, 11:41:31 AM
Davis lost any credibility he ever had when he said after the 2005 semi-final between Armagh and Tyrone that the Tommy Murphy Cup final on before it was a better game

...and he only watched bits of it on the TV....(according to Brolly who slated him for this remark in the Welly Park).
Post by: Mentalman on July 09, 2007, 06:19:29 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 09, 2007, 06:02:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 09, 2007, 05:45:04 PM

Just what we have come to expect at this stage, you forgot to mention that it was the very last action of the programme and they didn't even bother to discuss it, anyway....

I thought that Spillane landed him in last night with his typical negative shite, he was even trying to take away from the Sligo win (areshole) I like Tohill and Mc Stay, Curran is useless and Bernie Flynn is a little p***k

I like big Anthony it has to be said, seems to have a bit of integrity about him and gives it as he sees it, in an even handed way. The rest? Why bother with Curran? Nothing to say, except a bit of mumbling, makes Dessie Farrell seem eloquent. McStay is either full of it, or needs a trip to specsavers, can't even pick up incidents on replay, and like Pat is very fond of his own voice. Bernie is a bit of a shyster, and a bluffer, but is relatively harmless. Still don't watch the show because of Pat though, just nip in for the action.
Post by: johnpower on July 09, 2007, 09:48:12 PM
would it not be great if an analyst said what they really thought . Davis should have said it straight out that he thought they were shite . RTE should try a few  more analyst what is Peter Canavan doing on Sunday nights ?
Post by: Balboa on July 09, 2007, 10:31:10 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 09, 2007, 09:48:12 PM
what is Peter Canavan doing on Sunday nights ?

Giving diving lessons off the high board in a swimming pool in Dungannon.
Post by: blanketattack on July 10, 2007, 12:29:08 AM
Quote from: Balboa on July 09, 2007, 10:31:10 PM
Quote from: johnpower on July 09, 2007, 09:48:12 PM
what is Peter Canavan doing on Sunday nights ?

Giving diving lessons off the high board in a swimming pool in Dungannon.

LOL

PS Some of the stuff said about Tony is way OTT. A true gent on and off the pitch.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 11:56:33 AM
QuoteI thought that Spillane landed him in last night with his typical negative shite, he was even trying to take away from the Sligo win (areshole)

I don't think anyone with a clue about football takes Spillane that seriously. And frankly people can think all they like about the standard of the game. I hope whoever we play next thinks we're crap.
Post by: Louth Exile on July 10, 2007, 12:32:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 11:56:33 AM
QuoteI thought that Spillane landed him in last night with his typical negative shite, he was even trying to take away from the Sligo win (areshole)

I don't think anyone with a clue about football takes Spillane that seriously. And frankly people can think all they like about the standard of the game. I hope whoever we play next thinks we're crap.

I didn't think the standard was too bad myself, bar the free taking of course
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 10, 2007, 12:39:07 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 10, 2007, 12:32:13 PM

Second half was very poor fare. Some very good scores in the first half though but Spillane is loathe to praise Connacht football at the best of times anyway.
Post by: Mentalman on July 10, 2007, 12:50:12 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on July 10, 2007, 12:32:13 PM

Would agree. I mean these are championship deciders, not friendlies, it's up to Sligo to get down there and dog it out against what some would perceive as superior opposition. What are "smaller" counties supposed to do, sit back and give more "glamourous" counties a free hand? If Galway couldn't, actually weren't allowed,  get their act together it's hardly Sligo's problem, they are to be commended. And actually only for the woeful free taking Sligo would have won by more. It was real blood and thunder stuff from Sligo, good on them. The way the analysts go one you would think the bigger teams bestow us with classics on a regular basis, not the maybe one or so a year if we're lucky. At the end of the day it's a man's game, and most fans appreciate a team giving it their all and leaving it all on the pitch, and more often than not that's how games are decided, not through individual brilliance. While the likes of Spillane in particular may have been great players, and played in great teams and matches, I actually wonder sometimes is that a hinderance when it comes to analysing a game? Maybe better to have struggled, in not such great sides, with only the occasional success, to appreciate the efforts of others?